DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 through 20 originally filed 7 June 2023. By preliminary amendment received 7 June 2023; claim 19 is amended and claims 21 and 22 are cancelled. By amendment received 4 June 2026; claim Invention B is elected for examination, claims 1 through 10 and 17 through 20 are cancelled, claims 12 through 16 are withdrawn from consideration, and claims 23 through 36 are added. Claims 11 and 23 through 36 are addressed by this action.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention B in the reply filed on 4 June 2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, applications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a), subsection I. states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet preferably within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it includes the implied phrase "The present disclosure provides".
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The specification is objected to under 37 C.F.R. 1.74. The specification refers to Figure 13 in ¶166 which is not used in the drawings. It is improper to use constructions such as "Fig. 1" to refer jointly to drawings that are labeled "Fig. 1A" and "Fig. 1B" (see MPEP 608.01f). Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(l).
The figures 1, 2, 12, 14, 20, 28, 29, 30, 32A, and 32B include lines that are grainy and not uniformly thick. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(3).
The figures 1, 2, 11, 15, 18, 21 through 26, and 32A through 39 employ letters and numbers that are either small or very small. Numbers, letters, and reference characters must measure at least .32 cm. (1/8 inch) in height.
The figures 11 and 19 render lettering directly on hatched surfaces. Numbers, letters, and reference characters should not be placed upon hatched or shaded surfaces.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4).
The description uses the reference characters "504", "505", "506", "507", and "508" to refer to more than one part each. The same reference character must never be used to designate different parts.
In the present case, these reference characters or similar numbers appear in the following locations: "504" is mentioned in ¶110 and ¶212, "505" is mentioned in ¶110 and ¶212, "506" is mentioned in ¶110 and ¶212, "507" is mentioned in ¶110 and ¶212, and "508" is mentioned in ¶110 and ¶212.
The drawings refer to more than one part each with the reference characters "1209" and "Dielectric 1". The same part of an invention must be designated with the same reference character throughout the drawings.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5).
The drawings include the reference characters "10", "20", "708", "710", "808", "903", "1011", "1015", "1804", and "Dielectric 1" which do not appear in the description. Reference characters not mentioned in the description must not appear in the drawings.
The description includes the reference characters "2", "4", "110", "809", "1210", and "1600" which do not appear in the drawings. Reference characters mentioned in the description must appear in the drawings.
In the present case, these reference characters or similar numbers appear in the following locations: "2" is mentioned in ¶35, ¶76, ¶79, ¶81, ¶82, ¶135, ¶137, ¶138, ¶139, ¶140, ¶169, ¶170, ¶219, ¶221, and ¶223, "4" is mentioned in ¶37, ¶82, ¶107, ¶138, ¶139, ¶140, ¶217, and ¶221, "110" is mentioned in ¶84, ¶140, ¶144, and ¶145, "809" is mentioned in ¶121, "1210" is mentioned in ¶140, and "1600" is mentioned in ¶144, ¶146, ¶199, and ¶232.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(t).
Some sheets include numbers starting at 33 in the bottom center. These numbers can only correspond to sheet numbers. The sheets of drawings should be numbered starting with 1. These numbers must be placed in the middle of the top of the sheet, but can be placed on the right-hand side if the drawing extends too close to the middle of the top edge of the usable surface. The present numbers do not start with 1 and are at the bottom of the sheet rather than the top.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(u)(1).
Each of figures 3 through 11, 15, 16, 18, 26, and 31 include multiple views that are not separately labeled. Each view must be individually labeled.
Every figure includes view numbers that are not properly identified. View numbers must be preceded by the abbreviation "FIG." No view number is preceded by this abbreviation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 23, 25 through 27, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McLaurin et al. (McLaurin, US Pub. 2015/0140710), in view of Bradley et al. (Bradley, US Patent 5,123,070), and further in view of Luo et al. (Luo, US Pub. 2014/0153600).
Regarding claim 11, McLaurin discloses, "A carrier wafer" (p. [0066] and Fig. 7, pt. 106). "A laser device comprising a gallium and nitrogen containing epitaxial material disposed on the carrier wafer" (p. [0066] and Figs. 6 and 7, pts. 101, 102, 103, and 106). "The gallium and nitrogen containing epitaxial material comprising a first interface region bonded to the carrier wafer" (p. [0066] and Fig. 7, pts. 106 and 108). "One or more p-type gallium and nitrogen containing layers overlying the first interface region" (p. [0066] and Fig. 7, pts. 103 and 108). "One or more light emitting gallium and nitrogen containing layers overlying the one or more p-type gallium and nitrogen containing layers" (p. [0066] and Fig. 7, pts. 102 and 103). "One or more n-type gallium and nitrogen containing layers overlying the one or more light emitting gallium and nitrogen containing layers" (p. [0066] and Fig. 7, pts. 101 and 102). McLaurin does not explicitly disclose, "A dielectric waveguide overlying the one or more n-type gallium and nitrogen containing layers of the gallium and nitrogen containing epitaxial material." "The dielectric waveguide comprising a dielectric core sandwiched between dielectric cladding regions." "Wherein the laser device and the dielectric waveguide are arranged and configured so that electromagnetic radiation generated by the laser device is coupled upwards into the dielectric waveguide." Bradley discloses, "A dielectric waveguide overlying the one or more n-type gallium and nitrogen containing layers of the gallium and nitrogen containing epitaxial material" (col. 4, lines 51-61 and Fig. 4, pts. 12, 18, and 20). "The dielectric waveguide comprising a dielectric core sandwiched between dielectric cladding regions" (col. 4, lines 11-34 and Fig. 5, pts. 22, 24, and 26, where layers 22 and 26 serve as cladding layers to a dielectric core in layer 24). "Wherein the laser device and the dielectric waveguide are arranged and configured so that electromagnetic radiation generated by the laser device is coupled upwards into the dielectric waveguide" (col. 4, lines 51-61 and Fig. 4, pts. 12, 18, and 20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of McLaurin with the teachings of Bradley. In view of the teachings of McLaurin regarding a GaN based laser, the additional inclusion of a dielectric waveguide as taught by Bradley would enhance the teachings of McLaurin by allowing for improved stability in operation of the laser device.
The combination of McLaurin and Bradley does not explicitly disclose, "[The electromagnetic radiation] emitted by the dielectric waveguide." Luo discloses, "[The electromagnetic radiation] emitted by the dielectric waveguide" (p. [0089] and Fig. 2, pt. 272). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of McLaurin and Bradley with the teachings of Luo. In view of the teachings of McLaurin regarding a GaN based laser and the teachings of Bradley regarding a hybrid laser device composed of a III-V material coupled to a dielectric waveguide, the additional indication that light may be emitted from the dielectric waveguide, the alternate construction of the waveguide core from silicon nitride, and the additional inclusion of a taper in the gain region as taught by Luo would enhance the teachings of McLaurin and Bradley by providing a suitable mechanism for extracting light from the laser cavity, providing a suitably alternate material from which to construct the waveguide core, and by allowing for improved coupling between the two waveguides.
Regarding claim 23, McLaurin does not explicitly disclose, "The dielectric cladding regions comprise silicon oxide." Bradley discloses, "The dielectric cladding regions comprise silicon oxide" (col. 4, lines 11-34 and Fig. 5, pts. 22 and 26). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of McLaurin with the teachings of Bradley for the reasons provided above regarding claim 11.
The combination of McLaurin and Bradley does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the dielectric core comprises silicon nitride." Luo discloses, "Wherein the dielectric core comprises silicon nitride" (p. [0090] and Fig. 3A, pt. 304). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of McLaurin and Bradley with the teachings of Luo for the reasons provided above regarding claim 11.
Regarding claim 25, McLaurin does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the dielectric waveguide further comprises a diffraction grating configured to form a distributed Bragg reflector (DBR) region." Bradley discloses, "Wherein the dielectric waveguide further comprises a diffraction grating configured to form a distributed Bragg reflector (DBR) region" (col. 4, lines 25-31 and Fig. 4, pts. 20 and 28). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of McLaurin with the teachings of Bradley for the reasons provided above regarding claim 11.
Regarding claim 26, McLaurin does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the dielectric waveguide further comprises a diffraction grating configured to narrow a linewidth of the emitted electromagnetic radiation, narrow an emission bandwidth, or enable wavelength tuning." Bradley discloses, "Wherein the dielectric waveguide further comprises a diffraction grating configured to narrow a linewidth of the emitted electromagnetic radiation, narrow an emission bandwidth, or enable wavelength tuning" (col. 4, lines 44-50 and Fig. 4, pts. 20 and 28, where the wavelength selection by the grating provides linewidth narrowing). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of McLaurin with the teachings of Bradley for the reasons provided above regarding claim 11.
Regarding claim 27, McLaurin does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein a distributed feedback (DFB) grating is etched into the one or more n-type gallium and nitrogen containing layers." Bradley discloses, "Wherein a distributed feedback (DFB) grating is etched into the one or more n-type gallium and nitrogen containing layers" (col. 4, lines 62-67 and Fig. 6, pt. 60). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of McLaurin with the teachings of Bradley for the reasons provided above regarding claim 11.
Regarding claim 30, The combination of McLaurin and Bradley does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the laser device comprises tapered ends." "Wherein the dielectric waveguide extends over the tapered ends to provide a smooth transition from a top of the laser device to a surface of the carrier wafer." Luo discloses, "Wherein the laser device comprises tapered ends" (p. [0107] and Fig. 4A). "Wherein the dielectric waveguide extends over the tapered ends to provide a smooth transition from a top of the laser device to a surface of the carrier wafer" (p. [0107] and Fig. 4A, where the waveguide is provided over the tapered portion of the gain medium when the gain medium and the waveguide are stacked in the manner of Bradley). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of McLaurin and Bradley with the teachings of Luo for the reasons provided above regarding claim 11.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McLaurin, in view of Bradley, in view of Luo, and further in view of Yoshimura et al. (Yoshimura, US Pub. 2002/0097962).
Yoshimura et al. (Yoshimura, US Pub. 2002/0097962) was initially cited in the IDS received 19 September 2023.
Regarding claim 24, The combination of McLaurin, Bradley, and Luo does not explicitly disclose, "A planarized dielectric layer disposed between the one or more n-type gallium and nitrogen containing layers of the laser device and the dielectric waveguide." "Wherein the planarized dielectric layer provides a flat surface to reduce scattering of the coupled electromagnetic radiation." Yoshimura discloses, "A planarized dielectric layer disposed between the one or more n-type gallium and nitrogen containing layers of the laser device and the dielectric waveguide" (p. [0205]). "Wherein the planarized dielectric layer provides a flat surface to reduce scattering of the coupled electromagnetic radiation" (p. [0205]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of McLaurin, Bradley, and Luo with the teachings of Yoshimura. In view of the teachings of McLaurin regarding a GaN based laser and the teachings of Bradley regarding a hybrid laser device composed of a III-V material coupled to a dielectric waveguide, the additional inclusion of a planarization layer between the III-V material and the dielectric material as taught by Yoshimura would enhance the teachings of McLaurin, Bradley, and Luo by allowing for improved coupling through the two materials.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McLaurin, in view of Bradley, in view of Luo, and further in view of Forrest et al. (Forrest, US Pub. 2003/0007719).
Regarding claim 28, McLaurin discloses, "Wherein the laser device comprises a laser cavity ridge" (Fig. 7, where a ridge is formed in the last depicted step).
The combination of McLaurin, Bradley, and Luo does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the DFB grating is on at least one side of the laser cavity ridge." Forrest discloses, "Wherein the DFB grating is on at least one side of the laser cavity ridge" (p. [0043] and Fig. 4, pts. 322 and 324). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of McLaurin, Bradley, and Luo with the teachings of Forrest. In view of the teachings of McLaurin regarding a GaN based laser and the teachings of Bradley regarding a hybrid laser device composed of a III-V material coupled to a dielectric waveguide, the alternate construction of the III-V device to include lateral gratings as taught by Forrest would enhance the teachings of McLaurin, Bradley, and Luo by allowing the device to include additional spectral selectivity within the laser device.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McLaurin, in view of Bradley, in view of Luo, and further in view of Kurczveil et al. (Kurczveil, US Pub. 2018/0261978).
Regarding claim 29, The combination of McLaurin, Bradley, and Luo does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the dielectric waveguide forms a dielectric ring resonator." "[The dielectric waveguide is] evanescently coupled to the laser device to produce narrow linewidth emission." Kurczveil discloses, "Wherein the dielectric waveguide forms a dielectric ring resonator" (p. [0045] and Fig. 7A, pt. 711). "[The dielectric waveguide is] evanescently coupled to the laser device to produce narrow linewidth emission" (p. [0045] and Fig. 7A, pts. 711 and 712, where the gain medium is coupled to the waveguide in the manner of Bradley). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of McLaurin, Bradley, and Luo with the teachings of Kurczveil. In view of the teachings of McLaurin regarding a GaN based laser and the teachings of Bradley regarding a hybrid laser device composed of a III-V material coupled to a dielectric waveguide, the alternate construction of the dielectric waveguide as a ring resonator as taught by Kurczveil would enhance the teachings of McLaurin, Bradley, and Luo by providing a suitably alternate format for the laser resonator.
Claims 31 through 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McLaurin, in view of Bradley, in view of Luo, and further in view of Caër et al. (Caër, US Pub. 2018/0323575).
Regarding claim 31, The combination of McLaurin, Bradley, and Luo does not explicitly disclose, "N-contacts formed on the one or more n-type gallium and nitrogen containing layers." "Wherein the n-contacts are laterally offset on each side of the dielectric waveguide." Caër discloses, "N-contacts formed on the one or more n-type gallium and nitrogen containing layers" (p. [0065] and Fig. 3, pts. 107, 114b, and 115b). "Wherein the n-contacts are laterally offset on each side of the dielectric waveguide" (p. [0065] and Fig. 3, pts. 102, 107, 114b, and 115b). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of McLaurin, Bradley, and Luo with the teachings of Caër. In view of the teachings of McLaurin regarding a GaN based laser and the teachings of Bradley regarding a hybrid laser device composed of a III-V material coupled to a dielectric waveguide, the alternate construction of the upper electrodes as a pair of laterally offset electrodes as taught by Caër would enhance the teachings of McLaurin, Bradley, and Luo by allowing the electrodes to be spaced apart from the optical mode.
Regarding claim 32, McLaurin discloses, "A carrier wafer" (p. [0066] and Fig. 7, pt. 106). "A laser device comprising a gallium and nitrogen containing epitaxial material disposed on the carrier wafer" (p. [0066] and Figs. 6 and 7, pts. 101, 102, 103, and 106). "The gallium and nitrogen containing epitaxial material comprising a first interface region bonded to the carrier wafer" (p. [0066] and Fig. 7, pts. 106 and 108). "One or more p-type gallium and nitrogen containing layers overlying the first interface region" (p. [0066] and Fig. 7, pts. 103 and 108). "One or more light emitting gallium and nitrogen containing layers overlying the one or more p-type gallium and nitrogen containing layers" (p. [0066] and Fig. 7, pts. 102 and 103). "One or more n-type gallium and nitrogen containing layers overlying the one or more light emitting gallium and nitrogen containing layers" (p. [0066] and Fig. 7, pts. 101 and 102). McLaurin does not explicitly disclose, "A dielectric waveguide overlying the one or more n-type gallium and nitrogen containing layers of the gallium and nitrogen containing epitaxial material." "The dielectric waveguide comprising a dielectric core sandwiched between dielectric cladding regions." "Wherein the laser device and the dielectric waveguide are arranged and configured so that electromagnetic radiation generated by the laser device is coupled upwards into the dielectric waveguide." Bradley discloses, "A dielectric waveguide overlying the one or more n-type gallium and nitrogen containing layers of the gallium and nitrogen containing epitaxial material" (col. 4, lines 51-61 and Fig. 4, pts. 12, 18, and 20). "The dielectric waveguide comprising a dielectric core sandwiched between dielectric cladding regions" (col. 4, lines 11-34 and Fig. 5, pts. 22, 24, and 26, where layers 22 and 26 serve as cladding layers to a dielectric core in layer 24). "Wherein the laser device and the dielectric waveguide are arranged and configured so that electromagnetic radiation generated by the laser device is coupled upwards into the dielectric waveguide" (col. 4, lines 51-61 and Fig. 4, pts. 12, 18, and 20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of McLaurin with the teachings of Bradley for the reasons provided above regarding claim 11.
The combination of McLaurin and Bradley does not explicitly disclose, "[The electromagnetic radiation is] emitted by the dielectric waveguide." Luo discloses, "[The electromagnetic radiation is] emitted by the dielectric waveguide" (p. [0089] and Fig. 2, pt. 272). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of McLaurin and Bradley with the teachings of Luo for the reasons provided above regarding claim 11.
The combination of McLaurin, Bradley, and Luo does not explicitly disclose, "N-contacts formed on the one or more n-type gallium and nitrogen containing layers." "Wherein the n-contacts are laterally offset from the dielectric waveguide." Caër discloses, "N-contacts formed on the one or more n-type gallium and nitrogen containing layers" (p. [0065] and Fig. 3, pts. 107, 114b, and 115b). "Wherein the n-contacts are laterally offset from the dielectric waveguide" (p. [0065] and Fig. 3, pts. 102, 107, 114b, and 115b). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of McLaurin, Bradley, and Luo with the teachings of Caër for the reasons provided above regarding claim 31.
Regarding claim 33, The combination of McLaurin, Bradley, and Luo does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the n-contacts are positioned exclusively in unetched regions of the one or more n-type gallium and nitrogen containing layers." "The n-contacts do not overlap with an optical mode of the laser device." Caër discloses, "Wherein the n-contacts are positioned exclusively in unetched regions of the one or more n-type gallium and nitrogen containing layers" (p. [0065] and Fig. 3, pts. 107, 114b, and 115b). "The n-contacts do not overlap with an optical mode of the laser device" (p. [0065] and Fig. 3, pts. 107, 114b, and 115b). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of McLaurin, Bradley, and Luo with the teachings of Caër for the reasons provided above regarding claim 31.
Regarding claim 34, McLaurin discloses, "Wherein the n-contacts comprise a conductive oxide" (p. [0092] and Fig. 23, pt. TCO).
Regarding claim 35, McLaurin discloses, "Wherein the one or more n-type gallium and nitrogen containing layers comprises an n-type contact layer" (p. [0065] and Fig. 6, pt. 101).
The combination of McLaurin, Bradley, and Luo does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the n-contacts are formed directly on the n-type contact layer." Caër discloses, "Wherein the n-contacts are formed directly on the n-type contact layer" (p. [0065] and Fig. 3, pts. 107, 114b, and 115b). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of McLaurin, Bradley, and Luo with the teachings of Caër for the reasons provided above regarding claim 31.
Regarding claim 36, McLaurin discloses, "Wherein the n-type contact layer consists essentially of gallium nitride doped with silicon" (p. [0090] and Fig. 6, pt. 101).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
West et al. (West, US Pub. 2007/0153868) is cited for teaching a laser with an electrode set to the side of a waveguide.
/SEAN P HAGAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2828