DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to amendments filed 3/12/2026. Claims 1-9 and 11 are pending with claims 1, 8, 9 and 11 having been amended.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been received.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/12/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 8 and under 103 that Katano (US 2005/0177748) in view of Palumbo et al (US 2013/0263269) does not disclose “determines, only when the image forming apparatus is determined to be communicable with the server, whether the pattern file stored in the storage is updatable, only when the pattern file stored in the storage is determined that updatable, obtains a new pattern file from the server” have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
While Katano paragraph 0039 states “MFP 100 may periodically receive data used by virus protection tool 108 to perform its various functions. The data may specify information about new viruses or inoculation techniques that may be used by virus protection tool 108. For example, virus protection tool 108 may periodically receive updated "signature files" that specify attributes about known viruses. The signature files may be periodically provided to MFP 100 from a server over a network”.
Palumbo is brought in to teach the limitation “determines, only when the image forming apparatus is determined to be communicable with the server, whether the pattern file stored in the storage is updatable, only when the pattern file stored in the storage is determined that updatable, obtains a new pattern file from the server” in figure 5 steps S30-S31 and paragraphs 0025 i.e. a processor configured to detect a change in the network connection and in response determine whether an update to the anti-virus software is available, and transmit a request for an update to the anti-virus software if it is determined that an update to the anti-virus software is available and paragraph 0047-0048). This clearly teaches the determine whether an update to the anti-virus software is available is only done in response the processor detecting a change in the network connection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
With respect to claims 1 8, 9 and 11 the newly added limitation of “determines only when the image forming apparatus is determined to be communicable with the server whether the pattern file stored in the storage in updatable” fails to comply with the written description requirement because it was described in the specification
In regards to claim 1, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art, in conjunction with all the other claimed limitations: “determines only when the image forming apparatus is determined to be communicable with the server whether the pattern file stored in the storage in updatable”. While applicant points to figure 7, and paragraphs 0037 0064-0079 and 0114 of the specification. These paragraph teach after connecting to a network inquire whether pattern file for updating is available. Nowhere does it disclose, teach or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art that the determining whether the pattern file stored in the storage in updatable” can only be done when the image forming apparatus is determined to be communicable with the server. Dependent claims 2-4 also contradicts this as the controller uses a timer to determine whether the pattern file stored in the storage in updatable and when the controller is connected the network updates the pattern file. Nowhere does the specification disclose, teach or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art that the update process is not executed unless the required conditions are satisfied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katano (US 2005/0177748) in view of Palumbo et al (US 2013/0263269).
With respect to claim 1 Katano teaches an image forming apparatus comprising:
a controller that executes virus quarantine using a pattern file (see Katano figure 2 and paragraph 0049 i.e. FIG. 2 is a flow diagram 200 that depicts a summary of various steps performed by MFP 100 in performing virus protection according to one embodiment of the invention. In step 202, MFP 100 selects data to be tested for virus infection. This data may be specified by configuration data, as described in more detail hereinafter. Alternatively, MFP 100 may select all data for testing. In step 204, the selected data is tested for infection by virus protection tool 108); and
a storage that stores the pattern file (see Katano paragraph 0039 i.e. MFP 100 may periodically receive data used by virus protection tool 108 to perform its various functions. The data may specify information about new viruses or inoculation techniques that may be used by virus protection tool 108. For example, virus protection tool 108 may periodically receive updated "signature files" that specify attributes about known viruses. The signature files may be periodically provided to MFP 100 from a server over a network also see paragraph 0067),
wherein the controller determines whether the pattern file stored in the storage is updatable, only when the pattern file stored in the storage is determined that updatable, obtains a new pattern file from the server, and updates the pattern file stored in the storage with the new pattern file (see Katano paragraph 0039 i.e. MFP 100 may periodically receive data used by virus protection tool 108 to perform its various functions. The data may specify information about new viruses or inoculation techniques that may be used by virus protection tool 108. For example, virus protection tool 108 may periodically receive updated "signature files" that specify attributes about known viruses. The signature files may be periodically provided to MFP 100 from a server over a network), and
executes the virus quarantine by using the updated pattern file (see Katano paragraph 0038 i.e. Virus protection tool 108 may be configured to check for viruses at different times and frequencies, depending upon the requirements of a particular application. For example, virus protection tool 108 may be configured to periodically, e.g., daily, weekly, monthly, check data contained on MFP 100 to determine whether MFP 100 has been infected with a virus. Virus protection tool 108 may also be configured to perform virus checks at specific times, for example, during the night when virus protection tool 108 is not being used for other functions. Virus protection tool 108 may be configured to execute as a background or foreground process on MFP 100 and paragraph 0052 the virus protection tool can be configured to perform virus checks at a specific time on a daily/weekly basis).
Katano does not disclose the controller determines, based on a connection to a network as a trigger, whether the image forming apparatus is communicable with a server and determines, only when the image forming apparatus is determined to be communicable with the server, whether the pattern file stored in the storage is updatable.
Palumbo teaches the controller determines, based on a connection to a network as a trigger, whether the image forming apparatus is communicable with a server and determines, only when the image forming apparatus is determined to be communicable with the server, whether the pattern file stored in the storage is updatable (see Palumbo figure 5 steps S30-S31 and paragraphs 0025 i.e. a processor configured to detect a change in the network connection and in response determine whether an update to the anti-virus software is available, and transmit a request for an update to the anti-virus software if it is determined that an update to the anti-virus software is available and paragraph 0047-0048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Katano in view of Palumbo to have in response to detecting a change in network connection type the device determines whether or not a high speed internet connection through the connection to updating the anti-virus software if the speeds greater than a predetermined speed as a way to update the anti-virus software when connect to a high speed internet connection (see Palumbo paragraph 0051). Therefore one would have been motivated to have updating the anti-virus software in response to a new high speed internet connection.
With respect to claim 9 Katano teaches a virus quarantine method comprising:
executing virus quarantine using a pattern file (see figure 2 and paragraph 0049 i.e. FIG. 2 is a flow diagram 200 that depicts a summary of various steps performed by MFP 100 in performing virus protection according to one embodiment of the invention. In step 202, MFP 100 selects data to be tested for virus infection. This data may be specified by configuration data, as described in more detail hereinafter. Alternatively, MFP 100 may select all data for testing. In step 204, the selected data is tested for infection by virus protection tool 108);
wherein the pattern file is stored on an image forming apparatus (see paragraph 0039 i.e. MFP 100 may periodically receive data used by virus protection tool 108 to perform its various functions. The data may specify information about new viruses or inoculation techniques that may be used by virus protection tool 108. For example, virus protection tool 108 may periodically receive updated "signature files" that specify attributes about known viruses. The signature files may be periodically provided to MFP 100 from a server over a network also see paragraph 0067), wherein
determining whether the stored pattern is updatable, and only when the stored pattern file is determined to be updatable obtaining a new pattern file from the server, updating the stored pattern file with the new pattern file (see paragraph 0039 i.e. MFP 100 may periodically receive data used by virus protection tool 108 to perform its various functions. The data may specify information about new viruses or inoculation techniques that may be used by virus protection tool 108. For example, virus protection tool 108 may periodically receive updated "signature files" that specify attributes about known viruses. The signature files may be periodically provided to MFP 100 from a server over a network), and
executing the virus quarantine by using the updated pattern file (see paragraph 0038 i.e. Virus protection tool 108 may be configured to check for viruses at different times and frequencies, depending upon the requirements of a particular application. For example, virus protection tool 108 may be configured to periodically, e.g., daily, weekly, monthly, check data contained on MFP 100 to determine whether MFP 100 has been infected with a virus. Virus protection tool 108 may also be configured to perform virus checks at specific times, for example, during the night when virus protection tool 108 is not being used for other functions. Virus protection tool 108 may be configured to execute as a background or foreground process on MFP 100 and paragraph 0052 the virus protection tool can be configured to perform virus checks at a specific time on a daily/weekly basis).
Katano does not disclose the controller determines, based on a connection to a network as a trigger, whether the image forming apparatus is communicable with a server and determines, only when the image forming apparatus is determined to be communicable with the server, whether the pattern file stored in the storage is updatable.
Palumbo teaches the controller determines, based on a connection to a network as a trigger, whether the image forming apparatus is communicable with a server and determines, only when the image forming apparatus is determined to be communicable with the server, whether the pattern file stored in the storage is updatable (see Palumbo figure 5 steps S30-S31 and paragraphs 0025 i.e. a processor configured to detect a change in the network connection and in response determine whether an update to the anti-virus software is available, and transmit a request for an update to the anti-virus software if it is determined that an update to the anti-virus software is available and paragraph 0047-0048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Katano in view of Palumbo to have in response to detecting a change in network connection type the device determines whether or not a high speed internet connection through the connection to updating the anti-virus software if the speeds greater than a predetermined speed as a way to update the anti-virus software when connect to a high speed internet connection (see Palumbo paragraph 0051). Therefore one would have been motivated to have updating the anti-virus software in response to a new high speed internet connection.
Claims 2-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katano (US 2005/0177748) in view of Palumbo et al (US 2013/0263269) in view of Roskind et al (US 7,630,381).
With respect to claim 2 Katano in view of Palumbo teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the controller, when being connected to the network, updates the pattern file in a case that an elapsed period of time since a last executed update of the pattern file is longer than a predetermined period.
Roskind teaches wherein the controller, when being connected to the network, updates the pattern file, in a case that an elapsed period of time since a last executed update of the pattern file is longer than a predetermined period (see Roskind figure 2A and column 4 lines 15-41 i.e. An update may be requested from an anti-contagion source (203), for example as is discussed in conjunction with FIG. 3A, which may include updating or concluding that an update is not needed. A time for next contacting an anti-contagion source is decided upon (204). In some embodiments, the scheduled time may be made sooner when the source of the update, such as a vendor of software to which the update pertains, anticipates the impending release of a fully tested update, such as scheduling a next contact time in a few hours, or a few days. If the current computer's version of anti-contagion software contains resolutions to all known problems and otherwise anomalous traffic patterns then, in this example, the update interval may be made longer, such as the full default interval for a computer, for example one week also see figure 3A and column 5 line 51-column 6 line 19 i.e. In some embodiments, the update decision may be made by incorporating preferences held on a user's computer, such as a preference to always have the newest updates, or preferences to avoid updates that have been available for less than a threshold length of time (for example, 2 weeks), or preferences that accept an additional update when the source indicates urgency associated with the update. In some embodiments, the update decision may be made based on considerations such as the size of the potential update, for example by avoiding the overhead of small updates, and only performing an update when a threshold amount of change has taken place, or when a threshold length of time has elapsed since an actual update was made).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Katano in view of Roskind to have change the time periods between updating the pattern file from the normal daily/weekly basis based on incorporating preferences held on a user's computer, such as a preference to always have the newest updates, or preferences to avoid updates that have been available for less than a threshold length of time (for example, 2 weeks), or preferences that accept an additional update when the source indicates urgency associated with the update (see Roskind column 5 line 51-column 6 line 19). Therefore one would have been motivated to have change the time periods between updating the pattern file from the normal daily/weekly basis based on incorporating preferences held on a user's computer.
With respect to claim 3 Katano in view of Palumbo teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the controller, when being connected to the network, updates the pattern file, in a case that a period until a next scheduled update of the pattern file is longer than a predetermined period.
Roskind teaches wherein the controller, when being connected to the network, updates the pattern file, in a case that a period until a next scheduled update of the pattern file is longer than a predetermined period (see Roskind figure 2A and column 4 lines 15-41 i.e. An update may be requested from an anti-contagion source (203), for example as is discussed in conjunction with FIG. 3A, which may include updating or concluding that an update is not needed. A time for next contacting an anti-contagion source is decided upon (204). In some embodiments, the scheduled time may be made sooner when the source of the update, such as a vendor of software to which the update pertains, anticipates the impending release of a fully tested update, such as scheduling a next contact time in a few hours, or a few days. If the current computer's version of anti-contagion software contains resolutions to all known problems and otherwise anomalous traffic patterns then, in this example, the update interval may be made longer, such as the full default interval for a computer, for example one week also see figure 3A and column 5 line 51-column 6 line 19 i.e. In some embodiments, the update decision may be made by incorporating preferences held on a user's computer, such as a preference to always have the newest updates, or preferences to avoid updates that have been available for less than a threshold length of time (for example, 2 weeks), or preferences that accept an additional update when the source indicates urgency associated with the update. In some embodiments, the update decision may be made based on considerations such as the size of the potential update, for example by avoiding the overhead of small updates, and only performing an update when a threshold amount of change has taken place, or when a threshold length of time has elapsed since an actual update was made).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Katano in view of Roskind to have change the time periods between updating the pattern file from the normal daily/weekly basis based on incorporating preferences held on a user's computer, such as a preference to always have the newest updates, or preferences to avoid updates that have been available for less than a threshold length of time (for example, 2 weeks), or preferences that accept an additional update when the source indicates urgency associated with the update (see Roskind column 5 line 51-column 6 line 19). Therefore one would have been motivated to have change the time periods between updating the pattern file from the normal daily/weekly basis based on incorporating preferences held on a user's computer.
With respect to claim 4 Katano in view of Palumbo teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 3, but does not disclose wherein the controller, when being connected to the network, restricts update of the pattern file, in a case that the period until the next update is shorter than a predetermined period.
Roskind teaches wherein the controller, when being connected to the network, restricts update of the pattern file, in a case that the a period until the next update is shorter than a predetermined period (see Roskind figure 2A and column 4 lines 15-41 i.e. An update may be requested from an anti-contagion source (203), for example as is discussed in conjunction with FIG. 3A, which may include updating or concluding that an update is not needed. A time for next contacting an anti-contagion source is decided upon (204). In some embodiments, the scheduled time may be made sooner when the source of the update, such as a vendor of software to which the update pertains, anticipates the impending release of a fully tested update, such as scheduling a next contact time in a few hours, or a few days. If the current computer's version of anti-contagion software contains resolutions to all known problems and otherwise anomalous traffic patterns then, in this example, the update interval may be made longer, such as the full default interval for a computer, for example one week also see figure 3A and column 5 line 51-column 6 line 19 i.e. In some embodiments, the update decision may be made by incorporating preferences held on a user's computer, such as a preference to always have the newest updates, or preferences to avoid updates that have been available for less than a threshold length of time (for example, 2 weeks), or preferences that accept an additional update when the source indicates urgency associated with the update. In some embodiments, the update decision may be made based on considerations such as the size of the potential update, for example by avoiding the overhead of small updates, and only performing an update when a threshold amount of change has taken place, or when a threshold length of time has elapsed since an actual update was made).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Katano in view of Roskind to have change the time periods between updating the pattern file from the normal daily/weekly basis based on incorporating preferences held on a user's computer, such as a preference to always have the newest updates, or preferences to avoid updates that have been available for less than a threshold length of time (for example, 2 weeks), or preferences that accept an additional update when the source indicates urgency associated with the update (see Roskind column 5 line 51-column 6 line 19). Therefore one would have been motivated to have change the time periods between updating the pattern file from the normal daily/weekly basis based on incorporating preferences held on a user's computer.
With respect to claim 5 Katano in view of Palumbo teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein in a case that the pattern file is determined to be updatable, the controller further inquires a user whether to update the pattern file.
Roskind teaches wherein in a case that the pattern file is determined to be updatable, the controller further inquires a user whether to update the pattern file (see Roskind see figure 3A and column 5 line 51-column 6 line 19 i.e. In some embodiments, the update decision may be made by incorporating preferences held on a user's computer, such as a preference to always have the newest updates, or preferences to avoid updates that have been available for less than a threshold length of time (for example, 2 weeks), or preferences that accept an additional update when the source indicates urgency associated with the update. In some embodiments, the update decision may be made based on considerations such as the size of the potential update, for example by avoiding the overhead of small updates, and only performing an update when a threshold amount of change has taken place, or when a threshold length of time has elapsed since an actual update was made).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Katano in view of Roskind to have change the time periods between updating the pattern file from the normal daily/weekly basis based on incorporating preferences held on a user's computer, such as a preference to always have the newest updates, or preferences to avoid updates that have been available for less than a threshold length of time (for example, 2 weeks), or preferences that accept an additional update when the source indicates urgency associated with the update (see Roskind column 5 line 51-column 6 line 19). Therefore one would have been motivated to have change the time periods between updating the pattern file from the normal daily/weekly basis based on incorporating preferences held on a user's computer.
With respect to claim 8 Katano teaches a virus quarantine system comprising:
a server that provides a pattern file (see Katano paragraph 0039 i.e. MFP 100 may periodically receive data used by virus protection tool 108 to perform its various functions. The data may specify information about new viruses or inoculation techniques that may be used by virus protection tool 108. For example, virus protection tool 108 may periodically receive updated "signature files" that specify attributes about known viruses. The signature files may be periodically provided to MFP 100 from a server over a network); and
an image forming apparatus that includes a controller that executes virus quarantine using a pattern file (see Katano figure 2 and paragraph 0049 i.e. FIG. 2 is a flow diagram 200 that depicts a summary of various steps performed by MFP 100 in performing virus protection according to one embodiment of the invention. In step 202, MFP 100 selects data to be tested for virus infection. This data may be specified by configuration data, as described in more detail hereinafter. Alternatively, MFP 100 may select all data for testing. In step 204, the selected data is tested for infection by virus protection tool 108); and
a storage that stores the pattern file (see Katano paragraph 0039 i.e. MFP 100 may periodically receive data used by virus protection tool 108 to perform its various functions. The data may specify information about new viruses or inoculation techniques that may be used by virus protection tool 108. For example, virus protection tool 108 may periodically receive updated "signature files" that specify attributes about known viruses. The signature files may be periodically provided to MFP 100 from a server over a network also see paragraph 0067),
the controller determines, whether the pattern file stored in the storage is updatable, only when the pattern file stored in the storage is determined that updatable, obtains a new pattern file from the server, and updates the pattern file stored in the storage with the new pattern file (see Katano paragraph 0039 i.e. MFP 100 may periodically receive data used by virus protection tool 108 to perform its various functions. The data may specify information about new viruses or inoculation techniques that may be used by virus protection tool 108. For example, virus protection tool 108 may periodically receive updated "signature files" that specify attributes about known viruses. The signature files may be periodically provided to MFP 100 from a server over a network), and
executes the virus quarantine by using the updated pattern file (see Katano paragraph 0038 i.e. Virus protection tool 108 may be configured to check for viruses at different times and frequencies, depending upon the requirements of a particular application. For example, virus protection tool 108 may be configured to periodically, e.g., daily, weekly, monthly, check data contained on MFP 100 to determine whether MFP 100 has been infected with a virus. Virus protection tool 108 may also be configured to perform virus checks at specific times, for example, during the night when virus protection tool 108 is not being used for other functions. Virus protection tool 108 may be configured to execute as a background or foreground process on MFP 100 and paragraph 0052 the virus protection tool can be configured to perform virus checks at a specific time on a daily/weekly basis).
Katano does not disclose the controller determines, based on a connection to a network as a trigger, whether the image forming apparatus is communicable with a server, determines, only when the image forming apparatus is determined to be communicable with the server, whether the pattern file stored in the storage is updatable or wherein the server stores an update history on the pattern file in the image forming apparatus.
Palumbo teaches the controller determines, based on a connection to a network as a trigger, whether the image forming apparatus is communicable with a server and determines, only when the image forming apparatus is determined to be communicable with the server, whether the pattern file stored in the storage is updatable (see Palumbo figure 5 steps S30-S31 and paragraphs 0025 i.e. a processor configured to detect a change in the network connection and in response determine whether an update to the anti-virus software is available, and transmit a request for an update to the anti-virus software if it is determined that an update to the anti-virus software is available and paragraph 0047-0048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Katano in view of Palumbo to have in response to detecting a change in network connection type the device determines whether or not a high speed internet connection through the connection to updating the anti-virus software if the speeds greater than a predetermined speed as a way to update the anti-virus software when connect to a high speed internet connection (see Palumbo paragraph 0051). Therefore one would have been motivated to have updating the anti-virus software in response to a new high speed internet connection.
Roskind teaches wherein the server stores an update history on the pattern file in the image forming apparatus (see Roskind figure 2A and column 4 lines 15-41 i.e. An old version identifier may be retrieved (202), such as a checksum or hash for a file, or a version number for software stored in a file system or registry, or a version number for an anti-virus signature file stored in a file system or registry).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Katano in view of Roskind to have a sever keep track of the update history version number for an anti-virus signature file as a way to determine if an update needed (see Roskind column 4 lines 15-41). Therefore one would have been motivated to have a sever keep track of the update history version number for an anti-virus signature file.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katano (US 2005/0177748) in view of Palumbo et al (US 2013/0263269) in view of Ouchi (US 7,895,658).
With respect to claim 6 Katano in view of Palumbo teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, but does not disclose further comprising a job executor that executes a job pertaining to image forming, wherein in a case that the job executor is executing the job, the controller updates the pattern file after the execution of the job.
Ouchi teaches further comprising a job executor that executes a job pertaining to image forming, wherein in a case that the job executor is executing the job, the controller updates the pattern file after the execution of the job (see Ouchi column 4 lines 46-63 i.e. an image forming apparatus (MFP) determines if there is start request for a service task and suspends a virus search (scan) and resumes the virus search after the task is completed).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to temporarily suspend virus scanning operations in the MFP of Katano, such as suggested in Ouchi, when a function of the MFP is requested. One would have been motivated to enable this feature to prevent deteriorating the performance of the MFP’s primary functions, while being able to provide anti-virus protection to some degree.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katano (US 2005/0177748) in view of Palumbo et al (US 2013/0263269) in view of Takahashi et al (US 2019/0394341)
With respect to claim 7 Katano in view of Palumbo teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 6, but does not disclose wherein in a case that the job waiting to be processed is present, the controller updates the pattern file, and executes the job waiting to be processed after executing the virus quarantine by using the updated pattern file.
Takahashi teaches wherein in a case that the job waiting to be processed is present, the controller updates the pattern file, and executes the job waiting to be processed after executing the virus quarantine by using the updated pattern file (See paragraphs 0088-0090 i.e. After completion of the job having a low viral infection risk and after completion of the update processing, the image forming apparatus 100 executes the job having a high viral infection risk (here, the job A) (processing PR9). In execution of the job having a high viral infection risk, the image forming apparatus 100 executes virus scanning to the data to be used in the job).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to update virus scanning operations in the MFP of Katano, such as suggested in Takahashi, before processing of a job having a high viral infection risk to provide the newest patterns for the virus scanner of the MFP. One would have been motivated to enable this feature to provide the best anti-virus protection.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katano (US 2005/0177748) in view of Palumbo et al (US 2013/0263269) in view of SETO (US 2023/0394148).
With respect to claim 11 Katano in view of Palumbo teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller: determines only when the image forming apparatus is determined to be communicable with the server whether the pattern file stored in the storage is updatable, even though the updating timing has not been set through the setting screen (see Katano paragraph 0039 i.e. MFP 100 may periodically receive data used by virus protection tool 108 to perform its various functions. The data may specify information about new viruses or inoculation techniques that may be used by virus protection tool 108. For example, virus protection tool 108 may periodically receive updated "signature files" that specify attributes about known viruses. The signature files may be periodically provided to MFP 100 from a server over a network),
only when the pattern file is determined to be updatable (see Palumbo figure 5 steps S30-S31 and paragraphs 0025 i.e. a processor configured to detect a change in the network connection and in response determine whether an update to the anti-virus software is available, and transmit a request for an update to the anti-virus software if it is determined that an update to the anti-virus software is available and paragraph 0047-0048)), obtains the new pattern file from the sever, and updates the pattern file stored in the storage with the new pattern file, and executes the virus quarantine by using the updated pattern file (see Katano paragraph 0038 i.e. Virus protection tool 108 may be configured to check for viruses at different times and frequencies, depending upon the requirements of a particular application. For example, virus protection tool 108 may be configured to periodically, e.g., daily, weekly, monthly, check data contained on MFP 100 to determine whether MFP 100 has been infected with a virus. Virus protection tool 108 may also be configured to perform virus checks at specific times, for example, during the night when virus protection tool 108 is not being used for other functions. Virus protection tool 108 may be configured to execute as a background or foreground process on MFP 100 and paragraph 0052 the virus protection tool can be configured to perform virus checks at a specific time on a daily/weekly basis).
Katano in view of Palumbo does not teach displays a setting screen that is capable of setting an updating timing for the pattern file.
SETO teaches displays a setting screen that is capable of setting an updating timing for the pattern file (see SETO paragraph 0132-0134 i.e. In addition, the setting screen may include an area on which update settings of virus pattern data are executed, and an update status of virus pattern data is displayed. An area E116 is an area for switching whether to update virus pattern data when the multifunction device 10 is activated. The settings as to whether to update virus pattern data are, for example, “enabled” by default. In addition, an area E118 is an area that displays an update status of virus pattern data…In addition, a button B106 is a button for immediately executing updating of virus pattern data. Note that, regarding functions related to updating of virus pattern data, the multifunction device 10 may include a function of suspending updating of virus pattern data, and a function of setting update scheduling of virus pattern data. In this case, a setting screen may be configured according to the functions related to updating of virus pattern data included in the multifunction device 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Katano in view of SETO to have a setting screen that allows the for setting the updating interval of virus pattern data of the multifunction device (see SETO paragraph 0132-0134). Therefore one would have been motivated to have a display screen to change the time periods between updating the pattern file.
Prior Art
Kaneko et al (US 2003/0021043) titled “Method Of Connection Of Equipment In A Network And Network System Using Same”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEVIN E ALMEIDA/Examiner, Art Unit 2492