DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Humphreys (GB 2142523) in view of Brown (US 6,302,336) and Hentke (DE9401796).
Regarding claim 1, Humphreys discloses a portable watering apparatus comprising:
a reservoir (Figure 1) configured to hold a liquid (lines 104-105), the reservoir comprising a reservoir sidewall (Figure 1; the sidewall having the indicators) having at least a portion allowing a level of the liquid to be observed when the portable watering apparatus is in a watering orientation (Lines 39-46), the portable watering apparatus tilted at a watering angle relative to a direction of gravity when the portable watering apparatus is in the watering orientation (Lines 40-41), the reservoir having a configuration allowing the liquid to exit the reservoir at every level of liquid when the portable watering apparatus is in the watering orientation (The structure provide for the claimed function); and volume dispensing measuring indicia (4) disposed within the at least a portion (Figure 1), the volume dispensing measuring indicia indicating a dispensed volume of liquid when observed relative to a change in the level of liquid as the liquid is dispensed (Abstract), the volume dispensing measuring indicia comprising plurality of lines parallel to a top surface of the level of liquid in the reservoir when the portable watering apparatus is in the watering orientation (Figure 1). While it appears to be suggested, Humphreys does not state that the vessel has at least a portion that is translucent.
Brown discloses a watering device that includes a body portion made of a translucent material (Column 5, lines 55-56).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Humphreys with the disclosures of Brown, providing the body to be made of a translucent material, in order to provide visibility of the fluid in the pouring apparatus.
Humphreys also fails to disclose the lines being parallel to one another.
Hentke discloses an apparatus wherein measuring lines are parallel to one another and parallel to a top surface of a liquid level in the reservoir when a portable watering apparatus is in a watering orientation (Figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Humphreys with the disclosures of Hentke, providing the measuring lines parallel to one another and parallel to a top surface of a liquid level in the reservoir when a portable watering apparatus is in a watering orientation (Hentke, Figure 1), in order to provide for measuring for more volume displacement of small portions accurately, as disclosed by Hentke (Paragraphs 3-4).
Regarding claim 3, Humphreys in view of Brown and Hentke discloses the portable watering apparatus of claim 1, wherein a spacing between adjacent lines of the plurality of lines parallel corresponds to volume of liquid dispensed (Figure 1 and lines 40-45).
Regarding claim 4, Humphreys in view of Brown and Hentke discloses the portable watering apparatus of claim 3, wherein each spacing between adjacent lines corresponds to a same volume of liquid dispensed (Figure 1, the space between each line represents an increment of .1).
Regarding claims 5-9, Humphreys in view of Brown and Hentke discloses the portable watering apparatus of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the watering angle relative to the direction of gravity is an angle between 40 degrees and 50 degrees;
wherein the watering angle relative to the direction of gravity is an angle between 43 degrees and 47 degrees;
wherein the watering angle relative to the direction of gravity is an angle between 44 degrees and 46 degrees;
wherein the watering angle relative to the direction of gravity is an angle between 44.5 degrees and 45.5 degrees;
or wherein the watering angle relative to the direction of gravity is equal to 45 degrees.
Humphreys discloses that the pouring formation may have a specific angular position, dependent upon application (Page 1, lines 83-86). The watering angle is put forth as a result effective variable as optimizing of the angular position optimizes the suitability for application. Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Humphreys in view of Brown and Hentke device to have a watering/pouring angle within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the structure of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Humphreys in view of Brown and Hentke by making the pour angle within the claimed ranges as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 19, Humphreys discloses a portable watering apparatus comprising:
a reservoir (Figure 1) configured to hold a liquid (lines 104-105), the reservoir comprising a reservoir sidewall (Figure 1; the sidewall having the indicators) having at least a portion allowing a level of the liquid to be observed when the portable watering apparatus is in a watering orientation (Lines 39-46), the portable watering apparatus tilted at a watering angle relative to a direction of gravity when the portable watering apparatus is in the watering orientation (Lines 40-41), the reservoir having a configuration allowing the liquid to exit the reservoir at every level of liquid when the portable watering apparatus is in the watering orientation (The structure provide for the claimed function); and volume dispensing measuring indicia (4) disposed within the at least a portion (Figure 1), the volume dispensing measuring indicia indicating a dispensed volume of liquid when observed relative to a change in the level of liquid as the liquid is dispensed (Abstract), the volume dispensing measuring indicia comprising plurality of lines parallel to a top surface of the level of liquid in the reservoir when the portable watering apparatus is in the watering orientation (Figure 1). While it appears to be suggested, Humphreys does not state that the vessel has at least a portion that is translucent.
Brown discloses a watering device that includes a body portion made of a translucent material (Column 5, lines 55-56).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Humphreys with the disclosures of Brown, providing the body to be made of a translucent material, in order to provide visibility of the fluid in the pouring apparatus.
Humphreys also fails to disclose the lines being parallel to one another or perpendicular to the direction of gravity when the portable watering apparatus is in the watering orientation.
Hentke discloses an apparatus wherein measuring lines are parallel to one another, parallel to a top surface of a liquid level in the reservoir when a portable watering apparatus is in a watering orientation, and perpendicular to the direction of gravity when the portable watering apparatus is in the watering orientation (Figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Humphreys with the disclosures of Hentke, providing the measuring lines parallel to one another and parallel to a top surface of a liquid level in the reservoir when a portable watering apparatus is in a watering orientation, and perpendicular to the direction of gravity when the portable watering apparatus is in the watering orientation (Hentke, Figure 1), in order to provide for measuring for more volume displacement of small portions accurately, as disclosed by Hentke (Paragraphs 3-4).
Claim(s) 10 and 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Humphreys in view of Brown, Hentke, and Purcell (US 7137223).
Regarding claim 10, Humphreys discloses a watering system comprising: a portable watering apparatus comprising:
a reservoir (Figure 1) configured to hold a liquid (lines 104-105), the reservoir comprising a reservoir sidewall (Figure 1; the sidewall having the indicators) having at least a portion allowing a level of the liquid to be observed when the portable watering apparatus is in a watering orientation (Lines 39-46), the portable watering apparatus tilted at a watering angle relative to a direction of gravity when the portable watering apparatus is in the watering orientation (Lines 40-41), the reservoir having a configuration allowing the liquid to exit the reservoir at every level of liquid when the portable watering apparatus is in the watering orientation (The structure provide for the claimed function); and volume dispensing measuring indicia (4) disposed within the at least a portion (Figure 1), the volume dispensing measuring indicia indicating a dispensed volume of liquid when observed relative to a change in the level of liquid as the liquid is dispensed (Abstract), the volume dispensing measuring indicia comprising plurality of lines parallel to a top surface of the level of liquid in the reservoir when the portable watering apparatus is in the watering orientation (as best understood, Figure 1). While it appears to be suggested, Humphreys does not state that the vessel has at least a portion that is translucent.
Brown discloses a watering device that includes a body portion made of a translucent material (Column 5, lines 55-56).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Humphreys with the disclosures of Brown, providing the body to be made of a translucent material, in order to provide visibility of the fluid in the pouring apparatus.
Humphreys also fails to disclose the lines being parallel to one another.
Hentke discloses an apparatus wherein measuring lines are parallel to one another and parallel to a top surface of a liquid level in the reservoir when a portable watering apparatus is in a watering orientation (Figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Humphreys with the disclosures of Hentke, providing the measuring lines parallel to one another and parallel to a top surface of a liquid level in the reservoir when a portable watering apparatus is in a watering orientation (Hentke, Figure 1), in order to provide for measuring for more volume displacement of small portions accurately, as disclosed by Hentke (Paragraphs 3-4).
Humphrey further fails to disclose the system including a watering basin, or the watering apparatus configured to fit inside the watering basin when the portable watering apparatus is not in use.
Purcell discloses an improved system comprising a watering basin (46), with a watering apparatus (28) configured to fit inside the watering basin when the portable watering apparatus is not in use (Figure 2 and Column 3, lines 58-62).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve Humphreys in view of Brown and Hentke with the disclosures of Purcell, further providing the system to include a watering basin (Purcell, 46), the watering apparatus (of Humphreys in view of Brown) configured to fit inside the watering basin when the portable watering apparatus is not in use (Purcell, Figure 2 and Column 3, lines 58-62), in order to provide for convenient and effective storage of the can, as disclosed by Purcell (Column 2, lines 22-33).
Regarding claim 12, Humphreys in view of Brown, Hentke and Purcell discloses the portable watering apparatus of claim 10, wherein a spacing between adjacent lines of the plurality of lines parallel corresponds to volume of liquid dispensed (Figure 1 and lines 40-45).
Regarding claim 13, Humphreys in view of Brown, Hentke and Purcell discloses the portable watering apparatus of claim 12, wherein each spacing between adjacent lines corresponds to a same volume of liquid dispensed (Figure 1, the space between each line represents an increment of .1).
Regarding claims 14-18, Humphreys in view of Brown, Hentke and Purcell discloses the portable watering apparatus of claim 10, but fails to disclose wherein the watering angle relative to the direction of gravity is an angle between 40 degrees and 50 degrees;
wherein the watering angle relative to the direction of gravity is an angle between 43 degrees and 47 degrees;
wherein the watering angle relative to the direction of gravity is an angle between 44 degrees and 46 degrees;
wherein the watering angle relative to the direction of gravity is an angle between 44.5 degrees and 45.5 degrees;
or wherein the watering angle relative to the direction of gravity is equal to 45 degrees.
Humphreys discloses that the pouring formation may have a specific angular position, dependent upon application (Page 1, lines 83-86). The watering angle is put forth as a result effective variable as optimizing of the angular position optimizes the suitability for application. Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Humphreys in view of Brown, Hentke and Purcell device to have a watering/pouring angle within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the structure of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Humphreys in view of Brown, Hentke and Purcell by making the pour angle within the claimed ranges as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 1, 19, 20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trautmann (DE9415464) in view Hentke, with disclosures of Humphreys.
Regarding claim 1, Trautmann discloses a portable watering apparatus comprising:
a reservoir (2) configured to hold a liquid (Paragraph 4, the reservoir is a watering can), the reservoir comprising a reservoir sidewall (Figure 2), the portable watering apparatus tilted at a watering angle relative to a direction of gravity when the portable watering apparatus is in the watering orientation (paragraph 13, the pouring tube is located 45 degrees relative to the lower edge of the container; the disclosures suggests the apparatus is titled at an angle to pour), the reservoir having a configuration allowing the liquid to exit the reservoir at every level of liquid when the portable watering apparatus is in the watering orientation (by admission of Applicant, provision of a spout with a 45 degree watering orientation will allow for emptying (Applicant’s specification, paragraph 23); The device has a 45 degree watering orientation, and is therefore configured for emptying), but does not specifically state that the can allows a level of the liquid to be observed when the portable watering apparatus is in a watering orientation; or that the reservoir includes volume dispensing measuring indicia disposed within the at least a portion, the volume dispensing measuring indicia indicating a dispensed volume of liquid when observed relative to a change in the level of liquid as the liquid is dispensed, the volume dispensing measuring indicia comprising plurality of lines parallel to a top surface of the level of liquid in the reservoir when the portable watering apparatus is in the watering orientation, the lines being parallel to one another, and parallel to a top surface of a liquid level in the reservoir when a portable watering apparatus is in a watering orientation.
Hentke discloses an improved pouring device that allows a level of liquid to be observed when the portable watering apparatus is in a tilted orientation (Paragraph 10, the remaining liquid is measured in the tilted orientation, which suggests a level of liquid is observed); and that the reservoir includes volume dispensing measuring indicia disposed within the at least a portion (Paragraph 10, scales running diagonally upward from the lower corner), the volume dispensing measuring indicia indicating a dispensed volume of liquid when observed relative to a change in the level of liquid as the liquid is dispensed (Paragraphs 10 and 15, observation occurs while pouring), the volume dispensing measuring indicia comprising plurality of lines parallel to a top surface of the level of liquid in the reservoir when the portable watering apparatus is in the watering orientation (Figure 1), the lines being parallel to one another, and parallel to a top surface of a liquid level in the reservoir when a portable watering apparatus is in a watering orientation (Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve Trautmann with the disclosures of Hentke, further providing the reservoir (Trautmann, 2) to allow a level of liquid to be observed when the portable watering apparatus is in a tilted orientation (Hentke, Paragraph 3, the cup is transparent), the reservoir (Trautmann, 2) including volume dispensing measuring indicia disposed within the at least a portion (Hentke, Paragraph 10, scales running diagonally upward from the lower corner), the volume dispensing measuring indicia indicating a dispensed volume of liquid when observed relative to a change in the level of liquid as the liquid is dispensed (Hentke, Paragraphs 10 and 15, observation occurs while pouring), in order to keep a user aware of the amount of fluid missing, as disclosed by Humphreys (Abstract).
It would have been also obvious to improve the device to include the volume dispensing measuring indicia comprising plurality of lines parallel to a top surface of the level of liquid in the reservoir when the portable watering apparatus is in the watering orientation (Hentke, Figure 1), the lines being parallel to one another, and parallel to a top surface of a liquid level in the reservoir when a portable watering apparatus is in a watering orientation (Hentke, Figure 1), in order to provide for measuring volume displacement of small portions accurately, as disclosed by Hentke (Paragraphs 3-4).
Regarding claim 19, Trautmann discloses a portable watering apparatus comprising:
a reservoir (2) configured to hold a liquid (Paragraph 4, the reservoir is a watering can), the reservoir comprising a reservoir sidewall (Figure 2), the portable watering apparatus tilted at a watering angle relative to a direction of gravity when the portable watering apparatus is in the watering orientation (paragraph 13, the pouring tube is located 45 degrees relative to the lower edge of the container; the disclosures suggests the apparatus is titled at an angle to pour), the reservoir having a configuration allowing the liquid to exit the reservoir at every level of liquid when the portable watering apparatus is in the watering orientation (by admission of Applicant, provision of a spout with a 45 degree watering orientation will allow for emptying (Applicant’s specification, paragraph 23); The device has a 45 degree watering orientation, and is therefore configured for emptying), but does not specifically state that the can allows a level of the liquid to be observed when the portable watering apparatus is in a watering orientation; or that the reservoir includes volume dispensing measuring indicia disposed within the at least a portion, the volume dispensing measuring indicia indicating a dispensed volume of liquid when observed relative to a change in the level of liquid as the liquid is dispensed, the volume dispensing measuring indicia comprising plurality of lines parallel to a top surface of the level of liquid in the reservoir when the portable watering apparatus is in the watering orientation, the lines being parallel to one another, and parallel to a top surface of a liquid level in the reservoir when a portable watering apparatus is in a watering orientation, or perpendicular to the direction of gravity when the portable watering apparatus is in the watering orientation..
Hentke discloses an improved pouring device that allows a level of liquid to be observed when the portable watering apparatus is in a tilted orientation (Paragraph 10, the remaining liquid is measured in the tilted orientation, which suggests a level of liquid is observed); and that the reservoir includes volume dispensing measuring indicia disposed within the at least a portion (Paragraph 10, scales running diagonally upward from the lower corner), the volume dispensing measuring indicia indicating a dispensed volume of liquid when observed relative to a change in the level of liquid as the liquid is dispensed (Paragraphs 10 and 15, observation occurs while pouring), the volume dispensing measuring indicia comprising plurality of lines parallel to a top surface of the level of liquid in the reservoir when the portable watering apparatus is in the watering orientation (Figure 1), the lines being parallel to one another, and parallel to a top surface of a liquid level in the reservoir when a portable watering apparatus is in a watering orientation, perpendicular to the direction of gravity when the portable watering apparatus is in the watering orientation (Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve Trautmann with the disclosures of Hentke, further providing the reservoir (Trautmann, 2) to allow a level of liquid to be observed when the portable watering apparatus is in a tilted orientation (Hentke, Paragraph 3, the cup is transparent), the reservoir (Trautmann, 2) including volume dispensing measuring indicia disposed within the at least a portion (Hentke, Paragraph 10, scales running diagonally upward from the lower corner), the volume dispensing measuring indicia indicating a dispensed volume of liquid when observed relative to a change in the level of liquid as the liquid is dispensed (Hentke, Paragraphs 10 and 15, observation occurs while pouring), in order to keep a user aware of the amount of fluid missing, as disclosed by Humphreys (Abstract).
It would have been also obvious to improve the device to include the volume dispensing measuring indicia comprising plurality of lines parallel to a top surface of the level of liquid in the reservoir when the portable watering apparatus is in the watering orientation (Hentke, Figure 1), the lines being parallel to one another, and parallel to a top surface of a liquid level in the reservoir when a portable watering apparatus is in a watering orientation, perpendicular to the direction of gravity when the portable watering apparatus is in the watering orientation (Hentke, Figure 1), in order to provide for measuring volume displacement of small portions accurately, as disclosed by Hentke (Paragraphs 3-4).
Regarding claim 20, Trautmann in view of Hentke discloses the portable watering apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of lines are parallel to the top surface of the liquid at every level of liquid in the reservoir when the portable watering apparatus is in the watering orientation (As modified, Trautmann’s watering orientation is at 45 degrees; The scales of Hentke run from the corner oriented 45 degrees to the baseline; As such, the lines will run parallel to a top surface of the liquid at every level).
Regarding claim 22, Trautmann in view of Hentke discloses the portable watering apparatus of claim 19, wherein the plurality of lines are parallel to the top surface of the liquid at every level of liquid in the reservoir when the portable watering apparatus is in the watering orientation (As modified, Trautmann’s watering orientation is at 45 degrees; The scales of Hentke run from the corner oriented 45 degrees to the baseline; As such, the lines will run parallel to a top surface of the liquid at every level).
Claim(s) 10 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trautmann in view Hentke and Purcell, with disclosures of Humphreys.
Regarding claim 10, Trautmann discloses a portable watering apparatus comprising:
a reservoir (2) configured to hold a liquid (Paragraph 4, the reservoir is a watering can), the reservoir comprising a reservoir sidewall (Figure 2), the portable watering apparatus tilted at a watering angle relative to a direction of gravity when the portable watering apparatus is in the watering orientation (paragraph 13, the pouring tube is located 45 degrees relative to the lower edge of the container; the disclosures suggests the apparatus is titled at an angle to pour), the reservoir having a configuration allowing the liquid to exit the reservoir at every level of liquid when the portable watering apparatus is in the watering orientation (by admission of Applicant, provision of a spout with a 45 degree watering orientation will allow for emptying (Applicant’s specification, paragraph 23); The device has a 45 degree watering orientation, and is therefore configured for emptying), but does not specifically state that the can allows a level of the liquid to be observed when the portable watering apparatus is in a watering orientation; or that the reservoir includes volume dispensing measuring indicia disposed within the at least a portion, the volume dispensing measuring indicia indicating a dispensed volume of liquid when observed relative to a change in the level of liquid as the liquid is dispensed, the volume dispensing measuring indicia comprising plurality of lines parallel to a top surface of the level of liquid in the reservoir when the portable watering apparatus is in the watering orientation, the lines being parallel to one another, and parallel to a top surface of a liquid level in the reservoir when a portable watering apparatus is in a watering orientation.
Hentke discloses an improved pouring device that allows a level of liquid to be observed when the portable watering apparatus is in a tilted orientation (Paragraph 10, the remaining liquid is measured in the tilted orientation, which suggests a level of liquid is observed); and that the reservoir includes volume dispensing measuring indicia disposed within the at least a portion (Paragraph 10, scales running diagonally upward from the lower corner), the volume dispensing measuring indicia indicating a dispensed volume of liquid when observed relative to a change in the level of liquid as the liquid is dispensed (Paragraphs 10 and 15, observation occurs while pouring), the volume dispensing measuring indicia comprising plurality of lines parallel to a top surface of the level of liquid in the reservoir when the portable watering apparatus is in the watering orientation (Figure 1), the lines being parallel to one another, and parallel to a top surface of a liquid level in the reservoir when a portable watering apparatus is in a watering orientation (Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve Trautmann with the disclosures of Hentke, further providing the reservoir (Trautmann, 2) to allow a level of liquid to be observed when the portable watering apparatus is in a tilted orientation (Hentke, Paragraph 3, the cup is transparent), the reservoir (Trautmann, 2) including volume dispensing measuring indicia disposed within the at least a portion (Hentke, Paragraph 10, scales running diagonally upward from the lower corner), the volume dispensing measuring indicia indicating a dispensed volume of liquid when observed relative to a change in the level of liquid as the liquid is dispensed (Hentke, Paragraphs 10 and 15, observation occurs while pouring), in order to keep a user aware of the amount of fluid missing, as disclosed by Humphreys (Abstract).
It would have been also obvious to improve the device to include the volume dispensing measuring indicia comprising plurality of lines parallel to a top surface of the level of liquid in the reservoir when the portable watering apparatus is in the watering orientation (Hentke, Figure 1), the lines being parallel to one another, and parallel to a top surface of a liquid level in the reservoir when a portable watering apparatus is in a watering orientation (Hentke, Figure 1), in order to provide for measuring volume displacement of small portions accurately, as disclosed by Hentke (Paragraphs 3-4).
Trautmann further fails to disclose the system including a watering basin, or the watering apparatus configured to fit inside the watering basin when the portable watering apparatus is not in use.
Purcell discloses an improved system comprising a watering basin (46), with a watering apparatus (28) configured to fit inside the watering basin when the portable watering apparatus is not in use (Figure 2 and Column 3, lines 58-62).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve Trautmann with the disclosures of Purcell, further providing the system to include a watering basin (Purcell, 46), the watering apparatus (of Trautmann) configured to fit inside the watering basin when the portable watering apparatus is not in use (Purcell, Figure 2 and Column 3, lines 58-62), in order to provide for convenient and effective storage of the can, as disclosed by Purcell (Column 2, lines 22-33).
Regarding claim 21, Trautmann in view of Hentke and Purcell discloses the watering system of claim 10, wherein the plurality of lines are parallel to the top surface of the liquid at every level of liquid in the reservoir when the portable watering apparatus is in the watering orientation (As modified, Trautmann’s watering orientation is at 45 degrees; The scales of Hentke run from the corner oriented 45 degrees to the baseline; As such, the lines will run parallel to a top surface of the liquid at every level).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to Applicant’s position that Hentke depicts the apparatus in a non-dispensing orientation, Hentke states that the scales may be placed in the lower corners, allowing for measurement at a suitable angle. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated by the disclosure to provide the measuring elements in a corner allowing for measurement at an angle found suitable. Humphreys and Trautmann each disclose pouring angles as suitable angles. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to disposed the scales in a lower corner allowing for measurement at a pouring angle.
As to Applicant’s position that Humphreys fails to disclose the capability to exit the reservoir at every level in the pouring orientation, the configuration allows for the fluid to exit through various means, including use of a straw.
As to Applicant’s position that Humphreys teaches away from Hentke, Humphreys provides no disclosure against the use of lines aligned as put forth in Hentke. While Humphreys depicts a preferred embodiment, one of ordinary skill in the art would not draw the conclusion that the solution put forth by Hentke is discouraged.
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER R. DANDRIDGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/CHRISTOPHER R DANDRIDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752