DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The Abstract is objected to because it should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Air Conditioner Duct Valve.
Please note that the suggested title is only a recommendation. Applicant is encouraged to amend the title with language they find to be appropriate.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
In re Claim 14, the limitation “the heat exchanger does exchange heat with the air suctioned through the second inlet” has been understood to be a typographical error, for at least the following reasons:
Specification paragraph [0008] discloses “a heat exchanger configured to exchange heat with air suctioned through the first inlet”;
Specification paragraph [0021] discloses “The heat exchanger may not exchange heat with the air suctioned through the second inlet.”
Specification paragraph [0069] discloses “Air, which is introduced into the housing 10 through the second inlet 15 and does not exchange heat with the heater 30, may be discharged to the outside of the housing 10 through the second outlets 13 and 14.”
For purposes of examination, and in the interest of providing compact prosecution, it has been understood that “not” should be inserted between “does” and “exchange” in claim 14, as disclosed in paragraph [0069], and as shown in the figures.
Claim 15 is objected, as being dependent on an objected claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §102
Claims 1, 9 – 11, and 14 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho et al (US 2019/0186778).
In re Claim 1, Cho et al discloses an air conditioner (figs 1 – 9) comprising:
a housing (10) having a first inlet (12/51) and a second inlet (15/52);
a front panel (apparent) disposed on a front side of the housing;
a first outlet (105) [0056]; provided in the front panel;
a second outlet (fig 8: annotated) provided adjacent to the front panel;
a heat exchanger (30) configured to exchange heat with air (S1) suctioned through the first inlet [0068];
a first blower (21) configured to discharge the air (S1) having exchanged the heat toward the first outlet (figs 4, 5:(105) [0068]);
a second blower (26) configured to discharge air (figs 6, 7: (S2)) suctioned through the second inlet (15/52);
a duct (downstream of (29b), annotated fig 8, above) configured to guide the air (S2) discharged from the second blower (27) to be discharged through the second outlet (annotated, above), the duct comprising a first duct outlet port (13, left) communicably connected with the second outlet and a second duct outlet port (13, right) communicably connected with the second outlet (fig 8, above); and
[0064] the first duct outlet port (13, left) and the second duct outlet port (13, right) “may be formed on both sides of the main housing corresponding to some parts of the main housing”.
a valve (132) [0082] provided in the duct and configured to control a flow of air flowing toward the first duct outlet port (13, left) and a flow of air flowing toward the second duct outlet port (13, right).
“[0082] The air conditioner 1 may include a plurality of blades 132 to guide the air discharged through the second discharging port 13... In the embodiment, the plurality of blades 132 are arranged in the second flow path S2. However, alternatively, the blades 132 may be arranged in the second discharging port 13. The plurality of blades 132 may be rotationally arranged to move between a closing position to block the second flow path S2 as shown in FIG. 4 and an opening position to control a wind direction of the air flowing in the second flow path S2 as shown in FIG. 6.”
Please note that Cho et al discloses wherein at least one valve is disposed in the duct.
In re Claim 9, Cho et al discloses wherein the valve (132) comprises:
a first damper plate (“blade”) configured to open and close the first duct outlet port (13, left side); and
a second damper plate (“blade”) configured to open and close the second duct outlet port (13, right side).
In re Claim 10, Cho et al discloses wherein each of the first damper plate (132, left side) and the second damper plate (132, right side) is hinge1 coupled to one surface of the duct.
It is respectfully noted that as Cho et al discloses wherein the blades (132) are “rotationally arranged”, and the blades are “arranged” in the duct, the first and second damper plates have been understood to be hinge coupled to one surface of the duct.
In re Claim 11, Cho et al discloses wherein a flow rate of a first discharge flow path (S2, left) is controlled based on an opening extent of the first damper plate, and wherein a flow rate of a second discharge flow path (S2, right) is controlled based on an opening extent of the second damper plate.
In re Claim 14, Cho et al discloses wherein the heat exchanger (30) does not exchange heat with the air suctioned through the second inlet (15/52) [0104].
In re Claim 15, Cho et al discloses wherein the air discharged from the second outlet moves (“mixes”) air discharged from the first outlet away from the front panel [0067].
In that Cho et al discloses “the second discharging port 13 may be formed to have the air to be discharged from the second discharging port 13 mixed with the air discharged from the first discharging port 105”, it has been understood that when air from the second discharging port mixes with air discharging from the first port, mixing air would “move” the air.
In re Claim 16, Cho et al discloses an air conditioner (figs 1 – 19) comprising:
a housing (10) in which a first wind path (S1) and a second wind path (S2)are provided,
the first wind path (S1) and the second wind path (S2) being separated from each other [0031];
a heat exchanger (30) provided on the first wind path [0068, 0104, 0117];
a first blower (21) configured to form an air flow in the first wind path;
a second blower (26) configured to supply air in the second wind path (S2) [0113];
a duct (annotated in fig 8, above) configured to form the second wind path (S2) [0138] and comprising a first duct outlet port and a second duct outlet port; and
a valve (132) [0082, 0083] disposed in the duct and configured to selectively divide the second wind path (S2) into a first flow path connected to the first duct outlet port (13, left) and a second flow path connected to the second duct outlet port (13, right).
Please note that Cho et al discloses wherein at least one valve is disposed in the duct.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 22 – 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al (US 2019/0185778).
In re Claims 2 – 4 , Cho et al discloses wherein the valve (132) comprises a damper plate (“blade”) configured to tilt or translate, wherein it “may be rotationally arranged to move between a closing position to block the second flow path S2 … and an opening position to control a wind direction of the air flowing in the second flow path S2 ...” [0082]. As the damper plate is configured to move, it is apparent that there is a “driver”, but it is not inherent that the driver is a mechanical driver comprising an actuator.
Cho et al is silent as to whether the valve (132), controlling a flow of air flowing towards the first and second duct outlet ports, comprises a (mechanical) driver and so accordingly lacks:
wherein the valve (132) comprises the damper plate and a (mechanical) driver3;
wherein the driver comprises a first linear actuator and a second linear actuator, and each of the first linear actuator and the second linear actuator comprises a connecting shaft coupled to the damper plate4; and
wherein each of the first linear actuator and the second linear actuator is fixed to a surface of the duct5.
However, Cho et al further teaches a controlling a discharge flow of air out of the first and second outlet port, comprising:
a valve (100/140) for controlling the air exiting the system, wherein the valve comprises a damper plate (100) and a driver (140) configured to tilt (figs 10 – 13 ) or translate (figs 4 – 5; figs 6 – 7) the damper plate1 [0091];
wherein the driver (140) comprises a first linear actuator (gear (144), annotated fig 7, below) and a second linear actuator (gear (144), annotated fig 7, below), and each of the first linear actuator and the second linear actuator comprises a connecting shaft (rack (142), extending and retracting in a linear manner) coupled to the damper plate2 [0066, 0092]6;
wherein each of the first linear actuator (144) and the second linear actuator (144) is fixed to a surface of the duct (as seen in the figures)3.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Cho et al such that the damper plate (132) provided in the duct comprises a driver, as taught by the discharge damper plate (100) and driver (140) of Cho et al, wherein:
the valve comprises a damper plate and a driver;
the driver configured to tilt or translate the damper plate;
the driver comprises a first linear actuator and a second linear actuator, wherein each of the first linear actuator and the second linear actuator comprises a connecting shaft coupled to the damper plate;
wherein each of the first linear actuator and the second linear actuator is fixed to a surface of the duct,
as choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions for valve actuation is within the capabilities of a person having ordinary skill in the mechanical arts, and they would have a reasonable expectation of success, based upon the characteristics of the science or technology, its state of advance, the nature of the known choices, the specificity or generality of the prior art, and the predictability of results in the area of interest.
In re Claim 17, see above In re Claim 2, wherein the valve of the proposed system comprises a damper plate and a driver configured to tilt or translate the damper plate.
In re Claim 18, see above In re Claim 3, wherein the driver of the proposed system comprises a first linear actuator and a second linear actuator, and each of the first linear actuator and the second linear actuator comprises a connecting shaft coupled to the damper plate.
In re Claim 20, Cho et al discloses wherein the driver (140) is further configured to divide the second wind path (S2) so that air discharged from the second blower (26/27) is supplied to the second flow path (S2) (figs 8, 9) and is not supplied to the first flow path (S1) [0140 - 01447].
Alternatively, Claims 27 – 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al (US 2019/0185778), in view of Kim et al (US 2018/0306452).
In re Claim 2, the system of Cho et al has been discussed, wherein the valve (132) comprises a damper plate (“blade”), wherein the damper plate is configured to tilt or translate “may be rotationally arranged to move between a closing position to block the second flow path S2 … and an opening position to control a wind direction of the air flowing in the second flow path S2” [0082].
However, Cho et al is silent as to whether the system comprises a (mechanical) driver.
Kim et al (‘452) teaches an air conditioner (figs 19, 20) comprising a valve (800) [0210 – 0215] configured to control a flow of air, wherein the valve comprises a damper plate (801) and a driver (802) [0032, 0213] configured to translate the damper plate (801).
Upon consideration of the disclosure of Kim et al (‘452), it would have been obvious to try modifying Cho et al such that the valve comprises a damper plate and a driver configured to tilt or translate the damper plate, as choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions is within the capabilities of a person having ordinary skill in the mechanical arts, and they would have a reasonable expectation of success, based upon the characteristics of the science or technology, its state of advance, the nature of the known choices, the specificity or generality of the prior art, and the predictability of results in the area of interest.
In re Claims 3 and 4, the proposed system has been discussed wherein the driver (802) comprises a first linear actuator fixed to a surface of a duct (14), the first linear actuator comprises a connecting shaft coupled to the damper plate (801).
Kim et al (‘452) is silent as to whether the driver comprises a first linear actuator and a second linear actuator, and each of the first linear actuator and the second linear actuator comprises a connecting shaft coupled to the damper plate.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the driver comprises a first linear actuator and a second linear actuator, and each of the first linear actuator and the second linear actuator comprises a connecting shaft coupled to the damper plate, wherein each of the first linear actuator and the second linear actuator is fixed to a surface of the duct, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Claims 28, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al (US 2019/0185778), in view of Kim (KR 20130031124).
In re Claims 2, 5 and 7, the system of Cho et al has been discussed, wherein the duct comprises a main flow section communicably connected with the first duct outlet port (13, left) and the second duct outlet port (13, right), and configured to receive air from the second blower (26/27),
wherein the valve comprises a damper plate and a driver configured to tilt the damper plate;
wherein the second duct outlet port (13, right) is provided laterally of the first duct outlet port (13, left), and
wherein the damper plate (valve 132) is provided at a position corresponding to the second duct outlet port.
Cho et al lacks:
wherein the driver is configured to translate the damper plate,
wherein the second duct outlet port is provided under the first duct outlet port, and wherein the damper plate is provided at a position corresponding to the second duct outlet port, and
wherein, as the damper plate is translated so that the damper plate is moved toward the second duct outlet port, a flow rate of air flowing toward the first duct outlet port increases and a flow rate of air flowing toward the second duct outlet port decreases.
Kim (‘124) teaches an air conditioner (figs 1 – 5), comprising:
a housing (10) having an inlet (18), a blower (22), and an outlet duct (annotated, below),
a damper plate (14) configured translate, via a driver (motor 46);
wherein the outlet duct comprises a main flow section communicably connected with a first duct outlet port (12) and a second duct outlet port (14), and is configured to receive air from the blower (22), wherein the second duct outlet port (14) is provided under the first duct outlet port (12), and wherein the damper plate (41) is provided at a position corresponding to the second duct outlet port; and
wherein, as the damper plate (41) is translated so that the damper plate is moved toward the second duct outlet port (14), a flow rate of air flowing toward the first duct outlet port (12) increases and a flow rate of air flowing toward the second duct outlet port (14) decreases [0059 - 0061].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the proposed system as taught by Kim (‘124), such that the system comprises wherein the second duct outlet port is provided under the first duct outlet port, such that as the damper plate is translated vertically in lieu of laterally, so that the damper plate is moved toward the second duct outlet port, a flow rate of air flowing toward the first duct outlet port increases and a flow rate of air flowing toward the second duct outlet port decreases, as choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions is within the capabilities of a person having ordinary skill in the mechanical arts, and they would have a reasonable expectation of success, based upon the characteristics of the science or technology, its state of advance, the nature of the known choices, the specificity or generality of the prior art, and the predictability of results in the area of interest.
Claims 5, 6, 8, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al (US 2019/0185778), in view of Imanaka et al (JP 2006064219).
In re Claim 5, the proposed system has been discussed, wherein the duct comprises a main flow section communicably connected with the first duct outlet port and the second duct outlet port, and configured to receive air from the second blower.
While the proposed system comprises a damper plate configured to tilt to control air flowing towards the first duct outlet port and towards the second duct outlet port, the system lacks:
wherein the first duct outlet port further comprises an upper outlet port and a lower outlet port,
wherein the second duct outlet port further comprises an upper outlet port and a lower outlet port,
wherein the lower, second duct outlet port is provided under the upper, second duct outlet port
Imanaka et al teaches an air conditioner comprising:
a duct (fig 2, annotated below) comprises a main flow section communicably connected with a first duct outlet port (S1) and a second duct outlet port (S2), and configured to receive air from a blower (3), wherein the second duct outlet port (S2) is provided under the first duct outlet port (S1), and wherein a damper plate (G2) is provided at a position corresponding to the second duct outlet port9.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the duct of the proposed system as taught by Imanaka et al, such that the system comprises a main flow section communicably connected with the first duct outlet port and the second duct outlet port, and configured to receive air from the second blower, wherein the second duct outlet port is provided under the first duct outlet port, and wherein the damper plate is provided at a position corresponding to the second duct outlet port, for the benefit of vertical control in addition to lateral control of the flowrate, improving user comfort.
In re Claim 6 and 8, the proposed system has been discussed (In re Claim 5, above), wherein the proposed system comprises:
a second blower (21), ducts () to guide air to second outlets (13left, 13right), the duct comprising a first duct outlet port communicably connected with the second outlet and a second duct outlet port communicably connected with the second outlet;
a valve (132) [0082] provided in the duct and configured to control a flow of air flowing toward the first duct outlet port (13, left) and a flow of air flowing toward the second duct outlet port (13, right), the valve comprises a damper plate configured to tilt;
wherein the second duct outlet port is provided under the first
Accordingly, the proposed system yields wherein
wherein, as the damper plate is tilted so that an upper end of the damper plate moves toward the second duct outlet port and a lower end of the damper plate moves away from the second duct outlet port, a flowrate of air flowing toward the first duct outlet port decreases and a flowrate of air flowing toward to the second duct outlet port increases10; and.
wherein, as the damper plate is tilted so that an upper end of the damper plate moves away from the second duct outlet port and a lower end of the damper plate moves toward the second duct outlet port, a flow rate of air flowing toward to the first duct outlet port and a flow rate of air flowing toward the second duct outlet port decrease11.
In re Claims 12 and 13, the proposed system has been discussed, wherein Cho et al discloses the duct (downstream of (29b)) comprises a pair of ducts (at S2left, S2right).
However, Cho et al lacks:
wherein the valve comprises a pair of valves disposed on each of the pair of ducts, and
wherein the pair of valves have different orientations.
Imanaka et al teaches an air conditioner comprising:
a blower (3) configured to discharge air suctioned through an inlet (61) and a duct (annotated fig 2 below, downstream of (31)) configured to guide air (fig 2: (A1)) discharged from the blower to be discharged through a second outlet (12, 13);
the duct (annotated below) comprising a first duct outlet port (12) and a second duct outlet port (13);
a valve (5, 7) provided in the duct and configured to control a flow of air toward the first duct outlet port (12) and the second duct outlet port (13);
Please note that it is apparent that if (e.g.:) valve (5) controls a flow of air towards the first duct outlet port (12), it would affect the control a flow of air towards the second duct outlet port (13) (and vice versa), as a single blower serves both the first and second outlet ports.
wherein the duct comprises a pair of ducts (annotated fig 2, below), and wherein the valve comprises a pair of valves disposed on each of the pair of ducts12; and
wherein the pair of valves have different orientations (as seen in fig 12).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the proposed system, as taught by Imanaka et al, such that the system comprises:
wherein the valve comprises a pair of valves disposed on each of the pair of ducts, and
wherein the pair of valves have different orientations.
for the benefit of controlling air upwardly, straight ahead, and downwardly so that air can be blown widely in the vertical direction providing an air flow that wraps the room from above and below.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not reasonably disclose, either alone or in combination, an air conditioner comprising:
a housing in which a first wind path (S1) and a second wind path (S2) are provided, the first wind path and the second wind path being separated from each other;
a heat exchanger provided on the first wind path;
a first blower configured to form an air flow in the first wind path (S1);
a second blower configured to supply air in the second wind path (S2);
a duct configured to form the second wind path (S2) and comprising a first duct outlet port and a second duct outlet port; and
a valve disposed in the duct and configured to selectively divide the second wind path (S2) into a first flow path (S2-1) connected to the first duct outlet port and a second flow path (S2-2) connected to the second duct outlet port, wherein the valve comprises a damper plate and a driver configured to tilt or translate the damper plate; and
wherein the driver is further configured to divide the second wind path (S2) so that air discharged from the second blower is supplied to the first flow path (S1) and is not supplied to the second flow path (S2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the PTO-892: Notice of References Cited.
Applicant is provided 3 months to reply to any office action on the merits; the maximum statutory period for a reply is 6 months. 35 USC 113, 37 CFR 1.134.
Contact Information
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866.217.9197 (toll-free). If you are a Pro Se inventor and would like assistance, please call the Pro Se assistance center at 866.767.3848. If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, please call 800.786.9199 (in USA or Canada) or 571.272.1000.
/Frances F Hamilton/
Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762
1 hinge (n): a jointed or flexible device on which a…swinging part turns. © 2026 Merriam-Webster, Incorporated.
2 Claim 2 examination of a driver configured to tilt the damper plate.
3 Claim 2
4 Claim 3
5 Claim 4
6 Please note that these portions of Cho et al are provided to support the disclosure of “upper” and “lower” portions of housing (11).
7 Claim 2 examination of a driver configured to tilt the damper plate.
8 Claim 2 examination of a driver configured to translate the damper plate.
9 Claim 5
10 Claim 6
11 Claim 8
12 Claim 12