DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1, 3-11, 13-20 are currently pending in this application.
Claims 1, 3, 11, and 13 are amended as filed on 05/27/2026.
Claims 2 and 12 are canceled as filed on 05/27/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8-11, 13-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akella et al. (Pre-Grant Publication No. US 2021/0281582 A1), hereinafter Akella, in view of Crabtree et al. (Pre-Grant Publication No. US 2022/0078210 A1), hereinafter Crabtree.
2. With respect to claim 1, Akella taught an apparatus, comprising: a device linking service configured to unify data streams from different sources of access into a network to get a composite picture of a behavior of an individual physical network device (0052 & 0097, where the different access sources are taught, at least, by the wired vs wireless connection) that has different device identifiers from the different sources of access into the network via cross-referencing information from the different sources of access into the network (0184, where the different MAC address teaches the different identifiers), where the device linking service is configured to create a unified network device identifier for the different device identifiers from the different sources of access into the network (0097), where the device linking service is configured to supply the unified network device identifier and associated information with the different device identifiers from the different sources of access into the network to a prediction engine (0007) and where any instructions for the device linking service and the prediction engine are stored in an executable format on one or more non-transitory computer readable mediums, which are executable by one or more processors (0181 & 0049); wherein the device linking service is configured to create a meta entity identifier from the unified network device identifier and one or more user identifiers associated with the different device identifiers from the different sources of access into the network (0052, where the fingerprint is the meta identifier as it contains the MAC address and, at least, ownership information in accordance with 0096), where the device linking service is configured to supply the meta entity identifier and associated information to a cyber security appliance configured to detect the cyber threat in the network (0070), and where the cyber security appliance is configured to use the meta entity identifier and information associated with the unified network device identifier and the one or more user identifiers associated with the different device identifiers to create multiple models of a pattern of life for the meta entity identifier in order to detect the cyber threat (0052, where the patterns are associated with the image ensembles: 0008, which is associated with the fingerprints: 0249).
However, Akella did not explicitly state that the prediction engine is configured to run a simulation of attack paths for the network attack paths for the network by at least generating a virtual network represented by a graph of nodes representing devices within the network and simulating how a cyberattack could progress within the network based on at least a normal behavior of the devices and a current operational state of each of the devices associated with the nodes. On the other hand, Crabtree did teach that the prediction engine is configured to run a simulation of attack paths for the network attack paths for the network by at least generating a virtual network represented by a graph of nodes representing devices within the network and simulating how a cyberattack could progress within the network based on at least a normal behavior of the devices and a current operational state of each of the devices associated with the nodes (0023, where a graph, in computer science, is an abstract data structure that consists of a set of vertices/nodes that connect pairs of vertices/nodes. A graph is not inherently displayed visually to a human user and, in this case, is represented by the organized virtual node connections that are received and produced by the simulation engine). Both of the systems of Akella and Crabtree are directed towards provided attack prevention tools and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Akella, to utilize simulating an attack path, as taught by Crabtree, in order to provide a more detailed protection to coincide with a device’s modeled behavior.
3. With respect to claim 11, Akella taught a non-transitory computer readable medium configured to store instructions in an executable format in the non-transitory computer readable medium, which when executed by one or more processors cause operations (0181 & 0049), comprising: providing a device linking service to unify data streams from different sources of access into a network to get a composite picture of a behavior of an individual physical network device that has different device identifiers from the different sources of access into the network via cross-referencing information from the different sources of access into the network (0052 & 0097), providing the device linking service to create a unified network device identifier for the different device identifiers from the different sources of access into the network (0184), and providing the device linking service to supply the unified network device identifier and associated information with the different device identifiers from the different sources of access into the network to a prediction engine (0007); providing the device linking service is configured to create a meta entity identifier from the unified network device identifier and one or more user identifiers associated with the different device identifiers from the different sources of access into the network (0052, where the fingerprint is the meta identifier as it contains the MAC address and, at least, ownership information in accordance with 0096), where the device linking service is configured to supply the meta entity identifier and associated information to a cyber security appliance configured to detect the cyber threat in the network (0070), and where the cyber security appliance is configured to use the meta entity identifier and information associated with the unified network device identifier and the one or more user identifiers associated with the different device identifiers to create multiple models of a pattern of life for the meta entity identifier in order to detect the cyber threat (0052, where the patterns are associated with the image ensembles: 0008, which is associated with the fingerprints: 0249).
However, Akella did not explicitly state that the prediction engine is configured to run a simulation of attack paths for the network attack paths for the network by at least generating a virtual network represented by a graph of nodes representing devices within the network and simulating how a cyberattack could progress within the network based on at least a normal behavior of the devices and a current operational state of each of the devices associated with the nodes, and providing the device linking service to then link the unified network device identifier with a user in the network. On the other hand, Crabtree did teach that the prediction engine is configured to run a simulation of attack paths for the network attack paths for the network by at least generating a virtual network represented by a graph of nodes representing devices within the network and simulating how a cyberattack could progress within the network based on at least a normal behavior of the devices and a current operational state of each of the devices associated with the nodes (0023, where a graph, in computer science, is an abstract data structure that consists of a set of vertices/nodes that connect pairs of vertices/nodes. A graph is not inherently displayed visually to a human user and, in this case, is represented by the organized virtual node connections that are received and produced by the simulation engine), and providing the device linking service to then link the unified network device identifier with a user in the network (0103). Both of the systems of Akella and Crabtree are directed towards provided attack prevention tools and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Akella, to utilize simulating an attack path, as taught by Crabtree, in order to provide a more detailed protection to coincide with a device’s modeled behavior.
4. As for claims 3 and 13, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 2 and 12 (respectively). In addition, Akella taught where the cyber security appliance is configured to have an autonomous response module to autonomously respond to mitigate the cyber threat as well as to cooperate with the prediction engine in order to determine how to properly autonomously respond to a cyber-attack by the cyber threat based upon simulations run in the prediction engine modelling the attack paths into and through the network (0063).
5. As for claims 4 and 14, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1 and 11 (respectively). In addition, Akella taught where the device linking service is configured to cooperate with a firewall configuration ingester and the prediction engine, where the prediction engine is configured to monitor traffic into the network in order to map all of the paths into and through the network taken by the monitored traffic, where the firewall configuration ingester is configured to ingest firewall rules to determine theoretically possible paths through the network in accordance with the firewall rules and a mapping of nodes of the network, and where the prediction engine is configured to combine all of the paths into and through the network taken by the monitored traffic with the possible paths through the network theoretically possible in accordance with the firewall rules from the firewall configuration ingester in light of the unified network device identifier with a user entity in the network from the device linking service to determine possible attack paths when running the simulation of attack paths for the network that the cyber threat may take (0083, where the firewall and simulations can be further seen in 0118).
6. As for claims 5 and 15, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1 and 11 (respectively). In addition, Akella taught where the device linking service is configured to passively monitor the data streams from different sources having access into the network as well as to actively query third party platforms to gather and ingest device data, user data, and activity data from multiple third party vendors and then analyze the ingested data, and then pass the ingested data into the prediction engine to perform the simulation of attack paths for the network that the cyber threat may take (0080-0081, where the third-party vendors can be seen in Crabtree: 0115, wherein the sources within the confines of the business teaches the local network and the external cloud based sources outside of the client business teaches the external third party vendor sources under BRI. See also: 0118).
7. As for claims 6 and 16, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1 and 11 (respectively). In addition, Akella taught where the device linking service is configured to maintain data from the data streams in their generic format as well as put relevant data into a uniform analysis format in a central data store via translation and mapping and then using the central data store to store the relevant data for the uniform analysis format (0231, the tensor format).
8. As for claims 8 and 18, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1 and 11 (respectively). In addition, Crabtree taught where the device linking service is configured to aggregate network presence information about a user of the network and their different user accounts on different third-party applications served from third-party platforms external to the network, who is then also associated with this particular individual physical network device (0115, where the web is crawled).
9. As for claims 9 and 19, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1 and 11 (respectively). In addition, Crabtree taught further comprising: a firewall configuration ingester configured to cooperate with the device linking service, where the firewall configuration ingester is configured to examine rules of firewall configurations and their settings to model changes in these rules over time to detect unusual rules over time to the firewall configurations that cause new attack path modelling routes into the network (0107).
10. As for claims 10 and 20, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1 and 11 (respectively). In addition, Akella taught further comprising: a firewall configuration ingester configured to cooperate with the device linking service and the prediction engine, where the firewall configuration ingester is configured to examine firewall rules implemented by a firewall to identify routes into the network allowed by a current firewall rules and supply the prediction engine with a set of possible routes that a cyber-attack by the cyber threat may take into the network and permitted reasons into the network (0109).
Claim(s) 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akella, in view of Crabtree, and in further view of MAJKOWSKI et al. (Pre-Grant Publication No. US 2021/0306371 A1), hereinafter Majkowski.
11. As for claims 7 and 17, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1 and 11 (respectively). In addition, Akella taught where the device linking service is configured to apply using a central data store to store data points organized by how the data points relate to another data point (0231). However, Akella did not explicitly state to apply at least one of string matching and fuzzy logic to cross-reference information from the different sources of access into the network. On the other hand, Majkowski did teach apply at least one of string matching and fuzzy logic to cross-reference information from the different sources of access into the network (0075, where this, at least, teaches the fuzzy logic limitation). Both of the systems of Akella and Majkowski are directed towards provided attack prevention tools and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Akella, to utilize fuzzy logic as part of the learning algorithm, as fuzzy logic was a standard programming technique for processing data.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
12. The applicant argues on pages 10-11 that “Akella paragraph [0052] is merely a section heading titled "Determining Request Information," and the surrounding disclosure discusses determining request information for HTTP requests-not creating a meta entity identifier that combines a unified network device identifier with user identifiers. Akella's system tracks web request referral information between network resources. It does not teach or suggest creating a meta entity identifier from a unified network device identifier combined with one or more user identifiers associated with different device identifiers from different sources of access into the network, as recited by claim 1 as amended. Neither does Akella teach using such a meta entity identifier to create multiple models of a pattern of life for the meta entity identifier in order to detect the cyber threat”.
However, as can be seen with the updated citations, Akella does teach the meta identifier in, at least, the fingerprint containing the MAC and Ownership information (0052 & 0096) and the cyber threat handling can be seen in 0070.
13. The applicant argues on page 10 that the “referrer data structure described in Crabtree "enables one or more of the servers to detect distributed denial-of-service attack, detect malicious bots, and/or assist in a search process." Id. Crabtree's "referrer graph" is a data structure that tracks which web resources refer to other web resources-it is fundamentally different from a graph of nodes representing physical network devices for simulating how a cyberattack could progress through a network.”
However, the examiner’s previous argument is reproduced: “0023, where a graph, in computer science, is an abstract data structure that consists of a set of vertices/nodes that connect pairs of vertices/nodes. A graph is not inherently displayed visually to a human user and, in this case, is represented by the organized virtual node connections that are received and produced by the simulation engine”. Thus, the aforementioned argument is maintained as the claim does not require that the graph be represented as a graphical user interface.
14. The applicant argues on page 10-11 that “Crabtree's referrer graph tracks web request referral relationships between network resources (URLs/URIs), not the behavior or operational state of physical network devices. The Examiner's own characterization acknowledges this is merely "an abstract data structure that consists of a set of vertices/nodes that connect pairs of vertices/nodes-a generic description of a graph data structure that does not teach the specific claimed functionality of generating a virtual network represented by a graph of nodes representing devices within the network and simulating how a cyberattack could progress within the network based on at least a normal behavior of the devices and a current operational state of each of the devices associated with the nodes, as recited by claim 1 as amended. There is no teaching in Crabtree of simulating attack progression based on normal device behavior and current operational state of network devices.“
However, 0023 explicitly states that it is modelling/simulating iterations of attacks and on the network which teaches simulating attack progressions under broadest reasonable interpretation. If the applicant intends a specific definition of a simulated attack progression, then it should be amended into the claims accordingly. See also, 0110 that explicitly states that it is monitoring how an attack progresses.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH L GREENE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443