DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
All bullets should be removed and the limitations reformatted into proper US claim format and grammar. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are as follows.
“a first module housing” in Claim 1, line 5.
“an autonomous assembly zone” in Claim 1, line 7.
“a first food dispensing module” in Claim 1, line 9.
“a second food dispensing module” in Claim 1, line 12.
“a first conveyor module” in Claim 1, line 16.
“a second module housing” in Claim 3, line 3.
“a third food dispensing module” in Claim 3, line 4.
“a second conveyor module” in Claim 4, line 11.
“an elevator module” in Claim 5, line 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 and 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-13 and 15-21 have a multiplicity of issues under section 112b. The following are considered exemplary.
Claim 1 recites the limitations “work surface height” in line 2 and "a of food hopper" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 1-13 and 15-21 are generally narrative and it is not clear what the relationship of each limitation is with the rest of the limitations. For example, in Claim 1, line 5, “a first module housing” does not have a transitional phrase such as “comprising” after the word “housing”. Therefore, it is not clear whether the following limitations each concern the housing or if they concern another limitation. For example, in Claim 1, line 16, the phrase “comprising a first conveyor module”, it is not clear what of the following limitations in lines 17-27 are part of the conveyor module or whether they are part of another element.
See further discussion below in the Response to Arguments section.
Regarding Claim 16, the method recites the steps of receiving, in lines 2 and 3, a set of steps in response to a condition in lines 4-13 and another set of steps in response to a condition in lines 14-23. None of these steps mention any elements that perform these steps that would describe them as either manually or automatically performed. However, in light of the specification, paragraph 3 states the system is both manual and autonomous. See also paragraphs 15 and 17 mentioning a controller, for example. See also paragraphs 52-54 mentioning a controller and paragraphs 55-59 mentioning a computer system. It is therefore unclear and indefinite as to whether the steps are performed manually or automatically.
Claims 17-19 which depend from Claim 16 also exhibit the same or similar issues. Note, for example, Claim 17, lines 1 and 2 states “the method of Claim 16, further comprising, via the controller:”. The next bullet starts in line three, “triggering”. However, the next bullet, starting in Claim 17, line 7, states “by the second conveyor module”. This is understood to mean “via the controller, by the second conveyor module of the second module housing…” The relationship between the controller and the second conveyor module is unclear.
As currently understood, one suggestion might be to say “via the controller, causing the second conveyor module of the second module housing…” seems to more clearly indicate the controller is controlling the second conveyor module, for example.
Regarding Claim 20, lines 3 and 4, the phrase “a longitudinal assembly axis arranged below a works surface height parallel” is unclear and indefinite. Parallel to what?
Regarding Claim 21, the last two lines state “wherein the controller is further configured to align a region of the food container beneath a food dispensing module according to the plating instruction” what is doing the aligning? A robot? The controller cannot perform the alignment via instruction by itself.
Applicant should note that this is not an exhaustive list of all issues in Claims 1-13 and 15-21 and should inspect the claims for full validity under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ) second paragraph and under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ) first paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfarra (US 2019/0069728 A1) in view of Lin (US 9,895,018 B2), further in view of Purgatorio et al (US 2011/0253482 A1), further in view of Mabee (10,391,597 B2), further in view of Egami et al (US 2008/0082206 A1), further in view of Mack (US 9,237,817 B2) and further in view of Kesler (US 2021/0282409 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, as best understood, Alfarra teaches
a food production system, i.e., food preparation environment (100), with food system (105), as illustrated in figures 1 and 2, for example, comprising:
a food preparation surface at a work surface height, i.e., the top surface of the food system (105) as illustrated in figure 2, defining a receptacle configured to
receive a food hopper configured to store ingredients for preparation of units of a food product type;
a first module housing, i.e., interpreted as the housing of food service system (105), as illustrated in figure 2:
supporting the food preparation surface, i.e., the top of the housing of food system (105), as illustrated in figure 2;
defining an autonomous assembly zone extending along a longitudinal assembly axis, i.e., interpreted as the area along the track (225) as shown in figure 2, along with robot arm (310) as illustrated in figure 3, for example, parallel and below the food preparation surface, noting that the track (225) is parallel and below the food preparation surface, i.e., the top of the housing food system (105), as illustrated in figure 2;
configured to transiently house a first food dispensing module, i.e., any of raw material station (205) as mentioned in paragraphs 39 and 41 and as illustrated in figure 3a, preparation station (210), as mentioned at paragraph 46 and as illustrated in figure 3b, ingredient station (215), as mentioned in paragraph 49 and as illustrated in figure 3c, and dispensing station (220) located below
the food preparation surface and configured to dispense a first ingredient
toward the autonomous assembly zone, as mentioned in figure 2, for example; and
configured to transiently house a second food dispensing module, i.e., any one of the other of (205, 210, 215, 220) located below
the food preparation surface, as illustrated in figure 2, located adjacent the first food dispensing module (205, 210, 215, 220),
and configured to dispense a second ingredient, i.e., as mentioned at paragraph 4, mentioning avocados or lettuce, for example, toward the autonomous assembly zone, via track (225), as illustrated in figure 2, for example, and;
a controller, i.e. control unit (235), as mentioned in paragraph 40 and as illustrated at figure 2, and network (135), computing devices (140), database (145) and server (150), along with backend system (152) and third party system (165), as mentioned in paragraph 28 and 32, configured to:
receive a food order indicating a first ingredient and a second ingredient, as mentioned in paragraphs 32 and 67, for example;
locate a first region of the food container beneath the first food dispensing
module by triggering the first conveyor belt and the second conveyor belt to advance by a first distance, noting the controller (235) controls the conveyor/track (225);
trigger the first food dispensing module (205, 210, 215, 220) to dispense the first ingredient into the first region of the food container, i.e., via the controller (235);
locate a second region of the food container beneath the second food dispensing module, i.e. via sensors as mentioned at paragraphs 3, 50, 64 by:
triggering the first conveyor belt to advance by a second distance, i.e. noting that the controller (235) is able to advance the conveyor carrying the food container to whatever distance is needed; and
triggering the second conveyor belt to advance by a third distance; and
trigger the second food dispensing module to dispense the second ingredient into the second region of the food container, noting the controller (235) is able to control and synchronize multiple modules to dispense items as needed.
Regarding Claim 1, Alfarra does not expressly teach the top surface of the food system defining a receptacle configured to receive a of food hopper configured to store ingredients for preparation of units of a food product type.
Regarding Claim 1, Alfarra does not expressly teach, but Purgatorio teaches the top surface of the food system, i.e, food order assembly device (100, 200), as illustrated in figures 1 and 7, defining a receptacle, i.e., receptacles (136, 136a-136g) and pans (138) as mentioned at paragraphs 41 and 43 and pans (238a-238k), as illustrated in figures 7-9 and as mentioned at paragraph 51, for example, configured to receive a of food hopper, i.e., pans (138) and (238a-238k), configured to store ingredients for preparation of units of a food product type, i.e., such as condiments as mentioned at paragraphs 2 and 41, for example.
Regarding Claim 1, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the top surface of the food system defining a receptacle configured to receive a of food hopper configured to store ingredients for preparation of units of a food product type, as taught by Purgatorio, in Alfarra’s food production system, for the purpose of holding contents of items/ingredients for making food products.
Regarding Claim 1, Alfarra does not expressly teach
comprising a first conveyor module:
arranged within the autonomous assembly zone of the first module
housing;
comprising a first conveyor belt extending parallel to and laterally offset
behind the longitudinal assembly axis;
comprising a second conveyor belt:
extending parallel to and laterally offset in front of the
longitudinal assembly axis; and
configured to cooperate with the first conveyor belt to support a
rim of a food container with a base of the food container
extending below the first conveyor belt and the second conveyor
belt.
Regarding Claim 1, Alfarra does not expressly teach, but Egami teaches
comprising a first conveyor module, i.e., input conveyor (42), as illustrated in figure 2:
arranged within the autonomous assembly zone of the first module
housing, as taught by Alfarra;
configured to cooperate with the first conveyor belt, as stated in paragraph 29, mentioning belts and rollers.
Regarding Claim 1, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided comprising a first conveyor module:
arranged within the autonomous assembly zone of the first module
housing configured to cooperate with the first conveyor belt, as taught by Egami, in Alfarra’s food production system, for the purpose of transporting feed products to appropriate assembly stations.
Regarding Claim 1, Alfarra does not expressly teach, but Mabee teaches
comprising a first conveyor module, i.e., the workstation (14) having area inside wall portions (56, 55, 57), as mentioned in col. 7, lines 30-42:
arranged within the autonomous assembly zone, i.e., the area inside wall portions (56, 55, 57) of the first module housing, as illustrated in figure 9, for example;
comprising a first conveyor belt, i.e., belt member (32) extending parallel to and laterally offset behind the longitudinal assembly axis, i.e., the midline between belts (32, 34) as seen in figure 3, for example;
comprising a second conveyor belt, i.e., belt member (34),
(the belt) extending parallel to and laterally offset in front of the
longitudinal assembly axis, i.e., the midline between belts (32, 34) as seen in figure 3, for example;
a conveyor module (14), configured to cooperate with the first conveyor belt (32, 34) to support a bowl/container of a food item.
Regarding Claim 1, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided comprising a first conveyor belt extending parallel to and laterally offset
behind the longitudinal assembly axis;
comprising a second conveyor belt:
extending parallel to and laterally offset in front of the
longitudinal assembly axis,
a conveyor module, configured to cooperate with the first conveyor belt as taught by Mabee, in Alfarra’s food production system, for the purpose of transporting feed products to appropriate assembly stations using a common alternative conveyor well known in the art.
Regarding Claim 1, Alfarra does not expressly teach, but Mack teaches
support(ing) a rim of a food container, i.e., a bottle or a bowl, as mentioned at col. 35, lines 17-32, for example,
with a base of the food container, extending below the first conveyor belt and the second conveyor belt, i.e., both rails (7) as illustrated in figures 25, 26 and 31, for example.
Regarding Claim 1, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided support(ing) a rim of a food container, with a base of the food container, extending below the first conveyor belt and the second conveyor belt, as taught by Mack, in Alfarra’s food production system, for the purpose of securely holding a food container as the conveyor moves the food container.
Regarding Claim 1, Alfarra does not expressly teach
a controller configured to:
receive a food order indicating a set of ingredients and comprising a plating instruction indicating a region within the food container for each ingredient in the set of ingredients, the set of ingredients comprising a first ingredient and a second ingredient;
locate a first region of the food container beneath the first food dispensing module by triggering the first conveyor belt and the second conveyor belt to advance by a first distance;
trigger the first food dispensing module to dispense the first ingredient into the first region of the food container according to the plating instruction;
locate a second region of the food container beneath the second food dispensing module by:
triggering the first conveyor belt to advance by a second distance; and
triggering the second conveyor belt to advance by a third distance; and
trigger the second food dispensing module to dispense the second ingredient into the second region of the food container according to the plating instruction.
Regarding Claim 1, Alfarra does not expressly teach, but Kesler teaches
a controller, i.e., control system (300), as mentioned at paragraphs 132-139 and as illustrated in figure 3a, for example, configured to:
receive a food order, i.e., as mentioned at step (3405) of figure 3b and as mentioned at paragraph 140, for example, indicating a set of ingredients, as mentioned at paragraph 133, and comprising a plating instruction indicating a region within the food container for each ingredient in the set of ingredients, i.e., interpreted as the pattern as mentioned at paragraphs 203, for example, the set of ingredients comprising a first ingredient, i.e., meats, and a second ingredient, i.e., cheeses, for example, and noting the mention of placement on one side/one-half of the pizza, note also the mention of pepperoni at paragraph 125, various vegetables, fruits and meats at paragraph 126 and a sauce dispenser station (1100) as mentioned at paragraph 297;
locate a first region of the food container, i.e., pan (400) with base (420) and ring (440), as mentioned at paragraph 149, beneath the first food dispensing module, i.e., sauce dispensing station (1100), as illustrated in figure 17a and as mentioned at paragraph 193, by triggering the first conveyor belt (611, 685), as illustrated in figure 12b and as mentioned at paragraphs 180 and 181, and the second conveyor belt (630, 686), as illustrated in figures 10a, 10b, 11a-11c and 10b and as mentioned in paragraphs 174, 177, 178, to advance by a first distance;
trigger the first food dispensing module, i.e., any of (1501, 1502), as illustrated in figures 23a, 23b, 26a and 52 and as mentioned at paragraph 210, 230 and 292, to dispense the first ingredient into the first region, i.e., one side/one-half, of the food container (400) according to the plating instruction, as mentioned at paragraph 203, for example;
locate a second region, i.e., the other side/half, of the food container (400) beneath the second food dispensing module, i.e., any of the other of (1501, 1502), by:
triggering the first conveyor belt (611, 685) to advance by a second distance; and
triggering the second conveyor belt (630, 686) to advance by a third distance; and
trigger the second food dispensing module, i.e., any of the other of (1501, 1502), to dispense the second ingredient into the second region, i.e., the other side/half, of the food container (400) according to the plating instruction, for example.
Regarding Claim 1, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a controller configured to:
receive a food order indicating a set of ingredients and comprising a plating instruction indicating a region within the food container for each ingredient in the set of ingredients, the set of ingredients comprising a first ingredient and a second ingredient;
locate a first region of the food container beneath the first food dispensing module by triggering the first conveyor belt and the second conveyor belt to advance by a first distance;
trigger the first food dispensing module to dispense the first ingredient into the first region of the food container according to the plating instruction;
locate a second region of the food container beneath the second food dispensing module by:
triggering the first conveyor belt to advance by a second distance; and
triggering the second conveyor belt to advance by a third distance; and
trigger the second food dispensing module to dispense the second ingredient into the second region of the food container according to the plating instruction, as taught by Kesler, in Alfarra’s food production system, for the purpose of processing food items such as pizza requiring depositing of items on a container according to the ordered preferences of items in a computerized ordering system as is common in the food preparation art.
Regarding Claim 15, Alfarra does not expressly teach
wherein the first conveyor module is
further configured to:
support the rim of a first food container of a first depth at a target distance
beneath the food dispensing module; and
support the rim of a second food container of a second depth at the target
distance beneath the food dispensing module, wherein the second depth is
greater than the first depth and a base of the second food container is suspended closer to a bottom of the module housing than a base of the first food container.
Regarding Claim 15, Alfarra does not expressly teach, but Kesler teaches
wherein the first conveyor module is
further configured to:
support the rim of a first food container, i.e., pan (400), as mentioned at paragraph 149 and as illustrated in figures 4a-6b, of a first depth at a target distance
beneath the food dispensing module (1501, 1502); and
support the rim of a second food container of a second depth at the target
distance beneath the food dispensing module, wherein the second depth is
greater than the first depth and a base of the second food container is suspended closer to a bottom of the module housing than a base of the first food container.
Claim(s) 2-8, 16-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfarra (US 2019/0069728 A1) in view of Lin (US 9,895,018 B2), further in view of Purgatorio et al (US 2011/0253482 A1), further in view of Mabee (10,391,597 B2), further in view of Egami et al (US 2008/0082206 A1), further in view of Mack (US 9,237,817 B2), further in view of Kesler (US 2021/0282409 A1), further in view of Showalter (US 2021/0047165 A1) and further in view of Klein et al (US 2020/0154949 A1).
Regarding Claim(s) 2-8, 16-18 and 20, Alfarra teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 2, Alfarra does not expressly teach
wherein the first module housing comprises:
a first inlet door facing the container dispensing module;
further comprising a second module housing arranged adjacent the first module housing, the second module housing comprising:
a container dispensing module arranged adjacent the first conveyor module, the container dispensing module configured to dispense the food container into the first inlet door of the first conveyor module; and
wherein the controller is further configured to:
trigger the first conveyor belt and the second conveyor belt to advance by the first distance to:
load the food container from the container dispensing module onto the
first conveyor and the second conveyor via the first inlet door; and
transition the food container from the first inlet door to a first position
under the first food dispensing module.
Regarding Claim 2, Alfarra does not expressly teach, but Klein teaches
a container dispensing module, as mentioned at paragraph 88, which states as follows.
[0088] In another implementation, the system 100 includes packaging modules, such as: an upstream packaging module configured to dispense a food container (e.g., a cup, a bowl, a paper wrapper) at the head of a set of food dispensing modules 120; and a downstream packaging module configured to close a food container loaded with ingredients by upstream food dispensing modules 120, such as by placing a lid on a cup, placing a lid on a bowl, or wrapping a paper wrapper.
[0089] However, the system 100 can include any other type of food processing module 140 configured to modify ingredients dispensed by upstream food dispensing modules 120 in any other way.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 2, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a container dispensing module, as taught by Klein, in Alfarra’s food production system, for the purpose of dispensing a food container for creating a food product.
Regarding Claim 2, Alfarra does not expressly teach, but Showalter teaches
wherein the first module housing, i.e.,, either of dispensing chambers (61, 62, 210) as illustrated in figure 33 and as mentioned at paragraphs 125 and 130, comprises:
a first inlet door, i.e., insulated chamber door (39) as illustrated in figure 33, facing the container dispensing module, as taught by Klein, noting that the container needs to be dispensed before the dispensing of the items/ingredients into the container;
further comprising a container dispensing module:, as taught by Klein,
arranged adjacent the first conveyor module, i.e., the roller table (30) under primary and secondary dispensing chambers (61, 62) as illustrated in figure 34, for example; and
configured to dispense the food container (34), as taught by Klein, into the first inlet door (39) of the first conveyor module (30); and
wherein the controller, i.e., computer (82) as mentioned at paragraph 92 and as illustrated in figure 20, is further configured to:
trigger the first conveyor belt (30) and the second conveyor belt (30) to advance by the first distance to:
load the food container from the container dispensing module, as taught by Klein, onto the first conveyor (30) and the second conveyor (30) via the first inlet door (39); and transition the food container (34) from the first inlet door (39) to a first position under the first food dispensing module (61, 62).
Note that it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding Claim 2, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided wherein the first module housing comprises:
a first inlet door facing the container dispensing module;
further comprising a second module housing arranged adjacent the first module housing, the second module housing comprising:
a container dispensing module arranged adjacent the first conveyor module, the container dispensing module configured to dispense the food container into the first inlet door of the first conveyor module; and
wherein the controller is further configured to:
trigger the first conveyor belt and the second conveyor belt to advance by the first distance to:
load the food container from the container dispensing module onto the
first conveyor and the second conveyor via the first inlet door; and
transition the food container from the first inlet door to a first position
under the first food dispensing module, as taught by Showalter, in Alfarra’s food production system, for the purpose of dispensing a food container and dispensing ingredients into it for creating a food product.
Note that it would have also been obvious to have duplicated Showalter’s module so that Alfarra’s system has multiple modules as needed for the purpose of meeting increased demand for volume of different processed food products.
Regarding Claim 3, Alfarra does not expressly teach, but Showalter teaches
wherein the first module housing (61, 62, 210) comprises:
a first output door (39) facing a second module housing (61, 62) containing a third food dispensing module (61, 62), noting that it is obvious to have duplicated as many food dispensing modules as needed to meet the dispensing demand for various ingredients, the first conveyor module (30) interposed between the first inlet door (39) and the first output door (39), as illustrated in figure 33; and
wherein the controller (82) is further configured to:
transition the food container (34) out of the first module housing (61, 62, 210) and into the second module housing (61, 62, 210) by triggering the first conveyor belt (30) and the second conveyor belt (30) to advance by a fourth distance.
Regarding Claim 4, see the rejection of Claims 1-4, above.
Regarding Claim 5, Alfarra does not expressly teach
further comprising an elevator module:
downstream of the second module housing;
defining a third inlet door configured to receive the food container downstream of the first module housing and the second module housing; and
configured to raise the food container to the food preparation surface for collection by an operator.
Regarding Claim 5, Alfarra does not expressly teach, but Klein teaches
further comprising an elevator module, i.e., a lift, as mentioned in paragraph 92, for example:
downstream of the second module housing (120), noting the food dispensing module (120) includes multiple food dispensers for dispensing various salad ingredients, as mentioned at paragraphs 92 and 93, and as illustrated in figure 1;
defining a third inlet door, as taught by Klein, configured to receive the food container, i.e., a food unit, downstream of the first module housing (120) and the second module housing (120); and
configured to raise the food container to the food preparation surface for collection by an operator, as mentioned at paragraph 93, for example. Note that paragraph 94 mentions that “the system 100 can include handoff modules of any other type or format configured to interface with food units, food dispensing modules 120, and/or food processing modules 140 in any other way”.
Regarding Claim 6, Alfarra does not expressly teach
wherein the first conveyor belt is configured to contact and support a first arc of the food container, the first arc defining a first arc length less than 5% of a circumference of the food container; and
wherein the second conveyor belt is configured to contact and support a second arc of the food container, the second arc opposite the first arc and defining a second arc length less than 5% of the circumference of the food container.
Regarding Claim 6, Alfarra does not expressly teach, but Mack teaches
wherein the first conveyor belt (7), as illustrated in figure 31, is configured to contact and support a first arc of the food container, and
wherein the second conveyor belt (7) is configured to contact and support a second arc of the food container, the second arc opposite the first arc, noting that the food container is supported about 100% of its circumference, as illustrated in figures 30 and 31 and as mentioned at col. 35, lines 17-32.
Note that Applicant’s specification does not provided a discussion of the criticality of the necessity of using 5% of a circumference of the food container or more or less of the circumference.
Therefore, it is considered to be a matter of design choice as to whether the first arc defining a first arc length less than 5% of a circumference of the food container and/or
the second arc opposite the first arc and defining a second arc length less than 5% of the circumference of the food container,
i.e., what percentage of the circumference to use based upon the purpose of maintaining the balance between reduction of friction and stability of the container as it moves along the conveyor.
Regarding Claim 7, see the rejection of Claims 1-3, above.
Regarding Claim 8, see the rejection of Claims 1-3, above.
Regarding Claim 16, see the rejection of Claims 1-3, above.
Regarding Claim 17, see the rejection of Claims 4, above.
Regarding Claim 18, see the rejection of Claims 1-3, above.
Regarding Claim 20, see the rejection of Claims 1-3, above.
Regarding Claim 21, see the rejection of Claims 1, above.
Claim(s) 9-13 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfarra (US 2019/0069728 A1) in view of Lin (US 9,895,018 B2), further in view of Purgatorio et al (US 2011/0253482 A1), further in view of Mabee (10,391,597 B2), further in view of Egami et al (US 2008/0082206 A1), further in view of Mack (US 9,237,817 B2), further in view of Kesler (US 2021/0282409 A1), further in view of Showalter (US 2021/0047165 A1), further in view of Klein et al (US 2020/0154949 A1) and further in view of Nazarian et al (US 2017/0280763 A1).
Regarding Claim(s) 9-15 and 19, Alfarra teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 9, Alfarra does not expressly teach
wherein the first food dispensing module and the second food dispensing module are arranged in a radial pattern over the autonomous assembly zone;
wherein the controller is configured to:
advance the food container to locate the first region of the food container
centered beneath the first food dispensing module by triggering the first
conveyor belt and the second conveyor belt to advance in a first longitudinal direction by the first distance;
rotate the food container to locate the second region of the food container
centered beneath the second food dispensing module by:
triggering the first conveyor belt to advance in the first longitudinal
direction by the second distance; and
triggering the second conveyor belt to advance in a second longitudinal
direction opposite the first longitudinal direction by the third distance
equal to the second distance.
Regarding Claim 9, Alfarra does not expressly teach, but Nazarian teaches
wherein the first food dispensing module, i.e., one of the spice units (30), as illustrated in figure 2, and the second food dispensing module, i.e., another of the spice units (30), are arranged in a radial pattern over the autonomous assembly zone (14) as illustrated in figure 2, for example.
Regarding Claim 9, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided wherein the first food dispensing module and the second food dispensing module are arranged in a radial pattern over the autonomous assembly zone, as taught by Nazarian, in Alfarra’s food production system, for the purpose of dispensing a food ingredients in a compact manner, for creating a food product.
Regarding Claim 9, Alfarra does not expressly teach, but Showalter teaches
wherein the controller (82) is configured to:
advance the food container (34) to locate the first region of the food container centered beneath the first food dispensing module (61, 62) by triggering the first conveyor belt (30) and the second conveyor belt (30) to advance in a first longitudinal direction by the first distance;
rotate the food container (34), i.e., via central rotation mechanism (32) for rotating the roller conveyor (32), as mentioned at paragraph 129, to locate the second region of the food container (34) centered beneath the second food dispensing module (61, 62) by:
triggering the first conveyor belt, i.e., support wheel (33), as mentioned in paragraph 129, to advance in the first longitudinal direction by the second distance; and
triggering the second conveyor belt, i.e., another support wheel (33) to advance in a second longitudinal direction opposite the first longitudinal direction by the third distance equal to the second distance, as mentioned in paragraph 129, for example.
Regarding Claim 10, see the rejection of Claims 1-3 and 9, above.
Regarding Claim 11, Alfarra does not expressly teach,
further comprising:
a first rail arranged under the first conveyor belt and configured to rigidly support a first section of the first conveyor belt in contact with the rim of the food container; and
a second rail arranged under the second conveyor belt and configured to rigidly support a second section of the second conveyor belt in contact with the rim of the food container.
Regarding Claim 11, Alfarra does not expressly teach, but Mack teaches
further comprising:
a first rail (7) arranged under the first conveyor belt and configured to rigidly support a first section of the first conveyor belt in contact with the rim of the food container; and
a second rail (7) arranged under the second conveyor belt and configured to rigidly support a second section of the second conveyor belt in contact with the rim of the food container.
Regarding Claim 12, Alfarra does not expressly teach,
further comprising:
a first weight sensor coupled to the first rail and configured to output a first
signal corresponding to a first weight of the food container carried by the first conveyor belt; and
a second weight sensor coupled to the second rail and configured to output a second signal corresponding to a second weight of the food container carried by the second conveyor belt; and
wherein the controller is configured to:
receive the first signal from the first weight sensor;
receive the second signal from the second weight sensor;
calculate a lateral center of mass of the food container based on the first signal and the second signal; and
define the second region of the food container corresponding to a greatest
distance, within the food container, from the lateral center of mass of the food container.
Regarding Claim 12, Alfarra does not expressly teach, but Showalter teaches
further comprising:
a first weight sensor, i.e., a set of load weight cell scales (78) as mentioned at paragraph 137, and as illustrated in figure 34, coupled to the first rail, as taught by Mack, and configured to output a first signal corresponding to a first weight of the food container carried by the first conveyor belt (30); and
a second weight sensor (78), noting that a set of load weight cell scales (78) are construed to include two load cell scales, coupled to the second rail, as taught by Mack, and configured to output a second signal corresponding to a second weight of the food container (34) carried by the second conveyor belt (30); and
wherein the controller (82) is configured to:
receive the first signal from the first weight sensor (78);
receive the second signal from the second weight sensor (78);
calculate a lateral center of mass of the food container based on the first signal and the second signal, as is commonly performed with a set of load cell weight sensors; and
define the second region of the food container (34) corresponding to a greatest distance, within the food container (34), from the lateral center of mass of the food container (34), as is commonly performed with common proximity and load cell sensors.
Regarding Claim 13, see the rejection of Claims 1-3 and 12, above.
Regarding Claim 19, see the rejection of Claim 12, above.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfarra (US 2019/0069728 A1) in view of Lin (US 9,895,018 B2), further in view of Purgatorio et al (US 2011/0253482 A1), further in view of Mabee (10,391,597 B2), further in view of Egami et al (US 2008/0082206 A1), further in view of Mack (US 9,237,817 B2), further in view of Kesler (US 2021/0282409 A1) and further in view of Fickler et al (US 11,001,457 B2).
Regarding Claim 15, Alfarra teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 15, Alfarra does not expressly teach
wherein the first conveyor module is further configured to: support the rim of a first food container of a first depth at a target distance beneath the food dispensing module; and support the rim of a second food container of a second depth at the target distance beneath the food dispensing module, wherein the second depth is greater than the first depth and a base of the second food container is suspended closer to a bottom of the module housing than a base of the first food container.
Regarding Claim 15, Alfarra does not expressly teach, but Fickler teaches
wherein the first conveyor module, i.e., tray conveying apparatus (1), as illustrated in figures 1 and 2, is further configured to: support the rim of a first food container, i.e, tray (S1), as illustrated in figure 2, of a first depth at a target distance beneath the food dispensing module; and support the rim of a second food container, i.e., tray (S2), of a second depth at the target distance beneath the food dispensing module, wherein the second depth is greater than the first depth and a base of the second food container (S2) is suspended closer to a bottom of the module housing than a base of the first food container, as illustrated in figure 2, for example.
Regarding Claim 15, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided wherein the first conveyor module is further configured to: support the rim of a first food container of a first depth at a target distance beneath the food dispensing module; and support the rim of a second food container of a second depth at the target distance beneath the food dispensing module, wherein the second depth is greater than the first depth and a base of the second food container is suspended closer to a bottom of the module housing than a base of the first food container, as taught by Fickler, in Alfarra’s food production system, for the purpose of dispensing a salad bowls in a compact manner, for dispensing a food product into.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim(s) 1-13 and 15-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding the object of Claims 1-13 and 15-21, although not rendering the claims indefinite, it is respectfully requested to remove the bullets as it better conforms to US claim presentation and practice. This is an objection and not a rejection.
Note also MPEP 608.01(m) entitled “Form of Claims”, 8th and 9th sentences, requires “[w]here a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation” and “[t]here may be plural indentations to further segregate subcombinations or related steps”. Note that the 10th sentence states “[i]n general, the printed patent copies will follow the format used but printing difficulties or expense may prevent the duplication of unduly complex claim formats”.
Regarding the rejection under 112(b) concerning the transitional word “comprising”, rather than requiring further transitional phrases, the issue being raised is focused on what the instance of transitional words “comprising” existing after the first instance in line 1 refers to. For example, is the second recitation of “comprising” in Claim 1, line 16 refer to the first module housing or the food production system? One way to fix this might be to include other similar but different transitional words that are equivalent to “comprising” such as “including”, “containing” or “characterized by”, as mentioned in MPEP 2111.03 (I), first sentence.
For example, in line 16, to eliminate confusion, instead of the phrase “comprising a first conveyor module”, one possible suggestion might be to use the phrase
“the first module housing further characterized by a first conveyor module arranged within the autonomous assembly zone of the first module housing; said first conveyor module further including a first conveyor belt extending parallel to and laterally offset behind the longitudinal assembly axis; and said first conveyor module further having a second conveyor belt extending parallel to and laterally offset in front of the longitudinal assembly axis; and said second conveyor belt configured to cooperate with the first conveyor belt to support a rim of a food container with a base of the food container extending below the first conveyor belt and the second conveyor belt;”
Note the phrase “a controller configured to:” which is understood to be another element of the food production system, has several phrases underneath it that include the word “trigger”. For example, the controller is configured to “trigger the first food dispensing module to dispense the first ingredient… at Claim 1, line 36. However, at lines 41 and 42, what is performing the triggering, the second food dispensing module or the controller? Similarly, what is doing the triggering in line 42? There are multiple possible interpretations of such phrasing. The above outlined issues are some examples. There are multiple such issues throughout the claims, and it is suggested they and other phrases like them throughout the claims be further clarified. It is suggested that possibly adjusting the claims so that the bullet format is made more clear might also help in fixing these issues. The relationship between each element and all of the other elements should be clear.
Regarding Claim 2, the first wherein clause “wherein the first module housing comprises: a first inlet door facing the container dispensing module”. However, in Claim 2, lines 4 and 5, what further comprises “a second module housing arranged adjacent the first module housing? For example, is it the first module housing or the food production system? Such indefiniteness can be better clarified.
Similar issues exist throughout the rest of the claims.
Applicant’s Representative may contact The Examiner should there be further questions.
Regarding Claim rejections under 35 USC § 103, see the extensively detailed rejection above noting the addition of newly cited Kesler ‘409 and Fickler ‘457.
Conclusion
Applicant is encouraged to contact the Examiner should there be any questions about this rejection or in an endeavor to explore potential amendments or potential allowable subject matter.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Regarding Claim 1, Ganninger is cited as teaching
a controller, i.e., as mentioned at paragraphs 9, 12, 13, 59, 60, 65-67, 73 and 79-81, configured to:
receive a food order indicating a set of ingredients and comprising a plating instruction indicating a region within the food container for each ingredient in the set of ingredients, the set of ingredients comprising a first ingredient and a second ingredient.
Hiatt ’861 is cited as teaching a food production system, that creates food items such as salads, with bowl dispenser (1000) as illustrated in figures 10a and 10b and with an ordering interface (2100) as illustrated in figures 21A-21M, for example.
Nuriely ‘918 is cited as teaching a vending machine for dispensing made-to-order salads, as illustrated in figures 1-3, for example.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY A SHAPIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619
August 26, 2026