DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18/303626. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims would be anticipated by the claims of copending 18/303626 if issued.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Taniuchi et al. (JP 2021-198281). All citations refer to the English translation made of record by Applicants.
Taniuchi et al. disclose a battery cell having an exterior body housing a battery element. A current collecting tab lead extending from one end surface of the battery. The reference teaches that the exterior body is a laminate film (see para [0007] and Figures 1-3). The reference discloses that the current collecting tab lead (14a) is located on an inner side of an outer edge of the battery (see Figure 1-3).
Taniuchi et al. further disclose that the laminate film (facing body 3) covers a surface constituting the outer edge of the current colleting tab lead and an outer edge of the battery element. A fused portion has two inner surface facing each other and a curved surface that connects the first and second inner surfaces (See Fig 5). Figure 5 also shows that a normal direction of the first and seond inner surfaces is parallel to a thickness direction of the battery.
Taniuchi also discloses that the laminate film has an inclined surface provided continuously from the firs surface at a location adjacent to an end portion of the fused portion on the battery element and a direction normal to the inclined surface intersects with the thickness direction of the battery (see Figs 2-3 and 5).
With regard to claim 2, Figures 2-3 of Taniuchi et al. show that the inclined surface has a triangular shape in plan view.
With regard to claim 3, see Figures 1-2, wherein the current collecting tab 14a has a rectangular shape.
With regard to claim 4, see Figure 2.
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Uemura et al. (US 2021-0013462).
Uemura et al. disclose a battery cell having an exterior body (2) housing an electrode body (6) with a tab lead (7) arranged on a side surface part of the electrode body (see Fig 2 and 6). The electrode body is formed from a laminate (see claim 1) and the tab lead (7) is attached to each of the positive and negative electrodes and a heat-sealing piece is a tab film included in the tab lead (see claim 4). The reference also discloses that the outer edge of the tab lead (7) is located on an inner side of an outer edge of the flat shaped electrode body (6)- see Fig 2.
Uemura et al. also teaches that the exterior body covers a surface including the outer edge of tab (7) and the outer edge of electrode body (6)- (see Fig 2 and 6). In Figure 6-7, Uemura et al. shows that a fused portion in which inner surfaces of the exterior body are fused to each other and are disposed at the corner portion of tab lead (7). The fused portion has first and second surfaces facing one another and a curved surface that connects both surfaces wherein a direction normal to the first and second surfaces is parallel to a thickness direction of the battery (Figures 6-7).
The fused portion extends from an end portion of the exterior body on the current collector side toward the flat shaped electrode body side.
With regard to claim 3, see Fig 6.
With regard to claim 4, see Figures 1-2.
With regard to claim 6, see paragraphs [0033]- [0035] for disclosure of a preparation method for the above-described electrode structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniuchi et al. (JP 2021-198281). All citations refer to the English translation made of record by Applicants.
Taniuchi et al. discloses all of the features of the claimed invention except for the ratio of a length of the outer edge of the current collector terminal to a length of the outer edge of the electrode body being in the range of 0.7-1.
While Taniuchi does not disclose this specific ratio, it does teach that current collecting tab lead (14a) is located on an inner side of an outer edge of the battery (see Figure 1-3) and therefore, has a length ratio to that out the outer edge of the battery of less than 1. It would have been a matter of routine experimentation to determine the optimal length of the tab lead (14a) to that of the battery given the fact that the reference does not further limit the size of the tab lead.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uemura et al. (US 2021-0013462).
Uemura et al. et al. disclose all of the features of the claimed invention except for the ratio of a length of the outer edge of the current collector terminal to a length of the outer edge of the electrode body being in the range of 0.7-1.
While Taniuchi does not disclose this specific ratio, it does teach that tab lead (7) is located on an inner side of an outer edge of the battery (6)- see Figure 2) and therefore, has a length ratio to that out the outer edge of the battery of less than 1. It would have been a matter of routine experimentation to determine the optimal length of the tab lead (14a) to that of the battery given the fact that the reference does not further limit the size of the tab leads.
/Holly Rickman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785