DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 20-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/22/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A (Fig. 1), claims 1-19, in the reply is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-9, 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and a2 as being anticipated by KR 101034236 B1 (machine translation relied on).
Re Claim 1, KR 101034236 B1 discloses a device 610 comprising:a polymeric pad 613 (PVA, page 18) having a top surface and a bottom surface 613a; a frame body 612, wherein at least a portion of the frame body extends between the top surface and the bottom surface of the polymeric pad; and a coupling member (top of 611) extending from at least a portion of the frame body (Fig. 15; pg. 18).
Re Claim 2, KR 101034236 B1 discloses the coupling member is configured for coupling the device to an apparatus (Fig. 15; pg. 18).
Re Claim 6, KR 101034236 B1 discloses the polymeric pad is configured for at least one of cleaning, polishing, or brushing a surface of a semiconductor substrate (Fig. 15; pg. 18).
Re Claim 7, KR 101034236 B1 discloses the polymeric pad comprises a plurality of surface structures 613b extending from the bottom surface of the polymeric pad (Fig. 15; pg. 18).
Re Claim 8, KR 101034236 B1 discloses the plurality of surface structures is integral with the polymeric pad (Fig. 15; pg. 18).
Re Claim 9, KR 101034236 B1 discloses the polymeric pad comprises at least one of a planar bottom surface, a planar top surface, or any combination thereof (Fig. 15; pg. 18).
Re Claim 13, KR 101034236 B1 discloses the polymeric pad has a disc shape (Fig. 15; pg. 18).
Re Claim 14, KR 101034236 B1 discloses the frame body has a disc shape (Fig. 15; pg. 18).
Re Claim 15, KR 101034236 B1 discloses the frame body comprises a plurality of through- holes in a surface of the frame body (Fig. 15; pg. 18).
Re Claim 16, KR 101034236 B1 discloses the frame body and the coupling member are a single unitary structure (Fig. 15; pg. 18).
Re Claim 17, KR 101034236 B1 discloses the polymeric pad is integrally formed with the frame body (Fig. 15; pg. 18). Furthermore, the claimed phrase " integrally formed " is being treated as a product-by-process limitation and since it has been held that a product-by-process limitation is not construed as being limited to the product formed by the specific process recited, therefore, the reference' s product meets the claimed structural limitations. Using broadest reasonable interpretation the coupled pad and body can be considered as an integral formation since there is no specific structural requirements in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 101034236 B1.
Re Claim 18, KR 101034236 B1 does not disclose a diameter of the polymeric pad is 1 mm to 450 mm. Given this extremely wide range, it is likely that the pad is within this range. It would be obvious to make the diameter within this large range in order to be optimized for polishing a desired sized object and also since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) and further it would have been obvious to adjust the diameter since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 101034236 B1 in view of Prasad (PGPub 2006/0052040).
Re Claim 19, KR 101034236 B1 does not disclose a porosity of the polymeric pad is 50% to 99%. It is well known to have varying degrees of porosity for desired applications and depending on the component being cleaned and its specifications. Further, Prasad teaches porosity of a polymeric pad is 50% to 99% (para. 46; abstract). It would be obvious to make the porosity within this range, as taught by Prasad, in order to be optimized for polishing a desired object and since porosity and pore size can be readily controlled by selecting the concentration polymer resin in the polymer solution, selecting of the solvent based on the solubility parameters of the polymer in the solvent polarity of solvent, selecting the conditions for phase separation (e.g., the temperature), and the like (para. 58) and also since it would have been obvious to adjust the porosity since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 101034236 B1 in view of Valentini (PGPub 2021/0308824).
Re Claim 3, KR 101034236 B1 does not disclose the coupling member comprises a clamp configured for clamping the device to an apparatus. However, Valentini teaches coupling member comprises a clamp configured for clamping the device to an apparatus (para. 2). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a clamp, as taught by Valentini, for the purpose of providing an alternative coupling connection that is well known in the art and in order to effectively hold the component for use.
Re Claim 4, KR 101034236 B1 does not disclose the coupling member comprises a fastener configured for fastening the device to an apparatus. However, Valentini teaches coupling member comprises a fastener 32 configured for fastening the device to an apparatus (Fig. 5-7, 21). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a fastener, as taught by Valentini, for the purpose of providing an alternative coupling connection that is well known in the art and in order to effectively hold the component for use and that is easy to disconnect.
Re Claim 5, KR 101034236 B1 does not disclose a magnet configured for coupling the device to an apparatus However, Valentini teaches a magnet 32/34 configured for coupling the device to an apparatus (Fig. 5-7, 21; para. 62, 87). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a magnet, as taught by Valentini, for the purpose of providing an alternative coupling connection that is well known in the art and in order to effectively hold the component for use and that is easy to disconnect.
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 101034236 B1 in view of Park (KR 20090021117 A, machine translation relied on).
Re Claim 10, KR 101034236 B1 discloses the polymeric pad comprises a first polymeric material (PVA; Fig. 15; pg. 18), wherein the frame body comprises a second polymeric material (Fig. 15; pg. 18), but does not disclose the second polymeric material is different from the first polymeric material. However, Park teaches frame body comprises a second polymeric material, the second polymeric material is different from a first polymeric material of a pad (“The hard resin layer constituting the fastener support layer 2 is a polyurethane resin, a polypropylene resin, a polyester resin, a polyamide resin, a melamine resin, an epoxy resin, or the like.”; pg. 4). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a second polymeric material is different from the first polymeric material, as taught by Park, for the purpose of providing durability for the structure and also since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Re Claim 11, KR 101034236 B1 discloses the first polymeric material comprises at least one of polyvinyl alcohol, polysulfone, polyether sulfone, polyaryl sulfone, nylon, polyamide, fluoropolymer, polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), polyethylene, polypropylene, cellulose, acetate, or any combination thereof (PVA; Fig. 15; pg. 18).
Re Claim 12, Park teaches the second polymeric material comprises at least one of polypropylene, polyethylene, copolymers thereof, or any combination thereof (page 4). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize at least one of polypropylene, polyethylene, copolymers thereof, or any combination thereof, as taught by Park, for the purpose of providing durability for the structure and also since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
/Ryan J. Walters/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799