Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-10 in the reply filed on November 11, 2025 is acknowledged
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 113896168B in view of Kordesch et al (US 6,936,363). CN 113896168B discloses a method for preparing hydrogen by cracking ammonia wherein the heat sources required for the ammonia cracking reaction is provided by het exchange of a second-stage high-temperature ammonia cracking reaction gas. (See Paragraph [0037] of the English translation.) CN 113896168B teaches in Paragraphs [0014] and [0015] that both the first and second cracking reactors are filled with catalyst, and in Paragraph [0016] that the ammonia cracking reaction in the first stage is carried out with a fuel and oxygen, and the cracking for the second stage is provided by electric heating. CN 113896168B further teaches in Paragraph [0020] that the reducing gas (cracked gas) is cooled to normal temperature by a cooler and then enters a PSA hydrogen extraction system to prepare product hydrogen, and that the fuel for the first stage of ammonia cracking can be tail gas after the PSA extracts the hydrogen. The difference between the process disclosed by CN 113896168B, and that recited in applicant’s claims, is that CN 113896168B does not disclose that the first stage reaction is carried out in tubes. Kordesch et al disclose an ammonia cracker for hydrogen production wherein the cracking takes place in burner tubes (see FIG. 2 and the description thereof),, and teaches at col. 3, lines 9-14 that product gas from the ammonia cracker is used as fuel for fuel cell (6) and that off-gas from the hydrogen electrode (6b) is fed to the heating unit (5) of the ammonia cracker, which may a lean gas combustor or a catalytic burner. It would be obvious from Kordesch et al to carry out the first stage ammonia cracking step of CN 113896168B in tubes. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so, since the processes of CN 113896168B and Kordesch et al are analogous in that both are directed to ammonia cracking, and both employ offgas from a subsequent reaction as fuel in the ammonia cracker.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, CN 113896168B teaches in Paragraph [0007] that a heat source required by the second section of high temperature ammonia cracking reaction can be provided by electric externa heating or other fuel combustion external heating and oxygen combustion self-heating. It would be obvious from such disclosure of CN 113896168B to heat the partially cracked ammonia gas by heat exchange by heat exchange with the cracked gas, since CN 113896168B also discloses in Paragraph [0007] that the second stage high-temperature ammonia cracking gas enters the heat exchange gasification system.
Regarding claim 4, CN 113896168B discloses in Paragraph [0037] that a partial ammonia cracking reaction occurs in the first stage. It would be obvious from such disclosure to provide to provide a partially cracked ammonia gas having a mole fraction of ammonia in a range from about 10 mol % to about 90 mol %, since one would expect that any degree of partial cracking would be suitable.
Regarding claim 5, it would be obvious to provide a cracked gas having a mole fraction of ammonia in a range from 0.1 mol. % to about 5 mol. 5% in the process of CN 113896168B, since the purpose of the process of CN 113896168B is to form hydrogen from the cracked ammonia which would suggest that a high degree of cracking would be desirable to form more hydrogen.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, CN 113896168B teaches in Paragraph [0037] that partial cracking of the ammonia takes place in the first stage and the residual ammonia cracking is carried out with electric heating. It would be obvious to provide from about 20 % to about 80 % of the energy required for the process in the fired reactor, depending on the relative costs of combustion heating versus electric heating.
Regarding claim 9, it is clear from FIG.2 of Kordesch et al that a plurality of reaction tubes are employed for the cracking, and CN 113896168Bdiscloses in Paragraph [0051] that the ammonia cracking for the second stage occurs in a catalyst tube array.
Regarding claim 10, Kordesch et al disclose in FIG.1 and the description thereof that part of the lean gas is sent to ammonia cracker 3 before being sent to ammonia cracker 4 via line 3b.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is indefinite as to whether the “cracked gas” refers to the partially cracked gas or the cracked gas leaving the electrically heated reactor.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 18/205854 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would be obvious to reverse the order of the cracking steps in the process recited in the claims of SN 18/205854, since one would appreciate that any type of partial cracking and further cracking would be suitable
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Goetsch et al (US 2002/0028171) is made of record for disclosing the production of hydrogen by the autothermic decomposition of ammonia.
Woebcke et al (US 3958951) is made of record for disclosing a reformer furnace including process tubes filled with catalyst.
Conclusion
/WAYNE A LANGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736