DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to the amendment filed 8/28/2026. The amendment has been entered and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-10, 14-16, 21, 24-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Axmon et al. “Axmon” US 2024/0056960 in view of Hsieh et al. “Hsieh” US 2022/0271899.
Regarding claim 1, Axmon teaches a terminal device (Figure 15), comprising:
a processor, a memory and a transceiver, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored in the memory to perform a wireless communication method, comprising:
obtaining first indication information, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate a first reference signal used in a processing procedure for a secondary cell, the processing procedure comprising activation (Figure 6 (310) Paragraph 88 shows a UE receiving signaling to activate secondary cells. A device receives a MAC-CE carrying this activation information. CSI-RS and SSB are also disclosed; Paragraphs 71-75. Paragraph 135 teaches SSB, TRS, and CSI-RS as reference signals that can be used); and
executing the processing procedure based on the first indication information (step 320, the UE activates the cell; Paragraph 88),
wherein the first indication information is used to instruct a terminal device to trigger the processing procedure for the secondary cell and is used to indicate the first reference signal used in the processing procedure (Figure 6 (310) Paragraph 88 shows a UE receiving signaling to activate secondary cells. Reference signal information is included as well; Paragraph 71 see also paragraph 135 which teaches CSI-RS, SSB and TRS),
wherein the first indication information is carried in Media Access Control Element (MAC CE) (Paragraphs 71-75);
executing based on the first indication comprises:
executing, in an execution window, the processing procedure based on the first indication information (the UE receives an activation command and then activates the cell (See Figure 6 and paragraph 88. Paragraph 60 teaches SSB transmit according to an SMTC (SSB measurement time configuration) period);
The first reference signal comprising at least one reference signal being a TRS and the execution window includes Y TRS cycles/measurement cycles and Y is positive (the UE is configured with SMTC (execution measurement window) and the SSB are transmitted in accordance with the SMTC; Paragraphs 60-61. A TRS could be used in place of a SSB (See paragraph 135) therefore the TRS would be transmitted in accordance to an SMTC cycle. As there would be at least one transmission, the value of Y would be at least 1 (i.e. positive TRS value)).
Axmon teaches determining the interruption duration based on a duration of SMTC when the reference signal is SSB (paragraph 60 and Figure 3B). Axmon further teaches determining a duration of the processing procedure based on a measurement window for a reference signal required by the processing procedure for intra-band dual connectivity or carrier aggregation (The UE is configured for dual connectivity carrier aggregation; Paragraph 122. Paragraph 76 further teaches intra-band CA. Figure 3b and paragraph 60 show a measurement window for SSB measurement cycles). Axmon does not expressly disclose interrupts.
Hsieh teaches the UE is configured for the scell during an interruption period. TRS and SSB are utilized with respect to the interruption period; paragraphs 77 and 86. Further yet, Paragraph 69 (and Figure 8) teach TRS being received and then an interruption period occurs. This is being viewed as the interruption period is determined based on the measurement window of a TRS. Thus one can see a station can determine an interrupt period (duration) with respect to TRS/SSB when it comes to activation of a scell. The Examiner further notes that the interruption duration is based on the RS being SSB or TRS; however, as shown above, Axom was used to read upon the reference signal being a default RS).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Axmon to include an interruption period as taught by Hsieh.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE can turn on an RF chain for transmission/reception of signals to the scell as taught by Hsieh; paragraph 58.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Axmon teaches the first reference signal includes a pilot signal that can be SSB, CSI-RS, or TRS (Paragraphs 71-75 teaches SSB and CSI-RS, Paragraph 135 further teaches TRS as potential reference signaling to be used).
Regarding claims 8 and 14, Axmon teaches a wireless communication method and network device (Figure 16) comprising: a processor, a memory and a transceiver, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored in the memory to perform
transmitting first indication information, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate a first reference signal used in a processing procedure for a secondary cell, the processing procedure comprising activation (Figure 6 (310) Paragraph 88 shows a UE receiving signaling to activate secondary cells. A device receives a MAC-CE carrying this activation information. CSI-RS and SSB are also disclosed; Paragraphs 71-75. Paragraph 135 teaches SSB, TRS, and CSI-RS as reference signals that can be used); and
wherein the first indication information is used to instruct a terminal device to trigger the processing procedure for the secondary cell and is used to indicate the first reference signal used in the processing procedure (Figure 6 (310) Paragraph 88 shows a UE receiving signaling to activate secondary cells. Reference signal information is included as well; Paragraph 71 see also paragraph 135 which teaches CSI-RS, SSB and TRS),
wherein the first indication information is carried in Media Access Control Control Element (MAC CE) (Paragraphs 71-75);
wherein:
The first reference signal comprising at least one reference signal being a TRS and the execution window includes Y TRS cycles/measurement cycles and Y is positive (the UE is configured with SMTC (execution measurement window) and the SSB are transmitted in accordance with the SMTC; Paragraphs 60-61. A TRS could be used in place of a SSB (See paragraph 135) therefore the TRS would be transmitted in accordance to an SMTC cycle. As there would be at least one transmission, the value of Y would be at least 1 (i.e. positive TRS value));
Axmon teaches determining the interruption duration based on a duration of SMTC when the reference signal is SSB (paragraph 60 and Figure 3B). Axmon further teaches determining a duration of the processing procedure based on a measurement window for a reference signal required by the processing procedure for intra-band dual connectivity or carrier aggregation (The UE is configured for dual connectivity carrier aggregation; Paragraph 122. Paragraph 76 further teaches intra-band CA. Figure 3b and paragraph 60 show a measurement window for SSB measurement cycles). Axmon does not expressly disclose interrupts.
Hsieh teaches the UE is configured for the scell during an interruption period. TRS and SSB are utilized with respect to the interruption period; paragraphs 77 and 86. Further yet, Paragraph 69 (and Figure 8) teach TRS being received and then an interruption period occurs. This is being viewed as the interruption period is determined based on the measurement window of a TRSThus one can see a station can determine an interrupt period (duration) with respect to TRS/SSB when it comes to activation of a scell. The Examiner further notes that the interruption duration is based on the RS being SSB or TRS; however, as shown above, Axom was used to read upon the reference signal being a default RS. As the claim is written in the alternative, these limitation are further limiting an option that is not needed to be rejected in light of a default RS being rejected. Therefore, these limitations do not and any patentable weight.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Axmon to include an interruption period as taught by Hsieh.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE can turn on an RF chain for transmission/reception of signals to the scell as taught by Hsieh; paragraph 58.
Regarding claims 9, 10, 15, 16, Axmon teaches the first reference signal includes a pilot signal that can be SSB, CSI-RS, or TRS (Paragraphs 71-75 teaches SSB and CSI-RS, Paragraph 135 further teaches TRS as potential reference signaling to be used).
Regarding claim 21, Axmon teaches the indication information indicates a number of reference signal cycles or measurements cycles for the at least one reference signal (based on the activation command, the UE selects SCell activation can be based on which one has the shortest measurement cycles; Paragraph 98. Paragraphs 60 further teaches the use of an SMTC cycle (i.e. one measurement cycle) which is viewed as the indication information indicating 1 cycle).
Regarding claim 24, Axmon teaches the indication includes capability information needed to be supported by the terminal in the processing procedure (Paragraph 88 teaches the base station sending a UE a signal which tells the UE to activate the plurality of secondary cells. The base station is thus indicating to the UE that it needs to be capable of activating secondary cells (i.e. capability for processing procedure). Paragraphs 121, 123, and 124 show that a UE may or may not be capable or performing certain activation functions).
Regarding claim 25, Axmon teaches the indication information indicates a number of reference signal cycles or measurements cycles for the at least one reference signal (based on the activation command, the UE selects SCell activation can be based on which one has the shortest measurement cycles; Paragraph 98. Paragraphs 60 further teaches the use of an SMTC cycle (i.e. one measurement cycle) which is viewed as the indication information indicating 1 cycle).
Regarding claim 26, Axmon teaches the indication information indicates a number of reference signal cycles or measurements cycles for the at least one reference signal (based on the activation command, the UE selects SCell activation can be based on which one has the shortest measurement cycles; Paragraph 98. Paragraphs 60 further teaches the use of an SMTC cycle (i.e. one measurement cycle) which is viewed as the indication information indicating 1 cycle).
Regarding claim 27, Axmon teaches the indication includes capability information needed to be supported by the terminal in the processing procedure (Paragraph 88 teaches the base station sending a UE a signal which tells the UE to activate the plurality of secondary cells. The base station is thus indicating to the UE that it needs to be capable of activating secondary cells (i.e. capability for processing procedure). Paragraphs 121, 123, and 124 show that a UE may or may not be capable or performing certain activation functions).
Regarding claim 28, Axmon teaches the indication includes capability information needed to be supported by the terminal in the processing procedure (Paragraph 88 teaches the base station sending a UE a signal which tells the UE to activate the plurality of secondary cells. The base station is thus indicating to the UE that it needs to be capable of activating secondary cells (i.e. capability for processing procedure). Paragraphs 121, 123, and 124 show that a UE may or may not be capable or performing certain activation functions).
Claim(s) 22, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Axmon in view of Hsieh in view of Hakola et al. “Hakola” US 2021/0051590.
Regarding claim 22, Axom does not expressly disclose transmitting a UE capability; however, Hakola teaches transmitting UE capability information with respect to the processing procedure (the UE informs the base station of the capabilities of the UE to perform things such as reference signal measuring and secondary cell activation; Paragraph 38).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Axmon to include sending UE capabilities as taught by Hakola.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the network knows what capabilities the UE can perform as taught by Hakola; Paragraph 38.
Regarding claim 23, Axom does not expressly disclose the capability information is with respect to fast processing and interrupt time; however, Hakola teaches the UE informs the base station of the capabilities of the UE to perform things such as reference signal measuring and secondary cell activation. Further these capabilities include reference signal and TRS information as well as time required/interrupt time; Paragraph 38).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Axmon to include sending UE capabilities with respect to TRS and interrupt time as taught by Hakola.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the network knows what capabilities the UE can perform as taught by Hakola; Paragraph 38.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the independent claims, Applicant argues Axom does not define the execution window in terms of SSB and TRS.
The Examiner notes the claim language is written in the alternative. As shown in the newly formed rejection, Axom is now used to read on the claimed TRS and Y TRS cycles. Thus, the argument regarding the execution window being based on SSB and TRS is moot as they are not required by the claim language.
Regarding argument B, Applicant argues Axmon teaches SCell activation for intra-band CA but there is no content related to an interruption duration let alone how to determine the interruption duration. Applicant further argues Hsieh merely teaches UE initiating the RF chain for the SCell in the interruption period, but does not involve how to determine the interruption period.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Hsieh teaches the UE is configured for the scell during an interruption period. TRS and SSB are utilized with respect to the interruption period; paragraphs 77 and 86. Further yet, Paragraph 69 (and Figure 8) teach TRS being received and then an interruption period occurs. This is being viewed as the interruption period is determined based on the measurement window of a TRS. Thus one can see a station can determine an interrupt period (duration) with respect to TRS/SSB when it comes to activation of a scell. The Examiner further notes that the interruption duration is based on the RS being SSB or TRS; however, as shown above, Axom was used to read upon the reference signal being a default RS).
The Examiner suggests better defining how the interruption duration is actually computed. Merely stating it is “based on a duration” of something else doesn’t help clarify how the actual determination takes place. In other words, as long as there is an interruption duration and some other window of time, this is all that is needed to read on the claimed “Based on”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON M RENNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411