DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The office action is a response to Request for Reconsideration filed on. As directed by the amendment: claims 1 – 32 are pending, no claims have been amended, claims 1 – 24 have been canceled and claimed 25 – 32 have been added.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues Paragraph 0076 of Ozsecen does not disclose “a value of a delay associated with torque output timing of the wearable device”, however, it is clearly disclosed the time response of the actuator is changed causing a delay which changed the torque profile. Based on this, the examiner maintains the rejection.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues the new claim limitation are not double patented by App. 16/810,247, however, the examiner does not consider that persuasive based on the limitation not being the same, but are made obvious by the cited patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 25 – 27 & 29 – 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Ozsecen et al. (US 20190160321 A1)
Regarding claim 25, An operation method of a wearable device, the operation method comprising:
measuring angles of hip joints of a user (Paragraph 0050 & 0062);
determining, based on gait information of the user (Paragraph 0050 discloses the mode selection based on the sensors capability of determining gait parameters), a motion type of the user among a plurality of motion types classified by movement speed (Paragraph 0037 discloses offering a plurality of interactive modes & Paragraph 0055 discloses the motion type is based on the speed of movement of the user), wherein the gait information is based on a time used when the user walks or a walking distance of the user (Paragraph 0088 & 0091); and
controlling a driver of the wearable device based on the measured the angles of the hip joints (Paragraph 0050 – 0053 discloses the user activity such as position of the user used by the motor control system), a gain associated with a magnitude of a torque of the wearable device (Paragraph 0063), and a value of a delay associated with torque output timing of the wearable device (Paragraph 0076), such that the torque associated with the determined motion type is generated delayed by the value of the delay (Paragraph 0093 & 0076) .
Regarding claim 26, Ozsecen discloses the operation method as claimed in claim 25.
Ozsecen discloses further comprises determining an interactive mode of the wearable device 10 using the gain. (Paragraph 0094, 0093 & 0063)
Regarding claim 27, Ozsecen discloses the operation method as claimed in claim 26.
Ozsecen discloses wherein the determining of the interactive mode comprises: determining a first interactive mode that assists the user in a movement of the user, in response to a sign of the gain being a first sign (Paragraph 0062); and determining a second interactive mode that applies resistance to a movement of the user, in response to the sign of the gain being a second sign. (Paragraph 0047 – 0048 & 0062).
Regarding claim 29, A wearable device, comprising:
a driver configured to generate torque (Paragraph 0051);
a sensor 340 configured to measure angles of hip joints of a user (Paragraph 0050); and
a controller 320 configured to: determine, based on gait information of the user, a motion type of the user among a plurality of motion types classified by movement speed (Paragraph 0037 discloses offering a plurality of interactive modes & Paragraph 0055 discloses the motion type is based on the speed of movement of the user), and control the driver based on the angles of the hip joints measured via the sensor 340 (Paragraph 0050 – 0053 discloses the user activity such as position of the user used by the motor control system), a gain associated with a magnitude of the torque (Paragraph 0063), and a value of a delay associated with torque output timing of the wearable device (Paragraph 0076), such that the torque associated with the determined motion type is generated delayed by the value of the delay (Paragraph 0093 & 0076), wherein the gait information is based on a time used when the user walks or a walking distance of the user (Paragraph 0088 & 0091).
Regarding claim 30, Ozsecen discloses the wearable device as claimed in claim 29.
Ozsecen discloses further comprises determining an interactive mode of the wearable device 10 using the gain. (Paragraph 0094, 0093 & 0063)
Regarding claim 31, Ozsecen discloses the wearable device as claimed in claim 30.
Ozsecen discloses wherein the controller (Paragraph 0040) is further configured to: determine a first interactive mode that assists the user in a movement of the user, in response to a sign of the gain being a first sign, and determine a second interactive mode that applies resistance to a movement of the user, in response to the sign of the gain being a second sign (Paragraph 0047 – 0048 & 0062).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28 & 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Ozsecen et al. (US 20190160321 A1) as claimed in claim 25 & 29, in view of Chen et al. (WO 2019228418 A1).
Regarding claim 28, Ozsecen discloses the operation method as claimed in claim 25.
Ozsecen does not disclose wherein the determining of the motion type comprises: determining a cadence of the user using the gait information; determining the motion type as a walk motion type in response the cadence being equal to or less than a first threshold value; determining the motion type as a walk-to-run motion type in response the cadence being greater than the first threshold value and equal to or less than a second threshold value; and determining the motion type as a run motion type in response to the cadence being greater than the second threshold value.
Chen discloses wherein the determining of the motion type comprises: determining a cadence of the user using the gait information (Page 7, Paragraph 5); determining the motion type as a walk motion type in response the cadence being equal to or less than a first threshold value (Page 7, Paragraph 5); determining the motion type as a walk-to-run motion type in response the cadence being greater than the first threshold value and equal to or less than a second threshold value (Page 7, Paragraph 5); and determining the motion type as a run motion type in response to the cadence being greater than the second threshold value (Page 7, Paragraph 5).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to further modify Ozsecen wherein the determining of the motion type comprises: determining a cadence of the user using the gait information; determining the motion type as a walk motion type in response the cadence being equal to or less than a first threshold value; determining the motion type as a walk-to-run motion type in response the cadence being greater than the first threshold value and equal to or less than a second threshold value; and determining the motion type as a run motion type in response to the cadence being greater than the second threshold value as it would allow the device to have different thresholds to determine the motion speed of the user and be able to self-adjust based on this determination. It would also allow notifications based on the motion detected to better achieve the desired output. (Page 8, Paragraph 2)
Regarding claim 32, Ozsecen discloses the wearable device as claimed in claim 29.
Ozsecen disclose the controller (Paragraph 0040)
Ozsecen does not disclose further configured to: determine a cadence of the user using the gait information; determine the motion type as a walk motion type in response the cadence being equal to or less than a first threshold value; determine the motion type as a walk-to-run motion type in response the cadence being greater than the first threshold value and equal to or less than a second threshold value, and determine the motion type as a run motion type in response to the cadence being greater than the second threshold value.
Chen discloses further configured to: determine a cadence of the user using the gait information (Page 7, Paragraph 5); determine the motion type as a walk motion type in response the cadence being equal to or less than a first threshold value (Page 7, Paragraph 5); determine the motion type as a walk-to-run motion type in response the cadence being greater than the first threshold value and equal to or less than a second threshold value (Page 7, Paragraph 5), and determine the motion type as a run motion type in response to the cadence being greater than the second threshold value (Page 7, Paragraph 5).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to further modify the controller of Ozsecen further configured to: determine a cadence of the user using the gait information; determine the motion type as a walk motion type in response the cadence being equal to or less than a first threshold value; determine the motion type as a walk-to-run motion type in response the cadence being greater than the first threshold value and equal to or less than a second threshold value, and determine the motion type as a run motion type in response to the cadence being greater than the second threshold value as it would allow the device to have different thresholds to determine the motion speed of the user and be able to self-adjust based on this determination. It would also allow notifications based on the motion detected to better achieve the desired output. (Page 8, Paragraph 2)
Double Patenting
Claims 25 – 26 & 29 – 30 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8 & 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,707,400 in view of Ozsecen et al. (US 20190160321 A1).
Regarding claim 25, An operation method of a wearable device, the operation method comprising:
determining, based on gait information of the user, a motion type of the user among a plurality of motion types classified by movement speed (Claim 1); and
controlling a driver of the wearable device based on the measured the angles of the hip joints, a gain associated with a magnitude of a torque of the wearable device (Claim 1), and a value of a delay associated with torque output timing of the wearable device (Claim 8), such that the torque associated with the determined motion type is generated delayed by the value of the delay (Claim 9).
App. 11,707,400 does not disclose measuring angles of hip joints of a user;
wherein the gait information is based on a time used when the user walks or a walking distance of the user.
Ozsecen discloses measuring angles of hip joints of a user (Paragraph 0050);
wherein the gait information is based on a time used when the user walks or a walking distance of the user (Paragraph 0091).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to further modify App 11,707,400 to include measuring angles of hip joints of a user as it would ensure the information of the position of a hip and allows the identification of the different activities done by the user such as sitting or standing. (Paragraph 0050) By acquiring the gait information based on this parameters it is able to identify the gait cycle progression which is then used as the basis of the predictive dynamic controller torque profile generation. (Paragraph 0091)
Regarding claim 26, App. 11,707,400 discloses the operation method as claimed in claim 25.
further comprises determining an interactive mode of the wearable device using the gain (Claim 1).
Regarding claim 29, A wearable device, comprising:
a driver configured to generate torque (Claim 1);
a controller configured to: determine, based on gait information of the user, a motion type of the user among a plurality of motion types classified by movement speed (Claim 1), a gain associated with a magnitude of the torque (Claim 1), and a value of a delay associated with torque output timing of the wearable device (Claim 8), such that the torque associated with the determined motion type is generated delayed by the value of the delay (Claim 9),
App. 11,707,400 does not disclose a sensor configured to measure angles of hip joints of a user;
and control the driver based on the angles of the hip joints measured via the sensor,
wherein the gait information is based on a time used when the user walks or a walking distance of the user.
Ozsecen discloses a sensor configured to measure angles of hip joints of a user (Paragraph 0047);
and control the driver based on the angles of the hip joints measured via the sensor (Paragraph 0050 – 0053 discloses the user activity such as position of the user used by the motor control system),
wherein the gait information is based on a time used when the user walks or a walking distance of the user.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to further modify App. 11,707,400 to include a sensor configured to measure angles of hip joints of a user and control the driver based on the angles of the hip joints measured via the sensor, wherein the gait information is based on a time used when the user walks or a walking distance of the user as including a position sensor facilitates the assistive device to recognize a new activity of a user with no additional user input and transition to a controller torque profile for the new activity within the predetermined duration. By using the information of the sensor to lead the driver provides information of the state of the user to provide the torque needed in that moment. (Paragraph 0050 – 0053) By acquiring the gait information based on this parameters it is able to identify the gait cycle progression which is then used as the basis of the predictive dynamic controller torque profile generation. (Paragraph 0091)
Regarding claim 30, App. 11,707,400 discloses the wearable device as claimed in claim 29.
App. 11,707,400 discloses wherein the controller is further configured to determine an interactive mode of the wearable device using the gain (Claim 1)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRACIELA NATALIA LEBRON DE JESUS/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/KENDRA D CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785