DETAILED ACTION
1. This communication is response to the application filed 12/07/2023 havingclaims 1-23 pending and presented for examination.
Priority
2. Application filed on 06/06/2023 is a has PRO 63/349,900 06/07/2022 are acknowledged.
Drawings
3. The drawings were received on 06/06/2023 and these drawings are accepted.
4. Information Disclosure Statement
No IDS filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Claims 23 recites “a computer readable storage medium”, claim 23 should recite computer readable medium as non-transitory computer readable medium.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-12, 14-17, 23, 23, 27-32 are under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by US Publication US 20170353544 A1 LALA et al. (Hereinafter “LALA ") further view of US PG Pub US 20230370840 A1 to RAJADURAI et al (hereinafter RAJADURAI).
As per claim 1, LALA teaches a method comprising: detecting a failed execution of a command conveyed over a communication link between a first wireless gateway and a network server, the network server operative to control routing of communications from multiple wireless gateways through the network server to multiple application servers (para 0046, fig. 1d, detecting a failure between wireless gateway such as the DNS server and network server such as the load balancer, wherein the load balancer control routing of communications from multiple wireless gateways through the network server to multiple application servers associated with load balancer); and adjusting a count value of a counter in response to detecting the failed execution of the message over the communication link (para 0046, fig. 1d,, adjusting the counting value of repeated connection failure to a threshold count value in response to detecting the failed execution of the message over the communication link);. 20170353544
RAJADURAI teaches wherein the command is a registration request command communicated from the first wireless gateway to the network server to register the first wireless gateway with the network server to communicate with a first application server of the multiple application servers (para 0092- 0094], 4A registration request command communicated from the relay node to the AMF to be passed to register with network server UDM which is responsible authenticating users for accessing various application server in the network ).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the combination system of LALA by wherein the command is a registration request command communicated from the first wireless gateway to the network server to register the first wireless gateway with the network server to communicate with a first application server of the multiple application servers as suggested by RAJADURAI, this modification would benefit LALA for enabling a better provides a useful alternative for handling security key/keying material in the wireless network (para [0006]).
As per claim 3, LALA teaches the method as in claim 2 further comprising: discontinuing subsequent attempted registration of the first wireless gateway with the network server in response to detecting that a numerical value stored in the counter is greater than a threshold value , the numerical value indicating a number of times of the failed execution of the command by the network server. (para 0046, fig. 1d,, discontinuing subsequent attempted registration of the first link between server and load balancing server in response to detecting that a numerical value stored in the counter is greater than a threshold value, the numerical value indicating a number of times of the failed execution of the command by the network server).
As per claim 4, LALA teaches the method as in claim 1, RAJADURAI teaches and wherein the first wireless gateway is operative to retrieve a network address assigned to the network server from a proxy server and communicate the request command to the network address (para 0296- 0297], wherein the first wireless gateway is operative to retrieve a network address assigned to the network server from a proxy server and communicate the request command to the network address).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 1.
As per claim 5, LALA teaches the method as in claim 1, RAJADURAI teaches wherein the command is a registration command including an identity of the first wireless gateway (para 0122], command is a registration command including an identity of the first wireless gateway ); and adjusting the count value of the counter in response to the network server detecting that the identity of the first wireless gateway is not present in a set of identities of wireless gateways to be supported by the network server (para 0122], adjusting the count value of the counter in response to the network server detecting that the identity of the first wireless gateway is not present in a set of identities of wireless gateways to be supported by the network server). 20230370840
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 1.
As per claim 6, LALA teaches the method as in claim 1 further comprising: creating the counter assigned to the first wireless gateway in response to receiving a first registration request command from the first wireless gateway ( para 0046, fig. 1d, creating the counter assigned to the first wireless gateway in response to receiving a first registration request from the first wireless gateway), RAJADURAI teaches the first registration request command being a first attempt by the first wireless gateway to register with the network server (para 0296- 0297], the first registration request being a first attempt by the first wireless gateway to register with the network server).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 1.
As per claim 7, LALA teaches the method as in claim 1 further comprising: at the wireless gateway, in response to detecting that a numerical value stored in the counter is greater than a threshold value(para 0046, fig. 1d, at the wireless gateway, discontinuing subsequent attempted registration with the network server in response to detecting that a numerical value stored in the counter is greater than a threshold value ), RAJADURAI teaches discontinuing subsequent attempted registration with the network server (para [0274], discontinuing subsequent attempted registration with the network server)
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 1.
As per claim 8, LALA teaches the method as in claim 1 further registration request command is a first registration request command comprising: RAJADURAI teaches notification from the network server, the notification instructing the first wireless gateway to modify the first registration request command to produce a second subsequent registration request command for transmission to with the network server in response to detecting that a numerical value stored in the registration counter is greater than a threshold value (para 0296- 0297], wireless gateway to modify a subsequent registration request with the network server in response to detecting that a numerical value stored in the registration counter is greater than a threshold value).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 1.
As per claim 9, LALA teaches the method as in claim 8 further comprising: at the first wireless gateway, modifying the second registration request command to produce a third subsequent registration request command in response to receiving the notification; and communicating the third registration request command from the first
wireless gateway to the network server. (para 0046, fig. 1d, modifying the subsequent registration request in response to receiving the notification) .
As per claim 10, LALA teaches the method as in claim 1, wherein the command includes a data packet transmitted from the first wireless gateway for delivery over the communication link and to the network server (para 0046, fig. 1d, includes a data packet transmitted from the first wireless gateway for delivery over the communication link and to the network server).
As per claim 11, LALA teaches the method as in claim 10, wherein the count value in the counter indicates a number of detected failed conveyances of a respective message including the command over the communication link from the first wireless gateway to the network server, the method further comprising: discontinuing subsequent attempted transmission of communications from the first wireless gateway over the communication link to the network server in response to detecting that the number of detected failed conveyance of the respective messages as stored in the counter is greater than a threshold value (para 0046, fig. 1d, discontinuing subsequent attempted transmission of communications from the first wireless gateway over the communication link to the network server in response to detecting that the number of detected failed conveyance of the respective messages as stored in the counter is greater than a threshold value ).
As per claim 12, LALA teaches a system comprising: communication management hardware operative to: detect a failed execution of a command conveyed over a communication link between a first wireless gateway and a network server, the network server operative to control routing of communications from multiple wireless gateways through the network server to multiple application servers(para 0046, fig. 1d, detecting a failure between wireless gateway such as the DNS server and network server such as the load balancer, wherein the load balancer control routing of communications from multiple wireless gateways through the network server to multiple application servers associated with load balancer); and adjust a count value of a counter in response to detecting the failed execution of the command over the communication link(para 0046, fig. 1d,, adjusting the counting value of repeated connection failure to a threshold count value in response to detecting the failed execution of the message over the communication link).
RAJADURAI teaches wherein the command is a registration request command communicated from the first wireless gateway to the network server to register the first wireless gateway with the network server to communicate with a first application server of the multiple application servers (para 0092- 0094], 4A registration request command communicated from the relay node to the AMF to be passed to register with network server UDM which is responsible authenticating users for accessing various application server in the network ).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 1.
As per claim 14, LALA teaches the system as in claim 13, wherein the communication management hardware is further operative to: discontinue subsequent attempted registration of the first wireless gateway with the network server in response to detecting that a numerical value stored in the counter is greater than a threshold value (para 0046, fig. 1d,, discontinuing subsequent attempted registration of the first link between server and load balancing server in response to detecting that a numerical value stored in the counter is greater than a threshold value)..
As per claim 15, LALA teaches the system as in claim 13, RAJADURAI teaches wherein the first wireless gateway is operative to retrieve a network address assigned to the network server from a proxy server and communicate the request command to the network address (para 0296- 0297], wherein the first wireless gateway is operative to retrieve a network address assigned to the network server from a proxy server and communicate the request command to the network address ).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 1.
As per claim 16, LALA teaches the system as in claim 12, RAJADURAI includes an identity of the first wireless gateway (para 0122], command is a registration command including an identity of the first wireless gateway ); wherein the communication management hardware is further operative to: adjust the count value of the counter in response to the network server detecting that the identity of the first wireless gateway is not present in a set of identities of wireless gateways to be supported by the network server (para 0122], adjusting the count value of the counter in response to the network server detecting that the identity of the first wireless gateway is not present in a set of identities of wireless gateways to be supported by the network server).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 1.
As per claim 17, LALA teaches the system as in claim 12, RAJADURAI teaches wherein the communication management hardware is further operative to: create the counter assigned to the first wireless gateway in response to receiving a first registration request from the first wireless gateway ( para 0046, fig. 1d, creating the counter assigned to the first wireless gateway in response to receiving a first registration request from the first wireless gateway), the first registration request being a first attempt by the first wireless gateway to register with the network server (para 0296- 0297], the first registration request being a first attempt by the first wireless gateway to register with the network server).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 1.
As per claim 23, LALA, RAJADURAI teaches Computer-readable storage hardware having instructions stored thereon, the instructions, when carried out by computer processor hardware, cause the computer processor hardware to: detect a failed execution of a command conveyed over a communication link between a first wireless gateway and a network server, the network server operative to route communications from multiple wireless gateways to multiple application servers (para 0046, fig. 1d, detecting a failure between wireless gateway such as the DNS server and network server such as the load balancer, wherein the load balancer control routing of communications from multiple wireless gateways through the network server to multiple application servers associated with load balancer); and adjust a count value of a counter in response to detecting the failed execution of the message conveyed over the communication link (para 0046, fig. 1d,, adjusting the counting value of repeated connection failure to a threshold count value in response to detecting the failed execution of the message over the communication link);..
RAJADURAI teaches wherein the command is a registration request command communicated from the first wireless gateway to the network server to register the first wireless gateway with the network server to communicate with a first application server of the multiple application servers (para 0092- 0094], 4A registration request command communicated from the relay node to the AMF to be passed to register with network server UDM which is responsible authenticating users for accessing various application server in the network ).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 1.
As per claim 26, (New) LALA, RAJADURAI teaches the method as in claim 1, wherein the registration request command transmitted from the first wireless gateway to the network server is a first registration request command, the method further comprising: in response to detecting the failed execution of the first registration request command, transmitting a second registration request command from the first wireless gateway to the network server, the second registration request command indicating occurrence of the failed execution of the first registration request command transmitted from the first wireless gateway to the network server ((para 0046, fig. 1d,, based on the registration request and transmitting a second registration request command from the first wireless gateway to the network server, the second registration request command indicating occurrence of the failed execution of the first registration request command transmitted from the first wireless gateway to the network server ).
As per claim 27, (New) LALA, RAJADURAI teaches the method as in claim 26, wherein the second registration request command indicates a numerical value stored in the counter (((para 0052, second registration request command indicates a numerical value stored in the counter).
As per claim 28, (New) LALA, RAJADURAI teaches the method as in claim 1, wherein the registration request command includes notification of a prior failed attempt by the first wireless gateway to register the first wireless gateway with the network server to support the conveyance of the subsequent communications through the network server (para 0052, request command includes notification of a prior failed attempt by the first wireless gateway to register the first wireless gateway with the network server to support the conveyance of the subsequent communications through the network server).
As per claim 29, (New) LALA, RAJADURAI teaches the method as in claim 1, wherein the counter is a first counter; where in the count value is a first count value, the method further comprising: implementing a second counter at the first wireless gateway, the second counter storing a second count value indicating a number of attempts by the first wireless gateway to terminate registration of the first wireless gateway with the network server ((para 0052, , counter values changes based the request and second counter storing a second count value indicating a number of attempts by the first wireless gateway to terminate registration of the first wireless gateway with the network server).
As per claim 30, (New) LALA, RAJADURAI teaches the method as in claim 29 further comprising: in response to detecting that the magnitude of the second count value is greater than a threshold level, modifying the state of the first wireless gateway to a commissioned state (para 0056], response to detecting that the magnitude of the second count value is greater than a threshold level, modifying the state of the first wireless gateway to a commissioned state).
As per claim 31, (New) LALA, RAJADURAI teaches the method as in claim 1, wherein the counter is a first counter; where in the count value is a first count value, the method further comprising: implementing a second counter at the network server, the second counter storing a second count value indicating a number of attempts by the network server to terminate registration of the first wireless gateway with the network server (para 0056], implementing a second counter at the network server, the second counter storing a second count value indicating a number of attempts by the network server to terminate registration of the first wireless gateway with the network server ).
As per claim 32, (New) LALA, RAJADURAI teaches the method as in claim 31 further comprising: in response to detecting that the magnitude of the second count value is greater than a threshold level, modifying the state of the first wireless gateway to a commissioned state (para 0056, magnitude of the second count value is greater than a threshold level, modifying the state of the first wireless gateway to a commissioned state).
As per claim 33, (New) LALA, RAJADURAI teaches the method as in claim 1 further comprising: subsequent to successful registration of the first wireless gateway with the network server, transmitting the subsequent communications from the first wireless gateway through the network server to a first application server of the multiple application service (para 0056, transmitting the subsequent communications from the first wireless gateway through the network server to a first application server of the multiple application service).
5. Claim(s) 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LALA, RAJADURAI further view of US PG Pub US 20080076425 A1 to Khetawat et al (hereinafter Khetawat).
As per claim 24, (New) LALA, RAJADURAI teaches the method as in claim 1,wherein the first wireless gateway is assigned a first network address (para 0258], fig. 15, first femto is assigned a first network address from network ); wherein the second wireless gateway is assigned a second network address s (para 0258], fig. 1, second femto is assigned a first network address from network );; and the method further comprising: i) mapping the first network address to the second network address, and ii) based on the mapping, transmitting the registration request command from the first wireless gateway to the network server ((para 0258], INC tracks for the assigned IP and maps first network address to the second network address, and ii) based on the mapping, transmitting the registration request command from the first wireless gateway to the network server).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the combination system of LALA, RAJADURAI by the first wireless gateway is assigned a first network address wherein the second wireless gateway is assigned a second network address s ; and the method further comprising: i) mapping the first network address to the second network address, and ii) based on the mapping, transmitting the registration request command from the first wireless gateway to the network serveras suggested by Khetawat, this modification would benefit LALA, RAJADURAI for enabling a efficient data transfer process in a mobile communication network.
As per claim 25, (New) LALA, RAJADURAI teaches the method as in claim 1, wherein the counter is a first counter operative to count a number of times that the first wireless gateway attempts to register the first wireless gateway with the network server to communicate with a first application server of the multiple application servers (para 0487], to register the first wireless gateway with the network server to communicate with a first application server of the multiple application servers ).; and implementing a second counter associated with the network server, the second counter counting a number of attempts of the network server transmitting registration response messages to the first wireless gateway (para 0487], attempts of the network server transmitting registration response messages to the first wireless gateway ).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 24.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument regarding claim 2, applicant argues that, "There is no paragraph 296 or paragraph 297 in Rajadurai. Rajadurai indicates that the timer T3516 is running at the UE (100A) and if following event happens, then authentication is to be considered as unsuccessful and newly derived K.sub.AUSF will not be considered as latest K.sub.AUSF or the existing K.sub.AUSF will not be overwritten or not replaced by the newly derived K.sub.AUSF. Examples of the following event such as receiving the service reject message (809) from the network include, receiving the registration reject message (808) from the network......"Applicant argument have been considered but are not persuasive. para 0092- 0094], 4A registration request command communicated from the relay node to the AMF to be passed to register with network server UDM which is responsible authenticating users for accessing various application server in the network, here the command is isssued by UE/AMF to the server UDM wherein the UDM provides support to connectivity between gateway and server and provides connectivity for various application servers.
Applicant's argument regarding claim 2, applicant argues that, "Applicants respectfully submit that the combination of Lala's implementation of a switchover function amongst multiple data centers in view of Rajadurai's technique of implementing a network entity for handling synchronization of security key in a wireless network and temporary caching of content does not teach or suggest a method comprising: detecting a failed execution of a command transmitted over a communication link from a first wireless gateway to a network server, the network server operative to control routing of communications from multiple wireless gateways through the network server to multiple application servers; adjusting a count value of a counter in response to detecting the failed execution of the command by the network server; and wherein the command is a registration request command to register the first wireless gateway with the network server to support conveyance of subsequent communications through the network server between the first wireless gateway and a first application server of the multiple application servers in a manner as recited by the claimed invention".Applicant argument have been considered but are not persuasive.para 0092- 0094], 4A registration request command communicated from the relay node to the AMF to be passed to register with network server UDM which is responsible authenticating users for accessing various application server in the network, here the command is isssued by UE/AMF to the server UDM wherein the UDM provides support to connectivity between gateway and server and provides connectivity for various application servers.
Conclusion
Prior arts made of record, not relied upon: US Patent Publication US 20220369160 A1; US Patent Publication US 20170205272 A1, US Patent Publication US 20220086099 A1
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented inthis Office action. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANEZ EBRAHIM whose telephone number is (571)270-7153. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8 AM to 5 PM If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hassan Phillips can be reached on (571) 272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANEZ C EBRAHIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467