DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-8, 11-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Murashita (US 2010/0172585 A1, hereinafter referenced “Mura”).
In regards to claim 1. Mura discloses a device comprising: processing circuitry (Mura, para [0051]) configured to:
-select a first pixel from a first region of a first frame of image data (Mura, para [0042]; Reference discloses more specifically, the coincidence degree calculation unit 11 obtains, from the images (i.e. frames), pixels at the corresponding positions in areas near the boundary for overlapping plural images (i.e. selected first pixel from first region)),
-select a second pixel from a second region of a second frame of image data, the second region in the second frame corresponding to the first region in the first frame (Mura, para [0042]; Reference discloses more specifically, the coincidence degree calculation unit 11 obtains, from the images (i.e. first, second, etc. frames), pixels at the corresponding positions in areas near the boundary for overlapping plural images (i.e. selected first, second, etc. pixel from boundary region where images overlap thus corresponding regions)),
-and generate a composite frame of image data including a pixel pattern that includes the first pixel from the first region and the second pixel from the second region (Mura, para [0041] and [0067]; Reference at [0041] discloses an image synthesizing apparatus 10 according to the present invention includes….a top-and-bottom determination unit 12 (an overlapping pattern determination unit) for determining a pattern of overlapping plural images, and an overlapping unit 13 for overlapping plural images on the basis of the determined pattern) (i.e. pixel pattern from first and second images or frame regions). Para [0067] discloses the top-and-bottom determination unit 150 determines which of the images P1 and P2 should appear in the overlapped images. The overlapping unit 160 overlaps images P1 and P2 in accordance with the determination made by the top-and-bottom determination unit 150, and synthesizes the images (i.e. generate a composite frame of image data including a pixel pattern that includes the first pixel from the first region and the second pixel from the second region). The image obtained by the synthesizing is output),
-the pixel pattern being displayed in a composite region in the composite frame corresponding to the first region and the second region (Mura, para [0041] and [0067]; Reference at [0041] discloses an image synthesizing apparatus 10 according to the present invention includes….a top-and-bottom determination unit 12 (an overlapping pattern determination unit) for determining a pattern of overlapping plural images, and an overlapping unit 13 for overlapping plural images on the basis of the determined pattern) (i.e. pixel pattern from first and second images or frame regions). Para [0067] discloses the top-and-bottom determination unit 150 determines which of the images P1 and P2 should appear in the overlapped images. The overlapping unit 160 overlaps images P1 and P2 in accordance with the determination made by the top-and-bottom determination unit 150, and synthesizes the images (i.e. pixel pattern being displayed in a composite region in the composite frame corresponding to the first region and the second region). The image obtained by the synthesizing is output).
In regards to claim 4. Mura discloses the device of Claim 1.
Mura further discloses
-wherein the first pixel or the second pixel is repeated in the pixel pattern (Mura, para [0047]; Reference discloses the top-and-bottom determination unit 12 determines, as an overlapping pattern, a pattern that makes areas near boundaries with high coincidence degrees appear on the overlapped image (an image obtained by overlapping plural images). In other words, the top-and-bottom determination unit 12 determines, on the basis of the coincidence degree, an overlapping pattern so that one of the plural images is used mainly in the area in which plural images are overlapped (i.e. using more of one image that the other for overlap interpreted as wherein the first pixel or the second pixel is repeated in the pixel pattern)).
In regards to claim 5. Mura discloses the device of Claim 1.
Mura further discloses
-wherein a dimension of the composite region is larger than a corresponding dimension of the first region and/or the second region (Mura, para [0121] and [0122]; Reference at [0121] discloses it is also possible to employ a configuration in which when the overlapping unit 160 superposes and synthesizes images P1 and P2, the synthesizing ratio of superposing the images is varied depending upon the distance between the boundary of the image and the pixel. Para [0122] discloses it is also possible to gradually decrease the synthesizing ratio of image P1 from one to zero in the area between the image-P2-side boundary and the synthesizing-area boundary, and to gradually increase the synthesizing ratio of image P2 from zero to one. Changes in synthesizing ratio for images P1 and P2 interpreted as providing dimensions where composite region can be larger or smaller than corresponding first or second regions).
In regards to claim 6. Mura discloses the device of Claim 1.
Mura further discloses
-wherein a location of the first region in the first frame corresponds to a location of the second region in the second frame (Mura, para [0042]; Reference discloses more specifically, the coincidence degree calculation unit 11 obtains, from the images (i.e. first, second, etc. frames), pixels at the corresponding positions in areas near the boundary for overlapping plural images (i.e. selected first, second, etc. pixels from boundary region where images overlap thus corresponding regions or locations)).
In regards to claim 7. Mura discloses the device of Claim 6.
Mura further discloses
-wherein a location of the composite region in the composite frame corresponds to the location of the first frame and the location of the second frame (Mura, Fig. 10A; Reference illustrates the overlapped images (i.e. frames) and the composite region which corresponds to both images).
In regards to claim 8. Mura discloses a method of creating a composite frame of image data (Mura, Abstract), comprising:
-selecting a first pixel from a first region of a first frame of image data (Mura, para [0042]; Reference discloses more specifically, the coincidence degree calculation unit 11 obtains, from the images (i.e. frames), pixels at the corresponding positions in areas near the boundary for overlapping plural images (i.e. selected first pixel from first region)),
-selecting a second pixel from a second region of a second frame of image data, the second region in the second frame corresponding to the first region in the first frame (Mura, para [0042]; Reference discloses more specifically, the coincidence degree calculation unit 11 obtains, from the images (i.e. first, second, etc. frames), pixels at the corresponding positions in areas near the boundary for overlapping plural images (i.e. selected first, second, etc. pixel from boundary region where images overlap thus corresponding regions)),
-and generating a composite frame of image data including a pixel pattern that includes the first pixel from the first region and the second pixel from the second region (Mura, para [0041] and [0067]; Reference at [0041] discloses an image synthesizing apparatus 10 according to the present invention includes….a top-and-bottom determination unit 12 (an overlapping pattern determination unit) for determining a pattern of overlapping plural images, and an overlapping unit 13 for overlapping plural images on the basis of the determined pattern) (i.e. pixel pattern from first and second images or frame regions). Para [0067] discloses the top-and-bottom determination unit 150 determines which of the images P1 and P2 should appear in the overlapped images. The overlapping unit 160 overlaps images P1 and P2 in accordance with the determination made by the top-and-bottom determination unit 150, and synthesizes the images (i.e. generate a composite frame of image data including a pixel pattern that includes the first pixel from the first region and the second pixel from the second region). The image obtained by the synthesizing is output),
-the pixel pattern being displayed in a composite region in the composite frame corresponding to the first region and the second region (Mura, para [0041] and [0067]; Reference at [0041] discloses an image synthesizing apparatus 10 according to the present invention includes….a top-and-bottom determination unit 12 (an overlapping pattern determination unit) for determining a pattern of overlapping plural images, and an overlapping unit 13 for overlapping plural images on the basis of the determined pattern) (i.e. pixel pattern from first and second images or frame regions). Para [0067] discloses the top-and-bottom determination unit 150 determines which of the images P1 and P2 should appear in the overlapped images. The overlapping unit 160 overlaps images P1 and P2 in accordance with the determination made by the top-and-bottom determination unit 150, and synthesizes the images (i.e. pixel pattern being displayed in a composite region in the composite frame corresponding to the first region and the second region). The image obtained by the synthesizing is output).
In regards to claim 11. Mura discloses the method of Claim 8.
Mura further discloses
-wherein the first pixel or the second pixel is repeated in the pixel pattern (Mura, para [0047]; Reference discloses the top-and-bottom determination unit 12 determines, as an overlapping pattern, a pattern that makes areas near boundaries with high coincidence degrees appear on the overlapped image (an image obtained by overlapping plural images). In other words, the top-and-bottom determination unit 12 determines, on the basis of the coincidence degree, an overlapping pattern so that one of the plural images is used mainly in the area in which plural images are overlapped (i.e. using more of one image that the other for overlap interpreted as wherein the first pixel or the second pixel is repeated in the pixel pattern)).
In regards to claim 12. Mura discloses the method of Claim 8.
Mura further discloses
-wherein a dimension of the composite region is larger than a corresponding dimension of the first region and/or the second region (Mura, para [0121] and [0122]; Reference at [0121] discloses it is also possible to employ a configuration in which when the overlapping unit 160 superposes and synthesizes images P1 and P2, the synthesizing ratio of superposing the images is varied depending upon the distance between the boundary of the image and the pixel. Para [0122] discloses it is also possible to gradually decrease the synthesizing ratio of image P1 from one to zero in the area between the image-P2-side boundary and the synthesizing-area boundary, and to gradually increase the synthesizing ratio of image P2 from zero to one. Changes in synthesizing ratio for images P1 and P2 interpreted as providing dimensions where composite region can be larger or smaller than corresponding first or second regions).
In regards to claim 13. Mura discloses the method of Claim 8.
Mura further discloses
-wherein a location of the first region in the first frame corresponds to a location of the second region in the second frame (Mura, para [0042]; Reference discloses more specifically, the coincidence degree calculation unit 11 obtains, from the images (i.e. first, second, etc. frames), pixels at the corresponding positions in areas near the boundary for overlapping plural images (i.e. selected first, second, etc. pixels from boundary region where images overlap thus corresponding regions or locations)).
In regards to claim 14. Mura discloses the method of Claim 13.
Mura further discloses
-wherein a location of the composite region in the composite frame corresponds to the location of the first region and the location of the second region (Mura, Fig. 10A; Reference illustrates the overlapped images (i.e. frames) and the composite region which corresponds to both images).
In regards to claim 15. Mura discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for storing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to perform a method (Mura, para [0167]), the method comprising:
-selecting a first pixel from a first region of a first frame of image data (Mura, para [0042]; Reference discloses more specifically, the coincidence degree calculation unit 11 obtains, from the images (i.e. frames), pixels at the corresponding positions in areas near the boundary for overlapping plural images (i.e. selected first pixel from first region)),
-selecting a second pixel from a second region of a second frame of image data, the second region in the second frame corresponding to the first region in the first frame (Mura, para [0042]; Reference discloses more specifically, the coincidence degree calculation unit 11 obtains, from the images (i.e. first, second, etc. frames), pixels at the corresponding positions in areas near the boundary for overlapping plural images (i.e. selected first, second, etc. pixel from boundary region where images overlap thus corresponding regions)),
-and generating a composite frame of image data including a pixel pattern that includes the first pixel from the first region and the second pixel from the second region (Mura, para [0041] and [0067]; Reference at [0041] discloses an image synthesizing apparatus 10 according to the present invention includes….a top-and-bottom determination unit 12 (an overlapping pattern determination unit) for determining a pattern of overlapping plural images, and an overlapping unit 13 for overlapping plural images on the basis of the determined pattern) (i.e. pixel pattern from first and second images or frame regions). Para [0067] discloses the top-and-bottom determination unit 150 determines which of the images P1 and P2 should appear in the overlapped images. The overlapping unit 160 overlaps images P1 and P2 in accordance with the determination made by the top-and-bottom determination unit 150, and synthesizes the images (i.e. generate a composite frame of image data including a pixel pattern that includes the first pixel from the first region and the second pixel from the second region). The image obtained by the synthesizing is output),
-the pixel pattern being displayed in a composite region in the composite frame corresponding to the first region and the second region (Mura, para [0041] and [0067]; Reference at [0041] discloses an image synthesizing apparatus 10 according to the present invention includes….a top-and-bottom determination unit 12 (an overlapping pattern determination unit) for determining a pattern of overlapping plural images, and an overlapping unit 13 for overlapping plural images on the basis of the determined pattern) (i.e. pixel pattern from first and second images or frame regions). Para [0067] discloses the top-and-bottom determination unit 150 determines which of the images P1 and P2 should appear in the overlapped images. The overlapping unit 160 overlaps images P1 and P2 in accordance with the determination made by the top-and-bottom determination unit 150, and synthesizes the images (i.e. pixel pattern being displayed in a composite region in the composite frame corresponding to the first region and the second region). The image obtained by the synthesizing is output).
In regards to claim 18. Mura discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of Claim 15.
-wherein the first pixel or the second pixel is repeated in the pixel pattern (Mura, para [0047]; Reference discloses the top-and-bottom determination unit 12 determines, as an overlapping pattern, a pattern that makes areas near boundaries with high coincidence degrees appear on the overlapped image (an image obtained by overlapping plural images). In other words, the top-and-bottom determination unit 12 determines, on the basis of the coincidence degree, an overlapping pattern so that one of the plural images is used mainly in the area in which plural images are overlapped (i.e. using more of one image that the other for overlap interpreted as wherein the first pixel or the second pixel is repeated in the pixel pattern)).
In regards to claim 19. Mura discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of Claim 15.
-wherein a dimension of the composite region of image data is larger than a corresponding dimension of the first region and/or the second region (Mura, para [0121] and [0122]; Reference at [0121] discloses it is also possible to employ a configuration in which when the overlapping unit 160 superposes and synthesizes images P1 and P2, the synthesizing ratio of superposing the images is varied depending upon the distance between the boundary of the image and the pixel. Para [0122] discloses it is also possible to gradually decrease the synthesizing ratio of image P1 from one to zero in the area between the image-P2-side boundary and the synthesizing-area boundary, and to gradually increase the synthesizing ratio of image P2 from zero to one. Changes in synthesizing ratio for images P1 and P2 interpreted as providing dimensions where composite region can be larger or smaller than corresponding first or second regions).
In regards to claim 20. Mura discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of Claim 15.
-wherein a location of the first region in the first frame corresponds to a location of the second region in the second frame (Mura, para [0042]; Reference discloses more specifically, the coincidence degree calculation unit 11 obtains, from the images (i.e. first, second, etc. frames), pixels at the corresponding positions in areas near the boundary for overlapping plural images (i.e. selected first, second, etc. pixels from boundary region where images overlap thus corresponding regions or locations)), and wherein a location of the composite region in the composite frame corresponds to the location of the first region and the location of the second region (Mura, Fig. 10A; Reference illustrates the overlapped images (i.e. frames) and the composite region which corresponds to both images).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 9, 10, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murashita (US 2010/0172585 A1) in view of Lin (US 2018/0288353 A1, hereinafter referenced “Lin”).
In regards to claim 2. Mura discloses the device of Claim 1.
-wherein the processing circuitry is configured to arrange pixels in the pixel pattern based on a transparency of the first region and/or the second region (Lin, para [0031] and [0034]; Reference at [0031] discloses video content 101, 102, 103 may be composited via composition module 104 using techniques discussed in more detail herein such as generating transparency data associated with one or more of surfaces associated with video content 101, 102, 103, retaining such transparency data when there is no change to the associated video content, and performing blending (e.g., alpha blending) based on the retained transparency data. Composited video data 111 may be provided to a display 105. Para [0034] discloses Such pixel blending may include any suitable blending, compositing, or overlay such as pre-multiplied per-pixel alpha blending or the like).
Mura and Lin are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding image synthesis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the image synthesis system of Mura to include the low power video compositing features of Lin in order to provide the user with system for overlapping and synthesizing images so that an area near a boundary having a determined high coincidence degree appears on an overlapped image avoiding unnatural ruptures as taught by Mura while incorporating the low power video compositing features of Lin in order to provide techniques that include generating and storing transparency data for a surface of first video content and later compositing the first video content with second video content based on the assessed transparency data to increase efficiency in compositing multiple frames of video, applicable to image synthesis systems such as those taught in Mura.
In regards to claim 3. Mura discloses the device of Claim 1.
-wherein the pixel pattern is based on a display resolution of the device (Lin, para [0029] and [0031]; Reference at [0029] discloses video content 101, 102 may be lower frame rate and/or lower resolution video content relative to video content 103 (interpreted as different display resolution for videos to be composited thus resulting in pixel patterns based on resolution). Para [0031] discloses video content 101, 102, 103 may be composited via composition module 104 using techniques discussed in more detail herein such as generating transparency data associated with one or more of surfaces associated with video content 101, 102, 103).
Mura and Lin are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding image synthesis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the image synthesis system of Mura to include the low power video compositing features of Lin in order to provide the user with system for overlapping and synthesizing images so that an area near a boundary having a determined high coincidence degree appears on an overlapped image avoiding unnatural ruptures as taught by Mura while incorporating the low power video compositing features of Lin in order to provide techniques that include generating and storing transparency data for a surface of first video content and later compositing the first video content with second video content based on the assessed transparency data to increase efficiency in compositing multiple frames of video, applicable to image synthesis systems such as those taught in Mura.
In regards to claim 9. Mura discloses the method of Claim 8.
-wherein pixels in the pixel pattern are arranged based on a transparency of the first region and/or the second region (Lin, para [0031] and [0034]; Reference at [0031] discloses video content 101, 102, 103 may be composited via composition module 104 using techniques discussed in more detail herein such as generating transparency data associated with one or more of surfaces associated with video content 101, 102, 103, retaining such transparency data when there is no change to the associated video content, and performing blending (e.g., alpha blending) based on the retained transparency data. Composited video data 111 may be provided to a display 105. Para [0034] discloses Such pixel blending may include any suitable blending, compositing, or overlay such as pre-multiplied per-pixel alpha blending or the like).
Mura and Lin are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding image synthesis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the image synthesis system of Mura to include the low power video compositing features of Lin in order to provide the user with system for overlapping and synthesizing images so that an area near a boundary having a determined high coincidence degree appears on an overlapped image avoiding unnatural ruptures as taught by Mura while incorporating the low power video compositing features of Lin in order to provide techniques that include generating and storing transparency data for a surface of first video content and later compositing the first video content with second video content based on the assessed transparency data to increase efficiency in compositing multiple frames of video, applicable to image synthesis systems such as those taught in Mura.
In regards to claim 10. Mura discloses the method of Claim 8.
-wherein the pixel pattern is based on a display resolution of the device (Lin, para [0029] and [0031]; Reference at [0029] discloses video content 101, 102 may be lower frame rate and/or lower resolution video content relative to video content 103 (interpreted as different display resolution for videos to be composited thus resulting in pixel patterns based on resolution). Para [0031] discloses video content 101, 102, 103 may be composited via composition module 104 using techniques discussed in more detail herein such as generating transparency data associated with one or more of surfaces associated with video content 101, 102, 103).
Mura and Lin are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding image synthesis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the image synthesis system of Mura to include the low power video compositing features of Lin in order to provide the user with system for overlapping and synthesizing images so that an area near a boundary having a determined high coincidence degree appears on an overlapped image avoiding unnatural ruptures as taught by Mura while incorporating the low power video compositing features of Lin in order to provide techniques that include generating and storing transparency data for a surface of first video content and later compositing the first video content with second video content based on the assessed transparency data to increase efficiency in compositing multiple frames of video, applicable to image synthesis systems such as those taught in Mura.
In regards to claim 16. Mura discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of Claim 15.
-wherein pixels in the pixel pattern are arranged based on a transparency of the first region and/or the second region (Lin, para [0031] and [0034]; Reference at [0031] discloses video content 101, 102, 103 may be composited via composition module 104 using techniques discussed in more detail herein such as generating transparency data associated with one or more of surfaces associated with video content 101, 102, 103, retaining such transparency data when there is no change to the associated video content, and performing blending (e.g., alpha blending) based on the retained transparency data. Composited video data 111 may be provided to a display 105. Para [0034] discloses Such pixel blending may include any suitable blending, compositing, or overlay such as pre-multiplied per-pixel alpha blending or the like).
Mura and Lin are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding image synthesis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the image synthesis system of Mura to include the low power video compositing features of Lin in order to provide the user with system for overlapping and synthesizing images so that an area near a boundary having a determined high coincidence degree appears on an overlapped image avoiding unnatural ruptures as taught by Mura while incorporating the low power video compositing features of Lin in order to provide techniques that include generating and storing transparency data for a surface of first video content and later compositing the first video content with second video content based on the assessed transparency data to increase efficiency in compositing multiple frames of video, applicable to image synthesis systems such as those taught in Mura.
In regards to claim 17. Mura discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of Claim 15.
-wherein the pixel pattern is based on a display resolution of a device (Lin, para [0029] and [0031]; Reference at [0029] discloses video content 101, 102 may be lower frame rate and/or lower resolution video content relative to video content 103 (interpreted as different display resolution for videos to be composited thus resulting in pixel patterns based on resolution). Para [0031] discloses video content 101, 102, 103 may be composited via composition module 104 using techniques discussed in more detail herein such as generating transparency data associated with one or more of surfaces associated with video content 101, 102, 103).
Mura and Lin are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding image synthesis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the image synthesis system of Mura to include the low power video compositing features of Lin in order to provide the user with system for overlapping and synthesizing images so that an area near a boundary having a determined high coincidence degree appears on an overlapped image avoiding unnatural ruptures as taught by Mura while incorporating the low power video compositing features of Lin in order to provide techniques that include generating and storing transparency data for a surface of first video content and later compositing the first video content with second video content based on the assessed transparency data to increase efficiency in compositing multiple frames of video, applicable to image synthesis systems such as those taught in Mura.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: See the Notice of References Cited (PTO-892)
/TERRELL M ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614