DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (US 2009/0280978), as evidenced by CG Dental (https://www.gc.dental/europe/en/crownworkflow/types-of-zirconia#:~:text=Zirconia%20adopts%20a%20monoclinic%20crystal,has%20low%20strength%20and%20translucency).
Regarding claims 1-2, 5 and 9
Nakamura discloses a method of making an exhaust gas purification catalyst comprising dispersing zirconia (i.e., a porous support) in water and adding aluminum nitrate so that the Al2O3 is 20 wt % to the zirconia then drying and baking; this material is dispersed in water with Rh nitrate (i.e. precursor to the catalyst metal particles) is added then the material is dried and baked, lastly this material is then dispersed in water with Zr acetate (i.e., precursor to zirconia particle) and Al nitrate dried and baked to provide the catalyst (para 0059).
Based on the manufacturing method the zirconia particles would be expected to be uniformly dispersed in the pores of the porous support. Further the skilled artisan would find it obvious to have the catalyst uniformly dispersed on the support to get consistent results.
Although Nakamura is silent as to the crystal phase of the zirconia, Nakamura does disclose the use of zirconia. However, as evidenced by CG Dental when zirconia is not doped by yttria or calcium oxide it is in the monoclinic form at room temperature. As such the zirconia of Nakamura is expected to be in the monoclinic form.
Nakamura discloses that the particle size of the compound of the metal (i.e., zirconia) is 10 nm or smaller (claim 5).
As the particle size of Nakamura overlaps the claimed amount the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q. 549.
With respect to the limitation on the abundance ratio of zirconium in the surface region up to a depth of 1.5 microns from the surface with respect to the abundance of zirconium in the inward region is a property of the composition and as the reference teaches or makes obvious the other limitations of the claim it would be expected to also meet this limitation. When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § § 2112- 2112.02.
Regarding claim 7
Nakamura discloses that the noble metal (i.e., platinum) may be used in amounts of 1 wt % or smaller (para 0043). However, Nakamura also discloses that rhodium can be substituted for platinum (para 0019). Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to use the rhodium in amounts of 1 wt % or less.
As the amount of metal of Nakamura overlaps the claimed amount the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q. 549.
Regarding claim 8
Nakamura discloses that the particle size of the precious metal (i.e., rhodium) is 10 nm or smaller (claim 6).
As the particle size of Nakamura overlaps the claimed amount the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q. 549.
Regarding claim 10
The initial surface area of the porous support is a property of the support, and as Nakamura discloses the same support, it would be expected to have the same properties. When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § § 2112- 2112.02.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (US 2009/0280978), as evidenced by CG Dental (https://www.gc.dental/europe/en/crownworkflow/types-of-zirconia#:~:text=Zirconia%20adopts%20a%20monoclinic%20crystal,has%20low%20strength%20and%20translucency), as applied to claims 1-2, 5, and 7-10 above, in view of Chopin et al. (EP-0605274-B1).
Regarding claim 3
Although Nakamura does not disclose the amount of zirconia, Nakamura does disclose the use of zirconia. However, Chopin directed to similar exhaust gas catalyst that the use of 1 to 60 atom % zirconia (abstract). Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add to the teachings of Nakamura by using 1 to 60 atom % zirconia, with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful catalyst, as suggested by Chopin.
As the amount of zirconia overlaps the claimed amount the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q. 549.
Response to Arguments
Applicants argue against the prior art rejections.
Applicants argue that the claims recite that zirconia dioxide particles are supported in the pores of the support. While this may be true, it is note persuasive as Nakamura starts off with a porous support then adds a solution of a zirconia precursor, which would be expected to provide for zirconia dioxide particles that are uniformly distributed within the pores of the support.
Applicants argue that Nakamura alone does not show the zirconium dioxide particles with the claimed particle size. This is not persuasive as Nakamura discloses that the particle size of the compound of the metal is 10 nm or less (claim 5), which overlaps the claimed particle size range, making the claimed particle size obvious.
The remaining arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the same reasons given above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAMES E. MCDONOUGH
Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/JAMES E MCDONOUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734