DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 07, 2023 has been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Form PTO-1449 is signed and attached hereto.
Drawings
The drawings filed on June 07, 2023 are accepted.
Specification
The specification filed June 07, 2023 is accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Venkatesan et al. US 12,395,331 b2 [hereinafter Venkatesan].
As pe claims 1, 10 and 11, Venkatesan teaches a computer-implemented method, comprising:
receiving, by a token service, an Attribute Based Encryption (ABE) authorization code having environmental attributes encoded therein [column 7, lines 5-65 and column 9, line 30-column 10, line 16];
performing, by the token service, at least one test on the ABE authorization code using ABE decryption for determining whether the ABE authorization code satisfies a predefined policy that is based on the environmental attributes [column 7, lines 5-65 and column 9, line 30-column 10, line 16]; and
in response to determining that the ABE authorization code satisfies the predefined policy, issuing, by the token service, a token [column 7, lines 5-65 and column 9, line 30-column 10, line 16].
As per claims 12, 19 and 20, Venkatesan teaches a computer-implemented method, comprising:
receiving, by a computer, an Attribute Based Encryption (ABE) token having environmental attributes encoded therein [column 7, lines 5-65 and column 9, line 30-column 10, line 16];
performing, by the computer, at least one test on the ABE token using ABE decryption for determining whether the ABE token satisfies a predefined policy that is based on the environmental attributes [column 7, lines 5-65 and column 9, line 30-column 10, line 16];
in response to determining that the ABE token satisfies the predefined policy, authenticating the ABE token [column 7, lines 5-65 and column 9, line 30-column 10, line 16]; and
in response to authenticating the ABE token, performing an action using the token [column 7, lines 5-65 and column 9, line 30-column 10, line 16].
As per claim 2, Venkatesan further teaches the method wherein at least one of the environmental attributes is selected from a group consisting of: Operating System (OS), user agent, Global Positioning System (GPS) coordinates, time and/or date, encryption algorithm availability, browser information, subnet information, and Federal Information Processing Standards (FIPS) compliance information [column 7, lines 5-65 and column 9, line 30-column 10, line 16].
As per claim 3, Venkatesan further teaches the method wherein the ABE authorization code is in the form of an ABE key, wherein performing the at least one test includes attempting to decrypt an encrypted blob corresponding to the policy using the ABE key [column 7, lines 5-65 and column 9, line 30-column 10, line 16].
As per claim 4, Venkatesan further teaches the method wherein the ABE authorization code is in the form of ciphertext, wherein performing the at least one test includes attempting to decrypt the ciphertext using an ABE key corresponding to the policy [column 7, lines 5-65 and column 9, line 30-column 10, line 16].
As per claim 5, Venkatesan further teaches the method wherein the environmental attributes identify where and/or how the ABE authorization code was generated [column 7, lines 5-65 and column 9, line 30-column 10, line 16].
As per claim 6, Venkatesan further teaches the method wherein the environmental attributes identify where the ABE authorization code was issued to [column 7, lines 5-65 and column 9, line 30-column 10, line 16].
As per claim 7, Venkatesan further teaches the method wherein the token is an ABE token having second environmental attributes encoded therein, the second environmental attributes corresponding to the token service [column 7, lines 5-65 and column 9, line 30-column 10, line 16].
As per claim 8, Venkatesan further teaches the method wherein the token is an ABE token having second environmental attributes encoded therein, the second environmental attributes corresponding to a destination of the ABE token [column 7, lines 5-65 and column 9, line 30-column 10, line 16].
As per claim 9, Venkatesan further teaches the method comprising: receiving, by a second computer, the token, wherein the token is an ABE token having second environmental attributes encoded therein; performing, by the second computer, at least one test on the ABE token using ABE decryption for determining whether the ABE token satisfies a second predefined policy that is based on the second environmental attributes [column 7, lines 5-65 and column 9, line 30-column 10, line 16]; in response to determining that the ABE token satisfies the second predefined policy, authenticating the ABE token; and in response to authenticating the ABE token, performing an action using the token [column 7, lines 5-65 and column 9, line 30-column 10, line 16].
As per claim 13, Venkatesan further teaches the method wherein at least one of the environmental attributes is selected from a group consisting of: Operating System (OS), user agent, Global Positioning System (GPS) coordinates, time and/or date, encryption algorithm availability, browser information, subnet information, and Federal Information Processing Standards (FIPS) compliance information.
As per claim 14, Venkatesan further teaches the method wherein the action includes forwarding the ABE token to a resource server with a request to access desired data from the resource server [column 7, lines 5-65 and column 9, line 30-column 10, line 16].
As per claim 15, Venkatesan further teaches the method wherein the action includes providing, by a resource server, access to desired data [column 7, lines 5-65 and column 9, line 30-column 10, line 16].
As per claim 16, Venkatesan further teaches the method wherein the environmental attributes identify where and/or how the ABE token was generated [column 7, lines 5-65 and column 9, line 30-column 10, line 16].
As per claim 17, Venkatesan further teaches the method wherein the environmental attributes encoded in the ABE token correspond to environmental attributes of a token service that issued the ABE token [column 7, lines 5-65 and column 9, line 30-column 10, line 16].
As per claim 18, Venkatesan further teaches the method wherein the environmental attributes encoded in the ABE token correspond to a destination of the ABE token [column 7, lines 5-65 and column 9, line 30-column 10, line 16].
Conclusion
BEEMNET W. DADA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2435
/BEEMNET W DADA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435