DETAILED ACTION
In the event a determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102, 103, and 112 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102, 103, and 112) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for a rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon and/or the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Notice of Claim Interpretation
Claims in this application are not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) unless otherwise noted in an office action.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11 January 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9, 10, 13-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2022/0157371).
In regards to claim 1, Kim teaches a device comprising:
a memory (semiconductor device 1000, figure 2) storing a tracking table (register array 110, figure 3) and including an in-memory processor (“When a read operation is performed on an operand, the processing circuit 200 may perform a predetermined in-memory processing in response to the read operation.”, paragraph 0036) configured to:
receive a command (“To this end, the memory controller sets a type of the request as a read request and an address as the address B of the second operand b, and provides the read request to the semiconductor device 1000.”, paragraph 0176);
execute the command by:
accessing data stored at a first location in the memory (“Accordingly, the data output from the bank 11 is stored in the second operand register 212 as the second operand b.”, paragraph 0177); and
generating an output by performing at least one operation using the data stored at the first location in the memory (“Accordingly, the data output from the bank 11 is stored in the second operand register 212 as the second operand b.”, paragraph 0177); and
in response to executing the command (“When a read operation is performed on an operand, the processing circuit 200 may perform a predetermined in-memory processing in response to the read operation.”, paragraph 0036; “Accordingly, when a read command for in-memory processing is performed, one of the first or second register enable signals M1V or M2V activates, which causes the match signal MATCH to activate, and as a result data output from the bank 11 is provided to the processing circuit 200.”, paragraph 0120):
identify that an entry of the tracking table associates the first location in the memory (“For example, in FIG. 11, the first match signal MATCH1 is activated during a period between t0 and t1 in which the read command RD is activated and an address A that is the same as that stored in the first register 111 is applied by the address input circuit 60. Since the second match signal MATCH2 and the third match signal MATCH3 are generated similarly, the description thereof will not be repeated.”, paragraphs 0099-0100) with at least one additional command (“As illustrated in FIG. 9, when the setting signal D is ‘0000’, the processing circuit 200 performs a multiplication and accumulation (MAC) operation”, paragraph 0131) that involves accessing different data stored at a second location in the memory (first operand register 211, figure 10), wherein the first location and the second location are different storage locations (bank 11 is different than first operand register 211); and
execute, based on the entry in tracking table, the at least one additional command using the different data stored at the second location in the memory (paragraph 0147; See also figure 9).
In regards to claim 2, Kim further teaches that the at least one operation comprises providing the output to a third location in the memory (“Accordingly, the data output from the bank 11 is stored in the second operand register 212 as the second operand b.”, paragraph 0177), wherein the command is received with information identifying the third location in the memory (“The arithmetic circuit 200 includes a first selection circuit 220 that outputs the second operand b or 1 according to a setting signal D[0], … a second selection circuit 240 that outputs the second operand b, 0, or an accumulated value ACC according to a setting signal D[2:1]”, paragraph 0147) and the at least one additional command is executed in response to writing the output to the third location in the memory (“When a read operation is performed on an operand, the processing circuit 200 may perform a predetermined in-memory processing in response to the read operation.”, paragraph 0036; “Accordingly, when a read command for in-memory processing is performed, one of the first or second register enable signals M1V or M2V activates, which causes the match signal MATCH to activate, and as a result data output from the bank 11 is provided to the processing circuit 200.”, paragraph 0120).
In regards to claim 3, Kim further teaches that the third location in the memory comprises a storage location local to the in-memory processor (Figure 10 shows how the second operand register 212 is part of the processing circuit 200).
In regards to claim 4, Kim further teaches that the at least one operation comprises reading data from the first location in the memory and executing the at least one additional command is performed in response to reading the data from the first location in the memory (“When a read operation is performed on an operand, the processing circuit 200 may perform a predetermined in-memory processing in response to the read operation.”, paragraph 0036; “Accordingly, when a read command for in-memory processing is performed, one of the first or second register enable signals M1V or M2V activates, which causes the match signal MATCH to activate, and as a result data output from the bank 11 is provided to the processing circuit 200.”, paragraph 0120).
In regards to claim 5, Kim further teaches that the command includes a command trigger bit and the in-memory processor executes the at least one additional command in response to the command trigger bit being a predefined value (“Also, the column address comparator 132 outputs the second column comparison signal CC2 by determining whether a column address provided from the address input circuit 60 is the same as an address or included in an address range stored in the second register 112.”, paragraph 0083; “For example, in FIG. 11, the first match signal MATCH1 is activated during a period between t0 and t1 in which the read command RD is activated and an address A that is the same as that stored in the first register 111 is applied by the address input circuit 60. Since the second match signal MATCH2 and the third match signal MATCH3 are generated similarly, the description thereof will not be repeated.”, paragraphs 0099-0100).
In regards to claim 6, Kim further teaches that the at least one additional command is executed in response to the in-memory processor identifying that a condition in the entry of the tracking table is satisfied (“For example, in FIG. 11, the first match signal MATCH1 is activated during a period between t0 and t1 in which the read command RD is activated and an address A that is the same as that stored in the first register 111 is applied by the address input circuit 60. Since the second match signal MATCH2 and the third match signal MATCH3 are generated similarly, the description thereof will not be repeated.”, paragraphs 0099-0100; “Accordingly, when a read command for in-memory processing is performed, one of the first or second register enable signals M1V or M2V activates, which causes the match signal MATCH to activate, and as a result data output from the bank 11 is provided to the processing circuit 200.”, paragraph 0120).
In regards to claim 9, Kim further teaches that the tracking table is stored locally at the in-memory processor or at a storage location in the memory that is accessible by the in-memory processor (“To this end, the semiconductor device 1000 further includes a processing control circuit 100, a processing circuit 200, and a switch circuit 300.”, paragraph 0030; “The processing control circuit 100 includes a register array 110, a register control circuit 120, and a command identification circuit 130.”, paragraph 0043).
In regards to claim 10, Kim further teaches that the tracking table is programmed by a host from which the command is received (“Next, a second register 112 is set at S120. To this end, the memory controller sets a type of request as a write request, an address as the second register address ADDR2, and a data DATA as the address B of the second operand b or an address range including the address B, and provides the write request to the semiconductor device 1000.”, paragraphs 0164-0165).
In regards to claim 13, Kim further teaches that the in-memory processor is configured to execute the at least one additional command independent of traffic on a connection between the in-memory processor and a host from which the command is received (“This indicates that the semiconductor device 1000 of the present embodiment does not require a special state or a special command for in-memory processing.”, paragraph 0127).
In regards to claim 14, Kim further teaches a different in-memory processor (“In another embodiment, as many register arrays 110 as the number of banks may exist, and one register array 110 may be used only for one processing circuit 200.”, paragraph 0070) configured to:
receive the command (“To this end, the memory controller sets a type of the request as a read request and an address as the address B of the second operand b, and provides the read request to the semiconductor device 1000.”, paragraph 0176);
generate a different output by executing the command (“In such an embodiment, the register array 110 may be independently set for each bank or each processing circuit.”, paragraph 0071); and
execute another command that is different than the at least one additional command based on a different entry of the tracking table, the different entry being associated with the different output (“In such an embodiment, the register array 110 may be independently set for each bank or each processing circuit.”, paragraph 0071; See also figure 9).
In regards to claim 15, Kim teaches a device comprising:
a host (memory controller, paragraph 0176) configured to:
send a command (“To this end, the memory controller sets a type of the request as a read request and an address as the address B of the second operand b, and provides the read request to the semiconductor device 1000.”, paragraph 0176) for execution by an in-memory processor (“When a read operation is performed on an operand, the processing circuit 200 may perform a predetermined in-memory processing in response to the read operation.”, paragraph 0036); and
cause the in-memory processor to:
execute the command by:
accessing data stored at a first location in a memory (“Accordingly, the data output from the bank 11 is stored in the second operand register 212 as the second operand b.”, paragraph 0177); and
generating an output by performing at least one operation using the data stored at the first location in the memory (“Accordingly, the data output from the bank 11 is stored in the second operand register 212 as the second operand b.”, paragraph 0177); and
in response to executing the command (“When a read operation is performed on an operand, the processing circuit 200 may perform a predetermined in-memory processing in response to the read operation.”, paragraph 0036; “Accordingly, when a read command for in-memory processing is performed, one of the first or second register enable signals M1V or M2V activates, which causes the match signal MATCH to activate, and as a result data output from the bank 11 is provided to the processing circuit 200.”, paragraph 0120):
identify that an entry of a tracking table associates the first location in the memory (“For example, in FIG. 11, the first match signal MATCH1 is activated during a period between t0 and t1 in which the read command RD is activated and an address A that is the same as that stored in the first register 111 is applied by the address input circuit 60. Since the second match signal MATCH2 and the third match signal MATCH3 are generated similarly, the description thereof will not be repeated.”, paragraphs 0099-0100) with an additional command (“As illustrated in FIG. 9, when the setting signal D is ‘0000’, the processing circuit 200 performs a multiplication and accumulation (MAC) operation”, paragraph 0131) that involves accessing different data stored at a second location in the memory (first operand register 211, figure 10), wherein the first location and the second location are different storage locations (bank 11 is different than first operand register 211); and
execute, based on the entry in tracking table, the additional command using the different data stored at the second location in the memory (paragraph 0147; See also figure 9).
In regards to claim 16, Kim further teaches that the host is further configured to program the tracking table by populating the tracking table with entries prior to sending the command (paragraphs 0162-0170).
In regards to claim 17, Kim further teaches a memory controller (row control circuit 20, column control circuit 30, and processing control circuit 100, figure 2), wherein the host is configured to send the command to the memory controller for scheduling at the in-memory processor with an indication that the command is configured to cause execution of the additional command locally at the in-memory processor (“For example, in FIG. 11, the first match signal MATCH1 is activated during a period between t0 and t1 in which the read command RD is activated and an address A that is the same as that stored in the first register 111 is applied by the address input circuit 60. Since the second match signal MATCH2 and the third match signal MATCH3 are generated similarly, the description thereof will not be repeated.”, paragraphs 0099-0100, the address being the indication).
In regards to claim 19, Kim further teaches that the in- memory processor is caused to execute the additional command independent of receiving the additional command via a connection between the host and the in- memory processor after receiving the command via the connection between the host and the in-memory processor (“This indicates that the semiconductor device 1000 of the present embodiment does not require a special state or a special command for in-memory processing.”, paragraph 0127).
In regards to claim 20, Kim teaches a method comprising:
receiving, at an accelerator, a command from a host (“To this end, the memory controller sets a type of the request as a read request and an address as the address B of the second operand b, and provides the read request to the semiconductor device 1000.”, paragraph 0176; “When a read operation is performed on an operand, the processing circuit 200 may perform a predetermined in-memory processing in response to the read operation.”, paragraph 0036);
executing, by the accelerator, the command by:
accessing data stored at a first location in a memory (“Accordingly, the data output from the bank 11 is stored in the second operand register 212 as the second operand b.”, paragraph 0177); and
generating an output by performing at least one operation using the data stored at the first location in the memory (“Accordingly, the data output from the bank 11 is stored in the second operand register 212 as the second operand b.”, paragraph 0177); and
in response to executing the command (“When a read operation is performed on an operand, the processing circuit 200 may perform a predetermined in-memory processing in response to the read operation.”, paragraph 0036; “Accordingly, when a read command for in-memory processing is performed, one of the first or second register enable signals M1V or M2V activates, which causes the match signal MATCH to activate, and as a result data output from the bank 11 is provided to the processing circuit 200.”, paragraph 0120):
identifying, by the accelerator, that an entry of a tracking table associates the first location in the memory (“For example, in FIG. 11, the first match signal MATCH1 is activated during a period between t0 and t1 in which the read command RD is activated and an address A that is the same as that stored in the first register 111 is applied by the address input circuit 60. Since the second match signal MATCH2 and the third match signal MATCH3 are generated similarly, the description thereof will not be repeated.”, paragraphs 0099-0100) with at least one additional command (“As illustrated in FIG. 9, when the setting signal D is ‘0000’, the processing circuit 200 performs a multiplication and accumulation (MAC) operation”, paragraph 0131) that involves accessing different data stored at a second location in the memory (first operand register 211, figure 10), wherein the first location and the second location are different storage locations (bank 11 is different than first operand register 211); and
executing, by the accelerator and based on the entry in tracking table, the at least one additional command using the different data stored at the second location in the memory (paragraph 0147; See also figure 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0157371) in view of Tseng et al. (“Data-triggered Multithreading for Near-Data Processing”).
In regards to claim 7, Kim teaches claim 6. Kim fails to teach that the condition in the entry of the tracking table is satisfied responsive to the first location in the memory storing a value indicated in the entry of the tracking table. Tseng teaches that the condition in the entry of the tracking table is satisfied responsive to the first location in the memory storing a value indicated in the entry of the tracking table (“The DTM model allows the user to declare a data trigger after an assignment statement, by which the system only triggers multithreaded execution when the destination value of the assignment changes.”, section 2, paragraph 2) in order “to alleviate the problem of generating unwanted threads” (section 2, paragraph 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim with Tseng such that the condition in the entry of the tracking table is satisfied responsive to the first location in the memory storing a value indicated in the entry of the tracking table in order “to alleviate the problem of generating unwanted threads” (id.).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0157371) in view of Lee et al. (US 2020/0293319).
In regards to claim 8, Kim further teaches a memory controller (row control circuit 20, column control circuit 30, and processing control circuit 100, figure 2). Kim fails to teach that the in-memory processor is further configured to instruct the memory controller to delay scheduling of additional commands in response the at least one additional command being executed based on the entry of the tracking table. Lee teaches that the in-memory processor is further configured to instruct the memory controller to delay scheduling of additional commands in response the at least one additional command being executed based on the entry of the tracking table (“In addition, according to an embodiment of the inventive concept, when a transaction for the memory operation is generated by the memory controller 100 while the memory device 200 processes an operation, the memory operation may be delayed until operation processing has completed or for a time spent on stopping an operation processing.”, paragraph 0042). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim with Lee such that the in-memory processor is further configured to instruct the memory controller to delay scheduling of additional commands in response the at least one additional command being executed based on the entry of the tracking table in order to avoid collisions.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0157371) in view of Ham et al. (US 2023/0195651).
In regards to claim 11, Kim teaches claim 10. Kim fails to teach that the in-memory processor is further configured to transmit a notification to the host indicating performance of the at least one additional command in response to executing the at least one additional command. Ham teaches that the in-memory processor is further configured to transmit a notification to the host indicating performance of the at least one additional command in response to executing the at least one additional command (“Results of the normalization and ReLU calculations at S16 may be provided to the GPU 11 as read replies at S153.”, paragraph 0072) so that the results can be used to perform matrix multiplication (paragraph 0073). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim with Ham such that the in-memory processor is further configured to transmit a notification to the host indicating performance of the at least one additional command in response to executing the at least one additional command so that the results can be used to perform matrix multiplication (id.).
In regards to claim 12, Kim teaches claim 1. Kim fails to teach that the entry of the tracking table includes a field describing a threshold number of times the at least one additional command is to be executed, wherein the in-memory processor is configured to execute the at least one additional command responsive to determining that the threshold number of times the at least one additional command is to be executed has not been exceeded. Ham teaches that the entry of the tracking table includes a field describing a threshold number of times the at least one additional command is to be executed (“The NDP kernel table includes an NDP kernel ID field, a code location field, a number of static registers field, a number of dynamic registers field, a number of requests per micro-context field, and a number of remaining micro-contexts field.”, paragraph 0112), wherein the in-memory processor is configured to execute the at least one additional command responsive to determining that the threshold number of times the at least one additional command is to be executed has not been exceeded (“When the first write request packet is processed, the number of remaining packets corresponding to the NDP kernel ID 0 and pivot index 0 in the micro-context table is decreased by 1 and set to 3.”, paragraph 0166; “In response to the number of remaining packets for micro-context 0 being set to 0, the number of remaining micro-contexts corresponding to NDP kernel ID 0 in the NDP kernel table is decreased by 1 and set to 1.”, paragraph 0173; “Thereafter, four write request packets corresponding to micro-context 1 may be processed in a similar manner.”, paragraph 0174). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim with Ham such that the entry of the tracking table includes a field describing a threshold number of times the at least one additional command is to be executed, wherein the in-memory processor is configured to execute the at least one additional command responsive to determining that the threshold number of times the at least one additional command is to be executed has not been exceeded in order to support a particular data size.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0157371) in view of Murphy (US 2019/0266105).
In regards to claim 18, Kim teaches claim 15. Kim fails to teach that the host is further configured to execute at least one operation while the in-memory processor is executing the additional command. Murphy teaches that the host is further configured to execute at least one operation while the in-memory processor is executing the additional command (“Moreover, in some embodiments, memory processing circuitry implemented in a memory module may autonomously perform data processing operations, for example, without receiving a trigger (e.g., instruction) from host processing circuitry. In fact, in some embodiments, the memory processing circuitry may opportunistically perform data processing operations, for example, while the host processing circuitry is performing other tasks.”, paragraph 0030; “For example, the memory processing circuitry may pre-process data being retrieved to the host processing circuitry and/or post-process data received from the host processing circuitry for storage, thereby enabling processing performed by the host processing circuitry to be reduced and, thus, freeing the host processing circuitry for other tasks.”, paragraph 0020) thereby “improving operational efficiency of computing systems” (paragraph 0020). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim with Murphy such that the host is further configured to execute at least one operation while the in-memory processor is executing the additional command thereby “improving operational efficiency of computing systems” (id.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Nathan Sadler/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2139 6 April 2026