DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 07/28/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1, 9-11, 13-15 and 17 have been amended.
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-11, 13-15, 17-18 and 20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-11, 13-15, 17-18 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 7, 9-10, 13, 15, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salkintzis et al. (US 20240187918 A1) in view of Won et al. (US 20210258857 A1) and further in view of Sugawara (US 20230209489 A1) and Niemi et al. (US 20210321477 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Salkintzis teaches a method (UE 205 which registers with a PLMN20 network of Fig. 2) comprising:
sending, by a wireless device to a standalone non-public network (SNPN) via a user plane function (UPF) of a public land mobile network (PLMN), a first message indicating a first registration request to access the SNPN (The UE 205 then registers to this PLMN 220 by performing an existing procedure for 5G registration via the N3IWF 221 or, equivalently, for 5G registration via untrusted non-3GPP access. This registration procedure is conducted by exchanging NAS messages between the UE 205 and AMF-1 222 via the N3IWF 221 and via the first PDU Session 235 of the UE 205 (i.e., via the UPF-0 218 in the NPN 215 and via the Access Network 210), [0064] and While the procedure assumes that the first mobile communication network is an NPN and the second mobile communication network is a PLMN, in an alternative embodiment, the roles of the NPN and the PLMN can be interchanged. In other words, it is also possible to apply the principles and the procedure described below in a scenario where the UE 205 is connected to a PLMN (consisting of NG-RAN access and 5GC core network) and uses a PDU Session via the PLMN to connect to an NPN consisting of at least a 5G core network by using a N3IWF in the NPN, [0079]).
However, Salkintzis does not clearly teach receiving, by the wireless device from the SNPN, a registration reject message comprising a cause value, wherein the cause value indicates that access to the SNPN via PLMN is not allowed; and disabling, by the wireless device and based on the cause value indicating that access to the SNPN via the PLMN is not allowed, an N1 mode capability for the access to the SNPN via the PLMN; and directly accessing, by the wireless device, a non-3GPP (N3GPP) access of the SNPN.
In an analogous art, Won teaches receiving, by the wireless device from the SNPN, a registration reject message comprising a cause value (When the UE 102 disables its N1 mode capability due to receipt of a reject from the network with 5GMM cause #27 “N1 mode not allowed”, [0274]), wherein the cause value indicates that access to the SNPN via the PLMN is not allowed (UE 102 can maintain, for each of the entries in the “list of subscriber data,” one SNPN-specific N1 mode attempt counter for 3GPP access… when requesting SNPN services via a PLMN only, [0261]; UE 102 receives a non-integrity protected reject message including 5GMM cause value #27 (or #72), the UE 102 disables N1 mode capability for {the entry, the respective access type, [0263]; and The UE 102 should maintain a list of entries for which the N1 mode capability was disabled due to receipt of a reject from the network with 5GMM cause #27 “N1 mode not allowed”…UE 102 shall not use entries (or SNPNs) for which N1 mode is not allowed as SNPN selection candidates for NG-RAN access technology, [0273]);
disabling, by the wireless device and based on the cause value indicating that access to the SNPN via the PLMN is not allowed, an N1 mode capability for the access to the SNPN via the PLMN (When the UE 102 disables its N1 mode capability due to receipt of a reject from the network with 5GMM cause #27 “N1 mode not allowed” for an entry: [0274] the UE 102 should add the index of the entry used for accessing the SNPN which sent a reject with 5GMM cause #27 “N1 mode not allowed” to the list of entries for which N1 mode is disabled (or add the SNPN identity of the SNPN which sent a reject with 5GMM cause #27 “N1 mode not allowed” to the list of SNPNs for which N1 mode is disabled, [0274]-[0275] and when requesting SNPN services via a PLMN only, [0261]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the second connection of Salkintzis with the rejection of Won to provide a method and a system for management of network connections within multiple radio access technology mobile networks as suggested.
However, Salkintzis and Won do not teach directly accessing, by the wireless device and based on the cause value indicating that access to the SNPN via the PLMN is not allowed, the SNPN via a non-3GPP (N3GPP) access.
In an analogous art, Sugawara teaches directly accessing, by the wireless device and based on the cause value indicating that access to the SNPN via the PLMN is not allowed, the SNPN via a non-3GPP (N3GPP) access (The AMF 210 initiates the present procedure by transmitting a de-registration request (DEREGISTRATION REQUEST) message to the UE via the N3IWF_240 (hereinafter also referred to as the N3IWF) and the non-3GPP access, [0442]; The AMF may include at least one piece of identification information out of the 41st to 43rd identification information in the de-registration request message for transmission, [0443]; The 42nd identification information may … indicate that access to the SNPN via the PLMN is not available, [0168]; By transmitting at least one of these pieces of identification information and/or the de-registration request message, the AMF … may indicate change from connection to the SNPN via the PLMN to direct connection to the SNPN, [0444]; UE may … trigger performance of processing for changing from connection to the SNPN via the PLMN to direct connection to the SNPN, [0446]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the second connection of Salkintzis and Won with the direct access of Sugawara to provide a technique for efficiently performing handover between an SNPN and a PLMN as suggested, Sugawara [0008].
However, Salkintzis, Won and Sugawara do not clearly teach wherein the Ni mode capability is reenabled for the N3GPP access.
In an analogous art, Niemi teaches wherein the Ni mode capability is reenabled for the N3GPP access (then UE 110 may re-enable the N1 mode capability for 3GPP access and proceed with the appropriate 5GMM procedure, [0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the second connection of Salkintzis, Won and Sugawara with the redirection of Niemi to provide a protocol improvement for redirection to another system in mobile communications as suggested, Niemi [0002].
Regarding claim 2, Salkintzis as modified by Won, Sugawara and Niemi teaches the method of claim 1. Won further discloses wherein the access restriction parameter indicates at least one of: a non-3GPP (N3GPP) access type indicating N3GPP access to the SNPN; a 3GPP access type indicating 3GPP access to the SNPN; or the extended access type, wherein the extended access type indicates N3GPP access to the SNPN via a 3GPP underlay network (If the initial registration request is rejected due to general NAS level mobility management congestion control, the network can or shall set the 5GMM cause value to #22 “congestion” and assign a back-off timer T3346. Two other such cause values “cause #27” and “cause #72”, which refer, respectively, to “N1 mode not allowed” and “Non-3GPP access to 5GCN not allowed, Won [0137]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified second network connection of Salkintzis, Sugawara and Niemi with the mode capability of Won to provide a methods and a system to lead the UE to be able to receive a registration acceptance message from a requested network more rapidly because there is a lower likelihood that the network to which the UE requested access is going to deny access as suggested, Won [0006].
Regarding claim 5, Salkintzis as modified by Won, Sugawara and Niemi teaches the method of claim 1, sending, by the wireless device to the SNPN via a cell of the SNPN, a second request to access the SNPN (This registration procedure is conducted by exchanging NAS messages between the UE 205 and AMF-1 222 via the N3IWF 221 and via the first PDU Session 235 of the UE 205 (i.e., via the UPF-0 218 in the NPN 215 and via the Access Network 210), Salkintzis [0064] ; and while the procedure assumes that the first mobile communication network is an NPN and the second mobile communication network is a PLMN, in an alternative embodiment, the roles of the NPN and the PLMN can be interchanged. In other words, it is also possible to apply the principles and the procedure described below in a scenario where the UE 205 is connected to a PLMN (consisting of NG-RAN access and 5GC core network) and uses a PDU Session via the PLMN to connect to an NPN consisting of at least a 5G core network by using a N3IWF in the NPN, [0079]).
Regarding claim 7, Salkintzis as modified by Won, Sugawara and Niemi teaches the method of claim 1.
Won further discloses wherein rejection message indicating that an N1 mode is not allowed for accessing the SNPN via the PLMN (While the procedure assumes that the first mobile communication network is an NPN and the second mobile communication network is a PLMN, in an alternative embodiment, the roles of the NPN and the PLMN can be interchanged. In other words, it is also possible to apply the principles and the procedure described below in a scenario where the UE 205 is connected to a PLMN (consisting of NG-RAN access and 5GC core network) and uses a PDU Session via the PLMN to connect to an NPN consisting of at least a 5G core network by using a N3IWF in the NPN, [0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the second connection of Salkintzis, Sugawara and Niemi with the rejection of Won to provide a method and a system for management of network connections within multiple radio access technology mobile networks as suggested.
Regarding claim 9, Salkintzis teaches a wireless device (user equipment 700 of Fig. 7) comprising: one or more processors (processor 705); and memory storing instructions that (memory 710), when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to perform operations comprising:
sending, to a standalone non-public network (SNPN) via a user plane function (UPF) of a
However, Salkintzis does not clearly teach receiving, from the SNPN, a registration reject message comprising a cause value, wherein the cause value indicates that access to the SNPN via the PLMN is not allowed; and disabling, based on the cause value indicating that access to the SNPN via the PLMN is not allowed an N1 mode capability for the access to the SNPN via the PLMN.
In an analogous art, Won teaches receiving, by the wireless device from the SNPN, a registration reject message comprising a cause value (When the UE 102 disables its N1 mode capability due to receipt of a reject from the network with 5GMM cause #27 “N1 mode not allowed”, [0274]), wherein the cause value indicates that access to the SNPN via the PLMN is not allowed (UE 102 can maintain, for each of the entries in the “list of subscriber data,” one SNPN-specific N1 mode attempt counter for 3GPP access… when requesting SNPN services via a PLMN only, [0261]; UE 102 receives a non-integrity protected reject message including 5GMM cause value #27 (or #72), the UE 102 disables N1 mode capability for {the entry, the respective access type, [0263]; and The UE 102 should maintain a list of entries for which the N1 mode capability was disabled due to receipt of a reject from the network with 5GMM cause #27 “N1 mode not allowed”…UE 102 shall not use entries (or SNPNs) for which N1 mode is not allowed as SNPN selection candidates for NG-RAN access technology, [0273]); and
disabling, by the wireless device and based on the cause value indicating that access to the SNPN via the PLMN is not allowed, an N1 mode capability for the access to the SNPN via the PLMN (When the UE 102 disables its N1 mode capability due to receipt of a reject from the network with 5GMM cause #27 “N1 mode not allowed” for an entry: [0274] the UE 102 should add the index of the entry used for accessing the SNPN which sent a reject with 5GMM cause #27 “N1 mode not allowed” to the list of entries for which N1 mode is disabled (or add the SNPN identity of the SNPN which sent a reject with 5GMM cause #27 “N1 mode not allowed” to the list of SNPNs for which N1 mode is disabled, [0274]-[0275] and when requesting SNPN services via a PLMN only, [0261]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the second connection of Salkintzis with the rejection of Won to provide a method and a system for management of network connections within multiple radio access technology mobile networks as suggested.
However, Salkintzis and Won do not teach directly accessing, by the wireless device and based on the cause value indicating that access to the SNPN via the PLMN is not allowed, the SNPN via a non-3GPP (N3GPP) access.
In an analogous art, Sugawara teaches directly accessing, by the wireless device and based on the cause value indicating that access to the SNPN via the PLMN is not allowed, the SNPN via a non-3GPP (N3GPP) access (The AMF 210 initiates the present procedure by transmitting a de-registration request (DEREGISTRATION REQUEST) message to the UE via the N3IWF_240 (hereinafter also referred to as the N3IWF) and the non-3GPP access, [0442]; The AMF may include at least one piece of identification information out of the 41st to 43rd identification information in the de-registration request message for transmission, [0443]; The 42nd identification information may … indicate that access to the SNPN via the PLMN is not available, [0168]; By transmitting at least one of these pieces of identification information and/or the de-registration request message, the AMF … may indicate change from connection to the SNPN via the PLMN to direct connection to the SNPN, [0444]; UE may … trigger performance of processing for changing from connection to the SNPN via the PLMN to direct connection to the SNPN, [0446]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the second connection of Salkintzis and Won with the direct access of Sugawara to provide a technique for efficiently performing handover between an SNPN and a PLMN as suggested, Sugawara [0008].
However, Salkintzis, Won and Sugawara do not clearly teach wherein the Ni mode capability is reenabled for the N3GPP access.
In an analogous art, Niemi teaches wherein the Ni mode capability is reenabled for the N3GPP access (then UE 110 may re-enable the N1 mode capability for 3GPP access and proceed with the appropriate 5GMM procedure, [0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the second connection of Salkintzis, Won and Sugawara with the redirection of Niemi to provide a protocol improvement for redirection to another system in mobile communications as suggested, Niemi [0002].
Regarding claim 10, Salkintzis as modified by Won, Sugawara and Niemi teaches the wireless device of claim 9. Won further discloses wherein the access restriction parameter indicates at least one of: a non-3GPP (N3GPP) access type indicating N3GPP access to the SNPN; a 3GPP access type indicating 3GPP access to the SNPN; or the extended access type, wherein the extended access type indicates N3GPP access to the SNPN via a 3GPP underlay network (If the initial registration request is rejected due to general NAS level mobility management congestion control, the network can or shall set the 5GMM cause value to #22 “congestion” and assign a back-off timer T3346. Two other such cause values “cause #27” and “cause #72”, which refer, respectively, to “N1 mode not allowed” and “Non-3GPP access to 5GCN not allowed, Won [0137]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified second network connection of Salkintzis, Sugawara and Niemi with the mode capability of Won to provide a methods and a system to lead the UE to be able to receive a registration acceptance message from a requested network more rapidly because there is a lower likelihood that the network to which the UE requested access is going to deny access as suggested, Won [0006].
Regarding claim 13, Salkintzis as modified by Won, Sugawara and Niemi teaches the wireless device of claim 9, wherein the operations further comprise sending, to the SNPN via a cell of the PLMN, a second request to access the SNPN (This registration procedure is conducted by exchanging NAS messages between the UE 205 and AMF-1 222 via the N3IWF 221 and via the first PDU Session 235 of the UE 205 (i.e., via the UPF-0 218 in the NPN 215 and via the Access Network 210), Salkintzis [0064] and while the procedure assumes that the first mobile communication network is an NPN and the second mobile communication network is a PLMN, in an alternative embodiment, the roles of the NPN and the PLMN can be interchanged. In other words, it is also possible to apply the principles and the procedure described below in a scenario where the UE 205 is connected to a PLMN (consisting of NG-RAN access and 5GC core network) and uses a PDU Session via the PLMN to connect to an NPN consisting of at least a 5G core network by using a N3IWF in the NPN, [0079]).
Regarding claim 15, Salkintzis as modified by Won, Sugawara and Niemi teaches the wireless device of claim 9. Won further discloses wherein the second message comprises a rejection message indicating that an N1 mode is not allowed for accessing the SNPN via the PLMN (While the procedure assumes that the first mobile communication network is an NPN and the second mobile communication network is a PLMN, in an alternative embodiment, the roles of the NPN and the PLMN can be interchanged. In other words, it is also possible to apply the principles and the procedure described below in a scenario where the UE 205 is connected to a PLMN (consisting of NG-RAN access and 5GC core network) and uses a PDU Session via the PLMN to connect to an NPN consisting of at least a 5G core network by using a N3IWF in the NPN, [0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the second connection of Salkintzis, Sugawara and Niemi with the rejection of Won to provide a method and a system for management of network connections within multiple radio access technology mobile networks as suggested.
Regarding claim 17, Salkintzis teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (user equipment 105 of Fig. 1), cause a wireless device to perform operations comprising:
sending to a standalone non-public network (SNPN) via a user plane function (UPF) of a public land mobile network (PLMN), a first registration message indicating a first request to access the SNPN (The UE 205 then registers to this PLMN 220 by performing an existing procedure for 5G registration via the N3IWF 221 or, equivalently, for 5G registration via untrusted non-3GPP access. This registration procedure is conducted by exchanging NAS messages between the UE 205 and AMF-1 222 via the N3IWF 221 and via the first PDU Session 235 of the UE 205 (i.e., via the UPF-0 218 in the NPN 215 and via the Access Network 210), [0064] and While the procedure assumes that the first mobile communication network is an NPN and the second mobile communication network is a PLMN, in an alternative embodiment, the roles of the NPN and the PLMN can be interchanged. In other words, it is also possible to apply the principles and the procedure described below in a scenario where the UE 205 is connected to a PLMN (consisting of NG-RAN access and 5GC core network) and uses a PDU Session via the PLMN to connect to an NPN consisting of at least a 5G core network by using a N3IWF in the NPN, [0079]).
However, Salkintzis does not clearly teach receiving, from the SNPN, a registration reject message comprising a cause value, wherein the cause value indicates that access to the SNPN via the PLMN is not allowed; and disabling, based on the cause value indicating that access to the SNPN via the PLMN is not allowed, an N1 mode capability for the access to the SNPN via the PLMN.
In an analogous art, Won teaches receiving, by the wireless device from the SNPN, a registration reject message comprising a cause value (UE 102 can maintain, for each of the entries in the “list of subscriber data,” one SNPN-specific N1 mode attempt counter for 3GPP access… when requesting SNPN services via a PLMN only, [0261]; UE 102 receives a non-integrity protected reject message including 5GMM cause value #27 (or #72), the UE 102 disables N1 mode capability for {the entry, the respective access type, [0263]; and The UE 102 should maintain a list of entries for which the N1 mode capability was disabled due to receipt of a reject from the network with 5GMM cause #27 “N1 mode not allowed”…UE 102 shall not use entries (or SNPNs) for which N1 mode is not allowed as SNPN selection candidates for NG-RAN access technology, [0273]); and
disabling, by the wireless device and based on the cause value indicating that access to the SNPN via the PLMN is not allowed, an N1 mode capability for the access to the SNPN via the PLMN (When the UE 102 disables its N1 mode capability due to receipt of a reject from the network with 5GMM cause #27 “N1 mode not allowed” for an entry: [0274] the UE 102 should add the index of the entry used for accessing the SNPN which sent a reject with 5GMM cause #27 “N1 mode not allowed” to the list of entries for which N1 mode is disabled (or add the SNPN identity of the SNPN which sent a reject with 5GMM cause #27 “N1 mode not allowed” to the list of SNPNs for which N1 mode is disabled, [0274]-[0275] and when requesting SNPN services via a PLMN only, [0261]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the second connection of Salkintzis with the rejection of Won to provide a method and a system for management of network connections within multiple radio access technology mobile networks as suggested.
However, Salkintzis and Won do not teach directly accessing, by the wireless device and based on the cause value indicating that access to the SNPN via the PLMN is not allowed, the SNPN via a non-3GPP (N3GPP) access.
In an analogous art, Sugawara teaches directly accessing, by the wireless device and based on the cause value indicating that access to the SNPN via the PLMN is not allowed, the SNPN via a non-3GPP (N3GPP) access (The AMF 210 initiates the present procedure by transmitting a de-registration request (DEREGISTRATION REQUEST) message to the UE via the N3IWF_240 (hereinafter also referred to as the N3IWF) and the non-3GPP access, [0442]; The AMF may include at least one piece of identification information out of the 41st to 43rd identification information in the de-registration request message for transmission, [0443]; The 42nd identification information may … indicate that access to the SNPN via the PLMN is not available, [0168]; By transmitting at least one of these pieces of identification information and/or the de-registration request message, the AMF … may indicate change from connection to the SNPN via the PLMN to direct connection to the SNPN, [0444]; UE may … trigger performance of processing for changing from connection to the SNPN via the PLMN to direct connection to the SNPN, [0446]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the second connection of Salkintzis and Won with the direct access of Sugawara to provide a technique for efficiently performing handover between an SNPN and a PLMN as suggested, Sugawara [0008].
However, Salkintzis, Won and Sugawara do not clearly teach wherein the Ni mode capability is reenabled for the N3GPP access.
In an analogous art, Niemi teaches wherein the Ni mode capability is reenabled for the N3GPP access (then UE 110 may re-enable the N1 mode capability for 3GPP access and proceed with the appropriate 5GMM procedure, [0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the second connection of Salkintzis, Won and Sugawara with the redirection of Niemi to provide a protocol improvement for redirection to another system in mobile communications as suggested, Niemi [0002].
Regarding claim 20, Salkintzis as modified by Won, Sugawara and Niemi teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the operations further comprise sending, to the SNPN via a cell of the SNPN, a second request to access the SNPN (This registration procedure is conducted by exchanging NAS messages between the UE 205 and AMF-1 222 via the N3IWF 221 and via the first PDU Session 235 of the UE 205 (i.e., via the UPF-0 218 in the NPN 215 and via the Access Network 210), Salkintzis [0064] and While the procedure assumes that the first mobile communication network is an NPN and the second mobile communication network is a PLMN, in an alternative embodiment, the roles of the NPN and the PLMN can be interchanged. In other words, it is also possible to apply the principles and the procedure described below in a scenario where the UE 205 is connected to a PLMN (consisting of NG-RAN access and 5GC core network) and uses a PDU Session via the PLMN to connect to an NPN consisting of at least a 5G core network by using a N3IWF in the NPN, [0079]).
Claims 3, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salkintzis in view of Won and further in view Won, Sugawara, Niemi and Lee et al. (US 20180368016 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Salkintzis as modified by Won, Sugawara and Niemi teaches the method of claim 1.
However, Salkintzis, Won, Sugawara and Niemi do not teach wherein the PLMN comprises an underlay network and the SNPN comprises an overlay network.
In an analogous art, Lee further discloses wherein the PLMN comprises an underlay network and the SNPN comprises an overlay network (the NR network may be overlaid over the LTE network, Lee [0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the second network connection of Salkintzis, Won Sugawara and Niemi with the overlay network of Lee to providing an indication to a user that a user equipment (UE) may connect to a New Radio (NR) network as suggested, Lee [0002].
Regarding claim 11, Salkintzis as modified by Won, Sugawara and Niemi teaches the wireless device of claim 9.
However, Salkintzis, Won, Sugawara and Niemi do not teach wherein the PLMN comprises an underlay network and the SNPN comprises an overlay network.
In an analogous art, Lee further discloses wherein the PLMN comprises an underlay network and the SNPN comprises an overlay network (the NR network may be overlaid over the LTE network, Lee [0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the second network connection of Salkintzis, Won, Sugawara and Niemi with the overlay network of Lee to providing an indication to a user that a user equipment (UE) may connect to a New Radio (NR) network as suggested, Lee [0002].
Regarding claim 18, Salkintzis as modified by Won, Sugawara and Niemi teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17.
However, Salkintzis, Won, Sugawara and Niemi do not teach wherein the PLMN comprises an underlay network and the SNPN comprises an overlay network.
In an analogous art, Lee further discloses wherein the PLMN comprises an underlay network and the SNPN comprises an overlay network (the NR network may be overlaid over the LTE network, Lee [0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the second network connection of Salkintzis, Won, Sugawara and Niemi with the overlay network of Lee to providing an indication to a user that a user equipment (UE) may connect to a New Radio (NR) network as suggested, Lee [0002].
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salkintzis in view of Won and further in view of Sugawara, Niemi and Sethi et al. (US 10779230 B1).
Regarding claim 6, Salkintzis as modified by Won, Sugawara and Niemi teaches the method of claim 5.
However, Salkintzis, Won, Sugawara and Niemi do not teach wherein the wireless device waits until the cell of the SNPN becomes available before sending the second request.
In an analogous art, Sethi teaches wherein the wireless device waits until the cell of the SNPN becomes available before sending the second request (However, because controller 306 is configured to re-attempt registration on roaming mobile network 440 one additional time after the periodic mobile network scan, controller 306 may decide to reattempt registration on roaming mobile network, col 15, lines 62-67 and registration request, step 514 of Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the access network of Salkintzis, Won, Sugawara and Niemi with the registration of Sethi to provide a method and a system for a better network selection as suggested.
Regarding claim 14, Salkintzis as modified by Won, Sugawara and Niemi teaches the wireless device of claim 13.
However, Salkintzis, Won, Sugawara and Niemi do not teach wherein the wireless device waits until the cell of the SNPN becomes available before sending the second request.
In an analogous art, Sethi teaches wherein the wireless device waits until the cell of the SNPN becomes available before sending the second request (However, because controller 306 is configured to re-attempt registration on roaming mobile network 440 one additional time after the periodic mobile network scan, controller 306 may decide to reattempt registration on roaming mobile network, col 15, lines 62-67 and registration request, step 514 of Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the access network of Salkintzis, Won, Sugawara and Niemi with the registration of Sethi to provide a method and a system for a better network selection as suggested.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Venkataraman et al. (US 20210227437 A1): Apparatuses, systems, and methods for performing efficient emergency services fallback. A cellular network element may provide emergency services fallback information to a wireless device during 3GPP 5GS cellular registration. The emergency services fallback information may include an indication of whether emergency services fallback via fallback to evolved packet core service is supported. The emergency services fallback information may also include an indication of whether emergency services fallback via fallback to circuit switched service is supported.
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643