DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the “AMENDMENT AND REQUEST FOR RECONSIDERATION” filed 6 June 2026. The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claims 30, 44, and 49-55, the cancelation of claims 31-32 and 47-48, and the addition of new claims 56-57. Claims 30, 33-37, 44-46, and 49-57 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 1 March 2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed [see annotated IDS filed 13 February 2026 for reference not considered]. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 30 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 16 of claim 30 should be tabbed over to the right to clearly indicate that element “(v) a fluid transfer channel…” is part of the claimed hub.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner Notes: currently, NO limitation invokes interpretation under § 112(f).
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 30, 34, and 56-57 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,701,040, hereinafter Jones, in view of Hamatake (US-20060004325-A1, previously presented).
Conflicting claim 10 of Jones is considered to anticipate almost each and every limitation of claim 30 of the instant application [see comparison below], except for the limitations “wherein the blood sample is not contaminated by the fluid” and “the fluid comprises a medication and/or an electrolyte”.
Hamatake discloses systems and methods for treating a patient using a multi-lumen venous access device, wherein Hamatake discloses steps to administer a fluid to the patient and obtaining a blood sample from the patient through the venous access device, wherein the blood sample is not contaminated by the fluid [In one aspect of the invention, the catheter comprises three or more lumens with staggered openings at the distal portion of the catheter which exit into the blood stream in intervals of predefined distance(s). Preferably, each of the lumens in the catheter has a separate opening at the distal end so that each of the lumens is in independent fluid communication with the interior of a blood vessel. FIG. 1 illustrates one variation of the catheter 2, with three lumens 4, 6, 8. The openings 12, 14, 16 for the three corresponding lumens 4, 6, 8 are staggered along the length of the catheter 2. The distance between the distal opening 12 and the middle opening 14 is indicated as "L1", and the distance between the middle opening 14 and the proximal opening 16 is indicated as "L2." L1 may be larger, smaller, or equal to L2. Preferably, the staggered distance between the openings (e.g., L1, L2) is between about 0.5 cm to about 10 cm (Hamatake ¶0051, Fig. 1), wherein independent fluid communication is considered to read on the collected sample not being contaminated by the administered fluid; In light of the disclosure herein one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the various multi-lumen catheter designs described may be implemented in various medical procedures where independent/separate infusion and/or aspiration of two or more fluids is desired. For example, the staggered three-lumen design may be particularly useful in apheresis, dialysis, or other medical procedures requiring placement of a central line. Moreover, the catheters described herein may be placed into a patient's body with various surgical procedures well known to one of ordinary skill in the art. One example of implementing a triple lumen catheter having staggered lumens is described below (Hamatake ¶0078)], wherein the fluid comprises medication [Chemotherapy agents, antibiotics, anti-nausea medications, blood products, fluids and other medications or nutrients may be infused through a third lumen with a proximal opening on the catheter (Hamatake ¶0079)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Jones to employ wherein the blood sample is not contaminated by the fluid and wherein the fluid comprises a medication and/or an electrolyte, so as to allow for each lumen to be in independent fluid communication with the interior of a blood vessel, and as the use of medication as the administered fluid is considered to amount to mere application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results [use of a multi-lumen venous access device to administer medication] [MPEP § 2143(I)(D)].
Conflicting claim 10 as modified by Hamatake further renders obvious instant claim(s) 34. Instant claims 56-57 [see comparison below] are considered to be similarly rejected by Jones in view of Hamatake as presented above with respect to instant claim 30 mutatis mutandis.
Claim 30 of the Instant Application
Claim 10 of Conflicting Patent 11,701,040, hereinafter Jones
A method of treating a patient, comprising:
A method of obtaining a blood sample, comprising: [Jones Col 9:17]
transferring fluids into the patient through the venous access device, wherein the obtaining occurs at the same time as the transferring [Jones Col 10:30-33]
administering a fluid to the patient through a venous access device in a peripheral vein of the patient; and
inserting a venous access device into a peripheral vein of a patient [Jones Col 9:18-19]
transferring fluids into the patient through the venous access device, wherein the obtaining occurs at the same time as the transferring [Jones Col 10:30-33]
obtaining a blood sample from the patient through the venous access device;
obtaining the blood sample from the patient through the venous access device [Jones Col 9:20-21]
wherein the blood sample is not contaminated by the fluid,
the fluid comprises a medication and/or an electrolyte,
the administering occurs at the same time as the obtaining, and
transferring fluids into the patient through the venous access device, wherein the obtaining occurs at the same time as the transferring [Jones Col 10:30-33]
the venous access device comprises:
wherein the venous access device comprises: [Jones Col 9:22]
(a) a hub, comprising
(a) a hub, having [Jones Col 9:23]
(i) a bifurcated connecting arm,
(i) a bifurcated connecting arm, [Jones Col 9:24]
(ii) a blood sampling arm, connected to the bifurcated connecting arm,
(ii) a blood sampling arm, connected to the bifurcated connecting arm, [Jones Col 9:25-26]
(iii) a fluid transfer arm, connected to the bifurcated connecting arm,
(iii) a fluid transfer arm, connected to the bifurcated connecting arm, [Jones Col 9:27-28]
(iv) a blood sampling channel, passing through the blood sampling arm and the bifurcated connecting arm, and
(iv) a blood sampling channel, passing through the blood sampling arm and the bifurcated connecting arm, [Jones Col 9:29-31]
(v) a fluid transfer channel, passing through the fluid transfer arm and the bifurcated connecting arm; and
(v) a fluid transfer channel, passing through the fluid transfer arm and the bifurcated connecting arm; [Jones Col 9:32-34]
(b) a bifurcated cannula, coupled to the bifurcated connecting arm, having
(b) a bifurcated cannula, coupled to the bifurcated connecting arm, having [Jones Col 9:35-36]
(i) a blood sampling lumen, having a blood sampling port,
(i) a blood sampling lumen, having a blood sampling port, [Jones Col 9:37-38]
(ii) a fluid transfer lumen, having a fluid transfer port, and
(ii) a fluid transfer lumen, having a fluid transfer port, [Jones Col 9:39-40]
(iii) a dividing member, separating the blood sampling lumen from the fluid transfer lumen;
(iii) a dividing member, separating the blood sampling lumen from the fluid transfer lumen; [Jones Col 9:41-42]
the blood sampling port being at least 15 mm proximal from the fluid transfer port,
the blood sampling port being at least 15 mm proximal from the fluid transfer port, [Jones Col 9:43-44]
the blood sampling channel being fluidly connected to the blood sampling lumen,
the blood sampling channel being fluidly connected to the blood sampling lumen, [Jones Col 9:45-46]
the fluid transfer channel being fluidly connected to the fluid transfer lumen, and
the fluid transfer channel being fluidly connected to the fluid transfer lumen, [Jones Col 9:47-48]
the bifurcated cannula and the hub being a monolithic component.
the bifurcated cannula and the hub are a monolithic component [Jones Col 9:49-50]
Claim 56 of the Instant Application
Claim 10 of Conflicting Patent 11,701,040, hereinafter Jones
A method of treating a patient, comprising:
A method of obtaining a blood sample, comprising: [Jones Col 9:17]
transferring fluids into the patient through the venous access device, wherein the obtaining occurs at the same time as the transferring [Jones Col 10:30-33]
administering solely a medication and/or an electrolyte to the patient through a venous access device in a peripheral vein of the patient; and
inserting a venous access device into a peripheral vein of a patient [Jones Col 9:18-19]
transferring fluids into the patient through the venous access device, wherein the obtaining occurs at the same time as the transferring [Jones Col 10:30-33]
obtaining solely a blood sample from the patient through the venous access device;
obtaining the blood sample from the patient through the venous access device [Jones Col 9:20-21]
wherein the blood sample is not contaminated by the fluid,
the administering occurs at the same time as the obtaining.
transferring fluids into the patient through the venous access device, wherein the obtaining occurs at the same time as the transferring [Jones Col 10:30-33]
Claim 57 of the Instant Application
Claim 10 of Conflicting Patent 11,701,040, hereinafter Jones
A method of treating a patient, comprising:
A method of obtaining a blood sample, comprising: [Jones Col 9:17]
transferring fluids into the patient through the venous access device, wherein the obtaining occurs at the same time as the transferring [Jones Col 10:30-33]
administering a medication and/or an electrolyte to the patient through a venous access device in a peripheral vein of the patient; and
inserting a venous access device into a peripheral vein of a patient [Jones Col 9:18-19]
transferring fluids into the patient through the venous access device, wherein the obtaining occurs at the same time as the transferring [Jones Col 10:30-33]
obtaining a blood sample from the patient through the venous access device;
obtaining the blood sample from the patient through the venous access device [Jones Col 9:20-21]
wherein the blood sample is not contaminated by the fluid,
the administering occurs at the same time as the obtaining.
transferring fluids into the patient through the venous access device, wherein the obtaining occurs at the same time as the transferring [Jones Col 10:30-33]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 30, 33-34, 50-53, and 56-57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sansoucy (US-7211074-B2, previously presented) in view of Powers (US-20050209583-A1) and Hamatake (US-20060004325-A1, previously presented).
Regarding claim 30, Sansoucy teaches
A method of treating a patient, comprising:
administering a fluid to the patient through a venous access device in a vein of the patient [Arterial lumen 28 is configured for fluid flow, such as, for example, arterial blood flow in a second opposite direction, as shown by arrows B (Sansoucy Col 5:52-54, Fig. 3); It is contemplated that the catheter apparatus can be used for administration of fluids such as, for example, medication, saline, bodily fluids such as, blood, urine, etc. (Sansoucy Col 4:59-62)]; and
obtaining a blood sample from the patient through the venous access device [Venous lumen 26 is configured for fluid flow, such as, for example, venous blood flow, in a first direction, as shown by arrows A (Sansoucy Col 5:50-52, Fig. 3)];
the fluid comprises a medication and/or an electrolyte [Sansoucy Col 4:59-62],
the administering occurs at the same time as the obtaining [Sansoucy Col 10:36-38, wherein in light of Sansoucy Col 4:59-62, the administering being performed simultaneous to withdrawal is understood to refer to administering a medication or saline (electrolytes)], and
the venous access device comprises:
(a) a hub [tubular body 22 (Sansoucy Fig. 3)], comprising
(i) a bifurcated connecting arm [see Annotated Fig. 1],
(ii) a blood sampling arm, connected to the bifurcated connecting arm [see Annotated Fig. 1],
(iii) a fluid transfer arm, connected to the bifurcated connecting arm [tubular venous adapter 32 (Sansoucy Fig. 3)],
(iv) a blood sampling channel, passing through the blood sampling arm and the bifurcated connecting arm [Arterial lumen 28 is configured for fluid flow, such as, for example, arterial blood flow in a second opposite direction, as shown by arrows B (Sansoucy Col 5:52-54, Fig. 3)], and
(v) a fluid transfer channel, passing through the fluid transfer arm and the bifurcated connecting arm [Venous lumen 26 is configured for fluid flow, such as, for example, venous blood flow, in a first direction, as shown by arrows A (Sansoucy Col 5:50-52, Fig. 3)]; and
(b) a bifurcated cannula, coupled to the bifurcated connecting arm [Venous lumen 26 and arterial lumen 28 are disposed in a substantially parallel orientation adjacent a distal portion 30 of tubular body 22. Distal portion 30 may extend various lengths (Sansoucy Col 6:1-4)], having
(i) a blood sampling lumen, having a blood sampling port [Arterial lumen 28 includes a second lateral port 80 disposed adjacent distal end 24 of tubular body 22. Second lateral port 80 includes an opening 82 that is configured for fluid flow (Sansoucy Col 8:18-21, Fig. 3)],
(ii) a fluid transfer lumen, having a fluid transfer port [Venous lumen 26 includes a first lateral port 54 disposed adjacent distal end 24 of tubular body 22. First lateral port 54 includes an opening 55 that is configured for fluid flow (Sansoucy Col 7:4-6, Fig. 3)], and
(iii) a dividing member, separating the blood sampling lumen from the fluid transfer lumen [Referring to FIGS. 3 8, tubular body 22 defines a first lumen such as, for example, venous lumen 26 and a second lumen such as, for example, arterial lumen 28. Venous lumen 26 and arterial lumen 28 each have a substantially D-shaped or semi-circular configuration. Venous lumen 26 includes an inner surface 27 having a substantially planar portion 27A and a substantially arcuate portion 27B, as shown in FIG. 3A. Arterial lumen 28 includes an inner surface 29 having a substantially planar portion 29A and a substantially arcuate portion 29B (Sansoucy Col 5:34-43, Fig. 3), wherein the material defined on one side by surface portion 27A and on an opposite side by surface portion 29A is considered to read on the claimed dividing member];
the blood sampling channel being fluidly connected to the blood sampling lumen [wherein lumen 28 extending from distal end 24 to tubular arterial adapter 58 and the distal end 24 and tubular arterial adapter 58 being defined as distinct components of the catheter apparatus 20 is considered to read on the claimed limitation (see Sansoucy Fig. 3)],
the fluid transfer channel being fluidly connected to the fluid transfer lumen [wherein lumen 26 extending from distal end 24 to tubular venous adapter 32 and the distal end 24 to tubular venous adapter 32 being defined as distinct components of the catheter apparatus 20 is considered to read on the claimed limitation (see Sansoucy Fig. 3)], and
the bifurcated cannula and the hub being a monolithic component [wherein as depicted in Sansoucy Fig. 3, the tubular body 22 and the distal portion 30 form a single body of the catheter apparatus 20].
Annotated Fig. 1. The Examiner has annotated Fig. 3 of Sansoucy to identify the portions of tubular body 22 that is considered to define a bifurcated connecting arm and blood sampling arm of the hub [tubular body 22].
However, while Sansoucy is directed towards the use of the venous access device for general catheter related procedures [Sansoucy Col 4:55-62], Sansoucy fails to explicitly disclose that the vein of the patient is a peripheral vein.
Powers discloses systems and methods for fluid administration and blood sampling, wherein Powers discloses it is known in the art that vascular access catheters may be employed for the purposes of medication infusion and blood sampling [It is common to use an implanted catheter to repeatedly access the vascular system of a patient and with the catheter perform repeated therapeutic medical activity. Such therapeutic activity could include the intermittent or continuous infusion of medication and fluids, the periodic sampling of blood, or the continuous withdrawal and return of blood for processing outside of the body of the patient. The catheters used in these activities are referred to as vascular access catheters (Powers ¶0004)], and wherein venipuncture sites include the upper or lower arm [Before any therapeutic activity can actually commence, however, the vascular access catheter must be implanted in the body of the patient with the distal tip of the catheter residing at the location in the vascular system at which an intended therapeutic activity is appropriate… Peripheral venipuncture sites typically enter the basilic or cephalic veins of the upper or lower arm. The freedom to select among venipuncture sites is determined largely on catheter size and vein size. Vein size is dependent on patient size and on location within the body, with peripheral veins being smaller than central veins (Powers ¶0005)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Sansoucy to employ wherein the vein for administering the fluid and obtaining the blood sample is a peripheral vein, as this modification would amount to mere application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results [use of a multi-lumen catheter at a peripheral vein for sampling] [MPEP § 2143(I)(D)].
However, Sansoucy in view of Powers fails to explicitly disclose wherein the blood sample is not contaminated by the fluid, and the blood sampling port being at least 15 mm proximal from the fluid transfer port.
Hamatake discloses systems and methods employing multi-lumen catheters, wherein Hamatake discloses positioning ports of separate lumens of the multi-lumen catheter such that fluid flow in one lumen is not contaminated by fluid flow in a different lumen, and wherein the ports of the separate lumens are positioned at least 15 mm away from each other [In one aspect of the invention, the catheter comprises three or more lumens with staggered openings at the distal portion of the catheter which exit into the blood stream in intervals of predefined distance(s). Preferably, each of the lumens in the catheter has a separate opening at the distal end so that each of the lumens is in independent fluid communication with the interior of a blood vessel. FIG. 1 illustrates one variation of the catheter 2, with three lumens 4, 6, 8. The openings 12, 14, 16 for the three corresponding lumens 4, 6, 8 are staggered along the length of the catheter 2. The distance between the distal opening 12 and the middle opening 14 is indicated as "L1", and the distance between the middle opening 14 and the proximal opening 16 is indicated as "L2." L1 may be larger, smaller, or equal to L2. Preferably, the staggered distance between the openings (e.g., L1, L2) is between about 0.5 cm to about 10 cm (Hamatake ¶0051, Fig. 1), wherein independent fluid communication is considered to read on the collected sample not being contaminated by the administered fluid, wherein based on Fig. 1, there is a distance of about 1 cm to about 20 cm from opening 12 to opening 16].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Sansoucy in view of Powers to employ wherein the blood sample is not contaminated by the fluid; and the blood sampling port being at least 15 mm proximal from the fluid transfer port, so as to allow for each lumen to be in independent fluid communication with the interior of a blood vessel.
Regarding claim 33, Sansoucy in view of Powers and Hamatake teaches
The method of claim 30, wherein the peripheral vein is in an arm or a hand of the patient [See § 103 modification of claim 30 above; Powers ¶0005].
Regarding claim 34, Sansoucy in view of Powers and Hamatake teaches
The method of claim 30, further comprising inserting the venous access device into the peripheral vein of the patient, before the obtaining [See § 103 modification of claim 30 above; Powers ¶0005].
Regarding claim 50, Sansoucy in view of Powers and Hamatake teaches
The method of claim 30, wherein the bifurcated cannula is flexible [Semi-rigid and rigid polymerics are contemplated for fabrication, as well as resilient materials, such as molded medical grade polypropylene (Sansoucy Col 5:15-21)].
Regarding claim 51, Sansoucy in view of Powers and Hamatake teaches
The method of claim 30.
However, while Sansoucy discloses the use of materials suitable for medical application, including polymerics and resilient materials [Sansoucy Col 5:15-21], Sansoucy in view of Powers and Hamatake as presently modified fails to explicitly disclose wherein the bifurcated cannula comprises a material selected from the group consisting of polyurethanes, polyamides, polyether block amides (PEBA), and polytetrafluoroethylenes (PTFE).
Powers discloses the use of polyurethane to comprise a bifurcated assembly of a catheter and the catheter itself [While certainly many different materials could be used for each of the primary components of the catheter connector system 100 and catheter 110, examples of possible materials are polyurethane and silicone (i.e., a soft biocompatible elastomeric material) for the catheter 110 and the boot 120, and either a soft elastomeric material or a hard plastic material for the bifurcation assembly 130 (Powers ¶0040, Fig. 10)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Sansoucy in view of Powers and Hamatake to employ wherein the bifurcated cannula comprises a material selected from the group consisting of polyurethanes, polyamides, polyether block amides (PEBA), and polytetrafluoroethylenes (PTFE), as this modification would amount to mere simple substitution of one known element for another [materials used to make catheters] with similar expected results [MPEP § 2143(I)(B)].
Regarding claim 52, Sansoucy in view of Powers and Hamatake teaches
The method of claim 30, wherein the hub comprises a material selected from the group consisting of polypropylenes [Sansoucy Col 5:15-21], polyethylenes, polycarbonates, and polyamides.
Regarding claim 53, Sansoucy in view of Powers and Hamatake teaches
The method of claim 30, wherein the venous access device further comprises a first fitting coupled to the blood sampling arm [Second luer fitting 68 is configured for attachment to arterial blood line 76 (Sansoucy Col 7:48-49, Fig. 4)], and a second fitting coupled to the fluid transfer arm [First luer fitting 42 is configured for attachment to venous blood line 50 (Sansoucy Col 6:35-36, Fig. 4)].
Regarding claim 56, Sansoucy teaches
A method of treating a patient, comprising:
administering solely a medication and/or an electrolyte to the patient through a venous access device in a vein of the patient [Arterial lumen 28 is configured for fluid flow, such as, for example, arterial blood flow in a second opposite direction, as shown by arrows B (Sansoucy Col 5:52-54, Fig. 3); It is contemplated that the catheter apparatus can be used for administration of fluids such as, for example, medication, saline, bodily fluids such as, blood, urine, etc. (Sansoucy Col 4:59-62)]; and
obtaining solely a blood sample from the patient through the venous access device [Venous lumen 26 is configured for fluid flow, such as, for example, venous blood flow, in a first direction, as shown by arrows A (Sansoucy Col 5:50-52, Fig. 3)]; and
wherein the administering occurs at the same time as the obtaining [Sansoucy Col 10:36-38, wherein in light of Sansoucy Col 4:59-62, the administering being performed simultaneous to withdrawal is understood to refer to administering a medication or saline (electrolytes)].
However, while Sansoucy is directed towards the use of the venous access device for general catheter related procedures [Sansoucy Col 4:55-62], Sansoucy fails to explicitly disclose that the vein of the patient is a peripheral vein.
Powers discloses systems and methods for fluid administration and blood sampling, wherein Powers discloses it is known in the art that vascular access catheters may be employed for the purposes of medication infusion and blood sampling [It is common to use an implanted catheter to repeatedly access the vascular system of a patient and with the catheter perform repeated therapeutic medical activity. Such therapeutic activity could include the intermittent or continuous infusion of medication and fluids, the periodic sampling of blood, or the continuous withdrawal and return of blood for processing outside of the body of the patient. The catheters used in these activities are referred to as vascular access catheters (Powers ¶0004)], and wherein venipuncture sites include the upper or lower arm [Before any therapeutic activity can actually commence, however, the vascular access catheter must be implanted in the body of the patient with the distal tip of the catheter residing at the location in the vascular system at which an intended therapeutic activity is appropriate… Peripheral venipuncture sites typically enter the basilic or cephalic veins of the upper or lower arm. The freedom to select among venipuncture sites is determined largely on catheter size and vein size. Vein size is dependent on patient size and on location within the body, with peripheral veins being smaller than central veins (Powers ¶0005)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Sansoucy to employ wherein the vein for administering the fluid and obtaining the blood sample is a peripheral vein, as this modification would amount to mere application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results [use of a multi-lumen catheter at a peripheral vein for sampling] [MPEP § 2143(I)(D)].
However, Sansoucy in view of Powers fails to explicitly disclose wherein the blood sample is not contaminated by the medication and/or the electrolyte.
Hamatake discloses systems and methods employing multi-lumen catheters, wherein Hamatake discloses positioning ports of separate lumens of the multi-lumen catheter such that fluid flow in one lumen is not contaminated by fluid flow in a different lumen, and wherein the ports of the separate lumens are positioned at least 15 mm away from each other [In one aspect of the invention, the catheter comprises three or more lumens with staggered openings at the distal portion of the catheter which exit into the blood stream in intervals of predefined distance(s). Preferably, each of the lumens in the catheter has a separate opening at the distal end so that each of the lumens is in independent fluid communication with the interior of a blood vessel. FIG. 1 illustrates one variation of the catheter 2, with three lumens 4, 6, 8. The openings 12, 14, 16 for the three corresponding lumens 4, 6, 8 are staggered along the length of the catheter 2. The distance between the distal opening 12 and the middle opening 14 is indicated as "L1", and the distance between the middle opening 14 and the proximal opening 16 is indicated as "L2." L1 may be larger, smaller, or equal to L2. Preferably, the staggered distance between the openings (e.g., L1, L2) is between about 0.5 cm to about 10 cm (Hamatake ¶0051, Fig. 1), wherein independent fluid communication is considered to read on the collected sample not being contaminated by the administered fluid].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Sansoucy in view of Powers to employ wherein the blood sample is not contaminated by the medication and/or the electrolyte, so as to allow for each lumen to be in independent fluid communication with the interior of a blood vessel.
Regarding claim 57, Sansoucy teaches
A method of treating a patient, consisting of:
administering a medication and/or an electrolyte to the patient through a venous access device in a vein of the patient [Arterial lumen 28 is configured for fluid flow, such as, for example, arterial blood flow in a second opposite direction, as shown by arrows B (Sansoucy Col 5:52-54, Fig. 3); It is contemplated that the catheter apparatus can be used for administration of fluids such as, for example, medication, saline, bodily fluids such as, blood, urine, etc. (Sansoucy Col 4:59-62)]; and
obtaining a blood sample from the patient through the venous access device [Venous lumen 26 is configured for fluid flow, such as, for example, venous blood flow, in a first direction, as shown by arrows A (Sansoucy Col 5:50-52, Fig. 3)]; and
wherein the administering occurs at the same time as the obtaining [Sansoucy Col 10:36-38, wherein in light of Sansoucy Col 4:59-62, the administering being performed simultaneous to withdrawal is understood to refer to administering a medication or saline (electrolytes)].
However, while Sansoucy is directed towards the use of the venous access device for general catheter related procedures [Sansoucy Col 4:55-62], Sansoucy fails to explicitly disclose that the vein of the patient is a peripheral vein.
Powers discloses systems and methods for fluid administration and blood sampling, wherein Powers discloses it is known in the art that vascular access catheters may be employed for the purposes of medication infusion and blood sampling [It is common to use an implanted catheter to repeatedly access the vascular system of a patient and with the catheter perform repeated therapeutic medical activity. Such therapeutic activity could include the intermittent or continuous infusion of medication and fluids, the periodic sampling of blood, or the continuous withdrawal and return of blood for processing outside of the body of the patient. The catheters used in these activities are referred to as vascular access catheters (Powers ¶0004)], and wherein venipuncture sites include the upper or lower arm [Before any therapeutic activity can actually commence, however, the vascular access catheter must be implanted in the body of the patient with the distal tip of the catheter residing at the location in the vascular system at which an intended therapeutic activity is appropriate… Peripheral venipuncture sites typically enter the basilic or cephalic veins of the upper or lower arm. The freedom to select among venipuncture sites is determined largely on catheter size and vein size. Vein size is dependent on patient size and on location within the body, with peripheral veins being smaller than central veins (Powers ¶0005)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Sansoucy to employ wherein the vein for administering the fluid and obtaining the blood sample is a peripheral vein, as this modification would amount to mere application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results [use of a multi-lumen catheter at a peripheral vein for sampling] [MPEP § 2143(I)(D)].
However, Sansoucy in view of Powers fails to explicitly disclose wherein the blood sample is not contaminated by the medication and/or the electrolyte.
Hamatake discloses systems and methods employing multi-lumen catheters, wherein Hamatake discloses positioning ports of separate lumens of the multi-lumen catheter such that fluid flow in one lumen is not contaminated by fluid flow in a different lumen, and wherein the ports of the separate lumens are positioned at least 15 mm away from each other [In one aspect of the invention, the catheter comprises three or more lumens with staggered openings at the distal portion of the catheter which exit into the blood stream in intervals of predefined distance(s). Preferably, each of the lumens in the catheter has a separate opening at the distal end so that each of the lumens is in independent fluid communication with the interior of a blood vessel. FIG. 1 illustrates one variation of the catheter 2, with three lumens 4, 6, 8. The openings 12, 14, 16 for the three corresponding lumens 4, 6, 8 are staggered along the length of the catheter 2. The distance between the distal opening 12 and the middle opening 14 is indicated as "L1", and the distance between the middle opening 14 and the proximal opening 16 is indicated as "L2." L1 may be larger, smaller, or equal to L2. Preferably, the staggered distance between the openings (e.g., L1, L2) is between about 0.5 cm to about 10 cm (Hamatake ¶0051, Fig. 1), wherein independent fluid communication is considered to read on the collected sample not being contaminated by the administered fluid].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Sansoucy in view of Powers to employ wherein the blood sample is not contaminated by the medication and/or the electrolyte, so as to allow for each lumen to be in independent fluid communication with the interior of a blood vessel.
Claim(s) 35-37 and 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sansoucy in view of Powers and Hamatake, as applied to claim 30 above, in further view of Schulte (US-20100298751-A1, previously presented).
Regarding claim 35, Sansoucy in view of Powers and Hamatake teaches
The method of claim 30.
However, while Sansoucy discloses known applications of such catheters including diagnostics [Sansoucy Col 4:44-62], Sansoucy in view of Powers and Hamatake fails to explicitly disclose further comprising performing a blood test with the blood sample obtained from the patient through the venous access device.
Schulte discloses systems and methods for performing dialysis treatments on a patient, wherein Schulte discloses performing a blood glucose test on blood withdrawn from the patient through a venous access device [Measurement of the glucose concentration and/or insulin concentration may take place by means of one or several sensors in the extracorporeal blood circulation. In the case of a dialysis treatment of the patient, it is moreover also possible to perform a measurement on the dialysate side (in addition to further measurements or exclusively), for glucose may pass through the filters that are customary in dialysis treatments (Schulte ¶0020); In a preferred embodiment it is thus proposed to change the concentration of sugar, or glucose, in the dialysate--i.e., the glucose customarily added to a dialysate liquid for the treatment of the patient when composing said dialysate liquid--based on the measured glucose concentration, and particularly based on a measured blood sugar level (Schulte ¶0031)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Sansoucy in view of Powers and Hamatake to employ performing a blood test with the blood sample obtained from the patient through the venous access device, so as to facilitate dialysis treatments of the patient, and as this modification would amount to mere application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results [glucose diagnostics] [MPEP § 2143(I)(D)].
Regarding claim 36, Sansoucy in view of Powers, Hamatake, and Schulte teaches
The method of claim 35, wherein the blood test is a blood glucose test [Schulte ¶¶0020, 0031].
Regarding claim 37, Sansoucy in view of Powers, Hamatake, and Schulte teaches
The method of claim 36, wherein the patient has diabetes [Schulte ¶0014].
Regarding claim 44, Sansoucy in view of Powers, Hamatake, and Schulte teaches
The method of claim 35, wherein the blood test is selected from the group consisting of a blood glucose test [Schulte ¶0020], an amylase test, an antinuclear antibody (ANA) test, a partial thromboplastin time (PTT) test, an international normalized ration (INR) test, a prothrombin time (PT) test, a hemoglobinA1C test, a basic metabolite panel (BMP),a complete blood count (CBC) test, a comprehensive metabolic panel (OMP), an electrolyte test, an erythrocyte sedimentation rate (ESR) test, a flu test, a human chorionic gonadotropin (hCG) test, an HIV antibody test, a lipid profile, a liver panel, a microalbumin test, a prostate-specific antigen(PSA)test, and a thyroid-stimulating hormone (TSH) test.
Claim(s) 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sansoucy in view of Powers and Hamatake, as applied to claim 30 above, in further view of Edgerton (“Long-Term Fate of Patients Discharged to Extended Care Facilities After Cardiovascular Surgery”, NPL previously presented).
Regarding claim 45, Sansoucy in view of Powers and Hamatake teaches
The method of claim 30.
However, while Sansoucy discloses known applications of such catheters including surgical related treatments [Sansoucy Col 4:44-62], Sansoucy in view of Powers and Hamatake fails to explicitly disclose wherein the patient is recovering from cardiac surgery.
Edgerton discloses methods for assessing patients for discharge following cardiovascular surgery, wherein Edgerton discloses the use of peripherally inserted central catheter lines for patients following cardiovascular surgery [To obtain consistency in discharge patterns, the hospital has developed printed guidelines outlining the appropriate patient status for transfer to the different facilities from the acute care hospital as well as the care and services provided. [Guidelines: Rehab is for the medically stable patient, focused on regaining pre-illness level of function; SNF is for patients requiring licensed skilled nursing or rehab staff care, daily evaluation, and care for PICC (peripherally inserted central catheter) lines, wound care, speech therapy, intravenous medications; LTAC is for the hemodynamically stable patient with needs too extensive for SNF such as on a ventilator, chest tube, needing renal dialysis, or continuous cardiac monitoring.] (Edgerton p. 871-872)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Sansoucy in view of Powers and Hamatake to employ wherein the patient is recovering from cardiac surgery, as this modification would amount to mere application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) with similar expected results [use of a catheter for fluid administration or blood sampling, wherein the patient is recovering from cardiac surgery] [MPEP § 2143(I)(D)].
Claim(s) 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sansoucy in view of Powers and Hamatake, as applied to claim 30 above, in further view of Kowarski (US-3908657-A, previously presented).
Regarding claim 46, Sansoucy in view of Powers and Hamatake teaches
The method of claim 30.
However, while Sansoucy discloses known applications of such catheters including diagnostics [Sansoucy Col 4:44-62], Sansoucy in view of Powers and Hamatake fails to explicitly disclose wherein the obtaining occurs while the patient is sleeping.
Kowarski discloses systems and methods for continually withdrawing blood from a patient for analysis via a peripheral catheter, wherein Kowarski discloses obtaining blood samples while the patient is asleep [Referring to FIGS. 3, 4 and 5, a peripheral vein 52 in a lower portion of the arm of the subject 50 is selected and the adjacent skin area 54 is sterilized. The needle 14 is then injected into the vein 52 as illustrated in FIG. 3 and the catheter 22 is inserted into the opening 20 of the plastic sleeve 18 (Kowarski Col 4:45-50, Fig. 2); The portability of the system 10 permits normal activity, including sleep, for the subject 50 while the blood is being withdrawn from the subject during the blood-withdrawing period. The blood drawn continuously over the extended period of up to 24 hours by use of the system 10 permits analyzation of the blood with more accurate results than are attainable with methods where the subject is immobilized or where there are numerous, separate blood withdrawals (Kowarski Col 4:18-26)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Sansoucy in view of Powers and Hamatake to employ wherein the obtaining occurs while the patient is sleeping, as this modification would amount to mere application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) with similar expected results [use of a catheter for blood sampling while the patient is asleep] [MPEP § 2143(I)(D)].
Claim(s) 49 and 54-55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sansoucy in view of Powers and Hamatake, as applied to claim 30 above, in further view of Kamath (US-8364231-B2, previously presented).
Regarding claim 49, Sansoucy in view of Powers and Hamatake teaches
The method of claim 30, wherein the blood sampling port is 15 mm to 20 mm proximal from the fluid transfer port [see § 103 modification above; Hamatake ¶0051].
However, Sansoucy and Hamatake are non-specific regarding the length and gauge of the multi-lumen cannula, and Powers discloses that catheter size may be variable [Powers ¶0005], such that Sansoucy in view of Powers and Hamatake fails to explicitly disclose wherein the bifurcated cannula has a length of 20 to 75 millimeters, and the bifurcated cannula is a 17 to 24 gauge cannula.
Kamath discloses systems and methods employing a catheter inserted into a patient’s blood stream, wherein Kamath discloses known sizes of catheters include lengths of 20-75 mm and gauges of 17-24 G [FIGS. 1A to 1E illustrate one embodiment of an exemplary analyte sensor system 10 for measuring an analyte (e.g., glucose, urea, potassium, pH, proteins, etc.) that includes a catheter 12 configured to be inserted or pre-inserted into a host's blood stream. In clinical settings, catheters are often inserted into hosts to allow direct access to the circulatory system without frequent needle insertion (e.g., venipuncture). Suitable catheters can be sized as is known and appreciated by one skilled in the art, such as but not limited to from about 1 French (0.33 mm) or less to about 30 French (10 mm) or more; and can be, for example, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, or 20 French (3 French is equivalent to about 1 mm) and/or from about 33 gauge or less to about 16 gauge or more, for example, 33, 32, 31, 30, 29, 28, 27, 26, 25, 24, 23, 22, 21, 20, 19, 18, 17, or 16 gauge. Additionally, the catheter can be shorter or longer, for example 0.75, 1.0, 1.25, 1.5, 1.75, 2.0 inches in length or longer. In some embodiments, the catheter is a venous catheter (Kamath Col 34:11-28)]. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454 456, 105 USPQ 233 235 (CCPA 1955); MPEP § 2144.05(II). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the length of the bifurcated cannula.
“The law is replete with cases in which the difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is some range or other variable within the claims… [I]n such a situation, the applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range.” In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575 1578 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Criticality is shown by some noticeable difference in the qualities. In re Lilienfeld, 67 F.2d 920, 924 (CCPA 1933). Nothing in the specification leads one of ordinary skill in the art to understand that the range(s) recited in claim 49 is/are somehow ‘critical’ or lead to unexpected results [see ¶38 of Applicant’s Specification].
Regarding claim 54, Sansoucy in view of Powers and Hamatake teaches
The method of claim 30.
However, Sansoucy and Hamatake are non-specific regarding the gauge of the multi-lumen cannula, and Powers discloses that catheter size may be variable [Powers ¶0005], such that Sansoucy in view of Powers and Hamatake fails to explicitly disclose wherein the bifurcated cannula is a 17, 18, or 19 gauge cannula.
Kamath discloses systems and methods employing a catheter inserted into a patient’s blood stream, wherein Kamath discloses known sizes of catheters include gauges of 17-24 G [Kamath Col 34:11-28]. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454 456, 105 USPQ 233 235 (CCPA 1955); MPEP § 2144.05(II). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the gauge of the bifurcated cannula.
“The law is replete with cases in which the difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is some range or other variable within the claims… [I]n such a situation, the applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range.” In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575 1578 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Criticality is shown by some noticeable difference in the qualities. In re Lilienfeld, 67 F.2d 920, 924 (CCPA 1933). Nothing in the specification leads one of ordinary skill in the art to understand that the range(s) recited in claim 54 is/are somehow ‘critical’ or lead to unexpected results [see ¶38 of Applicant’s Specification].
Regarding claim 55, Sansoucy in view of Powers and Hamatake teaches
The method of claim 30.
However, Sansoucy and Hamatake are non-specific regarding the gauge of the multi-lumen cannula, and Powers discloses that catheter size may be variable [Powers ¶0005], such that Sansoucy in view of Powers and Hamatake fails to explicitly disclose wherein the bifurcated cannula is a 20, 21, 22, 23, or 24 gauge cannula.
Kamath discloses systems and methods employing a catheter inserted into a patient’s blood stream, wherein Kamath discloses known sizes of catheters include gauges of 17-24 G [Kamath Col 34:11-28]. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454 456, 105 USPQ 233 235 (CCPA 1955); MPEP § 2144.05(II). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the gauge of the bifurcated cannula.
“The law is replete with cases in which the difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is some range or other variable within the claims… [I]n such a situation, the applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range.” In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575 1578 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Criticality is shown by some noticeable difference in the qualities. In re Lilienfeld, 67 F.2d 920, 924 (CCPA 1933). Nothing in the specification leads one of ordinary skill in the art to understand that the range(s) recited in claim 55 is/are somehow ‘critical’ or lead to unexpected results [see ¶38 of Applicant’s Specification].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Remarks, filed 6 June 2026, with respect to the previously presented Examiner’s Note regarding the IDS filed 1 March 2024 have been fully considered.
The Examiner notes that the previously presented Examiner’s note regarding reference(s) not considered in the IDS filed 1 March 2024 was not specifically addressed in the Applicant’s Remarks nor was the NPL reference that was not considered presently provided. As such, the IDS filed 1 March 2024 as annotated by the Examiner on 13 February 2026 is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s Remarks p. 8-11, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 30, 48, and those dependent therefrom under § 102 and § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sansoucy (US-7211074-B2, previously presented) in view of Powers (US-20050209583-A1) and Hamatake (US-20060004325-A1, previously presented).
The Applicant asserts that Sansoucy is directed towards use for hemodialysis, cardiac, abdominal urinary, or intestinal chronic or acute applications, none of which requires use of a catheter in a peripheral vein, and that Sansoucy is silent regarding administering medication and/or electrolytes through a peripheral vein and simultaneously obtaining a blood sample for testing, while administering a medication and/or electrolyte. The Applicant also asserts that Hamatake is specific for use as a central line, and there is no suggestion of use in a peripheral vein, and that Hamatake is silent regarding administering medication and/or electrolytes through a peripheral vein and simultaneously obtaining a blood sample for testing from a peripheral vein while administering a medication and/or electrolyte, in the same peripheral vein. The Applicant further asserts that while Hamatake is concerned with reducing recirculation of blood in order to avoid re-filtering blood during dialysis treatments through a central line, that the problem addressed by Hamatake is entirely different from the instant invention avoiding contamination of a blood sample for testing, while administering a medication and/or electrolyte, simultaneously in the same peripheral vein, and wherein avoiding re-filtering blood during dialysis treatments is not equivalent to a “blood sample is not contaminated by the fluid” during simultaneous administration and blood sampling in a peripheral vein. However, the Examiner notes that Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Sansoucy (US-7211074-B2, previously presented) is modified in view of Powers (US-20050209583-A1) to employ the method of administering a fluid and obtaining a blood sample at a peripheral vein [It is common to use an implanted catheter to repeatedly access the vascular system of a patient and with the catheter perform repeated therapeutic medical activity. Such therapeutic activity could include the intermittent or continuous infusion of medication and fluids, the periodic sampling of blood, or the continuous withdrawal and return of blood for processing outside of the body of the patient. The catheters used in these activities are referred to as vascular access catheters (Powers ¶0004); Before any therapeutic activity can actually commence, however, the vascular access catheter must be implanted in the body of the patient with the distal tip of the catheter residing at the location in the vascular system at which an intended therapeutic activity is appropriate… Peripheral venipuncture sites typically enter the basilic or cephalic veins of the upper or lower arm. The freedom to select among venipuncture sites is determined largely on catheter size and vein size. Vein size is dependent on patient size and on location within the body, with peripheral veins being smaller than central veins (Powers ¶0005)]. Moreover, the Examiner notes that the reference of the venous access device of Sansoucy being directed towards use for hemodialysis, cardiac, abdominal urinary, or intestinal chronic or acute applications is considered to be exemplary and that Sansoucy discloses that the venous access device as disclosed is generally directed towards the use of venous blood sampling and simultaneous administration of fluids, including medication and electrolytes (saline) [It is envisioned that the present disclosure may be employed with a range of catheter applications including surgical, diagnostic and related treatments of diseases, body ailments, etc. of a subject. It is further envisioned that the principles relating to the catheter apparatus disclosed include employment with various catheter related procedures, such as, for example, hemodialysis, cardiac, abdominal, urinary, intestinal, etc., in chronic, acute, etc. applications. It is contemplated that the catheter apparatus can be used for administration of fluids such as, for example, medication, saline, bodily fluids such as, blood, urine, etc. (Sansoucy Col 4:51-62); Catheter apparatus 20 is employed for administration of fluids that includes the simultaneous introduction of venous blood flow and withdrawal of arterial blood flow (Sansoucy Col 10:36-38), wherein the Examiner notes that while the particular citation of Sansoucy is directed towards simultaneous blood sampling and administration of treated blood, as noted in Sansoucy Col 4:55-62, the administered fluid may include medication or electrolytes (saline)]. Furthermore, the Examiner notes that the reference of the venous access device of Hamatake being directed towards use for hemodialysis or a central line is similarly considered to be exemplary and that Hamatake discloses that the venous access device as disclosed is generally directed towards the use of venous blood sampling and simultaneous administration of fluids, including medication and nutrients [In light of the disclosure herein one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the various multi-lumen catheter designs described may be implemented in various medical procedures where independent/separate infusion and/or aspiration of two or more fluids is desired. For example, the staggered three-lumen design may be particularly useful in apheresis, dialysis, or other medical procedures requiring placement of a central line. Moreover, the catheters described herein may be placed into a patient's body with various surgical procedures well known to one of ordinary skill in the art. One example of implementing a triple lumen catheter having staggered lumens is described below (Hamatake ¶0078); Chemotherapy agents, antibiotics, anti-nausea medications, blood products, fluids and other medications or nutrients may be infused through a third lumen with a proximal opening on the catheter (Hamatake ¶0079)]. As such, the modification of Sansoucy in view of Powers and Hamatake is considered to be applicable to claim 1 [and claims 56-57 due to similar subject matter].
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s Remarks p. 11, with respect to the previously presented Specification objection(s) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to the Abstract has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s Remarks p. 11, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 30 and 48 under Non-Statutory Double Patenting have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of conflicting U.S. Patent No. 11,701,040, in view of Hamatake.
The Applicant asserts that the rejection of claims 30 and 48 under non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting over claim 10 of conflicting U.S. Patent No. 11,701,040, in view of Hadford has been obviated by the amendments to claim 30. The Examiner agrees. However, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 30 and 48 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claim 30 is presently rejected under non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting over claim 10 of conflicting U.S. Patent No. 11,701,040, in view of Hamatake.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEVERO ANTONIO P LOPEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3791