Response to Amendment
The following addresses applicant’s remarks/amendments dated 5/26/2026.
The amendments are sufficient to overcome the objections to the specification.
The amendments are sufficient to overcome the objection to the claims.
The amendment is sufficient to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claims 1, 5, and 20 were amended. Claim 13 and 18 were cancelled. Claims 21-22 were added. Therefore, claims 1-12. 14-17, and 19-22 are currently pending in the current application and are addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/26/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that there is no foreign priority claimed. The examiner agrees. The coversheet of the current Office action is corrected. Additionally, the Priority section below also clarifies this point.
Applicant’s argument regarding the prior art rejection is not persuasive. The amendments do not necessitate a new ground of rejection, as the current prior art alone or in combination teaches the amended claims.
The applicant states on page 14 of the remarks that the primary reference Borchers “does not disclose or suggest that ‘during rotation of the reflective structure, a plurality of blackout periods occurs, and the light source is configured to stop emitting light during the plurality of blackout periods,’”. However, the applicant failed to consider Borchers Para [0048], Fig 4A, where “the light of each beam is turned off when the beam falls in a blanking region 412 or 413”, which teaches the limitation.
The applicant states on page 15 of the remarks that claim 21 is “also allowable at least by virtue of its dependence from claim 1 and also on its own merits”. However, the applicant failed to consider Borchers, Para [0021], Fig 4A where reflectors are disclosed, like with vertical adjuster 340, coupled with step actuators in the scanning display system, which teaches the claim
The applicant states on page 15-16 of the remarks that the cited references “do not disclose or suggest these elements of claim 22”. However, the applicant failed to consider Hayakawa, Para [0014], Fig 2, where polygon mirror 104 has facets at angle "a" to the rotation axis. Multiple facets may be at this angle to scan at one angle, while multiple facets can be at "-a" to scan at high and low angles, such as in Borchers Fig 4B. Additionally polygon mirror facets that are parallel with respect to the axis of rotation and collectively teach the limitation.
Priority
Application 18206221 filed 06/06/2023 is a continuation of PCT/CN2020/142434, filed 12/31/2020.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 12, 14, 16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being unpatentable by Borchers et al. (US 20100020377 A1, "Borchers)
Regarding claim 1, Borchers teaches a detection apparatus, comprising:
a light source to emit a light pulse sequence (Para [0022], Fig IA, where laser module 10 produces and scans multiple beams onto screen 1); and
a first scanner and a second scanner disposed in an optical path of the light pulse sequence to change propagation direction of the light pulse sequence, the first scanner alone being capable of causing an outgoing light beam to scan along a first path, and the second scanner alone being capable of causing the outgoing light beam to scan along a second path (Para [0041], Fig. 3, where first scanner consists of vertical adjuster 340 which scans vertically and second scanner consists of polygon scanner 350 which scans horizontally);
wherein.:
the first scanner includes a reflector and a first driver to drive the reflector to swing back and forth in a stepwise manner (Para [0021] lin. 21-3 5 discloses reflectors, like with vertical adjuster 340, being coupled with step actuators in the scanning display system); [[and]]
the second scanner includes a reflective structure and a second driver, the reflective structure including at least two reflective surfaces, the second driver drives the reflective structure to rotate so that the at least two reflective surfaces are rotated sequentially onto the optical path of the light pulse sequence to cause the detection apparatus to form a scan in a two-dimensional direction (Para [0023], Fig IA where disclosed is a scanning controller that drive the rotation of the vertical adjuster and the rotation of the polygon scanner. Additionally, Para [0041], Fig. 3, where second scanner consists of polygon scanner 350 which scans horizontally); and
during rotation of the reflective structure, a plurality of blackout periods occur, and the light source is configured to stop emitting light during the plurality of blackout periods (Para [0048] and [0049], Fig 4A, where the light of each beam is turned off when the beam falls on blanking regions 412 and 413, and therefore turn off during the plurality of blackout periods).
Regarding claim 5, Borchers teaches the detection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein:
during (Para [0048], Fig 4A, where each facet of the polygon mirror has its own blanking region. Para, [0049] discloses the vertical adjuster changing orientation during these periods), and
the plurality of blackout periods include at least one of a duration of edge regions of two adjacent reflective surfaces lying on the optical path of the light pulse sequence, a duration of [[an]] junction region of two adjacent reflective surfaces lying on the optical path of the light pulse sequence, or a duration of the nearest reflective surface of the at least two reflective surfaces to the optical path of the light pulse sequence being approximately parallel to the optical path of the light pulse sequence (Para [0048], Fig 4A, where each facet of the polygon mirror has its own blanking region with edge regions 412 and 413 with central scanning region 411 in multiple polygon facets).
Regarding claim 6, Borchers teaches the detection apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the first driver controls the reflector to remain stationary during a non-blackout period between two adjacent blackout periods (Para [0049], Fig, 4A, where during scanning, the vertical adjuster 340 stays fixed between blackout periods).
Regarding claim 7, Borchers teaches the detection apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the first driver communicates with the second driver to control the oscillation of the reflector according to a rotation angle of the reflective structure (Para [0020] Fig. 5, where the vertical adjuster and polygon scanner are synchronized such that during each frame the polygon scanner rotates twice and the vertical adjuster scans two fields).
Regarding claim 12, Borchers teaches the detection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first driver drives the reflector to oscillate at an even or variable speed and the second driver drives the reflective structure to rotate at an even speed (Para [0049], Fig, 4A where during scanning, the vertical adjuster orients between two fields per frame, and the polygon scanner completes a full rotation twice per frame).
Regarding claim 14, Borchers teaches the detection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least two reflective surfaces are connected end to end and are provided in a centrosymmetric or rotationally symmetric manner around a rotation axis of the reflective structure (Para [0046], Fig 4A and 4B, where the polygon scanner rotates about rotation axis 401, the same as that disclosed in Para [0047], and has adjacent tilted polygon facets).
Regarding claim 16, Borchers teaches the detection apparatus according to claim 14, wherein at least one of the at least two reflective surfaces is not parallel to the rotation axis of the reflective structure, an angle between the one of the at least two reflective surfaces and the rotation axis of the reflective structure being an acute angle (Para [0053], Fig 4A and 4B, where facets 470 are tilted at an acute angle with respect to rotation axis 401, to get scanning beams on screen 1).
Regarding claim 21, Borchers teaches the detection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first scanner includes a reflector and a driver configured to drive the reflector to swing back and forth in a stepwise manner (Para [0021] lin. 21-35 discloses reflectors, like with vertical adjuster 340, being coupled with step actuators in the scanning display system).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 8-11, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borchers in view of McWhirter (US 20190154889 A1, "McWhirter").
Regarding claim 2, Borchers teaches the detection apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein, during sampling duration corresponding to each of two adjacent point cloud frames, the first driver drives the reflector to start in a first attitude and end in a second attitude, the reflector oscillating from the first attitude in the same direction for a plurality of steps and then moving to the second attitude (Borchers Para [0050], Fig 5, discloses where the first attitude is the first field being scanned and the second attitude is the second field being scanned. This is similar to the process disclosed in Para [0026]).
However, Borchers does not teach, wherein the detection apparatus outputs a sequence of point cloud frames.
On the other hand, McWhirter does teach the use of a Lidar system to collect and generate point cloud frame data (McWhirter, Para [0147], Fig 35, where the lidar system 120A is configured to repeatedly capture and generate point clouds at multiple frames per second).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the detection apparatus of Borchers in view of McWhirter, by applying the technique of collecting point cloud frames such that the Lidar system can generate data based on the scanned lasers. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale D.
Regarding claim 3, Borchers in view of McWhirter teaches the detection apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the detection apparatus acquires point cloud data during a period when the reflector moves from the first attitude to the second attitude; the detection apparatus does not acquire point cloud data during a period when the reflector moves from the second attitude to the first attitude (Borchers Para [0050], Fig 5, where the first attitude is the first field being scanned and the second attitude is the second field being scanned. Each facet of the polygon mirror is tilted at a different angle, and one rotation defines one field. This is similar to the process disclosed in Para [0026]. Point cloud data can not be collected when going from the second field to the first, because then a new frame would begin for scanning), and/or.
the light source emits the light pulse sequence during the period when the reflector moves from the first attitude to the second attitude, and does not emit a light pulse sequence during the period when the reflector moves from the second attitude to the first attitude.
Regarding claim 4, Borchers in view of McWhirter teaches the detection apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the first driver drives the reflector to swing the plurality of steps in the same direction from the first attitude to the second attitude, and drives the reflector to swing one step back from the second attitude to the first attitude (Borchers Para [0050], Fig 5, where the first attitude is the first field being scanned and the second attitude is the second field being scanned. This is similar to the process disclosed in Para [0026]. The vertical adjuster to scan multiple frames, must go from the second field attitude back to the first field attitude to scan multiple frames).
Regarding claim 8, Borchers in view of McWhirter teaches the detection apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the reflector oscillates at least one step when the detection apparatus switches from one point cloud row to another point cloud row, or the reflector oscillates at least one step when the detection apparatus switches from one point cloud frame to another point cloud frame (McWhirter, Para [0147], Fig 35, where the lidar system 120A across a field of regard collects a frame of pixels. When looking at two fields as disclosed in Borchers, [0049], Fig. 4B, the vertical adjuster adjusts from one field to the next and therefore from one point cloud row to another).
Regarding claim 9, Borchers in view of McWhirter teaches the detection apparatus according to claim 8, wherein during the rotation of the reflective structure, there are a number of blackout periods, the first driver controls the oscillation of the reflector during at least part of the number of blackout periods, the blackout periods each being greater than or equal to a switching duration of point cloud rows or point cloud frames of the detection apparatus (Borchers, Para [0051], Fig 4A, where there is a blanking region 412 that allows for the transition between two fields through the rotation of the polygon scanner, the vertical adjuster changing orientation).
Regarding claim 10, Borchers in view of McWhirter teaches the detection apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the first driver drives the reflector from the second attitude to the first attitude for a period less than or equal to one of the blackout periods (Borchers, Para [0051], Fig 4A, where there is a blanking region 412 that allows for the transition between two fields through the rotation of the polygon scanner, which also allows for the transition between two frames).
Regarding claim 11, Borchers in view of McWhirter teaches the detection apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the reflector oscillates for at least one step during one of the blackout periods (Borchers, Para [0051], Fig 4A, where there is a blanking region that allows for the transition between two fields through the rotation of the polygon scanner during a blanking period).
Regarding claim 19, Borchers teaches the detection apparatus according to claim 1,
However, Borchers does not teach wherein the detection apparatus further comprises a collimating structure to collimate the light pulse sequence emitted by the light source, the collimating structure and the first scanner disposed in sequence along the optical path of the light pulse sequence from the light source.
wherein a spot formed by the outgoing beam of the light source on the collimating structure is offset from a center of the collimating structure
On the other hand, McWhirter teaches using a collimating lens to collimate the light source toward a polygon mirror (McWhirter, Para [0096], Fig 22, where the collimator 77 (which can be a lens as disclosed by Para [0088]) direct light toward rotatable polygon mirror 12 and can be substituted for Borchers, Fig 3 imaging optics 370).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the detection apparatus of Borchers in view of McWhirter, by substituting the collimator disclosed in McWhirter for the imaging optics in Fig. 3 of Borcher, to collimate light that is oriented by the vertical adjuster. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale B.
Regarding claim 20, Borchers teaches a moveable platform, comprising [[.]]:
a platform body (Borchers, Para [0022], Fig 1A, where in order to be incorporated in a scanning system as disclosed in Para [0020], laser module 10 must be encompassed in a body); and
a light source to emit a light pulse sequence (Borchers, Para [0022], Fig 1A, where laser module 10 produces and scans multiple beams onto screen 1);
a first scanner and a second scanner disposed in an optical path of the light pulse sequence to change propagation direction of the light pulse sequence, the first scanner alone being capable of causing an outgoing light beam to scan along a first path, and the second scanner alone being capable of causing the outgoing light beam to scan along a second path (Borchers Para [0041], Fig. 3, where first scanner consists of vertical adjuster 340 which scans vertically and second scanner consists of polygon scanner 350 which scans horizontally);
wherein:
the first scanner includes a reflector and a first driver to drive the reflector to swing back and forth in a stepwise manner (Borchers, Para [0021] lin. 21-35 discloses reflectors, like with vertical adjuster 340, being coupled with step actuators in the scanning display system); [[and]]
the second scanner includes a reflective structure and a second driver, the reflective structure including at least two reflective surfaces, the second driver drives the reflective structure to rotate so that the at least two reflective surfaces are rotated sequentially onto the optical path of the light pulse sequence to cause the detection apparatus to form a scan in a two-dimensional direction (Borchers, Para [0023], Fig 1A where disclosed is a scanning controller that drive the rotation of the vertical adjuster and the rotation of the polygon scanner. Additionally, Para [0041], Fig. 3, where second scanner consists of polygon scanner 350 which scans horizontally); and
during rotation of the reflective structure, a plurality of blackout periods occur, and the light source is configured to stop emitting light during the plurality of blackout periods (Para [0048] and [0049], Fig 4A, where the light of each beam is turned off when the beam falls on blanking regions 412 and 413, and therefore turn off during the plurality of blackout periods).
However, Borchers does not teach a detection apparatus disposed on the platform body to provide distance information for the movable platform, the detection apparatus comprising.
On the other hand, McWhirter teaches an apparatus with time of flight to determine distance (McWhirter, Para [0124], Fig 26B, where the receiver 128A generates a signal to the controller 130 to determine distance information through time of flight).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the detection apparatus of Borchers in view of McWhirter, by substituting a time-of-flight detection apparatus for Borchers Fig 3, controller 20, to determine distance. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale D.
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borchers in view of Hayakawa (US 20090219599 A1, “Hayakawa”)
Regarding claim 15, Borchers teaches the detection apparatus according to claim 14.
However, Borchers does not teach wherein the at least two reflective surfaces are parallel to the rotation axis of the reflective structure respectively.
On the other hand, Hayakawa teaches polygon mirror facets that are parallel to the axis of rotation of a reflective structure (Hayakawa, Para [0014], Fig 2, where polygon mirror 105 has facets parallel with respect to the axis of rotation).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the detection apparatus of Borchers in view of Hayakawa by adjusting the angle of the mirror facets with respect to the reflective structure, such that they are parallel. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale D.
Regarding claim 17, Borchers teaches the detection apparatus according to claim 16.
However, Borchers does not teach wherein one of the at least two reflective surfaces has an angle of +beta degrees with the rotation axis of the reflective structure, and another of the at least two reflective surfaces has an angle of -beta degrees with the rotation axis of the reflective structure, where beta is a value greater than 0.
On the other hand, Hayakawa teaches polygon mirror facets that are at an angle with respect to the axis of rotation of a reflective structure (Hayakawa, Para [0014], Fig 2, where polygon mirror 104 has facets at angle "a" to the rotation axis. Multiple facets may be at this angle to scan at one angle, while multiple facets can be at "-a" to scan at high and low angles, such as in Borchers Fig 4B).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the detection apparatus of Borchers in view of Hayakawa by adjusting the angle of the mirror facets with respect to the reflective structure, such that they have a same angle both in the positive and negative direction. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale D.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borchers in view of Hayakawa.
Regarding claim 22, Borchers teaches a detection apparatus, comprising:
a light source to emit a light pulse sequence (Para [0022], Fig 1A, where laser module 10 produces and scans multiple beams onto screen 1); and
a first scanner and a second scanner disposed in an optical path of the light pulse sequence to change propagation direction of the light pulse sequence, the first scanner alone being capable of causing an outgoing light beam to scan along a first path, and the second scanner alone being capable of causing the outgoing light beam to scan along a second path (Para [0041], Fig. 3, where first scanner consists of vertical adjuster 340 which scans vertically and second scanner consists of polygon scanner 350 which scans horizontally);
wherein:
the first scanner includes a reflector and a first driver to drive the reflector to swing back and forth in a stepwise manner (Para [0021] lin. 21-35 discloses reflectors, like with vertical adjuster 340, being coupled with step actuators in the scanning display system);
the second scanner includes a reflective structure and a second driver, the reflective structure including at least three reflective surfaces, the second driver drives the reflective structure to rotate so that the at least three reflective surfaces are rotated sequentially onto the optical path of the light pulse sequence to cause the detection
apparatus to form a scan in a two-dimensional direction (Para [0023], Fig 1A where disclosed is a scanning controller that drive the rotation of the vertical adjuster and the rotation of the polygon scanner. Additionally, Para [0041], Fig. 3, where second scanner consists of polygon scanner 350 which scans horizontally); and
However, Borchers does not teach the at least three reflective surfaces include:
a first reflective surface having an angle of -beta degrees with a rotation axis of the reflective structure, beta being a value greater than 0;
a second reflective surface having an angle of +beta degrees with the rotation axis of the reflective structure; and
a third reflective surface parallel to the rotation axis of the reflective structure, the first reflective surface, the second reflective surface, and the third reflective surface being connected end to end in sequence and arranged circumferentially about the axis of rotation of the reflective structure.
On the other hand, Hayakawa teaches polygon mirror facets that are at an angle with respect to the axis of rotation of a reflective structure (Hayakawa, Para [0014], Fig 2, where polygon mirror 104 has facets at angle "a" to the rotation axis. Multiple facets may be at this angle to scan at one angle, while multiple facets can be at "-a" to scan at high and low angles, such as in Borchers Fig 4B) and polygon mirror facets that are parallel with respect to the axis of rotation (Hayakawa, Para [0014], Fig 2, where polygon mirror 105 has facets parallel with respect to the axis of rotation).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the detection apparatus of Borchers in view of McWhirter and Hayakawa by adjusting the angle of the mirror facets with respect to the reflective structure, such that they have a same angle both in the positive and negative direction, and adjusting the angle of the mirror facets with respect to the reflective structure, such that they are parallel. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale D.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZAKI KEHINDE HAWKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645