DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §112
Claims 1-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the solar thermal unit" in line 9 is same or different than a thermal unit of line 4. For examination purposes, it is considered as same and is being considered as -- the thermal unit --.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a release operational mode" in lines 5-6 is same or different than operational mode of line 25. For examination purposes, it is considered as same and is being considered as -- the release operational mode --.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "a loading mode" in lines 5-6 is same or different than loading operational mode of line 2-3 of claim 1. For examination purposes, it is considered as same and is being considered as -- the loading operational mode --.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "a release mode" in line 3 is same or different than operational mode of line 25 of claim 1. For examination purposes, it is considered as same and is being considered as -- the release operational mode --.
Claim 18 recites the limitation of "a loading operational mode" in line 4 is same or different than loading operational mode of line 2-3 of claim 1. For examination purposes, it is considered as same and is being considered as -- the loading operational mode --. Claim 20 recites the limitation of "generally" in line 4 is indefinite and indefinite as to the metes and bounds is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 1, 4-5 and 13-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friesen et al. (US 2020/0332498) in view of Ball (US2021/0121821A1).
In regards to claim 1, Friesen discloses a system (a water generation system 100; Figs. 1-3 and 6-8) comprising: a hygroscopic material (a porous hygroscopic material 120) configured to capture water vapor from a process gas (ambient air) during a loading operational mode (paragraphs 25-26); a thermal unit (thermal desiccant unit 102) configured to heat the hygroscopic material (120) and transfer water vapor released therefrom to a regeneration fluid (a working or regeneration fluid) flowing in a regeneration flow path (a working gas flow path indicated by solid bold arrows) during a release operational mode (a release time or release cycle; par. 27); a recuperative heat exchange assembly (an enthalpy exchange unit 140) comprising: a recuperator inlet (114) configured to receive a first regeneration fluid flow (a first working flow path segment) of the regeneration flow path output from the solar thermal unit (102); a recuperator outlet (112) configured to output a second regeneration fluid flow (a second working flow path segment 142) of the regeneration flow path into the solar thermal unit (102); and, a cooling fluid inlet (inlet at an ambient air pathway 136) configured to direct a cooling fluid (an ambient air) in a cooling flow path (an ambient air pathway 136); wherein the recuperative heat exchange assembly (140) is configured to increase the relative humidity in the first regeneration fluid flow to drive condensation of water vapor therefrom, thereby producing liquid water during a release operational mode (refer to pars. 35-36 and 40).
Friesen fails to explicitly teach the recuperative heat exchange assembly comprising a plurality of longitudinally extending heat exchange plates at least partially defining a plurality of first regeneration flow layers alternating between a plurality of cooling flow layers, wherein the first regeneration flow layers direct the first regeneration fluid flow in a direction at least partially counter to the flow direction of the second regeneration fluid flow in an adjacent cooling flow layer; and, the cooling fluid inlet at least partially defined by at least one of the pluralities of longitudinally extending heat exchange plates, wherein the cooling flow path directs the cooling fluid in a direction at least partially counter to the flow direction of the first regeneration fluid flow in an adjacent first regeneration fluid layer.
Ball teaches a water recovery system using a recuperative heat exchanger (Fig. 3C) comprising a plurality of longitudinally extending heat exchange plates (corresponding to a plurality of plate stacks 74) at least partially defining a plurality of first regeneration flow layers alternating between a plurality of cooling flow layers (paragraph 51, Examiner noting that one or more dampers 26 and 135 may be selectively activated, allowing for a setup in which alternating air flow layers in 28 are open to cooler ambient air which would thereby provide alternating hot-side working air and cold-side incoming ambient air layers), wherein the first regeneration flow layers direct the first regeneration fluid flow in a direction at least partially counter to the flow direction of the second regeneration fluid flow in an adjacent cooling flow layer; and, the cooling fluid inlet at least partially defined by at least one of the pluralities of longitudinally extending heat exchange plates, wherein the cooling flow path directs the cooling fluid in a direction at least partially counter to the flow direction of the first regeneration fluid flow in an adjacent first regeneration fluid layer (Fig. 3C, owing to the bidirectionality of the airflows throughout the layers as depicted at 140, Examiner notes that a working gas in one particular hot-side layer could flow counter to incoming ambient air on another layer).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize ambient air in a heat exchange as taught by Ball into the apparatus of Friesen as it would make the unloading mode more efficient.
In regards to claim 4, Friesen meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Friesen teaches further comprising at least one of: a fan assembly (Fans 110 and 114) configured to adjust a flow rate of the regeneration fluid in the regeneration flow path (the working gas flow path indicated by solid bold arrows) during the release mode (refer to par. 43); a fan assembly (ambient air pathway 136 with the aid of a fan or blower; par. 34) configured to adjust a flow rate of the cooling fluid in the cooling fluid path (136) during the release mode; or a combination thereof (refer to par. 38).
In regards to claim 5, Friesen meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Friesen teaches comprising a return plenum (corresponding to path defined by separators 609a and 609b) for collecting liquid water condensed from the regeneration fluid (refer to par. 6; par. 65), and to direct the regeneration fluid into the second regeneration fluid flow (as can be seen in Fig. 6).
In regards to claim 13, Friesen meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Friesen teaches wherein the recuperative heat exchange assembly is configured as a monolithic structure (refer to par. 28).
In regards to claim 14, Friesen meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Friesen teaches wherein the recuperative heat exchange assembly is configured to maintain a regeneration gas flux in the regeneration flow path greater than 30 CFM (refer to par. 61), but fails to explicitly teach a pressure drop less than 0.5 inches water.
Friesen does however teach the enthalpy exchange unit 140 can transfer water vapor from a working fluid flow to drops lower water vapor pressure (refer to par. 35). Therefore, the recuperative heat exchange assembly to maintain a regeneration gas within certain pressure drop is a result-effective variables, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is enabling recovery of the sensible and/or latent energy for efficient operation of system (par. 35). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. maintaining a regeneration gas within certain pressure drop, were disclosed in the prior art by Friesen, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range or value by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify Friesen, by setting the recuperative heat exchange assembly to maintain a regeneration gas flux in the regeneration flow path greater than 30 CFM and a pressure drop less than 0.5 inches water.
In regards to claim 15, Friesen meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Friesen teaches wherein a temperature difference between the regeneration fluid input (intake of working or regeneration fluid) to the recuperative heat exchanger (140) and the regeneration fluid output (output of working or regeneration fluid) from the recuperative heat exchanger (140), (refer to pars. 35, 37), but fails to explicitly teach the temperature difference being less than 40 degrees Celsius.
Friesen does however teach a temperature difference between the regeneration fluid input to the recuperative heat exchanger and the regeneration fluid output from the recuperative heat exchanger (refer to pars. 35, 37). Therefore, the temperature difference between the regeneration fluid input to the recuperative heat exchanger and the regeneration fluid output from the recuperative heat exchanger is a result-effective variables, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is enabling recovery of the sensible and/or latent energy for efficient operation of system (par. 35). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. there is a temperature difference between the regeneration fluid input to the recuperative heat exchanger and the regeneration fluid output from the recuperative heat exchanger, were disclosed in the prior art by Friesen, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range or value by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify Friesen, by setting the a temperature difference between the regeneration fluid input to the recuperative heat exchanger and the regeneration fluid output from the recuperative heat exchanger to be less than 40 degrees Celsius.
In regards to claim 16, Friesen meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Friesen teaches further comprising a controller (a controller 160) configured to adjust the amount of electrical energy directed to the cooling fan assembly (110/116) or the regeneration fluid fan based on: an environmental condition (ambient temperature), a system power state, a system water content, a system temperature, or combinations thereof (refer to par. 43).
In regards to claim 17, Friesen meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Friesen teaches wherein the controller operates the system between a plurality of operational modes including: a loading mode (load cycle) wherein the hygroscopic material (120) captures water vapor from the process gas upon flow in a process flow path; a release mode (release cycle) wherein the regeneration fluid accumulates heat and water vapor upon flow in the regeneration flow path, and, wherein a relative humidity in the regeneration fluid increases upon flow through the recuperative heat exchange assembly (refer to pars. 35-36 and 40); and, a hibernation or power saving mode wherein electrical power is not being consumed by the system (refer to par. 30).
In regards to claim 18, Friesen meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Friesen teaches wherein the thermal unit (102) is a solar thermal (par. 31) comprising the hygroscopic material (120) arranged in one or more porous hygroscopic layers (refer to par. 28), wherein the one or more porous hygroscopic layers are configured to capture water vapor from the process gas flowing therethrough during a loading operational mode (load cycle), (refer to par. 26); and wherein the regeneration fluid accumulates heat and water vapor upon flowing through the one or more porous hygroscopic layers during the release operational mode (refer to pars. 26-27).
In regards to claim 19, Friesen meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Friesen teaches wherein the system (100) further comprises a solar unit (desiccant solar thermal unit; par. 18) configured to convert solar radiation impinging thereon into heat and electrical energy (refer to pars. 30 and 55); and wherein the electrical energy produced by the solar unit is used to power at least one fan (110/116) to flow the regeneration fluid in the regeneration fluid path, the cooling fluid in the cooling flow path (136), or a combination thereof (refer to pars. 30 and 55).
In regards to claim 20, Friesen discloses a method for generating water comprising: directing a regeneration fluid (a working or regeneration fluid) in a closed-loop regeneration flow path (refer to par. 27) through a recuperative heat exchanger (an enthalpy exchange unit 140); and, directing a second regeneration fluid flow (142);
directing a cooling fluid (ambient air) through at least one pass in a cooling flow path (136). Friesen fails to explicitly teach the recuperative heat exchanger including: directing a first regeneration fluid flow through a hot-side layer located on a first side of a heat exchange plate; and, directing a second regeneration fluid flow through a cooling layer located on an opposing side of the heat exchange plate, the second regeneration fluid flow direction being generally counter to the first regeneration fluid flow direction; directing a cooling fluid through at least one pass in a cooling flow path located on the opposing side of the heat exchange plate; transferring heat through the heat exchange plate between the first regeneration fluid flow in the hot-side layer of the regeneration flow path and the second regeneration fluid flow in the cooling layer of the regeneration flow path; transferring heat through the heat exchange plate between the first regeneration fluid flow in the hot-side layer of the regeneration flow path and the cooling fluid in the at least one cooling layer; and, condensing water vapor from the first regeneration fluid flow.
Ball teaches a water recovery system using a recuperative heat exchanger (Fig. 3C) including: directing a first regeneration fluid flow through a hot-side layer located on a first side of a heat exchange plate (corresponding to plate stacks 74); and, directing a second regeneration fluid flow through a cooling layer located on an opposing side of the heat exchange plate (74), the second regeneration fluid flow direction being generally counter to the first regeneration fluid flow direction (paragraph 51, Examiner noting that one or more dampers 26 and 135 may be selectively activated, allowing for a setup in which alternating air flow layers in 28 are open to cooler ambient air which would thereby provide alternating hot-side working air and cold-side incoming ambient air layers), directing a cooling fluid through at least one pass in a cooling flow path located on the opposing side of the heat exchange plate (74); transferring heat through the heat exchange plate (74) between the first regeneration fluid flow in the hot-side layer of the regeneration flow path and the second regeneration fluid flow in the cooling layer of the regeneration flow path; transferring heat through the heat exchange plate between the first regeneration fluid flow in the hot-side layer of the regeneration flow path and the cooling fluid in the at least one cooling layer; and, condensing water vapor from the first regeneration fluid flow (Fig. 3C, owing to the bidirectionality of the airflows throughout the layers as depicted at 140, Examiner notes that a working gas in one particular hot-side layer could flow counter to incoming ambient air on another layer).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize ambient air in a heat exchange as taught by Ball into the apparatus of Friesen as it would make the unloading mode more efficient.
In regards to claim 21, Friesen meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 20. Further, Friesen teaches further comprising: flowing a process gas (ambient air) through a hygroscopic material (a porous hygroscopic material 120) to capture water vapor from the process gas during a loading operational mode (load cycle), (paragraphs 25-26); transitioning from the loading operational mode to a release operational mode (release cycle); flowing the regeneration fluid (air), during the release operational mode, through the hygroscopic material (120) to accumulate heat and water vapor therefrom (paragraphs 25-26).
Claims 2 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friesen et al. (US 2020/0332498 in view of Ball (US2021/0121821A1), further in view of Bogart et al. (US 2007/0151276).
In regards to claim 2, Friesen meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein further comprising a plurality of spacers located between at least two of the plurality of longitudinally extending heat exchange plates to set a spaced relation therebetween, and to define intervening passages between alternate flow layers.
Bogart teaches an integral plate-type gas dryer construction (Figs. 4-5) wherein further comprising a plurality of spacers (partition 150 in separator 100; Figs. 4-6) located between at least two of the plurality of longitudinally extending heat exchange plates (50) to set a spaced relation therebetween (as can be seen in Fig. 5 of Bogart), and to define intervening passages (separate flow passages; par. 46) between alternate flow layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Friesen such that wherein further comprising a plurality of spacers located between at least two of the plurality of longitudinally extending heat exchange plates to set a spaced relation therebetween, and to define intervening passages between alternate flow layers as taught by Bogart, in order to increases the system efficiency by reducing the amount of cooling required to be accomplished in the reduced temperature heat exchanger (refer to par. 4 of Bogart).
In regards to claim 6, Friesen meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein each heat exchange plate comprises one or more spacers supported on a surface of the heat exchange plate defining a portion of the regeneration flow path, the cooling flow path, or a combination thereof.
Bogart teaches an integral plate-type gas dryer construction (Figs. 4-6) wherein each heat exchange plate (50) comprises one or more spacers (130) supported on a surface of the heat exchange plate (50) defining a portion of the regeneration flow path (gas flow 135), the cooling flow path, or a combination thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Friesen such that wherein each heat exchange plate comprises one or more spacers supported on a surface of the heat exchange plate defining a portion of the regeneration flow path, the cooling flow path, or a combination thereof as taught by Bogart, in order to increases the system efficiency by reducing the amount of cooling required to be accomplished in the reduced temperature heat exchanger (refer to par. 4 of Bogart).
In regards to claim 7, Friesen meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein one or more of the heat exchange plates comprises an opening proximate a first edge of the plate and an opening proximate a second edge of the plate opposite from the first edge of the plate.
Bogart teaches an integral plate-type gas dryer construction (Figs. 4-6) wherein one or more of the heat exchange plates (50) comprises an opening (port 3; Fig. 5) proximate (near) a first edge of the plate and an opening (port 3; Fig. 5) proximate a second edge of the plate opposite from the first edge of the plate (as can be seen in Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Friesen such that one or more of the heat exchange plates comprises an opening proximate a first edge of the plate and an opening proximate a second edge of the plate opposite from the first edge of the plate as taught by Bogart, in order to increases the system efficiency by reducing the amount of cooling required to be accomplished in the reduced temperature heat exchanger (refer to par. 4 of Bogart).
In regards to claim 8, Friesen meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein one or more of the heat exchange plates comprises a single opening proximate one edge of the plate and at least two openings at an opposing edge of the plate.
Bogart teaches an integral plate-type gas dryer construction (Figs. 4-6) wherein one or more of the heat exchange plates (50) comprises a single opening (port 5; Fig. 6) proximate (near) one edge of the plate and at least two openings (ports 2 and 6; Fig. 6) at an opposing edge of the plate (as can be seen in Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Friesen such that wherein one or more of the heat exchange plates comprises a single opening proximate one edge of the plate and at least two openings at an opposing edge of the plate as taught by Bogart, in order to increases the system efficiency by reducing the amount of cooling required to be accomplished in the reduced temperature heat exchanger (refer to par. 4 of Bogart).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friesen et al. (US 2020/0332498 in view of Ball (US 2021/0121821 A1), further in view of FRIESEN et al. (US 2017/0294876).
In regards to claim 3, Friesen meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach further comprising a plenum comprising the recuperator inlet configured to input the first regeneration fluid flow and the recuperator outlet configured to output the second regeneration fluid flow; wherein the plenum comprises a flow divider separating the first regeneration fluid flow and the second regeneration fluid flow.
FRIESEN teaches a solar thermal unit (1000; Fig. 12) wherein further comprising a plenum (plenum 1026) comprising the recuperator inlet (inlet 1030) configured to input the first regeneration fluid flow (heat absorbing fluid 1034) and the recuperator outlet (an outlet 1032) configured to output the second regeneration fluid flow (returning portion of heat absorbing fluid 1034); wherein the plenum comprises a flow divider separating the first regeneration fluid flow and the second regeneration fluid flow (refer to par. 64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Friesen such that further comprising a plenum comprising the recuperator inlet configured to input the first regeneration fluid flow and the recuperator outlet configured to output the second regeneration fluid flow; wherein the plenum comprises a flow divider separating the first regeneration fluid flow and the second regeneration fluid flow as taught by FRIESEN, in order to providing even distribution between the flow paths can reduce or eliminate hot spots that can occur on the first glazing layer, which can reduce heat loss through the first glazing layer and improve efficiency (refer to par. 71 of FRIESEN).
Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friesen et al. (US 2020/0332498) in view of John et al. (CN 101454939, see attached translation).
In regards to claim 22, Friesen discloses a system for generating water from air comprising: a hygroscopic material (a porous hygroscopic material 120) configured to capture water vapor from air flowing in a process flow path (gas flow path) during a loading operational mode (load cycle), (paragraphs 25-26); a thermal unit (thermal desiccant unit 102) configured to heat the hygroscopic material (120) and transfer water vapor released therefrom to a regeneration fluid (a working or regeneration fluid) flowing in a regeneration flow path (a working gas flow path indicated by solid bold arrows) during a release operational mode (a release time or release cycle; par. 27); a heat exchange assembly (an enthalpy exchange unit 140); a valve assembly comprising: a housing (104) defining one or more flow channels (channels in working gas flow path and gas flow path) having a flow channel axis, but fails to explicitly teach a slide plate movable transversely to the flow channel axis between a first position and a second position; an actuator configured to reciprocate the slide plate between the first position and the second position; wherein ambient air flowing in the process flow path is allowed to pass through the one or more flow channels in the first position, and the flow channel in the second position.
John teaches a fluid regulation system wherein a slide plate (moving plate 66) movable transversely to the flow channel axis (sliding axis; par. 83) between a first position (open position; par. 89) and a second position (closed position), (refer to par. 100); an actuator (actuator 80) configured to reciprocate the slide plate (66) between the first position and the second position (par. 80; Fig. 11); wherein ambient air flowing in the process flow path is allowed to pass through the one or more flow channels in the first position (Fig. 10B), and the flow channel in the second position (Fig. 10A; par. 109).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Friesen such that a slide plate movable transversely to the flow channel axis between a first position and a second position; an actuator configured to reciprocate the slide plate between the first position and the second position; wherein ambient air flowing in the process flow path is allowed to pass through the one or more flow channels in the first position, and the flow channel in the second position as taught by John, in order to regulate the rate at which fluid is introduced into the housing (refer to par. 172 of John).
In regards to claim 23, Friesen meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 22. Further, Friesen teaches wherein the housing (104/304) comprises an annular surface defining the flow channel (as can be seen in Fig. 3).
In regards to claim 24, Friesen meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 22. Further, John teaches further comprising one or more gaskets (38) positioned between the annular surface (annular body 72) of the housing (chassis 70) and the slide plate (moving plate 66).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friesen et al. (US 2020/0332498) in view of John et al. (CN 101454939, see attached translation), further in view of Ball (US2021/0121821A1).
In regards to claim 25, Friesen meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 22. Further, Friesen teaches wherein the first regeneration flow layers (working flow path segments 144) direct the regeneration fluid flow in a direction at least partially counter to the flow direction of the plurality of cooling flow layers (an ambient air pathways 136); wherein the heat exchange assembly (140) is configured to increase the relative humidity in the generation fluid to drive condensation of water vapor therefrom, thereby producing liquid water during a release operational mode (release cycle), (refer to pars. 35-36 and 40).
Friesen fails to explicitly teaches the heat exchange assembly comprises: a plurality of longitudinally extending heat exchange plates at least partially defining a plurality of first regeneration flow layers alternating between a plurality of cooling flow layers.
Ball teaches a water recovery system using a recuperative heat exchanger (Fig. 3C) comprises: a plurality of longitudinally extending heat exchange plates at least partially defining a plurality of first regeneration flow layers alternating between a plurality of cooling flow layers (paragraph 51, Examiner noting that one or more dampers 26 and 135 may be selectively activated, allowing for a setup in which alternating air flow layers in 28 are open to cooler ambient air which would thereby provide alternating hot-side working air and cold-side incoming ambient air layers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Friesen such that the heat exchange assembly comprises: a plurality of longitudinally extending heat exchange plates at least partially defining a plurality of first regeneration flow layers alternating between a plurality of cooling flow layers as taught by Ball, in order to make the unloading mode more efficient (refer to par. 71 of Ball).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form and to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MARTHA TADESSE whose telephone number is (571)272-0590. The examiner can normally be reached on 7:30am-5:00pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Frantz Jules can be reached on 571-272-6681. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR)system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/M.T/
Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763