Detailed Action
This office action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 8/14/26. Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-11 and 13-15 are pending. Claims 5, 8, 12 and 16 have been cancelled.
Claims 3 and 17-19 remain withdrawn. Claim 3 does not read on applicant’s elected species. Thus, claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, 9-11 and 13-15 are being examined in this Office Action.
Due to applicant's claim amendments filed 7/14/26, the objection to claim 1 and the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, filed 3/16/26 have been withdrawn. New rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, necessitated by the amendment, are set forth below. Due to the replacement drawing sheet and the amended paragraphs [0071] and [0073] filed 7/14/26, the objections to the drawings and to the disclosure filed 3/16/26 have been withdrawn.
Additionally, the examiner acknowledges the typographical error in the 103 rejection over Fuji et al. in view of Phan et al., in the office action filed 3/16/26, in which claims 9 and 11 were inadvertently omitted. This has been corrected below, and claims 9 and 11 are included in the 103 rejection over the same references, Fuji et al. in view of Phan et al.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC 112.2
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, 9-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite because of the claim language "L1 can be a n-alkyl group…or L1 is absent" in the definition of the lithium single-ion monomer. The word "can" is permissive. It is not clear if L1 is limited to the listed groups or if L1 may be some other group. The examiner recommends "L1 is a n-alkyl group…or L1 is absent".
Claim 1 is indefinite because of the claim language "and is converted from a sulfonate compound of formula". It is not clear if the conversion of the sulfonate compound to the sulfonyl chloride compound is a step of the claimed method, or if the claim language only describes the source of the sulfonyl chloride compound. Claim 9 recites "the conversion from sulfonate to sulfonyl chloride is performed using…". Claim 9 treats the conversion as a step. For purposes of examination, the claim is read both ways. The examiner recommends an active step, for example: "converting a sulfonate compound of formula…to the sulfonyl chloride compound; and simultaneously reacting the sulfonyl chloride compound with…".
The dependent claims are rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, 9-11 and 13-15 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Fuji et al. (WO 2018021185, pub date 02/01/2018; the English translation is used herein), in view of Phan et al. (Polym. Chem., 2016, 7, 6901).
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Fuji et al. exemplifies the synthesis of lithium 4-styrenesulfonyl(trifluoromethylsulfonyl)imide. This product reads on applicant's lithium single-ion monomer when R1=R2=R3=H, R4 is a phenyl group, L1 is absent, Rf=CF3 and M=Li+. (page 8, Example 1) The structure is below:
Fuji et al. exemplifies adding lithium hydride (reads on applicant's quenching base and lithium cation source) and acetonitrile to a flask. A solution of trifluoromethanesulfonamide (reads on applicant's fluorinated sulfonamide compound, when RA=CF3) is added. Then a solution of 4-styrenesulfonyl chloride (reads on applicant's sulfonyl chloride compound when R1=R2=R3=H, R4 is a phenyl group, L1 is absent) is added. The mixture is stirred at room temperature for 17 hours. The inorganic salts are removed by filtration. The solvent is distilled off. The lithium 4-styrenesulfonyl(trifluoromethylsulfonyl)imide is obtained in 75% yield. (page 8, Example 1, 1st and 2nd paragraphs)
Fuji et al. teaches lithium hydride, lithium hydroxide or sodium carbonate as the particularly preferred base to react with the sulfonamide. (page 4, 1st paragraph)
Fuji et al. teaches the sulfonyl halide (4) (see structure below) has an R3 group that is 4-vinylphenyl, (meth)acryloyloxy or (meth)acryloyloxyalkyl, with 4-vinylphenyl and 3-(meth)acryloyloxypropyl listed as specific examples. Thus Fuji et al. teaches the equivalency of the 4-vinylphenyl (styrene) carbon backbone and the 3-(meth)acryloyloxypropyl (propyl (meth)acrylate) carbon backbone for the sulfonyl halide. (page 2, last paragraph to page 3, 1st paragraph; page 3, last paragraph to page 4, 1st paragraph)
Fuji et al. teaches the by-product halide (lithium chloride) is removed from the sulfonimide by filtration of the inorganic salts and by extraction. (page 5, 2nd paragraph; page 8, Example 1, 1st paragraph)
Fuji et al. teaches the sulfonimide is a monomer that polymerizes. Fuji et al. teaches the use of silica gel, chromatographic analysis and gel permeation chromatography (GPC) in their synthesis and analysis procedures. (page 6, 3rd paragraph; page 7, 1st and 4th paragraphs; page 10, Comparative Example 3)
Fuji et al. does not use an amine or any other nitrogen-based organic cation in Example 1. (page 8, Example 1)
With regard to applicant's limitation for a simultaneous reaction, Fuji et al. adds the lithium hydride, the trifluoromethanesulfonamide and the 4-styrenesulfonyl chloride to the same reaction vessel. The mixture is then stirred for 17 hours to react. Thus the sulfonyl chloride reacts with the fluorinated sulfonamide and the lithium base at the same time, in the same pot. This reads on applicant's simultaneous reaction. Even if it does not, it would be obvious to add all the reactants to a single reaction vessel for a simultaneous reaction since, as indicated in MPEP 2144.04 IV. C., the order of prior art process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results.
Fuji et al. uses lithium hydride as the base. Fuji et al. does not use an amine or form an ammonium salt and thus does not require the synthesis of a nitrogen-based organic cation.
With regard to applicant's limitations in claims 13 and 14 for purifying the lithium single-ion monomer and removing the LiCl byproduct, Fuji et al. filters off the inorganic salts, distills off the solvent and extracts the sulfonimide away from the lithium chloride. This reads on these limitations. With regard to the silica gel flash chromatography of claim 14, it would be obvious to purify the lithium single-ion monomer by silica gel flash chromatography, since Fuji et al. uses silica gel and chromatographic analysis in their procedures, and since silica gel flash chromatography is a standard purification procedure in synthetic organic chemistry. The selection of a known purification technique for its intended purpose is prima facie obvious.
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.012)
Fuji et al. is deficient in the sense that it does not teach that the sulfonyl chloride compound is converted from a sulfonate compound, or that the conversion uses thionyl chloride or oxalyl chloride (claims 1, 9 and 11).
Fuji et al. is also deficient in the sense that it does not exemplify applicant's elected species for the lithium single-ion monomer, with a 3-acryloyloxypropyl carbon backbone (also known as propyl acrylate carbon backbone).
Instead Fuji et al. exemplifies the 4-vinylphenyl carbon backbone (also known as styrene carbon backbone). However, as noted above, Fuji et al. does list 3-(meth)acryloyloxypropyl as an R3 group for the sulfonyl halide.
Phan et al. teaches the synthesis of sulfonyl(trifluoromethane sulfonyl)imide monomers (which correspond to applicant's single-ion monomer) from the corresponding sulfonyl chloride monomer and trifluoromethanesulfonamide. (abstract)
Phan et al. exemplifies the conversion of potassium 3-sulfopropyl acrylate (reads on applicant's sulfonate compound when R1=R2=R3=H, R4 is an ester group, L1 is propyl and M=K+; also reads on the first sulfonate of claim 11 when R=H) to 3-(chlorosulfonyl)propyl acrylate (reads on applicant's sulfonyl chloride compound and on the first sulfonyl chloride of claim 10 when R=H) with oxalyl chloride and N,N-dimethylformamide in acetonitrile. The 3-(chlorosulfonyl)propyl acrylate is then reacted with trifluoromethanesulfonamide to give the sulfonyl(trifluoromethane sulfonyl)imide monomer (ASTFSIK). (page 6903, 1st column, last paragraph to 2nd column, 1st paragraph; page 6904, Scheme 2)
Phan et al. teaches the 3-sulfopropyl (meth)acrylate potassium salts are commercially available and are converted into the sulfonyl chloride derivatives by reaction with oxalyl chloride in the presence of DMF as the catalyst (Vilsmeier–Haack reaction). (page 6904, 2nd column, 1st paragraph)
Phan et al. teaches the same route for the styrene monomer. 4-Vinylbenzenesulfonyl chloride is synthesized, then reacted in situ with trifluoromethanesulfonamide. Cation exchange with LiOH gives the lithium styrene-STFSI monomer. Phan et al. also teaches that Li2CO3 or LiOH is used in the synthesis of the lithium styrene monomer (SSTFSILi). (page 6904, 2nd column, 1st and 2nd paragraphs)
Phan et al. teaches the equivalency of the propyl acrylate carbon backbone (ASTFSIK) and the styrene carbon backbone (SSTFSILi) for the sulfonyl(trifluoromethane sulfonyl)imide monomers. Phan et al. polymerizes each monomer. (page 6902, Scheme 1; page 6904, Table 1; page 6905, Table 2)
See Phan et al. structures below:
(ASTFSIK) Potassium salt monomer with a 3-acryloyloxypropyl carbon backbone (also known as propyl acrylate carbon backbone)
(SSTFSILi) Lithium salt monomer with a 4-vinylphenyl carbon backbone (also known as styrene carbon backbone)
Phan et al. teaches the conversion of the sulfonyl chloride reactant (first compound in the following scheme below) to the resulting (ASTFSIK) product (last compound in the following scheme) (see scheme below). Thus, Phan et al. teaches the formation of (ASTFSIK), which contains the propyl acrylate carbon backbone in the sulfonimide derivative product (which corresponds to applicant’s single-ion monomer), by the reaction of the sulfonyl chloride (also known as sulfonyl halide) reactant. (page 6904, Scheme 2)
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, to obtain the sulfonyl chloride compound of Fuji et al. by converting the corresponding sulfonate compound with oxalyl chloride, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Phan et al. teaches that the sulfonate salts are commercially available and are converted to the sulfonyl chloride by oxalyl chloride and DMF, and since Phan et al. teaches the resulting sulfonyl chloride is then reacted with trifluoromethanesulfonamide to give the same type of sulfonimide monomer made by Fuji et al.
It would also be prima facie obvious to substitute Phan et al.'s propyl acrylate carbon backbone for Fuji et al.'s styrene carbon backbone with a reasonable expectation of success, since Phan et al. teaches the equivalency of the propyl acrylate carbon backbone and the styrene carbon backbone for their sulfonimide monomers, and since Fuji et al. lists both 4-vinylphenyl and 3-(meth)acryloyloxypropyl as R3 groups for the sulfonyl halide.
It would also be obvious to substitute lithium hydroxide for lithium hydride with a reasonable expectation of success, since Fuji et al. teaches lithium hydride and lithium hydroxide as the particularly preferred bases for the same reaction.
Note that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982).
Absent evidence of unexpected results for applicant's particular process steps, it would be obvious to convert the sulfonate compound to the sulfonyl chloride compound with oxalyl chloride, and then to react the sulfonyl chloride compound simultaneously with trifluoromethanesulfonamide and lithium hydroxide in one pot, to give the lithium single-ion monomer with a 3-acryloyloxypropyl carbon backbone, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been considered but are not persuasive for the following reasons:
The examiner acknowledges applicant's argument that Fuji et al. does not disclose a lithium single-ion monomer of the formula now recited in claim 1, and that Phan et al. fails to cure this deficiency.
The examiner does not agree with applicant's arguments. Applicant does not identify any variable of the recited formula that Fuji et al.'s product fails to meet. Fuji et al.'s lithium 4-styrenesulfonyl(trifluoromethylsulfonyl)imide is within the recited formula. R1, R2 and R3 are each H. R4 is a phenyl group. L1 is absent. Rf is CF3. M is Li+. (page 8, Example 1) Fuji et al. also teaches lithium as the particularly preferred cation and trifluoromethyl as the particularly preferred R1 (Rf) group. (page 2, 2nd to 3rd paragraphs)
With regard to the new limitation that the sulfonyl chloride compound is converted from a sulfonate compound, this limitation is taught by Phan et al., as set forth above. Phan et al. converts the commercially available potassium 3-sulfopropyl acrylate to 3-(chlorosulfonyl)propyl acrylate with oxalyl chloride and DMF. (page 6903, 1st column, last paragraph; page 6904, 2nd column, 1st paragraph) Phan et al. is relied upon for this teaching.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER C SAWYER/Examiner, Art Unit 1691
/RENEE CLAYTOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1691