DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claim 1-17 in the reply filed on 6/25/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-13, and 16-17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oates US 20170174512.
Regarding claim 1 and 11, Oates teaches a method of using a hydrogen storage cavern in communication with multiple hydrogen production sources and a pipeline distribution system (Fig. 1). The process includes injecting gas from the gas production system into the hydrogen storage reservoir (para [0024]), and extracting the hydrogen gas (para [0037]; Fig. 2a and 2b).
Regarding claim 2, Oates teaches connecting a hydrogen storage reservoir to a gas production system includes making a fluid connection between the gas production system and the hydrogen storage reservoir with one or more of a well, a pipeline, or a pump (para [0024], FIG. 1 is a schematic showing an integrated hydrogen supply system comprising a single storage cavern in communication with multiple hydrogen production sources and a pipeline distribution system; para [0027], The production sources are hydrogen production plants which generally make hydrogen from natural gas: sea FIG. 1 wherein the H2 Generation is connected to the hydrogen storage reservoir/storage cavern through the pipeline system).
Regarding claim 3 and 12, Oates teaches connecting a hydrogen storage reservoir to a gas production system includes connecting the hydrogen storage reservoir to an output of one or more of an electrolysis system, a pyrolysis system, or a reformer system configured to produce hydrogen (para [0027]).
Regarding claim 4 and 13, Oates teaches injecting hydrogen from one or more of an electrolysis system, a pyrolysis system, or a reformer system configured to produce hydrogen (para [0027]).
Regarding claim 5, Oates teaches injecting gas from the gas production system into the hydrogen storage reservoir includes injecting the gas into the hydrogen storage reservoir via an injection well (para [0049]).
Regarding claim 8, 14 and 16, Oates teaches the hydrogen storage reservoir includes 3 subsurface geological formation that is depleted of natural hydrogen (para [0034]).
Regarding claim 9, Oates teaches the gas includes one or more of hydrogen, carbon dioxide, or helium (Abstract; para [0025]).
Regarding claim 10 and 17, Oates teaches supplying the extracted gas to one or more energy producers or a chemical producer, through a pipeline (para [0026]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oates US 20170174512.
Regarding claim 6, Oates teaches extracting the injected gas occurs and the hydrogen storage reservoir is depleted of hydrogen (para [0013], during the period that the hydrogen demand requirements are above the optimal hydrogen production rate of the multiple hydrogen production sources, hydrogen is withdrawn from the hydrogen storage cavern and introduced into the hydrogen pipe line distribution system; para [0034], The cavern allows instantaneous injection and withdrawal of hydrogen; para [0025], The storage cavern can be an underground salt cavern and depleted oil or gas field), but does not specifically teach wherein the extraction of the injected gas occurs after the hydrogen storage reservoir is depleted and wherein the hydrogen is natural hydrogen. It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to conduct the extraction step after the depletion step and include natural hydrogen as the hydrogen gas depleted from the hydrogen storage reservoir to optimize the utilization of hydrogen gas and purity of the final product.
Regarding claim 7, Oates teaches extracting the injected gas occurs in parallel with depletion of hydrogen from the hydrogen storage reservoir (para [0034], The cavern allows instantaneous injection and withdrawal of hydrogen; para [0025], The storage cavern can be an underground salt cavern and depleted oil or gas field), but does not specifically teach wherein the hydrogen is natural hydrogen. It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to Include natural hydrogen as the hydrogen gas depleted from the hydrogen storage reservoir to optimize the utilization of hydrogen gas and purity of the final product.
Regarding claim 14, Oates teaches extracting the injected hydrogen occurs and the hydrogen storage reservoir is depleted of hydrogen from the hydrogen storage reservoir (para [0013], during the period that the hydrogen demand requirements are above the optimal hydrogen production rate of the multiple hydrogen production sources, hydrogen is withdrawn from the hydrogen storage cavern and introduced into the hydrogen pipe line distribution system; para [0034], The cavern allows instantaneous infection and withdrawal of hydrogen; para [0025], The storage cavern can be an underground salt cavern and depleted oil or gas field), but does not specifically teach wherein the extraction of the injected gas occurs after the hydrogen storage reservoir is depleted and wherein the hydrogen is natural hydrogen. If would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to conduct the extraction step after the depletion step and include natural hydrogen as the hydrogen gas depleted from the hydrogen storage reservoir to optimize the utilization of hydrogen gas and purity of the final product.
Regarding claim 15, Oates teaches extracting the injected hydrogen occurs in parallel with depletion of hydrogen from the hydrogen storage reservoir (para [0034], The cavern allows instantaneous injection and withdrawal of hydrogen, para [0025], The storage cavern can be an underground salt cavern and depleted oil or gas field), but does not specifically teach wherein the hydrogen is natural hydrogen. It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to include natural hydrogen as the hydrogen gas depleted from the hydrogen storage reservoir to optimize the utilization of hydrogen gas and purity of the final product.
Conclusion
/JAMES A FIORITO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731