DETAILED ACTION
Withdrawn rejections
Rejections set forth in the office action mailed on 10/16/25 are withdrawn in favor of new rejections that additionally rely on newly uncovered art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 114 and 132-137 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Gonzalez-Sarrias et al (Gonzalez) (British Journal of Nutrition 2010, 104, 503-512) in view of Friedman et al (J Cutan Med Surg 2002, 6(5):449-59) and Geetha (IN2004CH00392).
Scope of prior art
Gonzalez teaches that urolithins are ellagic acid derived metabolites, which is present in the pomegranate extract (Abstract). While previous studies have reported anti-inflammatory properties of pomegranate extracts, Gonzalez was able to demonstrate that the anti-inflammatory properties are can be attributed to urolithins and to the ellagic acid. On page 510, column 2, 2nd full paragraph, Gonzalez teaches that Urolithin A achieves anti-inflammatory effect through decreased production of PGE2 by downregulating COX2 and mPGES-1 expression. From the teaching of Gonzalez it is clear that urolithin, especially urolithin A is an anti-inflammatory agent.
Ascertaining the difference
While Gonzalez teaches anti-inflammatory activity of Urolithins A and B, Gonzalez does not teach a method of treating skin inflammation by administering to a subject a composition comprising urolithin.
Gonzalez is silent with regards to improvement in autophagy or mitophagy (claims 132-134)
Secondary reference
Friedman teaches nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAID) serve an important role in dermatology because inflammation is a common component of many skin diseases. The inti-inflammatory function is facilitated by the ability of NSAISs to disrupt the production of prostaglandins by inhibiting COX enzymes (page 449, paragraph 1). Friedman also teaches various methods of administration of NSAIDs in treatment of various skin diseases, including topical application resulting in suppressing prostaglandin production (page 450, column 2, paragraph 4).
Geetha teaches 3,8-dihydroxy-dibenzo-α-pyrone (Urolithin A) has good cyclooxygenease inhibition helpful in alleviating inflammatory conditions and useful in improving skin texture, elasticity, tone, reduction of fine lines and wrinkles. Compositions can be administered topically (Page 3, Detailed description)
Obviousness
A person of ordinary skill in the arts would have found it obvious to try treating skin inflammation in a subject in need thereof by administrating to the subject an effective amount of Urolithin A. Treatment of skin inflammation by topical administration of a NSAIDs is taught by Friedman. Friedman teaches that treatment of inflammation by NSAIDs takes place by inhibiting production of prostaglandins through inhibition of COX2 and also teaches on page 450 that topical administration of a NSAID resulted in inhibition of PG production. At issue is whether it would have been obvious to use Urolithin A as in treatment of skin inflammation instead of one of the agents described by Friedman. Gonzalez teaches that Urolithin A has anti-inflammatory activity which is achieved by decrease of PGE2 expression through inhibition COX2. The mechanism of action described by Gonzalez is the same as the one described by Friedman. Since Urolithin A is not a steroid, it can effectively be classified as a NSAID. A person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to try treating skin inflammation by administering to a subject Urolithin A because its activity is in line with other anti-inflammatory agents used for the same purpose. A POSA would have also found it obvious to try topical application to the affected area of the skin because a topical application (as opposed to systemic) provides a more targeted administration. There is a reasonable expectation of success because Gonzalez teaches Urolithin A as having the desired anti-inflammatory activity.
Additionally Geetha also teaches topical administration of Urolithin A for treatment of skin conditions and describes its anti-inflammatory properties.
Claims 132-134:
Claims 132-134 comprise a limitation directed to the effect of practicing the claimed method of topically administering Urolithin A. Improvement in autophagy or mitophagy is inherent to topical administration of Urolithin A. Since cited art renders obvious the method of topically administering Urolithin A, it is inherent that upon said administration the effect of improvement in autophagy or mitophagy is realized. The effect claimed by the applicants is a property of Urolithin A. “A compound and its properties are inseparable” In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963).
Regarding claims 135-137:
Geetha teaches treatment of inflammation and also of fine lines and wrinkles. Geetha also teaches use of Urolithin A to protect against UV light (subscreen) (Example 7). Lastly Geetha teaches Urolithin A having tyrosinase inhibitory activity. Since inflammation due to UV exposure is attributed to increase in tyrosinase activity, it would be obvious to administer Urolithin A to inhibit tyrosinase activity and thereby reduce inflammation.
Claim 125 and 127 rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Gonzalez in view of Friedman and Geetha as applied to claim 114 above, and further in view of Ndiaye et al (Arch Biochem Biophys 2011, 508(2) 164-170)
Scope of prior art
Combination of Gonzalez and Friedman renders obvious treatment of skin inflammation by administration of Urolithin A for the reason stated above.
Ascertaining the difference
Neither Gonzalez or Friedman teach administration of a combination of Urolithin A and Resveratrol.
Secondary reference
Ndiaye teaches that they have shown that topical application of resveratrol results in inhibition of inflammation (page 4, last paragraph).
Obviousness
A person of ordinary skill in the arts would have found it obvious to co-administer urolithin A and resveratrol to a subject in need of treatment of skin inflammation. Both agents are described in the arts as having anti-inflammatory properties and are therefore equivalents with regards to reduction of inflammation. Since it is obvious to use either agent in treatment of skin infmamation, there is expectation that the combination of the two can also be successfully used for treatment of skin inflammation.
MPEP 2144.06 Art Recognized Equivalence for the Same Purpose [R-08.2012]
I. COMBINING EQUIVALENTS KNOWN FOR THE SAME PURPOSE
“It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In reKerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.). See also In reCrockett, 279 F.2d 274, 126 USPQ 186 (CCPA 1960) (Claims directed to a method and material for treating cast iron using a mixture comprising calcium carbide and magnesium oxide were held unpatentable over prior art disclosures that the aforementioned components individually promote the formation of a nodular structure in cast iron.); and Ex parteQuadranti, 25 USPQ2d 1071 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (mixture of two known herbicides held prima facie obvious)
Claim 126 rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Gonzalez in view of Friedman and Geetha as applied to claim 114 above, and further in view of Nolan et al (Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, 2012, 11(2), 220-224)
Scope of prior art
Combination of Gonzalez and Friedman renders obvious treatment of skin inflammation by administration of Urolithin A for the reason stated above.
Ascertaining the difference
Neither Gonzalez or Friedman teach administration of a combination of Urolithin A and vitamin C.
Secondary reference
Nolan teaches Vitamin C has been shown to have anti-inflammatory function on the skin (page 221, section “ascorbic acid”)
Obviousness
A person of ordinary skill in the arts would have found it obvious to co-administer urolithin A and vitamin C to a subject in need of treatment of skin inflammation. Both agents are described in the arts as having anti-inflammatory properties and are therefore equivalents with regards to reduction of inflammation. Since it is obvious to use either agent in treatment of skin inflammation, there is expectation that the combination of the two can also be successfully used for treatment of skin inflammation.
MPEP 2144.06 Art Recognized Equivalence for the Same Purpose [R-08.2012]
I. COMBINING EQUIVALENTS KNOWN FOR THE SAME PURPOSE
“It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In reKerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.). See also In reCrockett, 279 F.2d 274, 126 USPQ 186 (CCPA 1960) (Claims directed to a method and material for treating cast iron using a mixture comprising calcium carbide and magnesium oxide were held unpatentable over prior art disclosures that the aforementioned components individually promote the formation of a nodular structure in cast iron.); and Ex parteQuadranti, 25 USPQ2d 1071 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (mixture of two known herbicides held prima facie obvious)
Conclusion
Claims 114, 122, 123, 125-127 and 132-137 are pending
Claims 114, 125-127, and 132-137 are rejected
Claims 122 and 123 are withdrawn
/YEVGENY VALENROD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628