DETAILED ACTION
The previous restriction has been cancelled.
Claim Objections
Claims 9-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9, term, “rectangular cylindrical” is unclear. Should be changed to - - rectangular--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 17-20, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a, 1) as being anticipated by Godsey (U. S. Patent 4,179,172).
Regarding claim 1, Godsey , see figures 5-6, discloses a receptacle assembly which is mounted on a first face of a substrate 56 and in which at least one pluggable module 42 is inserted along a first direction, the receptacle assembly comprising: at least one connector 58 configured to allow a module substrate 56 of the pluggable module 42 to be inserted to the connector 58 along the first direction and configured to be electrically connected to the module substrate 56; and at least one cage 30 having a cage body 30 configured to accommodate the connector 58 and define a space in which the pluggable module 42 is guided and inserted along the first direction, wherein the connector 58 and the cage body 30 are mounted on the substrate 56 such that the first direction is substantially orthogonal to the first face of the substrate 56 and a fixing part 64 for fixing the cage body 30 to the substrate 56 is provided at a rear end edge of the cage body 30 located on a substrate side when mounted on the substrate 56.
Regarding claim 2, Godsey discloses the fixing part 64 is a flange expanding in a direction orthogonal to the first direction.
Regarding claim 3, Godsey discloses a hole (near to the leadline 64) corresponding to a through hole (under leadline 60) formed in the substrate 56 is formed in the flange.
Regarding claim 6, Godsey discloses the fixing part is a pin 66 extending in the first direction.
Regarding claim 7, Godsey discloses the pin 66 is inserted and secured in a through hole (near to the leadline 64) formed in the substrate 56.
Regarding claim 17, Godsey discloses a cage 30 mounted on a first face of a substrate 56 and comprising a cage body 30 defining a space in which at least one pluggable module 42 is guided and inserted along a first direction, wherein the cage body 30 is mounted on the substrate 56 such that the first direction is substantially orthogonal to a face of the substrate 56, and wherein a fixing part 64 for fixing the cage body 30 to the substrate 56 is provided at a rear end edge of the cage body 30 located on a substrate side when mounted on the substrate 56.
Regarding claim 18, Godsey discloses the fixing part 64 is a flange expanding in a direction orthogonal to the first direction.
Regarding claim 19, Godsey discloses a hole (near to the leadline 64) corresponding to a through hole (under leadline 60) formed in the substrate 56 is formed in the flange.
Regarding claim 20, Godsey discloses the fixing part is a pin 66 extending in the
first direction.
Regarding claim 24, Godsey discloses a receptacle assembly which is mounted on a first face of a substrate 56 and in which at least one pluggable module 42 is inserted along the first direction, the receptacle assembly comprising: a connector 58 configured to allow a module substrate 56 of the pluggable module 42 to be inserted to the connector 58 along the first direction and configured to be electrically connected to the module substrate 56; a cage 30 having a cage body 30 configured to accommodate the connector 58 and define a space in which the pluggable module 42 is guided and inserted along the first direction; and a fixing member 64 fixed to the cage body 30, wherein the connector 58 and the cage body 30 are mounted on the substrate 56 by the fixing member 64 such that the first direction is substantially orthogonal to the first face of the substrate 56.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Godsey in view of Clayton (U. S. Patent 5,751,553) and further in view of Cairns (U. S. Patent 5,203,805).
Regarding claim 12, Godsey discloses the claimed invention except for the cage body is configured such that the pluggable module with a heat sink is inserted in the cage body, and wherein at least one vent hole is formed in walls of the cage body, the walls facing in a height direction orthogonal to the first direction. Clayton discloses a heat sink at column 27 at lines 25-27. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Godsey to provide such features as taught by Clayton so as to provide for prevent overheat. Further in view of Cairns discloses a vent hole at 92. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Godsey and Clayton to provide such features as taught by Cairns so as to provide for enable water to drain out of the device.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Godsey in view of Lin (U. S. Patent 8,864,501).
Regarding claim 14, Godsey discloses the claimed invention except for the connector includes a contact pin group in which a plurality of contact pins are aligned, and a housing holding the contact pin group, wherein the contact pin group at least has signal pins used for signal transmission and ground pins used for reference potential connection, wherein the contact pin group has a predetermined portion in which two adjacent signal pins are arranged between two ground pins, and wherein in the predetermined portion, a pitch between one of the ground pins and one of the adjacent signal pins is larger than a pitch between the adjacent signal pins. Lin discloses the plurality of signal pins and ground pins at figures 1 and 12. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Godsey to provide such features as taught by Lin because this ground provides returns for the signal currents.
Claims 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kekas (U. S. Patent 4,527,285) in view of Godsey.
Regarding claims 17, Kekas, see figures 9-14, discloses a cage 70 mounted on a first face of a substrate 90 and comprising a cage body 70 defining a space in which at least one pluggable module 50, 10, 60 is guided and inserted along a first direction, wherein the cage body 70 is mounted on the substrate 90 such that the first direction is substantially orthogonal to a face of the substrate 90. Kekas discloses the claimed invention except for a fixing part for fixing the cage body to the substrate is provided at a rear end edge of the cage body located on a substrate side when mounted on the substrate. Godsey discloses a fixing part 64 for fixing the cage body 30 to the substrate 56 is provided at a rear end edge of the cage body 30 located on a substrate side when mounted on the substrate 56. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kekas to provide such features as taught by Godsey so as to provide for better engagement.
Regarding claim 18, Kekas discloses the claimed invention except for the fixing part is a flange expanding in a direction orthogonal to the first direction. Godsey discloses the fixing part 64 is a flange expanding in a direction orthogonal to the first direction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kekas to provide such features as taught by Godsey so as to provide for better engagement.
Regarding claim 19, Kekas discloses the claimed invention except for a hole corresponding to a through hole formed in the substrate is formed in the flange. Godsey discloses a hole (near to the leadline 64) corresponding to a through hole (under leadline 60) formed in the substrate 56 is formed in the flange. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kekas to provide such features as taught by Godsey so as to provide for better engagement.
Regarding claim 20, Godsey discloses the fixing part is a pin extending in the
first direction. Godsey discloses the fixing part is a pin 66 extending in the first direction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kekas to provide such features as taught by Godsey so as to provide for better engagement.
Regarding claim 21, Kekas, see figures 9-14, discloses an outer cage 70 defining a space configured to accommodate a plurality of pluggable modules 60, 50, 10; and at least one partition plate 70C9 partitioning a space inside the outer cage 70, wherein a space defined by the outer cage 70 and the partition plate 70C9 functions as the cage body 70.
Claims 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kekas (U. S. Patent 4,527,285) in view of Godsey and further in view of Doye (U. S. Patent 6,126,474).
Regarding claim 22, Kekas, see figures 9-14 and Godsey disclose the claimed invention except for the outer cage and the partition plate have a fixing claw configured to latch the pluggable module. Doye discloses the outer cage 53 and the partition plate 63 have a fixing claw 64 configured to latch the pluggable module 31. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kekas and Godsey to provide such features as taught by Doye so as to provide for better engagement.
Claims 4-5, 8-11, 13, 15-16, 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the references discloses further comprising: a first plate; and a second plate, wherein the first plate and the second plate are fastened to each other with the flange and the substrate being interposed between the first plate and the second plate, further comprising a first plate, wherein the first plate and the flange are fastened to each other with the substrate being interposed between the first plate and the flange, the at least one connector and the at least one cage body include a plurality of connectors and a plurality of cage bodies, respectively, wherein the connectors are adjacent to each other in a width direction orthogonal to the first direction and/or a height direction orthogonal to both the first direction and the width direction, wherein the cage bodies are adjacent to each other in the width direction and/or the height direction and connected to each other, and wherein the receptacle assembly further comprises a connecting panel configured to connect the plurality of cage bodies in the height direction, the at least one connector and the at least one cage body include a plurality of connectors and a plurality of cage bodies, respectively, wherein the connectors are adjacent to each other in a width direction orthogonal to the first direction and/or a height direction orthogonal to both the first direction and the width direction, wherein the cage bodies are adjacent to each other in the width direction and/or the height direction and connected to each other, wherein the plurality of cage bodies adjacent to each other in the width direction have a rectangular cylindrical outer cage and at least one partition plate, the outer cage defining a space accommodating a plurality of pluggable modules, and the partition plate partitioning the space of the outer cage in the width direction, and/or the plurality of cage bodies adjacent to each other in the height direction have a rectangular cylindrical outer cage and at least one partition plate, the outer cage defining a space accommodating the plurality of pluggable modules, and the partition plate partitioning the space of the outer cage in the height direction, wherein the outer cage is formed by bending a plate material having a latch claw and a notch into a rectangular cylindrical shape and then fitting the latch claw into the notch, the latch claw being formed at one edge, and the notch being formed in another edge opposed to the one edge and having a shape adapted to a shape of the latch claw, and wherein a space defined by the outer cage and the partition plate functions as the cage body, an undercut part recessed so as to be spaced apart from the substrate is provided in the rear end edge in walls of the cage body, the walls facing each other in a height direction orthogonal to the first direction, the connector includes a contact pin group in which a plurality of contact pins are aligned, a housing holding the contact pin group, and a shell covering the housing, wherein a fixing tab for fixing the shell to the substrate is provided at an end edge of the shell located on the substrate side, and wherein a width dimension of the fixing tab is a larger than a width dimension of each
of the contact pin of the contact pin group, the connector includes a contact pin group in which a plurality of contact pins are aligned, a housing holding the contact pin group, and a fixing tab protruding from a face of the housing facing the substrate, and wherein a width dimension of the fixing tab is larger than a width dimension of each of the contact pin of the contact pin group.
/PHUONG K DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831