DETAILED ACTION
This action is a non-final First Office Action.
This action is in response to communications filed on 06/02/2023.
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered.
Claims 12, 19, and 20 are objected to, and are interpreted in the following as dependent on claim 11.
Claims 5, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claims 1-7, 9-17, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter, a judicial exception (abstract idea, mental process) without significantly more.
Claims 8 and 18 are found to be integrating the abstract idea into a practical application and therefore eligible under 35 USC 101.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, and claim 8 respectively, of the granted patent No. 11704458.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and claim 9 respectively, of the granted patent No. 11704458.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, of the granted patent No. 11704458.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2, of the granted patent No. 11704458.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of the granted patent No. 11704458.
Claim 9 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 and claim 8 respectively, of the granted patent No. 11704458.
Claims 1, 4, 9, 10, 11, 14, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkateswaran et al Impact Driven Sensor Placement for Leak Detection in Community Water Networks, 2018 9th ACM/IEEE International Conference on Cyber-Physical Systems (“VEN”) in view of Chang et al Application of risk based inspection in refinery and processing piping, Journal of Loss Prevention in the Process Industries 18 (2005) 397–402 (“CHA”) in further view of in further view of US 10578543 B2 Vasan (“VAS”)
Claims 2, 3, 12, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkateswaran et al Impact Driven Sensor Placement for Leak Detection in Community Water Networks, 2018 9th ACM/IEEE International Conference on Cyber-Physical Systems (“VEN”) in view of Chang et al Application of risk based inspection in refinery and processing piping, Journal of Loss Prevention in the Process Industries 18 (2005) 397–402 (“CHA”) in further view of in further view of US 10578543 B2 Vasan (“VAS”) in further view of Baah et al A risk-based approach to sanitary sewer pipe asset management, Sci of Total Envi 505 1011-1017, 2015 (“BAA”)
Claims 5, 6, 15, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkateswaran et al Impact Driven Sensor Placement for Leak Detection in Community Water Networks, 2018 9th ACM/IEEE International Conference on Cyber-Physical Systems (“VEN”) in view of Chang et al Application of risk based inspection in refinery and processing piping, Journal of Loss Prevention in the Process Industries 18 (2005) 397–402 (“CHA”) in further view of in further view of US 10578543 B2 Vasan (“VAS”) in further view of Dunn et al “Structured information extraction from complex scientific text with fine-tuned large language models” Dec 10, 2022 https://arxiv.org/pdf/2212.05238
Claims 7, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkateswaran et al Impact Driven Sensor Placement for Leak Detection in Community Water Networks, 2018 9th ACM/IEEE International Conference on Cyber-Physical Systems (“VEN”) in view of Chang et al Application of risk based inspection in refinery and processing piping, Journal of Loss Prevention in the Process Industries 18 (2005) 397–402 (“CHA”) in further view of in further view of US 10578543 B2 Vasan (“VAS”) in further view of Dunn et al “Structured information extraction from complex scientific text with fine-tuned large language models” Dec 10, 2022 https://arxiv.org/pdf/2212.05238 in further view of Paudel et al A general architecture for a real-time monitoring system based on the internet of things, Internet of Things, 14 (2021) 100367 in further view of WO 2024167498 A1 Tan (“TAN”)
Claims 8 , 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkateswaran et al Impact Driven Sensor Placement for Leak Detection in Community Water Networks, 2018 9th ACM/IEEE International Conference on Cyber-Physical Systems (“VEN”) in view of Chang et al Application of risk based inspection in refinery and processing piping, Journal of Loss Prevention in the Process Industries 18 (2005) 397–402 (“CHA”) in further view of in further view of US 10578543 B2 Vasan (“VAS”) in further view of Dunn et al “Structured information extraction from complex scientific text with fine-tuned large language models” Dec 10, 2022 https://arxiv.org/pdf/2212.05238 in further view of Paudel et al A general architecture for a real-time monitoring system based on the internet of things, Internet of Things, 14 (2021) 100367
Priority
The application is a CIP of 17069537 filed 10/13/2020 which claims priority to the Provisional Application 62/913,671 filed 10/10/2019. For claims 5-8 and 15-18 the priority is 06/02/2023, as Large Language Models have not been disclosed in the earlier applications.
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/02/2023, 09/19/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Notations, Abbreviations and Conventions used.
The number in the parenthesis, following next to a claim number, when used, is the number of the parent claim.
The following abbreviations are used:
BRI = Broadest Reasonable Interpretation
POSITA = Person of Ordinary Skill in The Art
101 - 35 USC § 101
102 or 103 = 35 USC § 102 or 35 USC § 103
(S1)/(S2A1)/(S2A2) (S2B) = Steps 1, 2AProng1 , 2AProng2, and 2B of the multi-step eligibility analysis in the Alice/Mayo framework
WURC = Well Understood, Routine, Conventional
{ } text from the reference
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 12 is directed to a computer system. And while it recites ‘of claim 1’ it is likely ‘meant of claim 11’ since claim 1 is a metho claim and claim 11 is the computer system claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 19 is a computer system, and while it recites ‘of claim 1’ it is likely ‘meant of claim 11’ since claim 1 is a method claim and claim 11 is the computer system claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 20 is a computer system claim but states 'of claim 10', it is likely ‘meant of claim 11’ since claim 1 is a method claim and claim 11 is the computer system claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 12, 19, and 20 are interpreted in the following as dependent on claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. 1. The term “suitable“ in claims 5, 15 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “suitable” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention – what would make more suitable or less suitable and how much is needed to meet the threshold of “suitable”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims directed to an ineligible judicial exception.
The claims are analyzed under the Alice/Mayo framework to determine whether the claims are directed to an ineligible judicial exception. Recitation of judicial exceptions are highlighted in bold font. Paraphrased language, shown in italics, is used to simplify reference. Claims with similar limitations, although not verbatim identical, that share the same rationale under Alice/Mayo steps Step 1 (S1) and Steps 2 Prongs A1, A2 and B (S2A1, S2A2, S2B) are grouped. The analysis is performed on a representative claim of each group. An additional analysis is performed if any claim in the group includes additional limitations.
Claims 1-7, 9-17, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter, a judicial exception (abstract idea, mental process) without significantly more.
(S1) Prima facie, claims 1-20 are each directed to a statutory category of invention: process (Claims 1-10 directed to a method), machine (claims 1-20 directed to a computer system.
INDEPENDENT CLAIMS
Regarding claims 1, 11
(S2A1)
Claim 1 and 11 share substantially similar limitations; the claims recites recite an abstract idea, shown in bold below:
A computer system for determining placement of a sensor component on a utility pipe, comprising:
[A] processing, in the at least computer device, inputted utility pipe data to generate one or more variables; Mere Instructions to Apply the judicial Exception on a computer, computer processing recited at a high level of generality
[B] training, in the at least computer device, one or more machine learning models upon the one or more variables, to produce an output indicative of a likelihood of failure (LoF) variable associated with the utility pipe from each model; additional elements, recited at high level of generality, insignificant extra solution activity found by the courts to be WURC)
[C] calculating, in the at least computer device, a Consequence of Failure (CoF) variable associated with the utility pipe utilizing one or more variables related to the consequences of failure of a certain pipe; calculation/evaluation that can be performed in the mind or with pen and paper
[D] calculating, in the one or more computer devices, utilizing the LoF and CoF variables, a sensor placement determinative variable; and ; calculation/evaluation that can be performed in the mind or with pen and paper
[E] providing output data, from the one or more computer devices, indicative of physical placement locations of one or more sensor components associated with the utility pipe based at least in part on the sensor placement determinative variable. Data output, insignificant post solution activity
Claim 11 has additional limitations: a memory configured to store instructions; a processor disposed in communication with said memory - generic computer
According to the MPEP 2106.04 II. B guidance when multiple limitations reciting abstract ideas these should be combined for analysis as a single abstract idea. In broadest reasonable interpretation and in view of the specification the combination of abstract ideas in the bolded limitations claim recites a process aimed at: “calculating a variable associated with consequences of failure and using it and another variable to determine a sensor placement determinative variable ”.
This is a combination that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation covers performance of limitations expressing evaluation/calculation of variables. It can be practically performed mentally or manually, with pen and paper, by a human. These are Mental Processes – Concepts Performed in the Human Mind (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III.
Accordingly, claims 1, 11 recite an abstract idea.
(S2A2)
The identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements in the claims only amount to Mere Instructions to Apply the judicial Exception on a computer (MPEP 2106.05(f)), an Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)), or to a general link to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h).
The additional elements “in the at least computer device ” recite computing elements at a high level of generality, which is equivalent to instructions to implement the abstract idea “by a computer” or “on a computer” (used as a tool to implement the judicial exception (MPEP § 2106.05(f))
The additional claim elements also recite generic data processing and machine learning training [A], [B], data outputting [E]. When considered individually, each amounts to nothing more than “Insignificant Extra-Solution (Pre-Solution and/or Post-Solution) Activity”, i.e. activities incidental to the primary process or product that are merely a nominal or tangential addition to the claims. Specifically, the claim elements are considered either pre-solution activity because they are mere gathering or pre-processing data/information in conjunction with the abstract idea, or post-solution activity because they are mere outputting or post-processing results from executing the abstract idea (see MPEP §2106.05(d); which the courts have identified did not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
The additional elements, taken individually or in combination, fail to integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application when evaluated using the considerations in MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(a)-(c), (e)-(h) because these do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, nor do they effect an improvement to any technology or technical field. Therefore, the claim remains directed to a judicial exception.
(S2B) Claims 1, 11 do not include additional elements, which individually or in combination amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As analyzed in step S2A2 the additional elements recite Mere Instructions to Apply the judicial Exception on a computer (MPEP 2106.05(f)), and the Insignificant Extra (Pre-Solution and/or Post-Solution) Activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)), which for situations substantially similar to those here, these additional elements, including data gathering, data manipulation, and data transmission, data outputting recited at high level of generality were found by the courts to be Well-Understood, Routine and Conventional (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll)).
When considered as a whole, with additional elements in an ordered combination, the additional elements in the claim only amount to instructions to apply the abstract idea on a computer and Insignificant Extra Activities. Additional elements elaborate on the identified abstract idea but do not practically or significantly alter how the identified abstract idea would be performed - there is no inventive concept beyond the judicial exception, and thus the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Therefore, it is concluded that claims 1, 11 are ineligible.
DEPENDENT CLAIMS
2(1), 12(11)
further including combining, in the at least computer device, the outputs from each of the machine learning models into an ensemble output indicative of the LoF variable associated with the utility pipe (mental process, a human can perform the combining in the mind, or using a pen and paper)
wherein the sensor placement determinative variable is calculated utilizing the ensemble output and the CoF variable. mental process, a human can perform the calculated in the mind, or using a pen and paper
3(1), 13(11)
wherein calculating the LoF and CoF variables utilize a plurality of weighted variables. mental process, a human can perform the calculating in the mind, or using a pen and paper
4(1), 14(11)
wherein the inputted data includes information accessed from at least a utility company associated with the utility pipe. additional element – field of use, clarifies input data origin
5(4), 15(14)
wherein the inputted data includes unstructured data
whereby the at least computer device utilizes a Large Language Model (LLM) to normalize the unstructured data into structured data suitable for the use in the one or more machine learning models, wherein the unstructured data may include text data, image data, video data, acoustic data, or other multi-modality signal sensor data. -- additional elements, provide further details on data and machine learning use, field of use
6(5), 16(15)
wherein the at least computer device utilizing the LLM identifies, and corrects, omissions and errors present in the inputted data. -additional element - insignificant extra-solution activity -preprocessing data input)
7(5), 17(15)
further including, ranking, by the at least computer device utilizing the LLM, the physical placement locations of the one or more sensor components (can be performed by a person in the mentally) wherein the LLM provides a user explanation for the ranking order of the one or more sensor components. – apply it
9(1), 19(11)
wherein processing the inputted data further includes generating data transformations for use in training of the one or more machine learning models or executing the calculation of the LoF variable. Could be performed in the mind or with pen and paper
10(1), 20(11)
wherein the utility pipe is one of a water pipe or sewer pipe and the one or more sensor components consists of one more of a pressure sensor, flow sensor or acoustic sensor. (technology/field of use merely provides clarification on type of data or sensors
Each of these claims continues to recite, and further reinforce/elaborate on the abstract idea in the parent claim. The analysis for each of them is similar to that of the parent claim. The bolded claim elements recite mental processes. The additional elements further recited by the claim are of the same nature as those identified in the parent claim, specifically Insignificant Extra (Pre-Solution and/or Post-Solution) Activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)) limitations of data gathering, data manipulation, and data transmission, data outputting recited at high level of generality were found by the courts to be Well-Understood, Routine and Conventional (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll)). data manipulation and mere instructions to apply an exception ((MPEP 2106.05(f) ).
For each of the above claims, when considered individually or in combination, the additional elements do not provide any specific improvements and do not practically or significantly alter how the identified abstract idea would be performed. Therefore, these claim elements fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claim is thus directed to a judicial exception.
For each of the above claims, when considered individually and in combination, the claim as a whole, the additional elements do not provide an inventive concept beyond the judicial exception, and thus the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Claims 1-7, 9-17, 19, 20 are thus found ineligible under 35 USC 101.
Claims 8(5), 18(15) recite
further including, providing real-time monitoring of the one or more sensor components, by the at least computer device utilizing the LLM, for generating alert notifications of one or more detected changing conditions inflicted upon the one or more sensor components.
Through the real-time monitoring of the sensors, in conjunction with the other limitations, Claims 8 and 18 are found to be integrating the abstract idea into a practical application and therefore eligible under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
i. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
ii. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
iii. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
iv. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims that share substantially similar limitations (even though not verbatim) are grouped and analyzed together; the analysis is done on the claim with most comprehensive limitations. The parenthesis following a claim number indicates the parent claim.
Claims -1, 4, 9, 10, 11, 14, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkateswaran et al Impact Driven Sensor Placement for Leak Detection in Community Water Networks, 2018 9th ACM/IEEE International Conference on Cyber-Physical Systems (“VEN”) in view of Chang et al Application of risk based inspection in refinery and processing piping, Journal of Loss Prevention in the Process Industries 18 (2005) 397–402 (“CHA”) in further view of in further view of
US 10578543 B2 Vasan (“VAS”)
Regarding Claim(s) 1, 11 VEN teaches
calculating, in the at least computer device, a Consequence of Failure (CoF) variable associated with the utility pipe utilizing one or more variables related to the consequences of failure of a certain pipe; {VEN Abstract However, identifying optimal locations to instrument these sensors to detect and localize failures such as leaks is challenging due to the growing scale and complexity of water networks. Current sensor placement algorithms use heuristics that focus mainly on enabling network coverage. In this paper, we propose a multilevel approach to model and quantify the real-world impact of a failure on a community using various geospatial, infrastructural and societal; We present techniques to integrate failure impact, IoT sensing data, and simulation based analytics to drive two novel sensor placement algorithms with the objective of reducing community-scale impact. P79 III. MODELING COMMUNITY IMPACT In this section, we provide a detailed formulation of our proposed methodology for modeling the factors influencing impact. We denote the set of potential sensor locations as S = {s1, s2, ..., sn} and the set of potential failure (i.e., pipe leak) locations as L = {l1, l2, ..., ln} where si refers to a sensor placed at location i and lj refers to a leak at location j. p80 keft col We then identify the boundary coordinates of each of these regions, and determine their relative criticality based on the population density as well as the critical infrastructure present within the region. Some categories of critical infrastructure that we have considered include healthcare, transportation, government facilities, educational, etc. We assign relative importance scores to each of these categories and compute the sum of the scores of the infrastructure present within each region.} Consequence of Failure (CoF) interpreted as impact of failure.
calculating, in the one or more computer devices, utilizing the LoF and CoF variables, a sensor placement determinative variable; and {Abstract …we propose a multilevel approach to model and quantify the real-world impact of a failure on a community; VEN p81 right col middle IV. SENSOR PLACEMENT : PROBLEM AND ALGORITHMS The effectiveness or utility of a sensor placement depends on the impact resulting from the time taken to detect leaks by the sensors in the placement. As discussed in Section II, a good placement is one that can quickly detect leaks that have high impact….: Definition.(Overall Utility) Given a sensor placement set P ⊆ S of sensor locations,; p82 right col top Algorithm 1 Max Nodal Impact (MNI) 1: Input: S,L,Δ, η,Mdc,Mdt,Mfl, {C1, C2, ...,Cn} A. Max Nodal Impact In this algorithm, we first determine the utility of adding a sensor to the existing sensor placement set P.As described in Algorithm 1, in a given iteration, the sensor location with the maximum utility score (sv) is added to the placement}
Sensor placement determinative variable interpreted as sensor location utility score.
providing output data, from the one or more computer devices, indicative of physical placement locations of one or more sensor components associated with the utility pipe based at least in part on the sensor placement determinative variable {VEN p81 right col middle IV. SENSOR PLACEMENT : PROBLEM AND ALGORITHMS The effectiveness or utility of a sensor placement depends on the impact resulting from the time taken to detect leaks by the sensors in the placement. As discussed in Section II, a good placement is one that can quickly detect leaks that have high impact….: Definition.(Overall Utility) Given a sensor placement set P ⊆ S of sensor locations,; p82 right col top Algorithm 1 Max Nodal Impact (MNI)
1: Input: S,L,Δ, η,Mdc,Mdt,Mfl, {C1, C2, ...,Cn}
2: Output: P ⊆ S
p82 we first determine the utility of adding a sensor to the existing sensor placement set P.As described in Algorithm 1, in a given iteration, the sensor location with the maximum utility score (sv) is added to the placement} Sensor placement determinative variable is interpreted as the utility score.
VEN does not explicitly teach, however CHA teaches
utilizing the LoF and CoF variables { To lessen the piping risk level, more and more companies have adopted and applied risk based inspection (RBI) methodology
.
}
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of VEN and CHA . VEN does disclose the use of likelihood of detection as one of the objectives, when referring to a related research (p79 left col top). In view of that teaching a POSITA would recognize risk-impact monitoring – and in general the use of a risk-impact or risk matrix based on probability/likelihood AND-consequence/impact has been long used in various fields including risk-impact inspection and monitoring of infrastructure such as pipes.
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of VEN and CHA in order to obtain the advantage of more efficient placement which is based on combined risk coming form the standard approach to risk, i.e. combination of probability of a failure and the consequence of a failure.
Accordingly, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious over VEN/CHA .
VEN/CHA do not teach, however VAS teaches
processing, in the at least computer device, inputted utility pipe data to generate one or more variables; {VAS (6) The processor implemented method further comprises computing the dynamic feature values including flow, mid-point static pressure, mid-point total pressure, static pressure difference and total pressure difference associated with the pipes corresponding to the optimum pressure head value.} Variables interpreted as features.
training, in the at least computer device, one or more machine learning models upon the one or more variables, to produce an output indicative of a likelihood of failure (LoF) variable associated with the utility pipe from each model; and {(9) In an embodiment of the present disclosure, the one or more hardware processors are further configured to train a classifier based on historic GIS data and the computed dynamic feature values; and classify, for a corresponding time interval in future, the pipes as “burst” or “no burst” based on the computed dynamic feature values. (10) In an embodiment of the present disclosure, the one or more hardware processors are further configured to rank the pipes based on a computed probability of burst, wherein the probability of burst is based on one or more combinations of the dynamic feature values. (11) In an embodiment of the present disclosure, the classifier is one of Naive Bayes, Support Vector Machines, Logistic Regression and Restricted Boltzmann Machines.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of VEN/CHA and VAS . One would have been motivated to do so, in order to obtain the advantage of to have a method for calculation of the risk based on historical data, for which machine learning techniques have proven high success.
Accordingly, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious over VEN/CHA/VAS .
Regarding Claims 10(1), 20(11) VEN/CHA/VAS teach the limitations of the parent claim. VAS further teaches
wherein the utility pipe is one of a water pipe or sewer pipe and the one or more sensor components consists of one more of a pressure sensor, flow sensor or acoustic sensor.
{ (28) Although the systems and methods of the present disclosure may be explained herein below particularly with reference to water pipe networks, it may be noted that the present disclosure may be applicable to pipe networks carrying fluids such as gas, oil, and the like…. Dynamic features of individual pipes such as pressure and flow arise due to the interplay between the network structure and the involved operations. This is because pressure and flow sensors are typically deployed only at the DMA inlets.}
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of VEN/CHA/VAS and further teaching of VAS . One would have been motivated to do so, in order to obtain the advantage of using on the type of pipes for which leakage is most common in cities and the sensors which are the most common for measuring flow and leakage.
Accordingly, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious over VEN/CHA/VAS .
Regarding Claims 4(1), 14 (11) VEN/CHA/VAS teach the limitations of the parent claim. VAS further teaches
wherein the inputted data includes information accessed from at least a utility company associated with the utility pipe.{ (7) FIG. 4 illustrates historic data from a European water utility pertaining to burst count across years 2005-2011 in a pipe network;}
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of VEN/CHA/VAS and further teaching of VAS . One would have been motivated to do so, to obtain the advantage of high accuracy and full records by accessing data directly from the source.
Accordingly, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious over VEN/CHA/VAS .
Regarding Claims 9(1), 19(11) VEN/CHA/VAS teach the limitations of the parent claim. VAS further teaches
wherein processing the inputted data further includes generating data transformations for use in training of the one or more machine learning models or executing the calculation of the LoF variable.{ (6) and iteratively computing for the pipes, dynamic feature values associated with the pipes, until an optimum pressure head value from the received pressure head values causes at least one node at a highest elevation in the pre-defined sub-network to have pressure values within a pre-defined range of minimum and maximum pressure for the sub-networks. (9) In an embodiment of the present disclosure, the one or more hardware processors are further configured to train a classifier based on historic GIS data and the computed dynamic feature values; and classify, for a corresponding time interval in future, the pipes as “burst” or “no burst” based on the computed dynamic feature values.
(10) In an embodiment of the present disclosure, the one or more hardware processors are further configured to rank the pipes based on a computed probability of burst, wherein the probability of burst is based on one or more combinations of the dynamic feature values.}
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of VEN/CHA/VAS and further teaching of VAS . One would have been motivated to do so, to obtain the advantage of preparing data for machine learning training which is known to allow more accurate machine learning models.
Accordingly, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious over VEN/CHA/VAS .
Claims 2, 3, 12, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkateswaran et al Impact Driven Sensor Placement for Leak Detection in Community Water Networks, 2018 9th ACM/IEEE International Conference on Cyber-Physical Systems (“VEN”) in view of Chang et al Application of risk based inspection in refinery and processing piping, Journal of Loss Prevention in the Process Industries 18 (2005) 397–402 (“CHA”) in further view of in further view of US 10578543 B2 Vasan (“VAS”)
in further view of Baah et al A risk-based approach to sanitary sewer pipe asset management, Sci of Total Envi 505 1011-1017, 2015 (“BAA”)
Regarding Claims 2(1), 12(11) VEN/CHA/VAS teach the limitations of the parent claim. They teach the sensor placement utilizing the LoF and CoF variables. They do not teach, however BAA teaches
further including combining, in the at least computer device, the outputs from each of the machine learning models into an ensemble output indicative of the LoF variable associated with the utility pipe wherein the sensor placement determinative variable is calculated utilizing the ensemble output and the CoF variable.
{ Table 2 Probability of failure (or condition state)
‘ 3.4. Pipe condition grade prediction model… The model was developed using the random forests data mining tool on a training dataset consisting of 138 bad pipes and 1117 good pipes. 3.5 3.5. Determining the risk of failure Once the CoF and internal condition grade of the uninspected pipe assets have both been determined, the risk of failure for each pipe segment is calculated by combining the consequence of failure and its corresponding predicted internal condition grade using a risk matrix system (Salman and Salem, 2011).
}
Ensemble output is interpreted as the combination of random forests outputs, which a POSITA would recognize as a weighted neighborhood scheme, with weights that average those of the individual trees.
Wikipedia https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Random_forest
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of VEN/CHA/VAS and BAA. VEN/CHA/VAS teaches placement of sensors depending on both LoF and CoF. BAA teaches, in the same context of combining LoF and CoF their respective determination with ensembles/weights. One would have been motivated to combine the two to obtain the advantage of using a proven, efficient modality of determining variables as combination of components, each with a weight which can be adjusted for model tuning - a.
Accordingly, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious over VEN/CHA/VAS/BAA.
Regarding Claims 3(1), 13(11) VEN/CHA/VAS teach the limitations of the parent claim. They do not explicitly teach, however BAA teaches
wherein calculating the LoF and CoF variables utilize a plurality of weighted variables. {Since risk is a function of both probability and consequence (Rogers and Grigg, 2009), assessing the risk of sewer pipe failure involves assessing both the probability and consequence of failure (CoF) of the individual pipe asset within the network.
Table 2 Probability of failure (or condition state) ‘ 3.4. Pipe condition grade prediction model… The model was developed using the random forests data mining tool on a training dataset consisting of 138
bad pipes and 1117 good pipes} calculating the LoF utilizing a plurality of weighted variables is interpreted as using random forests, which a POSITA would recognize as a weighted neighborhood scheme, with weights that average those of the individual trees.
Wikipedia https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Random_forest
}
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of VEN/CHA/VAS and BAA. One would have been motivated to do so, to obtain the advantage of using one of the more powerful machine learning models, which implicitly uses a weighted combination of outputs of a previous layer/model.
Accordingly, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious over VEN/CHA/VAS/BAA.
Claims 5, 6, 15, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkateswaran et al Impact Driven Sensor Placement for Leak Detection in Community Water Networks, 2018 9th ACM/IEEE International Conference on Cyber-Physical Systems (“VEN”) in view of Chang et al Application of risk based inspection in refinery and processing piping, Journal of Loss Prevention in the Process Industries 18 (2005) 397–402 (“CHA”) in further view of in further view of US 10578543 B2 Vasan (“VAS”)
in further view of Dunn et al “Structured information extraction from complex scientific text with fine-tuned large language models” Dec 10, 2022 https://arxiv.org/pdf/2212.05238
Regarding Claims 5(4), 15(14) VEN/CHA/VAS teach the limitations of the parent claim. Their combination does not teach, however DUN teaches
wherein the inputted data includes unstructured data
whereby the at least computer device utilizes a Large Language Model (LLM) to normalize the unstructured data into structured data suitable for the use in the one or more machine learning models, wherein the unstructured data may include text data, image data, video data, acoustic data, or other multi-modality signal sensor data {TITLE: Structured information extraction from complex scientific text with fine-tuned large language models}
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of VEN/CHA/VAS and DUN. One would have been motivated to do so, to obtain the advantage of processed/filtered/organized data which is known is fundamental for learning; LLM are known for being able to use provide such processing and would have been a natural choice before the time of invention.
Accordingly, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious over VEN/CHA/VAS/DUN.
Regarding Claims 6(5), 16(15) VEN/CHA/VAS/DUN teach the limitations of the parent claim. DUN further teaches
wherein the at least computer device utilizing the LLM identifies, and corrects, omissions and errors present in the inputted data. {p13 right col Typically, annotation for scientific information extraction tasks is a tedious and error-prone process. Checking intermediate model outputs for errors is qualitatively easier than creating annotations from scratch…. As a separate experiment, we compared the usefulness of in-the the-loop (error-correction) models for aiding a human domain expert in annotating novel materials-related abstracts in the General-JSON schema.p14 left col: Implicit error correction and entity normalization An advantage of the LLM-NERRE method presented here is
the ability to automatically correct errors and normalize common entity patterns}
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of VEN/CHA/VAS/DUN and further teaching of DUN. One would have been motivated to do so, to obtain the advantage of processed/filtered data, without errors, as good data is known is fundamental for learning; LLM are known for being able to use provide such processing and would have been a natural choice before the time of invention.
Accordingly, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious over VEN/CHA/VAS/DUN.
Claims 7, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkateswaran et al Impact Driven Sensor Placement for Leak Detection in Community Water Networks, 2018 9th ACM/IEEE International Conference on Cyber-Physical Systems (“VEN”) in view of Chang et al Application of risk based inspection in refinery and processing piping, Journal of Loss Prevention in the Process Industries 18 (2005) 397–402 (“CHA”) in further view of in further view of US 10578543 B2 Vasan (“VAS”)
in further view of Dunn et al “Structured information extraction from complex scientific text with fine-tuned large language models” Dec 10, 2022 https://arxiv.org/pdf/2212.05238 in further view of Paudel et al A general architecture for a real-time monitoring system based on the internet of things, Internet of Things, 14 (2021) 100367 in further view of WO 2024167498 A1 Tan (“TAN”)
Regarding Claims 7(5), 17(15) VEN/CHA/VAS/DUN teach the limitations of the parent claim, including placement of sensors ranked by the risk; the combination does not teach the explanation. VEN/CHA/VAS/DUN does not teach, however TAN teaches
further including, ranking, by the at least computer device utilizing the LLM, the physical placement locations of the one or more sensor components wherein the LLM provides a user explanation for the ranking order of the one or more sensor components.
{ Abstract - The process may also include generating a recommendation slate comprising one or more of the relevant items from the set (1510), and then optionally presenting the recommendation slate and an explanation about the recommendation slate to a user of the client device along with the response to the received user input (1512).[0060] he extracted concepts are used by the recommendations sub-module 334 to retrieve and rank selected recommendations. The explanations sub-module 336 can generate a natural language explanation to accompany the selected recommendations. If the recommendations are ranked, the explanation may indicate why or how they are ranked.}
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of VEN/CHA/VAS/DUN with TAN. One would have been motivated to do so, to obtain the advantage of benefiting from the LLM language processing abilities and provide better structured data and to clarify rationale for selections.
Accordingly, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious over VEN/CHA/VAS/DUN/TAN.
Claims 8 , 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkateswaran et al Impact Driven Sensor Placement for Leak Detection in Community Water Networks, 2018 9th ACM/IEEE International Conference on Cyber-Physical Systems (“VEN”) in view of Chang et al Application of risk based inspection in refinery and processing piping, Journal of Loss Prevention in the Process Industries 18 (2005) 397–402 (“CHA”) in further view of in further view of US 10578543 B2 Vasan (“VAS”)
in further view of Dunn et al “Structured information extraction from complex scientific text with fine-tuned large language models” Dec 10, 2022 https://arxiv.org/pdf/2212.05238 in further view of Paudel et al A general architecture for a real-time monitoring system based on the internet of things, Internet of Things, 14 (2021) 100367
Regarding Claims 8(5), 18(15) VEN/CHA/VAS/DUN teach the limitations of the parent claim. They teach the use of sensor placement and LLM for processing sensor data and structuring it, while they do not teach the alarm. Thus VEN/CHA/VAS/DUN do not teach, however PAU teaches
further including, providing real-time monitoring of the one or more sensor components, by the at least computer device utilizing the LLM, for generating alert notifications of one or more detected changing conditions inflicted upon the one or more sensor components.{ 3.5.1. Bottom layer The bottom layer of an IoT platform is connected to edge hardware and access points. This layer collects data from the sensors devices over different protocols and network topologies through the IoT gateway. It also provides the facility to manage and configure the devices remotely. 3.5.3. Monitoring layer We can use client devices (like PC, Tablet, Smartphone, etc.) to monitor the IoT system. An application is installed on client devices, which is continuously communicated to IoT platform by using various communication channels and protocols. The installed application has continually received the status of the real-time environment. If some sensor is defective or unusual behavior has happened on the perception layer, then the regulator person is informed either by notifications or by ringing an alarm through the installed application. We can also implement artificial intelligence and machine learning algorithms for the automotive decision so that a configured or manual IoT system can become a self-adaptive IoT system.}
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of VEN/CHA/VAS/DUN with PAU. One would have been motivated to do so, to obtain the advantage of benefiting from the information about leakage (via the alarm notification), which was the whole reason for placing the sensors – to rapidly detect and act to reduce impact of leakage, while LLM are able to process//filter data sensor data to provide better structured alarms.
Accordingly, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious over VEN/CHA/VAS/DUN/PAU.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, and claim 8 respectively, of the granted patent No. 11704458.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and claim 9 respectively, of the granted patent No. 11704458.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, of the granted patent No. 11704458.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2, of the granted patent No. 11704458.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of the granted patent No. 11704458.
Claim 9 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 and claim 8 respectively, of the granted patent No. 11704458.
Although the referred claims in the instant and in the granted patent are not identical, they are highly similar and are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences do no impart patentable distinctness. The claims are presented for comparison below. The difference, underlined, is analyzed after.
A - 18205359 (instant)
B - 11704458.
Claim 1
A computer-implemented method using machine learning techniques for determining placement of a sensor component on a utility pipe, comprising:
in the at least computer device, inputted utility pipe data to generate one or more variables;
training, in the at least computer device, one or more machine learning models upon the one or more variables,
to produce an output indicative of a likelihood of failure (LoF) variable associated with the utility pipe from each model;
and calculating, in the at least computer device, a Consequence of Failure (CoF) variable associated with the utility pipe utilizing one or more variables related to the consequences of failure of a certain pipe;
calculating, in the one or more computer devices, utilizing the LoF and CoF variables, a sensor placement determinative variable;
and providing output data, from the one or more computer devices, indicative of physical placement locations of one or more sensor components associated with the utility pipe based at least in part on the sensor placement determinative variable.
2 -the outputs from each of the machine learning models into an ensemble output indicative of the LoF variable associated with the utility pipe wherein the sensor placement determinative variable is calculated utilizing the ensemble output and the CoF variable.
3 -wherein calculating the LoF and CoF variables utilize a plurality of weighted variables.
4 -wherein the inputted data includes information accessed from at least a utility company associated with the utility pipe.
6
wherein the at least computer device utilizing the LLM identifies, and corrects, omissions and errors present in the inputted data.
9. - , wherein processing the inputted data further includes generating data transformations for use in training of the one or more machine learning models or executing the calculation of the LoF variable.
10.- wherein the utility pipe is one of a water pipe or sewer pipe and the one or more sensor components consists of one more of a pressure sensor, flow sensor or acoustic sensor.
Claim 1
A computer-implemented method for determining placement of a sensor component on a utility pipe, comprising:
(machine learning in claim 8 below)
inputting, at one or more computing devices, data relating to the utility pipe;
processing, at the one or more computer devices, the inputted data to generate one or more variables;
training, at the one or more computer devices via the one or more variables, one or more models
machine learning in claim 8 below)
to produce an output indicative of a likelihood of failure variable associated with the utility pipe from each model;
combining the outputs from all models into an ensemble output indicative of a likelihood of failure associated with the utility pipe;
(calculating, at the one or more computer devices, a consequence of failure variable associated with the utility pipe utilizing a plurality of weighted variables;
calculating, at the one or more computer devices via the ensemble output
and the consequence of failure variable associated with the utility pipe, a sensor placement determinative variable;
and providing feedback, from the one or more computer devices, output data indicative of physical placement of one or more sensor components associated with the utility pipe based at least in part on the sensor placement determinative variable.
See underline in claim 1
combining the outputs from all models into an ensemble output indicative of a likelihood of failure associated with the utility pipe
via the ensemble output and the consequence of failure variable associated with the utility pipe,
and claim 9
9 wherein the ensemble output is defined as a collective likelihood of failure variable
From 1: utilizing a plurality of weighted variables;
2. wherein the inputted data includes information accessed from a utility company associated with the utility pipe.
4
detecting, in the one or more computer devices, errors and omissions in the inputted data and correcting the detected errors and omissions in the inputted data using computer-implemented statistical techniques.
5 -wherein processing the inputted data further includes generating data transformations for use in training of the one or more models or executing the calculation of the likelihood of failure variable.
8.- wherein training the one or more models to produce one or more individual outputs includes utilizing at least one Machine Learning such as Supervised Learning, Unsupervised Learning, Transfer Learning, Reinforcement Learning, Clustering, Classification, Dimensionality Reduction, Ensemble Methods, or Deep Learning.
10 - Wherein the utility pipe is a water pipe
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, Claim 6 of (A) - the instant application is limits the statistical techniques of Claim 4 combined with machine learning/deep learning of claim 8. ML became popular in 2018, even though in existence before that. A POSITA would find the use of LLM as an obvious variation of the disclosed combination of machine learnings taught in claim 8, as the application is in language (corrects, omissions and errors present in the input .
Limiting the statistical methods for corrections, omissions and errors is viewed as a predictable and obvious variation/choice of machine learning based statistical technique for corrections/omissions/errors, and does not impart a patentably distinct functional or structural difference over the broader claim of the instant application.
Accordingly, the claimed subject matter of the instant application would have been an obvious modification over Patent no 11704458.
Claim 10 has the additional limitation of sensors consisting of pressure sensor, flow sensor, and acoustic or sensor. A POSITA would have recognized that these are the types of sensors in measuring leakage and would have found obvious before the day of the invention to use one of the those being motivated by the advantage of using what has been used. Wikipedia lists for Leak Detection https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leak_detection “The primary purpose of leak detection systems (LDS) is to help pipeline controllers to detect and localize leaks…. LDS are divided into internally based LDS and externally based LDS. Internally based systems use field instrumentation (for example flow, pressure or fluid temperature sensors) to monitor internal pipeline parameters. Externally based systems use a different, independent set of field instrumentation (for example infrared radiometers or thermal cameras, vapor sensors, acoustic microphones or fiber-optic cables) to monitor external pipeline parameters.”
Prior art made of record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US-20210110090-A1
US-20200111039-A1
CN-119492010-A
CN-106015951-A
Conclusion
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2188
/RYAN F PITARO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2188