Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Kawamura does not disclose changing the parameter of a second block, among the plurality of blocks, that is executed after the first block, the second block including a parameter different from the first block or defining processing different from the first block, the parameter change condition being a condition indicating that executing the second block in the second driving state would affect the safety of the drive unit, and the parameter of the second block being (i) a duration that driving by the drive unit affecting the temperature of the drive apparatus is continued in accordance with the second block, (ii) a temperature resulting from driving of the drive unit, or (iii) heating power resulting from driving of the drive unit, the examiner respectfully disagrees, Kawamura discloses After performing the drying operation of circulating the drying air after dehumidifying the drying air, the clothing drying machine performs the cooling down operation in which the rotation of the drum is continued and the cooling air is sent into the drum. Temperature detecting means for detecting a temperature; b) first temperature determining means for determining whether a temperature detected by the temperature detecting means is equal to or less than a first specified value during a cool-down operation; c) cool-down A second temperature determining means for determining whether or not the temperature detected by the temperature detecting means exceeds a second specified value higher than the first specified value during a period which is a predetermined time earlier than the end of the operation time; D) the number Operating time extending means for extending the cool-down operation time when the detected temperature exceeds the second specified value by the temperature determining means; e) detecting the detected temperature by the first temperature determining means; And an operation control means for terminating the cool-down operation when it is determined that the cool-down operation time is equal to or less than a prescribed value of 1 or when a predetermined cool-down operation time has elapsed” (Kawamura, see [0007]). Kawamura discloses extending cool-down operation time (i.e. changing the parameter of a second block), among the plurality of blocks, that is executed after drying operation (i.e. the first block), the second block defining cooldown operation (i.e. processing different from the first block), the parameter change condition being a condition indicating that executing the second block in the second driving state would affect the safety of the drive unit (i.e. the temperature exceeding a threshold would affect the safety of the dryer), and the parameter of the second block being duration of cooldown time (i.e. a duration that driving by the drive unit affecting the temperature of the drive apparatus is continued in accordance with the second block), therefore Kawamura discloses the limitation.
Applicant argues that Kawamura does not disclose changing the airflow duration used for subsequent airflow during the drying of the clothes, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Kawamura discloses “After performing the drying operation of circulating the drying air after dehumidifying the drying air, the clothing drying machine performs the cooling down operation in which the rotation of the drum is continued and the cooling air is sent into the drum. Temperature detecting means for detecting a temperature; b) first temperature determining means for determining whether a temperature detected by the temperature detecting means is equal to or less than a first specified value during a cool-down operation; c) cool-down A second temperature determining means for determining whether or not the temperature detected by the temperature detecting means exceeds a second specified value higher than the first specified value during a period which is a predetermined time earlier than the end of the operation time; D) the number Operating time extending means for extending the cool-down operation time when the detected temperature exceeds the second specified value by the temperature determining means; e) detecting the detected temperature by the first temperature determining means; And an operation control means for terminating the cool-down operation when it is determined that the cool-down operation time is equal to or less than a prescribed value of 1 or when a predetermined cool-down operation time has elapsed” (Kawamura, see [0007]), it is noted that [0007] of Kawamura is a summary of [0018]-[0039] of Kawamura, Kawamura discloses extending (i.e. changing) the airflow duration used for subsequent airflow during the drying of the clothes when the temperature inside the drum exceeds a threshold, therefore, Kawamura discloses the limitation.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “each of the plurality blocks includes a parameter used in control of the drive unit by the block” in lines 7-8, “the second block including a parameter different from the first block” in lines 13-14, and “the parameter of the second block” in line 19, it is not clear whether the parameter in “the parameter of the second block” in line 19 is referring to parameter in ““each of the plurality blocks includes a parameter used in control of the drive unit by the block” in lines 7-8 or parameter in ““the second block including a parameter different from the first block” in lines 13-14, or both? Therefore, the metes and bounds of claim 1 is indefinite and unclear.
Claim 9 is a method claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 1 with similar issue, therefore, claim 9 is rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 10 is a CRM claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 1 with similar issue, therefore, claim 10 is rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: first sensor and second sensor in claims 1 and 5-10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by translation of JPH11009898 to Kawamura et al. (hereinafter “Kawamura”), provided in the 6/5/23 IDS.
As per claim 1, Kawamura discloses a drive apparatus (Kawamura, see [0018]-[0023]) comprising:
a drive unit including at least one of an actuator or a heater (Kawamura, see [0018]-[0023]);
a controller that obtains an application including a plurality of blocks, and executes the application to control the drive unit in accordance with the plurality of blocks (Kawamura, see [0025]-[0039]);
a first sensor that detects a first driving state of the drive unit (Kawamura, see [0025]-[0039] for the timer detecting time duration of the drive unit being active);
a second sensor that detects a second driving state of the drive unit (Kawamura, see [0025]-[0039] for temperature sensor sensing the temperature in the dryer); wherein
each of the plurality of blocks includes a parameter used in control of the drive unit by the block, and an end condition for ending driving of the drive unit by the block (Kawamura, see [0025]-[0039]);
when, during execution of a first block among the plurality of blocks, the first driving state detected by the first sensor meets the end condition of the first block and the second driving state detected by the second sensor meets a parameter change condition (Kawamura, see [0025]-[0039] for detecting the end time (i.e. end condition) of a part of the operation program is satisfied and if the temperature in the dryer satisfies the first specified value or less), the controller:
changes the parameter of a second block, among the plurality of blocks, that is executed after the first block, the second block defining processing different from the first block (Kawamura, see [0007] and [0025]-[0039]); and
controls the drive unit in accordance with the second block including the parameter changed (Kawamura, see [0007] and [0025]-[0039]),
the parameter change condition is a condition indicating that executing the second block in the second driving state would affect safety of the drive unit (Kawamura, see [0007] and [0025]-[0039]), and
the parameter of the second block is a duration that driving by the drive unit affecting a temperature of the drive apparatus is continued in accordance with the second block (Kawamura, see [0007] and [0025]-[0039]).
Claim 9 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 1, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 10 is a CRM claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 1, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Kawamura further discloses the first driving state detected by the first sensor is a duration spent driving the drive unit in accordance with the first block (Kawamura, see [0007] and [0025]-[0039]).
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Kawamura further discloses wherein the second driving state detected by the second sensor is temperature (Kawamura, see [0007] and [0025]-[0039]).
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Kawamura f a drive apparatus (Kawamura, see [0018]-[0023]) comprising:
a drive unit including at least one of an actuator or a heater (Kawamura, see [0018]-[0023]);
a controller that obtains an application including a plurality of blocks, and executes the application to control the drive unit in accordance with the plurality of blocks (Kawamura, see [0025]-[0039]);
a first sensor that detects a first driving state of the drive unit (Kawamura, see [0025]-[0039] for the timer detecting time duration of the drive unit being active);
a second sensor that detects a second driving state of the drive unit (Kawamura, see [0025]-[0039] for temperature sensor sensing the temperature in the dryer); wherein
each of the plurality of blocks includes a parameter used in control of the drive unit by the block, and an end condition for ending driving of the drive unit by the block (Kawamura, see [0025]-[0039]);
when, during execution of a first block among the plurality of blocks, the first driving state detected by the first sensor meets the end condition of the first block and the second driving state detected by the second sensor meets a parameter change condition (Kawamura, see [0025]-[0039] for detecting the end time (i.e. end condition) of a part of the operation program is satisfied and if the temperature in the dryer satisfies the first specified value or less), the controller:
changes the parameter of a second block, among the plurality of blocks, that is executed after the first block (Kawamura, see [0007] and [0025]-[0039]); and
controls the drive unit in accordance with the second block including the parameter changed (Kawamura, see [0007] and [0025]-[0039]),
the drive apparatus is a clothes dryer, the first sensor detects, as the first driving state, a duration spent drying clothes by the drive unit in accordance with the first block, the second sensor detects, as the second driving state, an internal temperature of the drive apparatus, the end condition is that the duration spent drying the clothes reaches a projected time to completion of the drying of the clothes by the drive unit, the parameter change condition is that the internal temperature is a threshold or higher, and the controller changes the parameter of the second block by extending a duration, stipulated by the second block, that airflow is generated by the drive unit (Kawamura, see [0007] and [0018]-[0039]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamura, in view of translation of JPH05123482 to Urabe et al. (hereinafter “Urabe”), provided in the 6/5/23 IDS.
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Kawamura does not explicitly disclose the drive apparatus is a washing machine, the first sensor detects, as the first driving state, a duration spent agitating by the drive unit in accordance with the first block, the second sensor detects, as the second driving state, a rotation speed of the agitating, the end condition is that the duration spent agitating reaches a projected time to completion of the agitating by the drive unit, the parameter change condition is that the rotation speed is a threshold or higher, and the controller changes the parameter of the second block by extending a duration, stipulated by the second block, that the drive unit waits in standby.
However, Urabe in an analogous art discloses the drive apparatus is a washing machine, the first sensor detects, as the first driving state, a duration spent agitating by the drive unit in accordance with the first block, the second sensor detects, as the second driving state, a rotation speed of the agitating, the end condition is that the duration spent agitating reaches a projected time to completion of the agitating by the drive unit, the parameter change condition is that the rotation speed is a threshold or higher, and the controller changes the parameter of the second block by extending a duration, stipulated by the second block, that the drive unit waits in standby (Urabe, see [0009]-[0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Urabe into the apparatus of Kawamura. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to secure the safety when the timing of releasing the lid lock is applied during dehydrating operation (Urabe, see [0006]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JASON LIN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117