DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 10/15/2025 are entered. The amendments change the scopes of the previously presented claims. The current Office Action is made FINAL as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 9, 11-12, 15 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agardh (US 12,363,638 B2) in view of Martin (US 2024/0397422 A1).
Agardh discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 1, a method, comprising:
monitoring, by a processor of an apparatus (see UE 101 in Fig. 10; and see control circuitry 1012 in Fig. 5), whether a LP WUS is received (see Fig. 10, wherein the UE monitors the wake-up occasions 202 to receive the wake-up signal 4003 during step 3004) from a network node via a secondary radio of the apparatus (see “a WUS 4003 received by the low-power receiver 1352” recited in column 11, lines 21-25; see Fig. 10, step 3004 during which a wake-up signal is sent from the BS 112 to the UE 101) in a case that the apparatus is operating in a connected mode (see Connected mode DRX-WURx mode 304 in Fig. 12; and see “In mode 304—associated with communicating the WUS 4003—, the data connection 189 is maintained between the UE 101 and the network 100” recited in column 16, lines 27-42; also see “The WUS techniques enable a UE to transition a main receiver of a UE into a low-power state, e.g., for power-saving purposes. In some examples, the low-power state of the main receiver may be an inactive state. For example, the WUS may be received by a dedicated low-power receiver of the UE” recited in column 4, lines 3-14); and
determining, by the processor, whether to wake up a main radio of the apparatus for PDCCH monitoring (see “the WUS may be transmitted independent of the PDCCH. The WUS may be transmitted prior to the UE accessing the PDCCH. Once the UE has detected a WUS that is assigned to that UE, then the UE may start to decode the PDCCH. For example, the WUS may be transmitted on a different carrier than the PDCCH” recited in column 11, line 65-column 12, line 3; and see the UE monitoring for the paging indicator 3006 in Fig. 10, which may be transmitted on a PDCCH, as shown in column 13, lines 64-67) in the connected mode based on the monitoring of the LP WUS (see step 3005 in Fig. 10, during which the main receiver 1351 of the UE 101 is transitioned to the active state in response to receiving the WUS 4003).
Regarding claim 2, receiving, by the processor, a first configuration from the network node via the main radio (see Fig. 10, wherein the configuration data 4001 is received by the UE 101 from the BS 112; and see “4001 and 4002 are received by the main receiver 1351 of the UE 101f” recited in column 13, lines 33-34), wherein the first configuration comprises at least one of the following: frequency resource information of the LP WUS (see “ The configuration data 4001 may be indicative of time-frequency resources used for the WUS transmission” recited in column 12, line 64-column 13, line 9); and a monitoring periodicity of the LP WUS.
Regarding claim 5, wherein the determination of whether to wake up the main radio comprises: determining, by the processor, to wake up the main radio for PDCCH monitoring in the connected mode in a case that the LP WUS is received; and determining, by the processor, not to wake up the main radio for PDCCH monitoring in the connected mode in a case that the LP WUS is not received (see Fig. 10, wherein the main receiver transitions to an inactive state in step 3003 and stays in the inactive state until a wake-up signal 4003 is received in step 3004 after which the main receiver transitions to the active state in step 3005).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the LP WUS comprises a narrowband signal comprising only one or few resource blocks in frequency domain (see Fig. 14, wherein a narrow band signal is used for the WUS 4003).
Regarding claim 11, an apparatus (see UE 101 in Fig. 10; and see control circuitry 1012 in Fig. 5), comprising:
a transceiver (see interface 1011 in Fig. 5) which, during operation, wirelessly communicates with a network node of a wireless network (see BS 112 in Fig. 10), wherein the transceiver comprises a main radio and a secondary radio (see main receiver 1351 and low-power receiver 1352 in Fig. 6); and
a processor (see Control Circuit 1012 in Fig. 5)communicatively coupled to the transceiver such that, during operation, the processor performs operations comprising:
monitoring, via the secondary radio, whether a LP WUS is received (see Fig. 10, wherein the UE monitors the wake-up occasions 202 to receive the wake-up signal 4003 during step 3004) from the network node (see “a WUS 4003 received by the low-power receiver 1352” recited in column 11, lines 21-25; see Fig. 10, step 3004 during which a wake-up signal is sent from the BS 112 to the UE 101) in a case that the apparatus is operating in a connected mode (see Connected mode DRX-WURx mode 304 in Fig. 12; and see “In mode 304—associated with communicating the WUS 4003—, the data connection 189 is maintained between the UE 101 and the network 100” recited in column 16, lines 27-42; also see “The WUS techniques enable a UE to transition a main receiver of a UE into a low-power state, e.g., for power-saving purposes. In some examples, the low-power state of the main receiver may be an inactive state. For example, the WUS may be received by a dedicated low-power receiver of the UE” recited in column 4, lines 3-14); and
determining whether to wake up the main radio of the apparatus for PDCCH monitoring (see “the WUS may be transmitted independent of the PDCCH. The WUS may be transmitted prior to the UE accessing the PDCCH. Once the UE has detected a WUS that is assigned to that UE, then the UE may start to decode the PDCCH. For example, the WUS may be transmitted on a different carrier than the PDCCH” recited in column 11, line 65-column 12, line 3; and see the UE monitoring for the paging indicator 3006 in Fig. 10, which may be transmitted on a PDCCH, as shown in column 13, lines 64-67) in the connected mode based on the monitoring of the LP WUS (see step 3005 in Fig. 10, during which the main receiver 1351 of the UE 101 is transitioned to the active state in response to receiving the WUS 4003).
Regarding claim 12, receiving, by the main radio, a first configuration from the network node (see Fig. 10, wherein the configuration data 4001 is received by the UE 101 from the BS 112; and see “4001 and 4002 are received by the main receiver 1351 of the UE 101f” recited in column 13, lines 33-34), wherein the first configuration comprises at least one of the following: frequency resource information of the LP WUS (see “ The configuration data 4001 may be indicative of time-frequency resources used for the WUS transmission” recited in column 12, line 64-column 13, line 9); and a monitoring periodicity of the LP WUS.
Regarding claim 15, wherein the determination of whether to wake up the main radio comprises: determining to wake up the main radio for PDCCH monitoring in the connected mode in a case that the LP WUS is received; and determining not to wake up the main radio for PDCCH monitoring in the connected mode in a case that the LP WUS is not received (see Fig. 10, wherein the main receiver transitions to an inactive state in step 3003 and stays in the inactive state until a wake-up signal 4003 is received in step 3004 after which the main receiver transitions to the active state in step 3005).
Regarding claim 19, wherein the LP WUS comprises a narrowband signal comprising only one or few resource blocks in frequency domain (see Fig. 14, wherein a narrow band signal is used for the WUS 4003).
Agardh does not disclose the following features: regarding claims 1 and 11, receiving, by the processor, a first configuration from the network node via the main radio, wherein the first configuration comprises at least one of the following: information indicating an association between the LP WUS and the PDCCH monitoring; and a time offset between the LP WUS and the PDCCH monitoring.
Martin discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, receiving, by the processor, a first configuration from the network node via the main radio, wherein the first configuration comprises at least one of the following: information indicating an association between the LP WUS and the PDCCH monitoring; and a time offset between the LP WUS and the PDCCH monitoring (see “The configuration information may comprise a time offset value (T). The time offset value (T) may be a period of time to allow a main receiver to turn on or be activated… The WTRU may monitor for a paging indication after the time offset value (T) from receiving the WUS” recited in paragraph [0118]; and see “The paging indication may be received in a downlink control information (DCI) over a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH)” recited in paragraph [0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of Agardh using features, as taught by Martin, in order to allow a main receiver to turn on or be activated (see paragraph [0118] of Martin).
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agardh and Martin as applied to claims 2 and 12 above, and further in view of Beale (US 2023/0023422 A1).
Agardh and Martin disclose the features as shown above.
Agardh does not disclose the following features: regarding claims 3 and 13, wherein the PDCCH monitoring is performed for one of the following: a PDCCH within an active BWP; a PDCCH of a specific CORESET; a PDCCH for a specific DCI format; a PDCCH of a specific search space; and a PDCCH of a specific SSSG.
Beale discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, wherein the PDCCH monitoring is performed for one of the following: a PDCCH within an active BWP; a PDCCH of a specific CORESET; a PDCCH for a specific DCI format (see “monitor for DCI format 2_6” recited in paragraph [0056]); a PDCCH of a specific search space (see “search space” recited in paragraph [0056]; or see “a set of PDCCH candidates within a search space” recited in paragraph [0060]); and a PDCCH of a specific SSSG.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of Agardh and Martin using features, as taught by Beale, in order to allow the UE to determine when to monitor for scheduling DCI (see paragraph [0056] of Beale).
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agardh and Martin as applied to claims 2 and 12 above, and further in view of Wu (US 2023/0269666 A1).
Agardh and Martin discloses the features as shown above.
Agardh does not disclose the following features: regarding claims 4 and 14, wherein the first configuration is received in a UE-specific RRC signaling.
Wu discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, wherein the first configuration is received in a UE-specific RRC signaling (see “the base station configures the WUS through UE-specific RRC signaling” recited in paragraph [0095]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of Agardh and Martin using features, as taught by Wu, in order to configure the wake up signaling for an UE (see paragraph [0095] of WU).
Claim(s) 6-8, 10, 16-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agardh and Martin as applied to claims 1 and 1 above, and further in view of Zhang (US 2020/0145921 A1).
Agardh and Martin disclose the features as shown above.
Agardh also disclose the following features.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, wherein the determination of whether to wake up the main radio comprises: determining, by the processor, to wake up the main radio for PDCCH monitoring in the connected mode in a case that the LP WUS is received and indicates to wake up the main radio (see Fig. 10, wherein the main receiver transitions to an inactive state in step 3003 and stays in the inactive state until a wake-up signal 4003 is received in step 3004 after which the main receiver transitions to the active state in step 3005).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, determining, by the processor, not to wake up the main radio for PDCCH monitoring in the connected mode in a case that the LP WUS is not received (see Fig. 10, wherein the main receiver transitions to an inactive state in step 3003 and stays in the inactive state until a wake-up signal 4003 is received in step 3004 after which the main receiver transitions to the active state in step 3005).
Agardh does not disclose the following features: regarding claims 6 and 16, determining, by the processor, not to wake up the main radio for PDCCH monitoring in the connected mode in a case that the LP WUS is received and indicates not to wake up the main radio; regarding claims 8 and 18, receiving, by the processor, a second configuration from the network node via the main radio, wherein the second configuration indicates whether or not to wake up the main radio for PDCCH monitoring in the connected mode in the case that the LP WUS is not received; regarding claims 10 and 20, wherein the LP WUS is transmitted in a repetition manner in time domain.
Zhang discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, determining, by the processor, not to wake up the main radio for PDCCH monitoring in the connected mode in a case that the LP WUS is received and indicates not to wake up the main radio (see Fig. 6, wherein the UE receives a WUS in step 603 and if the WUS does not indicate to wake up, the UE proceeds to steps 604-606 while not waking up the main receiver).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, receiving, by the processor, a second configuration from the network node via the main radio (see “UE wake up criteria and parameters (such as K and N) may be configured in its WUS and/or DRX configuration” recited in paragraph [0134], wherein Agardh shows that the WUS configuration data 4001 is received via the main radio in column 13, lines 33-34), wherein the second configuration indicates whether or not to wake up the main radio for PDCCH monitoring in the connected mode in the case that the LP WUS is not received (see “after miss-detection of WUS, a UE may wake up or not according to predetermined or configured criteria or parameters” recited in paragraph [0134] and see “triggering criteria for a “forced” wake-up” recited in paragraph [0075] for determining whether to wake up the main radio in the case that the WUS is not received).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, wherein the LP WUS is transmitted in a repetition manner in time domain (see “For a WUS time window with k>1, a WUS may be transmitted repeatedly k times to increase the UE detection reliability and robustness” recited in paragraph [0068] and similar teaching shown in paragraph [0130]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of Agardh and Martin using features, as taught by Zhang, in order to keep the main receiver off (see paragraph [0063]), thereby reducing power consumption.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUTAI KAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473