DETAILED ACTION
3. Claims 1-10 have been cancelled, claims 11, 19-20 have been amended and claims 11-25 are pending as filed on 07/31/26.
4. Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Priority
This application is a CIP of 18/074,149 12/02/2022 ABN.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
8. Applicant's amendment filed on 07/31/26, has been fully considered and entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to rejection of claims 11-14, 24-25 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin (US 2020/0392271), claim 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Gibbs (US 3965032), claims 16-18, 21-23 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin, and claims 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Rey (US 2010/0311618) filed on 07/31/23, have been respectfully considered but are not persuasive. Applicants arguments are primarily based on the breaker property. It has been noted that dependent claims 19-20, includes the features of instant claim 11, require breaker comprises about 0.5 ppt of ammonium persulfate, wherein breaking the polymer with
the breaker increases oil recovery.
Lin further discloses pumping the fracturing fluid into the wellbore and treating the fracturing fluid with breaker such as persulfate in an amount of 0 ppt to about 20 ppt in order to removal of the fluid post fracturing (para [0137], [0229], [0237], [0258]). Lin does not disclose the persulfate is ammonium persulfate.
However, Rey discloses a fracturing fluid comprising friction reducing polymer and a breaker such as ammonium persulfate in an amount of about 0.01 wt% (0.1 ppt) to about 2 wt% (20 ppt) (para [0014]-[0015], [0100]), encompassing claimed range of about 0.5 ppt. Lin and Rey are pertinent to a fracturing fluid comprising persulfate breaker.
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Lin with the aforementioned teachings of Rey to provide a fracturing composition comprising a breaker such as ammonium persulfate in an amount of about 0.01 wt% to about 2 wt% in order to use such fluid in wellbore fracturing operation. Since it has been held that it is prima facie obviousness to use a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.06(11) and 2144.07; In re Fout, 675 F2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982); Sinclair& Carroll Co v Interchemical Corp, 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945); In re Leshin, 227 F2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Ryco, Inc vAg-Bag Corp, 857 F2d 1418, 8 USPQ2d 1323 (Fed Cir 1988). In the instant case, an ammonium persulfate for the breaking of the polymer. Absent evidence to the contrary, one of ordinary skill would have reasonable basis to expect that the breaker of Rey would be effective in the fluid composition of Lin. Further, it is well-settled that where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 267 (CCPA 1976).
Since the breaker and the composition of performing the method is obvious over Lin in view of Rey, the property of the breaker, e.g. to break the polymer and hydrolyze the at least one surfactant monomer to release a surfactant portion of the at least one surfactant monomer from the polymer to increase oil recovery would necessarily be the same as claimed. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01(I) , In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp v Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985), In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Warren Corp v D F Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY 1934).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-14, 16-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 2020/0392271) in view of Rey (US 2010/0311618).
Regarding claims 11-14, 19-20, Lin discloses a method of enhanced oil production (para [0278]) from a fracturing fluid comprising mixing water and a polymer comprising at least one surfactant monomer such as ethoxylated behenyl (meth)acrylate (read on poly(ethylene glycol) behenyl ether methacrylate), at least one hydrophilic monomer such as acrylamide, and at least one glycol ether to form the fracturing fluid, reducing friction within the fracturing fluid upon adding the polymer to the fracturing fluid, adding proppant to the fracturing fluid, pumping the fracturing fluid into a wellbore for fracturing operation, wherein adding the polymer to the fracturing fluid allows for increased proppant suspension of the proppant in the fracturing fluid, and increasing oil recovery from wellbore after performing the fracturing operation (para [0218]-[0236], [0278]).
Dependent claims 19-20, includes the features of instant claim 11, require breaker comprises about 0.5 ppt of ammonium persulfate, wherein breaking the polymer with
the breaker increases oil recovery.
Lin further discloses pumping the fracturing fluid into the wellbore and treating the fracturing fluid with breaker such as persulfate in an amount of 0 ppt to about 20 ppt in order to removal of the fluid post fracturing (para [0137], [0229], [0237], [0258]). Lin does not disclose the persulfate is ammonium persulfate.
However, Rey discloses a fracturing fluid comprising friction reducing polymer and a breaker such as ammonium persulfate in an amount of about 0.01 wt% (0.1 ppt) to about 2 wt% (20 ppt) (para [0014]-[0015], [0100]), encompassing claimed range of about 0.5 ppt. Lin and Rey are pertinent to a fracturing fluid comprising persulfate breaker.
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Lin with the aforementioned teachings of Rey to provide a fracturing composition comprising a breaker such as ammonium persulfate in an amount of about 0.01 wt% to about 2 wt% in order to use such fluid in wellbore fracturing operation. Since it has been held that it is prima facie obviousness to use a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.06(11) and 2144.07; In re Fout, 675 F2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982); Sinclair& Carroll Co v Interchemical Corp, 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945); In re Leshin, 227 F2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Ryco, Inc vAg-Bag Corp, 857 F2d 1418, 8 USPQ2d 1323 (Fed Cir 1988). In the instant case, an ammonium persulfate for the breaking of the polymer. Absent evidence to the contrary, one of ordinary skill would have reasonable basis to expect that the breaker of Rey would be effective in the fluid composition of Lin. Further, it is well-settled that where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 267 (CCPA 1976).
Since the breaker and the composition of performing the method is obvious over Lin in view of Rey, the property of the breaker, e.g. to break the polymer and hydrolyze the at least one surfactant monomer to release a surfactant portion of the at least one surfactant monomer from the polymer to increase oil recovery would necessarily be the same as claimed. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01(I) , In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp v Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985), In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Warren Corp v D F Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY 1934).
Regarding claims 16-17, applicants in specification para [0051] discloses “[0051] As shown in FIG. 5, fracturing fluids with 0.4 weight percent and 0.7 weight percent of polymer increase the amount of oil recovery over the duration of the experiment relative to the control without polymer. The control resulted in 33.1% oil recovery after 10 days, while the 0.4 wt % fluid resulted in approximately 38.5% oil recovery, and the 0.7 wt % fluid resulted in approximately 42.5% oil recovery.” Lin discloses the polymer is present in an amount ranging from about 0.001 wt% to about 10 wt% based upon total weight of the fracturing fluid (para [0215]), encompassing 0.4 weight percent and 0.7 weight percent of polymer discussed by applicants for the increasing a total oil recovery over a period of about 4 days or about 10 days. Since, the oil recovery is dependent on the amount of the polymer and Lin encompasses the amount of the same polymer, the increase in total oil recovery over a period of about 4 days or about 10 days would necessarily be the same as claimed. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01(I) , In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp v Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985), In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Warren Corp v D F Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY 1934).
Regarding claim 18, Lin discloses the polymer is present in an amount ranging from about 0.001 wt% to about 10 wt% based upon total weight of the fracturing fluid (para [0215]), encompassing claimed 0.4-0.7 wt%. It is well-settled that where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 267 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claims 21-23, the reduction of the claimed friction within the fracturing fluid by about 75 % within one minute of adding the polymer (regarding instant claim 21) or by about 65 % within one minute of adding the polymer (regarding instant claim 22) is dependent on the polymer is added to form the fracturing fluid at a concentration of 0.025 wt% or 2.08 ppt (pl See instant dependent claim 23 and/or specification, para [0048]-[0049]). Lin discloses the polymer is present in an amount ranging from about 0.001 wt% to about 10 wt% based upon total weight of the fracturing fluid (para [0215]), encompassing claimed 0.025 wt%. It is well-settled that where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 267 (CCPA 1976). Since, the friction reduction is dependent on the amount of the polymer and Lin encompasses the amount of the same polymer, the claimed friction reduction would necessarily be the same as claimed. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01(I) , In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp v Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985), In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Warren Corp v D F Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY 1934).
Regarding claim 24, Lin discloses prehydrating the polymer by combining water with a polymer powder prior to adding the polymer to form the fracturing fluid (para [0034]).
Regarding claim 25, Lin discloses the polymer and fracturing fluid is mixed for 3 minutes (para [0301]; read on claimed at least 30 seconds).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Rey as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Gibbs (US 3965032).
Lin includes the features of claim 11 above.
Regarding claim 15, Lin discloses glycol ether such as diethylene glycol n-butyl ether to make polymer for maintaining particle dispersions for extended periods of time (para [0008], [0005]). Lin does not disclose tripropylene glycol methyl ether.
However, Gibbs discloses a polymeric dispersion containing hydrophobic and hydrophilic moiety and glycol ether such as tripropylene glycol methyl ether and functionally equivalent diethylene glycol n-butyl ether (column 2, lines 14-20, column 3, lines 20-25). Lin and Gibbs are pertinent to a polymeric dispersion comprising hydrophobic and hydrophilic moiety and glycol ether.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have used the tripropylene glycol methyl ether of the claims in the composition of Lin because Gibbs teaches that the claimed tripropylene glycol methyl ether and the diethylene glycol n-butyl ether of Lin are functionally equivalent and it is prima facie obvious to substitute art-recognized functional equivalents known for the same purpose, see MPEP § 2144.06; In re Ruff, 256 F.2d 590, 118 USPQ 340 (CCPA 1958).
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KUMAR R BHUSHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766