DETAILED ACTION
The first inventor to file provisions of the Leahy-Smith America Invents Act (AIA ) apply to any application for patent, and to any patent issuing thereon, that contains or contained at any time—
(A) a claim to a claimed invention that has an effective filing date on or after March 16, 2013 wherein the effective filing date is:
(i) if subparagraph (ii) does not apply, the actual filing date of the patent or the application for the patent containing a claim to the invention; or
(ii) the filing date of the earliest application for which the patent or application is entitled, as to such invention, to a right of priority under 35 U.S.C. 119, 365(a), or 365(b) or to the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c); or
(B) a specific reference under 35 U.S.C. 120 , 121, or 365(c), to any patent or application that contains or contained at any time a claim as defined in paragraph (A), above.
Status of the Claims
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending. Claim(s) 6 and 13-20 is/are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 7/23/2026, with respect to the 35 USC 112(b) rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 112(b) rejections of claims 1-5 and 7-12 has/have been withdrawn due to the Applicant’s amendments.
Applicant's arguments filed 7/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Schwartz does not teach the process language amended into claim 1 (Applicant’s Response on 7/23/2026, pages 5-7).
See product-by-process section below. As the claimed invention is a product, such limitations are met when the final product is the same as would be produced by the claimed product-by-process language. Here, curing results in a solid compound and in the case of the locked mating by Schwartz (see prior art rejection section below), the cap is secured to the stem as required by claim 1. Further, the material is the LCE material. Therefore, all structures imparted by the claimed process language are present in the cited prior art combination.
Product By Process
The Examiner recognizes claim 1 as a "product-by-process" claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (see MPEP 2113).
The product-by-process language is: “a portion of the LCE flows through the plurality of perforations and cures to secure the LCE cap to the head.”
As a product claim, Examiner has determined claim 1 requires the device for a MTP joint to comprise the following structural elements in addition to those in the claims from which they depend: a portion of the LCE cap within the perforations such that the cap is secured to the head.
In the prior art rejection in this Office action, Examiner considers claim 1 to be met when a reference teaches these structural limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Shaha
Shaha RK, Merkel DR, Anderson MP, Devereaux EJ, Patel RR, Torbati AH, Willett N, Yakacki CM, Frick CP. Biocompatible liquid-crystal elastomers mimic the intervertebral disc. J Mech Behav Biomed Mater. 2020 Jul;107:103757. doi: 10.1016/j.jmbbm.2020.103757. Epub 2020 Mar 30. PMID: 32276188
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwartz, et al (Schwartz) (US 2013/0184820 A1) in view of Shaha.
Regarding Claim 1, Schwartz teaches a device for a metatarsophalangeal (MTP) joint (e.g. embodiment of Figures 54-59), the device comprising:
a stem (e.g. Figure 55, #488);
a head (e.g. Figure 55, #470) located at a proximal end of the stem (e.g. Figure 55, where the end with the head is considered proximal) and comprising a plurality of perforations formed through the head (e.g. Figure 55, #s 476),
and a cap formed over the head (e.g. Figure 54, #406) made of a material (e.g. [0149], [0095])
Schwartz discloses the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach the material is a liquid-crystalline elastomer (“LCE”), wherein a portion of the LCE flows through the plurality of perforations and cures to secure the LCE cap to the head.
Shaha teaches a liquid-crystalline elastomer used as an orthopedic material (e.g. abstract) that provides a material that is able to provide load-bearing in biomedical systems (e.g. abstract) and match that of orthopedic applications (e.g. abstract).
Schwartz is concerned with the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, namely bone implants with stems, heads, and caps.
Shaha is concerned with the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, namely liquid-crystalline elastomers used in orthopedic implants.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schwartz such that the cap material is the liquid-crystalline elastomer as taught by Shaha as it is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143(I)) of Here, the substituted elements function is known as discussed supra. Specifically, Shaha teaches liquid crystalline elastomer materials that are able to be modified “to mimic the mechanical function of biological tissue” (e.g. Shaha, abstract).
The combination of Schwartz and Shaha teaches a portion of the LCE flows through the plurality of perforations and cures to secure the LCE cap to the head (e.g. Schwartz, [0147], the cap is locked to the head and thus secured; [0150], the perforations #476 are filled by #s496, which are of the LCE in the combined device; see product-by-process section supra).
Regarding Claim 2, the head includes an inner portion having a greater thickness than an outer portion (e.g. Schwartz, Figure 55, the portion of the head at the radially outer section #472 is axially thinner than the radially inner section having #478).
Regarding Claim 3, there is a plurality of perforations formed through the stem (e.g. Schwartz, Figure 55, #s 484).
Regarding Claim 5, the stem comprises a radially extending prong (e.g. Schwartz, Figure 55, #s 482).
Regarding Claim 10, the head comprises an island around which LCE of the LCE cap may cure to secure the LCE cap to the head (e.g. Schwartz, Figures 54-55; the portion shown in Figure 55 over which the cap in Figure 54 is placed).
Regarding Claim 11, the LCE cap is formed over a lip of the head (e.g. Schwartz, Figures 54-55; the portion shown in Figure 55 over which the cap in Figure 54 is placed).
Regarding Claim 12, the stem is tapered at a distal end (e.g. Schwartz, Figure 55, where toward the bottom in the figure is considered distal).
Claim(s) 4, 7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwartz, et al (Schwartz) (US 2013/0184820 A1) in view of Shaha as discussed supra and further in view of Dreyfuss (US 2010/0191340 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Schwartz and Shaha discloses the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach the stem comprises a threaded surface.
Dreyfuss teaches an implant having a stem and a head where the stem has a threaded surface and a countersunk threaded bore (e.g. Figures 2, 3(a)-3(d)).
Dreyfuss is concerned with the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, namely bone implants with stems, heads, and caps.
Schwartz is concerned with the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, namely bone implants with stems, heads, and caps.
Shaha is concerned with the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, namely liquid-crystalline elastomers used in orthopedic implants.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Schwartz and Shaha such that the stem has a threaded surface and a countersunk threaded bore as taught by Dreyfuss in order to provide lateral fixation with the bone via the outer threads (e.g. Dreyfuss, [0034]) and in order to provide a means for replacing part of the implant as needed for the internal cannulation (e.g. Dreyfuss, [0033]).
Regarding Claim 7, at least one perforation of the plurality of perforations formed through the stem is inline with a hollow of the stem (the central bore as discussed supra for claim 4).
Regarding Claim 9, the head includes a countersunk bore that is axially aligned with a bore of the stem (discussed supra for claim 4).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwartz, et al (Schwartz) (US 2013/0184820 A1) in view of Shaha as discussed supra and further in view of Bagby (US 5,709,683).
Regarding Claim 8, The combination of Schwarts and Shaha discloses the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach the plurality of perforations formed through the stem includes perforations of at least two different diameters.
Bagby teaches a bone implant having a stem with a plurality of perforations of at least two different diameters (e.g. column 6, lines 1-22; Figure 2).
Schwartz is concerned with the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, namely bone implants with stems, heads, and caps.
Shaha is concerned with the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, namely liquid-crystalline elastomers used in orthopedic implants.
Bagby is concerned with the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, namely bone implants having fenestrations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Schwartz and Shaha by incorporating the differing diameters in the stem as taught by Bagby in order to facilitate bony ingrowth and through growth therethrough (e.g. Bagby, column 6, lines 1-22).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LESLIE A LOPEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774 9/18/2026