Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franey (US PG. Pub. 2022/0371626) in view of Akiona (US PG. Pub. 2021/0349473). Relative to claims 1-6, Franey discloses:
claim 1) A warehouse work control system (See Ref. 122, Fig. 1A) comprising:
a plurality of information processing devices (106)(Para. 0016) configured to move autonomously and, in a warehouse (102)(Fig. 1A) having a plurality of work processes (autonomous vehicles, 106, move autonomously to perform various picking tasks at picking locations 113 to complete orders; Para. 0025), each work process comprises a task in a series of warehouse operations including intake, inspection, receipt, storage, dispatch, sorting, or loading, each perform a work for each of the work processes (some tasks include loading products on vehicles, Para. 0049, inspecting products, Para. 0052, storing products in bins 111, Para. 0048, amongst other warehousing tasks, etc.);
a movement path calculation unit (included in Ref. 122) configured to calculate a movement path through which each of the information processing devices moves between the work processes (server generates instructions to autonomous vehicles 106 to travel pick paths 128 to various locations; Para. 0036); and
a movement determination unit (included in Ref. 122) configured to select, using the movement path, movement of the information processing device between the work processes based on a current operational state and a movement direction of the information processing device (106) for each work process (server 122, re-route path (128) for the autonomous vehicles (106), as the vehicles are moving to perform picking tasks, based on a current operational state,
operation state may include: remaining time to fill the order and other orders for the robot (Para. 0041), priority of the order (Para. 0041), the status of other orders to be picked by the autonomous vehicle, 106)(Para. 0041), a shortage of a product at a location (Para. 0039), whether the product or a substitute is available at another location (Para. 0043), and position of the vehicle along an assigned path 128 in the warehouse, which inherently includes a direction of travel, or movement direction, of the autonomous vehicle 106 (Para. 0014; 0041-0042),
the movement determination unit (included in Ref. 122) selects the movement in a billiard manner by sequentially reassigning the information processing devices from work groups closest to a movement destination rather than directly moving the information processing devices between the work groups (depending on the operational conditions in the warehouse, a movement path for the autonomous vehicles 106 can be selected and updated dynamically based on: completion scores that represent likelihood of completing orders, order fulfilment status, distance to pick locations, time to traverse to alternate pick locations, and priority of orders to minimize travel and time spent picking orders, Para. 0026-0027, 0031;
vehicles 106 paths are dynamically revised or re-routed to alternate pick locations as the picker 112 or vehicles 106 are picking items to complete a picking task, as the overall state of the warehouse changes, the paths may change and thus the movement of the vehicle 106, and the picker 112, is selected in a billiard manner,
the work groups may include designated order items and various picking areas 113 comprised of shelves 111, with an initial picking area 113 comprising a vehicle 106 and and orders or products assigned to be picked by the vehicle 106 comprising a work group, and the alternate pick location 113, including another vehicle 106, and updated products assigned to the vehicle 106 being a new work group, Para. 0044, Para. 0100;
the autonomous vehicle 106 is instructed to collect the products in a sequential manner based on its position along the path, current location, and/or location of the product, Para. 0037; Para, 0127,
the alternate pick locations 113 are selected considering a deviation distance from the initial path and additional pick time, such that the vehicles 106 are reassigned to work groups closest to a movement destination, Para. 0084);
claim 2) the movement determination unit selects the movement including the
information processing device (106) on the movement path when the information processing device (106) traverses through a plurality of the work processes along the movement path (as autonomous vehicle 106 moves to complete the tasks along the assigned path, the path is selected or revised), Para. 0038; 0044);
claim 3) the movement determination unit determines the movement of the information processing device based on a current work state and a current position of the information processing device (106)(server considers position of autonomous vehicle 106 as well as a distance to an alternate pick location, remaining time for each order, Para. 0034, the completion of tasks associated with a pick path, Para. 0030, likelihood of completing the order, Para. 0031, and travel times, Para. 0040);
claim 4) the movement determination unit (included in Ref. 122) selects the information processing device (106) to be moved based on whether a direction of a work completion location of the information processing device (106) is within a range of a next on-path work group (Para. 0081; 0084, system considers current location as well distance to next location on initial path and distance to an alternative pick location with alternate path);
claim 5) when the information processing device (106) moves on the movement path between work groups, the information processing device (106) is assigned a work present in buffer information and order information on the movement path as a work to be performed during the movement (based on status of picking tasks assigned to vehicles, including remaining time to fulfill the order and remaining orders, status of other orders, priority of other orders, Para. 0041, as well as the location of the robot, travelling direction, and distance to an alternate pick location, another task at an alternate pick location may be assigned to the autonomous vehicle, or a vehicle may pick up an item from another vehicle); and
claim 6) a series of warehouse operations are executed by a plurality of the information processing devices cooperating across the work processes (106)(Para. 0071; 0080).
Franey does not expressly disclose:
claim 1) a processing time calculation unit configured to calculate a processing time of the work assigned to each of the work processes; or
the movement determination unit is configured to select, by using the processing time, movement of the information processing device between the work processes based on a current operational state of the information processing device between the work processes.
Akiona teaches:
a processing time calculation unit (included in Ref. 340) configured to calculate a processing time of the work assigned to each of the work processes (see time required to complete tasks by the agents, Para. 0011; 0040);
the movement determination unit (included in Ref. 340) is configured to select, by using the processing time, movement of the information processing device (agent, such as a robot) between the work processes based on a current operational state of the information processing device (robot) between the work processes (path is selected for the agent to better distribute the actors traversal, as well as improve the utilization of the actor, Para. 0052; 0066; 0069-0070; 0045), for the purpose of providing a robot navigation and control system to perform tasks within facilities having dynamic environments, that is reliable, accurate, and improves the efficiency in which robots complete tasks (Para. 0003; 0005; 0011).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Franey with the processing time calculation unit, and selecting, by using the processing time, movement of the information processing device described above, as taught in Akiona for the purpose of providing a robot navigation and control system to perform tasks within facilities having dynamic environments, that is reliable, accurate, and improves the efficiency in which robots complete tasks.
Claim(s) 7-11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiona et al (US PG. 2021/0349473) in view of Franey (US PG. Pub. 2022/0371626). Relative to claims 7-11, 13, the disclosure of Akiona discloses:
claim 7) A warehouse work control system (see server, orchestrator 312, and simulation system, 300)(Fig. 3 and 6) comprising:
a plurality of work groups (actors such as robots or people that can perform tasks in a physical area; Para. 0035), each work group including a plurality of work subjects (robots, or people; Para. 0035) and being assigned to a respective work region in a warehouse (Para. 0035), a work is executed for each work group (see list of tasks; Para. 0035);
a work delay detection unit configured to detect a work delay of each of the work subjects (system determines if aggregate utilization of all actors needs improvement, and any conditions in which waiting for a condition to be met to perform a task is high, delay caused by congestion Para. 0062; 0070);
a group configuration change unit (included in Ref. 340) configured to change a configuration of the work group when it is determined that the work delay is detrimental to the execution of the work (robot controller 340 computes performance metrics and adjusts the allocation of robots, sequence of tasks, and routing of actors to improve utilization based on sensed conditions; Para. 0070)
an on-movement-path work determination unit (included in robot controller 340) configured to determine the work to be performed on a movement path by the work subject (robot controller 340 assigns tasks to agents using the task allocator, Para. 0037, adjusts the sequence of tasks to be performed, and adjusts the navigation of the agents for faster completion of tasks, Para. 0070; 0090), and the work delay detection unit detects the work delay, (controller 340 also detects time spent waiting for conditions to be met for each task or overall among tasks; Para. 0070);
the group configuration change unit (included in Ref. 340) changes the configuration of the work group in response to the detected work delay being detrimental (Para. 0064);
claim 8) the work delay detection unit determines that the work delay is detrimental based on a processing time of the work (Para. 0070; 0072, changes are simulated to ensure changes result in an improvement of the aggregate utilization);
claim 9) the group configuration change unit specifies a delayed work group in which the work is delayed based on the processing time of the work (Para. 0070; 0062, system can determine which of the actors performing tasks are delayed), and
the shift determination unit (included in robot controller) determines the reassignment of the work subject by obtaining the movement path from the work group at a current location to the delayed work group that is a movement destination (routes for actors may be reassigned, and sequence of tasks may be changed and reallocated based upon a determination that there is unwanted delays, Para. 0070; 0072);
claim 10) the shift determination unit determines the reassignment of the work subject based on a traveling direction of the work subject (Para. 0040, see direction of travel);
claim 11) when the work subject (actor such as a robot or worker) moves on the movement path between work groups, the on-movement-path work determination unit (see Ref. 340) assigns a work present in buffer information and order information on the movement path to the work subject as a work to be performed during the movement (buffer information includes tasks that are to be performed and/or not yet performed as determined by the task allocator 310, Para. 0036, tasks are assigned to the agents based on various factors such as: availability and location of agent, type of agent, and task data, Para. 0037); and
claim 13) the work subject includes an information processing device (robots) configured to move autonomously in the warehouse (Para. 0035).
Akiona does not expressly disclose:
claim 7) a shift determination unit configured to, when it is determined that a work subject whose work group is changed is present, determine a reassignment of the work subject to a different work group in a billiard manner by sequentially reassigning work subjects from work groups closest to a movement destination rather than directly moving the work subject between the work groups; and
the group configuration change unit changes the configuration of the work group in response to the detected work delay being detrimental, and the shift determination unit determines the reassignment of the work subject after the group configuration change unit changes the configuration; or
claim 11) the movement on path work determination unit assigns a work present in order information on the movement path.
Franey teaches:
claim 7) a shift determination unit (included in Ref. 122) configured to, when it is determined that a work subject (vehicle 106 or picker 112) whose work group is changed is present (server 122 updates records in real-time as products are picked, and monitors completion of tasks by the vehicles 106, Para. 0030, and therefore determines that a work group has changed for a vehicle 106/picker 112),
determine a reassignment of the work subject (106) to a different work group in a billiard manner by sequentially reassigning work subjects (106) from work groups closest to a movement destination rather than directly moving the work subject between the work groups
(depending on the operational conditions in the warehouse, the autonomous vehicles 106 instructed to follow new paths, the assigned paths are selected and updated dynamically based on: completion scores that represent likelihood of completing orders, order fulfilment status; distance to pick locations, time to traverse to alternate pick locations, and priority of orders, to minimize travel and time spent picking orders, Para. 0026-0027, 0031; vehicles 106 paths can be dynamically revised or re-routed to alternate pick locations as the picker is picking items, vehicles 106 may also another vehicle 106 along a revised path to complete a picking task, as the overall state of the warehouse changes, the paths may change and thus the movement of the vehicle 106, including the picker, is selected in a billiard manner,
the work groups - which may include a vehicles 106, order items assigned to the vehicle, and assigned picking areas 113 of shelves 111 - an initial picking area 113 assigned to the autonomous vehicle 106/picker 112, as well as products initially assigned to the vehicle comprising a work group, and the alternate pick location 113, which includes another vehicle 106, and updated products assigned to the vehicle 106 being a new work group, Para. 0044, Para. 0100;
the autonomous vehicle 106 collects the assigned products in a sequential manner based on its position along the path, current location, and/or location of the product, Para. 0037; Para, 0127, the alternate pick locations 113 are selected considering a deviation distance from the initial path and additional pick time, such that the vehicles are reassigned to work groups closest to a movement destination, Para. 0084); and
and the shift determination unit determines the reassignment of the work subject after the group configuration change unit changes the configuration (system balances metrics of re-routing to alternate pick location, metrics without re-routing, and metrics of abandoning an effort to fulfill the order, to determine if metrics associated re-routing to another location 113 is higher than not re-routing the vehicle, Para. 0042, server 122 makes decisions based on these metrics; Para. 0068); and
claim 11) the movement on path work determination unit (included in Ref. 122) assigns a work present in order information on the movement path (server assigns picking tasks to vehicles 106 present in fulfilling orders, and considers likelihood of completing orders Para. 0016; 0026; 0031).
Franey teaches: the shift determination unit for determining a reassignment of the work subject; and the movement on path work determination unit assigning a work present in order information on the movement path, as described above, for the purpose of providing a method for dynamically re-routing a pick path for an autonomous vehicle that is collecting orders in order to resolve shorted order items when the vehicle is picking multiple orders having different priorities, that minimizes delays (Para. 0002).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Franey with the shift determination unit; and the movement on path work determination unit described above, as taught in Franey for the purpose of providing a method for dynamically re-routing a pick path for an autonomous vehicle that is collecting orders in order to resolve shorted order items when the vehicle is picking multiple orders having different priorities, that minimizes delays.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiona in view of Franey as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Rorro et al (US PG. Pub. 2022/0207452). Relative to claim 12, Akiona in view of Franey discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose: a display unit, the display unit displays:
a current work state of the work group;
the movement of the work subject between the work groups; and
a change history of the work subject between the work groups,
the display unit displays the movement and the change history showing sequential relay-style reassignment of the work subjects from work groups closest to a movement destination.
Rorro teaches: a display unit (180)(Fig. 1A), the display unit (180) displays:
a current work state of the work group (system outputs real-time data 174 that includes updated locations of equipment and workers in the environment, work tasks being performed by the equipment and/or workers, Para. 0048, also displays work progress in real-time, Para. 0049, see Fig. 1A);
the movement of the work subject (equipment or worker) between the work groups (see simulation results work tasks, Para. 0043; Ref. 490 monitors real-time work progress for processes relative to simulated work plans); and
a change history of the work subject between the work groups (see actual progress indicator 194 that shows actual work tasks that have been performed, Para. 0050),
the display unit (180) displays the movement and the change history showing sequential relay-style reassignment of the work subjects (equipment or workers) from work groups closest to a movement destination (Para. 0043, 0046, 0038, resources may be reallocated, system considers physical layout and available equipment, Para. 0035), for the purpose of providing a platform that includes integrated planning, simulation, and reporting tools, for coordinating warehouse operations to improve industrial processes and provide an efficient and balanced outcome for the warehouse (Para. 0001; 0004-0005).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the system of Akiona in view of Franey with the display unit displaying a current work state, movement of the work subject, and change history, as taught in Rorro for the purpose of providing a platform that includes integrated planning, simulation, and reporting tools, for coordinating warehouse operations to improve industrial processes and provide an efficient and balanced outcome for the warehouse.
Claim(s) 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franey (US PG. Pub. 2022/037,1626) in view of Akiona et al (US PG. Pub. 2021/0349473). Relative to claims 14-20, the disclosure of Franey includes:
claim 14) a warehouse work control method for, in a warehouse (102) having a plurality of work processes (para. 0025), each work process comprises a task in a series of warehouse operations (Para. 0025, tasks include picking or removing items from pick locations to fulfill orders), performing a work for each of the work processes using a plurality of information processing devices (106) configured to move autonomously (Para. 0024-0025), the warehouse work control method comprising:
calculating a movement path (128) through which each of the information processing devices (106) moves between the work processes (Para. 0023);
selecting, by using the movement path (128), movement of the information processing device (106) between the work processes (assigned picking tasks of the vehicle) based on an operation situation and a movement direction of the information processing device (106) for each work process (Para. 0040-0041);
claim 15) the movement of the information processing device (106) is determined based on a traveling direction of the information processing device (106)(Para. 0014);
when the information processing device (106) moves on the movement path between work groups, the information processing device (106) is assigned a work present in buffer information and order information on the movement path as a work to be performed during the movement (path may be updates based on status of picking tasks, remaining orders, status of other orders, order priorities, and other information related to orders, Para. 0041).
claim 16) the movement determination unit (included in Ref. 122) specifies, along the movement path, for each work group on the movement path, an information processing device that is in a standby state or an information processing device (106) whose direction of a work completion location is within a range of a next on-path work group (for each picking location 113, and orders or products assigned to a selected autonomous vehicle 106, the system determines if there is another autonomous vehicle 106 that is travelling along a predetermined pick path 128, and whose direction of travelling, and picking tasks at the pick locations 113 is closest to the current location of the autonomous vehicle, Para. 0080; 0084).
claim 17) the movement determination unit (included in 122) compares a movement time of the information processing device (106) whose assignment is to be changed with a scheduled work completion time of an information processing device (106) of an on-path work group (system considers time remaining to fulfill that order and other orders by the vehicle 106, Para. 0041) and a movement time until reaching a next work group on the movement path (system also considers an amount of time to travel to a pick location 113, Para. 0040);
claim 18) a work delay detection unit (included in 122) configured to determine that a work delay is detrimental to execution of work by comparing an estimated processing time of work included in buffer information and order information with a time until a work group receives an order next time (system considers remaining time to pick orders, and also considers if long travel and pick times for picking orders due to retrieving shorted products at other locations is excessive, or exceeds a max-time, and therefore conflicts with deadlines, Para. 0040; 0041);
claim 19) a work delay detection unit (included in 122) configured to calculate an intra-group work line indicating a flow with which work is performed in a work group based on work result information (system calculates the progress of the pick path 128, as products are picked by the autonomous vehicle 106, and keeps track of the status of orders, remaining products to be picked, Para. 0044, this progress status includes the picking progress of products belonging to the assigned vehicle 106, and status of picked products at an assigned pick location 113);
claim 20) an on-movement-path work determination unit (included in 122) configured to, when a work in buffer information and order information on the movement path (128) of the information processing device (106) moving between work groups is present, assign the work to the moving information processing device (106) as a work to be performed during movement (system assigns order picking tasks to autonomous vehicles 106 to fulfill orders assigned to the autonomous vehicle, the orders are picked at specific pick locations 113, system considers status of other orders, remaining products in remaining orders is completed, and considers updated task instructions are sent to the vehicle 106 as the vehicle is moving to various locations along the path, 128)
Franey does not expressly disclose:
calculating a processing time of the work assigned to each of the work processes; or
selecting, by using the processing time, movement of the information processing device between the work processes based on a current operational state.
Akiona teaches:
calculating a processing time of the work assigned to each of the work processes (Para. 0011; 0040); and
selecting, by using the processing time, movement of the information processing device (robot agents) between the work processes based on a current operational state (path is selected for the agent to better distribute the actors traversal, as well as improve the utilization of the actor, Para. 0052; 0066; 0069-0070; 0045), for the purpose of providing a robot navigation and control system to perform tasks within facilities having dynamic environments, that is reliable, accurate, and improves the efficiency in which robots complete tasks (Para. 0003; 0005; 0011).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Franey with calculating a processing time of the work assigned; and selecting, by using the processing time, movement of the information processing device described above, as taught in Akiona for the purpose of providing a robot navigation and control system to perform tasks within facilities having dynamic environments, that is reliable, accurate, and improves the efficiency in which robots complete tasks.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YOLANDA R CUMBESS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651