Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. The instant application claims priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/349,454, filed June 6, 2022. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Provisional Application No. 63/349,454, hereafter the provisional application, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for claims 9,17, and 23 of this application, which recite “…wherein the computing model includes a large language model”. The prior-filed application fails to mention any application of large language models in its specification. Thus, claims 9, 17, and 23 for this application, which recite “…wherein the computing model includes a large language model.”, are not provided adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph.
Therefore, the effective filing date for claims 9, 17, and 23 of the instant application is the filing date of the instant, non-provisional application, 06/05/2023. Examiner will consider if the provisional application supports each of the other claims if a rejection would need to rely upon an intervening reference between the actual filing date of the instant application, 06/05/2023 and the 06/06/2023 filing of the provisional application.
Each claim will receive benefit of the earliest filing date above for which a continuous chain of support can be established for the entirety of the claim. As discussed above, the effective filing date for at least claims 9, 17, and 23 of the instant application is the filing date of the instant, non-provisional application, 06/05/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The analysis of the claims will follow the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidelines (“2019 PEG”).
Step 1: Independent claim 1 (A method for sensor cueing…), and 18 (A method for sensor cueing…) are directed towards a method. Independent claim 10 (A system for sensor cueing…) is directed towards a system. Therefore, these claims, as well as their dependent claims, are directed towards one of the four statutory categories (process, machine(system), manufacture, or composition of matter).
Claim 1
Step 2A, Prong 1: The claim recites, inter alia:
generating a sensor command based at least in part upon the model inference, the sensor command comprising one or more object parameters associated with the target object and one or more sensor parameters associated with a sensor;
This limitation recites a mental process using evaluation, judgement, and opinion, with aid of pen and paper to think of a command based on the model inference and relating to object and sensor parameters;
Step 2A, Prong 2: The additional element(s) recited in the claim do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Additional element(s):
A method for sensor cueing, the method comprising:
This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and recites use of a generic algorithm to apply the abstract idea. Mere recitation that a judicial exception is to be performed using a generic algorithm in their ordinary capacity cannot meaningfully integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f);
receiving a model inference from a computing model using a first set of sensor data, the model inference associated with a target object;
This limitation represents an insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data gathering performed by a generic computing system. See MPEP 2106.05(g);
transmitting the sensor command to the sensor via a sensor API;
This limitation represents an insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data gathering performed by a generic computing system. See MPEP 2106.05(g);
wherein the method is performed using one or more processors.
This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and recites use of generic computer equipment to perform the abstract idea limitations. Mere recitation that a judicial exception is to be performed using generic computer equipment in their ordinary capacity cannot meaningfully integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f);
Step 2B: The claim does not include any additional element(s) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional element(s):
A method for sensor cueing, the method comprising:
This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and recites use of a generic algorithm to apply the abstract idea. Mere recitation that a judicial exception is to be performed using a generic algorithm in their ordinary capacity cannot meaningfully integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f);
receiving a model inference from a computing model using a first set of sensor data, the model inference associated with a target object;
MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv) indicates that merely storing and retrieving information in memory is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim);
transmitting the sensor command to the sensor via a sensor API;
MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i) indicates that merely receiving or transmitting data over a network is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim);
wherein the method is performed using one or more processors.
This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and recites use of generic computer equipment to perform the abstract idea limitations. Mere recitation that a judicial exception is to be performed using generic computer equipment in their ordinary capacity cannot meaningfully integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f);
Claim 2
Step 2A, Prong 1: This claim does not recite any additional abstract ideas
Step 2A, Prong 2: The additional element(s) recited in the claim do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Additional element(s):
transmitting the model inference to a user device; and
This limitation represents an insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data gathering performed by a generic computing system. See MPEP 2106.05(g);
receiving a user input from the user device;
This limitation represents an insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data gathering performed by a generic computing system. See MPEP 2106.05(g);
wherein the sensor command is generated based at least in part upon the model inference and the user input
This limitation represents an insignificant extra-solution activity of selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated performed by a generic computing system. See MPEP 2106.05(g);
Step 2B: The claim does not include any additional element(s) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional element(s):
transmitting the model inference to a user device; and
MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i) indicates that merely receiving or transmitting data over a network is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim);
receiving a user input from the user device;
MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv) indicates that merely storing and retrieving information in memory is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim);
wherein the sensor command is generated based at least in part upon the model inference and the user input
MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv) indicates that merely storing and retrieving information in memory is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim);
Claim 3
Step 2A, Prong 1: The claim recites, inter alia:
wherein the sensor is configured to change a sensor configuration,
This limitation recites a mental process using evaluation, judgement, and opinion, with aid of pen and paper to decide on a change of parameters for the sensor
Step 2A, Prong 2: The additional element(s) recited in the claim do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Additional element(s):
wherein the sensor configuration is associated with or is in accordance with the sensor parameter in the sensor command
This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and recites use of a generic element to apply the abstract idea to. Mere recitation that a judicial exception is to be performed on a generic element in their ordinary capacity cannot meaningfully integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f);
Step 2B: The claim does not include any additional element(s) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional element(s):
wherein the sensor configuration is associated with or is in accordance with the sensor parameter in the sensor command
This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and recites use of a generic element to apply the abstract idea to. Mere recitation that a judicial exception is to be performed on a generic element in their ordinary capacity cannot meaningfully integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f);
Claim 4
Step 2A, Prong 1: The claim recites, inter alia:
wherein the sensor is configured to change the one or more sensor parameters based upon the sensor command
This limitation recites a mental process using evaluation, judgement, and opinion, with aid of pen and paper to decide on changes for parameters of the sensor based on the sensor command
Step 2A, Prong 2: There are no additional elements recited in this claim
Step 2B: There are no additional elements recited in this claim
Claim 5
Step 2A, Prong 1: This claim does not recite any additional abstract ideas
Step 2A, Prong 2: The additional element(s) recited in the claim do not integrate the
judicial exception into a practical application.
Additional element(s):
wherein the one or more sensor parameters include a target area in which the sensor is configured to gather the first set of sensor data, and the sensor is configured to decrease or increase the target area based upon the sensor command
This limitation represents an insignificant extra-solution activity of selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated performed by a generic computing system. See MPEP 2106.05(g);
Step 2B: The claim does not include any additional element(s) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional element(s):
wherein the one or more sensor parameters include a target area in which the sensor is configured to gather the first set of sensor data, and the sensor is configured to decrease or increase the target area based upon the sensor command
MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv) indicates that merely storing and retrieving information in memory is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim);
Claim 6
Step 2A, Prong 1: This claim does not recite any additional abstract ideas
Step 2A, Prong 2: The additional element(s) recited in the claim do not integrate the
judicial exception into a practical application.
Additional element(s):
receiving a second set of sensor data collected by the sensor after the sensor changes the one or more sensor parameters based upon the sensor command.
This limitation represents an insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data gathering performed by a generic computing system. See MPEP 2106.05(g);
Step 2B: The claim does not include any additional element(s) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional element(s):
receiving a second set of sensor data collected by the sensor after the sensor changes the one or more sensor parameters based upon the sensor command.
MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv) indicates that merely storing and retrieving information in memory is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim);
Claim 7
Step 2A, Prong 1: The claim recites, inter alia:
a command instructing an edge device associated with the sensor to follow one or more movements of the target object;
This limitation recites a mental process using evaluation, judgement, and opinion, with aid of pen and paper to give an instruction to follow the movements of an object to an edge device
a command instructing the sensor to follow the one or more movements of the target object; and
This limitation recites a mental process using evaluation, judgement, and opinion, with aid of pen and paper to give an instruction to follow the movements of an object to a sensor
a command instructing the edge device to move closer to the target object.
This limitation recites a mental process using evaluation, judgement, and opinion, with aid of pen and paper to give an instruction to move closer to an object to an edge device
Step 2A, Prong 2: The additional element(s) recited in the claim do not integrate the
judicial exception into a practical application.
Additional element(s):
wherein the sensor command includes at least one action command selected from a group consisting of:
This limitation represents an insignificant extra-solution activity of selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated performed by a generic computing system. See MPEP 2106.05(g);
Step 2B: The claim does not include any additional element(s) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional element(s):
wherein the sensor command includes at least one action command selected from a group consisting of:
MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i) indicates that merely receiving or transmitting data over a network is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim);
Claim 8
Step 2A, Prong 1: This claim does not recite any additional abstract ideas
Step 2A, Prong 2: The additional element(s) recited in the claim do not integrate the
judicial exception into a practical application.
Additional element(s):
wherein the sensor is an image sensor, and the one or more sensor parameters include at least one selected from a group consisting of a zooming parameter, a resolution parameter, a frame rate parameter, a gain parameter, a binning parameter, and an image format parameter
This limitation represents an insignificant extra-solution activity of selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated performed by a generic computing system. See MPEP 2106.05(g);
Step 2B: The claim does not include any additional element(s) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
wherein the sensor is an image sensor, and the one or more sensor parameters include at least one selected from a group consisting of a zooming parameter, a resolution parameter, a frame rate parameter, a gain parameter, a binning parameter, and an image format parameter
MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv) indicates that merely storing and retrieving information in memory is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim);
Claim 9
Step 2A, Prong 1: This claim does not recite any additional abstract ideas
Step 2A, Prong 2: The additional element(s) recited in the claim do not integrate the
judicial exception into a practical application.
Additional element(s):
wherein the computing model includes a large language model.
This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and recites use of generic class of computing model to perform the abstract idea limitations. Mere recitation that a judicial exception is to be performed using generic computing model in their ordinary capacity cannot meaningfully integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f);
Step 2B: The claim does not include any additional element(s) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional element(s):
wherein the computing model includes a large language model.
This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and recites use of generic class of computing model to perform the abstract idea limitations. Mere recitation that a judicial exception is to be performed using generic computing model in their ordinary capacity cannot meaningfully integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f);
Claim 10
Step 2A, Prong 1: The claim recites, inter alia:
generating, by the one or more processors, a sensor command based at least in part upon the model inference, the sensor command comprising one or more object parameters associated with the target object and one or more sensor parameters associated with a sensor;
This limitation recites a mental process using evaluation, judgement, and opinion, with aid of pen and paper to think of a command based on the model inference and relating to object and sensor parameters;
Step 2A, Prong 2: The additional element(s) recited in the claim do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Additional element(s):
A system for sensor cueing, the system comprising: one or more memories comprising instructions stored thereon; and
This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and recites use of generic computer equipment to perform the abstract idea limitations. Mere recitation that a judicial exception is to be performed using generic computer equipment in their ordinary capacity cannot meaningfully integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f);
one or more processors configured to execute the instructions and perform operations comprising:
This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and recites use of generic computer equipment to perform the abstract idea limitations. Mere recitation that a judicial exception is to be performed using generic computer equipment in their ordinary capacity cannot meaningfully integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f);
receiving a model inference from a computing model using a first set of sensor data, the model inference associated with a target object;
This limitation represents an insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data gathering performed by a generic computing system. See MPEP 2106.05(g);
transmitting the sensor command to the sensor via a sensor API;
This limitation represents an insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data gathering performed by a generic computing system. See MPEP 2106.05(g);
Step 2B: The claim does not include any additional element(s) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional element(s):
A system for sensor cueing, the system comprising: one or more memories comprising instructions stored thereon; and
This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and recites use of a generic algorithm to apply the abstract idea. Mere recitation that a judicial exception is to be performed using a generic algorithm in their ordinary capacity cannot meaningfully integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f);
one or more processors configured to execute the instructions and perform operations comprising:
This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and recites use of generic computer equipment to perform the abstract idea limitations. Mere recitation that a judicial exception is to be performed using generic computer equipment in their ordinary capacity cannot meaningfully integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f);
receiving a model inference from a computing model using a first set of sensor data, the model inference associated with a target object;
MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv) indicates that merely storing and retrieving information in memory is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim);
transmitting the sensor command to the sensor via a sensor API;
MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i) indicates that merely receiving or transmitting data over a network is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim);
Claim 11
Step 2A, Prong 1: This claim does not recite any additional abstract ideas
Step 2A, Prong 2: The additional element(s) recited in the claim do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Additional element(s):
transmitting the model inference to a user device; and
This limitation represents an insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data gathering performed by a generic computing system. See MPEP 2106.05(g);
receiving a user input from the user device;
This limitation represents an insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data gathering performed by a generic computing system. See MPEP 2106.05(g);
wherein the generating, by the one or more processors, a sensor command based at least in part upon the model inference comprises generating the sensor command based at least in part upon the model inference and the user input.
This limitation represents an insignificant extra-solution activity of selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated performed by a generic computing system. See MPEP 2106.05(g);
Step 2B: The claim does not include any additional element(s) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional element(s):
transmitting the model inference to a user device; and
MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i) indicates that merely receiving or transmitting data over a network is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim);
receiving a user input from the user device;
MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv) indicates that merely storing and retrieving information in memory is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim);
wherein the generating, by the one or more processors, a sensor command based at least in part upon the model inference comprises generating the sensor command based at least in part upon the model inference and the user input.
MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv) indicates that merely storing and retrieving information in memory is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim);
Claim 12
Step 2A, Prong 1: The claim recites, inter alia:
wherein the sensor is configured to change a sensor configuration,
This limitation recites a mental process using evaluation, judgement, and opinion, with aid of pen and paper to decide a change of parameters for the sensor
Step 2A, Prong 2: The additional element(s) recited in the claim do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Additional element(s):
wherein the sensor configuration is associated with or is in accordance with the sensor parameter in the sensor command
This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and recites use of a generic element to apply the abstract idea to. Mere recitation that a judicial exception is to be performed on a generic element in their ordinary capacity cannot meaningfully integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f);
Step 2B: The claim does not include any additional element(s) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional element(s):
wherein the sensor configuration is associated with or is in accordance with the sensor parameter in the sensor command
This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and recites use of a generic element to apply the abstract idea to. Mere recitation that a judicial exception is to be performed on a generic element in their ordinary capacity cannot meaningfully integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f);
Claim 13
Step 2A, Prong 1: The claim recites, inter alia:
wherein the sensor is configured to change the one or more sensor parameters based upon the sensor command
This limitation recites a mental process using evaluation, judgement, and opinion, with aid of pen and paper to decide changes for parameters of the sensor based on the sensor command
Step 2A, Prong 2: There are no additional elements recited in this claim
Step 2B: There are no additional elements recited in this claim
Claim 14
Step 2A, Prong 1: This claim does not recite any additional abstract ideas
Step 2A, Prong 2: The additional element(s) recited in the claim do not integrate the
judicial exception into a practical application.
Additional element(s):
wherein the one or more sensor parameters include a target area in which the sensor is configured to gather the first set of sensor data, and the sensor is configured to decrease or increase the target area based upon the sensor command
This limitation represents an insignificant extra-solution activity of selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated performed by a generic computing system. See MPEP 2106.05(g);
Step 2B: The claim does not include any additional element(s) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional element(s):
wherein the one or more sensor parameters include a target area in which the sensor is configured to gather the first set of sensor data, and the sensor is configured to decrease or increase the target area based upon the sensor command
MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv) indicates that merely storing and retrieving information in memory is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim);
Claim 15
Step 2A, Prong 1: This claim does not recite any additional abstract ideas
Step 2A, Prong 2: The additional element(s) recited in the claim do not integrate the
judicial exception into a practical application.
Additional element(s):
receiving a second set of sensor data collected by the sensor after the sensor changes the one or more sensor parameters based upon the sensor command.
This limitation represents an insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data gathering performed by a generic computing system. See MPEP 2106.05(g);
Step 2B: The claim does not include any additional element(s) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional element(s):
receiving a second set of sensor data collected by the sensor after the sensor changes the one or more sensor parameters based upon the sensor command.
MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv) indicates that merely storing and retrieving information in memory is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim);
Claim 16
Step 2A, Prong 1: The claim recites, inter alia:
a command instructing an edge device associated with the sensor to follow one or more movements of the target object;
This limitation recites a mental process using evaluation, judgement, and opinion, with aid of pen and paper to give an instruction to follow the movements of an object to an edge device
a command instructing the sensor to follow the one or more movements of the target object; and
This limitation recites a mental process using evaluation, judgement, and opinion, with aid of pen and paper to give an instruction to follow the movements of an object to a sensor
a command instructing the edge device to move closer to the target object.
This limitation recites a mental process using evaluation, judgement, and opinion, with aid of pen and paper to give an instruction to move closer to an object to an edge device
Step 2A, Prong 2: The additional element(s) recited in the claim do not integrate the
judicial exception into a practical application.
Additional element(s):
wherein the sensor command includes at least one action command selected from a group consisting of:
This limitation represents an insignificant extra-solution activity of selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated performed by a generic computing system. See MPEP 2106.05(g);
Step 2B: The claim does not include any additional element(s) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional element(s):
wherein the sensor command includes at least one action command selected from a group consisting of:
MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i) indicates that merely receiving or transmitting data over a network is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim);
Claim 17
Step 2A, Prong 1: This claim does not recite any additional abstract ideas
Step 2A, Prong 2: The additional element(s) recited in the claim do not integrate the
judicial exception into a practical application.
Additional element(s):
wherein the computing model includes a large language model.
This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and recites use of generic class of computing model to perform the abstract idea limitations. Mere recitation that a judicial exception is to be performed using generic computing model in their ordinary capacity cannot meaningfully integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f);
Step 2B: The claim does not include any additional element(s) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional element(s):
wherein the computing model includes a large language model.
This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and recites use of generic class of computing model to perform the abstract idea limitations. Mere recitation that a judicial exception is to be performed using generic computing model in their ordinary capacity cannot meaningfully integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f);
Claim 18
Step 2A, Prong 1: The claim recites, inter alia:
generating a sensor command based at least in part upon the model inference and the user input, the sensor command comprising one or more object parameters associated with the target object, and one or more sensor parameters associated with a sensor;
This limitation recites a mental process using evaluation, judgement, and opinion, with aid of pen and paper to think of a command based on the model inference and user input, and relating to object and sensor parameters;
Step 2A, Prong 2: The additional element(s) recited in the claim do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Additional element(s):
A method for sensor cueing, the method comprising:
This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and recites use of a generic algorithm to apply the abstract idea. Mere recitation that a judicial exception is to be performed using a generic algorithm in their ordinary capacity cannot meaningfully integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f);
receiving a model inference from a computing model using a first set of sensor data, the model inference associated with a target object and a target area associated with the target object;
This limitation represents an insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data gathering performed by a generic computing system. See MPEP 2106.05(g);
transmitting the model inference to a user device;
This limitation represents an insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data gathering performed by a generic computing system. See MPEP 2106.05(g);
receiving, from the user device, a user input comprising an identification of the target object or the target area;
This limitation represents an insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data gathering performed by a generic computing system. See MPEP 2106.05(g);
transmitting the sensor command to the sensor via a sensor API;
This limitation represents an insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data gathering performed by a generic computing system. See MPEP 2106.05(g);
wherein the method is performed using one or more processors.
This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and recites use of generic computer equipment to perform the abstract idea limitations. Mere recitation that a judicial exception is to be performed using generic computer equipment in their ordinary capacity cannot meaningfully integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f);
Step 2B: The claim does not include any additional element(s) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional element(s):
A method for sensor cueing, the method comprising:
This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and recites use of a generic algorithm to apply the abstract idea. Mere recitation that a judicial exception is to be performed using a generic algorithm in their ordinary capacity cannot meaningfully integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f);
receiving a model inference from a computing model using a first set of sensor data, the model inference associated with a target object and a target area associated with the target object;
MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv) indicates that merely storing and retrieving information in memory is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim);
transmitting the model inference to a user device;
MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i) indicates that merely receiving or transmitting data over a network is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim);
receiving, from the user device, a user input comprising an identification of the target object or the target area;
MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv) indicates that merely storing and retrieving information in memory is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim);
transmitting the sensor command to the sensor via a sensor API;
MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i) indicates that merely receiving or transmitting data over a network is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim);
wherein the method is performed using one or more processors.
This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and recites use of generic computer equipment to perform the abstract idea limitations. Mere recitation that a judicial exception is to be performed using generic computer equipment in their ordinary capacity cannot meaningfully integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f);
Claim 19
Step 2A, Prong 1: The claim recites, inter alia:
wherein the sensor is configured to change the one or more sensor parameters based upon the sensor command
This limitation recites a mental process using evaluation, judgement, and opinion, with aid of pen and paper to decide changes for parameters of the sensor based on the sensor command
Step 2A, Prong 2: There are no additional elements recited in this claim
Step 2B: There are no additional elements recited in this claim
Claim 20
Step 2A, Prong 1: This claim does not recite any additional abstract ideas
Step 2A, Prong 2: The additional element(s) recited in the claim do not integrate the
judicial exception into a practical application.
Additional element(s):
wherein the one or more sensor parameters include the target area received in the user input, and the sensor is configured to decrease or increase the target area based upon the sensor command
This limitation represents an insignificant extra-solution activity of selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated performed by a generic computing system. See MPEP 2106.05(g);
Step 2B: The claim does not include any additional element(s) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional element(s):
wherein the one or more sensor parameters include the target area received in the user input, and the sensor is configured to decrease or increase the target area based upon the sensor command
MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv) indicates that merely storing and retrieving information in memory is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim);
Claim 21
Step 2A, Prong 1: This claim does not recite any additional abstract ideas
Step 2A, Prong 2: The additional element(s) recited in the claim do not integrate the
judicial exception into a practical application.
Additional element(s):
receiving a second set of sensor data collected by the sensor after the sensor changes the one or more sensor parameters based upon the sensor command.
This limitation represents an insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data gathering performed by a generic computing system. See MPEP 2106.05(g);
Step 2B: The claim does not include any additional element(s) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional element(s):
receiving a second set of sensor data collected by the sensor after the sensor changes the one or more sensor parameters based upon the sensor command.
MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv) indicates that merely storing and retrieving information in memory is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim);
Claim 22
Step 2A, Prong 1: The claim recites, inter alia:
a command instructing an edge device associated with the sensor to follow one or more movements of the target object;
This limitation recites a mental process using evaluation, judgement, and opinion, with aid of pen and paper to give an instruction to follow the movements of an object to an edge device
a command instructing the sensor to follow the one or more movements of the target object; and
This limitation recites a mental process using evaluation, judgement, and opinion, with aid of pen and paper to give an instruction to follow the movements of an object to a sensor
a command instructing the edge device to move closer to the target object.
This limitation recites a mental process using evaluation, judgement, and opinion, with aid of pen and paper to give an instruction to move closer to an object to an edge device
Step 2A, Prong 2: The additional element(s) recited in the claim do not integrate the
judicial exception into a practical application.
Additional element(s):
wherein the sensor command includes at least one action command selected from a group consisting of:
This limitation represents an insignificant extra-solution activity of selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated performed by a generic computing system. See MPEP 2106.05(g);
Step 2B: The claim does not include any additional element(s) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional element(s):
wherein the sensor command includes at least one action command selected from a group consisting of:
MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i) indicates that merely receiving or transmitting data over a network is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim);
Claim 23
Step 2A, Prong 1: This claim does not recite any additional abstract ideas
Step 2A, Prong 2: The additional element(s) recited in the claim do not integrate the
judicial exception into a practical application.
Additional element(s):
wherein the computing model includes a large language model.
This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and recites use of generic class of computing model to perform the abstract idea limitations. Mere recitation that a judicial exception is to be performed using generic computing model in their ordinary capacity cannot meaningfully integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f);
Step 2B: The claim does not include any additional element(s) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional element(s):
wherein the computing model includes a large language model.
This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and recites use of generic class of computing model to perform the abstract idea limitations. Mere recitation that a judicial exception is to be performed using generic computing model in their ordinary capacity cannot meaningfully integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f);
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-16, and 18-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20190179317 A1 by Englard et al. hereafter Englard.
Regarding claim 1, Englard teaches:
A method for sensor cueing, the method comprising:
receiving a model inference from a computing model using a first set of sensor data, the model inference associated with a target object; (Fig. 1; Paragraph [0056], “The sensor control architecture 100 also includes a prediction component 120, which processes the perception signals 106 to generate prediction signals 122 descriptive of one or more predicted future states of the vehicle's environment. For a given object, for example, the prediction component 120 may analyze the type/class of the object (as determined by the classification module 112) along with the recent tracked movement of the object (as determined by the tracking module 114) to predict one or more future positions of the object.” The perception signals are a first set of sensor data. Analyzing the type/class of an object means the prediction component and the prediction signal generated by it are associated with the object. Fig. 1 shows the sensor control component receiving the prediction signal.)
generating a sensor command based at least in part upon the model inference, the sensor command comprising one or more object parameters associated with the target object and one or more sensor parameters associated with a sensor; and (Paragraph [0058], “The perception signals 106 and (in some embodiments) prediction signals 122 are input to a sensor control component 130, which processes the signals 106, 122 to generate sensor control signals 132 that control one or more parameters of at least one of the sensors 102 (including at least a parameter of “Sensor 1”). In particular, the sensor control component 130 attempts to direct the focus of one or more of the sensors 102 based on the presence, positions, and/or types of “dynamic” objects within the vehicle's environment.” The sensor control signals are sensor commands. Prediction signals are model inferences.)
transmitting the sensor command to the sensor via a sensor API; (Fig. 1; Paragraph [0058], “The perception signals 106 and (in some embodiments) prediction signals 122 are input to a sensor control component 130, which processes the signals 106, 122 to generate sensor control signals 132 that control one or more parameters of at least one of the sensors 102 (including at least a parameter of “Sensor 1”).” The sensor control component is a sensor API. Sensor control signals are sensor commands. Fig. 1 shows the sensor control signals being transmitted from the sensor control component to the signals.)
wherein the method is performed using one or more processors. (Paragraph [0174], “The computing system 800 includes one or more processors 802, and a memory 804 storing instructions 806”)
Regarding claim 2, Englard teaches the material disclosed in claim 1, and additionally teaches:
transmitting the model inference to a user device; and (Fig. 1; Paragraph [0049], “As seen in FIG. 1, the vehicle includes N different sensors 102” The vehicle is a user device. The model inference is the prediction signal 122 and is shown in Fig. 1 being transmitted to the sensor control component that transmits it to the sensors which are part of the user device (vehicle).)
receiving a user input from the user device; (Paragraph [0050], “The data generated by the sensors 102 is input to a perception component 104 of the sensor control architecture 100, and is processed by the perception component 104 to generate perception signals 106 descriptive of a current state of the vehicle's environment.” The perception signals are a user input. In Fig. 1, the user input (perception signals 106) are shown being received by the sensor control component.)
wherein the sensor command is generated based at least in part upon the model inference and the user input. (Paragraph [0058], “The perception signals 106 and (in some embodiments) prediction signals 122 are input to a sensor control component 130”)
Regarding claim 3, Englard teaches the material disclosed in claim 1, and additionally teaches:
wherein the sensor is configured to change a sensor configuration, wherein the sensor configuration is associated with or is in accordance with the sensor parameter in the sensor command. (Paragraph [0061], “The parameter adjustment module 136 determines the setting for parameter(s) of the controlled sensor(s) (among sensors 102) based on the dynamic objects detected by the dynamic object detector 134. In particular, the parameter adjustment module 136 determines values of one or more parameters that set the area of focus of the controlled sensor(s).” The setting for parameters of the controlled sensors is a sensor configuration.)
Regarding claim 4, Englard teaches the material disclosed in claim 1, and additionally teaches:
wherein the sensor is configured to change the one or more sensor parameters based upon the sensor command. (Paragraph [0061], “The parameter adjustment module 136 determines the setting for parameter(s) of the controlled sensor(s) (among sensors 102) based on the dynamic objects detected by the dynamic object detector 134. In particular, the parameter adjustment module 136 determines values of one or more parameters that set the area of focus of the controlled sensor(s).”)
Regarding claim 5, Englard teaches the material disclosed in claim 4, and additionally teaches:
wherein the one or more sensor parameters include a target area in which the sensor is configured to gather the first set of sensor data, and the sensor is configured to decrease or increase the target area based upon the sensor command. (Paragraph [0062], “For example, the parameter adjustment module 136 may set lidar device parameters such that the field of regard of the lidar device is centered on the current position of a dynamic object, and possibly also “zoomed in” on that object (e.g., by reducing the horizontal and vertical field of regard without necessarily reducing the number of points in each point cloud frame)” The field of regard is a target area. The parameter adjustment module reducing the horizontal and vertical field of regard is decreasing the target area based upon the sensor command.)
Regarding claim 6, Englard teaches the material disclosed in claim 4, and additionally teaches:
receiving a second set of sensor data collected by the sensor after the sensor changes the one or more sensor parameters based upon the sensor command. (Fig. 1, Fig. 1 shows that the sensor command (sensor control signal 132), which cause the sensor to change one or more sensor parameters, loops to the sensors, resulting in a loop that a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize causes the perception component to receive a second set of sensor data collected by the sensor.)
Regarding claim 7, Englard teaches the material disclosed in claim 1, and additionally teaches:
wherein the sensor command includes at least one action command selected from a group consisting of:
a command instructing an edge device associated with the sensor to follow one or more movements of the target object;
a command instructing the sensor to follow the one or more movements of the target object; and
a command instructing the edge device to move closer to the target object. (Fig. 1; Paragraph [0054], “The tracking module 114 is generally configured to track distinct objects over time”; Paragraph [0060], “In effect, in some embodiments, this may be viewed as the dynamic object detector 134 implementing a more simplistic version of the functionality of segmentation module 110, classification module 112, and/or tracking module 114” Tracking objects is following the movements of the objects. Dynamic object detector 134 is a part of the sensor control component which outputs commands. Thus, the sensor control component includes an action command of a command instructing the sensor to follow the one or more movements of the target object.)
Regarding claim 8, Englard teaches the material disclosed in claim 1, and additionally teaches:
wherein the sensor is an image sensor, and the one or more sensor parameters include at least one selected from a group consisting of a zooming parameter, a resolution parameter, a frame rate parameter, a gain parameter, a binning parameter, and an image format parameter. (Paragraph [0035], “The sensors may be any type or types of sensors capable of sensing an environment through which the vehicle is moving, such as lidar, radar, cameras, and/or other types of sensors.”; Paragraph [0062], “For example, the parameter adjustment module 136 may set lidar device parameters such that the field of regard of the lidar device is centered on the current position of a dynamic object, and possibly also “zoomed in” on that object”; Paragraph [0061], “For example, the parameter adjustment module 136 may control the frame/refresh rate of the sensor, the resolution (e.g., number of points per point cloud frame) of the sensor” Cameras are image sensors. )
Regarding claim 10, Englard teaches:
A system for sensor cueing, the system comprising:
one or more memories comprising instructions stored thereon; and
one or more processors configured to execute the instructions and perform operations comprising: (Paragraph [0174], “The computing system 800 includes one or more processors 802, and a memory 804 storing instructions 806”)
receiving a model inference from a computing model using a first set of sensor data, the model inference associated with a target object; (Fig. 1; Paragraph [0056], “The sensor control architecture 100 also includes a prediction component 120, which processes the perception signals 106 to generate prediction signals 122 descriptive of one or more predicted future states of the vehicle's environment. For a given object, for example, the prediction component 120 may analyze the type/class of the object (as determined by the classification module 112) along with the recent tracked movement of the object (as determined by the tracking module 114) to predict one or more future positions of the object.” The perception signals are a first set of sensor data. Analyzing the type/class of an object means the prediction component and the prediction signal generated by it are associated with the object. Fig. 1 shows the sensor control component receiving the prediction signal.)
generating, by the one or more processors, a sensor command based at least in part upon the model inference, the sensor command comprising one or more object parameters associated with the target object and one or more sensor parameters associated with a sensor; and (Paragraph [0058], “The perception signals 106 and (in some embodiments) prediction signals 122 are input to a sensor control component 130, which processes the signals 106, 122 to generate sensor control signals 132 that control one or more parameters of at least one of the sensors 102 (including at least a parameter of “Sensor 1”). In particular, the sensor control component 130 attempts to direct the focus of one or more of the sensors 102 based on the presence, positions, and/or types of “dynamic” objects within the vehicle's environment.” The sensor control signals are sensor commands. Prediction signals are model inferences.)
transmitting the sensor command to the sensor via a sensor API; (Fig. 1; Paragraph [0058], “The perception signals 106 and (in some embodiments) prediction signals 122 are input to a sensor control component 130, which processes the signals 106, 122 to generate sensor control signals 132 that control one or more parameters of at least one of the sensors 102 (including at least a parameter of “Sensor 1”).” The sensor control component is a sensor API. Sensor control signals are sensor commands. Fig. 1 shows the sensor control signals being transmitted from the sensor control component to the signals.)
Regarding claim 11, Englard teaches the material disclosed in claim 10, and additionally teaches:
transmitting the model inference to a user device; and (Fig. 1; Paragraph [0049], “As seen in FIG. 1, the vehicle includes N different sensors 102” The vehicle is a user device. The model inference is the prediction signal 122 and is shown in Fig. 1 being transmitted to the sensor control component that transmits it to the sensors which are part of the user device (vehicle).)
receiving a user input from the user device; (Paragraph [0050], “The data generated by the sensors 102 is input to a perception component 104 of the sensor control architecture 100, and is processed by the perception component 104 to generate perception signals 106 descriptive of a current state of the vehicle's environment.” The perception signals are a user input. In Fig. 1, the user input (perception signals 106) are shown being received by the sensor control component.)
wherein the generating, by the one or more processors, a sensor command based at least in part upon the model inference comprises generating the sensor command based at least in part upon the model inference and the user input. (Paragraph [0058], “The perception signals 106 and (in some embodiments) prediction signals 122 are input to a sensor control component 130”)
Regarding claim 12, Englard teaches the material disclosed in claim 10, and additionally teaches:
wherein the sensor is configured to change a sensor configuration, wherein the sensor configuration is associated with or is in accordance with the sensor parameter in the sensor command. (Paragraph [0061], “The parameter adjustment module 136 determines the setting for parameter(s) of the controlled sensor(s) (among sensors 102) based on the dynamic objects detected by the dynamic object detector 134. In particular, the parameter adjustment module 136 determines values of one or more parameters that set the area of focus of the controlled sensor(s).” The setting for parameters of the controlled sensors is a sensor configuration.)
Regarding claim 13, Englard teaches the material disclosed in claim 10, and additionally teaches:
wherein the sensor is configured to change the one or more sensor parameters based upon the sensor command. (Paragraph [0061], “The parameter adjustment module 136 determines the setting for parameter(s) of the controlled sensor(s) (among sensors 102) based on the dynamic objects detected by the dynamic object detector 134. In particular, the parameter adjustment module 136 determines values of one or more parameters that set the area of focus of the controlled sensor(s).”)
Regarding claim 14, Englard teaches the material disclosed in claim 13, and additionally teaches:
wherein the one or more sensor parameters include a target area in which the sensor is configured to gather the first set of sensor data, and the sensor is configured to decrease or increase the target area based upon the sensor command. (Paragraph [0062], “For example, the parameter adjustment module 136 may set lidar device parameters such that the field of regard of the lidar device is centered on the current position of a dynamic object, and possibly also “zoomed in” on that object (e.g., by reducing the horizontal and vertical field of regard without necessarily reducing the number of points in each point cloud frame)” The field of regard is a target area. The parameter adjustment module reducing the horizontal and vertical field of regard is decreasing the target area based upon the sensor command.)
Regarding claim 15, Englard teaches the material disclosed in claim 13, and additionally teaches:
receiving a second set of sensor data collected by the sensor after the sensor changes the one or more sensor parameters based upon the sensor command. (Fig. 1, Fig. 1 shows that the sensor command (sensor control signal 132), which cause the sensor to change one or more sensor parameters, loops to the sensors, resulting in a loop that a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize causes the perception component to receive a second set of sensor data collected by the sensor.)
Regarding claim 16, Englard teaches the material disclosed in claim 10, and additionally teaches:
wherein the sensor command includes at least one action command selected from a group consisting of:
a command instructing an edge device associated with the sensor to follow one or more movements of the target object;
a command instructing the sensor to follow the one or more movements of the target object; and
a command instructing the edge device to move closer to the target object. (Fig. 1; Paragraph [0054], “The tracking module 114 is generally configured to track distinct objects over time”; Paragraph [0060], “In effect, in some embodiments, this may be viewed as the dynamic object detector 134 implementing a more simplistic version of the functionality of segmentation module 110, classification module 112, and/or tracking module 114” Tracking objects is following the movements of the objects. Dynamic object detector 134 is a part of the sensor control component which outputs commands. Thus, the sensor control component includes an action command of a command instructing the sensor to follow the one or more movements of the target object.)
Regarding claim 18, Englard teaches:
A method for sensor cueing, the method comprising:
receiving a model inference from a computing model using a first set of sensor data, the model inference associated with a target object and a target area associated with the target object; (Fig. 1; Paragraph [0056], “The sensor control architecture 100 also includes a prediction component 120, which processes the perception signals 106 to generate prediction signals 122 descriptive of one or more predicted future states of the vehicle's environment. For a given object, for example, the prediction component 120 may analyze the type/class of the object (as determined by the classification module 112) along with the recent tracked movement of the object (as determined by the tracking module 114) to predict one or more future positions of the object.”; Paragraph [0069], “For example, the sensor control component 130 may set the area of focus based at least in part on a metric indicating the uncertainty associated with the prediction signals 122, with the sensor control component 130 generally trying to set the area of focus to cover objects whose future movements cannot be confidently predicted.” The perception signals are a first set of sensor data. Analyzing the type/class of an object means the prediction component and the prediction signal generated by it are associated with the object. An area of focus to cover objects is a target area associated with the target object. Fig. 1 shows the sensor control component receiving the prediction signal.)
transmitting the model inference to a user device; and (Fig. 1; Paragraph [0049], “As seen in FIG. 1, the vehicle includes N different sensors 102” The vehicle is a user device. The model inference is the prediction signal 122 and is shown in Fig. 1 being transmitted to the sensor control component that transmits it to the sensors which are part of the user device (vehicle).)
receiving a user input from the user device; (Fig. 1; Paragraph [0050], “The data generated by the sensors 102 is input to a perception component 104 of the sensor control architecture 100, and is processed by the perception component 104 to generate perception signals 106 descriptive of a current state of the vehicle's environment.” The perception signals are a user input. Describing a current state of a vehicle’s environment is identifying the target objects. In Fig. 1, the user input (perception signals 106) are shown being received by the sensor control component.)
generating a sensor command based at least in part upon the model inference and the user input, the sensor command comprising one or more object parameters associated with the target object, and one or more sensor parameters associated with a sensor; and (Paragraph [0058], “The perception signals 106 and (in some embodiments) prediction signals 122 are input to a sensor control component 130, which processes the signals 106, 122 to generate sensor control signals 132 that control one or more parameters of at least one of the sensors 102 (including at least a parameter of “Sensor 1”). In particular, the sensor control component 130 attempts to direct the focus of one or more of the sensors 102 based on the presence, positions, and/or types of “dynamic” objects within the vehicle's environment.” The sensor control signals are sensor commands. Prediction signals are model inferences.)
transmitting the sensor command to the sensor via a sensor API; (Fig. 1; Paragraph [0058], “The perception signals 106 and (in some embodiments) prediction signals 122 are input to a sensor control component 130, which processes the signals 106, 122 to generate sensor control signals 132 that control one or more parameters of at least one of the sensors 102 (including at least a parameter of “Sensor 1”).” The sensor control component is a sensor API. Sensor control signals are sensor commands. Fig. 1 shows the sensor control signals being transmitted from the sensor control component to the signals.)
wherein the method is performed using one or more processors. (Paragraph [0174], “The computing system 800 includes one or more processors 802, and a memory 804 storing instructions 806”)
Regarding claim 19, Englard teaches the material disclosed in claim 18, and additionally teaches:
wherein the sensor is configured to change the one or more sensor parameters based upon the sensor command. (Paragraph [0061], “The parameter adjustment module 136 determines the setting for parameter(s) of the controlled sensor(s) (among sensors 102) based on the dynamic objects detected by the dynamic object detector 134. In particular, the parameter adjustment module 136 determines values of one or more parameters that set the area of focus of the controlled sensor(s).”)
Regarding claim 20, Englard teaches the material disclosed in claim 19, and additionally teaches:
wherein the one or more sensor parameters include the target area received in the user input, and the sensor is configured to decrease or increase the target area based upon the sensor command. (Paragraph [0062], “For example, the parameter adjustment module 136 may set lidar device parameters such that the field of regard of the lidar device is centered on the current position of a dynamic object, and possibly also “zoomed in” on that object (e.g., by reducing the horizontal and vertical field of regard without necessarily reducing the number of points in each point cloud frame)” The field of regard is a target area. The parameter adjustment module reducing the horizontal and vertical field of regard is decreasing the target area based upon the sensor command.)
Regarding claim 22, Englard teaches the material disclosed in claim 19, and additionally teaches:
receiving a second set of sensor data collected by the sensor after the sensor changes the one or more sensor parameters based upon the sensor command. (Fig. 1, Fig. 1 shows that the sensor command (sensor control signal 132), which cause the sensor to change one or more sensor parameters, loops to the sensors, resulting in a loop that a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize causes the perception component to receive a second set of sensor data collected by the sensor.)
Regarding claim 7, Englard teaches the material disclosed in claim 18, and additionally teaches:
wherein the sensor command includes at least one action command selected from a group consisting of:
a command instructing an edge device associated with the sensor to follow one or more movements of the target object;
a command instructing the sensor to follow the one or more movements of the target object; and
a command instructing the edge device to move closer to the target object. (Fig. 1; Paragraph [0054], “The tracking module 114 is generally configured to track distinct objects over time”; Paragraph [0060], “In effect, in some embodiments, this may be viewed as the dynamic object detector 134 implementing a more simplistic version of the functionality of segmentation module 110, classification module 112, and/or tracking module 114” Tracking objects is following the movements of the objects. Dynamic object detector 134 is a part of the sensor control component which outputs commands. Thus, the sensor control component includes an action command of a command instructing the sensor to follow the one or more movements of the target object.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 17, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Englard, in view of US 20230344705 A1 by Amini et al., hereafter Amini.
Regarding claim 9, Englard teaches the material disclosed in claim 1.
Englard does not explicitly disclose, but together with Amini does teach:
wherein the computing model includes a large language model. ((Amini) Paragraph [0261], “In some embodiments, ML system 1900 is a generative artificial intelligence or generative AI system capable of generating text, images, or other media in response to prompts. Generative AI systems use generative models such as large language models to produce data based on the training data set that was used to create them.”)
Amini and Englard are in the same area of invention, that being adjustment of parameters including of sensor parameters.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the large language model, as disclosed in Amini, with the computing model as disclosed in Englard in order to generate captions for images to make it easier for manual control users to recognize objects. This combination of a large language model with a computing model does not change the functionality of either prior art element and would produce the predictable result of a computing model including a large language model which is the same as claimed in claim 9 of the instant application.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Patents and/or related publications are cited in the Notice of References Cited (Form PTO-892) attached to this action to further show the state of the art with respect to adjusting parameters of sensors, and analysis and prediction using sensor data.
DYLAN H. LAI
Examiner
Art Unit 2144
/TAMARA T KYLE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2144