DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Received 05/19/2026
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1, 8, 10, and 11 has/have been amended.
The 35 U.S.C § 103 rejection to claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered in view of the amendments received on 05/19/2026 and are fully addressed in the prior art rejection below.
Response to Arguments
Received 05/19/2026
Applicant's arguments filed 05/192026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive; as expressed below.
Regarding independent claim(s) 1, 8, and 11:
Applicant argues (Remarks, Page 24, ¶ 7 to Page 25, ¶ 5), that “… a ‘component’ comprising (among other elements in combination) a ‘composite structure’ in which ‘the cover base comprising the projection is integrally-formed from the cover base material comprising the light transmissive material comprising the molded resin material as a light guide comprising the projection’ (emphasis added), which is not identically disclosed in Cho and/or Cho-930 and/or Yuzawa and/or Yoshitani. See also TABLES A-D.
The subject matter recited in independent Claims 1, 8 and 11 (as amended) would not have been obvious over Cho in view of Cho-930 and/or Yuzawa and/or Yoshitani under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Neither Cho nor Cho-930 nor Yuzawa nor Yoshitani alone or in any proper combination, disclose, teach or suggest the ‘component’ comprising (among other elements in combination) a ‘composite structure’ in which ‘the cover base comprising the projection is integrally-formed from the cover base material comprising the light transmissive material comprising the molded resin material as a light guide comprising the projection’ as recited in Claims 1, 8 and 11 (as amended).
The suggestion to make the combination of Cho and/or Cho-930 and/or Yuzawa and/or Yoshitani has been taken from the Applicants' own specification (using hindsight), which is improper.
To transform the combination of Cho and/or Cho-930 and/or Yuzawa and/or Yoshitani to the ‘component’ comprising (among other elements in combination) a ‘composite structure’ in which ‘the cover base comprising the projection is integrally-formed from the cover base material comprising the light transmissive material comprising the molded resin material as a light guide comprising the projection’ recited in independent Claims 1, 8 and 11 (as amended) would require still further modification, and such modification is taught only by the Applicants' own disclosure.
The subject matter recited in independent Claims 1, 8 and 11 (as amended) considered as a whole would not have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art. The rejection of Claims 1, 8 and 11 (as amended) over Cho in view of Cho-930 and/or Yuzawa and/or Yoshitani under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is improper.”
The Examiner disagrees. Applicant fails to view the broadness of the claimed invention. Wherein, Applicant infers limitations that are silent within the claims. Although, the projection (of the element / cover base) is further limited as being a light transmissive material comprising a resin, however the projection fails to be a differentiation from the taught cover base (itself). The teachings of Cho et al. (US PGPUB No. 20190275931 A1) a transparent resin (400’) that covers the entire upper surface including a light guide plate (201, 300, 300) [¶ 0090-0096]. Thus, the transparent resin (corresponding to the cover base) is configured to allow transmission of light from the cover base, to comprise a projection (of light) integrally-formed from light transmissive material (of the cover itself) comprising a resin. Applicant’s arguments infers (1) the projection is a different element from the light guide and/or cover, and/or (2) the projection is a protruded feature extending from or outward of the cover (based on the Remarks (Page 20, ¶ 1 & Page 22, ¶ 1) regarding (both) Cho et al.), however the limitation of “integrally-formed” fails to differentiate for the cover base.
Additionally, although the term “integrally-formed” is inferred as to define a limitation of (physical) structure for a projection, said term is considered to mean “necessary to make a whole complete; essential or fundamental”.
Additionally, the teachings of Yoshitani et al. (US PGPUB No. 202149506 A1) and Yuzawa et al. (US PGPUB No. 20020031620 A1) are not relied upon when addressing the projection (and the cover base).
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Lastly, the cover (or cover base) as taught by the combination of prior art is limited in certain aspects regarding appearance, if Applicant is seeking to indicate a raised portion of the cover that would fit into a molded light guide (or indentation of a light guide), then it is suggested that further detail is incorporate within the claim language in order to overcome the teachings of Cho et al.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al., US PGPUB No. 20190275931 A1, hereinafter Cho, and further in view of Cho et al., US PGPUB No. 20190275930 A1, hereinafter Cho-930.
Regarding claim 1, Cho disclose a component for a vehicle interior (Cho; a component for a vehicle interior [¶ 0043]; moreover, switch assembly of a vehicle door [¶ 0018-0019]) comprising:
a composite structure (Cho; a composite/assemble structure [¶ 0084], as illustrated within Fig. 7; moreover, structure as depicted within Fig. 7E [¶ 0102-0103]) comprising:
(a) a cover comprising a cover base and a cover layer configured to provide a cover surface at a surface level (Cho; the composite structure [as addressed above] comprises a cover comprising a cover base (i.e. transparent resin) and a cover layer (i.e. transparent paint/skin) configured to provide a cover surface at a surface level [¶ 0090-0094 and ¶ 0101-0103], as illustrated within Fig. 7);
(b) a base (Cho; the composite structure [as addressed above] comprises a base [¶ 0089-0094], as illustrated within Fig. 7; moreover, transparent resin injection-molded [¶ 0084-0086] associated with upper side of a light guide plate [¶ 0089-0094]);
wherein the cover base comprises an element configured to present a visual object (Cho; the cover base [as addressed above] comprises an element (i.e. substrate, light-guide) configured to implicitly present a visual object (given a light guide) [¶ 0084-0086 and ¶ 0098]; additionally, a visual object is implicitly presented via a light guide given depicted symbols [¶ 0051-0053 and ¶ 0079-0081], as illustrated within Fig. 5 and Fig. 6);
wherein the element is configured to present the visual object at the cover surface of the cover (Cho; wherein the element (i.e. substrate, light-guide) [as addressed above] is configured to implicitly present the visual object (given the light guide) at the cover surface of the cover [¶ 0051-0053 and ¶ 0079-0081], as illustrated within Fig. 5 and Fig. 6; moreover, a light guide plate is engraved with symbols [¶ 0098]);
wherein the cover layer comprises an aperture (Cho; wherein the cover layer [as addressed above] comprises an implicit aperture/opening (given a protrusion into the transparent resin) [¶ 0088-0090], as illustrated within Fig. 7; moreover, injection molded transparent resin [¶ 0094]; and moreover, as illustrated within Fig. 7: configurations C-D, the difference of H1 and H2 corresponds to an opening (corresponding to an aperture) within a layer that forms the cover; additionally, as illustrated within Fig. 4: configurations E-F, depicts an alternative configuration that enables the opening (corresponding to an aperture) to penetrate the transparent resin in a manner that is closer to the transparent skin [¶ 0073-0075]);
wherein the element comprises a projection configured to project from the base and fit into the aperture of the cover layers (Cho; wherein the element (i.e. substrate, light-guide) [as addressed above] comprises a projection configured to project from the base and fit into the aperture of the cover layers (i.e. the cover correlating to the composite) [¶ 0088-0090], as illustrated within configurations C-D of Fig. 7; additionally, as illustrated within configurations E-F of Fig. 4, the light guide from a base is fit into an opening (corresponding to an aperture) of the cover layers [¶ 0073-0075]);
wherein the cover base comprises the projection (Cho; the cover base comprises the projection [¶ 0088-0090 and ¶ 0101-0103]; moreover, Fig. 7 illustrates, configurations C-D that depict aspects of a light guide (comprising a symbol) fit within a cover; in other words, a projection of light);
wherein the cover base comprising the element comprising the projection comprises a light-transmissive material comprising a molded resin material (Cho; the cover base comprising the element (i.e. substrate, light-guide) comprising the projection [as addressed above] (further) comprises a light-transmissive material [¶ 0084 and ¶ 0088-0089]; moreover, light guide [¶ 0050-0053]; additionally, the light guide irradiates light [¶ 0079 and ¶ 0083]);
wherein the cover layer comprises a cover layer material and the cover base comprises a cover base material (Cho; the cover layer (i.e. transparent paint/skin) comprises a cover layer material (i.e. urethane) and the cover base comprises a cover base material (i.e. TPE) [¶ 0091-0093 and ¶ 0095-0096]; additionally, an assembly [¶ 0044 and ¶ 0061] comprises one or more materials (e.g. plastic, vinyl, foam, thermoplastic, or resin) [¶ 0058, ¶ 0062-0063, and ¶ 0066-0067]);
wherein the cover base comprising the projection is integrally-formed from the cover base material comprising the light transmissive material comprising the molded resin material as a light guide comprising the projection (Cho; the cover base comprising the projection [as addressed above] is integrally-formed from the cover base material comprising the light transmissive material comprising the molded resin material [¶ 0091-0093] as a light guide comprising the projection [¶ 0052-0054 and ¶ 0084-0086]; wherein, the cover is configured to transmit light by emitting/projecting [¶ 0095]);
wherein the cover layer material is different than the cover base material (Cho; wherein the cover layer material is different than the cover base material [¶ 0091-0092 and ¶ 0095-0096]; in other words, the urethane differs from TPE; moreover, the cover materials [as addressed above]);
wherein the cover layer is molded on the cover base to form the cover as a molded cover structure (Cho; wherein the cover layer (i.e. transparent paint/skin) [as addressed above] is molded on the cover base to form the cover as a molded cover structure [¶ 0094 and ¶ 0102], as illustrated within Fig. 7; wherein, cover layer is a part of an assembly [¶ 0084]; additionally, a transparent skin is an upper surface applied to foam [¶ 0074], as illustrated within Fig. 4).
Cho fails to explicitly disclose an aperture.
However, Cho-930 teaches the cover layer comprises an aperture (Cho-930; the cover layer comprises an aperture (i.e. holes) [¶ 0081-0084]; wherein, holes serve as a passage through which light passes and symbols are displayed on the transparent skin [¶ 0069-0072]).
Cho and Cho-930 are considered to be analogous art because both pertain to providing visual data to a user, wherein a light guide or light source is utilized in order to produce a visualization effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Cho, to incorporate the cover layer comprises an aperture (as taught by Cho-930), in order to provide an improved external appearance of a switch assembly of a vehicle that is subjectively attractive to a user (Cho-930; [¶ 0001, ¶ 0011, ¶ 0017-0018, and ¶ 0029]).
Regarding claim 2, Cho in view of Cho-930 further discloses the component of Claim 1 wherein the element is configured to project to a level above the surface level of the cover surface of the cover layer (Cho; the element (i.e. substrate, light-guide) [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] is configured to project (light or an image/symbol) to a level above/through the surface level of the cover surface of the cover layer (i.e. transparent paint/skin) [¶ 0051-0053, ¶ 0079-0081, and ¶ 0088]; wherein, a light guide is configured to omit/project light [¶ 0050]).
Regarding claim 3, Cho in view of Cho-930 further discloses the component of Claim 1 wherein the element is configured to project to a level below the surface level of the cover surface of the cover layer (Cho; the element (i.e. substrate, light-guide) [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] is configured to project to a level (i.e. transparent resin) below the surface level of the cover surface of the cover layer (i.e. transparent paint/skin) [¶ 0079-0081, ¶ 0089-0090, and ¶ 0093]; wherein, a light guide is configured to omit/project light [¶ 0050-0053]).
Regarding claim 4, Cho in view of Cho-930 further discloses the component of Claim 1 wherein the visual object comprises an image and/or a symbol and/or icon and/or logo and/or indicator and/or an illuminable visual object (Cho; the visual object [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] comprises an image and/or a symbol and/or icon and/or logo and/or indicator and/or an illuminable visual object [¶ 0098]; additionally, light guide pattern(s) [¶ 0051-0053], as illustrated within Fig. 5, is/are illumined [¶ 0079-0080], as illustrated within Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5, Cho in view of Cho-930 further discloses the component of Claim 1 wherein the element comprises a decorative layer below an underside of the cover layer (Cho; the element (i.e. substrate, light-guide) [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] comprises a decorative layer (i.e. pattern) below an underside of the cover layer (i.e. transparent paint/skin) [¶ 0093 and ¶ 0098], as illustrated by configurations C-E within Fig. 7; additionally, light guide pattern(s) [¶ 0051-0053], as illustrated within Figs. 5 and 6; additionally, a transparent skin is an upper surface applied to light guide [¶ 0074], as illustrated within Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Cho in view of Cho-930 further discloses the component of Claim 5 wherein the cover layer material comprises a color different than a color of the cover base material (Cho; the cover layer material [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] comprises an implicit color (given 5% transmittance resin) different than an implicit color (given 64% transmittance thermoplastic elastomer) of the cover base material [¶ 0091 and ¶ 0095]; still further, as illustrated within Fig. 7, the color (as depicted) of the transparent resin material is implicit different from the color (as depicted) of the transparent paint material [¶ 0084]).
Regarding claim 7, Cho in view of Cho-930 further discloses the component of Claim 1 wherein the cover layer comprises at least one of (a) a TPE material;
(b) a TPV material;
(c) a PU material (Cho; the cover layer (i.e. transparent paint/skin) [as addressed above] comprises (at least one of (c)) a PU (polyurethane) material (corresponding to urethane paint) [¶ 0095-0096]);
(d) an injection molded thermoplastic material;
(e) a generally opaque material (Cho; the cover layer (i.e. transparent paint/skin) [as addressed above] comprises (at least one of (e)) a generally opaque (i.e. 95% non-transmittance (& 5% transmissive)) material (i.e. urethane) [¶ 0095-0096]);
(f) a material formed on the cover base (Cho; the cover layer (i.e. transparent paint/skin) [as addressed above] comprises (at least one of (f)) a material (i.e. urethane paint) formed on the cover base [¶ 0095-0096 and ¶ 0102]; additionally, laminated on surface [¶ 0044]);
(g) a material molded onto the cover base;
(h) a material formed with the cover base.
(an omission of applied prior art to alternative limitations does not equate to a lack of teaching(s); wherein, the claim has been sufficiently addressed, however additional limitations within the alternative language above although not addressed above may still be addressed by the applied prior art)
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 8 is addressed within the rejection of claims 1 and 3, due to the similarities claim 8 and claims 1 and 3 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claims 1 and 3 regarding the rejection of claim 8. Although, claim 8 and claims 1 and 3 may not be identical, they are considerably comparable or substantially equivalent given their overlapping subject matter. However, the subject matter/limitations not addressed by claim 1 is/are addressed below.
Cho discloses wherein the element is configured to project from the base and fit into a recess of the cover (Cho; the element is configured to project from the base and fit into an implicit recess (given the protrusion into the transparent resin) of the cover [¶ 0088-0090], as illustrated within Fig. 7; moreover, as illustrated within Fig. 7: configurations C-D, the difference of H1 and H2 corresponds to a recess (further corresponding to an aperture/opening) within a layer that forms the cover; additionally, as illustrated within Fig. 4: configurations E-F, depicts an alternative configuration that enables the recess (further corresponding to an aperture/opening) to penetrate the transparent resin in a manner that is closer to the transparent skin [¶ 0073-0075]);
wherein the cover layer material is softer than the cover base material (Cho; the cover layer material (i.e. urethane paint) is softer than the cover base material (i.e. thermoplastic elastomer (TPE)) [¶ 0091-0094 and ¶ 0096]; wherein, the thickness of the TPE (between 1.0-2.5 MM) is implicitly larger than the urethane [¶ 0091], as illustrated by configuration E within Fig. 7; additionally, the cover base material corresponding to a foam (i.e. polyurethane (PU)) and the cover layer material corresponding to a fabric (i.e. thermoplastic (TPO) or polyvinyl chloride (PVC)), such that the cover layer material is softer than the cover base material [¶ 0062-0067]; still further, the relative differences in thickness of the materials corresponds to a difference in softness (e.g. foam thickness of 2-5MM and fabric thickness of 0.5-1.0 MM) [id.]); and
wherein the cover layer material of the cover layer is formed onto the cover base material of the cover base by a molding process to provide the cover of the composite structure (Cho; wherein the cover layer material of the cover layer is formed onto the cover base material of the cover base by a molding process to provide the cover of the composite structure (i.e. assembly) [¶ 0094 and ¶ 0102], as illustrated within Fig. 7; wherein, cover layer is a part of an assembly [¶ 0084]; and wherein, one or more cover materials [as addressed above]; moreover, as illustrated by configuration E within Fig. 7, the composite structure corresponds to the assembly; additionally, a transparent skin is an upper surface applied to foam [¶ 0074], as illustrated within Fig. 4).
(further refer to the rejection of claims 1 and 3)
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 9 is addressed within the rejection of claim 4, due to the similarities claim 9 and claim 4 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 4 regarding the rejection of claim 9; however, the subject matter/limitations not addressed by claim 4 is/are addressed below.
Cho discloses a visual object configured to be illuminated by a light source (Cho; a visual object configured to be illuminated by a light source [¶ 0050-0053 and ¶ 0098], as illustrated within Fig. 5 and Fig. 6).
(further refer to the rejection of claim 4)
Regarding claim 10, Cho in view of Cho-930 further discloses the component of Claim 8 wherein the recess of the cover comprises an aperture of the cover layer (Cho; the implicit recess (given the protrusion into the transparent resin) of the cover [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] comprises an aperture/opening of the cover layer (i.e. transparent paint/skin) [¶ 0088-0090], as illustrated within Fig. 7; wherein, as illustrated within Fig. 7: configurations C-D, a protrusion/recess (further corresponding to an aperture/opening) is within a layer that forms the cover);
wherein the base comprises a light guide (Cho; wherein the base [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] comprises a light guide [¶ 0087-0090]; moreover, light guide assembly [¶ 0098-0101]);
wherein the element comprises a projection from a top surface of the base formed into the aperture of the cover layer (Cho; the element (i.e. substrate, light guide) comprises a projection from a top surface of the base [¶ 0086-0087 and ¶ 0098-0100] formed into the aperture of the cover layer [¶ 0088-0090], as illustrated within Fig. 7; additionally, as illustrated within Fig. 4: configurations E-F, depicts an alternative configuration that enables the recess (further corresponding to an aperture/opening) to penetrate the transparent resin in a manner that is closer to the transparent skin [¶ 0073-0075]; wherein, the cover layer is a composite of materials, as illustrated within Fig. 4 and Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 8 is addressed within the rejection of claim 1, due to the similarities claim 8 and claim 1 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 1 regarding the rejection of claim 8. Although, claim 8 and claim 1 may not be identical, they are considerably comparable or substantially equivalent given their overlapping subject matter. However, the subject matter/limitations not addressed by claim 1 is/are addressed below.
Cho discloses wherein the cover base material comprises a light-transmissive material (Cho; wherein the cover base material comprises a light-transmissive material [¶ 0091]; wherein, transmittance is 64% [id.]; moreover, the cover base (i.e. transparent resin) associated with the cover base material (i.e. thermoplastic elastomer (TPE)) [¶ 0091-0094]);
wherein the cover layer material of the cover layer is molded onto the cover base material of the cover base to provide the cover of the composite structure (Cho; wherein the cover layer material of the cover layer is molded onto the cover base material of the cover base to provide the cover of the composite structure (i.e. assembly) [¶ 0094 and ¶ 0102], as illustrated within Fig. 7; wherein, cover layer is a part of an assembly [¶ 0084]; and wherein, one or more cover materials [as addressed above]; moreover, as illustrated by configuration E within Fig. 7, the composite structure corresponds to the assembly; additionally, a transparent skin is an upper surface applied to foam [¶ 0074], as illustrated within Fig. 4).
(further refer to the rejection of claims 1 and 3)
Regarding claim 12, the rejection of claim 12 is addressed within the rejection of claim 6, due to the similarities claim 12 and claim 6 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 6 regarding the rejection of claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, the rejection of claim 13 is addressed within the rejection of claim 8, due to the similarities claim 13 and claim 8 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 8 regarding the rejection of claim 13.
Regarding claim 16, the rejection of claim 16 is addressed within the rejection of claim 2, due to the similarities claim 16 and claim 2 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 2 regarding the rejection of claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, the rejection of claim 17 is addressed within the rejection of claim 3, due to the similarities claim 17 and claim 3 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 3 regarding the rejection of claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, the rejection of claim 18 is addressed within the rejection of claim 4, due to the similarities claim 18 and claim 4 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 4 regarding the rejection of claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, Cho in view of Cho-930 further discloses the component of Claim 11 wherein the cover base comprises a light guide (Cho; the cover base (i.e. transparent resin) comprises a light guide (within a protrusion) [¶ 0088-0090 and ¶ 0101], as illustrated by configurations D-E within Fig. 7; additionally, as illustrated within Fig. 4: configurations E-F, depicts an alternative configuration that enables the transparent resin (i.e. cover base) comprises a light guide within a recess/penetration [¶ 0073-0075]; moreover, light guide [¶ 0050]);
wherein the light guide is configured to illuminate the visual object when illuminated by a light source (Cho; the light guide [as addressed above] is configured to implicitly illuminate the visual object (given the light guide) when illuminated by a light source [¶ 0050-0052 and ¶ 0079-0081], as illustrated within Fig. 5 and Fig. 6; moreover, a light guide plate is engraved with symbols [¶ 0098]).
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Cho-930 as applied to claim(s) 11 above, and further in view of Yuzawa et al., US PGPUB No. 20020031620 A1, hereinafter Yuzawa.
Regarding claim 14, Cho in view of Cho-930 further discloses the component of Claim 11 wherein a layer below the cover layer (Cho; a layer below the cover layer (i.e. transparent paint/skin) [¶ 0084], as illustrated within Fig. 7,).
Cho as modified by Cho-930 fails to disclose an intermediate layer on a top surface of the cover base.
However, Yuzawa teaches wherein a layer below the cover layer comprises an intermediate layer on a top surface of the cover base (Yuzawa; a layer below the cover layer comprises an intermediate layer on a top surface of the cover base [¶ 0090-0091 and ¶ 0096-0097], as illustrated within Fig. 4; moreover, as illustrated by configuration C within Fig. 4, an assembled structure of layers that allow for intermediate layers between a base substrate layer and a topcoat layer; additionally, other configurations of layered assemblies, as illustrated within Fig. 5, utilize one or more intermediate layers between a topcoat and a base substrate layer [¶ 0100-0102 and ¶ 0104-0105]; still further, other configurations of layered assemblies [¶ 0111], as illustrated within Figs. 6 and 7, also allow for one or more intermediate layers within a multi-layer cover assembly [¶ 0106, ¶ 0108-0109, and ¶ 0112-0113]).
Cho in view of Cho-930 and Yuzawa are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing graphical data to a user, wherein structural configurations are utilized in order to produce interactive visualizations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Cho as modified by Cho-930, to incorporate wherein a layer below the cover layer comprises an intermediate layer on a top surface of the cover base (as taught by Yuzawa), in order to provide a user-interface that is subjectively attractive to a user, enhances structural feel for a user and functionality, and reduces manufacturing consumption (Yuzawa; [¶ 0010-0012, ¶ 0014, ¶ 0018, ¶ 0026, and ¶ 0098-0099]).
Regarding claim 15, Cho in view of Cho-930 and Yuzawa further discloses the component of Claim 14 wherein the intermediate layer comprises at least one of a coating (Yuzawa; the intermediate layer [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] comprises (at least one of) a coating [¶ 0091-0092]);
a film;
a color;
a light-transmissive layer (Yuzawa; the intermediate layer [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] comprises (at least one of ) a light-transmissive layer [¶ 0091-0092]);
an opaque layer;
a light-transmissive material (Yuzawa; the intermediate layer [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] comprises (at least one of) a light-transmissive material [¶ 0091-0092]);
an opaque material.
(an omission of applied prior art to alternative limitations does not equate to a lack of teaching(s); wherein, the claim has been sufficiently addressed, however additional limitations within the alternative language above although not addressed above may still be addressed by the applied prior art)
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Cho-930 as applied to claim(s) 11 above, and further in view of Yoshitani et al., US PGPUB No. 20210149506 A1, hereinafter Yoshitani.
Regarding claim 20, Cho in view of Cho-930 further discloses the component of Claim 11, wherein a layer below the cover layer comprises an absorber panel configured to (a) absorb sound; (b) absorb vibration; and/or (c) absorb assembly tolerance (Cho; a layer below the cover layer (i.e. transparent paint/skin) [¶ 0084], as illustrated within Fig. 7, comprises an absorber panel (i.e. switch) implicitly configured to ((a) absorb sound; (b) absorb vibration; and/or) (c) absorb assembly tolerance [¶ 0068 and ¶ 0103]; moreover, tolerance corresponding to an (touch) interaction [¶ 0079-0080]).
Cho-930 further teaches absorb assembly tolerance (Cho-930; flange and switch corresponding to a absorb assembly tolerance [¶ 0113-0114]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Cho as modified by Cho-930, to incorporate absorb assembly tolerance (as taught by Cho-930), in order to provide an improved external appearance of a switch assembly of a vehicle that is subjectively attractive to a user (Cho-930; [¶ 0001, ¶ 0011, ¶ 0017-0018, and ¶ 0029]).
Cho as modified by Cho-930 fails to explicitly disclose an absorber panel configured to (a) absorb sound; (b) absorb vibration; and/or (c) absorb assembly tolerance.
However, Yoshitani teaches a layer below the cover layer comprises an absorber panel configured to (a) absorb sound; (b) absorb vibration; and/or (c) absorb assembly tolerance (Yoshitani; a layer below the cover layer (i.e. display part) comprises an absorber panel configured to absorb vibration and/or tolerance [¶ 0062-0063]; moreover, shock absorber involving vibration absorbing material (e.g. rubber) [¶ 0058-0059] in relation with a display [¶ 0044 and ¶ 0055]; moreover, vibrations due to movement associated with a vehicle [¶ 0006]).
Cho in view of Cho-930 and Yoshitani are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing graphical data to a user, wherein structural configurations are utilized in order to produce interactive visualizations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Cho as modified by Cho-930, to incorporate a layer below the cover layer comprises an absorber panel configured to (a) absorb sound; (b) absorb vibration; and/or (c) absorb assembly tolerance (as taught by Yoshitani), in order to provide suppression of effect of vibrations for a user-interface within a moving environment (Yoshitani; [¶ 0006-0008 and ¶ 0016-0017]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
(regarding a layered display within an interior of a vehicle)
Groene et al. (US PGPUB No. 20230028841 A1);
(lighting with a molded cover)
Milura et al. (US PGPUB No. 20140204599 A1); and
(lighting and injection molding)
Radu et al. (US PGPUB No. 20060061138 A1).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of Reference Cited for a listing of analogous art.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHARLES LLOYD. BEARD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2611
/CHARLES L BEARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611