DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communication filed on 08/24/2026.
The Claims 2, 8, 16 and 19 have been canceled by the applicant.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 11-15, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamilton et al. (U.S. Pub. 20240202187) in view of Dalgaard et al. (U.S. Pat. 12321250), further in view of Otani (EPO. Pub. JP7413034), further in view of Richardson et al. (U.S. Pub. 20220138556).
Regarding claim 1 Hamilton disclose, a method of providing data for observability on a cellular network, comprising:
identifying tags contained in a plurality of logs of telemetry data, para. 93, “the metadata may include a timestamp value (e.g., a value identifying the time at which the telemetry data 508 was generated), a query identifier, a session identifier, a warehouse identifier (e.g., a warehouse name), a database name, a schema identifier, a source name, a user name, and the like”
wherein the telemetry data is generated by applications running on a radio access network (RAN) node of the cellular network para. 170-180, Fig. 9, “the operations of method 800 may be performed by components of the network-based database system 102, such as a network node (e.g., an ET manager 132 executing on a network node of the compute service manager 108) or a computing device (e.g., client device 114) which may be implemented as machine 900 of FIG. 9 performing the disclosed functions”, and
wherein the telemetry data resides within a user plane on a public cloud of the cellular network, the logs of telemetry data including first logs and second logs para. 38, “The client device 114 corresponds to a user of one of the multiple client accounts supported by the network-based database system 102. A user may utilize the client device 114 to submit data storage, retrieval, and analysis requests to the compute service manager 108”;
wherein the RAN node includes (i) a central unit (CU) that resides on the public cloud of the cellular network para. 62, “the execution nodes shown in FIG. 3 each includes one data cache and one processor”,
(ii) a distributed unit (DU) that resides on a private cloud of the cellular network such that the DU is in communication with the CU on the public cloud of the cellular network para. 62, “The caches shown in FIG. 3 store, in the local execution node, data that was retrieved from one or more data storage devices in the cloud storage platform 104”, and
(iii) a radio unit (RU) under control of the DU para. 178, “Machine 900 includes processors 910, memory and a radio-frequency integrated circuit (RFIC), another processor, or any suitable combination thereof”.
Hamilton does not specifically disclose analyzing the tags to identify the first logs as logs of the plurality of logs that have a first telemetry characteristic and the second logs as other logs of the plurality of logs that have a second telemetry characteristic different from the first telemetry characteristic, routing the first logs to a first storage on the public cloud and the second logs to a second storage on the public cloud that is different from the first storage so that the logs are observable by an observability layer implemented on the public cloud of the cellular network. However, Dalgaard teach, analyzing the tags to identify the first logs as logs of the plurality of logs that have a first telemetry characteristic and the second logs as other logs of the plurality of logs that have a second telemetry characteristic different from the first telemetry characteristic “a user 134 may provide data to configure an observability pipeline 108 by specifying one or more sources of telemetry data (e.g., an identifier of a cluster, an identifier of a specific container instance 150, a tag that can be applied to various resources, a wildcard or value or format to match against a source identifier, etc.)”; see col. 13, lines 15-20, routing the first logs to a first storage on the public cloud and the second logs to a second storage on the public cloud that is different from the first storage so that the logs are observable by an observability layer implemented on the public cloud of the cellular network col. 3, lines 0-7, lines 55-59, “many different users may want different types of telemetry data from an application and may want their type of telemetry data processed differently (e.g., at a higher or lower level of granularity) and/or sent to a different destination (e.g., to a storage location, to a cloud-internal service, to a cloud-external service, etc.), and this may change over time”, furthermore, “these users can reduce their observability costs by retaining control of how the data is processed to reduce the number of metrics points or filter for error logs”.
Hamilton and Dalgaard are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to managing and processing telemetry data.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dalgaard in the system of Hamilton so the system can accurately determine and classify the data collected and storage it according to the configured classification. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure that the information is storage in an organized manner so that it can be accessed and updated the fastest way without having to manage unnecessary loads of data and filtering the error logs.
Hamilton and Dalgaard does not specifically disclose, analyzing each of the second logs to identify the matching log content with other logs of the second logs or logs of the first logs. However, Otani teach, analyzing each of the second logs to identify the matching log content with other logs of the second logs or logs of the first logs para. 40, “when the log determination unit 152 determines that the first log information matches the second log information, the device control unit 153 controls the storage electronic device so that the storage electronic device stores the first log information”.
Hamilton, Dalgaard and Otani are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to managing and processing telemetry data.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mital and Otani in the system of Hamilton and Dalgaard so the network can collect and correlate vast amounts of telemetry data from all network nodes (clients) and network elements. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable proactive management and analysis of the data to optimize the use of resources.
Hamilton, Dalgaard and Otani does not specifically disclose, sanitizing the log content of the first logs within a predetermined time, analyzing each of the second logs to identify the matching log content with other logs of the second logs or logs of the first logs, analyzing each of the second logs to identify the matching log content with other logs of the second logs or logs of the first logs. However, Richardson teach, sanitizing the log content of the first logs within a predetermined time para. 9, “determining that the neural network has trained on the first training data and the second training data for at least a predetermined amount of time”;
analyzing each of the second logs to identify the matching log content with other logs of the second logs or logs of the first logs para. 38, “a processing system 108 is provided to receive data logs from the data sources 112 and parse the data logs for purposes of analyzing the content contained in the data logs”;
sanitizing the log content of the second logs after the predetermined time elapses para. 38, “The processing system 108 may be configured to parse data logs and then evaluate/analyze the parsed data logs”;
Hamilton, Dalgaard, Otani and Richardson are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to managing and processing telemetry data.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mital and Richardson in the system of Hamilton, Dalgaard and Otani so the network can collect and correlate vast amounts of telemetry data from all network nodes (clients) and network elements. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable proactive management and analysis of the data to optimize the use of resources.
Regarding claim 3 Hamilton disclose, further comprising:
sanitizing the log content of the first logs para. 19, “Users and/or executing processes that are associated with a given customer account may, remove data”; and configuring the sanitized log content of the first logs containing matching log content into a common language for observability in the observability layer of the cellular network para. 96, “MET 134 may provide a limited set of query commands that are available to the user. For example, the query commands may include SHOW, DESC, DROP, TRUNCATE, DELETE, ALTER TABLE ADD/DROP ROW ACCESS POLICY. In some embodiments, other query operations/commands may be disallowed”.
Regarding claim 4 Hamilton disclose, wherein sanitizing the log content of the first logs comprises deleting duplicate first logs para. 96, “the query commands may include SHOW, DESC, DROP, TRUNCATE, DELETE, ALTER TABLE ADD/DROP ROW ACCESS POLICY”.
Regarding claim 5 Hamilton disclose, wherein configuring the first logs into the common language comprises transforming the first logs containing the matching log content into a same format para. 105, “The OpenTelemetry library then generates outputs (i.e., trace events) in a standard format. In some aspects, the telemetry output is reformatted (e.g., to structured telemetry data) to be suitable for subsequent processing”.
Regarding claim 11 Hamilton disclose, wherein analyzing the tags to identify the first logs and the second logs includes parsing the tags for predetermined words or phrases para. 19, “Users and/or executing processes that are associated with a given customer account may, via one or more types of clients, be able to cause data to be ingested into the database, and may also be able to manipulate the data, add additional data, remove data, run queries against the data, generate views of the data, and so forth”.
Regarding claim 12 Hamilton disclose, wherein a characteristic that is determined for each log as the first telemetry characteristic or the second telemetry characteristic is a severity of each log para. 97, “the trace event data that is collected by MET instance 506 and entered into the MET 134 may be configured based on log levels assigned to the MET 134”,
each of the first logs in the first storage has high severity telemetry, and each log of the second logs in the second storage has low severity telemetry para. 98, “TE-MET configurations 138 (e.g., trace_level and log_level) can be used for configuring a trace event (e.g., via trace_level) or a log level (e.g., via log level, to configure which logs are collected as trace event data by the MET instance 506)”.
Regarding claim 13 Hamilton disclose, further comprising: deleting the second logs from the second storage para. 96, “the query commands may include SHOW, DESC, DROP, TRUNCATE, DELETE, ALTER TABLE ADD/DROP ROW ACCESS POLICY”, after a predetermined period of time has elapsed para. 120, “the term “span” indicates a data object associated with a named, timed operation that represents a piece of the workflow in a distributed system”.
Regarding claim 14 Hamilton does not specifically disclose, wherein the routing of the first logs to the first storage and the second logs to the second storage is performed by a shipper. However, Dalgaard teach, wherein the routing of the first logs to the first storage and the second logs to the second storage is performed by a shipper “many different users may want different types of telemetry data from an application and may want their type of telemetry data processed differently (e.g., at a higher or lower level of granularity) and/or sent to a different destination (e.g., to a storage location, to a cloud-internal service, to a cloud-external service, etc.), and this may change over time”, see col. 3, lines 0-7.
Hamilton and Dalgaard are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to managing and processing telemetry data.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dalgaard in the system of Hamilton so the system can accurately determine and classify the data collected and storage it according to the configured classification. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure that the information is storage in an organized manner so that it can be accessed and updated the fastest way without having to manage unnecessary loads of data.
Regarding claim 15 the limitations of claim 15 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 18 recites an apparatus corresponding to the method of claim 1 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 20 the limitations of claim 20 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 3.
Allowed Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 9-10 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471