DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 18/205, 987, filed on June 5, 2023.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 5, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 24, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
5. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 15, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The following claim language is unclear:
Claim 1 includes the limitations of “implementing, by the second operating system, a first Bluetooth service during an operation of the second operating system” and “implementing, by both the first operating system and the second operating system, the first Bluetooth service during an operation of the first operating system.” It is unclear from the context of the claim whether both the first operating system and second operating system are needed to run the first Bluetooth service. Does it depend on the time? Does it depend on a capacity of either operating system? Does it depend on the type of service? For examination purposes, examiner interprets the limitation as the type of service determines whether the service is implemented by the first operating system, second operating system, or both.
Regarding claims 2-12, they are dependent on claim 1 and fail to cure the deficiencies set forth above for claim 1. Therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claims 14-18, they are dependent on claim 13 and fail to cure the deficiencies set forth above for claim 1. Therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 20, it is dependent on claim 19 and fails to cure the deficiencies set forth above for claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-2, 13-14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. US 20150189498 A1.
Chen et al. US 20150189498 A1 was cited in IDS filed on June 5, 2023.
8. With regard to claim 1, Chen teaches:
A system switching method, performed by an electronic device comprising a first processor, a second processor, and a Bluetooth module, the first processor being configured to run a first operating system, the second processor being capable of running a second operating system, the first processor being capable of being in a communication connection with the second processor, and the Bluetooth module being in a communication connection with the second processor (Fig. 1, Processor 14, Processor 24, Examiner’s Note: The stationary device has a processor and the mobile device has a processor; [0008] The mobile device has a first operating system and the stationary device has a second operating system different from the first operating system; [0020] Embodiments of the present invention are directed to providing interactive remote windows between applications within heterogeneous operating systems operating on, respectively, a mobile device and a stationary device. In accordance with the embodiments described herein, a user can pair a mobile device and a stationary device via wireless paring (e.g. Bluetooth) and thereafter exchange commands and data between the devices via, e.g., Wi-Fi Direct or a wireless LAN/WAN; [0031] Communication modules 16, 26 may be Bluetooth communications modules or any other short range wireless communications module or unit that can operate to support a communication link 110 between mobile device 1 and stationary device 2. That is, mobile device 1 and stationary device 2 may be communicatively coupled to one another via communication link 110.),
the method comprising:
implementing, by the second operating system, a first Bluetooth service during an operation of the second operating system ([0008] A method of operating, from a stationary device, an application that is running on a mobile device is disclosed. The method includes causing the stationary device to open a window that will display content of an application running on the mobile device; [0042] As noted previously, embodiments of the present invention are configured such that interactive remote windows application described herein can operate even when mobile device 1 and stationary device 2 operate in accordance with different operating systems; Examiner’s Note: The Bluetooth service is opening a window that will display the content of an application running on the mobile device. This is done by the stationary device (second device), which is operating the second operating system.); and
in response to a first instruction, running, by the electronic device, the first operating system, and implementing, by both the first operating system and the second operating system, the first Bluetooth service during an operation of the first operating system ([0008] A method of operating, from a stationary device, an application that is running on a mobile device is disclosed. The method includes causing the stationary device to open a window that will display content of an application running on the mobile device, sending the content from the application running on the mobile device to the stationary device, receiving operation commands for the application running on the mobile device from the stationary device, the operation commands being operable to cause actions to be executed by the application running on the mobile device, and sending new content from the application running on the mobile device to the stationary device, the new content resulting from the operation commands having been executed by the application running on the mobile device. The mobile device has a first operating system and the stationary device has a second operating system different from the first operating system; Examiner’s Note: Operation commands are analogous with instructions. Both the first operating system and second operating system are implementing a window that will display content of an application.).
9. With regard to claim 2, Chen further teaches:
wherein a second Bluetooth service is supported by both the first operating system and the second operating system ([0040] FIG. 7 illustrates a file exchange operation in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. In FIG. 7, application sub-window 211a is a window showing a plurality of icons representing files stored on mobile device 1. Recall that application sub-window 211, now 211a in this depiction, is a window that represents an application that is operating on mobile device 1 and is being mirrored to stationary device 2. In accordance with the instant file exchange operation of the present invention, user 100 can use a "drag & drop" operation to copy files within the application sub-window 211a, which, as noted, corresponds to an application running on mobile device 1, to folders or the desktop of the stationary device 2. Upon detecting the drag & drop operation (see, e.g., Step 205 of FIG. 2), mobile device 1 and stationary device 2 are configured to perform file transfer in the background (e.g., via the Bluetooth link) to achieve the desired files to be copied & pasted from memory 12 of mobile device 1 to memory 22 of stationary device 2 Likewise, user 100 can also drag & drop files within folders or on the desktop of stationary device 2 into application sub-window 211a, resulting in a copy & paste of a file or files from stationary device 2 to mobile device 1; Examiners Note: In additional to implementing a window that will display content of an application (first Bluetooth service), a user can also “drag and drop” to copy files from the mobile device to the stationary device (second Bluetooth service).).
10. Regarding claim 13, it is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
11. Regarding claim 14, it is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 2 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
12. Regarding claim 19, it is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claims 3-5, 12, 15-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. US 20150189498 A1, as applied in claim 1, in view of Xie et al. US 20180152891 A1.
Xie et al. US 20180152891 A1 was cited in IDS filed on November 15, 2024.
14. With regard to claim 3, Chen teaches the system switching method according to claim 2 but fails to explicitly teach wherein: a protocol stack supporting the first Bluetooth service comprises a second communication protocol stack running on the second operating system; a protocol stack supporting the second Bluetooth service comprises a first communication protocol stack running on the first operating system and the second communication protocol stack running on the second operating system; and performance of the second Bluetooth service supported by both the first communication protocol stack and the second communication protocol stack is higher than performance of the first Bluetooth service supported by the second communication protocol stack.
However, in analogous art, Xie teaches:
wherein:
a protocol stack supporting the first Bluetooth service comprises a second communication protocol stack running on the second operating system (Fig. 1; [0032] The first and second slave devices 120, 130 are devices that are passive in communication, and the first slave device 120 may be a terminal supporting the BR/EDR Bluetooth protocol or may be a terminal supporting the dual-mode protocol. The second slave device 130 is a terminal supporting a single-mode protocol. The terminal supporting the BR/EDR Bluetooth protocol or the terminal supporting the BLE Bluetooth protocol includes: a mobile phone, a camera, a tablet computer, an earphone, a watch, a heart rate monitor, a step counter, a remote controller, a Bluetooth LED lamp and the like; Examiner’s Note: First slave device is a terminal supporting the BR/EDR Bluetooth protocol or dual-mode protocol.);
a protocol stack supporting the second Bluetooth service comprises a first communication protocol stack running on the first operating system and the second communication protocol stack running on the second operating system (Fig. 1; [0028] The single-mode BLE implementation scheme is generally used in an apparatus in which power saving is the major design intention, for example, a remote sensor, an approximate mark, a health surveillance product or the like; [0032] The first and second slave devices 120, 130 are devices that are passive in communication, and the first slave device 120 may be a terminal supporting the BR/EDR Bluetooth protocol or may be a terminal supporting the dual-mode protocol. The second slave device 130 is a terminal supporting a single-mode protocol. The terminal supporting the BR/EDR Bluetooth protocol or the terminal supporting the BLE Bluetooth protocol includes: a mobile phone, a camera, a tablet computer, an earphone, a watch, a heart rate monitor, a step counter, a remote controller, a Bluetooth LED lamp and the like; [0033] A conventional dual-mode implementation scheme attempts to connect to an apparatus by using a supported maximum data rate. Therefore, if a Bluetooth connection is established between two dual-mode apparatuses, the established Bluetooth connection is a classical Bluetooth connection; and if a Bluetooth connection is established between a dual-mode apparatus and a single-mode apparatus, the established Bluetooth connection is only based on the BLE. For example, when Bluetooth connection are established between a mobile phone using the dual-mode protocol and a wireless headphone using the dual-mode protocol, and between the mobile phone using the dual-mode protocol and a smart bracelet using the BLE protocol respectively, during data transmission, the mobile phone using the dual-mode protocol carries out data communication with the wireless headphone based on the BR/EDR protocol, and carries out data communication with the smart bracelet based on the BLE protocol. In this process, the working modes of the two protocols needs to be reasonable scheduled, to ensure the efficiency of data communication; Examiner’s Note: Second slave device is a terminal supporting a single-mode protocol.); and
performance of the second Bluetooth service supported by both the first communication protocol stack and the second communication protocol stack is higher than performance of the first Bluetooth service supported by the second communication protocol stack ([0027] The Bluetooth wireless communication protocol has been revised for many times during its validity period. The latest version is entitled Bluetooth intelligent (or version 4.0), and the Bluetooth standard V4.0 includes the “classic Bluetooth” and “Bluetooth low energy (BLE)” protocols. In the embodiment, the classical Bluetooth protocol named “basic rate/enhanced data rate (BR/EDR)” has a data throughput higher than that of the BLE, for example, a 1 to 3 Mbit/s symbol rate and a 0.7 to 2.1 Mbit/s application throughput. The BLE supports up to a 1 Mbit/s symbol rate and a 305 kbit/s application throughput. However, the BLE allows the power consumption to be between 1% and 50% of the power consumption of the classical Bluetooth; Examiner’s Note: BLE consumes less power than classical Bluetooth, which means its performance is higher.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Xie wherein: a protocol stack supporting the first Bluetooth service comprises a second communication protocol stack running on the second operating system; a protocol stack supporting the second Bluetooth service comprises a first communication protocol stack running on the first operating system and the second communication protocol stack running on the second operating system; and performance of the second Bluetooth service supported by both the first communication protocol stack and the second communication protocol stack is higher than performance of the first Bluetooth service supported by the second communication protocol stack. Both Chen and Xie teach of Bluetooth connections between devices. Xie goes to further teach the idea of Bluetooth protocol stacks, which enables something like the dual-mode BLE implementation scheme, the BLE protocol stack is integrated into a conventional classical Bluetooth controller, such that the controller is allowed to support the classical Bluetooth or the BLE connection, as discussed in Xie ([0028]). This allows for more flexibility in device connection and communication.
15. With regard to claim 4, Xie further teaches:
wherein the performance of the second Bluetooth service supported by both the first communication protocol stack and the second communication protocol stack is higher than the performance of the first Bluetooth service supported by the second communication protocol stack in that ([0027] The Bluetooth wireless communication protocol has been revised for many times during its validity period. The latest version is entitled Bluetooth intelligent (or version 4.0), and the Bluetooth standard V4.0 includes the “classic Bluetooth” and “Bluetooth low energy (BLE)” protocols. In the embodiment, the classical Bluetooth protocol named “basic rate/enhanced data rate (BR/EDR)” has a data throughput higher than that of the BLE, for example, a 1 to 3 Mbit/s symbol rate and a 0.7 to 2.1 Mbit/s application throughput. The BLE supports up to a 1 Mbit/s symbol rate and a 305 kbit/s application throughput. However, the BLE allows the power consumption to be between 1% and 50% of the power consumption of the classical Bluetooth.):
a data size of the second Bluetooth service supported by both the first communication protocol stack and the second communication protocol stack is greater than a data size of the first Bluetooth service supported by the second communication protocol stack ([0027] In the embodiment, the classical Bluetooth protocol named “basic rate/enhanced data rate (BR/EDR)” has a data throughput higher than that of the BLE, for example, a 1 to 3 Mbit/s symbol rate and a 0.7 to 2.1 Mbit/s application throughput. The BLE supports up to a 1 Mbit/s symbol rate and a 305 kbit/s application throughput. However, the BLE allows the power consumption to be between 1% and 50% of the power consumption of the classical Bluetooth; Examiner’s Note: BR/EDR has higher data throughput than BLE.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Xie wherein the performance of the second Bluetooth service supported by both the first communication protocol stack and the second communication protocol stack is higher than the performance of the first Bluetooth service supported by the second communication protocol stack in that: a data size of the second Bluetooth service supported by both the first communication protocol stack and the second communication protocol stack is greater than a data size of the first Bluetooth service supported by the second communication protocol stack. Having higher throughput allows larger amounts of data to be transferred using fewer transmissions. This ensures that the total amount of data is transferred in fewer trips.
16. With regard to claim 5, Xie further teaches:
wherein:
the first Bluetooth service is a basic service ([0028] For example, cellular calls may need to communicate with the classical wireless headphone and a health surveillance apparatus using the BLE; Examiner’s Note: BLE is the basic service.); and
the second Bluetooth service is a superior service relying on the first Bluetooth service ([0028] For example, cellular calls may need to communicate with the classical wireless headphone and a health surveillance apparatus using the BLE; Examiner’s Note: Cellular calls communicating with the classical wireless headphone and health surveillance apparatus using the BLE is a superior service relying on the first Bluetooth service (BLE).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Xie wherein: the first Bluetooth service is a basic service; and the second Bluetooth service is a superior service relying on the first Bluetooth service. Both Chen and Xie teach of Bluetooth connections between devices. Xie goes to further teach the idea of Bluetooth protocol stacks, which enables something like the dual-mode BLE implementation scheme, the BLE protocol stack is integrated into a conventional classical Bluetooth controller, such that the controller is allowed to support the classical Bluetooth or the BLE connection, as discussed in Xie ([0028]). This allows for more flexibility in device connection and communication. Additionally, this allows for dependent Bluetooth services that utilize other Bluetooth services in order to provide more complex functions. For example, Xie discusses, cellular calls may need to communicate with the classical wireless headphone and a health surveillance apparatus using the BLE ([0028]). This allows a device to rely on BLE in order to provide services such as health surveillance.
17. With regard to claim 12, Xie further teaches:
wherein the first operating system has greater power consumption than the second operating system ([0027] The Bluetooth wireless communication protocol has been revised for many times during its validity period. The latest version is entitled Bluetooth intelligent (or version 4.0), and the Bluetooth standard V4.0 includes the “classic Bluetooth” and “Bluetooth low energy (BLE)” protocols. In the embodiment, the classical Bluetooth protocol named “basic rate/enhanced data rate (BR/EDR)” has a data throughput higher than that of the BLE, for example, a 1 to 3 Mbit/s symbol rate and a 0.7 to 2.1 Mbit/s application throughput. The BLE supports up to a 1 Mbit/s symbol rate and a 305 kbit/s application throughput. However, the BLE allows the power consumption to be between 1% and 50% of the power consumption of the classical Bluetooth.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Xie wherein the first operating system has greater power consumption than the second operating system. Both Chen and Xie teach of Bluetooth connections between devices. Xie goes to further teach the idea of Bluetooth protocol stacks, which enables something like the dual-mode BLE implementation scheme, the BLE protocol stack is integrated into a conventional classical Bluetooth controller, such that the controller is allowed to support the classical Bluetooth or the BLE connection, as discussed in Xie ([0028]). This allows for more flexibility in device connection and communication. Additionally, this ensures that the system functions as efficiently as possible with minimal power consumption.
18. Regarding claim 15, it is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 3 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
19. Regarding claim 16, it is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 4 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
20. Regarding claim 17, it is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 5 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
21. Regarding claim 20, it is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 5 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
22. Claims 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. US 20150189498 A1 and Xie et al. US 20180152891 A1, as applied in claim 2, in further view of Atkinson et al. US 20140136233 A1.
23. With regard to claim 6, Chen and Xie teach the system switching method according to claim 2 but fail to explicitly teach wherein: the second Bluetooth service comprises at least one of a Bluetooth multimedia service and a Bluetooth internet service; and the first Bluetooth service comprises at least one of a communication connection establishment service and a physiological data transmission service.
However, in analogous art, Atkinson teaches:
wherein:
the second Bluetooth service comprises at least one of a Bluetooth multimedia service and a Bluetooth internet service ([0005] The present invention relates generally to social networking, Health Information Exchange (HIE), Personal Health Records (PHR) and more particularly to systems and methods for integrating external data from a Health Information Exchange (HIE), Personal Health Record (PHR), Picture Archiving and Communications System (PACS), Hospital Information Systems (HIS), Laboratory Information Systems (LIS), Assigned Healthcare Providers, along with external data from a plurality of sources and integrating all of these data points with a social network system and a cloud or internet based aggregate repository network to generate a communication environment of interoperability between external data sources points that traditionally would never interface, but would interface and communicate to organize, distribute, and store healthcare record information in a chronologically ordered format within the Global Personal Health Record Timeline (GPHRT) platform. These aforementioned embodiments would further be integrated into an (ERP/EMRSE) or Enterprise Resource Planning Electronic Medical Records Software Environment which would interconnect an Network Aggregate Database Repository with a Cloud or web-based Global Patient Health Record Timeline interface portal, security interface, (CRM) customer resource management platform, Practice Management platform (PM) e-commerce interface, "HIPPA" compliant Security filter, and Radiofrequency Identification Technology (RFID) and Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) Technology interface to connect beneficial users or patient to healthcare provider users and these users to external sources of medical and health records data; Examiner’s Note: The health monitoring system and all its services are a Bluetooth multimedia service.); and
the first Bluetooth service comprises at least one of a communication connection establishment service and a physiological data transmission service ([0005] Security filter, and Radiofrequency Identification Technology (RFID) and Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) Technology interface to connect beneficial users or patient to healthcare provider users and these users to external sources of medical and health records data; [0018] [...] Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) technology, or any other device or application capable of providing the transmittal, storage, and transfer of information to and from Global Personal Health Record Timeline platform via the network 109C; Examiner’s Note: BLE is a Bluetooth service that transfers information to and from Global Personal Health Record Timeline platform via the network.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen and Xie with the teachings of Atkinson wherein: the second Bluetooth service comprises at least one of a Bluetooth multimedia service and a Bluetooth internet service; and the first Bluetooth service comprises at least one of a communication connection establishment service and a physiological data transmission service. Xie teaches of a Bluetooth service that relies on another Bluetooth service. An example Xie gives of this relationship is a health surveillance apparatus relying on BLE to provide its health monitoring services. Similarly, Atkinson teaches of a Global Personal Health Record Timeline (GPHRT), which is a multimedia service, that provides patients access to things such as personal health records and health information exchange. The GPHRT utilizes BLE in order to transfer information to and from the GPHRT; therefore, the GPHRT relies on BLE to transmit information in order to provide its health services ([0005]).
24. Regarding claim 18, it is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 6 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
25. Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. US 20150189498 A1 and Xie et al. US 20180152891 A1, as applied in claim 3, in further view of Heo et al. US 20140094198 A1.
26. With regard to claim 7, Chen and Xie teach the system switching method according to claim 3 but fail to explicitly teach wherein said in response to the first instruction, running, by the electronic device, the first operating system comprises: transmitting the first instruction to the first operating system by the second operating system; and enabling, in response to the first instruction, the first operating system to enter an awakened state from a dormant state.
However, in analogous art, Heo teaches:
wherein said in response to the first instruction, running, by the electronic device, the first operating system comprises:
transmitting the first instruction to the first operating system by the second operating system ([0103] The first processor 180 receives an interrupt from the second processor 190.); and
enabling, in response to the first instruction, the first operating system to enter an awakened state from a dormant state ([0103] The interrupt is the signal instructing to transition from the sleep mode to the active mode or to stop processing data in the active mode and start processing Bluetooth communication data first. In detail, the first processor 180 in the sleep mode wakes up upon receipt of the interrupt signal from the second processor 190.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen and Xie with the teachings of Heo wherein said in response to the first instruction, running, by the electronic device, the first operating system comprises: transmitting the first instruction to the first operating system by the second operating system; and enabling, in response to the first instruction, the first operating system to enter an awakened state from a dormant state. Both Xie and Heo teach of Bluetooth connections using Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE). It would make sense that when transmitting an instruction to the first operating system from the second operating system, the first operating system enters an awake state from a dormant state. This prepares the first operating system to execute its services.
27. With regard to claim 8, Heo further teaches:
further comprising:
in the awakened state of the first operating system, enabling the first communication protocol stack to run on the first operating system and the second communication protocol stack to continue to run on the second operating system ([0103] The first processor 180 receives an interrupt from the second processor 190. The interrupt is the signal instructing to transition from the sleep mode to the active mode or to stop processing data in the active mode and start processing Bluetooth communication data first. In detail, the first processor 180 in the sleep mode wakes up upon receipt of the interrupt signal from the second processor 190. After waking up in response to the interrupt signal from the second processor, the first processor 180 enters the active mode to process the BLE packet received from the second processor. The first processor 180 receives the interrupt signal instructing the first processor 180 to process the BLE packet from the second processor 190 with priority. If the interrupt signal instructing to process the BLE packet with priority is received, the first processor 180 stops processing the current data and starts processing the BLE packet; [0104] The second processor 190 includes the Micro Processor Unit (MPU), Micro Control Unit (MCU), sensor nub processor, etc. as low energy processors. The second processor 190 connects to the sensing unit 160 and the Bluetooth communication unit 140 to monitor occurrence of operation signals by detecting Bluetooth communication signal and sensor signal periodically. The second processor 190 includes the protocol stack and profile 191 for BLE communication; [0105] The second processor 190 receives the information on the operation state of the first processor 180 or monitors it periodically. The second processor 190 controls the switching unit 150 to deliver the Bluetooth communication data to one of the first and second processors 180 and 190 selectively based on the received state information. The second processor 190 receives the operation state information from the first processor 180 or monitors the operation state of the first processor 180 periodically; Examiner’s Note: The first processor processes the BLE packets, while the second processor delivers Bluetooth communication data.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen and Xie with the teachings of Heo further comprising: in the awakened state of the first operating system, enabling the first communication protocol stack to run on the first operating system and the second communication protocol stack to continue to run on the second operating system. It would make sense that when the first operating system is in an awakened state that the protocol stacks run on their respective operating systems.
28. With regard to claim 9, Heo further teaches:
further comprising:
in the dormant state of the first operating system, stopping running the first communication protocol stack and running the second communication protocol stack on the second operating system ([0055] In the present disclosure, the term `sleep mode` denotes the inactive state of the first processor such as application processor when the mobile terminal is in idle state, i.e., standby state. In the sleep mode, the first processor is configured to cut off the power supply to the function blocks connected to first processor. In the case where the first processor operates in the sleep mode, the second processor operates in the sensor mode or Bluetooth communication mode. Even when the mobile terminal is in idle state, the second processor is configured to collect Bluetooth communication information such as lower energy Bluetooth packet as well as the sensor information.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen, Xie, and Kang with the teachings of Heo further comprising: in the dormant state of the first operating system, stopping running the first communication protocol stack and running the second communication protocol stack on the second operating system. It would make sense that when the first operating system is in a dormant state that certain services can continue running on the second operating system. This helps offload certain tasks to a second operating system, as discussed in Heo ([0102]; [0137]; [01401]).
29. With regard to claim 10, Heo further teaches:
wherein said enabling, in response to the first instruction, the first operating system to enter the awakened state from the dormant state comprises:
determining, based on a service type of a current to-be-processed service, whether the first operating system enters the awakened state from the dormant state, wherein the service type comprises a first performance service and a second performance service ([0103] The first processor 180 receives an interrupt from the second processor 190. The interrupt is the signal instructing to transition from the sleep mode to the active mode or to stop processing data in the active mode and start processing Bluetooth communication data first. In detail, the first processor 180 in the sleep mode wakes up upon receipt of the interrupt signal from the second processor 190. After waking up in response to the interrupt signal from the second processor, the first processor 180 enters the active mode to process the BLE packet received from the second processor. The first processor 180 receives the interrupt signal instructing the first processor 180 to process the BLE packet from the second processor 190 with priority. If the interrupt signal instructing to process the BLE packet with priority is received, the first processor 180 stops processing the current data and starts processing the BLE packet.);
enabling, when the current to-be-processed service is the first performance service, the first operating system to enter the awakened state from the dormant state ([0103] The first processor 180 receives an interrupt from the second processor 190. The interrupt is the signal instructing to transition from the sleep mode to the active mode or to stop processing data in the active mode and start processing Bluetooth communication data first. In detail, the first processor 180 in the sleep mode wakes up upon receipt of the interrupt signal from the second processor 190. After waking up in response to the interrupt signal from the second processor, the first processor 180 enters the active mode to process the BLE packet received from the second processor. The first processor 180 receives the interrupt signal instructing the first processor 180 to process the BLE packet from the second processor 190 with priority. If the interrupt signal instructing to process the BLE packet with priority is received, the first processor 180 stops processing the current data and starts processing the BLE packet.); and
enabling, when the current to-be-processed service is the second performance service, the first operating system to be still in the dormant state, the first performance service having a higher performance index than the second performance service ([0102] If the Bluetooth communication data is received, the first processor 180 determines whether the condition for processing the Bluetooth communication is fulfilled. The Bluetooth communication can be the BLE packet. For example, if its utilization is equal to or less than a predetermined threshold (e.g., 90), the first processor 180 is configured to process the BLE packet. If its utilization is greater than the threshold, the first processor 180 operates such that the second processor 190 processes the BLE packet. If the BLE packet is received in the state that the utilization of the first processor 180 is greater than the threshold, the first processor 180 generates an interrupt signal to the second processor 190 and forwards the BLE packet to the second processor 190; [0137] Once the control right information and sleep mode transition information have been transmitted to the second processor completely, the first processor enters the sleep mode. If the first processor enters the sleep mode, the second processor operates in the Bluetooth communication mode and sensor mode to perform corresponding operations; [0141] The second processor controls the switching unit to transfer the Bluetooth communication data to the first or second processor according to the operation state information on the first processor at step 620. In detail, if the first processor operates in the sleep mode or the utilization of the first processor is greater than the predetermined threshold value, the second processor controls the switching unit to relay the Bluetooth communication data to the second processor.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen and Xie with the teachings of Heo wherein said enabling, in response to the first instruction, the first operating system to enter the awakened state from the dormant state comprises: determining, based on a service type of a current to-be-processed service, whether the first operating system enters the awakened state from the dormant state, wherein the service type comprises a first performance service and a second performance service; enabling, when the current to-be-processed service is the first performance service, the first operating system to enter the awakened state from the dormant state; and enabling, when the current to-be-processed service is the second performance service, the first operating system to be still in the dormant state, the first performance service having a higher performance index than the second performance service. Chen, Xie, and Heo all teach of Bluetooth connections between devices, and Xie and Heo teach specifically of BLE protocol stacks. Moreover, Heo teaches of continuing to run a second performance service on the second processor, allowing the first operating system to remain in a dormant state. This allows the first operating system to offload tasks to a second processor so that its utilization threshold is not exceeded, as discussed in Heo ([0102]; [0137]; [01401]).
30. With regard to claim 11, Heo further teaches:
wherein the method further comprises, subsequent to said in response to the first instruction, running, by the electronic device the first operating system:
determining, based on a service type of a current to-be-processed service, whether the first operating system enters an awakened state from a dormant state, wherein the current to-be- processed service comprises a first performance service and a second performance service, the first performance service having a higher performance index than the second performance service ([0103] The first processor 180 receives an interrupt from the second processor 190. The interrupt is the signal instructing to transition from the sleep mode to the active mode or to stop processing data in the active mode and start processing Bluetooth communication data first. In detail, the first processor 180 in the sleep mode wakes up upon receipt of the interrupt signal from the second processor 190. After waking up in response to the interrupt signal from the second processor, the first processor 180 enters the active mode to process the BLE packet received from the second processor. The first processor 180 receives the interrupt signal instructing the first processor 180 to process the BLE packet from the second processor 190 with priority. If the interrupt signal instructing to process the BLE packet with priority is received, the first processor 180 stops processing the current data and starts processing the BLE packet; [0107] If the wake-up signal is received from the first processor 180 in the middle of processing the BLE packet, the second processor 190 forwards the BLE packet to the first processor 180. In the case that the first processor is operating in the active mode, the second processor 190 generates an interrupt signal instructing to stop processing the current task and start processing the BLE packet with priority. For example, if a BLE packet transmitted by a health care appliance or a medical appliance is received, the second processor 190 generates an interrupt; however the present disclosure is not limited thereto; Examiner’s Note: Priority indicates a performance index.);
determining, when the current to-be-processed service is the first performance service, that the first operating system is still in the awakened state, and enabling the first communication protocol stack to run on the first operating system and the second communication protocol stack to run on the second operating system ([0103] The first processor 180 receives an interrupt from the second processor 190. The interrupt is the signal instructing to transition from the sleep mode to the active mode or to stop processing data in the active mode and start processing Bluetooth communication data first. In detail, the first processor 180 in the sleep mode wakes up upon receipt of the interrupt signal from the second processor 190. After waking up in response to the interrupt signal from the second processor, the first processor 180 enters the active mode to process the BLE packet received from the second processor. The first processor 180 receives the interrupt signal instructing the first processor 180 to process the BLE packet from the second processor 190 with priority. If the interrupt signal instructing to process the BLE packet with priority is received, the first processor 180 stops processing the current data and starts processing the BLE packet; [0104] The second processor 190 includes the Micro Processor Unit (MPU), Micro Control Unit (MCU), sensor nub processor, etc. as low energy processors. The second processor 190 connects to the sensing unit 160 and the Bluetooth communication unit 140 to monitor occurrence of operation signals by detecting Bluetooth communication signal and sensor signal periodically. The second processor 190 includes the protocol stack and profile 191 for BLE communication; [0105] The second processor 190 receives the information on the operation state of the first processor 180 or monitors it periodically. The second processor 190 controls the switching unit 150 to deliver the Bluetooth communication data to one of the first and second processors 180 and 190 selectively based on the received state information. The second processor 190 receives the operation state information from the first processor 180 or monitors the operation state of the first processor 180 periodically; Examiner’s Note: The first processor processes the BLE packets, while the second processor delivers Bluetooth communication data.); and
determining, when the current to-be-processed service is the second performance service, that the first operating system enters the dormant state from the awakened state, and controlling the first communication protocol stack to stop running and the second communication protocol stack to run on the second operating system ([0055] In the present disclosure, the term `sleep mode` denotes the inactive state of the first processor such as application processor when the mobile terminal is in idle state, i.e., standby state. In the sleep mode, the first processor is configured to cut off the power supply to the function blocks connected to first processor. In the case where the first processor operates in the sleep mode, the second processor operates in the sensor mode or Bluetooth communication mode. Even when the mobile terminal is in idle state, the second processor is configured to collect Bluetooth communication information such as lower energy Bluetooth packet as well as the sensor information.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen and Xie with the teachings of Heo wherein the method further comprises, subsequent to said in response to the first instruction, running, by the electronic device the first operating system: determining, based on a service type of a current to-be-processed service, whether the first operating system enters an awakened state from a dormant state, wherein the current to-be- processed service comprises a first performance service and a second performance service, the first performance service having a higher performance index than the second performance service; determining, when the current to-be-processed service is the first performance service, that the first operating system is still in the awakened state, and enabling the first communication protocol stack to run on the first operating system and the second communication protocol stack to run on the second operating system; and determining, when the current to-be-processed service is the second performance service, that the first operating system enters the dormant state from the awakened state, and controlling the first communication protocol stack to stop running and the second communication protocol stack to run on the second operating system. Chen, Xie, and Heo all teach of Bluetooth connections between devices, and Xie and Heo teach specifically of BLE protocol stacks. Moreover, Heo teaches of running services on either the first operating system or second operating system based on service type. This allows the first operating system to offload certain tasks to a second processor so that its utilization threshold is not exceeded, as discussed in Heo ([0102]; [0137]; [01401]).
Conclusion
/AN-AN NGOC NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2195
/Aimee Li/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2195