DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/08/2025 with respect to amended claims 1 –20, also newly added claim 21 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicant has amended the specification to overcome the objection to the specification provided in the previous office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US PgPub No. 20170353634) in view of LEE (US PgPub No. 20200089020).
Regarding claim 1, KIM teaches an imaging apparatus (figure 2 item 200), comprising: a lens assembly array comprising a plurality of lens assemblies, each of the plurality of lens assemblies comprising a plurality of individual lenses (figures 2 – 7, item 230 including inside lens assembly array comprising a plurality of lens assemblies and each of the plurality of lens assemblies comprising a plurality of individual lenses; additionally figures 10 – 13, and 15 – 17 variations of array lens setup); an actuator assembly configured to move at least a portion of the plurality of lens assemblies in at least one direction (abstract and paragraphs 0008, 0010, 0012, 0020, 0059 – 0063, 0100, 0105, 0113 – 0114, and/or 0117; actuator(s) provided on at least one side of the first and second lens assemblies to drive the first and second lens assemblies); and a single image sensor configured to generate image data based on light passing through the lens assembly array, the image data comprising a plurality of sub-images corresponding to the plurality of lens assemblies (figure 8B item 250 a single image sensor with sections 250a and 250b sub-images).
However, KIM fails to clearly teach wherein the at least one direction comprises a direction parallel to a light incident surface of the single image sensor. LEE, on the other hand teaches wherein the at least one direction comprises a direction parallel to a light incident surface of the single image sensor.
More specifically, LEE teaches wherein the at least one direction comprises a direction parallel to a light incident surface of the single image sensor (paragraphs 0007, 0011, 0030, 0079, 0126 – 0127, 0142 – 0144, 0150, 0160, 0170 – 0173, 0190, 0197, 0206, 0237, 0267 - 0268, 0278 – 0279, 0295, 0322 – 0335, 0378, 0403; OIS function).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of LEE with the teachings of KIM because in at least paragraph 0127 LEE teaches that OIS system can be used for offset for vibration, thereby resulting in improved imaging in KIM; at least paragraph 0142 teaches that AF and OIS is used in same system.
Regarding claim 2, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, KIM in view of LEE teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KIM teaches wherein a relative position between the plurality of lens assemblies in the lens assembly array is configured to be fixed, wherein the actuator assembly is configured to generate a same movement to the plurality of lens assemblies (abstract and paragraphs 0008, 0010, 0012, 0020, 0059 – 0063, 0100, 0105, 0113 – 0114, and/or 0117; actuator provided on one side of the first and second lens assemblies to drive the first and second lens assemblies; as seen by at least figures 5A – 7, 11 and 13 a relative position between the plurality of lens assemblies in the lens assembly array is configured to be fixed).
Regarding claim 3, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, KIM in view of LEE teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KIM teaches wherein the plurality of sub-images is generated through a same focal position according to the same movement (figure 7 items 210 and 220 moving and focusing light to 250a and 250b respectively).
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, KIM in view of LEE teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KIM teaches an actuator carrier configured to support the plurality of lens assemblies (figure 3 item 240 supporting item 230; similarly figures 7 items 240a and 240b supporting item 230 also figure 13 item 340a and 340b supporting item 310 and 320), wherein the actuator assembly is configured to generate a movement in the plurality of lens assemblies by moving the actuator carrier in the at least one direction (abstract and paragraphs 0008, 0010, 0012, 0020, 0059 – 0063, 0100, 0105, 0113 – 0114, and/or 0117; actuator provided on one side of the first and second lens assemblies to drive the first and second lens assemblies).
Regarding claim 5, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 4, KIM in view of LEE teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KIM teaches an array holder configured to fix a relative position between the plurality of lens assemblies (figures 3 - 7 holding item 230), wherein the actuator carrier is configured to support the plurality of lens assemblies contained in the array holder ((figure 3 item 240 supporting item 230; similarly figures 7 items 240a and 240b supporting item 230).
Regarding claim 6, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, KIM in view of LEE teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KIM teaches wherein a relative position between the plurality of lens assemblies in the lens assembly array is configured to be variable, wherein the actuator assembly is configured to generate a different movement in the plurality of lens assemblies (paragraph 0105 and 0113 - 0118 also figures 12 - 14; each lens moves independently of the other i.e. variable).
Regarding claim 7, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 6, KIM in view of LEE teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KIM teaches wherein, according to the different movement, a first sub-image of the plurality of sub-images is generated through a first focal position and a second sub-image of the plurality of sub-images is generated through a second focal position different from the first focal position (paragraph 0105 and 0113 - 0118 also figures 12 - 14; each lens moves independently of the other i.e. variable creating 2 different focal position sub images different from each other, note the images will be created on item 350 having two different sections as shown in figure 8B items 250a and 250b; also paragraph 0119).
Regarding claim 8, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, KIM in view of LEE teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KIM teaches wherein the plurality of lens assemblies is configured to be arranged in close proximity so that the plurality of sub-images is in close contact with each other in the single image sensor (figure 7 items 210 and 220 with respect to items 250a and 250b of 250; 250a and 250b sub-images is in close contact with each other).
Regarding claim 9, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, KIM in view of LEE teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KIM teaches wherein the plurality of individual lenses are configured in an arrangement that avoids interference between the plurality of sub-images (figure 7 items 210 and 220 with respect to items 250a and 250b of 250; also figure 11 and/or 13; note: the system avoids interference between the plurality of sub-images).
Regarding claim 10, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, KIM in view of LEE teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KIM teaches wherein a number of the plurality of sub-images is configured to correspond to a number of the plurality of lens assemblies (figure 7 items 210 and 220 with respect to items 250a and 250b of 250).
Regarding claim 11, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, KIM in view of LEE teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KIM teaches wherein the actuator assembly is configured to perform at least one of an autofocus function and an optical image stabilizer (OIS) function (abstract and paragraphs 0012, 0060; actuator(s) provided on at least one side of the first and second lens assemblies to drive the first and second lens assemblies to provide optical image stabilization and paragraph 0060 teaches actuator 240 serves as a driving unit for autofocusing (AF)).
Regarding claim 12, KIM teaches an imaging method (figure 7; imaging), comprising: moving, by an actuator assembly, at least a portion of a lens assembly array comprising a plurality of lens assemblies, each of the plurality of lens assemblies comprising a plurality of individual lenses in at least one direction (figures 2 – 7, item 230 including inside lens assembly array comprising a plurality of lens assemblies and each of the plurality of lens assemblies comprising a plurality of individual lenses; additionally figures 10 – 13, and 15 – 17 variations of array lens setup; also abstract and paragraphs 0008, 0010, 0012, 0020, 0059 – 0063, 0100, 0105, 0113 – 0114, and/or 0117; actuator(s) provided on at least one side of the first and second lens assemblies to drive the first and second lens assemblies); and generating, by a single image sensor, image data comprising a plurality of sub-images corresponding to the plurality of lens assemblies based on light passing through the lens assembly array onto the single image sensor (figure 8B item 250 a single image sensor with sections 250a and 250b sub-images used for generating images).
However, KIM fails to clearly teach wherein the at least one direction comprises a direction parallel to a light incident surface of the single image sensor. LEE, on the other hand teaches wherein the at least one direction comprises a direction parallel to a light incident surface of the single image sensor.
More specifically, LEE teaches wherein the at least one direction comprises a direction parallel to a light incident surface of the single image sensor (paragraphs 0007, 0011, 0030, 0079, 0126 – 0127, 0142 – 0144, 0150, 0160, 0170 – 0173, 0190, 0197, 0206, 0237, 0267 - 0268, 0278 – 0279, 0295, 0322 – 0335, 0378, 0403; OIS function).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of LEE with the teachings of KIM because in at least paragraph 0127 LEE teaches that OIS system can be used for offset for vibration, thereby resulting in improved imaging in KIM; at least paragraph 0142 teaches that AF and OIS is used in same system.
Regarding claim 13, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 12, KIM in view of LEE teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KIM teaches wherein a relative position between the plurality of lens assemblies in the lens assembly array is configured to be fixed, wherein the moving of at least the portion of the lens assembly array comprises generating a same movement in the plurality of lens assemblies (abstract and paragraphs 0008, 0010, 0012, 0020, 0059 – 0063, 0100, 0105, 0113 – 0114, and/or 0117; actuator provided on one side of the first and second lens assemblies to drive the first and second lens assemblies; as seen by at least figures 5A – 7, 11 and 13 a relative position between the plurality of lens assemblies in the lens assembly array is configured to be fixed).
Regarding claim 14, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 13, KIM in view of LEE teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KIM teaches wherein the plurality of sub-images is generated through a same focal position according to the same movement (figure 7 items 210 and 220 moving and focusing light to 250a and 250b respectively).
Regarding claim 15, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 12, KIM in view of LEE teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KIM teaches wherein a relative position between the plurality of lens assemblies in the lens assembly array is configured to be variable, wherein the moving of at least a portion of the lens assembly array comprises generating a different movement in the plurality of lens assemblies (paragraph 0105 and 0113 - 0118 also figures 12 - 14; each lens moves independently of the other i.e. variable).
Regarding claim 16, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 15, KIM in view of LEE teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KIM teaches wherein a first sub-image of the plurality of sub-images is configured to be generated through a focal position different from a second sub-image of the plurality of sub-images according to the different movement (paragraph 0105 and 0113 - 0118 also figures 12 - 14; each lens moves independently of the other i.e. variable creating 2 different focal position sub images different from each other, note the images will be created on item 350 having two different sections as shown in figure 8B items 250a and 250b; also paragraph 0119).
Regarding claim 17, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 12, KIM in view of LEE teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KIM teaches wherein the plurality of lens assemblies is supported by an actuator carrier (figure 3 item 240 supporting item 230; similarly figures 7 items 240a and 240b supporting item 230 also figure 13 item 340a and 340b supporting item 310 and 320) while the plurality of lens assemblies is contained in an array holder fixing a relative position between the plurality of lens assemblies (figures 3 - 7 holding item 230; figure 3 item 240 supporting item 230; similarly figures 7 items 240a and 240b supporting item 230).
Regarding claim 18, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 12, KIM in view of LEE teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KIM teaches wherein the plurality of lens assemblies is configured to be arranged in close proximity so that the plurality of sub-images is in close contact with each other in the single image sensor (figure 7 items 210 and 220 with respect to items 250a and 250b of 250; 250a and 250b sub-images is in close contact with each other), wherein at least a portion of the plurality of individual lenses causing interference between the plurality of sub-images is removed (figure 7 items 210 and 220 with respect to items 250a and 250b of 250; also figure 11 and/or 13; note: the system avoids interference between the plurality of sub-images).
Regarding claim 19, KIM teaches an electronic apparatus (figure 1A – 1C; mobile terminal 100) comprising: a lens assembly array comprising a plurality of lens assemblies, each of the plurality of lens assemblies comprising a plurality of individual lenses (figures 2 – 7, item 230 including inside lens assembly array comprising a plurality of lens assemblies and each of the plurality of lens assemblies comprising a plurality of individual lenses; additionally figures 10 – 13, and 15 – 17 variations of array lens setup); an actuator assembly configured to move at least a portion of the plurality of lens assemblies in at least one direction (abstract and paragraphs 0008, 0010, 0012, 0020, 0059 – 0063, 0100, 0105, 0113 – 0114, and/or 0117; actuator(s) provided on at least one side of the first and second lens assemblies to drive the first and second lens assemblies); an imaging apparatus configured to be arranged on a first side of the lens assembly array, which is opposite to a light incident side, and comprising a single image sensor configured to generate image data corresponding to light passing through the lens assembly array (figure 7; an imaging apparatus configured to be arranged on a first side of the lens assembly array, which is opposite to a light incident side, and comprising a single image sensor configured to generate image data corresponding to light passing through the lens assembly array); and a processor configured to generate an output image based on the image data (figure 1A controller also paragraph 0129).
However, KIM fails to clearly teach wherein the at least one direction comprises a direction parallel to a light incident surface of the single image sensor. LEE, on the other hand teaches wherein the at least one direction comprises a direction parallel to a light incident surface of the single image sensor.
More specifically, LEE teaches wherein the at least one direction comprises a direction parallel to a light incident surface of the single image sensor (paragraphs 0007, 0011, 0030, 0079, 0126 – 0127, 0142 – 0144, 0150, 0160, 0170 – 0173, 0190, 0197, 0206, 0237, 0267 - 0268, 0278 – 0279, 0295, 0322 – 0335, 0378, 0403; OIS function).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of LEE with the teachings of KIM because in at least paragraph 0127 LEE teaches that OIS system can be used for offset for vibration, thereby resulting in improved imaging in KIM; at least paragraph 0142 teaches that AF and OIS is used in same system.
Regarding claim 20, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 19, KIM in view of LEE teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KIM teaches wherein the image data comprises sub-images corresponding to a number of the plurality of lens assemblies (figure 7 items 210 and 220 with respect to items 250a and 250b of 250)., wherein the processor is configured to generate the output image by synthesizing the sub-images into a single image (paragraphs 0015, 0031, 0090 – 0095; synthesizing images).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US PgPub No. 20170353634) in view of LEE (US PgPub No. 20200089020) in view of Aratani (US PgPub No. 20030086013).
Regarding claim 18, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 12, KIM in view of LEE teach all of the limitations of the parent claim.
However, KIM in view of LEE fail to clearly teach wherein the light passing through each of the plurality of lens assemblies of the lens assembly array is configured to perform imaging of an array image on an entire sensor plane of the single image sensor. Aratani, on the other hand teaches wherein the light passing through each of the plurality of lens assemblies of the lens assembly array is configured to perform imaging of an array image on an entire sensor plane of the single image sensor.
More specifically, Aratani teaches wherein the light passing through each of the plurality of lens assemblies of the lens assembly array is configured to perform imaging of an array image on an entire sensor plane of the single image sensor (figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Aratani with the teachings of KIM in view of LEE because in at least paragraph 0071 and 0073 - 0074 Aratani teaches using the system reliability and accuracy and high-speed and large-scale data transmission is improved, thereby improving the system of KIM in view of LEE.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KANG (US PgPub No. 20220357547) teaches a camera system with lens and processing.
Park (US PgPub No. 20160241751) teaches a camera system with lens and processing.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Usman Khan
/USMAN A KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637
02/08/2026