Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 9/26/2025 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US20060098411) in view of Chen (US20120216991).
Claim 1: Lee discloses a vapor chamber degassing tube structure (Figs. 1-5), comprising a first plate (12), comprising a recess portion (note central portion of 12) and a flange (12a) surrounding the recess portion, a receiving space (note space within central portion of 12) defined on the recess portion, the flange (12a) comprising a first side facing a same direction as the receiving space and a second side opposite to the first side (see Figs. 3-4), and a tube connector (12b) disposed protrusively from the second side and located on the flange (Figs. 3-4); a second plate (14), covering the recess portion of the first plate (Figs. 1 and 4), and connected with the flange (Figs. 1 and 4); and a degassing tube (16), disposed in the tube connector (Fig. 3); wherein a degassing opening is defined concavely on the first side and located on the tube connector (note opening within 12b), the degassing opening is inward shrunk and the first side of the flange is formed two opposite shrunk portions to form a shrunk degassing opening (Fig. 3, see Figure below, Examiner noting that the stamped flange operation will necessarily include the shrunk/constricted opening with facing shrunk portions), a maximum width of the degassing opening is defined in the tube connector and a minimum width of the degassing opening is defined between the two shrunk portions and the minimum width is less than the maximum width (Fig. 3, see Figure below) and the shrunk degassing opening is inserted by the degassing tube (note 16 in Fig. 3 and its resultant state in Fig. 1).
Lee is not deeply explicit about the process of the opening being inward shrunk to form two opposite shrunk portions or that the shrunk degassing opening is inserted by the degassing tube. However, Chen teaches a heat pipe arrangement (Figs. 3A-3C) which lays out the insertion of a tube (20) into an opening (11’; Fig. 3A/3B) after which the opening being inward shrunk to form two opposite shrunk portions (Fig. 3C, note portions 12). Such a connection prevents the tube from becoming loose over time (paragraphs 5-6). Chen’s teachings (namely Fig. 3C) incorporated into Lee tube/opening arrangement would nicely accommodate Lee’s second plate as it covers the first plate and make for the degassing tube to be tightly connected in the tube connector and reduce a gap therebetween without filling additional material (Examiner noting the flush fit in Chen’s Fig. 3C which utilizes no filler and has not gap). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize the assembly teachings of Chen into the apparatus of Lee in order to keep the connection firm and tight and reduce the changes of the connection becoming loose.
Claim 2: Lee and Chen teach the previous limitations. Lee further discloses a wick structure (18) is disposed inside the first plate and the second plate.
Claim 3: Lee and Chen teach the previous limitations. Lee further discloses that multiple support structures (20) are disposed spacedly inside the first plate and the second plate.
Claim 4: Lee and Chen teach the previous limitations. Lee further discloses that the recess portion is indented from the first side of the flange to define the receiving space (Fig. 3).
Claim 5: Lee and Chen teach the previous limitations. Lee further discloses that the second plate (14) is a flat plate with a flat inner surface and a flat outer surface (Figs. 2-3).
Claim 7: Lee and Chen teach the previous limitations. Lee further discloses that the maximum width is substantially matching with an outer diameter of the degassing tube (Fig. 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner has newly utilized the Chen reference to account for the amendments to claim 1. While Examiner believes that Lee does in fact provide shrunk portions (notated above) oppositely arranged in the degassing opening, Chen outlines an enhanced assembly technique for a tube and opening which not only similarly provides for oppositely arranged shrunk portions but does so in a way that provides a tight connection between the tube and opening, reducing the joint from becoming loose.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN C ZOLLINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746