Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 1-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 9,730,956 (‘956). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘956 patent discloses a liquid nitric oxide releasing solution (NORS) comprised of at least one nitric oxide releasing compound and at least one acidifying agent, wherein the NORS provides an extended release of a therapeutically effective amount of nitric oxide gas (gNO), wherein the gNO is released over a period of at least 30 minutes, wherein the amount of the at least one nitric oxide releasing compound is not greater than about 0.5% w/v, and wherein the amount of the at least one acidifying agent is no greater than about 0.5% w/v. Sodium nitrite is found in claim 3. Citric acid is found in claim 5. Method for treating wound is found in claim 12.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to obtain the claimed invention given the claims of the ‘956 patent. This is because the ‘956 patent discloses a liquid nitric oxide releasing solution similar to that of the present invention.
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,905,712 (‘712). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘712 patent discloses a liquid nitric oxide releasing solution (NORS) comprising at least one nitric oxide releasing compound and at least one acidifying agent, wherein the NORS provides an extended release of a therapeutically effective amount of nitric oxide gas (gNO), wherein the gNO is released over a period of at least 30 minutes, and wherein either the amount of the at least one nitric oxide releasing compound is not greater than about 0.5% w/v, or the amount of the at least one acidifying agent is not greater than about 0.5% w/v, and wherein the NORS has a pH of from about 1 to about 4 during gNO release. Therapeutic concentration is found in claim 8. The claimed release rates are found in claims 10-13.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to obtain the claimed invention given the claims of the ‘712 patent. This is because the ‘712 patent discloses a liquid nitric oxide releasing solution similar to that of the present invention, namely, a liquid composition comprising at least one nitric oxide releasing compound and at least one acidifying agent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Stenzler et al. US 2015/0157657 A1.
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
This rejection has been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s Remarks filed 05/21/2025.
Claims 1-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miller et al. US 2012/0003293 A1.
This rejection has been withdrawn in view of the Amendment filed 05/21/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kross et al. US 2003/0175362 A1, in view of Miller et al. US 20120003293 A1.
Kross teaches a composition comprises a topical wound healing aqueous solution containing a suitable amount of a protic acid, or a material inducing an acidic environment therein, and a suitable amount of a nitrite salt. See paragraph 0017. Nitrite salt includes sodium nitrite is found in paragraph 0030 and Claims. Acid includes citric acid is found in claim 6. Example 1 shows saline used in aqueous solution containing nitrite salt. Disinfecting solution is found in paragraph 0086. Nitrite salt such as sodium nitrite present in the solution in a concentration ranging from about 0.01% to about 1% is found in claim 2. This teaching falls within the claimed range of about 12 ppm to 400 ppm (0.012% to 0.04%). Concentration of the acid agent is found in Claim 7.
Kross does not teach the composition provides an extended release property.
Kross teaches an aqueous gel or water activation wound dressing composition. The activation may, for example, be triggered by the user or by a care giver. The aqueous gel or water may, for example, come from hydro-gel capsules or breakable packets. Post-release the aqueous gel or water will mingle with the sodium nitrite, citric acid, and oxygen-releasing compound to produce NO. See paragraph 0014. The present dressings comprise a source of gaseous NO. The source may comprise sodium nitrite and citric acid. The reaction between sodium nitric and citric acid may be catalyzed by the presence of an aqueous gel or water. Accordingly, the present invention preferably comprises a source for an aqueous gel or water. The source may comprise hydro-gel capsules or packets comprising an aqueous gel. The hydro-gel capsules or packets may be configured so as to release the aqueous component upon the controllable activation of a device by the user. A suitable device for activating the aqueous component may comprise a pull tab attached to the hydro-gel capsules, which when pulled, breaks the capsules to release the inner aqueous component. Such device may also comprise aqueous gel or water packets, such packets being broken to release the inner aqueous component by applying pressure over the wound dressing. The commingling of the sodium nitrite, citric acid, and aqueous component produces gaseous NO which can diffuse through at least a portion of the wound dressing. Application of the wound dressing or bandage over a surface or subsurface lesion may also result in subsequent absorption of liquid into the dressing from the wound, which could act as a further catalyst for the NO-producing reaction. See paragraph 0041. Firg. 5 shows the time release that falls within the claimed range.
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to, by routine experimentation select to control the release of the active agent with the expectation to provide therapeutic treatment to the wound with improved patient compliance, convenience in view of the prolonged protection to the wound site.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 07/14/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Correspondence
/SUSAN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615