DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,5,6,29-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinese reference(CN202870678U) taken together with Chinese reference(CN209248963U) in view of Stanford et al(2008/0013262).
Chinese reference(CN202870678U) in figure 1 teaches an air purifying device comprising: a housing configured to rest on a surface(noting unnumbered stand), the housing having a rear and a front; an air pressure altering element(fan 2) located within the housing; a filter assembly(gas pollutant purification component 3) configured to remove contaminants from air as air is passed through the filter assembly; an air intake region comprising an intake port(air inlet 1); a chamber interior to the air intake region and configured to accept the filter assembly such that the filter assembly is located the downstream of the air intake port; a main chamber(screen shell 4) operatively coupled to the air pressure altering element whereby the air pressure altering element increases air pressure in the main chamber, the main chamber further operatively coupled to an exit port on the front; an air discharge region(air outlet 6) comprising at least the exit port and configured so that air leaving the device forms a tapered, conical or wedge-shaped stream of moving air having a smaller cross-sectional area at the device and spreading out to increasingly larger cross-sectional area as distance from the device increase(noting air outlets provided at a perimeter of a display screen 7 at a front location of the display screen, wherein air leaving the air outlets forms a tapered, conical or wedge-shaped stream of moving air). Chinese reference(CN202870678U) is silent as to the filter assembly is located between the intake port and the air pressure altering element. Chinese reference(CN202870678U) teaches a filter assembly(3) downstream of a fan(2), however positioning the filter assembly between the intake port(1) and the fan(3) would have been an obvious modification, wherein placing the filter assembly upstream of the fan would not change the overall function of the air purifying device, and wherein the current specification provides no criticality as to the positioning of the filter assembly is located between the intake port and the air pressure altering element. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a filter assembly between the intake port(1) and the fan(3) of Chinese reference(CN202870678U) to provide air filtration before entering the air pressure altering element.
Chinese reference(CN202870678U) is also silent as to wherein the device is configured so that outward flowing air leaves the device through the exit port at an upward angle relative to the surface. Chinese reference(CN209248963U) in figure 1 teaches an air purifying device configured to rest on a surface(noting base body 1) including an air purifying element(3) connected to a media display(4), wherein the media display, through an unnumbered pivoting mechanism, is configured to be adjusted so that the media display is positioned at an upward angle relative to the surface(translation stating “the media display 4 is turned to vertical or slightly inclined backwards). It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the air purifying device of Chinese reference(CN202870678U) so that a display screen(7) and air outlets(8) are positioned at an upward angle relative to the surface so that outward flowing air leaves the device at an upward angle relative to the surface. Examiner notes that configuring the display screen(7) of Chinese reference(CN202870678U) to be positioned at an upward angle would also permit outward flowing air from air outlets(8) positioned on a perimeter to also leave the air purifying device at an upward angle.
Chinese reference(CN202870678U) is further silent as to a front holding feature configured to hold an item. Stanford et al teaches a housing(computer monitor 100 of laptop 105) configured to rest on a surface, the housing having a rear and a front, and a front holding feature(removable module 125) configured to hold an item(web cam; examiner noting para 0023 details a list of separate devices for the removable module, including but not limited to a web cam and a set of lights). It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a front holding feature configured to hold an item for the air purifying device of Chinese reference in order to provide a mechanism for coupling an item to the housing of the air purifying device of Chinese reference. Examiner notes that the claimed “front holding feature configured to hold an item” is provided as a coupling mechanism for the claimed air purifying device that is purely asthetic and does not effect the air discharge region or filtration functions of Chinese reference, wherein Stanford et al is within a field of endevor of providing a feature configured to hold an item for a front surface of a housing, wherein the housing includes a computer monitor.
With regards to claim 5 , Chinese reference(CN202870678U) taken together with Stanford et al further teaches wherein a the front holding feature is configured to hold a photograph and wherein the air discharge region is formed peripheral to the photograph (Examiner notes the claim is directed to the “front holding feature”, and a “photograph” is not a structural element of the claimed “front holding feature”, therefore the front holding feature of Stanford et al is only required to be capable of holding a photograph. Examiner notes that the removable module 125 is capable of being coupled to the frame 110, and therefore the removable module is capable of holding a photograph. Examiner further notes that any photograph as a part of the claimed front holding feature may be of a size which does not cover part of the display panel, or does cover part of the display panel, wherein any front holding feature for the display panel of Chinese reference is functional irrespective of a power on or power off embodiment of the display panel).
With regards to claim 6 , Chinese reference(CN202870678U) taken together with Stanford et al further teaches wherein the front holding feature is configured to hold an external device(web cam; examiner noting para 0023 details a list of separate devices for the removable module, including but not limited to a web cam and a set of lights ) and wherein the air discharge region is formed peripheral to the external device.
With regards to claim 29 , Chinese reference(CN202870678U) taken together with Stanford et al further teaches wherein a the front holding feature is configured to retain a printed item (Examiner notes the claim is directed to the “front holding feature”, and a “printed item” is not a structural element of the claimed “front holding feature”, therefore the front holding feature of Stanford et al is only required to be capable of retaining a printed item. Examiner notes that the removable module 125 is capable of being coupled to the frame 110, and therefore the removable module is capable of retaining a printed item. Examiner further notes that any printed item as a part of the claimed front holding feature may be of a size which does not cover part of the display panel, or does cover part of the display panel, wherein any front holding feature for the display panel of Chinese reference is functional irrespective of a power on or power off embodiment of the display panel).
With regards to claim 30 , Chinese reference(CN202870678U) taken together with Stanford et al further teaches wherein the front holding feature comprises a slot or recess(guide slots 150 as a part of front holding feature 125 in figure 3 of Stanford et al)
With regards to claim 31, Chinese reference(CN202870678U) taken together with Stanford et al further teaches wherein the front holding feature is configured as a picture frame(examiner notes that a picture frame is an intended use for the claimed front holding feature, and Chinese reference(CN202870678U) taken together with Stanford et al only needs to be capable of securing a picture .
With regards to claim 32, Chinese reference(CN202870678U) taken together with Stanford et al further teaches a battery contained within the housing for powering the device(Examiner noting Chinese reference teaches a device including an external power source, however Stanford teaches a battery powered device, therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a battery powered device for an external power source to provide for portability for the air purifying device of Chinese reference).
With regards to claim 33, Chinese reference(CN202870678U) taken together with Stanford et al further comprising a front baffle secured to the front, wherein the front baffle includes the front holding feature(noting figure 3 including front baffle which includes front holding feature 125 of Stanford et al).
Claims 14,15, 18, 19, 21,22, 26, 27, 35,36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinese reference(CN202870678U) taken together with Stanford et al(2008/0013262).
Chinese reference(CN202870678U) in figure 1 teaches a device for improving a user’s local environment, the device comprising: a housing, the housing having a top, a first side configured to rest on a surface in a first orientation (noting unnumbered stand), a second side, a rear and a front; an air pressure altering element (fan 2) located within the housing; a filter assembly(gas pollutant purification component 3) configured to remove contaminants from air as air is passed through the filter assembly; an air intake region comprising an intake port(air inlet 1); a main chamber(screen shell 4) operatively coupled to the air pressure altering element whereby the air pressure altering element increases air pressure in the main chamber, the main chamber further operatively coupled to an exit port(air outlet 6) on the front; an air discharge region comprising at least the exit port and configured so that air leaving the device forms a tapered, conical or wedge-shaped stream of moving air having a smaller cross-sectional area at the device and spreading out to increasingly larger cross-sectional area as distance from the device increases (noting air outlets provided at a perimeter of a display screen 7 at a front location of the display screen, wherein air leaving the air outlets forms a tapered, conical or wedge-shaped stream of moving air), the stream of moving air having a geometric center representing a primary direction; and wherein the device is configured so that the stream of moving air exits the front of the device through the exit port and forms an angle between the geometric center and the surface.
Chinese reference(CN202870678U) is silent as to an item retaining feature. Stanford et al teaches a housing(computer monitor 100 of laptop 105) configured to rest on a surface, the housing having a rear and a front, and an item retaining feature(removable module 125 configured to retain an item(web cam; examiner noting para 0023 details a list of separate devices for the removable module, including but not limited to a web cam and a set of lights)). It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an item retaining feature for the air purifying device of Chinese reference in order to provide a mechanism for coupling an item to the housing of the air purifying device of Chinese reference. Examiner notes that the claimed “item retaining feature” is provided as a coupling mechanism for the claimed air purifying device that is purely asthetic and does not effect the air discharge region or filtration functions of Chinese reference, wherein Stanford is within a field of endevor of providing a feature configured to retain an item for a surface of a housing, wherein the housing includes a computer monitor.
With regards to claim 15, Chinese reference(CN202870678U) taken together with Stanford et al further teaches wherein the primary direction is substantially perpendicular to the front and the item retaining feature comprises at least one retaining side.
With regards to claim 18, Chinese reference(CN202870678U) taken together with Stanford et al further teaches wherein the second side is also configured to rest on the surface in a second orientation such that the angle is determined by an angle of intersection between the front and the second side.
With regards to claim 19, Chinese reference(CN202870678U) taken together with Stanford et al further teaches wherein the device is configured such that the stream of moving air is directed toward a user’s head in a user position and wherein the stream of moving air at the user position is configured to fully encompass the user’s head ( examiner notes that a user in a user position is not a part of the claimed air purifying device, therefore limitations to a user in a user position are not given patentable weight for prior art analysis. Examiner notes however that the translation of Chinese reference(CN202870678U) states “this utility model claims an environment-friendly office learning equipment, especially relates to a display screen providing computer of clean air directly subject to the user.).
With regards to claim 21, Chinese reference(CN202870678U) taken together with Stanford et al further teaches a desktop display system wherein the front comprises a front baffle extending across a majority the front(baffle at a perimeter of the display screen 7 of Chinese reference) and wherein at least a portion of the front baffle comprises the item retaining feature(noting figure 3 of Stanford et al including a front baffle(frame for display panel 115) that includes an item retaining feature) and wherein the front baffle includes a display region extending across a majority of the front baffle for displaying an item retained by the item retaining feature, and wherein the air discharge region(air outlets 6 of Chinese reference) is peripheral to the display region.
With regards to claim 22, Chinese reference(CN202870678U) taken together with Stanford et al further teaches wherein the item retaining feature is configured to hold a photograph in the display region(Examiner notes the claim is directed to the “front holding feature”, and a “photograph” is not a structural element of the claimed “front holding feature”, therefore the front holding feature of Stanford et al is only required to be capable of holding a photograph. Examiner notes that the removable module 125 is capable of being coupled to the frame 110, and therefore the removable module is capable of holding a photograph. Examiner further notes that any photograph as a part of the claimed front holding feature may be of a size which does not cover part of the display panel, or does cover part of the display panel, wherein any front holding feature for the display panel of Chinese reference is functional irrespective of a power on or power off embodiment of the display panel).
With regards to claim 26, Chinese reference(CN202870678U) taken together with Stanford et al further teaches a front panel(front panel of monitor of Chinese reference), wherein at least a portion of the front panel comprises the item retaining feature(noting figure 3 of Stanford et al including a front panel(frame for display panel 115)), and wherein the item retaining feature is configured to removably secure an external device(e.g. webcam or lights).
With regards to claim 27, Chinese reference(CN202870678U) taken together with Stanford et al further teaches a front baffle having one or more functional elements, and wherein at least a portion of the front baffle comprises the item retaining feature..
With regards to claim 35 , Chinese reference(CN202870678U) taken together with Stanford et al further teaches wherein a the front holding feature is configured to hold a printed item in the display region (Examiner notes the claim is directed to the “item retaining feature”, and a “printed item” is not a structural element of the claimed “item retaining feature”, therefore the item retaining feature of Stanford et al is only required to be capable of retaining a printed item. Examiner notes that the removable module 125 is capable of being coupled to the frame 110, and therefore the item retaining feature is capable of retaining a printed item. Examiner further notes that any printed item as a part of the claimed item retaining feature may be of a size which does not cover part of the display panel, or does cover part of the display panel, wherein any item retaining feature for the display panel of Chinese reference is functional irrespective of a power on or power off embodiment of the display panel).
With regards to claim 36 ,Chinese reference(CN202870678U) taken together with Stanford et al further teaches a charging system for charging the external device where the external device is secured by the item retaining feature(Examiner notes Stanford et al teaches an external device including a music player, wherein a charging system is inherent structure for a music player).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinese reference(CN202870678U) taken together with Stanford et al(2008/0013262).
Chinese reference(CN202870678U) taken together with Stanford et al teaches all of the limitations of claim 20 but is silent as to further comprising an audio system including at least one speaker or at least one microphone. Examiner respectfully submits that Chinese reference(CN202870678U) teaches an air purification device that includes a display screen, and knowing that a speaker and microphone are well known and integrated components of a computer system, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide at least one speaker or at least one microphone to provide for peripheral elements of the computer system of Chinese reference(CN202870678U).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9,16 ,17, 28, 34 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 9 recites “wherein the element is a thermal element configured such that air exiting the device is at a different temperature than ambient air entering the device.”. Chinese reference(CN202870678U) taken together with Chinese reference(CN209248963U) teaches an element configured to alter a condition of outward flowing air relative to ambient air, however Chinese reference(CN202870678U) taken together with Chinese reference(CN209248963U) does not teach or suggest wherein the element is a thermal element configured such that air exiting the device is at a different temperature than ambient air entering the device.
Claim 16 recites “wherein said item retaining feature comprises two retaining sides and wherein the distance between the retaining sides is adjustable”. Chinese reference(CN202870678U) taken together with Chinese reference(CN209248963U) in view of Stanford et al teaches an item retaining feature comprising two retaining sides, however Chinese reference(CN202870678U) taken together with Chinese reference(CN209248963U) in view of Stanford et al does not teach or suggest wherein the distance between the retaining sides is adjustable.
Claim 17 recites “wherein the angle between the geometric center and the surface is adjustable via a movable element”. Chinese reference(CN202870678U) teaches an air discharge region including a plurality of air outlets for moving air between a geometric center and a surface, however Chinese reference(CN202870678U) does not teach or suggest wherein the angle between the geometric center and the surface i is adjustable via a moveable element.
Claim 28 recites “wherein the front baffle is removable”. Chinese reference (CN202870678U) teaches a front baffle , however Chinese reference (CN202870678U) does not teach or suggest wherein the front baffle is removable.
Claim 34 recites “further comprising a front baffle secured to the front , wherein the front baffle is removable”. Chinese reference (CN202870678U) teaches a front baffle secured to the front, however Chinese reference (CN202870678U) does not teach or suggest wherein the front baffle is removable.
Claims 10-13 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 10 recites “An air purifying device comprising:
a housing configured to rest on a surface, the housing having a rear and a front;
an air pressure altering element located within the housing;
a filter assembly configured to remove contaminants from air as air is passed through the filter assembly;
an air intake region comprising an intake port;
a chamber interior to the air intake region and configured to accept the filter assembly such that the filter assembly is located between the intake port and the air pressure altering element;
a main chamber operatively coupled to the air pressure altering element whereby the air pressure altering element increases air pressure in the main chamber, the main chamber further operatively coupled to an exit port on the front;
a rear duct within the housing configured between the air pressure altering element and the front, the rear duct having a front surface, the rear duct further having an opening to allow air from the air pressure altering element to pass toward the front surface;
a front housing component having a rear surface with sloped sides, the front housing component configured in front of the rear duct such that the rear surface of the front housing component and the front surface of the rear duct form a passageway to direct air from the air pressure altering element toward the exit port arranged along at least a portion of a perimeter of the front;
an air discharge region comprising at least the exit port; and wherein the device is configured so that outward flowing air leaves the device through the exit port at an upward angle relative to the surface.”.
Chinese reference(CN202870678U) taken together with Chinese reference(CN209248963U) teaches an air purifying device including a front housing component having a rear surface, however Chinese reference(CN202870678U) taken together with Chinese reference(CN209248963U) does not teach or suggest a front housing component having a rear surface with sloped sides, the front housing component configured in front of the rear duct such that the rear surface of the front housing component and the front surface of the rear duct form a passageway to direct air from the air pressure altering element toward the exit port arranged along at least a portion of a perimeter of the front. Claims 11-13 depend on claim 10 and hence are also allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12-27-2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Chinese reference is directed solely to an integrated system, therefore there is no teaching of a system intended to secure , retain, hold, or support a physical item, such as a printed item (photograph, calendar, etc.) or an external electronic item (cell phone, tablet, etc. Applicant argues that while a computer screen is known to be capable of displaying a digital photograph, that is not the same as holding a physical, printed photograph (or other item) as described in the present application. Applicant argues retaining a physical item in front of the device taught in Chinese reference 202870678U would block the computer display and render the device unusable for its primary function.
Examiner applies a secondary reference Stanford et al(2008/0013262) in response to amendments to independent claims 1 and 14, wherein Examiner respectfully submits that , as noted in the current office action, Stanford et al provides motivation to provide Chinese reference with a front holding feature configured to hold an item, and also provides motivation to provide Chinese reference with an item retaining feature. Examiner respectfully submits Stanford et al teaches providing a physical item for the housing including a display of Chinese reference, wherein any item retained by Chinese reference does not block the computer display. Examiner furthermore respectfully submits that Stanford et al teaches a front holding feature that is coupled to a frame, and capable of supporting any photograph or printed item within the groove 150. Examiner furthermore respectfully submits that providing a front holding feature with a photograph or printed item across a display does not render the display of Chinese reference unusable for its primary function, wherein motivation for providing Stanford et al is not dependant upon the operational status of the display of Chinese reference.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT A HOPKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776
January 14, 2026