DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more (See 2019 Update: Eligibility Guidance).
Independent Claim(s) 1 recites
receive information about a battery in real time
generate state-of-health data;
store the state-of-health data generated by the state data generator,
store past state data which is generated based on the state-of-health data; and
generate a health state model comprising
a formula which indicates an aging trend of the battery based on the past state data,
generate state prediction data by providing the state-of-health data generated by the state data generator as input to the health state model,
determine a confidence interval associated with the state prediction data,
determine whether the state-of-health is outside of the confidence interval associated with a state prediction data,
generate a correction signal based on determining that the state-of-health data is outside of the confidence interval associated with the state prediction data,
based on the correction signal being generated, modify the health state model,
calculate a remaining life of the battery,
to generate the health state model,
generate an initial model comprising a non-linear function which includes
a model coefficient,
determine an initial model coefficient by
correcting the model coefficient using a least squares approximation based on the initial model and the past state data, and
generate the health state model based on the initial model coefficient and the initial model
[Mathematical Concepts – mathematical relationships; mathematical formulas or equations or mathematical calculation] and/or [Mental Processes - concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)].
Independent Claim(s) 10 recites
collecting information about a battery in real time to generate state-of-health data;
generating past state data by storing the state-of-health data;
generating a health state model comprising
a formula which indicates an aging trend of the battery based on the past state data;
generating state prediction data by providing the state-of-health data as input to the health state model;
determining a confidence interval associated with the state prediction data,
determining whether the state-of-health is outside of the confidence interval associated with a state prediction data,
generating a correction signal based on determining that the state-of-health data is outside of the confidence interval associated with the state prediction data;
based on the correction signal being generated, modify the health state model;
calculating a remaining life of the battery based on the state prediction data
[Mathematical Concepts – mathematical relationships; mathematical formulas or equations or mathematical calculation] and/or [Mental Processes - concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)].
Independent Claim(s) 18 recites
measure information about the battery,
generate sensing data including
output voltage data and output current data;
generate state prediction data based on the sensing data,
calculate a remaining life of the battery,
receive the sensing data in real time
generate state-of-health data;
store the state-of-health data generated by the state data generator
generate past state data;
generate a health state model indicating an aging trend of the battery in a formula type based on the past state data,
generate the state prediction data based on the state-of-health data generated by the state data generator by using the health state model,
determine a confidence interval associated with the state prediction data,
determine whether the state-of-health is outside of the confidence interval associated with a state prediction data,
generate a correction signal based on determining that the state-of-health data is outside of the confidence interval associated with the state prediction data,
based on the correction signal being generated, modify the health state model,
calculate the remaining life of the battery,
to generate the health state model,
generate an initial model comprising
a non-linear function
which includes
a model coefficient;
determine an initial model coefficient by
correcting the model coefficient using a least squares approximation based on the initial model and the past state data;
generate the health state model based on the initial model coefficient and the initial model
[Mathematical Concepts – mathematical relationships; mathematical formulas or equations or mathematical calculation] and/or [Mental Processes - concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)].
In combination with Independent Claim(s) 1, 10, 18, Claim(s) 2-9, 11-17, 19-20 recite(s)
generate the state-of-health data based on output voltage data and output current data of the battery using an electrical equivalent circuit model of the battery.
generate the state-of-health data based on the output voltage data and the output current data using a dual extended Kalman filter.
generate the state-of-health data and state-of- charge data using the dual extended Kalman filter; and
generate battery cycle data based on the state-of-charge data, and
wherein
the battery cycle data and the state-of-health data is stored in the state data storage as the past state data.
wherein
the electrical equivalent circuit model comprises
a Thevenin equivalent circuit model of the battery.
generate the health state model using the least squares approximation based on the past state data;
apply a particle filter to the health state model
and to
generate the state prediction data according to a likelihood function based on the state-of-health data;
generate a correction signal based on the state prediction data and the state-of-health data; and
calculate the remaining life of the battery based on the state prediction data,
generate a confidence interval based on a likelihood corresponding to the state prediction data, and
generate the correction signal based on the state-of-health data being outside of the confidence interval.
applying a particle filter to the health state model to
generate the state prediction data according to a likelihood function based on the state-of-health data.
wherein
the determining whether to modify the health state model includes:
generating a confidence interval based on a likelihood corresponding to the state prediction data;
based on the state-of-health data being outside of the confidence interval,
generating a correction signal; and
modifying the health state model based on the past state data stored before a time point at which the correction signal was generated.
wherein
based on the health state model being regenerated,
modifying the state prediction data using the modified health state model; and
calculating the remaining life of the battery based on the modified state prediction data.
receive the correction signal, and
based on the correction signal being received,
modify the health state model by correcting the initial model coefficient based on the past state data stored in the state data storage before a time point at which the correction signal was received.
modify the health state model by correcting the initial model coefficient using the least squares approximation based on the stored past state data.
wherein
based on the state-of-health data being within the confidence interval,
the battery life calculator is further configured to
calculate the remaining life of the battery based on the state prediction data.
wherein
the generating of the health state model comprises:
generating an initial model comprising
a non-linear function which includes
a model coefficient;
determining an initial model coefficient by
correcting the model coefficient using
a least squares approximation based on the initial model and the past state data; and
generating the health state model based on the initial model coefficient and the initial model
[Mathematical Concepts – mathematical relationships; mathematical formulas or equations or mathematical calculation] and/or [Mental Processes - concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)].
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application:
Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) (i.e. a state data generator configured to; a state data storage configured to; a battery life calculator configured to:; a data measurement unit configured to; a battery life prediction device configured to; wherein the battery life prediction device comprises: a state data generator configured to; a state data store unit configured to; a battery life calculator configured to:; wherein the state data generator comprises: a state data calculator configured to; a battery cycle calculator configured to; wherein the battery life calculator comprises:a health state model generator configured to; a state prediction data generator configured to; a correction signal generator configured to; a remaining life prediction unit configured to);
Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)) (i.e. a data measurement unit configured to); or
Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)) (i.e. a battery including a battery pack; a data measurement unit configured to).
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because looking at the additional elements as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. The additional elements simply append well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, as discussed in Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2359-60, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)) (i.e. See Alice Corp. and cited references for evidence of additional elements (i.e., generic computer structure; generic data acquisition/measurement structure; generic battery)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-11, 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GARCIA ET AL. (US 2019/0187212) (hereinafter “GARCIA”).
With respect to Claim(s) 1, GARCIA teaches systems and computer-implemented methods are used for analyzing battery information and the BRI of:
a state data generator (See, e.g., Fig(s). 10) configured to
receive information about a battery in real time (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1)
generate state-of-health data (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1);
a state data storage (See, e.g., Fig(s). 10) configured to
store the state-of-health data generated by the state data generator (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1),
store past state data which is generated based on the state-of-health data (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1); and
a battery life calculator (See, e.g., Fig(s). 10) configured to:
generate a health state model (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1) comprising
a formula which indicates an aging trend of the battery based on the past state data (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1),
generate state prediction data by providing the state-of-health data generated by the state data generator as input to the health state model (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1),
determine a confidence interval associated with the state prediction data (See, e.g., ¶ 0089, 0124; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-4, 6-9),
determine whether the state-of-health is outside of the confidence interval associated with a state prediction data (See, e.g., ¶ 0089, 0124; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-4, 6-9),
generate a correction signal based on determining that the state-of-health data is outside of the confidence interval associated with the state prediction data, based on the correction signal being generated, modify the health state model, (See, e.g., ¶ 0089, 0124; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-4, 6-9),
calculate a remaining life of the battery (See, e.g., ¶ 0011; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 3),
to generate the health state model (See, e.g., ¶ 0011; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 3),
the battery life calculator is further configured to:
generate an initial model (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1-4, 6-9) comprising
a non-linear function which includes a model coefficient (See, e.g., ¶ 0092-0093, 0103),
determine an initial model coefficient by correcting the model coefficient using a least squares approximation based on the initial model and the past state data (See, e.g., ¶ 0115), and
generate the health state model based on the initial model coefficient and the initial model (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1-4, 6-9).
With respect to Claim(s) 10, GARCIA teaches systems and computer-implemented methods are used for analyzing battery information and the BRI of:
collecting information about a battery in real time to generate state-of-health data (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1);
generating past state data by storing the state-of-health data (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1);
generating a health state model (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1) comprising
a formula which indicates an aging trend of the battery based on the past state data (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1);
generating state prediction data by providing the state-of-health data as input to the health state model (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1);
determining a confidence interval associated with the state prediction data (See, e.g., ¶ 0089, 0124; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-4, 6-9),
determining whether the state-of-health is outside of the confidence interval associated with a state prediction data (See, e.g., ¶ 0089, 0124; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-4, 6-9),
generating a correction signal based on determining that the state-of-health data is outside of the confidence interval associated with the state prediction data; based on the correction signal being generated, modify the health state model (See, e.g., ¶ 0089, 0124; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-4, 6-9);
calculating a remaining life of the battery based on the state prediction data (See, e.g., ¶ 0011; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 3).
With respect to Claim(s) 18, GARCIA teaches systems and computer-implemented methods are used for analyzing battery information and the BRI of:
a battery (See, e.g., Fig(s). 10) including
a battery pack (See, e.g., Fig(s). 10);
a data measurement unit (See, e.g., Fig(s). 10) configured to
measure information about the battery (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1),
generate sensing data (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1) including
output voltage data (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1)
output current data (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1);
a battery life prediction device (See, e.g., Fig(s). 10) configured to
generate state prediction data based on the sensing data (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1),
calculate a remaining life of the battery (See, e.g., ¶ 0011; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 3),
the battery life prediction device comprises:
a state data generator (See, e.g., Fig(s). 10) configured to
receive the sensing data in real time (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1)
generate state-of-health data (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1);
a state data store unit (See, e.g., Fig(s). 10) configured to
store the state-of-health data generated by the state data generator (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1)
generate past state data (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1); and
a battery life calculator (See, e.g., Fig(s). 10) configured to:
generate a health state model indicating an aging trend of the battery in a formula type based on the past state data (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1),
generate the state prediction data based on the state-of-health data generated by the state data generator by using the health state model (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1),
determine a confidence interval associated with the state prediction data (See, e.g., ¶ 0089, 0124; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-4, 6-9),
determine whether the state-of-health is outside of the confidence interval associated with a state prediction data (See, e.g., ¶ 0089, 0124; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-4, 6-9),
generate a correction signal based on determining that the state-of-health data is outside of the confidence interval associated with the state prediction data, based on the correction signal being generated, modify the health state model (See, e.g., ¶ 0089, 0124; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-4, 6-9),
calculate the remaining life of the battery (See, e.g., ¶ 0011; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 3),
wherein
to generate the health state model,
the battery life calculator is further configured to:
generate an initial model (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1-4, 6-9) comprising
a non-linear function which includes a model coefficient (See, e.g., ¶ 0092-0093, 0103); and
determine an initial model coefficient by correcting the model coefficient using a least squares approximation based on the initial model and the past state data (See, e.g., ¶ 0115); and
generate the health state model based on the initial model coefficient and the initial model (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1-4, 6-9).
With respect to Claim(s) 2, 11, 19, GARCIA teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GARCIA further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the state data generator is further configured to
generate the state-of-health data based on output voltage data and output current data of the battery using an electrical equivalent circuit model of the battery (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1).
With respect to Claim(s) 6, 20, GARCIA teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GARCIA further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the battery life calculator comprises:
a health state model generator (See, e.g., Fig(s). 10) configured to
generate the health state model using the least squares approximation based on the past state data (See, e.g., ¶ 0115);
a state prediction data generator (See, e.g., Fig(s). 10) configured to
apply a particle filter to the health state model (See, e.g., ¶ 0009, 0010)
and to
generate the state prediction data according to a likelihood function based on the state-of-health data (See, e.g., ¶ 0126);
a correction signal generator (See, e.g., Fig(s). 10) configured to
generate a correction signal based on the state prediction data and the state-of-health data (See, e.g., ¶ 0105, 0116, 0132); and
a remaining life prediction unit (See, e.g., Fig(s). 10) configured to
calculate the remaining life of the battery based on the state prediction data (See, e.g., ¶ 0011; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 3),
wherein
the state prediction data generator is configured to
generate a confidence interval based on a likelihood corresponding to the state prediction data (See, e.g., ¶ 0104, 0105, 0108, 0116, 0128, 0132), and
wherein
the correction signal generator is further configured to
generate the correction signal based on the state-of-health data being outside of the confidence interval (See, e.g., ¶ 0105, 0116, 0132).
With respect to Claim(s) 15, GARCIA teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GARCIA further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the generating of the state prediction data comprises
applying a particle filter to the health state model (See, e.g., ¶ 0009, 0010)
to
generate the state prediction data according to a likelihood function based on the state-of-health data (See, e.g., ¶ 0126).
With respect to Claim(s) 16, GARCIA teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GARCIA further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the determining whether to modify the health state model includes:
generating a confidence interval based on a likelihood corresponding to the state prediction data (See, e.g., ¶ 0104, 0105, 0108, 0116, 0128, 0132);
based on the state-of-health data being outside of the confidence interval,
generating a correction signal (See, e.g., ¶ 0105, 0116, 0132); and
modifying the health state model based on the past state data stored before a time point at which the correction signal was generated (See, e.g., ¶ 0105, 0116, 0132).
With respect to Claim(s) 17, GARCIA teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GARCIA further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
based on the health state model being regenerated,
the method further comprises:
modifying the state prediction data using the modified health state model (See, e.g., ¶ 0105, 0116, 0132); and
calculating the remaining life of the battery based on the modified state prediction data (See, e.g., ¶ 0011; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 3).
With respect to Claim(s) 7, GARCIA teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GARCIA further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the health state model generator is further configured to:
receive the correction signal (See, e.g., ¶ 0105, 0116, 0132), and
based on the correction signal being received,
modify the health state model
by
correcting the initial model coefficient based on the past state data stored in the state data storage before a time point at which the correction signal was received (See, e.g., ¶ 0105, 0116, 0132).
With respect to Claim(s) 8, GARCIA teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GARCIA further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the health state model generator is further configured to
modify the health state model
by
correcting the initial model coefficient using the least squares approximation based on the stored past state data (See, e.g., ¶ 0105, 0115, 0116, 0132).
With respect to Claim(s) 9, GARCIA teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GARCIA further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
based on the state-of-health data being within the confidence interval,
the battery life calculator is further configured to
calculate the remaining life of the battery based on the state prediction data (See, e.g., ¶ 0011; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 3).
With respect to Claim(s) 14, GARCIA teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GARCIA further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the generating of the health state model comprises:
generating an initial model (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1-4, 6-9) comprising
a non-linear function which includes a model coefficient (See, e.g., ¶ 0092-0093, 0103);
determining an initial model coefficient by correcting the model coefficient using a least squares approximation based on the initial model and the past state data (See, e.g., ¶ 0115); and
generating the health state model based on the initial model coefficient and the initial model (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1-4, 6-9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the cited references of the parent claim(s) in view of CHOI (US 2015/0377974).
With respect to Claim(s) 3, 12, GARCIA teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GARCIA further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the state data generator is further configured to
generate the state-of-health data based on the output voltage data and the output current data (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1).
However, GARCIA is lacking the explicit language of:
using a dual extended Kalman filter.
CHOI teaches a battery state estimation method and system and the BRI of:
using a dual extended Kalman filter (See, e.g., ¶ 0052).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GARCIA to include using a dual extended Kalman filter.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GARCIA because it would be beneficial to improve SOC/SOH estimation. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the cited references of the parent claim(s) in view of CHOI (US 2015/0377974), JO ET AL. (US 2023/0076118) (hereinafter “JO”).
With respect to Claim(s) 4, GARCIA, CHOI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GARCIA further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the state data generator comprises:
a state data calculator (See, e.g., Fig(s). 10) configured to
generate the state-of-health data and state-of- charge data (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1).
CHOI further teaches the BRI of:
using a dual extended Kalman filter (See, e.g., ¶ 0052).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GARCIA to include using a dual extended Kalman filter.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GARCIA because it would be beneficial to improve SOC/SOH estimation. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
However, GARCIA is lacking the explicit language of:
a battery cycle calculator configured to generate battery cycle data based on the state-of-charge data, and wherein the battery cycle data and the state-of-health data is stored in the state data storage as the past state data.
JO teaches a battery state prediction device and the BRI of:
a battery cycle calculator configured to generate battery cycle data based on the state-of-charge data, and wherein the battery cycle data and the state-of-health data is stored in the state data storage as the past state data (See, e.g., ¶ 0045).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GARCIA to include a battery cycle calculator configured to generate battery cycle data based on the state-of-charge data, and wherein the battery cycle data and the state-of-health data is stored in the state data storage as the past state data.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GARCIA because it would be beneficial to improve predicant state of a battery. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 5, 13, GARCIA, CHOI, JO teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
JO further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the electrical equivalent circuit model comprises
a Thevenin equivalent circuit model of the battery (See, e.g., ¶ 0049, 0050).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GARCIA to include wherein the electrical equivalent circuit model comprises a Thevenin equivalent circuit model of the battery.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GARCIA because it would be beneficial to improve predicant state of a battery. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, filed on 08/03/2026, have been entered and fully considered. In light of the applicant’s amendments changing the scope of the claimed invention, the rejection(s) have been withdrawn or updated. However, upon further consideration, a new or updated ground(s) of rejection(s) have been made, and applicant's argument(s)/remark(s) pertaining to the amended language have been rendered moot.
Applicant's argument(s)/remark(s), see page(s) 11-14, filed 08/03/2026, with respect to the 101 rejection(s) has/have been fully considered.
-Applicant states
“Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more (See 2019 Update: Eligibility Guidance).
On pages 23-24 of the Office Action, in response to the previous remarks, the Examiner asserts that the claims relate to "generic computer structure being used as a tool to mathematically process generically acquired data, not improving how the machine learning model itself would function in operation". In addition, on page 24 of the Office Action, the Examiner further asserts that "Examiner's BRI of the claimed inventions is generic computer structure being used as a tool to generically acquire data corresponding to a battery and mathematically processing said data to update/calibrate a mathematical model and eventually output a result from the updated/calibrated mathematical model".
Applicant respectfully disagrees with the Examiner's assertions for at least the reasons discussed in the previous remarks. In addition, without conceding to the merits of the Examiner's assertions, and solely in the interest of advancing prosecution, Applicant has amended claim 1 to specify, Applicant has amended claim 1 to specify "generate a correction signal based on determining that the state-of-health data is outside of the confidence interval associated with the state prediction data, [and] based on the correction signal being generated, modify the health state model", with corresponding amendments to the other independent claims.
As discussed in Applicant's previous remarks, MPEP §2106.04(d) states (emphasis added):
A claim reciting a judicial exception is not directed to the judicial exception if it also recites additional elements demonstrating that the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. One way to demonstrate such integration is when the claimed invention improves the functioning of a computer or improves another technology or technical field.
This section also provides guidance for determining whether a judicial exception is integrated into a practical application, stating "first the specification should be evaluated to determine if the disclosure provides sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement", and further stating "if the specification sets forth an improvement in technology, the claim must be evaluated to ensure that the claim itself reflects the disclosed improvement". Further, unlike the Step 2B analysis, the analysis under Step 2A Prong Two is performed "without reference to what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity".
FIGS. 11 and 12 are graphs illustrating example outputs of a health state model, according to embodiments of the present disclosure. See Specification, paragraph [0114]. In the example shown in FIG. 11, the battery life calculator may generate a health state model based on data which includes state-of-health data (Data SOH) generated based on battery cycles from 0 to 100, and the health state model may be used to generate state prediction data and a corresponding confidence interval CI. See Specification, paragraph [0115]. As shown in the example of FIG. 11, the SOH data DataSOH generated at the 300th battery cycle may not be within the confidence interval CI. See Specification, paragraph [0120]. According to a comparative example, when the remaining life is predicted using a previously generated health state model without generating a correction signal (e.g., after the 300th battery cycle as shown in FIG. 11), a difference between the remaining life estimation value and an actual remaining life value may increase. See Specification, paragraph [0121].
In contrast, according to embodiments of the present disclosure supporting claim 1, the correction signal generator may be configured to determine whether state-of-health data is included in a confidence interval associated with the state prediction data, and to generate a correction signal based on the state-of-health data being outside of the confidence interval (e.g., when the battery cycle reaches the 300th cycle in the example discussed above). See Specification, paragraph [0122]. Then, the health state model may be regenerated based on the correction signal. In the example of FIG. 12, when the battery cycle reaches the 300th cycle, the battery life calculator 230 may regenerate the health state model based on second past state data S_SOH2 (which may include the SOH data DataSOH generated based on battery cycles from 0 to 300). See Specification, paragraph [0123]. As shown in FIG. 12, the difference between the actual remaining life value and a remaining life estimation value after the 300th cycle may be decreased with respect to the example shown in FIG. 11.
As a result, because embodiments may provide a decrease in the difference between the actual remaining life value and a remaining life estimation value obtained used the regenerated health state model (e.g., after the 300th battery cycle), the accuracy of remaining life prediction may therefore be improved. See Specification, paragraph [0122].
Therefore, Applicant submits that the Specification clearly articulates an improvement to the technologies of battery monitoring and management. Further, Applicant submits that the this improvement is properly reflected in the claims, for example in the portions of the claims relating to determining to generate the correction signal based on the state-of-health data being outside of a confidence interval associated with the state prediction data.
Therefore, Applicant submits that, even assuming arguendo that the claims recite any judicial exception, to which Applicant does not acquiesce, Applicant submits that any potential judicial exception is integrated into a practical application which includes an improvement to computer technology. Therefore, Applicant submits that the claims are not directed to a judicial exception, and are patent eligible at least at Step 2A Prong Two of the patent eligibility analysis.
Accordingly, Applicant submits that the claims satisfy all of the requirements of § 101, and respectfully requests that these rejections be withdrawn.”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the underlined argument(s)/remark(s).
Examiner maintains previous response to the rejected claim language:
Examiner’s BRI of the claimed inventions is generic computer structure being used as a tool to mathematically process generically acquired data.
The examined claims align with Example 47, claim 2, which an abstract idea was identified as being present and was found to be patent ineligible.
Examiner’s BRI of the claimed inventions is generic computer structure being used as a tool to generically acquire data corresponding to a battery and mathematically processing said data to update/calibrate a mathematical model and eventually output a result from the updated/calibrated mathematical model.
When examining step 2A Prong 1, Examiner determines if there is an abstract idea present. One skilled in the art can at least perform the identified abstract idea utilizing Mathematical Concepts – mathematical relationships; mathematical formulas or equations or mathematical calculation. One skilled in the art can at least perform the identified abstract idea utilizing Mental Processes - concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion). The arguments, in light of the specification, fail to convince the Examiner that utilizing Mathematical Concepts and/or Mental Processes does not fit within the scope of the identified abstract limitations.
When examining step 2A Prong 2, Examiner examines the additional elements to determine if the identified abstract idea has been practically applied in a particular way in a particular technology. Limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application: Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)); Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)); or Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). The additional elements, when viewed individually and in combination with the identified abstract idea, do not add anything beyond mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, adding generic ‘apply it’ language, and generically linking the identified abstract idea to a technological environment or field of use.
When examining step 2B, Examiner examines the additional elements to determine if they amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The only additional element(s) is/are the generic computer structure being used as a tool to perform the abstract idea and the battery where the generic computer structure is generically acquiring the data from. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because looking at the additional elements as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually.
It is important to note, the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. An improved abstract idea is still an abstract idea.
Applicant's argument(s)/remark(s), see page(s) 14-19, filed 08/03/2026, with respect to the art rejection(s) has/have been fully considered.
-Applicant states
“Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-11, and 14-20 are rejected under § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Garcia (US 2019/0187212).
Applicant respectfully traverses these rejections and requests reconsideration.
Independent claim 1 recites (emphasis added):
…
generate state prediction data by providing the state-of-health data generated by the state data generator as input to the health state model,
determine a confidence interval associated with the state prediction data,
determine whether the state-of-health data is outside of the confidence interval associated with the state prediction data,
generate a correction signal based on determining that the state-of-health data is outside of the confidence interval associated with the state prediction data, based on the correction signal being generated, modify the health state model, and
…
Applicant respectfully submits that claim 1 is patentable because Garcia fails to disclose or suggest each and every element of the claim. For example, Applicant respectfully submits that Garcia fails to disclose "generate state prediction data by providing the state-of-health data generated by the state data generator as input to the health state model, determine a confidence interval associated with the state prediction data, determine whether the state-of- health data is outside of the confidence interval associated with the state prediction data, generate a correction signal based on determining that the state-of-health data is outside of the confidence interval associated with the state prediction data, [and] based on the correction signal being generated, modify the health state model," as claimed.
According to non-limiting exemplary embodiments of the present disclosure supporting claim 1, a health state model may be modified based on a correction signal generated in response to state-of-health data being outside of a confidence interval associated with state prediction data.
Referring to FIG. 8 of Garcia, RUL/EOL prediction values generated through multiple algorithm paths, such as PF, NN, and ARMA, are combined, and the Life Extension Strategy (LES) module may select or modify an operating profile in order to satisfy the required RUL/EOL value.
However, the modification target in Garcia is an operating profile representing future battery operating conditions. That is, Garcia modifies an assumed future use condition of the battery, not the health state model itself. Therefore, Applicant submits that Garcia does not disclose the claimed feature of modifying or regenerating the health state model itself based on the correction signal.
In addition, on page 28 of the Office Action, in response to the previous remarks, the Examiner asserts:
Examiner's BRI of the structures of the 'state data generator' and
'battery life calculator' is generic computer structure.
Examiner's BRI of said function(s) of the 'state data generator' is/are to generically receive/generate data corresponding to the state of health of a battery.
Examiner's BRI of said function(s) of the 'battery life calculator' is/are to generate and utilize a mathematical model corresponding to state of health of a battery to predict the state of the battery, utilizing a confidence/validation metric to validate the result of the mathematical model, and update/calibrate/modify said mathematical model if the result does not meet the confidence/validation metric.
The Examiner then goes on to assert that Garcia teaches the subject matter above.
As discussed in Applicant's previous remarks, Garcia discloses a battery condition monitoring (BCM) system that may include a training and learning module for tuning embedded models based on training data, a feature extraction module for computing internal battery parameters, a state estimation module for estimating current battery health conditions (e.g., SOC, SOH), and a state prediction module for predicting the future condition state of the battery. See Garcia, paragraph [0072]. To perform the SOH estimation, a plurality of health metrics may be estimated, and the health metrics may be combined or fused to obtain an aggregate SOH estimation according to weights determined based on a confidence measure. See, e.g., Garcia, paragraph [0104], [0108]. Then, a future condition state of the battery may be predicted by calculating a plurality of health metrics at a future time instance, and then combining or fusing this plurality of future health metrics based on a confidence measure, similar to the aggregate SOH estimation discussed above. See Garcia, paragraphs [0117], [0132].
Therefore, nothing in Garcia discloses providing the measured internal battery parameters to the state prediction module to generate the estimated health metrics or aggregate SOH estimation, then calculating a confidence measure, and then comparing the confidence measure to the measured internal battery parameters to determine whether to update the state prediction module. Instead, as discussed in the previous remarks, to the extent that Garcia discusses obtaining a confidence measure, this confidence measure is only used to combine or fuse the multiple estimated health metrics or predicted future health metrics into a single value (e.g., to generate the aggregate SOH estimation), and not to evaluate the inputs to the state prediction module.
Therefore, Garcia fails to disclose or suggest "generate state prediction data by providing the state-of-health data generated by the state data generator as input to the health state model, determine a confidence interval associated with the state prediction data, determine whether the state-of-health data is outside of the confidence interval associated with the state prediction data, generate a correction signal based on determining that the state- of-health data is outside of the confidence interval associated with the state prediction data, [and] based on the correction signal being generated, modify the health state model," as claimed in claim 1.
Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that claim 1 is patentable as each and every element of the claim is not disclosed or suggested by the cited reference.
Regarding independent claims 10 and 18, Applicant respectfully submits that claims 10 and 18 are patentable for at least similar reasons as those provided above with reference to claim 1.
Regarding dependent claims 2, 6-9, 11, 14-17, and 19-20 , Applicant respectfully submits that these claims are patentable for at least the reasons set forth above due to their respective dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under § 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia in view of Choi (US 2015/0377974).
Claims 4-5 and 13 are rejected under § 103 as being unpatentable Garcia in view of Choi and Jo (US 2023/0076118).
Applicant submits that Choi and Jo fail to remedy the deficiencies of Garcia discussed above, and are not relied upon by the Examiner to do so. Therefore, Applicant submits that these claims are patentable for at least the reasons discussed above due to their respective dependencies.”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the underlined argument(s)/remark(s).
Examiner maintains previous response to the rejected claim language:
The above arguments are directed towards the claimed limitations of:
“a state data generator configured to
receive information about a battery in real time and to generate state-of-health data;
…
a battery life calculator configured to:
generate a health state model comprising a formula which indicates an aging trend of the battery based on the past state data, generate state prediction data by providing the state-of-health data generated by the state data generator as input to the health state model, determine a confidence interval associated with the state prediction data, determine whether the state-of-health is outside of the confidence interval associated with a state prediction data, generate a correction signal based on determining that the state-of-health data is outside of the confidence interval associated with the state prediction data, based on the correction signal being generated, modify the health state model,
…”
Examiner’s BRI of the structures of the ‘state data generator’ and ‘battery life calculator’ is generic computer structure.
Examiner’s BRI of said function(s) of the ‘state data generator’ is/are to generically receive/generate data corresponding to the state of health of a battery.
Examiner’s BRI of said function(s) of the ‘battery life calculator’ is/are to generate and utilize a mathematical model corresponding to state of health of a battery to predict the state of the battery, utilizing a confidence/validation metric to validate the result of the mathematical model, and update/calibrate/modify said mathematical model if the result does not meet the confidence/validation metric.
GARCIA teaches:
[Fig. 1] “input data 102 include impedance spectra, temperatures, offload/underload conditions, voltages, and currents collected at sampling rates that are accordingly selected for the applications at hand”, “learned battery models 108 including electrical equivalent circuits, electrochemical aging models, analytical/kinetic models, as well as other battery models”, “Three primary operations, generally executed in sequence, are: 1) state estimation and prediction 120 of internal battery parameters based on observations and embedded knowledge, 2) state interpretation 150 of these calculated parameters, and 3) computation of health estimation and prediction 170”, “output data 195 include SOC, SOH, RUL, and EOL”.
[Fig. 2] “training, learning, feature extraction, state update, and state propagation methods. This diagram illustrates basic modules of the present disclosure. Four main modules are: 1) a training and learning module 210 used for tuning embedded models based on training data; 2) a feature extraction module 220 used for computing internal battery parameters; 3) a state estimation module 230 used for estimating the current condition state of the battery based on current and historical information, which is then used to estimate current battery health conditions (e.g., SOC, SOH); and 4) a state prediction module 240 used for predicting the future condition state of the battery based on forecasted or assumed future operational conditions of interest for what-if analysis, which is then used to predict future battery health conditions (e.g., RUL, EOL)”
[0089] “temperature data are used to accordingly modify baseline aging mappings and databases learned and stored when necessary”
[0124] “this module first selects a given operational profile, which then translates to a specific aging model used to predict future values of battery parameters, battery states, or a combination thereof. These estimations are then used to compute RUL[k]. If this estimate does not meet given needs, the model then picks/modifies the assumed operating profile and repeats this cycle, which is terminated when RUL[k] meets the specification sRUL[k] desired at k. Thus, the LES module 892 computes output 894 as LES(k)”
In view of GARCIA, Examiner is not persuaded that the inventor invented function of generically receiving/generating data corresponding to the state of health of a battery, generating and utilizing a mathematical model corresponding to state of health of a battery to predict the state of the battery, utilizing a confidence/validation metric to validate the result of the mathematical model, and updating/calibrating/modifying said mathematical model if the result does not meet the confidence/validation metric.
Conclusion
RAYMOND NIMOX
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2857
/RAYMOND L NIMOX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit