DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Applicant presents a communication dated 2 March 2026 responsive to the 28 November 2025 non-final Office action (the “Previous Action”).
With the request, Applicant amends claims 1, 4, 8, 16-17 and 19. Applicant also cancels claim 10.
Claim 1-9 and 12-21 remain pending in this application and have been fully considered by the examiner. Claims 1, 16 and 19 are the independent claims.
Any unpersuasive arguments are addressed in the “Response to Arguments” section below.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant first argues with respect to claim 1 that Bartz does not teach “wherein the first cloud service is associated with a first plugin associated with a first infrastructure and the second cloud services is associated with a second plugin associated with a second infrastructure different from the first infrastructure.” (Remarks, p. 12 par. 3 – p. 13 par. 1).
Examiner respectfully disagrees but first points out that the claim now requires plugins “configured to communicate with” first and second different infrastructures, not plugins merely “associated with” those infrastructures.
And as to those features, as noted in the Office action, they are taught by Bartz because Bartz teaches extensions (plugins) that each communicate with a portal in a different cloud service that provides access to resources like compute power, networking and storage (infrastructure) of the cloud service. (See Bartz, Fig. 4 and associated text, pars. [0048] and [0050]). Applicant provides only a conclusion to the contrary.
Applicant then argues with respect to claim 1 that the cited art does not teach “wherein the code editor is a universal code editor configured to make complementary edits to artifacts in a plurality of different cloud services of an integrated development environment during the instance of the editor.” (Remarks, p. 13 par. 2).
This argument is moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection below, necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the remaining claims by virtue of their dependence from claim 1, similarity with claim 1 or dependence from a similar claim are unpersuasive and/or moot for the same reasons.
Claim Objections
The Previous Action’s objections are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 13-16, 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding et al. (US 2019/0303116) (art of record – hereinafter Ding) in view of Bartz et al. (US 2015/0373012) (art of record – hereinafter Bartz) in view of Liu et al. (US 2020/0110598) (art made of record – hereinafter Liu) in view of Stone et al. (US 6,804,686) (art of record – hereinafter Stone).
As to claim 1, Ding discloses a method comprising:
displaying, via a user interface (UI) associated with an instance of code editor, a plurality of cloud services, wherein the plurality of cloud services include a first cloud service and a second cloud service; (e.g., Ding, Fig. 4 and associated text, par. [0089]: FIG. 4 shows an example of GUI 200 that may be displayed within the user interface 180 of the code updating tool 170 [code editor]; par. [0090]: the file explorer window 202 [part of the GUI] provides an interactive hierarchy of files. A file 208 may be selected from the file explorer window 202 to cause executable code 210 within the first file 208 to be opened within the live code window 203 [part of the GUI]; par. [0091]: the live code window 203 may allow user editing; par. [0082]: executable code representing one or more data resources; par. [0003]: a data resource is any form of executable code for providing a service; par. [0038]: the executable code may be “live” in the sense that it is running on a cloud computing platform)
wherein the code editor is a universal code editor (e.g., Ding [see above, Ding provides an instance of a code editor that allows user editing of cloud service files]) configured to make edits to artifacts in a plurality of different cloud services of an integrated development environment (IDE) during the instance of the code editor; (e.g., Ding, par. [0090]: the file explorer window 202 provides an interactive hierarchy of files. A file 208 may be selected from the file explorer window 202 to cause executable code 210 within the first file 208 to be opened within the live code window 203 [part of the GUI]; par. [0091]: the live code window 203 may allow user editing; Fig 3 and associated text, par. [0082]: entering, editing and/or viewing of executable code; par. [0086]: the analysis module 184 presents the result of executing the executable code up to the breakpoint; par. [0038]: a breakpoint is typically put in place for debugging purposes [so the system is an IDE because various tools and capabilities for authoring artifacts are provided])
receiving, by the instance of the code editor, a first signal indicating selection, via the UI, of the first cloud service from the plurality of cloud services; (e.g., Ding, Fig. 4 and associated text, par. [0090]: the file explorer window 202 provides an interactive hierarchy of files [the code within representing a service, see above]. A file 208 may be selected from the file explorer window 202)
displaying, in the UI, a first edit area, the first edit area displaying contents of a first artifact associated with the first cloud service and enabling editing of the contents of the first artifact; (e.g., Ding, Fig. 4 and associated text, par. [0090]: A file 208 may be selected from the file explorer window 202 to cause executable code 210 contained within the first file 208 [artifact] to be opened within the live code window 203; par. [0091]: the live code window 203 may allow user editing)
receiving, by the instance of code editor, a second signal indicating selection, via the UI, of the second cloud service from the plurality of cloud services, wherein the second cloud service is different from the first cloud service, (e.g., Ding, Fig. 4 and associated text, par. [0090]: the file explorer window 202 provides an interactive hierarchy of files [the code within each representing a service, see above]. A file 208 may be selected from the file explorer window 202 [so any file, i.e., any service the code within it provides, can be selected]) wherein the code editor is configured to edit code or artifacts for a plurality of different types of cloud services; (e.g., Ding, par. [0082]: executable code representing one or more data resources; par. [0003]: a data resource is any form of executable code for providing a service for example a data analysis application [type of service], a data transformation application [type of service], a spreadsheet [type of service] or a database [type of service]; par. [0038]: the executable code may be “live” in the sense that it is running on a cloud computing platform; Fig. 4 and associated text, par. [0090]: A file 208 may be selected from the file explorer window 202 to cause executable code 210 contained within the first file 208 [artifact] to be opened within the live code window 203; par. [0091]: the live code window 203 may allow user editing) and
contents of a second artifact associated with the second cloud service and enabling editing of contents of the second artifact (see above, any of multiple files containing code of a cloud service can be selected and displayed in a code window which allows editing).
Ding does not explicitly disclose wherein the first cloud service is associated with a first plugin configured to communicate with a first infrastructure and the second cloud service is associated with a second plugin configured to communicate with a second infrastructure different from the first infrastructure; complementary edits; or displaying, in the UI, a second edit area, the second edit area displaying contents of a second artifact.
However, in an analogous art, Bartz discloses:
wherein the first cloud service is associated with a first plugin configured to communicate with a first infrastructure and the second cloud service is associated with a second plugin configured to communicate with a second infrastructure different from the first infrastructure (e.g., Bartz, par. [0026]: difference extensions [plugins] may be created to access cloud services; Fig. 4 and associated text, par. [0048]: each of the cloud extensions 406-408 [plugins] are adapted to connect to a cloud portal for the corresponding cloud service 401-403 [and see figure, each extension 406, 407, 408 (plugin) is communicating with the portal of a different cloud service 401, 402, 403]; par. [0050]: cloud portals 409-411 provide access to the resources [infrastructure] on each cloud service; par. [0016]: resources like compute power, networking and storage; par. [0047]: cloud services 401-403 may be located in datacenters [also infrastructure] that are remote from each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and cloud services of Ding such that the first cloud service is associated with a first plugin associated with a first infrastructure and the second cloud service is associated with a second plugin associated with a second infrastructure different from the first infrastructure, as taught by Bartz, as Bartz would provide the advantage of a means to access services from multiple clouds via a single user experience. (See Bartz, par. [0021]).
Further, in an analogous art, Liu discloses:
complementary edits (e.g., Liu, par. [0019]: deployment of a modified service affects the functioning of other services that make use of the service. Some changes are benign and are unlikely to cause problems. Other changes [edits] intentionally require changes [edits] to be made to other services, such as changing the parameters used in a function call [these changes (edits) together being complementary, because one triggers the other]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the edits of Ding such that the edits include complementary edits, as taught by Liu, as Liu would provide a means of avoiding problems associated with services making use of a changed service. (See Liu, par. [0019]).
Further still, in an analogous art, Stone discloses:
displaying, in the UI, a second edit area, the second edit area displaying contents of a second artifact (e.g., Stone, Fig. 4 and associated text, col. 9 l. 66 – col. 10 l. 7: files may be opened in the content pane 481 by selecting the file from the project pane 471. The name of each open file is displayed on file tabs 482 [areas], at the top of the content pane. As shown, multiple tabs may provide access to various open files. A user may select a file table to display a particular file in the content pane 481. The content pane provides a full-featured editor that process access to text “(i.e., source code)” in a given project).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display of artifact contents taught by Ding, such that the contents of a second artifact are displayed in a second area, as taught by Stone, as Stone would provide the advantage of a means of providing access to various open artifacts at the same time. (See Stone, col. 10 ll. 1-5).
As to claim 2, Ding/Bartz/Liu/Stone discloses the method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first cloud service is provided by a first cloud service provider and the second cloud service is provided by a second cloud service provider that is different from the first cloud services provider.
However, in an analogous art, Bartz discloses:
wherein the first cloud service is provided by a first cloud service provider and the second cloud service is provided by a second cloud service provider that is different from the first cloud services provider (e.g., Bartz, par. [0047]: cloud services 401-403 may be located in datacenters that are remote from each other and are maintained by different providers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cloud services of Ding, such that they are provided by different cloud service providers, as taught by Bartz, as Bartz would provide the advantage of a means of accessing services from any combination of clouds via a single consistent user experience. (See Bartz, pars. [0021] and [0047]).
As to claim 3, Ding/Bartz/Liu/Stone discloses the method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first cloud service and the second cloud service are provided by the same cloud service provider.
However, in an analogous art, Bartz discloses:
wherein the first cloud service and the second cloud service are provided by the same cloud service provider (e.g., Bartz, par. [0047]: cloud services 401-403 may be located in datacenters that are remote from each other and are maintained by the same or different providers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cloud services of Ding, such that they are provided by the same cloud service provider, as taught by Bartz, as Bartz would provide the advantage of a means of accessing services from any combination of clouds via a single consistent user experience. (See Bartz, pars. [0021] and [0047]).
As to claim 4, Ding/Bartz/Liu/Stone discloses the method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), Ding further discloses:
wherein the code editor is executed by a first system and the UI is displayed on a different system (e.g., Ding, Fig. 3 and associated text, par. [0081]: platform 102 comprises a tool 170; par. [0082]: live code module for the editing of executable code [part of tool 170, see figure]; par. [0067]: the data exchanged between the client device 118 and the data processing platform 102 involve functions available through one or more user interfaces (UIs). The UIs may be associated with a web client (e.g., a browser) on the client device that is in communication with platform 102. For example, system 104 provides user interfaces to a user of the client device (“e.g., by communicating a set of computer-readable instructions to the client device 118 that cause the client device to display the user interfaces)”)
wherein the IDE includes one or more of: a file explorer, a debugger, a compiler, or a source control component (e.g., Ding, Fig. 4 and associated text, par. [0090]: file explorer window 202).
As to claim 13, Ding/Bartz/Liu/Stone discloses the method of claim 1, (see rejection of claim 1 above) but Ding does not explicitly disclose wherein displaying the second edit area comprises: causing the contents of the second artifact to be displayed in the UI; and causing the contents of the first artifact to be removed from being displayed by the UI.
However, in an analogous art, Stone discloses:
wherein displaying the second edit area (see below) comprises:
causing the contents of the second artifact to be displayed in the UI; (e.g., Ding, Fig. 4 and associated text, col. 9 l. 65 – col. 10 l. 5: the name of each open file is displayed on file tabs. A user may select a tab to display particular file in the content pane 481) and
causing the contents of the first artifact to be removed from being displayed by the UI (e.g., Ding, Fig. 4 and associated text, col. 21 ll. 35-36: the file is closed [and see above, only open files include displayed tabs selectable to display the contents of the file]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display of artifact contents taught by Ding, such that the contents of a second artifact are displayed in a second area and removed, as taught by Stone, as Stone would provide the advantage of a means of selectively providing access to various artifacts at the same time. (See Stone, col. 10 ll. 1-5). Removing contents of certain artifacts from the display would also conserve screen space and other resources.
As to claim 14, Ding/Bartz/Liu/Stone discloses the method of claim 1, (see rejection of claim 1 above) Ding further discloses:
wherein the first artifact is a file containing code, a script file, or a configuration information file (e.g., Ding, par. [0090]: executable code 210 contained within the first file 208 [artifact]).
As to claim 15, Ding/Bartz/Liu/Stone discloses the method of claim 1, (see rejection of claim 1 above) Ding further discloses:
wherein the first artifact is an editable file used for enabling, provisioning, or deploying the first cloud service (e.g., Ding, par. [0090]: executable code 210 contained within the first file 208; par. [0082]: executable code representing one or more data resources; par. [0003]: a data resources is any form of executable code for providing a service; par. [0038]: the executable code may be “live” in the sense that it is running on a cloud computing platform).
As to claim 16, it is a system claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 1. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons. Further limitations, disclosed by Ding, include:
a memory storing a set of instructions; (e.g., Ding, par. [0073])
a set of one or more processor configured to execute the set of instructions to perform processing, (e.g., Ding, par. [0073]) comprising: (see rejection of claim 1 above).
As to claim 19, it is a system claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 1. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons. Further limitations, disclosed by Ding, include:
a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions executable by one or more processors for causing the one or more processors to perform operations (e.g., Ding, pars. [0073], [0070]) comprising: (see rejection of claim 1 above).
As to claim 21, Ding/Bartz/Liu/Stone discloses the method according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above) but does not explicitly disclose wherein a cloud service of the plurality of cloud services comprises Infrastructure-as-a-Service (IaaS), Platform-as-a-Service (PaaS), Software-as-a-Service (SaaS), or Database-as-a-Service (DBaaS).
However, in an analogous art, Bartz discloses:
wherein a cloud service of the plurality of cloud services comprises Infrastructure-as-a-Service (IaaS), Platform-as-a-Service (PaaS), Software-as-a-Service (SaaS), or Database-as-a-Service (DBaaS) (e.g., Bartz, par. [0047]: cloud services 401-403 may be located in datacenters that are remote from each other; par. [0019]: the datacenter operator may offer different levels of cloud computing services to tenants. With an Infrastructure-as-a-Service (Iaas) offering, the lower levels of the IT stack are delivered as a service).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cloud services of Ding such that a cloud service of the cloud services comprises an IaaS platform, as taught by Bartz, as Bartz would provide the advantage of a means to free up developers from much of the complexity of provisioning physical machines and configuring network. (See Bartz, par. [0019]).
Claims 5-9, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding (US 2019/0303116) in view of Bartz (US 2015/0373012) in view of Liu (US 2020/0110598) in view of Stone (US 6,804,686) in further view of Wang (US 2020/0218514) (art of record – hereinafter Wang).
As to claim 5, Ding/Bartz/Liu/Stone discloses the method of claim 1, (see rejection of claim 1 above) and further discloses a first set of one or more artifacts associated with the first cloud service (see rejection of claim 1 above) but does not explicitly disclose further comprising: responsive to receiving the first signal, establishing, by the code editor, a connection with the first infrastructure associated with the first cloud service; obtaining, by the code editor, information related to a first set of one or more artifacts associated with the first cloud service, the first set of one or more artifacts including the first artifact; and displaying, by the code editor and on the UI, information identifying the first set of one or more artifacts.
However, in an analogous art, Wang discloses further comprising:
responsive to receiving the first signal, establishing, by the code editor, a connection with the first infrastructure associated with the first cloud service; (e.g., Wang, Fig. 6C and associated text, par. [0130]: text editing pane 624; par. [0135]: database explorer pane 636 includes a database name 636A, a table name 636B and/or a file name 636C; par. [0136]: selecting one of the names listed in database explorer pane 636 may trigger the plugin to request the corresponding resource. In other words, selecting an item from pane 636 can trigger the plugin to submit, to a computational instance [the structure on which it executes being first infrastructure] a request [i.e., connect to it] for the data that corresponds to the selection’s address; par. [0007]: a computational instance disposed within a remote network management platform; par. [0072]: each of these instances may represent one or more devices and/or databases that provide a set of services)
obtaining, by the code editor, information related to a first set of one or more artifacts associated with the first cloud service, the first set of one or more artifacts including the first artifact; (e.g., Wang, par. [0072]: each of these instances may represent one or more devices and/or databases that provide a set of services; par. [0136]: selecting an item from pane 636 can trigger the plugin to submit, to a computational instance a request for the data that corresponds to the selection’s address. When database name 636A is selected, names of the tables and/or files [artifacts] contained therein may be displayed below database name 636A, as shown in FIG. 6C) and
displaying, by the code editor and on the UI, information identifying the first set of one or more artifacts (see immediately above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first signal representing a user selection and artifacts associated with cloud services taught by Ding, by incorporating presenting cloud services for selection that comprise multiple artifacts, establishing, by the code editor, a connection with a first infrastructure associated with the first cloud service responsive to receiving the first signal; obtaining, by the code editor, information related to a first set of one or more artifacts associated with the first cloud service, the first set of one or more artifacts including the first artifact; and displaying, by the code editor and on the UI, information identifying the first set of one or more artifacts, as taught by Wang, as Wang would provide the advantage of a means of selectively editing each of multiple code files stored on the first infrastructure. (See Wang, pars. [0130], [0136]).
As to claim 6, Ding/Bartz/Liu/Stone/Wang discloses the method of claim 5, (see rejection of claim 5 above) but does not explicitly disclose wherein establishing the connection with the first infrastructure associated with the first cloud service comprises using, by the code editor, the first plugin for the first cloud service to connect to the first infrastructure.
However, in an analogous Wang discloses:
wherein establishing the connection with the first infrastructure associated with the first cloud service comprises using, by the code editor, the first plugin for the first cloud service to connect to the first infrastructure (e.g., Wang, Fig. 6 and associated text, par. [0136]: selecting an item from the list of names in the database explorer pane 636 [of a code editor, see above] can trigger the plugin to submit, to a computational instance [comprising cloud infrastructure, see above], a request [i.e., connection] for the data that corresponds to the selection’s address).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first signal representing a user selection and artifacts associated with a first cloud service taught by Ding, to incorporate presenting cloud services for selection that comprise multiple artifacts, establishing, by the code editor, a connection with a first infrastructure associated with the first cloud service using a plugin responsive to receiving the first signal; obtaining, by the code editor, information related to a first set of one or more artifacts associated with the first cloud service, the first set of one or more artifacts including the first artifact; and displaying, by the code editor and on the UI, information identifying the first set of one or more artifacts, as taught by Wang, as Wang would provide the advantage of a means of selectively editing each of multiple code files stored on the first infrastructure. (See Wang, pars. [0130], [0136]). Using a plugin would also provide the advantage of a means of extending the editor with the functionality it provides. (See Wang, par. [0003])
As to claim 7, Ding/Bartz/Liu/Stone/Wang discloses the method of claim 5, (see rejection of claim 5 above) but does not explicitly disclose further comprising: receiving, by the code editor, a third signal indicating selection, via the UI, of the first artifact from the first set of one or more artifacts; and obtaining, by the code editor, the first artifact from the first infrastructure associated with the first cloud service; and wherein displaying the first edit area comprises causing, by the code editor, the contents of the first artifact to be displayed in the first edit area.
However, in an analogous art, Wang discloses further comprising:
receiving, by the code editor, a third signal indicating selection, via the UI, of the first artifact from the first set of one or more artifacts; (e.g., Wang, Fig. 6 and associated text, par. [0130]: the list of names of databases, tables and/or files stored on computational instance 322 may be selectable within the database explorer pane 636 by way of a GUI) and
obtaining, by the code editor, the first artifact from the first infrastructure associated with the first cloud service; (e.g., Wang, par. [0136]: selecting an item from the list of names in pane 636 can trigger the plugin to submit, to a computational instance, a request for the data that corresponds to the selection’s address) and
wherein displaying the first edit area comprises causing, by the code editor, the contents of the first artifact to be displayed in the first edit area (e.g., Wang, Fig. 6B and associated text, par. [0130]: if a file is selected from explorer pane 628, text editing pane 624 may display the contents of the file; par. [0133]: FIG. 6C depicts an example of an IDE similar to that found in FIG. 6B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the selection of artifacts associated with services and display of those artifacts in edit areas taught by Ding, such that the artifact names are obtained from cloud service infrastructure and the artifacts are obtained from the cloud infrastructure and their contents displayed by the code editor in a first edit area in response to their selection, as taught by Wang, as Wang would provide the advantage of a means of navigating and editing each of multiple source code files stored on remote cloud service infrastructure. (See Wang, pars. [0130], [0136]).
As to claim 8, Ding/Bartz/Liu/Stone discloses the method of claim 1, (see rejection of claim 1 above)but does not explicitly disclose further comprising: responsive to receiving the first signal, establishing, by the code editor, a connection with the first infrastructure associated with the first cloud service; obtaining, by the code editor, information related to a first set of one or more artifacts associated with the first cloud service, the first set of one or more artifacts including the first artifact; and displaying, by the code editor and on the UI, information identifying the first set of one or more artifacts; responsive to receiving the second signal, establishing, by the code editor, a connection with the second infrastructure associated with the second cloud service; obtaining, by the code editor, information related to a second set of one or more artifacts associated with the second cloud service, the second set of one or more artifacts including the second artifact; displaying, by the code editor and on the UI, information identifying the second set of one or more artifacts; receiving, by the code editor, a fourth signal indicating selection, via the UI, of the second artifact from the second set of one or more artifacts; obtaining, by the code editor, the second artifact from the second infrastructure associated with the second cloud service; and wherein displaying the second edit area comprises causing, by the code editor, the contents of the second artifact to be displayed in the second edit area.
However, in an analogous art, Wang discloses further comprising:
responsive to receiving the first signal, establishing, by the code editor, a connection with the first infrastructure associated with the first cloud service; (e.g., Wang, Fig. 6C and associated text, par. [0130]: text editing pane 624; par. [0135]: database explorer pane 636 includes a database name 636A, a table name 636B and/or a file name 636C; par. [0136]: selecting one of the names listed in database explorer pane 636 may trigger the plugin to request the corresponding resource. In other words, selecting an item from pane 636 can trigger the plugin to submit, to a computational instance [the structure on which it executes being first infrastructure] a request [i.e., connect to it] for the data that corresponds to the selection’s address; par. [0007]: a computational instance disposed within a remote network management platform; par. [0072]: each of these instances may represent one or more devices and/or databases that provide a set of services)
obtaining, by the code editor, information related to a first set of one or more artifacts associated with the first cloud service, the first set of one or more artifacts including the first artifact; (e.g., Wang, par. [0072]: each of these instances may represent one or more devices and/or databases that provide a set of services; par. [0136]: selecting an item from pane 636 can trigger the plugin to submit, to a computational instance a request for the data that corresponds to the selection’s address. When database name 636A is selected, names of the tables and/or files [artifacts] contained therein may be displayed below database name 636A, as shown in FIG. 6C and
displaying, by the code editor and on the UI, information identifying the first set of one or more artifacts; (see immediately above)
responsive to receiving the second signal, establishing, by the code editor, a connection with the second infrastructure associated with the second cloud service; (e.g., par. [0135]: pane 636 may display a list of names representative of databases [plural, so electing a second data would be a second signal and Wang’s system would perform the same functionality as noted above but with a second database])
obtaining, by the code editor, information related to a second set of one or more artifacts associated with the second cloud service, the second set of one or more artifacts including the second artifact; (see immediately above, the artifacts obtained in response to the selecting a second database would be a second set of artifacts)
displaying, by the code editor and on the UI, information identifying the second set of one or more artifacts; (see immediately above)
receiving, by the code editor, a fourth signal indicating selection, via the UI, of the second artifact from the second set of one or more artifacts; (e.g., Wang, Fig. 6 and associated text, par. [0130]: the list of names of databases, tables and/or files stored on computational instance 322 may be selectable within the database explorer pane 636 by way of a GUI)
obtaining, by the code editor, the second artifact from the second infrastructure associated with the second cloud service; (e.g., Wang, par. [0136]: selecting an item from the list of names in pane 636 can trigger the plugin to submit, to a computational instance, a request for the data that corresponds to the selection’s address) and
wherein displaying the second edit area comprises causing, by the code editor, the contents of the second artifact to be displayed in the second edit area (e.g., Wang, Fig. 6B and associated text, par. [0130]: if a file is selected from explorer pane 628, text editing pane 624 may display the contents of the file; par. [0133]: FIG. 6C depicts an example of an IDE similar to that found in FIG. 6B; par. [0129]: each one of the open tabs 626 [areas] may represent the files presently open. Selecting one of the open tabs 626 via the GUI can display the contents of the corresponding file in the text editing pane 624).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the signals representing a user selection, artifacts associated with cloud services and different area taught by Ding/Bartz/Liu/Stone, to incorporate presenting cloud services for selection that comprise multiple artifacts, establishing, by the code editor, a connection with the infrastructure associated with the selected cloud service responsive to receiving the first signal; obtaining, by the code editor, information related to the set of artifacts associated with the selected cloud service, the set of one or more artifacts; displaying, by the code editor and on the UI, information identifying the set of one or more artifacts of the selected service, receiving a selection via the UI of one or the artifacts of the selected service, obtaining the selected artifact from the infrastructure of the selected service and displaying contents of the selected artifact in the second area, as taught by Wang, as Wang would provide the advantage of a means of selectively editing each code file of different services stored on the different infrastructure. (See Wang, pars. [0130], [0136] and [0072]).
As to claim 9, Ding/Bartz/Liu/Stone discloses the method of claim 1, (see rejection of claim 1 above) but does not explicitly disclose further comprising: receiving, via the first edit area, one or more edits to the first artifact to generate edited contents for the first artifact; receiving, by the code editor, a signal to save the edited contents of the first artifact; and responsive to receiving the signal to save the edited contents of the first artifact, causing, by the code editor, the edited contents of the first artifact to be stored in a repository associated with the first cloud service.
However, in an analogous art, Wang discloses further comprising:
receiving, via the first edit area, one or more edits to the first artifact to generate edited contents for the first artifact; (e.g., Wang, par. [0149]: editor 802 may receive the file at step 829 and store the file as a local, editable file. Step 830 may include displaying the contents of the local editable file in a text editing pane “(e.g., text editing pane 624)”. The contents of the matching file may be modified by way of the GUI of the source code editor 802)
receiving, by the code editor, a signal to save the edited contents of the first artifact; (e.g., Wang, par. [0150]: at step 834, editor 802 may receive a command to save the modification of the local, editable file to the database 808) and
responsive to receiving the signal to save the edited contents of the first artifact, causing, by the code editor, the edited contents of the first artifact to be stored in a repository associated with the first cloud service (e.g., Wang, par. [0072]: computational instances 322, 324, 326 and 328. Each of these instances may represent one or more devices and/or databases that provide a set of services; Fig. 8B and associated text, par. [0150]: after receiving such command, the source code editor may pass the local, editable file to the plugin for transmittal to the computational instance 322. The plugin receives the file. The file as modified is transmitted back to the server device 806, at step 838. Finally, server device 806 transmits the file as modified to database 808 and it is stored therein at step 840).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the editing of artifacts of Ding/Bartz/Liu/Stone by incorporating receiving, via the first edit area, one or more edits to the first artifact to generate edited contents for the first artifact; receiving, by the code editor, a signal to save the edited contents of the first artifact; and responsive to receiving the signal to save the edited contents of the first artifact, causing, by the code editor, the edited contents of the first artifact to be stored in a repository associated with the first cloud service, as taught by Wang, as Wang would provide the advantage of a means of deploying the modified file. (See Wang, par. [0001]). Wang would also provide the advantage of a means of ensuring the modified code will be run as suggested by Ding. (See Ding, par. [0105]).
As to claim 17, it is a system claim whose limitations are a subset of those of claim 8. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons.
As to claim 18, it is a system claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 7. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons.
As to claim 20, it is a system claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 5, 7 and 9. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding (US 2019/0303116) in view of Bartz (US 2015/0373012) in view of Liu (US 2020/010598) in view of Stone (US 6,804,686) in further view of Hammontree et al. (US 2013/0007671) (art of record – hereinafter Hammontree).
As to claim 12, Ding/Bartz/Liu/Stone discloses the method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above) and further teaches the second edit area and the first edit area (see rejection of claim 1 above) but does not explicitly disclose wherein displaying the second edit area comprises displaying the second edit area and the first edit area simultaneously.
However, in an analogous art, Hammontree discloses:
wherein displaying the second area comprises displaying the second area and the first area simultaneously (e.g., Hammontree, Fig. 2e and associated text, par. [0048]: FIG. 2e is an example of a user interface 234 that includes multiple instances of one more information hierarchies [and see figure, that user interface includes two code tabs displayed simultaneously]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second edit areas of Ding/Bartz/Liu/Stone such that they are displayed simultaneously, as taught by Hammontree, as Hammontree would provide the advantages of a means to view the code of each file simultaneously. (See Hammontree, par. [0048]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TODD AGUILERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2192