-Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed June 5, 2023. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination. Claim 1 and 17 are independent claims.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges the claims for domestic priority under 35 U.S. C. 119 (e) to provisional patent application 63169980, which was filed April 2, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement filed (August 14, 2023) has been received, entered into the record, and considered.
Oath/Declaration
The Office acknowledges receipt of a properly signed Oath/Declaration submitted June 5, 2023.
Drawings
The drawings filed June 5, 2023 are accepted by the examiner.
Abstract
The abstract filed June 5, 2023 is accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blum et al. (US 20220111108 A1) in view of Kwon (EP 1878977 A2).
As to Claim 1:
Blum discloses an electronic display device (Blum, see Abstract, where Blum discloses that an air collection and cleaning system or apparatus including a computer monitor, wherein the computer monitor in addition to displaying images, information, and/or data, comprises an exhaled air collector, wherein the computer monitor's computer screen forms an exhaled air blocking surface which is part of the exhaled air collector and wherein the exhaled air collector collects exhaled air, and the computer screen's surface deflects exhaled air towards an exhaled air suction intake, an air purification unit, or both) comprising: a housing having a rear (Blum, see back view in figure 5), a front and sides (Blum, see front view in figure 4); a link to an external device or system (Blum, see keyboard in figure 24); an electronic graphic display configured to display content (Blum, see computer screen in figure 25) from the external device or system (Blum, see keyboard in figure 24); and an air purifying system at least partially contained within the housing behind the electronic graphic display (Blum, see air purification unit in back view of monitor in figure 5).
Blum does not explicitly disclose received from the external device or system.
However in an analogous art, Kwon discloses received from the external device or system (Kwon, see 614 in figure 13 and paragraph [0056], where Kwon discloses that an external input terminal 614 (for example, DVI, RGB, Component, S-Video, Composite, Optical, AV terminal, HDMI, and etc) is installed to receive external signal on the interior of the case. Also, the external input terminal 614 is connected to the signal converter 220).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Blum with Kwon. One would be motivated to modify Blum by disclosing receiving from the external device or system as taught by Kwon, and thereby providing adequate inlet/outlet structure on the air conditioner, where the air conditioning unit and display unit is installed to one cabinet (Kwon, see paragraph [0009]).
As to Claim 2:
Blum in view of Kwon discloses the device of claim 1 wherein the link comprises a connector (Kwon, see 614 in figure 13 and paragraph [0056], where Kwon discloses that an external input terminal 614 (for example, DVI, RGB, Component, S-Video, Composite, Optical, AV terminal, HDMI, and etc) is installed to receive external signal on the interior of the case. Also, the external input terminal 614 is connected to the signal converter 220).
As to Claim 3:
Blum in view of Kwon discloses the device of claim 2 further comprising a circuit board with circuitry to provide charging capability via the connector (Kwon, see paragraph [0032] and 614 in figure 13 and paragraph [0056], where Kwon discloses that a power unit 300, which supplies power to the respective component of the air conditioning unit 100 and the display unit 200; a operating unit 400, which inputs commands for the air conditioning unit 100 and the display unit 200; and a operational unit 500, which controls the air conditioning unit 100 and the display unit 200 from the commands that has been received by the controller unit. An external input terminal 614 (for example, DVI, RGB, Component, S-Video, Composite, Optical, AV terminal, HDMI, and etc) is installed to receive external signal on the interior of the case. Also, the external input terminal 614 is connected to the signal converter 220).
As to Claim 5:
Blum in view of Kwon discloses the device of claim 1 further comprising a circuit board with circuitry to provide data communications with the external device or system (Kwon, see 614 in figure 13 and paragraph [0056], where Kwon discloses that an external input terminal 614 (for example, DVI, RGB, Component, S-Video, Composite, Optical, AV terminal, HDMI, and etc) is installed to receive external signal on the interior of the case. Also, the external input terminal 614 is connected to the signal converter 220).
As to Claim 8:
Blum in view of Kwon discloses the device of claim 1 wherein ambient air enters the device behind the display and exits the device via at least one exit port in the front peripheral to the display (Blum, see figure 9).
As to Claim 9:
Blum in view of Kwon discloses that the device of claim 1 wherein the air purifying system comprises an air pressure altering element located within the housing (Kwon, see paragraph [0051], where Kwon discloses that the control unit 500 will drive the compressor 11 to compress the refrigerant and the compressed refrigerant is condensed in the outdoor heat ex- change unit 12 and then the condensed refrigerant will be expanded to a low temperature and low pressure when penetrating through the expansion valve 14); a filter assembly configured to remove contaminants from air as air is passed through the filter assembly (Kwon, see paragraph [0038], where Kwon discloses that a filter 60 which is placed in the front part of the cabinet to filter any unnecessary substances in the air); an air intake region comprising an intake port (Kwon, see paragraph [0107], where Kwon discloses that an inlet 25 is formed to intake the room air on the back of the base 24); a main chamber operatively coupled to the air pressure altering element whereby the air pressure altering element increases air pressure in the main chamber (Kwon, see 28 in figure 10), the main chamber further operatively coupled to an exit port on the front (Kwon, see 90 in figure 10); and an air discharge region comprising at least the exit port and arranged proximate to at least one side of the electronic graphic display (Kwon, see 90 in figures 9 and 10).
As to Claim 10:
Blum in view of Kwon discloses the device of claim 9 wherein the discharge region is peripheral (Kwon, see 92 in figure 11) to the electronic graphic display (Kwon, see 250 in figure 11) and comprises substantially the entire perimeter of the electronic graphic display (Kwon, see figure 11 below).
As to Claim 11:
Blum in view of Kwon disclose the device of claim 9 wherein the discharge region is substantially rectangular (Kwon, see figure 11 below).
As to Claim 12:
Blum in view of Kwon disclose the device of claim 9 wherein the device is configured such that a stream of moving air exiting the device via the discharge region is directed toward the head of a user in a user position and wherein the stream of moving air arriving at the user is configured to fully encompass the head of the user (Blum, see fans and conventional air purifier in figure 48).
As to Claim 13:
Blum in view of Kwon disclose the device of claim 9 further comprising an element configured to alter a condition of outward flowing air relative to ambient air, the element configured to alter a thermal condition, a humidity condition, ionic condition, or combinations thereof (Kwon, see paragraph [0051], where Kwon discloses that the control unit 500 will drive the compressor 11 to compress the refrigerant and the compressed refrigerant is condensed in the outdoor heat ex- change unit 12 and then the condensed refrigerant will be expanded to a low temperature and low pressure when penetrating through the expansion valve 14).
As to Claim 14:
Blum in view of Kwon disclose the device of claim 13 wherein the element is a thermal element configured such that air exiting the device is at a different temperature than ambient air entering the device (Kwon, see paragraph [0051], where Kwon discloses that the control unit 500 will drive the compressor 11 to compress the refrigerant and the compressed refrigerant is condensed in the outdoor heat ex- change unit 12 and then the condensed refrigerant will be expanded to a low temperature and low pressure when penetrating through the expansion valve 14).
As to Claim 15:
Blum in view of Kwon disclose the device of claim 14 configured to alter a humidity condition such that air exiting the device is at a higher humidity or lower humidity than ambient air entering the device (Kwon, see paragraph [0026], where Kwon discloses that the air conditioning unit 100 of the air conditioner is consisted of the exterior part and the interior part and achieves air conditioning processes such as cooling, heating, dehumidification, air purifying and etc is done, on this example).
As to Claim 16:
Blum in view of Kwon disclose the device of claim 1 further comprising an audio system wherein the audio system includes at least one speaker or at least one microphone (Kwon, see paragraph [0061], where Kwon discloses that the audio output unit 260, as described, is to output the audio signal, from the converted signal that went through the signal converter 220, to the user, where the speaker 616 for the audio output and the external output terminal (not indicated) is installed on the case).
As to Claim 17:
Blum discloses a computer monitor device (Blum, see Abstract, where Blum discloses that an air collection and cleaning system or apparatus including a computer monitor, wherein the computer monitor in addition to displaying images, information, and/or data, comprises an exhaled air collector, wherein the computer monitor's computer screen forms an exhaled air blocking surface which is part of the exhaled air collector and wherein the exhaled air collector collects exhaled air, and the computer screen's surface deflects exhaled air towards an exhaled air suction intake, an air purification unit, or both) comprising: a housing having a rear (Blum, see back view in figure 5), a front and sides (Blum, see front view in figure 4); a link to an external device or system (Blum, see keyboard in figure 24); an electronic graphic display encompassing the majority of the front (Blum, see computer screen in figure 25), the electronic graphic display configured to display content from the external device or system (Blum, see keyboard in figure 24).
Blum does not explicitly disclose received from the external device or system and an air pressure altering element located within the housing; a filter assembly configured to remove contaminants from air as air is passed through the filter assembly; an air intake region comprising an intake port; a main chamber operatively coupled to the air pressure altering element whereby the air pressure altering element increases air pressure in the main chamber, the main chamber further operatively coupled to an exit port on the front; and an air discharge region comprising at least the exit port and arranged proximate to at least one side of the electronic graphic display. However in an analogous art, Kwon discloses received from the external device or system (Kwon, see 614 in figure 13 and paragraph [0056], where Kwon discloses that an external input terminal 614 (for example, DVI, RGB, Component, S-Video, Composite, Optical, AV terminal, HDMI, and etc) is installed to receive external signal on the interior of the case. Also, the external input terminal 614 is connected to the signal converter 220), an air pressure altering element located within the housing (Kwon, see paragraph [0051], where Kwon discloses that the control unit 500 will drive the compressor 11 to compress the refrigerant and the compressed refrigerant is condensed in the outdoor heat ex- change unit 12 and then the condensed refrigerant will be expanded to a low temperature and low pressure when penetrating through the expansion valve 14); a filter assembly configured to remove contaminants from air as air is passed through the filter assembly (Kwon, see paragraph [0038], where Kwon discloses that a filter 60 which is placed in the front part of the cabinet to filter any unnecessary substances in the air); an air intake region comprising an intake port (Kwon, see paragraph [0107], where Kwon discloses that an inlet 25 is formed to intake the room air on the back of the base 24); a main chamber operatively coupled to the air pressure altering element whereby the air pressure altering element increases air pressure in the main chamber (Kwon, see 28 in figure 10), the main chamber further operatively coupled to an exit port on the front (Kwon, see 90 in figure 10); and an air discharge region comprising at least the exit port and arranged proximate to at least one side of the electronic graphic display (Kwon, see 90 in figures 9 and 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Blum with Kwon. One would be motivated to modify Blum by disclosing received from the external device or system and an air pressure altering element located within the housing; a filter assembly configured to remove contaminants from air as air is passed through the filter assembly; an air intake region comprising an intake port; a main chamber operatively coupled to the air pressure altering element whereby the air pressure altering element increases air pressure in the main chamber, the main chamber further operatively coupled to an exit port on the front; and an air discharge region comprising at least the exit port and arranged proximate to at least one side of the electronic graphic display as taught by Kwon, and thereby providing adequate inlet/outlet structure on the air conditioner, where the air conditioning unit and display unit is installed to one cabinet (Kwon, see paragraph [0009]).
As to Claim 19:
Blum in view of Kwon discloses that the device of claim 17 wherein outward flowing air creates a moving wave front comprising a high concentration of purified air and wherein the wave front has an expanding cross-sectional area as it moves further away from the device (Kwon, see figures 9 and 10, paragraphs [0107] and [0108], where Kwon discloses that also, an inlet 25 is formed to intake the room air on the back of the base 24. In detail, more projected protrusion 29 is formed on the back of the base 24, and the inlet 25 is formed in part or in all of the protrusion 29. Also, a filter is provided on the front of the inlet 25 to purify the room air).
As to Claim 20:
Blum in view of Kwon discloses that the device of claim 19 wherein the wave front is directed toward a user at a user position and is controlled to fully encompass the user's head at the user position such that the user breathes in substantially purified air (Blum, see figure 48 claim mapping below).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blum et al. (US 20220111108 A1) in view of Kwon (EP 1878977 A2) in further view of Landy et al. (US 11007464 Bl).
As to Claim 4:
Blum in view of Kwon differ from the claimed subject matter in that Blum in view of Kwon does not explicitly disclose that the device of claim 2 further comprising a circuit board with circuitry configured as a Universal Serial Bus hub. However in an analogous art, Landy discloses that a circuit board with circuitry configured as a Universal Serial Bus hub (Landy, see column 12 lines 45-50, where Landy discloses that sensors ( e.g., as described above with respect to FIGS. lA-lE) may also be in communication with the computing device 700 via an interface associated with the communications system 760 or via direct interfaces for those sensors ( or general interfaces such as USB)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Blum and Kwon with Landy. One would be motivated to modify Blum and Kwon by disclosing a circuit board with circuitry configured as a Universal Serial Bus hub as taught by Landy, and thereby providing an improved portable air filtration and air dispersion systems and methods, particularly where people are sharing enclosed spaces (Lady, see column 2 lines 1-5).
Claim 6, 7 and 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blum et al. (US 20220111108 A1) in view of Kwon (EP 1878977 A2) in further view of Maletich et al. (US 20230119976 A1).
As to Claim 6:
Blum in view of Kwon differ from the claimed subject matter in that Blum in view of Kwon does not explicitly disclose that the device of claim 5 wherein the external device is a computer. However in an analogous art, Maletich discloses that wherein the external device is a computer (Maletich, see 113 in figure 2, 503, 505 and 507 in figure 11 and paragraphs [0073] and [0094], where Maletich discloses that the air purifying sub-system 118 includes removable filter media. In one embodiment, the predetermined threshold includes a range (of values) that corresponds to when the removable filter media is absent or incorrectly installed. In one embodiment, the predetermined threshold includes a range (of values) that corresponds to when the filter media is filled with entrapped particles. In one embodiment, the predetermined threshold includes a range (of values) that corresponds to when the filter media has been compromised. In one embodiment, the controller 106 is configured to send the determination that one or more components of the air purifying system 104 are not functioning
in accordance with the predetermined criteria to a user interface 113 that is configured to be removably attached to the air purifying system 104. A more complex communication means may
include wireless communication or wired means through an intranet or internet connection which optionally includes a cloud based means 509 using the server residing on or off locating as a virtual controller of the air purifying system or by interconnected means a multitude of air purifying systems 104a-c. This virtual controller (sometimes referred to as a virtual machine) may then be used to control a single air purifying system (directly or through a connection bridge), and or a multitude of interconnected air purifying systems 104a-c by allowing the air purifying system's controllers 106 to accept the virtual controller's inputs as well as export the air purifying system's data to the virtual controller. The virtual controller(s) can be accessed by any internet accessible
device such as a computer 503, mobile phone 505 or tablet computing device 507).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Blum and Kwon with Maletich. One would be motivated to modify Blum and Kwon by disclosing wherein the external device is a computer as taught by Maletich, and thereby the improved features of the air purifying systems with the remote adds additional value and improves the functionality of the currently existing remotes that are used with the air purifying systems (Maletich, see paragraph [0092]).
As to Claim 7:
Blum in view of Kwon differ from the claimed subject matter in that Blum in view of Kwon does not explicitly disclose that the device of claim 1 wherein the electronic graphic display includes a touch-screen for changing content in response to touches from a user. However in an analogous art, Maletich discloses wherein the electronic graphic display includes a touch-screen for changing content in response to touches from a user (Maletich, see 113 in figure 2 and paragraph [0085], where Maletich discloses that the user interface 113 may include one or more buttons or other controls that allow the user to modify one or more parameters of the air purifying system 104. For example, the one or more buttons or other controls of the user interface 113 may be operated by touch or tactile manipulation or mechanical type control. The user interface 113 may be a display such as a graphical display. The display may be a touch screen display or a liquid crystal display (LCD) display. The user interface 113 may include a Smart Touch feature that provides a touch activated control panel.
The user interface 113 may be a capacitive touch panel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Blum and Kwon with Maletich. One would be motivated to modify Blum and Kwon by disclosing wherein the electronic graphic display includes a touch-screen for changing content in response to touches from a user as taught by Maletich, and thereby the improved touch user interface adds additional value and functionality to the current air purifying systems (Maletich, see paragraph [0092]).
As to Claim 18:
Blum in view of Kwon differ from the claimed subject matter in that Blum in view of Kwon does not explicitly disclose the device of claim 17 wherein the external device or system comprises a computer. However in an analogous art, Maletich discloses that wherein the external device is a computer (Maletich, see 113 in figure 2, 503, 505 and 507 in figure 11 and paragraphs [0073] and [0094], where Maletich discloses that the air purifying sub-system 118 includes removable filter media. In one embodiment, the predetermined threshold includes a range (of values) that corresponds to when the removable filter media is absent or incorrectly installed. In one embodiment, the predetermined threshold includes a range (of values) that corresponds to when the filter media is filled with entrapped particles. In one embodiment, the predetermined threshold includes a range (of values) that corresponds to when the filter media has been compromised. In one embodiment, the controller 106 is configured to send the determination that one or more components of the air purifying system 104 are not functioning in accordance with the predetermined criteria to a user interface 113 that is configured to be removably attached to the air purifying system 104. A more complex communication means may include wireless communication or wired means through an intranet or internet connection which optionally includes a cloud based means 509 using the server residing on or off locating as a virtual controller of the air purifying system or by interconnected means a multitude of air purifying systems 104a-c. This virtual controller (sometimes referred to as a virtual machine) may then be used to control a single air purifying system (directly or through a connection bridge), and or a multitude of interconnected air purifying systems 104a-c by allowing the air purifying system's controllers 106 to accept the virtual controller's inputs as well as export the air purifying system's data to the virtual controller. The virtual controller(s) can be accessed by any internet accessible device such as a computer 503, mobile phone 505 or tablet computing device 507).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Blum and Kwon with Maletich. One would be motivated to modify Blum and Kwon by disclosing wherein the external device is a computer as taught by Maletich, and thereby the improved features of the air purifying systems with the remote adds additional value and improves the functionality of the currently existing remotes that are used with the air purifying systems (Maletich, see paragraph [0092]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure. Blum (US 20210386903 A1).
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NELSON ROSARIO whose telephone number is (571)270-1866. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday, 7:30am- 5:00pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Eason can be reached on (571)270-7230. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NELSON M ROSARIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624