DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I comprising claims 1 – 14 and 16 – 20 in the reply filed on 1/9/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 15 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/9/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 8 and 12, the phrase “in particular” which is considered equivalent to the phrases: “such as,” “for example,” “specifically,” and “or the like,” is considered indefinite. The metes and bounds of the claim scope are not clear. It is not clear if the claim limitation is optional or not. Furthermore, without knowing this information, one of ordinary skill in the art would not know whether they are infringing on the claims or not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 6, 9 – 13 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ionescu et al. (US 2020/0194592 A1; hereinafter “Ionescu”).
Regarding claim 1, Ionescu teaches a biochip (paragraphs 23 – 43; figures 1 – 8) comprising at least one coupling arrangement (multi-gate chemical sensor 1; figure 1) capable for electrical stimulation of biological material or electrical measurement of the biological material, the biochip comprising:
a support structure (first insulator comprising gate oxide 27; figures 1 and 4; paragraphs 34 and 35) arranged at and/or in the coupling arrangement; and
a layer, a layer surface (ferroelectric element 7 comprising ferroelectric material 13; figure 4; paragraphs 32, 34 and 35) of which is arranged at the coupling arrangement, and an opposite layer surface of which forms a coupling surface capable for electrical stimulation of the biological material and/or for electrical measurement on the biological material;
wherein the layer has ferroelectric properties (paragraph 32).
Regarding claim 2, Ionescu teaches the biochip according to claim 1, wherein the layer comprises hafnium oxide with ferroelectric properties (paragraph 32).
Regarding claim 3, Ionescu teaches the biochip according to claim 2, wherein the hafnium oxide with ferroelectric properties is doped with silicon (paragraph 32).
Regarding claim 4, Ionescu teaches the biochip according to claim 2, wherein the hafnium oxide with ferroelectric properties is doped with zirconium (paragraph 32).
Regarding claim 5, Ionescu teaches the biochip according to claim 4, wherein the zirconium-doped hafnium oxide with ferroelectric properties has the composition Hf0.5 Zr0.5O2 (hafnium zirconium oxide; paragraph 32).
Regarding claim 6, Ionescu teaches the biochip according to claim 1, wherein the layer comprises zirconium oxide having ferroelectric properties (paragraph 32).
Regarding claim 9, Ionescu teaches the biochip according to claim 1, wherein the support structure comprises a substrate of a semiconductor material (paragraphs 23 – 34; figure 4).
Regarding claim 10, Ionescu teaches the biochip according to claim 9, wherein the layer forms part of a ferroelectric field effect transistor of the biochip (paragraphs 23 – 34; figure 4).
Regarding claim 11, Ionescu teaches the biochip according to claim 10, wherein the layer forms an insulating layer of the ferroelectric field effect transistor (paragraphs 23 – 34; figure 4).
Regarding claim 12, Ionescu teaches the biochip according to claim 1, wherein the biochip has memristive properties; in particular wherein the layer is adapted such that a ferroelectric tunnel contact is formed (figure 4).
Regarding claim 13, Ionescu teaches the biochip according to claim 1, wherein the biochip is adapted to couple, or capable of being able to couple to, an artificial neural network to a biological neural network (figure 4).
Regarding claim 19, Ionescu teaches an in vitro assembly comprising at least one biochip and an electrolyte receptacle (e.g., third insulator 39 as an electrolyte holder; figure 4; paragraph 27) for receiving an electrolyte comprising biological material, wherein the electrolyte receptacle is adapted to dispose the electrolyte on at least one coupling surface of the biochip for electrical stimulation of the biological material and/or electrical measurement of the biological material, wherein the at least one biochip is a biochip according to claim 1 (figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ionescu et al. (US 2020/0194592 A1; hereinafter “Ionescu”) in view of Shih (US 2015/0226618 A1; hereinafter “Shih”).
Regarding claim 7, Ionescu does not specifically teach the biochip according to claim 1, wherein the layer comprises aluminum scandium nitride with ferroelectric properties.
However, Shih teaches the use of aluminum scandium nitride as a substrate material in a related sensor apparatus (paragraphs 3,4 and 20). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.07). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the layer comprises aluminum scandium nitride with ferroelectric properties.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ionescu et al. (US 2020/0194592 A1; hereinafter “Ionescu”) in view of Wu et al. (US 2006/0240575 A1; hereinafter “Wu”).
Regarding claim 8, Ionescu does not specifically teach the biochip according to claim 1, wherein a thickness (d) of the layer is greater than 200 nm, in the range between 200 nm and 1500 nm, or between 200 nm and 800 nm.
However, Wu teaches a related sensor apparatus having a ferroelectric oxide layer within the specified thickness range (paragraph 54). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein a thickness (d) of the layer is greater than 200 nm, in the range between 200 nm and 1500 nm, or between 200 nm and 800 nm.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ionescu et al. (US 2020/0194592 A1; hereinafter “Ionescu”).
Regarding claim 14, Ionescu does not specifically teach the biochip according to claim 1, wherein the biochip comprises a plurality of mutually separated coupling surfaces of different coupling arrangements of the biochip.
However, the mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.04). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the biochip comprises a plurality of mutually separated coupling surfaces of different coupling arrangements of the biochip.
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ionescu et al. (US 2020/0194592 A1; hereinafter “Ionescu”) in view of Wu et al. (US 2006/0240575 A1; hereinafter “Wu”).
Regarding claim 16, Ionescu does not specifically teach an implant comprising a biochip comprising at least one coupling arrangement for electrical stimulation of biological material or for electrical measurement on the biological material, wherein the biochip is a biochip according to claim 1.
However, Wu teaches a related biochip sensor implant apparatus providing a biran-machine interface suitable for electrical stimulation of biological material or for electrical measurement on biological material as claimed (paragraphs 58 and 81; figure 4). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein an implant comprising a biochip comprising at least one coupling arrangement for electrical stimulation of biological material or for electrical measurement on the biological material, wherein the biochip is a biochip according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, Ionescu does not specifically teach implant according to claim 16, wherein the implant is a retinal implant, a cochlear implant, an implant for deep brain stimulation and/or an implant for providing a brain-machine interface.
Wu teaches a related biochip sensor implant apparatus providing a brain-machine interface suitable for electrical stimulation of biological material or for electrical measurement on biological material as claimed (paragraphs 58 and 81; figure 4). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the implant is a retinal implant, or an implant for deep brain stimulation and/or an implant for providing a brain-machine interface.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ionescu et al. (US 2020/0194592 A1; hereinafter “Ionescu”) and Wu et al. (US 2006/0240575 A1; hereinafter “Wu”), and further in view of Chen et al. (ref. no. 17 on IDS filed 6/5/2023 by Applicant; hereinafter “Chen”).
Regarding claim 18, modified Ionescu does not specifically teach the implant according to claim 16, wherein the implant comprises a semiconductor chip separate from the biochip, wherein a terminal of the semiconductor chip is electrically connected via a conductor track to an electrode layer adjacent to the layer surface and the conductor track and the biochip are arranged on a common substrate.
Chen teach a related sensing electrode array having the recited configuration (figure 3a). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the implant comprises a semiconductor chip separate from the biochip, wherein a terminal of the semiconductor chip is electrically connected via a conductor track to an electrode layer adjacent to the layer surface and the conductor track and the biochip are arranged on a common substrate.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ionescu et al. (US 2020/0194592 A1; hereinafter “Ionescu”) in view of Chen et al. (ref. no. 18 on the IDS filed 6/5/2023 by Applicant; hereinafter “Chen 2016”) or Becker et al. (ref. no. 16 in the IDS filed 6/5/2023; hereinafter “Becker”).
Regarding claim 20, Ionescu does not specifically teach the assembly according to claim 19, wherein the assembly comprises at least one biological neuron and at least one artificial neuron.
However, Both Chen 2016 (figure 5) and Becker (figure 1) teach pertinent apparatus structure wherein an assembly structure comprises at least one biological neuron and at least one artificial neuron. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the assembly comprises at least one biological neuron and at least one artificial neuron.
Conclusion
BRIAN J. SINES
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1796
/BRIAN J. SINES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796