DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to remarks filed 11/21/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1-4, 7-9, 11, 15-18, and 20 are amended.
Response to Amendment
Rejection for claims 2, 3, 4, and 9 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7, 11-13, 15-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. (US 20220236365 A1, hereinafter “Ko”), in view of Kuo et al. (US 20230269059 A1, hereinafter “Kuo”).
RE Claim 1, 15, and 20, Ko discloses a terminal, method or non-transitory medium:
comprising a processor (¶¶0231-0233; Fig. 26: 102, 202), a memory (¶¶0231-0233; Fig. 26: 104, 204), and a program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor (¶¶0231-0233), wherein the program or the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the terminal to perform:
sending a first signal based on first information (¶0159; Target UE transmits assistance data to server UEs related to sidelink positioning. ¶0163), wherein the first signal is used for terminal positioning (¶0159), and the first information comprises:
Ko does not explicitly disclose:
first priority information corresponding to the first signal;
wherein the sending a first signal based on first information comprises:
sending the first signal in a case that a priority value of the first signal is less than a second priority threshold and that a priority value of a signal or channel colliding with the first signal is greater than a third priority threshold.
However, Kuo discloses:
first priority information corresponding to the first signal (Positioning Reference Signal, PRS, refers to any reference signal such as DL PRS, UL PRS, or other PRSs of other types, a first signal. ¶0025; Priority configuration of PRS with two different priority levels, a first priority of a first signal. ¶0056, Fig. 3; PRS priority may be switched to a higher or lower level, e.g. periodically ¶0057);
wherein the sending a first signal based on first information comprises (Priority for PRS transmissions, a first signal and first priority information. ¶0055, Fig. 3):
sending the first signal in a case that a priority value of the first signal is less than a second priority threshold and that a priority value of a signal or channel colliding with the first signal is greater than a third priority threshold (PRS configurations allocated to first device with different priority levels for PRS transmission. ¶0063; Priority levels for transmitting levels depending on QoS of data and transmission collisions. The PRS priority may be switched depending on need to prioritize PRS transmissions. ¶¶0056-0057; a configuration message to indicate a PRS configuration associated with a set of priority levels and a condition for priority switching, the first device may determine the priority level of each PRS occasion of the related PRS configuration, based on a determination whether the indicated condition is met. When it is determined that the condition is met, the first device may change the priority level. ¶0086; Priority level characterizes the priority of PRS transmission, e.g. High/Medium/Low, compared to other transmissions on certain channels, e.g. PUSCH for different grants and/or PUCCH for different types/priority of content. ¶¶0087-0095; If the PRS occasion overlaps with another transmission in the time domain, the first device 110 may determine whether the SRS should be dropped or transmitted based on the changed priority level. For example, if the changed priority level for the PRS transmission is higher than a priority level for the further transmission, the first device may transmit the PRS. If the changed priority level is lower, the first device may drop the PRS. ¶0097)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ko, transmitting a positioning reference signal and assistance information, with the teachings of Kuo, a method of applying multiple priority levels to PRS transmissions to dynamically adapt to signaling changes in transmission requirements.
The motivation in doing so would be to support an improvement device positioning methods by prioritizing positioning signaling based requirements for accuracy, higher PRS signaling occasions, or data, such as higher data occasions to meet QoS during PRS operation. (Ko: Abstract, ¶¶0014-0017, Kuo: Abstract, ¶¶0005-0009, 0025, 0038-0043)
RE Claim 2 and 16, Ko discloses a terminal or method:
wherein the first signal comprises at least one of an SL reference signal (PRS. ¶0159) or a Uu interface uplink reference signal (UE transmits an uplink sounding reference signal, SRS, for position estimation through uplink transmission. ¶0014; A Uu interface, over which an SRS is transmitted, connecting the UE and the base station is used. ¶0015).
RE Claim 3 and 17, Ko discloses a terminal or method:
wherein before the sending a first signal based on first information, the method further comprises:
obtaining the first information by performing at least one of following:
receiving higher layer signaling (A higher layer or network may signal whether or not to transmit a PRS on PSCCH. ¶0192);
receiving first target sidelink control information (SCI), wherein the first target SCI comprises at least one of first stage SCI or second stage SCI (Target UE, UE1, transmits sidelink control information, SCI, to UE2, the server UE through PSCCH, a first stage SCI. ¶0113, Fig. 10a, 10b); or
monitoring channel quality (UE measures RSRP on PSSCH to determine UE accepts role as server UE. If RSRP is greater than a threshold then the UE accepts. If RSRP is lower than a threshold then the UE does not accept. UE monitors channel quality. ¶0174).
RE Claim 4 and 18, Ko discloses a terminal or method:
wherein the first priority information comprises at least one of priority indication information or priority type information (Priority indication to determine if priority of a service is higher or lower than required for a server UE to accept role. Priority of service may be associated through positioning, a type of priority. ¶¶0179, 0219).
RE Claim 6, Ko discloses a method:
The method, wherein the priority indication information comprises at least one of following:
first indication information, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate a priority of the first signal being a predetermined priority, the predetermined priority comprises N values, and each value represents a different priority (Message requesting sidelink positioning may include priority information of a service related to the first device. For example, the plurality of second devices may include a second device in which a priority of a service related to the second device is lower than a priority of a service related to the first device. ¶0209; Priority indication to determine if priority of a service is higher or lower than required for a server UE to accept role. Priority of service may be associated through positioning, a type of priority. ¶¶0179, 0219);
second indication information, wherein the second indication information is used to indicate that the priority of the first signal is associated with a specified data channel (UE senses a channel and transmits signals and data through resources not used by other UEs on a corresponding channel or resources that are not scheduled to be used by other UEs, a specific channel. ¶0167, Fig. 17);
third indication information, wherein the third indication information is used to indicate the priority of the first signal being associated with a specified reference signal (PRS. ¶0159; Target UE transmits LBS related to the QoS, a priority related value and third indication, to the requested server UE in a sidelink positioning request. Requested server UE determines to accept/reject based on a threshold value required for LBS-related QoS, a third threshold. ¶0175), and the specified reference signal comprises a Uu interface uplink reference signal (UE transmits an uplink sounding reference signal, SRS, for position estimation through uplink transmission. ¶0014; A Uu interface, over which an SRS is transmitted, connecting the UE and the base station is used. ¶0015) or an SL reference signal (PRS. ¶0159);
priority information of a target positioning request, wherein the target positioning request is used to request the first terminal to perform a positioning operation (Message requesting sidelink positioning may include priority information of a service related to the first device. For example, the plurality of second devices may include a second device in which a priority of a service related to the second device is lower than a priority of a service related to the first device. ¶0209); or
priority information of a target signal request, wherein the target signal request is used to request the first terminal to send the first signal (Message requesting sidelink positioning may include priority information of a service related to the first device. For example, the plurality of second devices may include a second device in which a priority of a service related to the second device is lower than a priority of a service related to the first device. ¶0209;).
RE Claim 7, Ko discloses a method:
The method, wherein
the priority value of the first signal is determined based on the first priority information (For example, if a priority of a service currently being provided or a priority of a service using resources for the purpose of providing is lower than a priority of a service provided to the target UE through positioning or a priority of a service to be provided by the target UE through positioning, the UE for which the server role is requested may accept the server role. ¶0179).
RE Claim 11, Ko discloses a method:
The method, wherein in a case that the first signal is an uplink signal (UE transmits an uplink sounding reference signal, SRS, for position estimation through uplink transmission. ¶0014; A Uu interface, over which an SRS is transmitted, connecting the UE and the base station is used. ¶0015), the first signal satisfies at least one of following:
a mapping relationship is present between the first signal and the first target sidelink control information (SCI) (BS/Network configures the BWP to the UE and informs the UE of the active BWP. ¶0092; BWP may be defined for sidelink. The same SL BWP may be used for transmission and reception. UE receives configuration, mapping, from the BS/Network. ¶0094);
a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of the first signal is same as an SCS of a specified signal or a specified channel on the SL (Synchronization blocks has same numerology, SCS, as PSCCH and PSSCH in a carrier, and a transmission bandwidth within a SL BWP. ¶0103, ¶0094);
signal power control of the first signal is related to power control of the specified signal or the specified channel on the SL (Element is optional);
a correspondence is present between a frequency domain resource of the first signal and a frequency domain resource of the SL (BS/Network configures the BWP, a frequency domain resource, to the UE and informs the UE of the active BWP. ¶0092; BWP may be defined for sidelink. The same SL BWP may be used for transmission and reception. UE receives configuration, mapping, from the BS/Network. ¶0094);
a spatial relation of the first signal is consistent with a spatial relation of the specified signal or the specified channel on the SL (Element is optional);
the spatial relation of the first signal is consistent with a spatial relation of the first target SCI (Element is optional);
a time domain offset between the first signal and the first target SCI is not greater than a first threshold (Element is optional); or
the time domain offset between the first signal and the first target SCI is less than a second threshold (Element is optional).
RE Claim 12, Ko discloses a method
The method, wherein the sending a first signal based on first information comprises:
in a case that the first signal is an uplink signal (UE transmits an uplink sounding reference signal, SRS, for position estimation through uplink transmission. ¶0014; A Uu interface, over which an SRS is transmitted, connecting the UE and the base station is used. ¶0015), sending the first signal on a predetermined SL resource based on the first information (If a network equipment such as a BS transmits/receives a signal according to a communication scheme between UEs, the BS may also be regarded as a sort of the UE. ¶0105; SL transmission resource within an SL resource configured by a BS/Network or a pre-configured SL resource. ¶0114).
RE Claim 13, Ko discloses a method:
The method wherein the method further comprises:
sending the first target SCI or a target physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (Target UE, UE1, transmits sidelink control information, SCI, to server UE, UE2, through PSCCH. Data transmitted based on the SCI to the server UE, UE2, through PSSCH. ¶0113), wherein the first target SCI or the target PSSCH carries second information corresponding to the first signal (Target UE transmits message, such as priority of service, related to sidelink positioning request through PSCCH or PSSCH. ¶0179), and the second information comprises at least one of following:
second priority information corresponding to the first signal (Priority indication to determine if priority of a service is higher or lower than required for a server UE to accept role. Secondly, priority of service may be associated through positioning, a type of priority. ¶¶0179, 0219);
second configuration information corresponding to the first signal (Positioning Reference Signal, PRS, configuration between target and server UEs, e.g. bandwidth, frequency shift, periodicity, repetitions. ¶0182. First and second configuration information.);
second channel quality (Channel busy ratio related to channel usage with associated threshold related to channel reliability. ¶0180); or
a second measurement threshold (Channel busy ratio related to channel usage with associated threshold related to channel reliability. ¶0180).
Claim(s) 5 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko, in view of Kuo, in view of Baek et al. (US 20220407647 A1, hereinafter “Baek”).
RE Claim 5 and 19, Ko discloses a terminal or method:
wherein the priority type information comprises at least one of a sending priority (Priority indication to determine if priority of a service is higher or lower than required for a server UE to accept role. Priority of service may be associated through positioning, a type of priority. ¶¶0179, 0219), a measurement priority (Server UE may be busy for a long time before it can provide feedback to the target UE. If the time elapsed is greater than a threshold, server UE may cancel transmission of the measurement, time of arrival, TOA. ¶0196).
Ko does not explicitly disclose:
or a collision priority.
However, Baek discloses:
or a collision priority (PRS scheduling method for minimizing collision between PRSs due to use of same PRS or limited number or PRS patterns. Scheduling method for each anchor node, AN, participating in sidelink positioning operation where a group of ANs are considered for type and priority for transmitting PRS signals. ¶0258; Scheduling method groups of anchor nodes in consideration of AN group and AN priority and then groups them accordingly so that a PRS may be scheduled for each group. ¶0285-0286; Mapping relations ship for PRS scheduling for each anchor node in associated group. ¶0288, Fig. 24).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ko, prioritizing transmission and measurements, with the teachings of Baek, method of allocating PRS across multiple anchor nodes to eliminate PRS collisions.
The motivation in doing so would be to improve the success and efficiency in reception of positioning information from multiple assistant UEs by avoiding collisions based maintaining orthogonality between PRS during a given communication interval. (Ko: Abstract, ¶¶0014-16; Baek: Abstract, ¶¶0029, 0031-0037)
Claim(s) 8, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko, in view of Kuo, in view of Yoon et al. (US-20210352613-A1, hereinafter “Yoon”).
RE Claim 8, Ko discloses a method:
The method, wherein the first information further comprises first configuration information corresponding to the first signal, and configuration information comprises at least one of following:
first resource information (¶¶0106, 0179, PRS may be transmitted through resources having different time/frequency domain. ¶0192), first periodicity information (PRS configuration of periodicity. ¶0185), terminal identification information (Server ID of server UE, identification to distinguish positioning information. ¶0194), first time domain information (PRS configuration of repetitions, max reporting interval. ¶0185; Channel sensing time and elapsed time, specific times. ¶0195).
Ko does not explicitly disclose:
first power information, or first spatial information
However, Yoon discloses:
first power information (Transmission power configuration for UL-PRS. ¶¶0241-0243), or first spatial information (UE transmits UL-PRS on a specific Tx beam. ¶0225)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ko, configuration information for PRS, with the teachings of Yoon, addition of power and spatial information for PRS signaling.
The motivation in doing so would be to improve the success and efficiency in reception of positioning information by addition of power information, minimize interference to other UEs and spatial information, improve usage of resources to target transmissions. (Ko: Abstract, ¶¶0014-16; Yoon: Abstract, ¶¶0001, 0006-0010)
RE Claim 9, Ko discloses a method:
The method, wherein the first resource information comprises at least one of frequency layer information (PRS configuration may include comb-type, frequency layer information. ¶0182), carrier information (PRS configuration may include frequency shift, carrier shift. ¶0182), bandwidth part (BWP) information (BWP defined for sidelink. ¶0094; PRS configuration of bandwidth. ¶0182), resource pool information (¶0106), transport channel information (Element is optional), aggregation information (Element is optional), a frequency domain offset (PRS configuration may include frequency shift, carrier shift. ¶0182), a comb size (PRS configuration may include comb-type, frequency layer information. ¶0182), a starting resource position in a physical resource block (PRB) (¶¶0096-0097), or a bandwidth in the PRB (BWP defined for sidelink. ¶0094; PRS configuration of bandwidth. ¶0182);
the first periodicity information comprises at least one of a periodicity value set, a muting parameter set, or a repetition factor set (Periodicity, muting, and repetition. ¶0182);
the terminal identification information comprises at least one of identification information of the first terminal or identification information of a second terminal, wherein the second terminal is a terminal to be measured (Target UE requests positioning information from a first and second server UE. Server ID of a server UE identification, terminal to be measured, to distinguish positioning information. ¶0194);
the first time domain information comprises at least one of a subframe offset (Sidelink synchronization signal, SLSS, includes primary, PSSS, and secondary, SSSS, synchronization as an SL-specific sequence. ¶0101; Default system information must be first known by the UE before SL signal transmission/reception. Information related to subframe offset related to SLSS. ¶0102;), a synchronization offset (Element is optional), a slot offset (Element is optional), a symbol offset (Element is optional), or number of symbols (Element is optional);
Ko does not explicitly disclose:
the first power information comprises at least one of a p0 power value, a path loss coefficient, or maximum transmit power of a serving cell corresponding to the first terminal; and
the first spatial information comprises a spatial relation between the first signal and a specified signal or a specified channel.
However, Yoon discloses:
the first power information comprises at least one of a p0 power value (predetermined offset value, p0, configured for UL-PRS. ¶0248), a path loss coefficient (Path loss calculated for UL-PRS transmissions. ¶0248), or maximum transmit power of a serving cell corresponding to the first terminal (Maximum output power by the UE for the serving cell. ¶0249); and
the first spatial information comprises a spatial relation between the first signal and a specified signal or a specified channel (UE transmits UL-PRS on a specific Tx beam. ¶0225).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ko, configuration information for PRS, with the teachings of Yoon, addition of power and spatial information for PRS signaling.
The motivation in doing so would be to improve the success and efficiency in reception of positioning information by addition of power information, minimize interference to other UEs and spatial information, improve usage of resources to target transmissions. (Ko: Abstract, ¶¶0014-16; Yoon: Abstract, ¶¶0001, 0006-0010)
Re Claim 10, Ko discloses a method:
The method, wherein the specified signal comprises at least one of a synchronization signal block (¶0191), a channel state information-reference signal (Element is optional), a demodulation reference signal (¶0174), a phase tracking reference signal (Element is optional), a sounding reference signal (¶0153), or a positioning reference signal (Positioning Reference Signal, PRS, configuration between target and server UEs, e.g. bandwidth, frequency shift, periodicity, repetitions. ¶0182), and the specified channel comprises at least one of sidelink control information (SCI), a physical sidelink control channel (Target UE, UE1, transmits sidelink control information, SCI, to UE2, the server UE through PSCCH, a first stage SCI. ¶0113, Fig. 10a, 10b), a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH, PSCCH. ¶0174), a physical downlink control channel (¶0113), or a control resource set (¶0093).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko, in view of Kuo, in view of Khoryaev et al. (US 20160095080 A1, hereinafter “Khoryaev”).
RE Claim 14, Ko discloses a method:
The method, wherein that the first signal is used for terminal positioning comprises at least one of following:
determining a location of the first terminal (Procedure for estimating location of target UE. ¶¶0193-0194, Fig. 22);
determining a location of the at least one second terminal (Target UE requests positioning information of server UEs. Positioning information provided by server UEs include location of the server UE and information related to time of arrival, TOA, measurements. ¶0194, Fig. 22); or
Ko does not explicitly disclose:
determining a relative location between the first terminal and at least one second terminal;
determining a distance between the first terminal and the at least one second terminal.
However, Khoryaev discloses:
determining a relative location between the first terminal and at least one second terminal (Use of positional reference signals between a first and a second UE to determine relative or absolute positions and distance between the first and second UE. Abstract; ¶¶0021, 0052);
determining a distance between the first terminal and the at least one second terminal (Use of positional reference signals between a first and a second UE to determine relative, absolute positions and distance between the first and second UE. Abstract; ¶¶0021, 0052).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ko, determine location of a first and second terminal, with the teachings of Khoryaev, calculation of relative and absolute distances between a first and second terminal.
The motivation in doing so would be to provide additional location information with improved accuracy through use of sidelink positioning between two or more UEs. (Ko: Abstract, ¶¶0014-16; Khoryaev: Abstract, ¶¶0002-0003, 0014-0016, 0020)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments regarding claim 1 filed 11/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument is directed to claim 1 and the limitation “sending a first signal based on a first information”. Applicant refers to the citations, Ko ¶¶0159, 0163, of the office action for the limitation as ‘equates the “first signal” of claim 1 with either “PRS” or “assistance data” of Ko.”, applicant emphasis.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The limitation, as written, is disclosed. Ko discloses sidelink positioning method between a target UE and server UE where a single target US transmits at least on PRS, a first signal. ¶0159. Ko further discloses a target UE transmits assistance data related to sidelink positioning to first server UE, a first information based on the first signal. ¶0163. Therefore, each element of the limitation is disclosed, i.e. not equated.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim(s) 1, 15, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US 20220015057 A1 Bao et al.
US 20220278797 A1 Lee et al.
US 20230101824 A1 Baek et al.
US 20230269059 A1 Kuo et al.
The above references disclose various aspects of positioning reference signal implementation and improved method.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL A. LANGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419