DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Applicant presents a request for continued examination dated 25 August 2026 responsive to the 27 May 2026 final Office action (the “Previous Action”).
Claims 1, 16 and 19 are amended. Claim 22 has been cancelled. New claim 23 is added.
Claims 1-9, 12-21 and 23 remain pending. Claims 1, 16 and 19 are the independent claims.
Any unpersuasive arguments are addressed in the “Response to Arguments” section below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues with respect to claim 1 that Ding does not teach or suggest the claimed universal code editor, because, according to Applicant, Ding does not each or suggest editing contents of a first artifact of a first cloud service and a second artifact of a second cloud service. Applicant adds that there are no cloud services mentioned in Ding and that Ding is not directed to an integrated development environment (IDE) or an IDE configured to edit different cloud services. (Remarks, 14 par. 4 – p. 15 par. 1).
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Ding discloses services because Ding multiple different data resources and that each data resource is “any form of executable code for providing a service (and hence may be referred to as a data or software service).” (Ding at pars. [0082] and [0003]). Those services are cloud services because Ding discloses that the executable code may be “running on a cloud computing platform.” (Ding par. [0038]).
Ding also discloses an integrated development environment because Ding discloses a code updating tool 170 that permits “entering, editing and/or viewing of executable code representing data resources” and receiving breakpoints, which are “typically put in place for debugging purposes.” (Ding at Fig. 3 and pars. [0082], [0085] and [0038]). This is consistent with paragraph [0003] of the specification, which discloses that developers rely on IDEs “to write, edit and debug software code.” Updating tool 170 is also an IDE because it combines tools for writing, editing, debugging, testing and executing code in a single interface.
Ding discloses editing contents of a first artifact of a first cloud service and a second artifact of a second cloud service because Ding discloses editing “executable code representing one or more data resources” by selecting and opening files for editing code contained within the files. (Ding pars. [0082] and [0090-0091]). Since different files are edited, first and second artifacts are edited. Since different data resources are edited and each data resource is a cloud service as noted above, a first and second cloud service are edited.
And since Ding discloses entering (i.e., writing) and editing executable code of artifacts associated with multiple different cloud services, Ding teaches a universal code editor as claimed. Per paragraph [0006] of the specification, a universal code editor is described that “can be used for authoring and editing artifacts associated with multiple different cloud services.”
Applicant then argues that the claim has not been interpreted as a whole because the claims refer to a universal code editor that is configured to make complementary edits to artifacts in a plurality of different cloud services of an integrated development environment (IDE) during the instance of the code editor, as opposed to merely making complementary edits. (Remarks, p. 15 par. 2 – p. 15 par. 6).
Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that no claim has been rejected merely because every claim element is known. The claims are rejected because, as set forth herein and in the Previous Action, it would have been obvious to combine those elements and arrive at what is claimed.
Applicant argues that the cited art does not teach or suggest the combination of the claims as amended, emphasizing that that edits to artifacts are made “by connecting to a code store associated with the plurality of different cloud services during the single instance” (Remarks. p. 15 last par. – p. 16 par. 2).
Examiner respectfully disagrees for the reasons set forth herein below. Applicant provides only a conclusion to the contrary.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims dependent from claim 1, similar to claim 1 or dependent from a similar claim are unpersuasive for the same reasons.
Applicant lastly argues with respect to claim 21 that Ding does not disclose cloud services and that consequently, one of ordinary skill would not modify the “principle of operation” of Ding to teach the claimed IaaS, PaaS, SaaS or DBaaS. (Remarks, p. 16 pars. 4-7).
Examiner respectfully disagrees that Ding does not disclose cloud services for the reasons set forth above. Examiner also respectfully disagrees that any “principle of operation” of Ding is modified by any combination set forth herein or the Previous Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 14-20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding et al. (US 2019/0303116) (art of record – hereinafter Ding) in view of Wang (US 2020/0218514) (art of record – hereinafter Wang), Bartz et al. (US 2015/0373012) (art of record – hereinafter Bartz), Liu et al. (US 2020/0110598) (art of record – hereinafter Liu).
As to claim 1, Ding discloses a method comprising:
displaying, via a user interface (UI) associated with a single instance of a code editor, a plurality of cloud services, wherein the plurality of cloud services include a first cloud service and a second cloud service; (e.g., Ding, Fig. 4 and associated text, par. [0089]: FIG. 4 shows an example of GUI 200 that may be displayed within the user interface 180 of the code updating tool 170 [single instance of a code editor]; par. [0090]: the file explorer window 202 [part of the GUI] provides an interactive hierarchy of files. A file 208 may be selected from the file explorer window 202 to cause executable code 210 within the first file 208 to be opened within the live code window 203 [part of the GUI]; par. [0091]: the live code window 203 may allow user editing; par. [0082]: executable code representing one or more data resources; par. [0003]: a data resource is any form of executable code for providing a service; par. [0038]: the executable code may be “live” in the sense that it is running on a cloud computing platform)
wherein the code editor is a universal code editor (e.g., Ding [see above, Ding provides an instance of a code editor that allows user editing of cloud service files]) configured to make edits to artifacts in a plurality of different cloud services of an integrated development environment (IDE) during the single instance of the code editor (e.g., Ding, par. [0090]: the file explorer window 202 provides an interactive hierarchy of files. A file 208 may be selected from the file explorer window 202 to cause executable code 210 within the first file 208 to be opened within the live code window 203 [part of the GUI]; par. [0091]: the live code window 203 may allow user editing; Fig 3 and associated text, par. [0082]: entering, editing and/or viewing of executable code; par. [0086]: the analysis module 184 presents the result of executing the executable code up to the breakpoint; par. [0038]: a breakpoint is typically put in place for debugging purposes [so the system is an IDE because various tools and capabilities for authoring artifacts are provided]) by connecting to a code store associated with the plurality of different cloud services during the single instance; (e.g., Ding, par. [0081]: the data processing platform 102 may comprises [sic] code updating tool 170; par. [0064]: the resource database 116 [connected to platform 102, see figure] may store other data resources that may be used by applications hosted by data processing platform 102; par. [0003]: a data resource is any form of executable code for providing a service; par. [0038]: the executable code may be “live” in the sense that it is running on a cloud computing platform).
receiving, by the single instance of the code editor, a first signal indicating selection, via the UI, of the first cloud service from the plurality of cloud services; (e.g., Ding, Fig. 4 and associated text, par. [0090]: the file explorer window 202 provides an interactive hierarchy of files [the code within representing a service, see above]. A file 208 may be selected from the file explorer window 202)
displaying, in the UI, a first edit area, the first edit area displaying contents of a first artifact associated with the first cloud service and enabling editing of the contents of the first artifact via functions of the universal code editor (e.g., Ding, Fig. 4 and associated text, par. [0090]: A file 208 may be selected from the file explorer window 202 to cause executable code 210 contained within the first file 208 [artifact] to be opened within the live code window 203; par. [0091]: the live code window 203 may allow user editing by means of receiving txt or symbols entered through an input device such as a keyboard [displaying and receiving text being functions])
receiving, by the single instance of code editor, a second signal indicating selection, via the UI, of the second cloud service from the plurality of cloud services, wherein the second cloud service is different from the first cloud service, (e.g., Ding, Fig. 4 and associated text, par. [0090]: the file explorer window 202 provides an interactive hierarchy of files [the code within each representing a service, see above]. A file 208 may be selected from the file explorer window 202 [so any file, i.e., any service the code within it provides, can be selected]) wherein the code editor is configured to edit code or artifacts for a plurality of different types of cloud services; (e.g., Ding, par. [0082]: executable code representing one or more data resources; par. [0003]: a data resource is any form of executable code for providing a service for example a data analysis application [type of service], a data transformation application [type of service], a spreadsheet [type of service] or a database [type of service]; par. [0038]: the executable code may be “live” in the sense that it is running on a cloud computing platform; Fig. 4 and associated text, par. [0090]: A file 208 may be selected from the file explorer window 202 to cause executable code 210 contained within the first file 208 [artifact] to be opened within the live code window 203; par. [0091]: the live code window 203 may allow user editing) and
contents of a second artifact associated with the second cloud service, that is different from the first cloud service, and enabling editing of contents of the second artifact via the functions of the universal code editor (see above, any of multiple different files, each containing code of a cloud service, can be selected and displayed in a code window that allows editing).
Ding does not explicitly disclose a browser based code editor; wherein the first cloud service is associated with a first plugin configured to communicate with a first infrastructure and the second cloud service is associated with a second plugin configured to communicate with a second infrastructure different from the first infrastructure; complementary edits; or displaying, in the UI, a second edit area, the second edit area displaying contents of a second artifact.
However, in an analogous art, Wang discloses:
a browser-based code editor (e.g., Wang, Fig. 6A and associated text, par. [0111]: t is common for developers to edit scripts or other forms of source code stored on web servers. To do so, developers may use simplistic text editors accessible through a web browser. A web-based text editor may be generally referred to as a “web-based integrated development environment” or “web-based IDE”).
displaying, in the UI, a second edit area, the second edit area displaying contents of a second artifact (e.g., Wang, par. [0129]: each of the open tabs 626 [edit areas] may represent the files presently open. Selecting one of the open tabs 626 can subsequently display the contents of the corresponding file in the text editing pane).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the editor of Ding such that it is browser-based, as taught by Wang, as Wang would provide the advantage of a means of accessing the editor from any Internet enabled client device. (See Wang, par. [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display of artifact contents taught by Ding, such that the contents of a second artifact are displayed in a second area, as taught by Wang, as Wang would provide the advantage of a means of organizing display of a plurality of simultaneously opened artifacts. (See Wang, par. [0129])
Further, in an analogous art, Bartz discloses:
wherein the first cloud service is associated with a first plugin configured to communicate with a first infrastructure and the second cloud service is associated with a second plugin configured to communicate with a second infrastructure different from the first infrastructure (e.g., Bartz, par. [0026]: difference extensions [plugins] may be created to access cloud services; Fig. 4 and associated text, par. [0048]: each of the cloud extensions 406-408 [plugins] are adapted to connect to a cloud portal for the corresponding cloud service 401-403 [and see figure, each extension 406, 407, 408 (plugin) is communicating with the portal of a different cloud service 401, 402, 403]; par. [0050]: cloud portals 409-411 provide access to the resources [infrastructure] on each cloud service; par. [0016]: resources like compute power, networking and storage; par. [0047]: cloud services 401-403 may be located in datacenters [also infrastructure] that are remote from each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and cloud services of Ding such that the first cloud service is associated with a first plugin associated with a first infrastructure and the second cloud service is associated with a second plugin associated with a second infrastructure different from the first infrastructure, as taught by Bartz, as Bartz would provide the advantage of a means to access services from multiple clouds via a single user experience. (See Bartz, par. [0021]).
Further still, in an analogous art, Liu discloses:
complementary edits (e.g., Liu, par. [0019]: deployment of a modified service affects the functioning of other services that make use of the service. Some changes are benign and are unlikely to cause problems. Other changes [edits] intentionally require changes [edits] to be made to other services, such as changing the parameters used in a function call [these changes (edits) together being complementary, because one triggers the other]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the edits of Ding such that the edits include complementary edits, as taught by Liu, as Liu would provide a means of avoiding problems associated with services making use of a changed service. (See Liu, par. [0019]).
As to claim 2, Ding/Wang/Bartz/Liu discloses the method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first cloud service is provided by a first cloud service provider and the second cloud service is provided by a second cloud service provider that is different from the first cloud services provider.
However, in an analogous art, Bartz discloses:
wherein the first cloud service is provided by a first cloud service provider and the second cloud service is provided by a second cloud service provider that is different from the first cloud services provider (e.g., Bartz, par. [0047]: cloud services 401-403 may be located in datacenters that are remote from each other and are maintained by different providers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cloud services of Ding, such that they are provided by different cloud service providers, as taught by Bartz, as Bartz would provide the advantage of a means of accessing services from any combination of clouds via a single consistent user experience. (See Bartz, pars. [0021] and [0047]).
As to claim 3, Ding/Wang/Bartz/Liu discloses the method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first cloud service and the second cloud service are provided by the same cloud service provider.
However, in an analogous art, Bartz discloses:
wherein the first cloud service and the second cloud service are provided by the same cloud service provider (e.g., Bartz, par. [0047]: cloud services 401-403 may be located in datacenters that are remote from each other and are maintained by the same or different providers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cloud services of Ding, such that they are provided by the same cloud service provider, as taught by Bartz, as Bartz would provide the advantage of a means of accessing services from any combination of clouds via a single consistent user experience. (See Bartz, pars. [0021] and [0047]).
As to claim 4, Ding/Wang/Bartz/Liu discloses the method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), Ding further discloses:
wherein the code editor is executed by a first system and the UI is displayed on a different system (e.g., Ding, Fig. 3 and associated text, par. [0081]: platform 102 comprises a tool 170; par. [0082]: live code module for the editing of executable code [part of tool 170, see figure]; par. [0067]: the data exchanged between the client device 118 and the data processing platform 102 involve functions available through one or more user interfaces (UIs). The UIs may be associated with a web client (e.g., a browser) on the client device that is in communication with platform 102. For example, system 104 provides user interfaces to a user of the client device (“e.g., by communicating a set of computer-readable instructions to the client device 118 that cause the client device to display the user interfaces)”)
wherein the IDE includes one or more of: a file explorer, a debugger, a compiler, or a source control component (e.g., Ding, Fig. 4 and associated text, par. [0090]: file explorer window 202).
As to claim 5, Ding/Wang/Bartz/Liu discloses the method of claim 1, (see rejection of claim 1 above) but Ding does not explicitly disclose further comprising: responsive to receiving the first signal, establishing, by the code editor, a connection with the first infrastructure associated with the first cloud service; obtaining, by the code editor, information related to a first set of one or more artifacts associated with the first cloud service, the first set of one or more artifacts including the first artifact; and displaying, by the code editor and on the UI, information identifying the first set of one or more artifacts.
However, in an analogous art, Wang discloses further comprising:
responsive to receiving the first signal, establishing, by the code editor, a connection with the first infrastructure associated with the first cloud service; (e.g., Wang, Fig. 6C and associated text, par. [0130]: text editing pane 624; par. [0135]: database explorer pane 636 includes a database name 636A, a table name 636B and/or a file name 636C; par. [0136]: selecting one of the names listed in database explorer pane 636 may trigger the plugin to request the corresponding resource. In other words, selecting an item from pane 636 can trigger the plugin to submit, to a computational instance [the structure on which it executes being first infrastructure] a request [i.e., connect to it] for the data that corresponds to the selection’s address; par. [0007]: a computational instance disposed within a remote network management platform; par. [0072]: each of these instances may represent one or more devices and/or databases that provide a set of services)
obtaining, by the code editor, information related to a first set of one or more artifacts associated with the first cloud service, the first set of one or more artifacts including the first artifact; (e.g., Wang, par. [0072]: each of these instances may represent one or more devices and/or databases that provide a set of services; par. [0136]: selecting an item from pane 636 can trigger the plugin to submit, to a computational instance a request for the data that corresponds to the selection’s address. When database name 636A is selected, names of the tables and/or files [artifacts] contained therein may be displayed below database name 636A, as shown in FIG. 6C) and
displaying, by the code editor and on the UI, information identifying the first set of one or more artifacts (see immediately above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first signal representing a user selection and artifacts associated with cloud services taught by Ding, by incorporating presenting cloud services for selection that comprise multiple artifacts, establishing, by the code editor, a connection with a first infrastructure associated with the first cloud service responsive to receiving the first signal; obtaining, by the code editor, information related to a first set of one or more artifacts associated with the first cloud service, the first set of one or more artifacts including the first artifact; and displaying, by the code editor and on the UI, information identifying the first set of one or more artifacts, as taught by Wang, as Wang would provide the advantage of a means of selectively editing each of multiple artifacts stored on the first infrastructure. (See Wang, pars. [0130], [0136]).
As to claim 6, Ding/Wang/Bartz/Liu discloses the method of claim 5, (see rejection of claim 5 above) but Ding does not explicitly disclose wherein establishing the connection with the first infrastructure associated with the first cloud service comprises using, by the code editor, the first plugin for the first cloud service to connect to the first infrastructure.
However, in an analogous Wang discloses:
wherein establishing the connection with the first infrastructure associated with the first cloud service comprises using, by the code editor, the first plugin for the first cloud service to connect to the first infrastructure (e.g., Wang, Fig. 6 and associated text, par. [0136]: selecting an item from the list of names in the database explorer pane 636 [of a code editor, see above] can trigger the plugin to submit, to a computational instance [comprising cloud infrastructure, see above], a request [i.e., connection] for the data that corresponds to the selection’s address).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first signal representing a user selection and artifacts associated with a first cloud service taught by Ding, to incorporate presenting cloud services for selection that comprise multiple artifacts, establishing, by the code editor, a connection with a first infrastructure associated with the first cloud service using a plugin responsive to receiving the first signal; obtaining, by the code editor, information related to a first set of one or more artifacts associated with the first cloud service, the first set of one or more artifacts including the first artifact; and displaying, by the code editor and on the UI, information identifying the first set of one or more artifacts, as taught by Wang, as Wang would provide the advantage of a means of selectively editing each of multiple code files stored on the first infrastructure. (See Wang, pars. [0130], [0136]). Using a plugin would also provide the advantage of a means of extending the editor with the functionality it provides. (See Wang, par. [0003])
As to claim 7, Ding/Wang/Bartz/Liu discloses the method of claim 5, (see rejection of claim 5 above) but Ding does not explicitly disclose further comprising: receiving, by the code editor, a third signal indicating selection, via the UI, of the first artifact from the first set of one or more artifacts; and obtaining, by the code editor, the first artifact from the first infrastructure associated with the first cloud service; and wherein displaying the first edit area comprises causing, by the code editor, the contents of the first artifact to be displayed in the first edit area.
However, in an analogous art, Wang discloses further comprising:
receiving, by the code editor, a third signal indicating selection, via the UI, of the first artifact from the first set of one or more artifacts; (e.g., Wang, Fig. 6 and associated text, par. [0130]: the list of names of databases, tables and/or files stored on computational instance 322 may be selectable within the database explorer pane 636 by way of a GUI) and
obtaining, by the code editor, the first artifact from the first infrastructure associated with the first cloud service; (e.g., Wang, par. [0136]: selecting an item from the list of names in pane 636 can trigger the plugin to submit, to a computational instance, a request for the data that corresponds to the selection’s address) and
wherein displaying the first edit area comprises causing, by the code editor, the contents of the first artifact to be displayed in the first edit area (e.g., Wang, Fig. 6B and associated text, par. [0130]: if a file is selected from explorer pane 628, text editing pane 624 may display the contents of the file; par. [0133]: FIG. 6C depicts an example of an IDE similar to that found in FIG. 6B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the selection of artifacts associated with services and display of those artifacts in edit areas taught by Ding, such that the artifact names are obtained from cloud service infrastructure and the artifacts are obtained from the cloud infrastructure and their contents displayed by the code editor in a first edit area in response to their selection, as taught by Wang, as Wang would provide the advantage of a means of navigating and editing each of multiple source code files stored on remote cloud service infrastructure. (See Wang, pars. [0130], [0136]).
As to claim 8, Ding/Wang/Bartz/Liu discloses the method of claim 1, (see rejection of claim 1 above) but Ding does not explicitly disclose further comprising: responsive to receiving the first signal, establishing, by the code editor, a connection with the first infrastructure associated with the first cloud service; obtaining, by the code editor, information related to a first set of one or more artifacts associated with the first cloud service, the first set of one or more artifacts including the first artifact; and displaying, by the code editor and on the UI, information identifying the first set of one or more artifacts; responsive to receiving the second signal, establishing, by the code editor, a connection with the second infrastructure associated with the second cloud service; obtaining, by the code editor, information related to a second set of one or more artifacts associated with the second cloud service, the second set of one or more artifacts including the second artifact; displaying, by the code editor and on the UI, information identifying the second set of one or more artifacts; receiving, by the code editor, a fourth signal indicating selection, via the UI, of the second artifact from the second set of one or more artifacts; obtaining, by the code editor, the second artifact from the second infrastructure associated with the second cloud service; and wherein displaying the second edit area comprises causing, by the code editor, the contents of the second artifact to be displayed in the second edit area.
However, in an analogous art, Wang discloses further comprising:
responsive to receiving the first signal, establishing, by the code editor, a connection with the first infrastructure associated with the first cloud service; (e.g., Wang, Fig. 6C and associated text, par. [0130]: text editing pane 624; par. [0135]: database explorer pane 636 includes a database name 636A, a table name 636B and/or a file name 636C; par. [0136]: selecting one of the names listed in database explorer pane 636 may trigger the plugin to request the corresponding resource. In other words, selecting an item from pane 636 can trigger the plugin to submit, to a computational instance [the structure on which it executes being first infrastructure] a request [i.e., connect to it] for the data that corresponds to the selection’s address; par. [0007]: a computational instance disposed within a remote network management platform; par. [0072]: each of these instances may represent one or more devices and/or databases that provide a set of services)
obtaining, by the code editor, information related to a first set of one or more artifacts associated with the first cloud service, the first set of one or more artifacts including the first artifact; (e.g., Wang, par. [0072]: each of these instances may represent one or more devices and/or databases that provide a set of services; par. [0136]: selecting an item from pane 636 can trigger the plugin to submit, to a computational instance a request for the data that corresponds to the selection’s address. When database name 636A is selected, names of the tables and/or files [artifacts] contained therein may be displayed below database name 636A, as shown in FIG. 6C and
displaying, by the code editor and on the UI, information identifying the first set of one or more artifacts; (see immediately above)
responsive to receiving the second signal, establishing, by the code editor, a connection with the second infrastructure associated with the second cloud service; (e.g., par. [0135]: pane 636 may display a list of names representative of databases [plural, so electing a second data would be a second signal and Wang’s system would perform the same functionality as noted above but with a second database])
obtaining, by the code editor, information related to a second set of one or more artifacts associated with the second cloud service, the second set of one or more artifacts including the second artifact; (see immediately above, the artifacts obtained in response to the selecting a second database would be a second set of artifacts)
displaying, by the code editor and on the UI, information identifying the second set of one or more artifacts; (see immediately above)
receiving, by the code editor, a fourth signal indicating selection, via the UI, of the second artifact from the second set of one or more artifacts; (e.g., Wang, Fig. 6 and associated text, par. [0130]: the list of names of databases, tables and/or files stored on computational instance 322 may be selectable within the database explorer pane 636 by way of a GUI)
obtaining, by the code editor, the second artifact from the second infrastructure associated with the second cloud service; (e.g., Wang, par. [0136]: selecting an item from the list of names in pane 636 can trigger the plugin to submit, to a computational instance, a request for the data that corresponds to the selection’s address) and
wherein displaying the second edit area comprises causing, by the code editor, the contents of the second artifact to be displayed in the second edit area (e.g., Wang, Fig. 6B and associated text, par. [0130]: if a file is selected from explorer pane 628, text editing pane 624 may display the contents of the file; par. [0133]: FIG. 6C depicts an example of an IDE similar to that found in FIG. 6B; par. [0129]: each one of the open tabs 626 [areas] may represent the files presently open. Selecting one of the open tabs 626 via the GUI can display the contents of the corresponding file in the text editing pane 624).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the signals representing a user selection, artifacts associated with cloud services and different area taught by Ding/Bartz/Liu, to incorporate presenting cloud services for selection that comprise multiple artifacts, establishing, by the code editor, a connection with the infrastructure associated with the selected cloud service responsive to receiving the first signal; obtaining, by the code editor, information related to the set of artifacts associated with the selected cloud service, the set of one or more artifacts; displaying, by the code editor and on the UI, information identifying the set of one or more artifacts of the selected service, receiving a selection via the UI of one or the artifacts of the selected service, obtaining the selected artifact from the infrastructure of the selected service and displaying contents of the selected artifact in the second area, as taught by Wang, as Wang would provide the advantage of a means of selectively editing each code file of different services stored on the different infrastructure. (See Wang, pars. [0130], [0136] and [0072]).
As to claim 9, Ding/Wang/Bartz/Liu discloses the method of claim 1, (see rejection of claim 1 above) but Ding does not explicitly disclose further comprising: receiving, via the first edit area, one or more edits to the first artifact to generate edited contents for the first artifact; receiving, by the code editor, a signal to save the edited contents of the first artifact; and responsive to receiving the signal to save the edited contents of the first artifact, causing, by the code editor, the edited contents of the first artifact to be stored in a repository associated with the first cloud service.
However, in an analogous art, Wang discloses further comprising:
receiving, via the first edit area, one or more edits to the first artifact to generate edited contents for the first artifact; (e.g., Wang, par. [0149]: editor 802 may receive the file at step 829 and store the file as a local, editable file. Step 830 may include displaying the contents of the local editable file in a text editing pane “(e.g., text editing pane 624)”. The contents of the matching file may be modified by way of the GUI of the source code editor 802)
receiving, by the code editor, a signal to save the edited contents of the first artifact; (e.g., Wang, par. [0150]: at step 834, editor 802 may receive a command to save the modification of the local, editable file to the database 808) and
responsive to receiving the signal to save the edited contents of the first artifact, causing, by the code editor, the edited contents of the first artifact to be stored in a repository associated with the first cloud service (e.g., Wang, par. [0072]: computational instances 322, 324, 326 and 328. Each of these instances may represent one or more devices and/or databases that provide a set of services; Fig. 8B and associated text, par. [0150]: after receiving such command, the source code editor may pass the local, editable file to the plugin for transmittal to the computational instance 322. The plugin receives the file. The file as modified is transmitted back to the server device 806, at step 838. Finally, server device 806 transmits the file as modified to database 808 and it is stored therein at step 840).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the editing of artifacts of Ding by incorporating receiving, via the first edit area, one or more edits to the first artifact to generate edited contents for the first artifact; receiving, by the code editor, a signal to save the edited contents of the first artifact; and responsive to receiving the signal to save the edited contents of the first artifact, causing, by the code editor, the edited contents of the first artifact to be stored in a repository associated with the first cloud service, as taught by Wang, as Wang would provide the advantage of a means of deploying the modified file. (See Wang, par. [0001]). Wang would also provide the advantage of a means of ensuring the modified code will be run as suggested by Ding. (See Ding, par. [0105]).
As to claim 14, Ding/Wang//Bartz/Liu discloses the method of claim 1, (see rejection of claim 1 above) Ding further discloses:
wherein the first artifact is a file containing code, a script file, or a configuration information file (e.g., Ding, par. [0090]: executable code 210 contained within the first file 208 [artifact]).
As to claim 15, Ding/Wang/Bartz/Liu discloses the method of claim 1, (see rejection of claim 1 above) Ding further discloses:
wherein the first artifact is an editable file used for enabling, provisioning, or deploying the first cloud service (e.g., Ding, par. [0090]: executable code 210 contained within the first file 208; par. [0082]: executable code representing one or more data resources; par. [0003]: a data resources is any form of executable code for providing a service; par. [0038]: the executable code may be “live” in the sense that it is running on a cloud computing platform).
As to claim 16, it is a system claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 1. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons. Further limitations, disclosed by Ding, include:
a memory storing a set of instructions; (e.g., Ding, par. [0073])
a set of one or more processor configured to execute the set of instructions to perform processing, (e.g., Ding, par. [0073]) comprising: (see rejection of claim 1 above).
As to claim 17, it is a system claim whose limitations are a subset of those of claim 8. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons.
As to claim 18, it is a system claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 7. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons.
As to claim 19, it is a system claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 1. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons. Further limitations, disclosed by Ding, include:
a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions executable by one or more processors for causing the one or more processors to perform operations (e.g., Ding, pars. [0073], [0070]) comprising: (see rejection of claim 1 above).
As to claim 20, it is a system claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 5, 7 and 9. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons.
As to claim 23, Ding/Wang/Bartz/Liu discloses: the method according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above) Ding further discloses:
wherein the integrated development environment is configured to write, edit, and debug software code, (e.g., Ding, Fig. 3 and associated text, par, [0081]: a live code module 182 [part of updating tool 170, see figure] may be provided for entering, editing and/or viewing executable code; par. [0085]: live code module 182 may also be configured to receive, a through user interaction, a breakpoint; par. [0038]: a breakpoint is typically put in place for debugging purposes) and
wherein artifacts of the plurality of different cloud services are edited using the functions of a same universal code editor (e.g., Ding, par. [0082]: a live code module 18 may be provided for editing executable code representing one or more data resources [cloud services, see the rejection of claim 1]; par. [0090]: the file explorer window 202 provides an interactive hierarchy of files that the user is able to access. A first file 208 may be selected to cause executable code 210 contained within the first file 208 to be opened within the live code window 203; par. [0091]: the code window 203 may allow a user editing by means of receiving text or symbols entered through an input device).
Claims 12-13 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding (US 2019/0303116) in view of Wang (US 2020/0218514) in view of Bartz (US 2015/0373012) in view of Liu (US 2020/010598) in further view of Chinnathambi (US 2013/0227396) (art mad of record – hereinafter Chinnathambi).
As to claim 12, Ding/Wang/Bartz/Liu discloses the method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above) but does not explicitly disclose wherein displaying the second edit area comprises displaying the second edit area and the first edit area simultaneously.
However, in an analogous art, Chinnathambi discloses:
wherein displaying the second area comprises displaying the second area and the first area simultaneously (e.g., Chinnathambi, Fig. 4 and associated text, par. [0060]: content of the primary document and the content of at least one of the related files 1200 are displayed at the same time by the code editor panel; par. [0050]: the primary editor sub-panel 402 displays the markup for the primary document; par. [0051]: a user may select any of the related files and the content of the selected file will be displayed in the secondary editor sub-panel 404).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second edit areas of Ding/Wang/Bartz/Liu such that they are displayed simultaneously, as taught by Chinnathambi, as Chinnathambi would provide the advantages of increasing developer productivity. (See Chinnathambi, par. [0003]).
As to claim 13, Ding/Wang/Bartz/Liu discloses the method of claim 1, (see rejection of claim 1 above) but Ding does not explicitly disclose wherein displaying the second edit area comprises: causing the contents of the second artifact to be displayed in the UI; and causing the contents of the first artifact to be removed from being displayed by the UI.
However, in an analogous art, Chinnathambi discloses:
wherein displaying the second edit area (see below) comprises:
causing the contents of the second artifact to be displayed in the UI; (e.g., (e.g., Chinnathambi, Fig. 4 and associated text, par. [0060]: content of the primary document and the content of at least one of the related files 1200 are displayed at the same time by the code editor panel) and
causing the contents of the first artifact to be removed from being displayed by the UI (e.g., Chinnathambi, Fig. 4 and associated text, par. [0052]: user interface 600 provides users with the ability to close either or both of the sub-panels 402 and 404).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display of artifact contents taught by Ding, such that the contents of a second artifact are displayed in a second area and removed, as taught by Chinnathambi, as Chinnathambi would provide the advantage of a means for a user to cease viewing content of artifacts as the user desires. (See Chinnathambi, par. [0052]). Removing contents of certain artifacts from the display would also conserve screen space and other resources.
As to claim 21, Ding/Wang/Bartz/Liu discloses the method according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above) and further discloses the complementary edits to artifacts in the plurality of different cloud services and artifacts from the plurality of different cloud services (see rejection of claim 1 above) but Ding does not explicitly disclose wherein a cloud service of the plurality of cloud services comprises Infrastructure-as-a-Service (IaaS), Platform-as-a-Service (PaaS), Software-as-a-Service (SaaS), or Database-as-a-Service (DBaaS), or wherein the complementary edits to the artifacts in the plurality of different cloud services are made in parallel when artifacts from the plurality of different cloud services are opened simultaneously in the instance of the code editor.
However, in an analogous art, Bartz discloses:
wherein a cloud service of the plurality of cloud services comprises Infrastructure-as-a-Service (IaaS), Platform-as-a-Service (PaaS), Software-as-a-Service (SaaS), or Database-as-a-Service (DBaaS) (e.g., Bartz, par. [0047]: cloud services 401-403 may be located in datacenters that are remote from each other; par. [0019]: the datacenter operator may offer different levels of cloud computing services to tenants. With an Infrastructure-as-a-Service (Iaas) offering, the lower levels of the IT stack are delivered as a service).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cloud services of Ding such that a cloud service of the cloud services comprises an IaaS platform, as taught by Bartz, as Bartz would provide the advantage of a means to free up developers from much of the complexity of provisioning physical machines and configuring network. (See Bartz, par. [0019]).
Further, in an analogous art, Chinnathambi discloses:
wherein the edits to the artifacts are made in parallel when artifacts are opened simultaneously in the instance of the code editor (e.g., Chinnathambi, Fig. 4 and associated text, par. [0060]: content of the primary document and the content of at least one of the related files 1200 are displayed at the same time by the code editor panel. The code editor panel is configured to edit the content of the primary document and the content of at least one of the related files at the same time [in parallel]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the complementary edits to artifacts in the plurality of different cloud services and artifacts from the plurality of different cloud services of Ding/Wang/Bartz/Liu such that the edits to the artifacts are made in parallel when artifacts are opened simultaneously in the instance of the code editor, as taught by Chinnathambi, as Chinnathambi would provide the advantage of a means of increasing the productivity of the developer. (See Chinnathambi, par. [0003]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In particular, US 11,907,734 is cited because it discloses a web-based IDE having the same types of components as a client-side IDE at col. 6 ll. 28-30.
/TODD AGUILERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2192