Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s)1, 12, 16, 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 12, 16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a(2) as being anticipated by Kubota (US20220317479A1)
With regard to claim 1, Kubota (US20220317479A1)teaches a contact lens, comprising:
a lens body (10, Fig. 4A) including an optical portion ( 14, Fig. 4A) and an annular wearing portion that surrounds the optical portion ( area on 10 that surrounds 14, Fig. 4A), wherein the lens body has a front surface and a rear surface that is opposite to the front surface ( see Fig. 4A, front and rear of 10, Fig. 4A); and
an embedded module (24, 41, Fig. 4A) embedded in the annular wearing portion ( area on 10 outsides of 14, Fig. 4A, [0044] mentioned 24 and 12 form a ring about 14, about means around the outsides, in Merriam-webster dictionary) and including:
a front supporting ring (40a or 40b, 40c , Fig. 4B, see examiner labeled Fig. 4B below) being made of an eye-friendly material ( 40 are part of 10 see Fig. 4A, and are made of biocompatible material such as hydrogel, see [0043] support 40 may made of hydrogel, wherein the front supporting ring (see Fig. 4A, 40a, b, c surrounds 14) surrounds the optical portion ( 14, Fig. 4A)and has a front curved surface and a rear carrying surface ( see Fig. 4B), and wherein the front curved surface is flush with the front surface of the lens body ( see 40 at the front surface of 10 flushed with front surface of 10, Fig. 4B);
a rear supporting ring( rear supporting ring labeled as 40, Fig. 4B, see examiner labeled Fig. 4B below) being made of an eye-friendly material(40 are part of 10 see Fig. 4A, and are made of biocompatible material such as hydrogel, see [0043] support 40 may made of hydrogel,), wherein the rear supporting ring surrounds the optical portion and has a rear curved surface and a front carrying surface, and wherein the rear curved surface is flush with the rear surface of the lens body so as to be jointly configured for being worn on an eye ( rear of 10, Fig. 4A, Fig. 4B); and
a circuit structure ( 24 or 41, Fig. 4B) sandwiched between the rear carrying surface of the front supporting ring and the front carrying surface of the rear supporting ring ( see annotated Fig. 4B), wherein the circuit structure is entirely embedded in the annular wearing portion ( area outsides 14, Fig. 4A)
With regard to claim 2, Kubota teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches wherein a material of the lens body, the eye-friendly material of the front supporting ring, and the eye-friendly material of the rear supporting ring each include a hydrogel or a silicone hydrogel(40 are part of 10 see Fig. 4A, and are made of biocompatible material such as hydrogel, see [0043] support 40 may made of hydrogel), and an outer surface of the contact lens has no slot ( see Fig. 4B).
With regard to claim 12, Kubota teaches a contact lens, comprising:
a lens body (10, Fig. 4A) including an optical portion (14, Fig. 4A) and an annular wearing portion that surrounds the optical portion (area on 10 that surrounds 14, Fig. 4A), wherein the lens body has a front surface and a rear surface that is opposite to the front surface (see Fig. 4A, front and rear of 10, Fig. 4A) and that is configured for being worn on an eye; and
an embedded module embedded in the annular wearing portion and including:
a front supporting ring (40a or 40b, 40c , Fig. 4B, see examiner labeled Fig. 4B below) being made of an eye-friendly material ( 40 are part of 10 see Fig. 4A, and are made of biocompatible material such as hydrogel, see [0043] support 40 may made of hydrogel, wherein the front supporting ring (see Fig. 4A, 40a, b, c surrounds 14) surrounds the optical portion ( 14, Fig. 4A)and has a front curved surface and a rear carrying surface ( see Fig. 4B), and wherein the front curved surface is flush with the front surface of the lens body ( see 40 at the front surface of 10 flushed with front surface of 10, Fig. 4B);
a circuit structure (41, 24, Fig. 4A, 4B) fixed onto the rear carrying surface of the front supporting ring (see Fig. 4A, 4B), wherein the circuit structure is entirely embedded in the annular wearing portion (41 entirely embedded in 14, Fig. 4A, see Fig. 5A and para [0061] the supports 40 are deposited on the surface of the mold 400 a while leaving the central optical zone 14 clear of supports. Therefore, 24 is also entirely around 14 in the annual wearing portion ).
With regard to claim 16, Kubota teaches a contact lens, comprising:
a lens body (10, Fig. 4A) including an optical portion ( 14, Fig. 4A) and an annular wearing portion that surrounds the optical portion ( area on 10 that surrounds 14, Fig. 4A), wherein the lens body has a front surface and a rear surface that is opposite to the front surface ( see Fig. 4A, front and rear of 10, Fig. 4A); and
an embedded module (40b, 40c, Fig. 4A) embedded in the annular wearing portion ( arear around 14, Fig. 4A) and including:
a rear supporting ring being made of an eye-friendly material( 40 are part of 10 see Fig. 4A, and are made of biocompatible material such as hydrogel, see [0043] support 40 may made of hydrogel), wherein the rear supporting ring ( 40, Fig. 4B) surrounds the optical portion ( 14, Fig. 4A) and has a rear curved surface and a front carrying surface ( see annotated Fig. 4B), and wherein the rear curved surface is flush with the rear surface of the lens body so as to be jointly configured for being worn on an eye and( [0045]In some embodiments, the supports are arranged in two concentric rings about the center of the contact lens. A first of the concentric rings supporting the PCB and a second of the concentric rings supporting the antenna. Therefore the ring around the 41 is the same as ring around 24 shown in Fig. 4B); and
a circuit structure ( 41, 24Fig. 4A, 4B) fixed onto the front carrying surface of the rear supporting ring ( see annotated Fig. 4B above), wherein the circuit structure is entirely embedded in the annular wearing portion (41 is in the area surrounds about 14, Fig. 4A, see Fig. 5A and para [0061] the supports 40 are deposited on the surface of the mold 400 a while leaving the central optical zone 14 clear of supports. Therefore, 24 is also entirely around 14 in the annual wearing portion).
With regard to claim 20, Kubota teaches a contact lens, comprising:
a lens body (10, Fig. 4A) including an optical portion ( 14, Fig. 4A) and an annular wearing portion that surrounds the optical portion ( area on 10 that surrounds 14, Fig. 4A), wherein the lens body has a front surface and a rear surface that is opposite to the front surface ( see Fig. 4A, front and rear of 10, Fig. 4A); and
an embedded module embedded in the annular wearing portion and including( area on 10 that surrounds 14, Fig. 4A):
a plurality of supporting bodies (40, Fig. 4A, 4B) being made of an eye-friendly material( 40 are part of 10 see Fig. 4A, and are made of biocompatible material such as hydrogel, see [0043] support 40 may made of hydrogel), wherein the supporting bodies (40, Fig. 4A, 4B, 5A) are arranged outside of the optical portion and each have a curved surface and a carrying surface (see annotated Fig. 4B), and wherein the curved surface of each of the supporting bodies is flush with one of the front surface and the rear surface of the lens body ( see annotated, Fig. 4B); and
a circuit structure ( 41, 24, Fig. 4A, 4B) fixed onto the carrying surfaces of the supporting bodies (40, Fig. 4A, 4B), wherein the circuit structure is entirely embedded in the annular wearing portion(41 is in the area surrounds about 14, Fig. 4A, see Fig. 5A and para [0061] the supports 40 are deposited on the surface of the mold 400 a while leaving the central optical zone 14 clear of supports. Therefore, 24 is also entirely around 14 in the annual wearing portion).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 3,4,5,13,17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubota (US20220317479A1)in view of Biederman(US20150005604A1)
With regard to claim 3, Kubota teaches all the limitations of claim 1,and further teaches and lateral sides of the circuit structure are gaplessly connected to the annular wearing portion (see Fig. 4A, 4B lateral of 24/41 is gaplessly connected in the area around 14 ).
Kubota does not teach at least one of the front supporting ring and the rear supporting ring overlaps an entirety of the circuit structure,
However, Biederman teaches at least one of the front supporting ring and the rear supporting ring ( 220, Fig. 2C, 2D 220 is a supporting ring and Kubota teaches the front supporting ring and rear supporting ring) overlaps an entirety of the circuit structure ( 240, Fig. 2D),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claim 1, to configure at least one of the front supporting ring and the rear supporting ring to overlap an entirety of the circuit structure, as taught by Biederman, in order to form a platform for mounting the electronics.
With regard to claim 4, Kubota teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and but does not teach an electronic component that is connected to the circuit structure and that is sandwiched between the rear carrying surface of the front supporting ring and the front carrying surface of the rear supporting ring, and wherein lateral sides of the electronic component are gaplessly connected to the annular wearing portion.
However, Biederman teaches an electronic component ( 262, Fig. 2d) that is connected to the circuit structure ( e.g., 240, Fig. 2d) and that is sandwiched between the rear carrying surface of the front supporting ring and the front carrying surface of the rear supporting ring (Kubota teaches circuit is sandwiched between the rear carrying surface of the front supporting ring and the front carrying surface of the rear supporting ring as in Fig. 4B and Biederman teaches circuit and electronic component integrated together so that the combination teaches the limitation) , wherein lateral sides of the electronic component are gaplessly connected to the annular wearing portion( Kubota teaches circuit gaplessly connected to the area around 14, Fig. 4A, 4B and Biederman teaches the electronic component and circuits are integrated together).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claim 1, to include an electronic component that is connected to the circuit structure and that is sandwiched between the rear carrying surface of the front supporting ring and the front carrying surface of the rear supporting ring, and wherein lateral sides of the electronic component are gaplessly connected to the annular wearing portion., as taught by Biederman, in order to form a platform for mounting the electronics[0061] and generate modulated light through the electronic components and circuits ([0004].
With regard to claim 5, the combination of Kubota and Biederman teaches all the limitations of claim 4. Biederman teaches the circuit structure (e.g., 140, Fig. 1, 240, Fig. 2d ) includes a circuit ( 142, 144, or 146, Fig. 1) that is connected to the electronic component ( e.g., 130, Fig. 1) and that is not formed on any carrier ( e.g., see Fig. 2D no carrier are used to form circuit).
With regard to claim 13, the combination of Kubota and Biederman teaches all the limitations of claim 12, Biederman further teaches an electronic component( component in 130, Fig. 1, 262, Fig. 2d) that is connected to the circuit structure ( e.g., 140, Fig. 1, 240, Fig. 2d) and that is fixed onto the rear carrying surface of the front supporting ring( see Fig. 2c of Biederman, 220 is a piece that integrated with light source circuitry and electronic component, the front supporting ring overlaps an entirety of the circuit structure and an entirety of the electronic component ( see Fig. 2-d , 220 overlaps circuit and electronic component are integrated together 240, 263, and Kubota teaches about front supporting ring in Fig. 4B), Kubota teaches circuitry 41, 24( with processor) is fixed onto the rear carrying surface of the front supporting ring in Fig. 4B the combination of Biederman and Kubota teaches the limitation)), and Kubata the circuit structure and the electronic component are gaplessly connected to the annular wearing portion (see 41, 24 gaplessly connected to the area around 14, Fig. 4A, 4B).
With regard to claim 17, Kubota teaches all the limitations of claim 16 and further teaches wherein a material of the lens body, and the eye-friendly material of the rear supporting ring each include a hydrogel or a silicone hydrogel (40 are part of 10 see Fig. 4A, and are made of biocompatible material such as hydrogel, see [0043] support 40 may made of hydrogel) an outer surface of the contact lens has no slot ( see Fig. 4B, see outer space of 10 has no slot).
Kubota does not teach wherein the contact lens further includes an electronic component that is connected to the circuit structure and that is fixed onto the front carrying surface of the rear supporting ring, and wherein the rear supporting ring overlaps an entirety of the circuit structure and an entirety of the electronic component, and the circuit structure and the electronic component are gaplessly connected to the annular wearing portion.
However, Biederman teaches the contact lens further includes an electronic component ( e.g., 262, Fig. 2d)that is connected to the circuit structure ( e.g., 240, Fig. 2d) and that is fixed onto the front carrying surface of the rear supporting ring ([0071] Biederman teaches top of 220 is 222, which can mount electronic components instead of back of 220 ( e.g., 224), therefore 222 can be mapped as front carrying surface, and 220 can be mapped as rear supporting ring and Kubota teaches about front carrying surface of rear supporting ring ), and wherein the rear supporting ring ( e.g., 220, Fig. 2d) overlaps an entirety of the circuit structure and an entirety of the electronic component (see Fig. 2d, 220 overlaps the entire 240 and 262, Fig. 2d) and Biederman teaches circuit ( e.g., 240, Fig. 2d) and electric component( e.g., 262, Fig. 2d) are integrated together and [), and the circuit structure and the electronic component are gaplessly connected to the annular wearing portion(Kubota teaches circuit gaplessly connected to the area around 14, Fig. 4A, Fig. 4B and Biederman teaches the circuit and electronic component are integrated together and the combination teaches the limitation )..
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claim 16, to configure wherein the contact lens further includes an electronic component that is connected to the circuit structure and that is fixed onto the front carrying surface of the rear supporting ring, and wherein the rear supporting ring overlaps an entirety of the circuit structure and an entirety of the electronic component, and the circuit structure and the electronic component are gaplessly connected to the annular wearing portion, as taught by Biederman, in order to form a platform for mounting the electronics.
5. Claims 6, 7, 9, 14,18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubota (US20220317479A1) and Biederman(US20150005604A1) in further view of Sakuma( US20220171218A1)
With regard to claim 6, the combination of Kubota and Biederman teaches all the limitation of claim 4, Biederman further teaches a circuit ( e.g., 140, Fig. 1) that is connected to the electric component ( 130, Fig. 1)
The combination of Kubota and Biederman does not teach the circuit structure includes a carrier and a circuit that is formed on the carrier.
However, Sakuma further teaches the circuit structure includes a carrier and a circuit (antenna 12, [0036] that is formed on the carrier ( polymer carrier, [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claim 4, to the circuit structure includes a carrier and a circuit that is formed on the carrier, as taught by Sakuma, because it is common for polymer material to support and integrates the antenna elements because its flexibility and conformability, light weight and cost effectiveness.
With regard to claim 7, the combination of Kubota and Biederman and Sakuma teaches all the limitations of claim 6, Sakuma further teaches the carrier includes:
a C-shaped segment having at least one thru-hole that is fully filled with the annular wearing portion ([0036] antenna composed with wire trace on a polymer carrier, wherein antenna is coated with carrier of the material [0056] antenna with carrier is embedded in the lens, therefore, C-shaped segment of 12 with coated material/carrier in Fig. 6 and Fig. 8 are embedded in the through-hole of the lens.); and
a connection segment connected in-between two distal ends of the C-shaped segment ( see Fig. 6, and Fig. 8, 12 are connected at the section of 15);
wherein, in a top view of the contact lens, an area of the at least one thru-hole is certain percent of an area surrounded by an outer contour of the C-shaped segment ( see Fig. 8, the carrier coated antenna occupied certain area of the antenna/carrier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure an area of the at least one thru-hole is 1% to 85% of an area surrounded by an outer contour of the C-shaped segment, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In this case, the percentage of the thru-hole to the outer contour of C-shaped segment changes, but the functionality of the system does not change.
With regard to claim 9, the combination of Kubota and Biederman and Sakuma teaches all the limitations of claim 6, Sakuma further teaches the optical portion defines a central axis ( see labeled center axis, Examiner Labeled Fig. 8 of Sakuma below), and the carrier has a plurality of radial notches ( notch, Fig. 8) recessed from an outer edge thereof toward the central axis so as to allow the carrier to have a fixed curvature(([0036] antenna composed with wire trace on a polymer carrier, and the notch controlled the carrier’s/antenna structure) , and wherein the radial notches are fully filled with the annular wearing portion( see Fig. 8, notch at area that surrounds the center of optical areas, which is annual wearing portion Also see Fig. 2-b of Akyol, 3 are C shaped segment are having through hole that fully filled with the annular wearing portion).
With regard to claim 14, the combination of Kubota and Biederman teaches all the limitations of claim 13, Kubota does not teach wherein the circuit structure includes a carrier and a circuit that is formed on the carrier and that is connected to the electronic component, and wherein the carrier includes: a C-shaped segment having at least one thru-hole that is fully filled with the annular wearing portion; and
a connection segment connected in-between two distal ends of the C-shaped segment;
wherein, in a top view of the contact lens, an area of the at least one thru-hole is 1% to 85% of an area surrounded by an outer contour of the C-shaped segment.
However, Sakuma teaches the circuit structure includes a carrier and a circuit (antenna 12, [0036] that is formed on the carrier ( polymer carrier, [0036]).
a C-shaped segment having at least one thru-hole that is fully filled with the annular wearing portion ([0036] antenna composed with wire trace on a polymer carrier, wherein antenna is coated with carrier of the material [0056] antenna with carrier is embedded in the lens, therefore, C-shaped segment of 12 with coated material/carrier in Fig. 6 and Fig. 8 are embedded in the through-hole of the lens.); and
a connection segment connected in-between two distal ends of the C-shaped segment ( see Fig. 6, and Fig. 8, 12 are connected at the section of 15);
wherein, in a top view of the contact lens, an area of the at least one thru-hole is certain percent of an area surrounded by an outer contour of the C-shaped segment ( see Fig. 8, the carrier coated antenna occupied certain area of the antenna/carrier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claim 13, to configure the circuit structure includes a carrier and a circuit that is formed on the carrier, and wherein the carrier includes: a C-shaped segment having at least one thru-hole that is fully filled with the annular wearing portion; and
a connection segment connected in-between two distal ends of the C-shaped segment;
wherein, in a top view of the contact lens, an area of the at least one thru-hole to be certain percentage of an area surrounded by an outer contour of the C-shaped segment, as taught by Sakuma, because it is common for polymer material to support and integrates the antenna elements because its flexibility and conformability, light weight and cost effectiveness.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure an area of the at least one thru-hole is 1% to 85% of an area surrounded by an outer contour of the C-shaped segment, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In this case, the percentage of the thru-hole to the outer contour of C-shaped segment changes, but the functionality of the system does not change.
With regard to claim 18, the combination of Kubota and Biederman teaches all the limitations of claim 16, Biederman further teaches a circuit ( e.g., 140, Fig. 1)that is connected to the electronic component ( e.g., 130, Fig. 1) but not wherein the circuit structure includes a carrier and a circuit that is formed on the carrier and wherein the carrier includes:
a C-shaped segment having at least one thru-hole that is fully filled with the annular wearing portion; and
a connection segment connected in-between two distal ends of the C-shaped segment;
wherein, in a top view of the contact lens, an area of the at least one thru-hole is 1% to 85% of an area surrounded by an outer contour of the C-shaped segment.
However, Sakuma teaches the circuit structure includes a carrier and a circuit (antenna 12, [0036] that is formed on the carrier ( polymer carrier, [0036]).
a C-shaped segment having at least one thru-hole that is fully filled with the annular wearing portion ([0036] antenna composed with wire trace on a polymer carrier, wherein antenna is coated with carrier of the material [0056] antenna with carrier is embedded in the lens, therefore, C-shaped segment of 12 with coated material/carrier in Fig. 6 and Fig. 8 are embedded in the through-hole of the lens.); and
a connection segment connected in-between two distal ends of the C-shaped segment ( see Fig. 6, and Fig. 8, 12 are connected at the section of 15);
wherein, in a top view of the contact lens, an area of the at least one thru-hole is certain percent of an area surrounded by an outer contour of the C-shaped segment ( see Fig. 8, the carrier coated antenna occupied certain area of the antenna/carrier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claim 16, to configure the circuit structure to include a carrier and a circuit that is formed on the carrier , and wherein the carrier includes: a C-shaped segment having at least one thru-hole that is fully filled with the annular wearing portion; and
a connection segment connected in-between two distal ends of the C-shaped segment;
wherein, in a top view of the contact lens, an area of the at least one thru-hole to be a certain percentage an area surrounded by an outer contour of the C-shaped segment. as taught by Sakuma, because it is common for polymer material to support and integrates the antenna elements because its flexibility and conformability, light weight and cost effectiveness.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure an area of the at least one thru-hole is 1% to 85% of an area surrounded by an outer contour of the C-shaped segment, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In this case, the percentage of the thru-hole to the outer contour of C-shaped segment changes, but the functionality of the system does not change.
6. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubota (US20220317479A1) and Biederman(US20150005604A1) and Sakuma( US20220171218A1) in further view of Pugh(US20130135578A1)
With regard to claim 8, the combination of Kubota Biederman and Sakuma teaches about all the limitations of claim 7, Kubota further teaches the optical portion defines a central axis ( Fig. 1, center axis); wherein, in the top view of the contact lens, the central axis defines an origin point, the contact lens is sequentially divided into a first quadrant, a second quadrant, a third quadrant, and a fourth quadrant along a counterclockwise direction with respect to the origin point ( Fig. 1 of Kubota can be divided into four quadrant)
Kubota does not teach wherein four parts of the at least one thru-hole are respectively arranged in the first quadrant, the second quadrant, the third quadrant, and the fourth quadrant, and an area of any one of the four parts of the at least one thru-hole is 50% to 150% of an area of another one of the four parts of the at least one thru-hole.
However, Pugh teaches wherein four parts of the at least one thru-hole ( [0012]through-hole vias are used to connected multiple surfaces or layers, [0032] that planar relief 406 has been machined or molded into the polymer/plastic to create a suitable surface for the mounting and connection of a planar die 410) are respectively arranged in the first quadrant, the second quadrant, the third quadrant, and the fourth quadrant (Q1-Q4, Fig. 1, see labeled Fig. 1 of Pugh below, electronic components/circuit 106, 108, 109, 110 are at Q1-Q4, and the circuits are connected to the substrate 104 through the thru hole, therefore the through hole at Q1-Q4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claim 7, to configure four parts of the at least one thru-hole are respectively arranged in the first quadrant, the second quadrant, the third quadrant, and the fourth quadrant, as taught by Pugh, in order to connect the circuit at different quadrants to the substrate.
The combination of Kubota, Biederman and Sakuma and Pugh disclose claim 8 except for an area of any one of the four parts of the at least one thru-hole is 50% to 150% of an area of another one of the four parts of the at least one thru-hole.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure an area of any one of the four parts of the at least one thru-hole is 50% to 150% of an area of another one of the four parts of the at least one thru-hole, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In this case, the percentage of the thru-hole in one quadrant changes compared to the thru-hole in another quadrant changes, the functionality of the system does not change.
7. Claims 10, 11, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubota (US20220317479A1) and Biederman( US20150005604A1) in further view of Payor (US20190049749A1)
With regard to claim 10, the combination of Kubota and Biederman teaches all the limitations of claim 4, Akyol further teaches wherein the rear surface of the lens body ( rear of 10, Fig. 4B) and the rear curved surface of the rear supporting ring ( annotated Fig. 4B) jointly provide a predetermined curvature for being worn on the eye ( see annotated Fig. 4B), the front surface of the lens body ( front of 10, Fig. 4B) has a viewable surface corresponding in position to the optical portion ( e.g., 14, Fig. 4A, 4A), and the front surface of the lens body and the front curved surface of the front supporting ring jointly form a free curved surface that corresponds in position to the annular wearing portion ( curve outsides the 14, Fig. 4A).
Kubota does not teach wherein the viewable surface has a first curvature being different from a second curvature of the free curved surface, and a thickness of the annular wearing portion gradually increases in a direction toward the electronic component.
However, Payor teaches viewable surface has a first curvature ( curve at 170, Fig. 3B) being different from a second curvature of the free curved surface( curve at 230, Fig. 3B and those two curves are different), and a thickness of the annular wearing portion gradually increases in a direction toward the electronic component([0070] the zone of 170 is 225um, and zone 230 ( pressure sensor- which is electronic component ) thickness is 265um, with a thinner upper edge fillet 340 having a thickness of about 250 μm at the transition to the zone of increased thickness or optical zone (depending on the configuration), and thicker at lower edge fillet 350 at about 300 μm where the pressure sensitive zone 230 transitions into the surrounding outer lens 380. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claim 4, to configure the viewable surface to have a first curvature being different from a second curvature of the free curved surface, and a thickness of the annular wearing portion gradually increases in a direction toward the electronic component, as taught by Payor, in order to have a thicker space to contain the electronic component.
With regard to claim 11, the combination of Kubota and Biederman and Payor teaches all the limitations of claim 10, Payor further teaches the annular wearing portion has a layout region being C-shaped ( see. Fig. 3B) and a lower eyelid region that is arranged between two ends of the layout region ( 230, Fig. 3B) and that is connected to the lateral sides of the electronic component ( e.g., 230 contain the pressure sensor); and wherein, when the contact lens is worn on the eye, a part of the contact lens having a largest thickness is located inside of a lower eyelid of the eye ( e.g., 230 area, Fig. 3B [0070, thickness of 230 is around 350, reach 300um) , and a part of the contact lens having a smallest thickness is located inside of an upper eyelid of the eye ( e.g., 210, Fig. 3B, 210 only about 150 um).
With regard to claim 15, the combination of Kubota and Biederman teaches all the limitations of claim 13. Kubota further teaches wherein the rear surface of the lens body ( rear of 10, Fig. 4B) has a predetermined curvature for being worn on the eye, the front surface of the lens body ( front of 10, Fig.4B) has a viewable surface corresponding in position to the optical portion ( e.g., 14, Fig. 4A), and the front surface of the lens body and the front curved surface of the front supporting ring jointly form a free curved surface that corresponds in position to the annular wearing portion (curve outsides 14, Fig. 4A).
Kubota does not teach wherein the viewable surface has a first curvature being different from a second curvature of the free curved surface, and a thickness of the annular wearing portion gradually increases in a direction toward the electronic component.
However, Payor teaches viewable surface has a first curvature ( curve at 170, Fig. 3B) being different from a second curvature of the free curved surface( curve at 230, Fig. 3B, and curve at 170 and 230 are different), and a thickness of the annular wearing portion gradually increases in a direction toward the electronic component([0070] the zone of 170 is 225um, and zone 230 ( pressure sensor- which is electronic component ) thickness is 265um, with a thinner upper edge fillet 340 having a thickness of about 250 μm at the transition to the zone of increased thickness or optical zone (depending on the configuration), and thicker at lower edge fillet 350 at about 300 μm where the pressure sensitive zone 230 transitions into the surrounding outer lens 380. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claim 13, to configure the viewable surface to have a first curvature being different from a second curvature of the free curved surface, and a thickness of the annular wearing portion gradually increases in a direction toward the electronic component, as taught by Payor, in order to have a thicker space to contain the electronic component.
8. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubota (US20220317479A1) and Biederman( US US20150005604A1) and Sakuma( US20220171218A1) in further view of Payor (US20190049749A1)
With regard to claim 19, the combination of Kubota and Biederman and Sakuma teaches all the limitations of claim 18. Kubota further teaches wherein the rear surface of the lens body ( rear of 10 Fig. 4b) and the rear curved surface of the rear supporting ring ( see annotated Fig. 4b, rear curved surface of rear supporting ring) jointly provide a predetermined curvature for being worn on the eye, the front surface of the lens body ( front of 10, Fig. 4B) has a viewable surface corresponding in position to the optical portion ( e.g., 14, Fig. 4A, Fig. 3B), and a free curved surface that corresponds in position to the annular wearing portion (curve outsides the 14, Fig. 4A).
Kubota does not teach the viewable surface has a first curvature being different from a second curvature of the free curved surface, and a thickness of the annular wearing portion gradually increases in a direction toward the electronic component.
However, Payor teaches viewable surface has a first curvature ( curve at 170, Fig. 3B) being different from a second curvature of the free curved surface( curve at 230, Fig. 3B), and a thickness of the annular wearing portion gradually increases in a direction toward the electronic component([0070] the zone of 170 is 225um, and zone 230 ( pressure sensor- which is electronic component ) thickness is 265um, with a thinner upper edge fillet 340 having a thickness of about 250 μm at the transition to the zone of increased thickness or optical zone (depending on the configuration), and thicker at lower edge fillet 350 at about 300 μm where the pressure sensitive zone 230 transitions into the surrounding outer lens 380. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claim 18, to configure the viewable surface to have a first curvature being different from a second curvature of the free curved surface, and a thickness of the annular wearing portion gradually increases in a direction toward the electronic component, as taught by Payor, in order to have a thicker space to contain the electronic component.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Blum (US20090204207A1) teaches about Optical devices having a dynamic aperture and/or an apodization mask are provided. The aperture and/or mask may be provided by one or more electro-active elements, and may be used in an ophthalmic device that that is spaced apart from but in optical communication with an intraocular lens, a corneal inlay, a corneal onlay, or a spectacle lens that provide an optical power.
/PINPING SUN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872