This Office action is in response to amendments filed on 03/23/2026. Claims 1-6 and 9-22 are pending. The previously filed specification and claim objections are withdrawn, as necessitated by the newly filed abstract on 03/23/2026 and claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "wherein the dust cup door retainer is biased towards the locked position by a spring" in ll. 1-2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear to the Examiner whether “a spring” in claim 13 is a different and second spring from “a spring” introduced in claim 1 (which claim 13 depends on). As best understood from the disclosure, pp. [0049-0050], the spring in claim 13 is different from the spring in claim 1 (--wherein the dust cup door retainer is biased towards the locked position by a second spring.--).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9-14, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laurent (JP20190055573), as provided by the Examiner in previous Office action, in view of Kim (US 2023/0148813).
Regarding claim 1, Laurent (JP20190055573) discloses a vacuum cleaner (item 2; fig. 1), comprising:
a cleaner body (item 4; pp. [0088] in NPL; fig. 1);
a dust cup (item 8; pp. [0088]; figs. 1-2) coupled to the cleaner body (fig. 1), the dust cup including a dust cup body (defined as outer structure of item 8; fig. 2) which at least partially forms a dust cup outlet (item 62; pp. [0096]; figs. 3-5);
a dust cup door (item 32; figs. 3-8) configured to selectively open and close the dust cup outlet (dust cup door 32 moves from closed position, i.e. position of figs. 3-4 in which door is sealed to dust cup, to an open position, i.e. position of figs. 6-8; pp. [0096], [0098]); and
a releasably connectable connector assembly (item 84; pp. [0104]; figs. 10-11) to hold the dust cup door in a closed position (pp. [0105]; defined as position in view of figs. 3-4 in which door is sealed to dust cup), the releasably connectable connector assembly comprising a first connector (item 86; pp. [0107]; fig. 11).
Though Laurent discloses the dust cup door to selectively open and close, Laurent does not explicitly disclose details on a spring included on the dust cup, wherein the spring is configured to urge the dust cup door to close the dust cup outlet. Further, Laurent does not explicitly disclose wherein the first connector is a magnet, wherein the first connector magnet is configured to cooperate with the spring to urge the dust cup door to close the dust cup outlet, and a further releasably connectable connector assembly to hold the dust cup door in the closed position.
However, Kim (US 2023/0148813) teaches a vacuum cleaner comprising a dust cup (item 20; fig. 5), a selectively openable and closable door (item 30; fig. 5), a spring (item 82; figs. 7-9) configured to urge the dust cup door to close the dust cup outlet (pp. [0125]), a releasably connectable connector assembly (includes items 40, 200; fig. 5) to hold the dust cup door in a closed position (defined as position in which door is sealed into dust cup, no airflow is passing through dust cup outlet, and dust cup is ready for use, i.e. collecting of dirt) with the assistance of the spring on an opposing side of the releasably connectable connector assembly (fig. 5), wherein the releasably connectable connector assembly comprises a first connector (item 200; fig. 5), wherein the first connector is a magnet (item 200 is magnet; pp. [0103]; fig. 5), wherein the first connector magnet is configured to cooperate with the spring to urge the dust cup door to close the dust cup outlet (pp. [0116-0117]; first connector magnet 200 cooperates with the spring to completely close the dust cup door, i.e. block leakage of air and achieve complete sealing in order for the dust cup to collect and separate debris from the suctioned airflow), and a further releasably connectable connector assembly (includes items 31, 41b; figs. 5 and 8-9) to hold the dust cup door in the closed position (pp. [0090-0091]; fig. 9).
Both Laurent and Kim disclose means to selectively open and close the dust cup door on the dust cup. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the means including a releasably connectable connector assembly comprising an arm and hook, as disclosed in Laurent, with the means including releasably connectable connector assembly comprising a button, magnet, and spring on opposing side and a further releasably connectable connector assembly, as taught in Kim, in order to achieve the predictable result of releasably securing the dust cup door from the dust body when the dust cup needs to be emptied and urging the dust cup door to the closed sealed position once emptied and ready for use.
Regarding claim 2, Laurent as modified discloses the vacuum cleaner as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first connector magnet is a permanent magnet (Kim; pp. [0103-0104]; first connector magnet 200 is a permanent magnet, i.e. the magnet 200 maintains a constant magnetic force without any external power source or trigger).
Regarding claim 3, Laurent as modified discloses the vacuum cleaner as claimed in claim 1, wherein the releasably connectable connector assembly further comprises a second connector (Kim; item 100; fig. 8) which connects with the first connector (Kim; pp. [0105-0106]; fig. 9);
wherein the second connector comprises a second connector ferromagnetic material (Kim; pp. [0106]; second connector 100 is formed of a ferromagnetic material, e.g. formed of a first material with rubber and a second material with iron; according to Collins Dictionary, “ferromagnetic” designates a material such as iron, nickel, or cobalt, having a high magnetic permeability which varies with the magnetizing force; therefore, second connector 100 defines ferromagnetic material due to the presence of iron); and
wherein, when the dust cup door is in the closed position, the first connector and the second connector are arranged such that the second connector ferromagnetic material is held by a magnetic force of the first connector magnet (Kim; pp. [0106]).
Regarding claim 5, Laurent as modified discloses the vacuum cleaner as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first connector magnet is provided with the dust cup body (Kim; first connector magnet 200 is provided at an end of dust cup body, corresponding to dust cup body of Laurent).
Regarding claim 6, Laurent as modified discloses the vacuum cleaner as claimed in claim 5, wherein the releasably connectable connector assembly further comprises a second connector (Kim; item 100; fig. 8) which connectors with the first connector (Kim; pp. [0105-0106]; fig. 9);
wherein the second connector comprises a second connector ferromagnetic material (Kim; pp. [0106]; second connector 100 is formed of a ferromagnetic material, e.g. formed of a first material with rubber and a second material with iron; according to Collins Dictionary, “ferromagnetic” designates a material such as iron, nickel, or cobalt, having a high magnetic permeability which varies with the magnetizing force; therefore, second connector 100 defines ferromagnetic material due to the presence of iron); and
wherein the second connector ferromagnetic material is provided with the dust cup door (Kim; second connector ferromagnetic material 100 is formed on dust cup door, corresponding to dust cup door of Laurent).
Regarding claim 9, Laurent as modified discloses the vacuum cleaner as claimed in claim 1, wherein the releasably connectable connector assembly is adjacent the further releasably connectable connector assembly (Kim; releasably connectable connector assembly 200 is adjacent, i.e. next to, the further releasably connectable connector assembly 41b; fig. 8).
Regarding claim 10, Laurent as modified discloses the vacuum cleaner as claimed in claim 1, wherein the further releasably connectable connector assembly comprises a further first connector (Kim; item 41b; fig. 5) and a further second connector (Kim; item 31; fig. 5);
wherein the further first connector comprising a first connector hook (Kim; pp. [0093-0095]; item 41b is a hook portion; figs. 5 and 8); and
wherein the further second connector comprises a second connector hook latch (Kim; pp. [0093-0094]; item 31 is a latch, i.e. protrusion, in which first connector hook 41b couples to; figs. 5 and 8-9).
Regarding claim 11, Laurent as modified discloses the vacuum cleaner as claimed in claim 10, wherein the first connector hook is provided with a dust cup door retainer (Kim; item 40; figs. 5 and 8; similar to applicant’s disclosure, pp. [0065-0066] in instant disclosure) pivotably coupled to the dust cup body (Kim; via item 43; pp. [0093-0095]; figs. 8-9); and
wherein the second connector hook latch is provided with the dust cup door (second connector hook latch 32 is disposed on dust cup door portion 30, corresponding to dust cup portion in Laurent).
Regarding claim 12, Laurent as modified discloses the vacuum cleaner as claimed in claim 11, wherein the dust cup door retainer is transitionable between a locked position (Kim; defined as position when dust cup door retainer 40 is not pressed by user; pp. [0090-0092]; fig. 9) and an unlocked position (Kim; defined as position when dust cup door retainer 40 is pressed by external force and pivotably rotates about shaft 41c; pp. [0093]); and
wherein, when the dust cup door is in the closed position, the dust cup door retainer is in the locked position (Kim; pp. [0090-0092]; when dust cup door retainer 40 is locked, the hook 41b couples to the latch 31 to secure the dust cup door 30 in the closed position; corresponding to the door in closed position in Laurent).
Regarding claim 13, as best understood, Laurent as modified discloses the vacuum cleaner as claimed in claim 12, wherein the dust cup retainer is biased towards the locked position by a spring (Kim; item 43; pp. [0094-0095]; fig. 5).
Regarding claim 14, Laurent as modified discloses the vacuum cleaner as claimed in claim 1, wherein the dust cup body at least partially forms a dust cup cavity (defined as cavity within item 68; pp. [0097]; fig. 5); and
a deformable debris obstructor (item 38; figs. 4-5 and 8; defined as deformable as item 38 includes resilient hinge, i.e. item 72, to open and close within the dust cup cavity, pp. [0101]; similar to applicant’s disclosure) is located in the dust cup cavity upstream of the dust cup outlet and the dust cup door (fig. 5; debris obstructor 38 is upstream, i.e. before the dust cup outlet 62 and dust cup door 32), which extends transverse to a longitudinal axis (item 34; fig. 8) of the dust cup cavity (when in closed position, i.e. position in view of fig. 5, debris obstructor 38 is transverse, i.e. perpendicular, to longitudinal axis 34) as to shield the dust cup door from debris in the dust cup cavity (pp. [0095], [0099-0100]; when in the closed position, the deformable debris obstructor 34 shields debris scraped off from filter from collecting in item 28 and further on the dust cup door 32; and also partially shields debris from dust cup door 32 by limiting passage from dust cup cavity into item 28, e.g. via item 40).
Regarding claim 20, Laurent (JP20190055573) discloses a cleaning system comprising:
a vacuum cleaner (item 2; fig. 1), comprising:
a cleaner body (item 4; pp. [0088] in NPL; fig. 1);
a dust cup (item 8; pp. [0088]; figs. 1-2) coupled to the cleaner body (fig. 1), the dust cup including
a dust cup body (defined as outer structure of item 8; fig. 2) which at least partially forms a dust cup cavity (defined as cavity within item 68; pp. [0097]; fig. 5) and a dust cup outlet (item 62; pp. [0096]; figs. 3-5);
a dust cup door (item 32; figs. 3-8) configured to selectively open and close the dust cup outlet (dust cup door 32 moves from closed position, i.e. position of figs. 3-4, to an open position, i.e. position of figs. 6-8; pp. [0096], [0098]); and
a releasably connectable connector assembly (item 84; pp. [0104]; figs. 10-11) to hold the dust cup door in a closed position (pp. [0105]; defined as position in view of figs. 3-4), the releasably connectable connector assembly comprising a first connector (item 86; pp. [0107]; fig. 11), and
a deformable debris obstructor (item 38; figs. 4-5 and 8; defined as deformable as item 38 includes resilient hinge, i.e. item 72, to open and close within the dust cup cavity, pp. [0101]; similar to applicant’s disclosure) located in the dust cup cavity upstream of the dust cup outlet and the dust cup door (fig. 5; debris obstructor 38 is upstream, i.e. before the dust cup outlet 62 and dust cup door 32), which extends transverse to a longitudinal axis (item 34; fig. 8) of the dust cup cavity (when in closed position, i.e. position in view of fig. 5, debris obstructor 38 is transverse, i.e. perpendicular, to longitudinal axis 34) to shield the dust cup door from debris in the dust cup cavity (pp. [0095], [0099-0100]; when in the closed position, the deformable debris obstructor 34 shields debris scraped off from filter from collecting in item 28 and further on the dust cup door 32; and also partially shields debris from dust cup door 32 by limiting passage from dust cup cavity into item 28, e.g. via item 40).
Though Laurent discloses the dust cup door to selectively open and close, Laurent does not explicitly disclose details on a spring included on the dust cup, wherein the spring is configured to urge the dust cup door to close the dust cup outlet. Further, Laurent does not explicitly disclose wherein the first connector is a magnet, wherein the first connector magnet is configured to cooperate with the spring to urge the dust cup door to close the dust cup outlet.
However, Kim (US 2023/0148813) teaches a vacuum cleaner comprising a dust cup (item 20; fig. 5), a selectively openable and closable door (item 30; fig. 5), a spring (item 82; figs. 7-9) configured to urge the dust cup door to close the dust cup outlet (pp. [0125]), a releasably connectable connector assembly (includes items 40, 200; fig. 5) to hold the dust cup door in the closed position with the assistance of the spring on an opposing side of the releasably connectable connector assembly (fig. 5), wherein the releasably connectable connector assembly comprises a first connector (item 200; fig. 5), wherein the first connector is a magnet (item 200 is magnet; pp. [0103]; fig. 5), wherein the first connector magnet is configured to cooperate with the spring to urge the dust cup door to close the dust cup outlet (pp. [0116-0117]; first connector magnet 200 cooperates with the spring to completely close the dust cup door, i.e. block leakage of air and achieve complete sealing in order for the dust cup to collect and separate debris from the suctioned airflow).
Both Laurent and Kim disclose means to selectively open and close the dust cup door on the dust cup. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the means including a releasably connectable connector assembly comprising an arm and hook, as disclosed in Laurent, with the means including releasably connectable connector assembly comprising a button, magnet, and spring on opposing side, as taught in Kim, in order to achieve the predictable result of releasably securing the dust cup door from the dust body when the dust cup needs to be emptied and urging the dust cup door to the closed sealed position once emptied and ready for use.
Further, Laurent does not explicitly disclose the cleaning system including a docking station, the vacuum cleaner configured to dock with the docking station. However, Kim further includes a docking station (item 50; fig. 3), the vacuum cleaner configured to dock with the docking station (at least a portion of the vacuum cleaner, i.e. item 20, docks with docking station (fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning system, as disclosed in Laurent, to further include a docking station, as taught in Kim, in order for the vacuum cleaner to automatically discharge collected materials by changing a suction air current that is supplied to the dust cup of the vacuum cleaner (Kim; pp. [0070]).
Regarding claim 21, Laurent as modified discloses the cleaning system as claimed in claim 20, wherein the vacuum cleaner further includes a further releasably connectable connector assembly (Kim; includes items 31, 41b; figs. 5 and 8-9) to hold the dust cup door in the closed position (Kim; pp. [0090-0091]; fig. 9).
Regarding claim 22, Laurent as modified discloses the cleaning system as claimed in claim 21, wherein the releasably connectable connector assembly is adjacent the further releasably connectable connector assembly (Kim; releasably connectable connector assembly 200 is adjacent, i.e. next to, the further releasably connectable connector assembly 41b; fig. 8).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laurent (JP20190055573), as provided by the Examiner in previous Office action, in view of Kim (US 2023/0148813), and further in view of Yu (CN215191236), as provided by the Examiner in previous Office action.
Regarding claim 4, Laurent as modified discloses the vacuum cleaner as claimed in claim 1, wherein the releasably connectable connector assembly further comprises a second connector (Kim; item 100; fig. 8) which connectors with the first connector (Kim; pp. [0105-0106]; fig. 9);
wherein the second connector comprises a second connector magnetic material (Kim; pp. [0106]; second connector 100 is formed of a ferromagnetic material, e.g. formed of a first material with rubber and a second material with iron); and
wherein, when the dust cup door is in the closed position (defined as position in figs. 3-4, corresponding to position of fig. 9 in Kim), the first connector and the second connector are arranged such that the second connector magnetic material and the first connector magnet are held to one another by a magnetic force of the first connector magnet and the second connector magnetic material, respectively (Kim; pp. [0106]).
Though Laurent as modified by Kim discloses the second connector comprises a second connector ferromagnetic material, Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the second connector comprises a second connector magnet. However, Yu discloses a vacuum cleaner (item 200; fig. 1) comprising a dust cup (item 110; fig. 3) with dust cup door (item 120; fig. 3) selectively opening and closing a dust cup cavity (defined as inner space within item 110), wherein the dust cup door comprises a magnet (items 123, 124; fig. 3) to be absorbed to a closed position (corresponding to closed position in view of Laurent and Kim).
Both Laurent as modified by Kim and Yu disclose means for a dust cup door to be selectively movable from an open and closed position via the use of magnetic absorption features. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the magnetic material, as disclosed in Laurent as modified by Kim, with a magnet, as taught in Yu, to achieve the predictable result of selectively moving the dust cup door from the open position to the closed position, while also having a low cost and improved service life (Yu; NPL translation, p. 5, pp. 8).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janzen (US 2016/0278596) in view of Kim (US 2008/0201895).
Regarding claim 15, Janzen (US 2016/0278596) discloses a vacuum cleaner (item 14; figs. 1-2), comprising:
a cleaner body (item 24; pp. [0083]; fig. 2);
a dust cup (item 42; fig. 2) coupled to the cleaner body (pp. [0086]; figs. 1-2),
a dust cup body (defined as outer structure of item 42; fig. 2) which at least partially forms a dust cup cavity (item 44; fig. 5) and a dust cup outlet (item 79; fig. 3); and
a deformable debris obstructor (item 60; fig. 3) located in the dust cup cavity upstream of the dust cup outlet (figs. 6-7; deformable debris obstructor 60 is upstream, i.e. prior, to the dust cup outlet 79 which is disposed at outermost surface of item 66), which extends transverse to a longitudinal axis of the dust cup cavity (defined as axis extending into the page in view of figs. 6-7, i.e. along the length of wall 46, and the deformable debris obstructor 60 extends across, i.e. transverse, to longitudinal axis) to shield the dust cup outlet from debris in the dust cup cavity (pp. [0105]; fig. 6).
Janzen does not explicitly disclose a dust cup door configured to selectively open and close the dust cup outlet, and wherein the deformable debris obstructor is located upstream of both the dust cup cavity and the dust cup door, wherein the deformable debris obstructor shields the dust cup door from debris in the dust cup cavity.
However, Kim (US 2008/0201895) teaches an analogous vacuum cleaner (item 100; fig. 1) with docking station (item 200; fig. 1), wherein the vacuum cleaner comprises a dust cup (item 300; pp. [0043]; fig. 3) including a dust cup cavity (includes items 310, 320; fig. 3), a dust cup outlet (item 360; figs. 3-4), and a dust cup door (item 361; figs. 3-4) selectively opening and closing the dust cup outlet (figs. 3-4), and a deformable debris obstructor (item 351; figs. 3-4) located in the dust cup cavity (figs. 3-4) upstream of the dust cup outlet and the dust cup door (debris obstructor 351 is located upstream, i.e. before, the dust cup outlet and door as airflow passes through debris obstructor prior to passing through outlet 360).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vacuum cleaner, as disclosed in Janzen, to include an additional valve, i.e. dust cup door, that selectively opens and closes the dust cup outlet, as taught in Kim, in order to close the dust cup outlet and reduce the loss of suction force when the vacuum cleaner is in the cleaning mode (Kim; pp. [0064]) but still allow for the dirt and debris to be emptied from the dust cup cavity is docked to a docking station (pp. [0064] in Kim).
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janzen (US 2016/0278596) in view of Kim (US 2008/0201895), and further in view of Griffith (US 2007/0209154).
Regarding claim 16, Janzen as modified discloses the vacuum cleaner as claimed in claim 15, wherein the deformable debris obstructor comprises a debris obstructor shield (item 62; figs. 6-7). Though Janzen discloses the debris obstructor shield is formed of an elastically deformable material, for example a rubber material (pp. [0091]), Janzen does not explicitly disclose wherein the elastically deformable material is a plastic.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the debris obstructor shield to be formed of a plastic, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability of the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (please refer to MPEP 2144.07). As an example, Griffith (US 2007/0209154) teaches a vacuum cleaner comprising a deformable tool (item 10; figs. 4-6) composed of a flexible material such as a thermoplastic urethane (pp. [0021]; similar to applicant’s disclosure in which the debris obstructor is made of plastic elastomer, particularly a thermoplastic elastomer, pp. [0072] in instant disclosure) in order for the material to bend or deform as needed while also having a sufficient resilience to otherwise retain a relatively straight shape when not bending/deforming (Griffith; pp. [0021]). Please note that in the instant disclosure, pp. [0072], the applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 17, Janzen as modified discloses the vacuum cleaner as claimed in claim 16, wherein the debris obstructor shield is elastically deformable in a direction towards the dust cup door (defined as position in view of fig. 7) in response to negative pressure introduced into the dust cup cavity through the dust cup outlet (pp. [0125]; when negative pressure, i.e. suction from the docking station 102, is introduced into the dust cup cavity, the debris obstructor shield 62 deforms towards the dust cup outlet and dust cup door, as modified in from Kim above), and elastically recoverable in a direction away from the dust cup door in response to the negative pressure being terminated (pp. [0101]; debris obstructor shield 62 returns to position in view of fig. 6 when the pressure in the dust cavity 44 is equal to the pressure outside of the cavity, i.e. negative pressure from docking station is terminated).
Regarding claim 18, Janzen as modified discloses the vacuum cleaner as claimed in claim 16, wherein the debris obstructor shield includes a debris obstructor shield hinge region (designated in annotated fig. 7 below) formed of the plastic (debris obstructor shield 62 is composed of the same material; pp. [0091]).
Janzen Annotated Fig. 7.
Regarding claim 19, Janzen as modified discloses the vacuum cleaner as claimed in claim 18, wherein the debris obstructor shield is arranged at an angle relative to the longitudinal axis of the dust cup cavity (debris obstructor shield 62 is arranged at angle defined along dashed-line in annotated fig. 7 above which is at an angle relative to longitudinal axis, i.e. defined as going into the page in view of figs. 6-7) such that the debris obstructor shield transitions closer to the dust cup door as the debris obstructor shield extends away from the debris obstructor shield hinge region (defined as position in view of fig. 7; when debris obstructor shield 62 deforms closer to dust cup door, i.e. modified at opening 79 along item 66 from Kim, and extends away from shield hinge region, the shield 62 is defined at the angle).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 20 have been considered but are moot because they are addressing newly amended claim limitations, as compared to the rejection of record. Upon further consideration and as necessitated by the amendments, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of the same primary reference, Laurent (JP20190055573), and same teaching reference, Kim (US 2023/0148813), for claim 1. Additionally, as necessitated by the amendments, a new grounds of rejection is made in view Laurent and Kim for independent claim 20.
Applicant argues the combination of references, Laurent and Kim, from previous Office action utilized for the rejection of claim 1, wherein “the magnet 200 of Kim appears to exert a magnetic force on a magnetic sealing member 100, after the cover 30 is closed, such that the sealing member 100 engages the case 21” and such, “Kim is not understood to disclose, or make obvious, a magnet configured to cooperate with a spring to urge a dust door to close a dust cup outlet,” as required by the amended claim. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
According to Merriam-Webster, “to close” is defined as to bring or bind together the parts or edges of; as well in The American Heritage Dictionary, “closed” is defined as to bring together all the elements or parts of. Therefore, the claimed closed position is defined as the position of the dust cup door when the dust cup outlet is structurally covered by the door, via the spring urging the door to move to cover the dust cup outlet in Kim (the teaching reference), and sealed within the dust cup outlet, via the magnet urging the door to seal into place in Kim (teaching reference), to reduce, i.e. close, any airflow and/or dirt from passing through the dust cup outlet and allow for the dust cup to function in use, i.e. collect and separate dirt and debris from the suctioned airflow. Therefore, the combination of references remains relevant for the amended language as the magnet cooperates with the spring to urge the dust cup door to close the dust cup outlet and allow dirt and debris to be collected within.
Additionally, Applicant's arguments filed 03/23/2026 with respect to independent claim 15 in view of Janzen (US 2016/0278596) in view of Kim (US 2008/0201895) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues it would not be obvious to “one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Janzen with Kim to arrive at a deformable debris obstructor that extends transverse to a longitudinal axis of the dust cavity to shield a dust cup door from debris in the dust cup cavity” (p. 11 of Remarks). However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner notes the primary reference, Janzen, discloses a deformable debris obstructer (item 60) transverse to a longitudinal axis of the dust cup cavity, and the teaching reference, Kim, is utilized to modify in an additional valve, i.e. door (item 361 in Kim), to cover the dust cup outlet (item 114 in Kim, corresponding to the dust cup outlet 79 in Janzen downstream from the deformable debris obstructer, fig. 6 in Janzen). The modified door from Kim functions similar to the deformable debris obstructer , wherein when the vacuum cleaner is in use, both are closed, and when the vacuum cleaner is docked to the docking station (defined as position of fig. 6 in Janzen and position of fig. 4 in Kim), both are opened to remove the collected debris within the dust cup cavity into the docking station.
Further, the Examiner notes the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, the teaching reference, Kim, teaches an additional openable valve, i.e. door (item 361 in fig. 4), to close the dust cup outlet downstream from the deformable debris obstructer (item 351 in fig. 4 of Kim) within the dust cup cavity, wherein the door and deformable debris obstructer are capable of moving in the same open/close direction when docked to the docking station. Lastly, in response to applicant's argument that Janzen does not disclose “a deformable debris obstructer…to shield a dust cup door from debris in the dust cup cavity”, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, the deformable debris obstructer (item 60 in Janzen) is upstream of the dust cup outlet (item 79 in Janzen), as shown in fig. 6 of Janzen, wherein the dust cup outlet is modified to include an additional valve, i.e. door, simultaneously openable with the deformable debris obstructer, as taught from Kim, and therefore, the deformable debris obstructer is capable of collecting dirt particles within the interior of the dust cup (pp. [0089-0090] in Janzen) and shielding the debris from the dust cup door, which is downstream, during use.
Therefore, the rejection remains in place.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Oh (US 2009/0114098) discloses a vacuum cleaner comprising a selectively openable and closeable door comprising a hinge and a first connector magnet.
Bao (CN 2308577), as provided by the Examiner, discloses a dust bin comprising a dust cup door capable of being opened and closed, wherein the dust cup includes a spring, retainer, and first connector magnet.
Petersson (WO 03/022120), as provided by the Examiner, discloses a dust bin for a vacuum cleaner comprising a deformable debris obstructer upstream of a dust cup outlet, wherein the dust cup outlet is opened and closed via a dust cup door including a first connector magnet to secure the dust cup in the closed position.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SIDNEY D FULL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723