DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wheeler et al. (US 20090120264 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wheeler discloses a case (Figs. 1-2; para. 0097) comprising:
an exterior member (e.g., first cheek-board 112) comprising a first surface (side wall surface of 112 with drain aperture 174) including an external surface of a first sheet (para. 0126: “Surfaces of demountable components that are visibly exposed after assembly preferably receive one or more decorative/protective finishes. … such decorative and or protective finishes may preferably comprise plastic laminates, wood veneers, lacquered finishes, painted finishes, etc.”) and a second surface (top edge surface of 112) connected to the first surface; and an attachment member (106) to which the exterior member is attached, having a facing surface (bottom surface of 106 that contacts the top edge surface of 112) disposed to face the second surface, and arranged in such a manner that a projecting end of the facing surface projects further than the first surface when viewed in cross section (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Wheeler discloses: wherein the attachment member comprises a biasing mechanism configured to bias the exterior member in one direction (para. 0098, 0116, 0125).
Regarding claim 3, Wheeler discloses: wherein the biasing mechanism biases the exterior member in a backward direction (e.g., toward the bottom surface of 106 in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Wheeler discloses: wherein the exterior member is fastened to the attachment member with a screw in a direction perpendicular to a direction in which the biasing mechanism biases the exterior member (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 6, Wheeler discloses: wherein the first surface (the side wall of 112) comprises a side surface, and a front surface and a back surface which connect to the side surface, and wherein a projection amount of the projecting end which projects from the back surface is larger than a projection amount of the projecting end which projects from the front surface and a projection amount of the projecting end which projects from the side surface (see Fig. 1, see also annotated Fig. 2 below).
Regarding claim 7, Wheeler discloses: wherein the first sheet is a pseudo-wood sheet (para. 0126).
Regarding claim 8, Wheeler discloses: a keyboard instrument (Figs. 1-2) comprising: a keyboard (105); and the case according to claim 1 which is disposed as an arm of the keyboard (Figs. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wheeler et al.
Regarding claim 5, Wheeler discloses: wherein the biasing mechanism is provided to be integrated with the attachment member (Fig. 7: the cam-and-post fastener is provided to be integrated with the top panel 106 and can be assembled or disassembled using a screwdriver).
Wheeler is silent on: wherein the biasing mechanism is an elastic member.
Examiner take official notice that: industrial cam-lock or cam-and-post fasteners specifically designed to connect components under an elastic preload are well-known in the art. it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate such well-known elastic cam-lock fasteners into Wheeler’s biasing mechanism to arrive the claimed invention. The mere application of a known technique to a specific instance by those skilled in the art would have been obvious.
Contact Information
/JIANCHUN QIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837