DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks/Comments
Status of Claims as of the Non-Final Rejection mailed April 27, 2026
Claim(s) 1, 10, and 18, was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MEDIATEK (“Paging Enhancements for UE Power Saving”, R2-2008361, cited in IDS received February 23, 2024) in view of YANG (US 20230388927 A1). Claim(s) 1, 9, 10, 19, and 25, were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YOON (EP 3606197, cited in IDS received February 23, 2024) in view of YANG (US 20230388927 A1). Claim(s) 2, 3, 4, 7, 11, 12, 20, 21, 22, 26, and 27, were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YOON (EP 3606197, cited in IDS received February 23, 2024) in view of YANG (US 20230388927 A1) in view of LIAO (US 20230146553 A1). Claim(s) 16 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YOON (EP 3606197, cited in IDS received February 23, 2024) in view of YANG (US 20230388927 A1) in view of PARK (“US 20230337180 A1”). Claim(s) 17 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YOON (EP 3606197, cited in IDS received February 23, 2024) in view of YANG (US 20230388927 A1) in view of PARK (“US 20230337180 A1”) in view of CHENG (“US 20190052443 A1”). Claim(s) 8, 13, 14, 15, 28, and 29 were objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Applicants’ Response to the Non-Final Rejection
Responsive to prior art rejections of Independent claim(s) 1, 10, 19, and 25 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MEDIATEK (“Paging Enhancements for UE Power Saving”, R2-2008361, cited in IDS received February 23, 2024) in view of YANG (US 20230388927 A1), the independent claims have each been amended to at least recite, “…wherein the terminal groups are divided by: determining indices of the terminal groups based on identifiers of terminals; or determining indices of the terminal groups based on access classes of terminals.”, a feature that was found in claim 8. Claim 8 has been cancelled. Further responsive to rejections of independent claim(s) under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicants have presented arguments in light of amendments to the claims. The arguments are addressed below.
Response to Arguments and Amendments
Applicants have incorporated the features of claim 8, into each of claim(s) 1, 10, 19, and 25. Applicants argue that independent claim(s) are allowable due to incorporating the subject matter of claim 8, which was indicated as allowable in the Non-Final Rejection. However, it was indicated in the Non-Final Rejection (See Page(s) 46 - 47) with respect to the allowable subject matter of claim 8, that claim 8 “…would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.”. The amendments made to the independent claim(s) do not include the limitations of intervening claim 3, thus a new ground of rejection has been made in view of CMCC (CMCC, “Discussion on paging enhancement”, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #103-e, e-Meeting, October 26th – November 13th, 2020).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10, and 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MEDIATEK (“Paging Enhancements for UE Power Saving”, R2-2008361, cited in IDS received February 23, 2024) in view of YANG (US 20230388927 A1) in view of CMCC (CMCC, “Discussion on paging enhancement”, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #103-e, e-Meeting, October 26th – November 13th, 2020)
In regards to claim 1, MEDIATEK (“Paging Enhancements for UE Power Saving”, R2-2008361, cited in IDS received February 23, 2024) teaches a wireless communication method, comprising:
receiving, by a terminal device, indication information, the indication information indicating whether to monitor a paging message, and/or the indication information indicating an available reference signal, (See [Section 3.1 Paging Early Indication] “We propose a method called Paging Early Indication (PEI) for UE power saving. The idea is to ask the network to send an indication before a PO, indicating whether any UE monitoring the PO is to be paged. UE can skip PO monitoring if PEI indicates negative, otherwise UE decodes the paging PDCCH and PDSCH as usual.”), MEDIATEK differs from claim 1, in that MEDIATEK is silent on wherein when the indication information indicates whether to monitor the paging message bits occupied by the indication information include N groups of bits, and each of the N groups of bits includes M bits, N and M being positive integers; wherein each of the N groups of bits corresponds to one paging occasion, and each of the M bits corresponds to one terminal or one terminal group, wherein bit values of the bits occupied by the indication information indicate whether the corresponding terminals or terminals in the corresponding terminal groups are to monitor the paging message in the corresponding paging occasion;Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving paging in cellular communication networks.
YANG (US 20230388927 A1) teaches a paging indication feature wherein indication information, PEI, indicates whether to monitor the paging message bits occupied by the indication information include N groups of bits, and each of the N groups of bits includes M bits, N and M being positive integers; wherein each of the N groups of bits corresponds to one paging occasion, and each of the M bits corresponds to one terminal or one terminal group, wherein bit values of the bits occupied by the indication information indicate whether the corresponding terminals or terminals in the corresponding terminal groups are to monitor the paging message in the corresponding paging occasion (“[0236] Illustratively, FIG. 9 is a schematic diagram of a DCI format of a PEI according to an embodiment of the present application. As shown in FIG. 9, DCI may include bits, and the plurality of bits may be used for identifying a specific PF identifier and information of one or more POs. For example, FIG. 9 shows POs from PO1 to PO_K. [0237] Bits for identifying the information of the POs may include one or more bits. For example, as shown in FIG. 9, the information for identifying the POs may include bits. [0238] It should be noted that, the quantities of bits corresponding to different POs may be the same or different. For example, since the quantities of UE subgroups corresponding to the POs are different, the quantities of bits used for representing the UE subgroups are also different, where the quantity of bits corresponding to a PO may be the same as the quantity of the UE subgroups corresponding to the PO. For example, as shown in FIG. 9, PO1 may correspond to M UE subgroups, and adaptively, may correspond to M bits. [0239] In the embodiment of the present application, the bits in the DCI can use “0” or “1” to indicate different contents. For example, bit 0 identifies that it is unnecessary to monitor a paging PDCCH at a PO position; bit 1 identifies that it is necessary to monitor the paging PDCCH at the PO position. Or, bit 1 identifies that it is unnecessary to monitor the paging PDCCH at the PO position; bit 0 identifies that it is necessary to monitor the paging PDCCH at the PO position. This is not specifically limited in the embodiment of the present application. [0240] In one embodiment, the DCI may also be a combination of bit fields as shown in FIG. 9. Illustratively, FIG. 10 is a schematic diagram of a DCI format of a PEI according to an embodiment of the present application. As shown in FIG. 10, a combination of two groups of bit fields as shown in FIG. 9 may be included. For the specific content of each group of bit field, reference may be made to the description of FIG. 9, and details are not repeated here.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of YANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the paging feature of MEDIATEK by adopting the structure seen in the paging indication feature of YANG, to thus arrive at wherein when the indication information indicates whether to monitor the paging message bits occupied by the indication information include N groups of bits, and each of the N groups of bits includes M bits, N and M being positive integers; wherein each of the N groups of bits corresponds to one paging occasion, and each of the M bits corresponds to one terminal or one terminal group, wherein bit values of the bits occupied by the indication information indicate whether the corresponding terminals or terminals in the corresponding terminal groups are to monitor the paging message in the corresponding paging occasion, as arranged with the remaining elements of claim 1. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to provide a reliable structure for indicating a paging message to a particular terminal/terminal group.
The combined teachings of MEDIATEK in view of YANG differ from claim 1, in that the combined teachings are silent on wherein the terminal groups are divided by: determining indices of the terminal groups based on identifiers of the terminals; or determining indices of the terminal groups based on access classes of the terminals. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving the paging of UE groups.
CMCC (“Discussion on paging enhancement”, R2-2008021, cited in February 23, 2024 IDS) suggests a feature where terminal groups are divided by determining indices of terminal groups based on identifiers of the terminals ([Section 3.2.2 UE sub-grouping method] “…UE ID can also be used to calculate the sub-group index, but one issue needs to be studied, which is how to guarantee uniform distribution of UE number in each sub-group to realize the biggest power saving gain, e.g., the UE number in each sub-group is the same.…”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of CMCC it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the feature for paging UE groups suggested by the combined teachings of MEDIATEK in view of YANG, such that the terminal groups are divided by: determining indices of the terminal groups based on identifiers of the terminals, similar to the paging feature of CMCC, to thus arrive at claim 1, in order to provide a more efficient paging feature.
In regards to claim 10, MEDIATEK (“Paging Enhancements for UE Power Saving”, R2-2008361, cited in IDS received February 23, 2024) teaches a wireless communication method, comprising:
transmitting, by a network device, indication information, the indication information indicating whether to monitor a paging message, and/or the indication information indicating an
available reference signal (See [Section 3.1 Paging Early Indication] “We propose a method called Paging Early Indication (PEI) for UE power saving. The idea is to ask the network to send an indication before a PO, indicating whether any UE monitoring the PO is to be paged. UE can skip PO monitoring if PEI indicates negative, otherwise UE decodes the paging PDCCH and PDSCH as usual.”) MEDIATEK differs from claim 10, in that MEDIATEK is silent on
MEDIATEK differs from claim 10, in that MEDIATEK is silent on wherein when the indication information indicates whether to monitor the paging message bits occupied by the indication information include N groups of bits, and each of the N groups of bits includes M bits, N and M being positive integers; wherein each of the N groups of bits corresponds to one paging occasion, and each of the M bits corresponds to one terminal or one terminal group, wherein bit values of the bits occupied by the indication information indicate whether the corresponding terminals or terminals in the corresponding terminal groups are to monitor the paging message in the corresponding paging occasion; wherein the terminal groups are divided by: determining indices of the terminal groups based on identifiers of terminals; or determining indices of terminal groups based on access classes of terminals. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving paging in cellular communication networks.
YANG (US 20230388927 A1) teaches a paging indication feature wherein indication information, PEI, indicates whether to monitor the paging message bits occupied by the indication information include N groups of bits, and each of the N groups of bits includes M bits, N and M being positive integers; wherein each of the N groups of bits corresponds to one paging occasion, and each of the M bits corresponds to one terminal or one terminal group, wherein bit values of the bits occupied by the indication information indicate whether the corresponding terminals or terminals in the corresponding terminal groups are to monitor the paging message in the corresponding paging occasion (“[0236] Illustratively, FIG. 9 is a schematic diagram of a DCI format of a PEI according to an embodiment of the present application. As shown in FIG. 9, DCI may include bits, and the plurality of bits may be used for identifying a specific PF identifier and information of one or more POs. For example, FIG. 9 shows POs from PO1 to PO_K. [0237] Bits for identifying the information of the POs may include one or more bits. For example, as shown in FIG. 9, the information for identifying the POs may include bits. [0238] It should be noted that, the quantities of bits corresponding to different POs may be the same or different. For example, since the quantities of UE subgroups corresponding to the POs are different, the quantities of bits used for representing the UE subgroups are also different, where the quantity of bits corresponding to a PO may be the same as the quantity of the UE subgroups corresponding to the PO. For example, as shown in FIG. 9, PO1 may correspond to M UE subgroups, and adaptively, may correspond to M bits. [0239] In the embodiment of the present application, the bits in the DCI can use “0” or “1” to indicate different contents. For example, bit 0 identifies that it is unnecessary to monitor a paging PDCCH at a PO position; bit 1 identifies that it is necessary to monitor the paging PDCCH at the PO position. Or, bit 1 identifies that it is unnecessary to monitor the paging PDCCH at the PO position; bit 0 identifies that it is necessary to monitor the paging PDCCH at the PO position. This is not specifically limited in the embodiment of the present application. [0240] In one embodiment, the DCI may also be a combination of bit fields as shown in FIG. 9. Illustratively, FIG. 10 is a schematic diagram of a DCI format of a PEI according to an embodiment of the present application. As shown in FIG. 10, a combination of two groups of bit fields as shown in FIG. 9 may be included. For the specific content of each group of bit field, reference may be made to the description of FIG. 9, and details are not repeated here.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of YANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the paging feature of MEDIATEK by adopting the structure seen in the paging indication feature of YANG, to thus arrive at wherein when the indication information indicates whether to monitor the paging message bits occupied by the indication information include N groups of bits, and each of the N groups of bits includes M bits, N and M being positive integers; wherein each of the N groups of bits corresponds to one paging occasion, and each of the M bits corresponds to one terminal or one terminal group, wherein bit values of the bits occupied by the indication information indicate whether the corresponding terminals or terminals in the corresponding terminal groups are to monitor the paging message in the corresponding paging occasion, as arranged with the remaining elements of claim 10. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to provide a reliable structure for indicating a paging message to a particular terminal/terminal group.
The combined teachings of MEDIATEK in view of YANG differ from claim 10, in that the combined teachings are silent on wherein the terminal groups are divided by: determining indices of the terminal groups based on identifiers of the terminals; or determining indices of the terminal groups based on access classes of the terminals. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving the paging of UE groups.
CMCC (“Discussion on paging enhancement”, R2-2008021, cited in February 23, 2024 IDS) suggests a feature where terminal groups are divided by determining indices of terminal groups based on identifiers of the terminals ([Section 3.2.2 UE sub-grouping method “…UE ID can also be used to calculate the sub-group index, but one issue needs to be studied, which is how to guarantee uniform distribution of UE number in each sub-group to realize the biggest power saving gain, e.g., the UE number in each sub-group is the same.…”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of CMCC it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the feature for paging UE groups suggested by the combined teachings of MEDIATEK in view of YANG, such that the terminal groups are divided by: determining indices of the terminal groups based on identifiers of the terminals, similar to the paging feature of CMCC, to thus arrive at claim 10, in order to provide a more efficient paging feature.
In regards to claim 18, MEDIATEK (“Paging Enhancements for UE Power Saving”, R2-2008361, cited in IDS received February 23, 2024) teaches the method according to claim 10, wherein the indication information is Paging Early Indication (PEI) information (See [Section 3.1 Paging Early Indication] “We propose a method called Paging Early Indication (PEI) for UE power saving. The idea is to ask the network to send an indication before a PO, indicating whether any UE monitoring the PO is to be paged. UE can skip PO monitoring if PEI indicates negative, otherwise UE decodes the paging PDCCH and PDSCH as usual.”).
Claim(s) 1, 9, 10, 19, and 25, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YOON (EP 3606197, cited in IDS received February 23, 2024) in view of YANG (US 20230388927 A1) in view of CMCC (CMCC, “Discussion on paging enhancement”, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #103-e, e-Meeting, October 26th – November 13th, 2020)
In regards to claim 1, YOON teaches a wireless communication method, comprising:
receiving, by a terminal device, indication information, the indication information indicating whether to monitor a paging message, and/or the indication information indicating an available reference signal (See [Par. 122 – Par. 123] “If the PI flag is ON, the eNB may optionally set a feedback flag field to request a feedback from the UE. When the feedback flag is ON, the UE transmits a UL UE feedback in the presence of its information (e.g., UE ID) in the PI field. When the UE feedback flag is OFF, the UE receives DCI carrying scheduling information for a paging message, and the paging message. FIG. 9 is a flowchart illustrating an operation related to reception of a paging message, in the absence of a UE feedback flag field in paging DCI. Referring to FIG. 8, the UE receives paging DCI (S810). The paging DCI may include a PI flag, and the UE determines a value indicated by the PI flag (S820). When the PI flag is OFF (e.g., PI flag='0') in the paging DCI, the UE interprets the received paging DCI as including an RA information field providing scheduling information for a paging message and an SI update indication field (S830). The UE receives/decodes the paging message as indicated by the RA field (S840). In the presence of an SI update, the UE may then acquire updated SI at the transmission timing of SI (S860).” ).
YOON differs from claim 1, in that YOON is silent on wherein when the indication information indicates whether to monitor the paging message bits occupied by the indication information include N groups of bits, and each of the N groups of bits includes M bits, N and M being positive integers; wherein each of the N groups of bits corresponds to one paging occasion, and each of the M bits corresponds to one terminal or one terminal group, wherein bit values of the bits occupied by the indication information indicate whether the corresponding terminals or terminals in the corresponding terminal groups are to monitor the paging message in the corresponding paging occasion; wherein the terminal are divided by: determining indices of the terminal groups based on identifiers of the terminals; or determining indices of the terminal groups based on access classes of terminals. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving paging in cellular communication networks.
YANG (US 20230388927 A1) teaches a paging indication feature wherein indication information, PEI, indicates whether to monitor the paging message bits occupied by the indication information include N groups of bits, and each of the N groups of bits includes M bits, N and M being positive integers; wherein each of the N groups of bits corresponds to one paging occasion, and each of the M bits corresponds to one terminal or one terminal group, wherein bit values of the bits occupied by the indication information indicate whether the corresponding terminals or terminals in the corresponding terminal groups are to monitor the paging message in the corresponding paging occasion (“[0236] Illustratively, FIG. 9 is a schematic diagram of a DCI format of a PEI according to an embodiment of the present application. As shown in FIG. 9, DCI may include bits, and the plurality of bits may be used for identifying a specific PF identifier and information of one or more POs. For example, FIG. 9 shows POs from PO1 to PO_K. [0237] Bits for identifying the information of the POs may include one or more bits. For example, as shown in FIG. 9, the information for identifying the POs may include bits. [0238] It should be noted that, the quantities of bits corresponding to different POs may be the same or different. For example, since the quantities of UE subgroups corresponding to the POs are different, the quantities of bits used for representing the UE subgroups are also different, where the quantity of bits corresponding to a PO may be the same as the quantity of the UE subgroups corresponding to the PO. For example, as shown in FIG. 9, PO1 may correspond to M UE subgroups, and adaptively, may correspond to M bits. [0239] In the embodiment of the present application, the bits in the DCI can use “0” or “1” to indicate different contents. For example, bit 0 identifies that it is unnecessary to monitor a paging PDCCH at a PO position; bit 1 identifies that it is necessary to monitor the paging PDCCH at the PO position. Or, bit 1 identifies that it is unnecessary to monitor the paging PDCCH at the PO position; bit 0 identifies that it is necessary to monitor the paging PDCCH at the PO position. This is not specifically limited in the embodiment of the present application. [0240] In one embodiment, the DCI may also be a combination of bit fields as shown in FIG. 9. Illustratively, FIG. 10 is a schematic diagram of a DCI format of a PEI according to an embodiment of the present application. As shown in FIG. 10, a combination of two groups of bit fields as shown in FIG. 9 may be included. For the specific content of each group of bit field, reference may be made to the description of FIG. 9, and details are not repeated here.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of YANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the paging feature of YOON by adopting the structure seen in the paging indication feature of YANG, to thus arrive at wherein when the indication information indicates whether to monitor the paging message bits occupied by the indication information include N groups of bits, and each of the N groups of bits includes M bits, N and M being positive integers; wherein each of the N groups of bits corresponds to one paging occasion, and each of the M bits corresponds to one terminal or one terminal group, wherein bit values of the bits occupied by the indication information indicate whether the corresponding terminals or terminals in the corresponding terminal groups are to monitor the paging message in the corresponding paging occasion, as arranged with the remaining elements of claim 1. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to provide a reliable structure for indicating a paging message to a particular terminal/terminal group.
The combined teachings of YOON in view of YANG differ from claim 1, in that the combined teachings are silent on wherein the terminal groups are divided by: determining indices of the terminal groups based on identifiers of the terminals; or determining indices of the terminal groups based on access classes of the terminals. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving the paging of UE groups.
CMCC (“Discussion on paging enhancement”, R2-2008021, cited in February 23, 2024 IDS) suggests a feature where terminal groups are divided by determining indices of terminal groups based on identifiers of the terminals ([Section 3.2.2 UE sub-grouping method “…UE ID can also be used to calculate the sub-group index, but one issue needs to be studied, which is how to guarantee uniform distribution of UE number in each sub-group to realize the biggest power saving gain, e.g., the UE number in each sub-group is the same.…”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of CMCC it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the feature for paging UE groups suggested by the combined teachings of YOON in view of YANG, such that the terminal groups are divided by: determining indices of the terminal groups based on identifiers of the terminals, similar to the paging feature of CMCC, to thus arrive at claim 1, in order to provide a more efficient paging feature.
In regards to claim 10, YOON teaches a wireless communication method, comprising:
transmitting, by a network device, indication information, the indication information indicating whether to monitor a paging message, and/or the indication information indicating an
available reference signal (See [Par. 122 – Par. 123] “If the PI flag is ON, the eNB may optionally set a feedback flag field to request a feedback from the UE. When the feedback flag is ON, the UE transmits a UL UE feedback in the presence of its information (e.g., UE ID) in the PI field. When the UE feedback flag is OFF, the UE receives DCI carrying scheduling information for a paging message, and the paging message. FIG. 9 is a flowchart illustrating an operation related to reception of a paging message, in the absence of a UE feedback flag field in paging DCI. Referring to FIG. 8, the UE receives paging DCI (S810). The paging DCI may include a PI flag, and the UE determines a value indicated by the PI flag (S820). When the PI flag is OFF (e.g., PI flag='0') in the paging DCI, the UE interprets the received paging DCI as including an RA information field providing scheduling information for a paging message and an SI update indication field (S830). The UE receives/decodes the paging message as indicated by the RA field (S840). In the presence of an SI update, the UE may then acquire updated SI at the transmission timing of SI (S860).” )
YOON differs from claim 10, in that YOON is silent on wherein when the indication information indicates whether to monitor the paging message bits occupied by the indication information include N groups of bits, and each of the N groups of bits includes M bits, N and M being positive integers; wherein each of the N groups of bits corresponds to one paging occasion, and each of the M bits corresponds to one terminal or one terminal group, wherein bit values of the bits occupied by the indication information indicate whether the corresponding terminals or terminals in the corresponding terminal groups are to monitor the paging message in the corresponding paging occasion; wherein the terminal groups are divided by: determining indices of the terminal groups based on identiifers of terminals; or determining indices of the terminal groups based on access classes of terminals.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving paging in cellular communication networks.
YANG (US 20230388927 A1) teaches a paging indication feature wherein indication information, PEI, indicates whether to monitor the paging message bits occupied by the indication information include N groups of bits, and each of the N groups of bits includes M bits, N and M being positive integers; wherein each of the N groups of bits corresponds to one paging occasion, and each of the M bits corresponds to one terminal or one terminal group, wherein bit values of the bits occupied by the indication information indicate whether the corresponding terminals or terminals in the corresponding terminal groups are to monitor the paging message in the corresponding paging occasion (“[0236] Illustratively, FIG. 9 is a schematic diagram of a DCI format of a PEI according to an embodiment of the present application. As shown in FIG. 9, DCI may include bits, and the plurality of bits may be used for identifying a specific PF identifier and information of one or more POs. For example, FIG. 9 shows POs from PO1 to PO_K. [0237] Bits for identifying the information of the POs may include one or more bits. For example, as shown in FIG. 9, the information for identifying the POs may include bits. [0238] It should be noted that, the quantities of bits corresponding to different POs may be the same or different. For example, since the quantities of UE subgroups corresponding to the POs are different, the quantities of bits used for representing the UE subgroups are also different, where the quantity of bits corresponding to a PO may be the same as the quantity of the UE subgroups corresponding to the PO. For example, as shown in FIG. 9, PO1 may correspond to M UE subgroups, and adaptively, may correspond to M bits. [0239] In the embodiment of the present application, the bits in the DCI can use “0” or “1” to indicate different contents. For example, bit 0 identifies that it is unnecessary to monitor a paging PDCCH at a PO position; bit 1 identifies that it is necessary to monitor the paging PDCCH at the PO position. Or, bit 1 identifies that it is unnecessary to monitor the paging PDCCH at the PO position; bit 0 identifies that it is necessary to monitor the paging PDCCH at the PO position. This is not specifically limited in the embodiment of the present application. [0240] In one embodiment, the DCI may also be a combination of bit fields as shown in FIG. 9. Illustratively, FIG. 10 is a schematic diagram of a DCI format of a PEI according to an embodiment of the present application. As shown in FIG. 10, a combination of two groups of bit fields as shown in FIG. 9 may be included. For the specific content of each group of bit field, reference may be made to the description of FIG. 9, and details are not repeated here.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of YANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the paging feature of YOON by adopting the structure seen in the paging indication feature of YANG, to thus arrive at wherein when the indication information indicates whether to monitor the paging message bits occupied by the indication information include N groups of bits, and each of the N groups of bits includes M bits, N and M being positive integers; wherein each of the N groups of bits corresponds to one paging occasion, and each of the M bits corresponds to one terminal or one terminal group, wherein bit values of the bits occupied by the indication information indicate whether the corresponding terminals or terminals in the corresponding terminal groups are to monitor the paging message in the corresponding paging occasion, as arranged with the remaining elements of claim 10. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to provide a reliable structure for indicating a paging message to a particular terminal/terminal group.
The combined teachings of YOON in view of YANG differ from claim 10, in that the combined teachings are silent on wherein the terminal groups are divided by: determining indices of the terminal groups based on identifiers of the terminals; or determining indices of the terminal groups based on access classes of the terminals. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving the paging of UE groups.
CMCC (“Discussion on paging enhancement”, R2-2008021, cited in February 23, 2024 IDS) suggests a feature where terminal groups are divided by determining indices of terminal groups based on identifiers of the terminals ([Section 3.2.2 UE sub-grouping method “…UE ID can also be used to calculate the sub-group index, but one issue needs to be studied, which is how to guarantee uniform distribution of UE number in each sub-group to realize the biggest power saving gain, e.g., the UE number in each sub-group is the same.…”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of CMCC it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the feature for paging UE groups suggested by the combined teachings of YOON in view of YANG, such that the terminal groups are divided by: determining indices of the terminal groups based on identifiers of the terminals, similar to the paging feature of CMCC, to thus arrive at claim 10, in order to provide a more efficient paging feature.
In regards to claim 19, YOON teaches a terminal device, comprising: a processor and a memory, wherein the memory has a computer program stored thereon, and the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored in the memory to perform a wireless communication method (See [Par. 33 – Par. 34] “The processor 155/180 of the UE/BS 110/105 directs operations (e.g., control, adjustment, management, etc.) of the UE/BS 110/105. The processor 155/180 may be connected to the memory unit 160/185 configured to store program codes and data. The memory 160/185 is connected to the processor 155/180 to store operating systems, applications and general files…Meanwhile, in case of implementing the embodiments of the present disclosure using firmware or software, the firmware or software may be configured to include modules, procedures, and/or functions for performing the above-explained functions or operations of the present disclosure. And, the firmware or software configured to implement the present disclosure is loaded in the processor 155/180 or saved in the memory 160/185 to be driven by the processor 155/180.”), comprising:
receiving, by the terminal device, indication information, the indication information indicating whether to monitor a paging message, and/or the indication information indicating an available reference signal (See [Par. 122 – Par. 123] “If the PI flag is ON, the eNB may optionally set a feedback flag field to request a feedback from the UE. When the feedback flag is ON, the UE transmits a UL UE feedback in the presence of its information (e.g., UE ID) in the PI field. When the UE feedback flag is OFF, the UE receives DCI carrying scheduling information for a paging message, and the paging message. FIG. 9 is a flowchart illustrating an operation related to reception of a paging message, in the absence of a UE feedback flag field in paging DCI. Referring to FIG. 8, the UE receives paging DCI (S810). The paging DCI may include a PI flag, and the UE determines a value indicated by the PI flag (S820). When the PI flag is OFF (e.g., PI flag='0') in the paging DCI, the UE interprets the received paging DCI as including an RA information field providing scheduling information for a paging message and an SI update indication field (S830). The UE receives/decodes the paging message as indicated by the RA field (S840). In the presence of an SI update, the UE may then acquire updated SI at the transmission timing of SI (S860).” )
YOON differs from claim 19, in that YOON is silent on wherein when the indication information indicates whether to monitor the paging message bits occupied by the indication information include N groups of bits, and each of the N groups of bits includes M bits, N and M being positive integers; wherein each of the N groups of bits corresponds to one paging occasion, and each of the M bits corresponds to one terminal or one terminal group, wherein bit values of the bits occupied by the indication information indicate whether the corresponding terminals or terminals in the corresponding terminal groups are to monitor the paging message in the corresponding paging occasion; wherein the terminal groups are divided by: determining indices of the terminal groups based on identifiers of terminals: or determining indices of the terminal groups based on access classes of terminals. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving paging in cellular communication networks.
YANG (US 20230388927 A1) teaches a paging indication feature wherein indication information, PEI, indicates whether to monitor the paging message bits occupied by the indication information include N groups of bits, and each of the N groups of bits includes M bits, N and M being positive integers; wherein each of the N groups of bits corresponds to one paging occasion, and each of the M bits corresponds to one terminal or one terminal group, wherein bit values of the bits occupied by the indication information indicate whether the corresponding terminals or terminals in the corresponding terminal groups are to monitor the paging message in the corresponding paging occasion (“[0236] Illustratively, FIG. 9 is a schematic diagram of a DCI format of a PEI according to an embodiment of the present application. As shown in FIG. 9, DCI may include bits, and the plurality of bits may be used for identifying a specific PF identifier and information of one or more POs. For example, FIG. 9 shows POs from PO1 to PO_K. [0237] Bits for identifying the information of the POs may include one or more bits. For example, as shown in FIG. 9, the information for identifying the POs may include bits. [0238] It should be noted that, the quantities of bits corresponding to different POs may be the same or different. For example, since the quantities of UE subgroups corresponding to the POs are different, the quantities of bits used for representing the UE subgroups are also different, where the quantity of bits corresponding to a PO may be the same as the quantity of the UE subgroups corresponding to the PO. For example, as shown in FIG. 9, PO1 may correspond to M UE subgroups, and adaptively, may correspond to M bits. [0239] In the embodiment of the present application, the bits in the DCI can use “0” or “1” to indicate different contents. For example, bit 0 identifies that it is unnecessary to monitor a paging PDCCH at a PO position; bit 1 identifies that it is necessary to monitor the paging PDCCH at the PO position. Or, bit 1 identifies that it is unnecessary to monitor the paging PDCCH at the PO position; bit 0 identifies that it is necessary to monitor the paging PDCCH at the PO position. This is not specifically limited in the embodiment of the present application. [0240] In one embodiment, the DCI may also be a combination of bit fields as shown in FIG. 9. Illustratively, FIG. 10 is a schematic diagram of a DCI format of a PEI according to an embodiment of the present application. As shown in FIG. 10, a combination of two groups of bit fields as shown in FIG. 9 may be included. For the specific content of each group of bit field, reference may be made to the description of FIG. 9, and details are not repeated here.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of YANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the paging feature of YOON by adopting the structure seen in the paging indication feature of YANG, to thus arrive at wherein when the indication information indicates whether to monitor the paging message bits occupied by the indication information include N groups of bits, and each of the N groups of bits includes M bits, N and M being positive integers; wherein each of the N groups of bits corresponds to one paging occasion, and each of the M bits corresponds to one terminal or one terminal group, wherein bit values of the bits occupied by the indication information indicate whether the corresponding terminals or terminals in the corresponding terminal groups are to monitor the paging message in the corresponding paging occasion, as arranged with the remaining elements of claim 19. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to provide a reliable structure for indicating a paging message to a particular terminal/terminal group.
The combined teachings of YOON in view of YANG differ from claim 19, in that the combined teachings are silent on wherein the terminal groups are divided by: determining indices of the terminal groups based on identifiers of the terminals; or determining indices of the terminal groups based on access classes of the terminals. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving the paging of UE groups.
CMCC (“Discussion on paging enhancement”, R2-2008021, cited in February 23, 2024 IDS) suggests a feature where terminal groups are divided by determining indices of terminal groups based on identifiers of the terminals ([Section 3.2.2 UE sub-grouping method “…UE ID can also be used to calculate the sub-group index, but one issue needs to be studied, which is how to guarantee uniform distribution of UE number in each sub-group to realize the biggest power saving gain, e.g., the UE number in each sub-group is the same.…”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of CMCC it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the feature for paging UE groups suggested by the combined teachings of YOON in view of YANG, such that the terminal groups are divided by: determining indices of the terminal groups based on identifiers of the terminals, similar to the paging feature of CMCC, to thus arrive at claim 19, in order to provide a more efficient paging feature.
In regards to claim 25, YOON teaches a network device, comprising: a processor and a memory, wherein the memory has a computer program stored thereon, and the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored in the memory to perform a wireless communication method(See [Par. 33 – Par. 34] “The processor 155/180 of the UE/BS 110/105 directs operations (e.g., control, adjustment, management, etc.) of the UE/BS 110/105. The processor 155/180 may be connected to the memory unit 160/185 configured to store program codes and data. The memory 160/185 is connected to the processor 155/180 to store operating systems, applications and general files…Meanwhile, in case of implementing the embodiments of the present disclosure using firmware or software, the firmware or software may be configured to include modules, procedures, and/or functions for performing the above-explained functions or operations of the present disclosure. And, the firmware or software configured to implement the present disclosure is loaded in the processor 155/180 or saved in the memory 160/185 to be driven by the processor 155/180.”), comprising:
transmitting, by a network device, indication information, the indication information indicating whether to monitor a paging message, and/or the indication information indicating an available reference signal (See [Par. 122 – Par. 123] “If the PI flag is ON, the eNB may optionally set a feedback flag field to request a feedback from the UE. When the feedback flag is ON, the UE transmits a UL UE feedback in the presence of its information (e.g., UE ID) in the PI field. When the UE feedback flag is OFF, the UE receives DCI carrying scheduling information for a paging message, and the paging message. FIG. 9 is a flowchart illustrating an operation related to reception of a paging message, in the absence of a UE feedback flag field in paging DCI. Referring to FIG. 8, the UE receives paging DCI (S810). The paging DCI may include a PI flag, and the UE determines a value indicated by the PI flag (S820). When the PI flag is OFF (e.g., PI flag='0') in the paging DCI, the UE interprets the received paging DCI as including an RA information field providing scheduling information for a paging message and an SI update indication field (S830). The UE receives/decodes the paging message as indicated by the RA field (S840). In the presence of an SI update, the UE may then acquire updated SI at the transmission timing of SI (S860).” )
YOON differs from claim 25, in that YOON is silent on wherein when the indication information indicates whether to monitor the paging message bits occupied by the indication information include N groups of bits, and each of the N groups of bits includes M bits, N and M being positive integers; wherein each of the N groups of bits corresponds to one paging occasion, and each of the M bits corresponds to one terminal or one terminal group, wherein bit values of the bits occupied by the indication information indicate whether the corresponding terminals or terminals in the corresponding terminal groups are to monitor the paging message in the corresponding paging occasion; wherein the terminal groups are divided by: determining indices of the terminal groups based on identifiers of terminals; or determining indices of the terminal groups based on access classes of terminals. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving paging in cellular communication networks.
YANG (US 20230388927 A1) teaches a paging indication feature wherein indication information, PEI, indicates whether to monitor the paging message bits occupied by the indication information include N groups of bits, and each of the N groups of bits includes M bits, N and M being positive integers; wherein each of the N groups of bits corresponds to one paging occasion, and each of the M bits corresponds to one terminal or one terminal group, wherein bit values of the bits occupied by the indication information indicate whether the corresponding terminals or terminals in the corresponding terminal groups are to monitor the paging message in the corresponding paging occasion (“[0236] Illustratively, FIG. 9 is a schematic diagram of a DCI format of a PEI according to an embodiment of the present application. As shown in FIG. 9, DCI may include bits, and the plurality of bits may be used for identifying a specific PF identifier and information of one or more POs. For example, FIG. 9 shows POs from PO1 to PO_K. [0237] Bits for identifying the information of the POs may include one or more bits. For example, as shown in FIG. 9, the information for identifying the POs may include bits. [0238] It should be noted that, the quantities of bits corresponding to different POs may be the same or different. For example, since the quantities of UE subgroups corresponding to the POs are different, the quantities of bits used for representing the UE subgroups are also different, where the quantity of bits corresponding to a PO may be the same as the quantity of the UE subgroups corresponding to the PO. For example, as shown in FIG. 9, PO1 may correspond to M UE subgroups, and adaptively, may correspond to M bits. [0239] In the embodiment of the present application, the bits in the DCI can use “0” or “1” to indicate different contents. For example, bit 0 identifies that it is unnecessary to monitor a paging PDCCH at a PO position; bit 1 identifies that it is necessary to monitor the paging PDCCH at the PO position. Or, bit 1 identifies that it is unnecessary to monitor the paging PDCCH at the PO position; bit 0 identifies that it is necessary to monitor the paging PDCCH at the PO position. This is not specifically limited in the embodiment of the present application. [0240] In one embodiment, the DCI may also be a combination of bit fields as shown in FIG. 9. Illustratively, FIG. 10 is a schematic diagram of a DCI format of a PEI according to an embodiment of the present application. As shown in FIG. 10, a combination of two groups of bit fields as shown in FIG. 9 may be included. For the specific content of each group of bit field, reference may be made to the description of FIG. 9, and details are not repeated here.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of YANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the paging feature of YOON by adopting the structure seen in the paging indication feature of YANG, to thus arrive at wherein when the indication information indicates whether to monitor the paging message bits occupied by the indication information include N groups of bits, and each of the N groups of bits includes M bits, N and M being positive integers; wherein each of the N groups of bits corresponds to one paging occasion, and each of the M bits corresponds to one terminal or one terminal group, wherein bit values of the bits occupied by the indication information indicate whether the corresponding terminals or terminals in the corresponding terminal groups are to monitor the paging message in the corresponding paging occasion, as arranged with the remaining elements of claim 25. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to provide a reliable structure for indicating a paging message to a particular terminal/terminal group.
The combined teachings of YOON in view of YANG differ from claim 25, in that the combined teachings are silent on wherein the terminal groups are divided by: determining indices of the terminal groups based on identifiers of the terminals; or determining indices of the terminal groups based on access classes of the terminals. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving the paging of UE groups.
CMCC (“Discussion on paging enhancement”, R2-2008021, cited in February 23, 2024 IDS) suggests a feature where terminal groups are divided by determining indices of terminal groups based on identifiers of the terminals ([Section 3.2.2 UE sub-grouping method “…UE ID can also be used to calculate the sub-group index, but one issue needs to be studied, which is how to guarantee uniform distribution of UE number in each sub-group to realize the biggest power saving gain, e.g., the UE number in each sub-group is the same.…”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of CMCC it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the feature for paging UE groups suggested by the combined teachings of YOON in view of YANG, such that the terminal groups are divided by: determining indices of the terminal groups based on identifiers of the terminals, similar to the paging feature of CMCC, to thus arrive at claim 25, in order to provide a more efficient paging feature.
In regards to claim 9, YOON in view of YANG in view of CMCC teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the terminal device is in an idle state or an inactive state (See, YOON [Par. 74 – Par. 77] “Before entering DRX mode, a UE in the RRC idle or RRC inactive mode may receive, from the network (e.g., the eNB), signaling indicating a time when the UE needs to wake up to receive paging in the DRX mode for power saving…In the present disclosure, therefore, from the viewpoint of a UE receiving paging, the UE may receive/decode paging DCI in a PO, and a paging message is not necessarily transmitted in the PO in which the paging DCI is transmitted.”).
Claim(s) 2, 11, 12, 20, 26, and 27, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YOON (EP 3606197, cited in IDS received February 23, 2024) in view of YANG (US 20230388927 A1) in view of CMCC (CMCC, “Discussion on paging enhancement”, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #103-e, e-Meeting, October 26th – November 13th, 2020) in view of LIAO (US 20230146553 A1)
In regards to claim 2, YOON in view of YANG in view of CMCC is silent on the method according to claim 1, wherein the indication information is carried in downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling system information. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving the scheduling of paging messages.
LIAO (US 20230146553 A1) for example teaches a feature where indication information for scheduling a paging message is carried in a DCI for scheduling system information, a DCI format 1_0 (“[0032] FIG. 3 illustrates one embodiment of a format of a PEI message including a PEI in accordance with one novel aspect. In particular, a format of a PEI message 300 includes a DCI format 1_0. Accordingly, the PEI message 300 may include: a field 301 of short message indicator, a field 302 of short message, a field 303 of frequency domain resource alignment, a field 304 a time domain resource alignment, a field 305 of Virtual Resource Block (VRB) to Physical Resource Block (PRB) mapping, a field 306 of modulation and coding scheme, a field 307 of Transport Block (TB) scaling and a field 308 of reserved bits.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of LIAO it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the feature for scheduling a paging message, suggested by YOON in view of YANG in view of CMCC, by adopting the use of a DCI format 1_0 for carrying the indication information suggested by YOON in view of YANG in view of CMCC, the PEI, to thus arrive at claim 2, in order to provide a benefit of a reliable messaging format for scheduling the delivery of paging messages.
In regards to claim 20, YOON in view of YANG in view of CMCC is silent on the terminal device according to claim 19, wherein the indication information is carried in downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling system information. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving the scheduling of paging messages.
LIAO (US 20230146553 A1) for example teaches a feature where indication information for scheduling a paging message is carried in a DCI for scheduling system information, a DCI format 1_0 (“[0032] FIG. 3 illustrates one embodiment of a format of a PEI message including a PEI in accordance with one novel aspect. In particular, a format of a PEI message 300 includes a DCI format 1_0. Accordingly, the PEI message 300 may include: a field 301 of short message indicator, a field 302 of short message, a field 303 of frequency domain resource alignment, a field 304 a time domain resource alignment, a field 305 of Virtual Resource Block (VRB) to Physical Resource Block (PRB) mapping, a field 306 of modulation and coding scheme, a field 307 of Transport Block (TB) scaling and a field 308 of reserved bits.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of LIAO it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the feature for scheduling a paging message, suggested by YOON in view of YANG in view of CMCC, by adopting the use of a DCI format 1_0 for carrying the indication information suggested by YOON in view of YANG in view of CMCC, the PEI, to thus arrive at claim 2, in order to provide a benefit of a reliable messaging format for scheduling the delivery of paging messages.
In regards to claim 11, YOON in view of YANG in view of CMCC is silent on the method according to claim 10, wherein the indication information is carried in downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling system information, and the indication information occupies part or all of reserved bits in the DCI. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving the scheduling of paging messages.
LIAO (US 20230146553 A1) for example teaches a feature where indication information for scheduling a paging message is carried in a DCI for scheduling system information, a DCI format 1_0, and where and the indication information occupies part or all of reserved bits in the DCI (“[0032] FIG. 3 illustrates one embodiment of a format of a PEI message including a PEI in accordance with one novel aspect. In particular, a format of a PEI message 300 includes a DCI format 1_0. Accordingly, the PEI message 300 may include: a field 301 of short message indicator, a field 302 of short message, a field 303 of frequency domain resource alignment, a field 304 a time domain resource alignment, a field 305 of Virtual Resource Block (VRB) to Physical Resource Block (PRB) mapping, a field 306 of modulation and coding scheme, a field 307 of Transport Block (TB) scaling and a field 308 of reserved bits… [0051] In one embodiment, the DCI format of the PEI message includes a DCI format 1_0. Accordingly, the PEI message may include a short message indicator field, a short message field, a frequency domain resource alignment field, a time domain resource alignment field, a VRB-to-PRB mapping field, a modulation and coding scheme field, a TB scaling field and a reserved bits field. [0052] In one implementation, at least one field of at least one unused bit of the short message indicator field, at least one unused bit of the short message field, the frequency domain resource alignment field, the time domain resource alignment field, the VRB-to-PRB mapping field, the modulation and coding scheme field, the TB scaling field and the reserved bits field is configured as the PEI.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of LIAO it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the feature for scheduling a paging message, suggested by YOON in view of YANG in view of CMCC, by adopting the use of reserved bits of DCI format 1_0 for carrying the indication information suggested by YOON in view of YANG in view of CMCC, the PEI, to thus arrive at claim 11, in order to provide a benefit of a reliable messaging format for scheduling the delivery of paging messages.
In regards to claim 26, YOON in view of YANG in view of CMCC is silent on the network device according to claim 25, wherein the indication information is carried in downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling system information, and the indication information occupies part or all of reserved bits in the DCI. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving the scheduling of paging messages.
LIAO (US 20230146553 A1) for example teaches a feature where indication information for scheduling a paging message is carried in a DCI for scheduling system information, a DCI format 1_0, and where and the indication information occupies part or all of reserved bits in the DCI (“[0032] FIG. 3 illustrates one embodiment of a format of a PEI message including a PEI in accordance with one novel aspect. In particular, a format of a PEI message 300 includes a DCI format 1_0. Accordingly, the PEI message 300 may include: a field 301 of short message indicator, a field 302 of short message, a field 303 of frequency domain resource alignment, a field 304 a time domain resource alignment, a field 305 of Virtual Resource Block (VRB) to Physical Resource Block (PRB) mapping, a field 306 of modulation and coding scheme, a field 307 of Transport Block (TB) scaling and a field 308 of reserved bits… [0051] In one embodiment, the DCI format of the PEI message includes a DCI format 1_0. Accordingly, the PEI message may include a short message indicator field, a short message field, a frequency domain resource alignment field, a time domain resource alignment field, a VRB-to-PRB mapping field, a modulation and coding scheme field, a TB scaling field and a reserved bits field. [0052] In one implementation, at least one field of at least one unused bit of the short message indicator field, at least one unused bit of the short message field, the frequency domain resource alignment field, the time domain resource alignment field, the VRB-to-PRB mapping field, the modulation and coding scheme field, the TB scaling field and the reserved bits field is configured as the PEI.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of LIAO it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the feature for scheduling a paging message, suggested by YOON in view of YANG in view of CMCC, by adopting the use of reserved bits of DCI format 1_0 for carrying the indication information suggested by YOON in view of YANG in view of CMCC, the PEI, to thus arrive at claim 26, in order to provide a benefit of a reliable messaging format for scheduling the delivery of paging messages.
In regards to claim 12, YOON is silent on the method according to claim 11, wherein a bit position and/or a number of bits occupied by the indication information is preconfigured or agreed in a protocol, or a bit position and/or a number of bits occupied by the indication information is configured by a network device. However, with respect to the method of claim 11, the combination of the combination of YOON in view of YANG in view of CMCC in view of LIAO are believed to suggest the method of claim 11, for the reasons provided with respect to claim 11, above. Furthermore, regarding wherein a bit position and/or a number of bits occupied by the indication information is preconfigured or agreed in a protocol, or a bit position and/or a number of bits occupied by the indication information is configured by a network device, similar features have been seen in other prior art involving the scheduling of paging information.
YANG for example teaches where bit positions or a number of bits occupied by indication information is preconfigured or agreed in a protocol (“[0236] Illustratively, FIG. 9 is a schematic diagram of a DCI format of a PEI according to an embodiment of the present application. As shown in FIG. 9, DCI may include bits, and the plurality of bits may be used for identifying a specific PF identifier and information of one or more POs. For example, FIG. 9 shows POs from PO1 to PO_K. [0237] Bits for identifying the information of the POs may include one or more bits. For example, as shown in FIG. 9, the information for identifying the POs may include bits. [0238] It should be noted that, the quantities of bits corresponding to different POs may be the same or different. For example, since the quantities of UE subgroups corresponding to the POs are different, the quantities of bits used for representing the UE subgroups are also different, where the quantity of bits corresponding to a PO may be the same as the quantity of the UE subgroups corresponding to the PO. For example, as shown in FIG. 9, PO1 may correspond to M UE subgroups, and adaptively, may correspond to M bits… [0241] Illustratively, FIG. 11 is a schematic diagram of a DCI format of a PEI according to an embodiment of the present application. Different from FIG. 9, as shown in FIG. 11, DCI may not include a bit corresponding to a PF identifier. The PF identifier may be identified by a preconfigured time interval between the DCI and the PF. For the specific content of the information of K POs, reference may be made to the description of FIG. 9, and details are not repeated here.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of YANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the paging feature of
YOON in view of YANG in view of CMCC in view of LIAO by adopting the structure seen in the paging indication feature of YANG, to thus arrive at the method according to claim 11, wherein a bit position and/or a number of bits occupied by the indication information is preconfigured or agreed in a protocol, or a bit position and/or a number of bits occupied by the indication information is configured by a network device. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to provide a reliable structure for indicating a paging message to a particular terminal/terminal group.
In regard to claim 27, YOON is silent on the network device according to claim 26, wherein a bit position and/or a number of bits occupied by the indication information is preconfigured or agreed in a protocol, or a bit position and/or a number of bits occupied by the indication information is configured by a network device. However, with respect to the network device of claim 27, the combination of the combination of YOON in view of YANG in view of CMCC in view of LIAO are believed to suggest the network device of claim 27, for the reasons provided with respect to claim 27, above. Furthermore, regarding wherein a bit position and/or a number of bits occupied by the indication information is preconfigured or agreed in a protocol, or a bit position and/or a number of bits occupied by the indication information is configured by a network device, similar features have been seen in other prior art involving the scheduling of paging information. YANG for example teaches where bit positions or a number of bits occupied by indication information is preconfigured or agreed in a protocol (“[0236] Illustratively, FIG. 9 is a schematic diagram of a DCI format of a PEI according to an embodiment of the present application. As shown in FIG. 9, DCI may include bits, and the plurality of bits may be used for identifying a specific PF identifier and information of one or more POs. For example, FIG. 9 shows POs from PO1 to PO_K. [0237] Bits for identifying the information of the POs may include one or more bits. For example, as shown in FIG. 9, the information for identifying the POs may include bits. [0238] It should be noted that, the quantities of bits corresponding to different POs may be the same or different. For example, since the quantities of UE subgroups corresponding to the POs are different, the quantities of bits used for representing the UE subgroups are also different, where the quantity of bits corresponding to a PO may be the same as the quantity of the UE subgroups corresponding to the PO. For example, as shown in FIG. 9, PO1 may correspond to M UE subgroups, and adaptively, may correspond to M bits… [0241] Illustratively, FIG. 11 is a schematic diagram of a DCI format of a PEI according to an embodiment of the present application. Different from FIG. 9, as shown in FIG. 11, DCI may not include a bit corresponding to a PF identifier. The PF identifier may be identified by a preconfigured time interval between the DCI and the PF. For the specific content of the information of K POs, reference may be made to the description of FIG. 9, and details are not repeated here.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of YANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the paging feature of
YOON in view of YANG in view of CMCC in view of LIAO by adopting the structure seen in the paging indication feature of YANG, to thus arrive at the network device according to claim 26, wherein a bit position and/or a number of bits occupied by the indication information is preconfigured or agreed in a protocol, or a bit position and/or a number of bits occupied by the indication information is configured by a network device. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to provide a reliable structure for indicating a paging message to a particular terminal/terminal group.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YOON (EP 3606197, cited in IDS received February 23, 2024) in view of YANG (US 20230388927 A1) in view of CMCC (CMCC, “Discussion on paging enhancement”, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #103-e, e-Meeting, October 26th – November 13th, 2020) in view of PARK (“US 20230337180 A1”).
In regards to claim 16, the combination of YOON in view of YANG in view of CMCC is silent on the method according to claim 10, wherein the available reference signal is used for time-frequency synchronization and/or Radio Resource Management (RRM) measurement by a terminal device when receiving the paging message. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving the paging of wireless communication devices. PARK (“US 20230337180 A1”) teaches a feature where an available reference signal, CSI-RS/TRS, is used for time-frequency synchronization and/or RRM measurement by a terminal device when receiving the paging message, paging early indicator (“[0157] According to an embodiment, the identification information included in the paging message may include a downlink control channel-based permanent equipment identifier (PEI) configured for each UE. According to another embodiment, the identification information may be configured as a synchronization signal-based PEI (SSS-based PEI), such as SSS. According to still another embodiment, the identification information may be configured as a reference signal-based PEI (TRS/CSI-RS-based PEI), such as TRS or CSI-RS.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of PARK it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify paging feature of the combination of YOON in view of YANG in view of CMCC, to arrive at the method according to claim 10, wherein the available reference signal is used for time-frequency synchronization and/or Radio Resource Management (RRM) measurement by a terminal device when receiving the paging message, in order to provide a paging feature that more effectively uses wireless resources.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YOON (EP 3606197, cited in IDS received February 23, 2024) in view of YANG (US 20230388927 A1) in view of CMCC in view of PARK (“US 20230337180 A1”) in view of CHENG (“US 20190052443 A1”).
In regards to claim 17, the combination of YOON in view of YANG in view of CMCC is silent on the method according to claim 10, wherein the available reference signal comprises an available reference signal from a plurality of reference signals, and configuration information for the plurality of reference signals is configured by a network device via system information or RRC signaling. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving the paging of wireless communication devices. PARK (“US 20230337180 A1”) teaches a feature where an available reference signal, TRS ,is used for time-frequency synchronization and/or, CSI-RS, RRM measurement by a terminal device when receiving the paging message, paging early indicator (“[0157] According to an embodiment, the identification information included in the paging message may include a downlink control channel-based permanent equipment identifier (PEI) configured for each UE. According to another embodiment, the identification information may be configured as a synchronization signal-based PEI (SSS-based PEI), such as SSS. According to still another embodiment, the identification information may be configured as a reference signal-based PEI (TRS/CSI-RS-based PEI), such as TRS or CSI-RS.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of PARK it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify paging feature of the combination of YOON in view of YANG in view of CMCC, to arrive at the use of an available reference signal in order to provide a paging feature that more effectively uses wireless resources. The combined teachings of YOON in view of YANG in view CMCC in view of PARK further differ from claim 17, in that the combined teachings are silent on the method according to claim 10, wherein the available reference signal comprises an available reference signal from a plurality of reference signals, and configuration information for the plurality of reference signals is configured by a network device via system information or RRC signaling.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving use of reference signals. CHENG (“US 20190052443 A1”) teaches wherein an available reference signal comprises an available reference signal from a plurality of reference signals (i.e. reference signals transmitted periodically indicated via a periodicity), and configuration information for the plurality of reference signals is configured by a network device via system information or RRC signaling (“[0126] At step 1104, the network node 1152 signals the UE 1150 with one or more TRS configurations, e.g., through RRC signaling or broadcast messages. A TRS configuration may be constructed by aggregating multiple one-port CSI-RS configurations, e.g., as illustrated in FIGS. 8-10. The TRS configuration may include aggregation details, a QCL assumption, and a TRS transmission periodicity. The aggregation details may indicate one-port CSI-RS configurations that are aggregated to construct the TRS configuration. For example, the aggregation details include identifiers (e.g., c0, c1, etc.) identifying the one-port CSI-RS configurations. An identifier may also be a number (e.g., 0, 1, 2, etc.) assigned to a one-port CSI-RS configuration. An identifier identifies a one-port CSI-RS configuration from a plurality of one-port CSI-RS configurations. The aggregation details may also indicate resource elements per RB that are specified by the one-port CSI-RS configurations.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of CHENG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reference signal feature suggested by the combined teachings of YOON in view of YANG in view CMCC in view of PARK to arrive at the method according to claim 10, wherein the available reference signal comprises an available reference signal from a plurality of reference signals, and configuration information for the plurality of reference signals is configured by a network device via system information or RRC signaling, in order to reliably deliver reference signals by transmitted a plurality times (i.e. periodically).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3, 4, 7, 13, 14, 15 ,21, 22, 28, and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TARELL A HAMPTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476