DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recite “the first flow path flows around the exterior of the first tube”. It is how flow path could flow around. Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the first" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Due to the dependency to the parent claim, claims 2-14 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 9, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grant (PG-PUB US 2014/0079617).
Regarding claims 1, and 15-16, Grant disclose a plasma generating apparatus (ABSTRACT). The apparatus comprises a non-thermal plasma reactor 30 comprising
(1) an inlet 44/outlet 46 flow path and a flow path along an annular gap 42 within the plasma reactor (i.e., a first flow path …, a second/oxidizing flow path of a second stream to flow through the first tube, Figures 2-3, paragraphs [0030] – [0031]);
(2) a first central electrode 32 in the plasma reactor 30 (i.e., an inner electrode …, Figures 2-3, paragraphs [0030] – [0031]);
(3) a second outer electrode 34 concentrically surrounding the first electrode 32, wherein the second outer electrode 34 includes the outlet 46 (i.e., an outer electrode having the outlet, Figures 2-3, paragraphs [0030] – [0031]); and
(4) a power supply for generating non-thermal plasma/dielectric barrier discharge between the first electrode 32 and the second electrode 34 (i.e., a power supply …, Figures 2-3, paragraphs [0013], [0030] – [0031]),
wherein the longitudinal axis of the plasma reactor 30 is perpendicular to the inlet 44/outlet 46 flow path (i.e., the first tube has an axis extending the length of the first tube, and the axis of the first tube is perpendicular to the first flow path, Figures 2-3).
Grant also teaches that a plurality of plasma reactors may be provided (paragraph [0015]). Moreover, the limitation of “the first stream flows around…” is a result of operating the device, which does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114).
Regarding claim 2, Grant teaches that a plurality of plasma reactors may be provided (paragraph [0015]). It should be noted that the limitation of “the first stream flows around…” is a result of operating the device, which does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114).
Regarding claim 9, Grant teaches that the second electrode 34 is in the form of cylinder (Figures 2-3, paragraph [0030]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grant (PG-PUB US 2014/0079617) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Wang et al (U.S. 5,827,497, cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 3, Grant teaches that a plurality of plasma reactor may be provided in series for increase the efficiency (paragraph [0015]), but does not teach the plasma reactors being arranged in rows. However, Wang et al disclose a plasma generating apparatus (ABSTRACT). Wang teaches that a plurality of plasma reactor elements 8 having an inner electrode 10 and an outer electrode 12 is arranged in parallel to increase treatment capacity (Figure 1, col. 3, line 35-41). Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to arrange the plasma reactors in parallel rows as suggested by Wang in order to increase treatment capacity within the device of Grant.
Regarding claims 4-8, Wang teaches that the reactor elements 8 may have various cross-sectional shape and be arranged in various patterns, including offset with different configurations, to achieve desired results (Figure 3, col. 4, line 25-32). Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would have realized to arrange the reactor elements with different geometrical patterns having different spaces therebetween in order to achieve desired results within the device of Grant/Wang.
Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grant (PG-PUB US 2014/0079617) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Koo et al (PG-PUB US 2011/0101862).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Grant does not teach the electrode having at least three features thereupon. However, Koo et al disclose a plasma generating apparatus (ABSTACT). Koo teaches that the plasma generating apparatus comprises an inner electrode 42 and an outer electrode 43, wherein the electrodes include a plurality of grooves in a spiral configuration (e.g., at least three features of cross-sectional area, Figure 7, paragraphs [0097] – [0098]). The teaching of Koo shows that having a plurality of features/grooves in a spiral configuration on the electrodes is an equivalent electrode arrangement of a plasma generating apparatus. Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to include a plurality of features in a spiral configuration on the electrodes because it is an art-recognized equivalent.
Regarding claim 12, Koo teaches that the plasma generating apparatus comprises an inner electrode 42 and an outer electrode 43, wherein the electrodes include a plurality of grooves in a spiral configuration (e.g., at least three features of cross-sectional area, Figure 7, paragraphs [0097] – [0098]).
Regarding claim 13, Grant teaches that a plurality of plasma reactor having electrodes may be provided in series (paragraph [0015]). It should be noted that the limitation of “wherein the voltage is applied to…” is a result of operating the device, which does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114).
Regarding claim 14, Wang teaches that plasma may be generated by pulsed electric energy (paragraph [0063]). It should be noted that the limitation of “to alter a flow speed…” is a result of operating the device, which does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, and 11-17 of U.S. Patent No. 10,543,457. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims an apparatus comprising substantially the same structures as that of issued patent.
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, and 11-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,000,802. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims an apparatus comprising substantially the same structures as that of issued patent.
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,712,657. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims an apparatus comprising substantially the same structures as that of issued patent.
Conclusion
Claims 1-16 are rejected.
/XIUYU TAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795