DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination
Status
This Non-Final Office Action is in Reply to the amendment/request for continued examination (hereinafter “Response”) dated 12/08/2025. Claim(s) 1, 3, and 5-20 are presently pending. Claim(s) 1, 9, and 17 is/are amended. Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the rejection of claims 1, 3, 8-11, and 15-18 under 35 U.S.C.§ 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2020/0063752) in view of Arens (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2023/0392610), Haaf (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2015/0267716), and Tomioka (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2020/0378628), of claims 6, 13, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Arens, Haaf, and Tomioka, and in further view of Haaf and Suzuki (JP Pub. No. 2001163030), of claims 5, 7, 12, 14, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Arens, Haaf, and Tomioka, and in further view of Haaf and Rollins (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2018/0340587), the applicant(s) argues that these references, separately or combined, do not teach that the first flange portion and the second flange portion extend radially inward from an inner portion of the outermost edge to an innermost portion of the interior surface, such that the first flange portion and the second flange portion define the convex profile, as is required by the amended claims. Specifically, the applicant(s) allege that the reinforcement ribs (43) of Kim do not extend into the interior surface of the annular body (41), these features being provided solely on the exterior of the annular body for reinforcement purposes, rather than for mating segments of the annular body, as in the claimed configuration. Applicant(s) further allege that this deficiency is not cured by any of the modifying references relied upon by the Office.
The Office respectfully considers this argument not persuasive. In attempting to distinguish the claimed invention from the configuration of Kim, the applicant(s) appear to make the distinction that the each flange portion (134) of the applicant(s) invention may be considered to meet this claimed limitation because it forms a flush mating face (like an end plate) at one end of its respective venturi portion (110), thereby in effect covering an exposed end of the annular wall that forms the interior surface (112) of that respective venturi portion, and by doing so, extending radially inward to an innermost portion of the interior surface, such that the first flange portion and the second flange portion define the convex profile of the interior surface (112) of the venturi portion (see Response, pg. 9). In other words, the applicant(s) appear to interpret the first and second flange portions of the invention not as a rims which extends from the exterior surface 114 of the venturi portion, but rather in the manner of end plates attached to each end of the venturi portion interior surface 112.
Absent any modification to the configuration of Kim, it is clear that the reinforcement ribs (43) of Kim, while corresponding in shape to the convex profile of the interior surface of the annular body at their radially inner ends (see Fig. 3-4), are nevertheless mounted to the radially outer surface of annular body 41 over their entire axial length, thereby they do not extend into contact with the interior surface of the venturi portion (see Kim, Fig. 3-4). Yet, in the above cited rejections as provided in the Final rejection of 09/05/2025, the venturi device of Kim is modified by Arens to comprise a plurality of arcuate sections, and by Haaf such that these arcuate sections are formed by bisecting the reinforcement rib/flange portions 43 and underlying annular body 41 at the location of each reinforcement rib/flange. As a result of such bisectioning, each arcuate venturi portion comprises at each end a flush mating/end face formed along the line of bisection through the reinforcement rib/flange 43 and underlying annular body 41 at that respective end. A first flange portion and second flange portion may reasonably be defined at each of these mating/end faces as being the combined structure of the bisected half of a respective first/second reinforcement rib/flange 43 and the underlying sliver of annular body 41 to which it is attached at that first/second end location. Such a configuration then allows each arcuate venturi portion to be connected to adjacent arcuate venturi portions by mating these first and second flange portions in flush contact with the second/first flange portions of adjacent venturi portions in the manner taught by Haaf (see Fig. 1-3 and 7, and [0021], ln 12-23), and in the same manner as the applicant(s) invention. Further, in this configuration, each first and second flange portion effectively covers an exposed end of the annular body 41 segment that forms the interior surface of the respective arcuate venturi portion to which that flange is attached, in the same manner as the first and second flange portions of the applicant(s) invention, which are understood to thereby extend radially inwardly to an innermost portion of the interior surface, such that the first flange portion and the second flange portion define the convex profile of the interior surface. In other words, the proposed sectioning of the venturi device of Kim into arcuate venturi portions by bisecting the reinforcement ribs 43 and underlying annular body 41 according to the teachings of Arens and Haaf has the effect of producing the same kind of end plate type flange structure that the applicant(s) put forward in the Response and in the specification as exemplifying the claimed configuration. Thus, it is maintained that Kim as modified by Arens and Haaf exhibits the above cited limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 9, the limitations “the first flange portion” and “the second flange portion” lack antecedent basis within the claim, and it is unclear whether these features are part of the first portion, the second portion, or are different components altogether. Further, the limitations “the outermost edge” and “the interior surface” similarly lack antecedent basis, and fail to provide any clue as to which portion the “the first flange portion” and “the second flange portion” belong. Appropriate clarification is required. Because of the described ambiguity in the claim, no reasonable interpretation is possible regarding the meaning/scope of the claim and all claims dependent therefrom, thereby these claims are rendered indefinite, and no examination of these claims is presented. This should not be considered as any indication of patentable distinctiveness over the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 20200063752 A1) in view of Arens (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2023/0392610 A1), Haaf (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2015/0267716 A1), and Tomioka (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2020/0378628 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a venturi system (shroud 40) comprising: an exterior surface (radially outer and concave-shaped surface of annular body 41 of the shroud) comprising an outermost edge defining a circumference of the venturi system (outermost rim of annular body 41, depicted at the extreme bottom of the shroud 40 in Fig. 3-4), wherein the outermost edge is a first distance from a central axis of the venturi system (see Fig. 3-4 and [0043-0046]); and an interior surface having a generally convex profile (radially inner and convex-shaped surface of annular body 41 of the shroud - see Fig. 3-5 and [0043-0046]); wherein the venturi system is generally circular (see Fig. 3 and [0043-0046]). Kim further teaches a plurality of flange portions (reinforcement ribs 43) provided on the exterior surface at regular intervals, wherein each flange portion extends radially inward from the outermost edge (see Fig. 3-5 and [0045-0046], wherein it is clear that the reinforcement ribs 43 extend radially inward from the outermost rim of annular body 41).
Kim fails to teach a plurality of venturi portions, each of the plurality of venturi portions comprising: a first end; and a second end, wherein each of the plurality of venturi portions generally forms an arc of a circle and the first end of each of the plurality of venturi portions is configured to attach to the second end of an adjacent venturi portion to form the venturi system, the first end of each venturi portion comprising a first flange portion; and the second end of each venturi portion comprising a second flange portion.
Arens exhibits a venturi system (diffuser 14) similar to that of Kim, in that both are air-guiding annular shrouds for use downstream of fans (see Arens, Fig. 1 and [0041], and Kim, Fig. 1-5 and [0038-0046]). Arens teaches that such annular shrouds may be formed as an assembly of multiple arcuate sections (see Fig. 1-5 and [0048], ln 5-8, wherein Arens exemplifies an annular shroud in three identical sections), each having a first end and a second end, wherein each of the plurality of venturi portions generally forms an arc of a circle and the first end of each of the plurality of venturi portions is configured to attach to the second end of an adjacent venturi portion to form the venturi system (see Fig. 1-5 and [0048], ln 5-8), thereby each venturi portion forming respective arcuate sections of the annular exterior and interior surfaces of the shroud (see Fig. 1-5). Arens teaches that annular shrouds of this type may be so modularized for ease of shipping (see Arens [0048], ln 5-8).
Based on the teachings of Arens, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the venturi system of Kim such that it is formed as an assembly of multiple arcuate sections, each having a first end and a second end, wherein each of the plurality of venturi portions generally forms an arc of a circle and the first end of each of the plurality of venturi portions is configured to attach to the second end of an adjacent venturi portion to form the venturi system, thereby each venturi portion forming respective arcuate sections of the annular exterior and interior surfaces of the shroud, as taught by Arens, in order to allow the venturi system to be modularized for ease of shipping, as described by Arens (see Arens [0048], ln 5-8).
Haaf exhibits a venturi system (diffuser 6) similar to that of Kim, in that both are air-guiding annular shrouds for use downstream of fans (see Haaf, Fig. 1-3 and [0021], and Kim, Fig. 1-5 and [0038-0046]). Haaf teaches the venturi system may be formed of multiple (at least two, and for example four) arcuate venturi portions (partial ring sections 12), each comprising a first end and a second end (see Fig. 1-3 and 7, and [0021], ln 12-17), similar to the proposed combination of Kim and Arens. Haaf further teaches that the arcuate venturi portions may each comprise a first flange portion at the first end, and a second flange portion at the second end (see Fig. 1-3 and 7), and that each venturi portion may be connected to adjacent arcuate venturi portions at these first and second flange portions via mechanical connecting elements (13), such that the first flange portion of a venturi portion may abut and be connected to the second flange portion of an adjacent venturi portion via mechanical connecting elements which may include screws, rivets, or a latch configuration (see Fig. 1-3 and 7, and [0021], ln 12-23).
Based on these teachings of Haaf, it would further have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above modification of Kim according to the teachings of Arens such that the venturi device of Kim is split into arcuate venturi portions at the locations of two or more of the flange portions (reinforcement ribs 43) already present in Kim by bisecting these flange portions and the portion of underlying annular body 41 upon which each flange portion is mounted, thereby creating upon each arcuate venturi portion a first flange portion at a first end thereof (being defined as the combined structure of the bisected half of a flange portion 43 at the first end of the venturi portion and the underlying sliver of annular body 41 to which it is attached), and a second flange portion at a second end thereof (being defined as the combined structure of the bisected half of a flange portion 43 at the second end of the venturi portion and the underlying sliver of annular body 41 to which it is attached), such as is taught and exemplified by Haaf, and to configure these first and second flange portions such that each venturi portion may be connected to adjacent arcuate venturi portions at these first and second flange portions via mechanical connecting elements, such that the first flange portion of a venturi portion may abut and be connected to the second flange portion of an adjacent venturi portion via mechanical connecting elements which may include screws, rivets, or a latch configuration, as taught and exemplified by Haaf, since Haaf teaches that this means of connecting arcuate venturi portions is well known in the art to be suitable (i.e. conventional) (see [0021], ln 12-23), and since one of ordinary skill in the art must select a means of connecting the arcuate venturi portions of the proposed combination of Kim and Arens, Arens having provided no specific means of connection.
Further, as defined above, upon modification of Kim in view of Arens and Haaf, the first flange portion and second flange portion of each arcuate venturi portion may reasonably be defined as being the combined structure of the bisected half of a respective first/second reinforcement rib/flange 43 and the underlying sliver of annular body 41 to which it is attached at that first/second end location. In this configuration, each first/second flange portion effectively covers an exposed end of the annular body 41 segment that forms the interior surface of the respective arcuate venturi portion to which that flange is attached, in the same manner as the first and second flange portions of the applicant(s) invention, which are understood to thereby extend radially inwardly to an innermost portion of the interior surface, such that the first flange portion and the second flange portion define the convex profile of the interior surface (see applicant(s) Response of 11/04/2025, pg. 9). In other words, the proposed sectioning of the venturi device of Kim into arcuate venturi portions by bisecting the reinforcement ribs 43 and underlying annular body 41 according to the teachings of Arens and Haaf has the effect of producing the same kind of end plate type flange structure that the applicant(s) put forward in the Response of 11/04/2025 and in the specification as exemplifying the claimed configuration “wherein the first flange portion and the second flange portion extend radially inward … to an innermost portion of the interior surface, such that the first flange portion and the second flange portion define the convex profile.” It is thus clear that for these reasons, the proposed modification of Kim in view of Arens and Haaf further exhibits that the first flange portion and the second flange portion extend radially inward to an innermost portion of the interior surface, such that the first flange portion and the second flange portion define the convex profile.
While Kim does not teach that the first flange portion and the second flange portion are located within the circumference of the venturi system such that an outermost point of each of the first flange portion and the second flange portion is a second distance from the central axis that is less than the first distance, the flange portions (reinforcement ribs 43) of Kim being configured such that an outermost point of each is flush with the outermost edge of the venturi system, it would have been an obvious matter of routine design choice to modify the shape/size of the flange portions of Kim as modified by Arens and Haaf such that they extend only to an inner portion of the outermost edge, thereby being located within the circumference of the venturi system as claimed, and extending radially inward from an inner portion of the outermost edge to an innermost portion of the interior surface, as also claimed. Such a configuration is known in other flow guidance shroud systems, such as in Tomioka (see bell mouth 9 of Fig. 7-13, [0004-0008], and [0054-0065] of Tomioka). In Tomioka, flange portions (56) are provided at regular intervals on the exterior surface of the shroud (bell mouth 9) in a similar manner to those of Kim, however these flange portions do not extend up to the outermost edge (radially outer perimeter of the plate portion 51) of the shroud system (see Fig. 7-13 and [0058-0059]), but rather extend such that each flange portion extends up to a distance from the central axis that is less than the distance of the outermost edge of the shroud (see Fig. 7-13 and [0058-0059]). Further, In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A). It is clear that a claimed venturi system that is similar to that of Kim but having flange portions (reinforcement ribs) which may be only minutely smaller in their radial extent would not be expected to perform differently than the venturi system of Kim. Thus, the difference between the configuration of Kim and the claimed configuration may be reasonably considered not to render the claimed configuration patentably distinct from the configuration of Kim, but rather to be within the realm of routine design choice obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (especially in view of examples within the art such as Tomioka).
Regarding claim 3, the proposed combination exhibits that for each venturi portion, the first flange portion may be configured to abut the second flange portion of an adjacent venturi portion (see in reclaim 1).
Regarding claim 8, as described above, Arens teaches that the venturi system may be modularized into multiple identical arcuate sections (see example of Fig. 1-5 of Arens). It is apparent from Fig. 3 of Kim that when such modularization is applied to the venturi system of Kim, the result is multiple identical arcuate sections of the annular system, each of which is shaped generally as a sectional portion of a ring. While the exterior surface and interior surface of each venturi portion do not comprise the same profile due to the presence of reinforcement ribs 43 and reinforcement ring 42, and thus the exterior surface of one of the plurality of venturi portions does not exactly match the profile of the interior surface of the other venturi portions, nevertheless, the shaping of each venturi portion as a sectional portion of a ring still allows these portions to be stacked such that the external surface of one of the plurality of venturi portions is configured to nest (at least partially) within the interior surface of one of the other plurality of venturi portions such that the plurality of venturi portions are stackable, thereby producing a shipping space savings (see Fig. 3, wherein arcuate sections of the annular shroud are clearly capable of being loosely stacked and thereby collapsing the shroud to a small packing volume).
Regarding claim 17, the proposed combination of Kim as modified by Arens, Haaf, and Tomioka as described above in re clam 1 further exhibits a venturi system comprising a plurality of venturi portions (see in reclaim 1), each of the plurality of venturi portions comprising: an exterior surface comprising an outermost edge a first distance from a central axis of the venturi system (see in reclaim 1); an interior surface having a generally convex profile (see in reclaim 1); a first end comprising a first flange portion (see in reclaim 1); and a second end comprising a second flange portion (see in reclaim 1), wherein each of the plurality of venturi portions generally forms an arc of a circle and the first end of each of the plurality of venturi portions is configured to attach to the second end of an adjacent venturi portion to form the venturi system (see in reclaim 1), wherein the venturi system is generally circular having a circumference formed by the outermost edge of the exterior surface (see in reclaims 1), wherein the first flange portion and the second flange portion are located within the circumference of the venturi system (see in reclaim 1), such that an outermost point of each of the first flange portion and the second flange portion is a second distance from the central axis that is less than the first distance (see above modification in reclaim 1), and wherein the first flange portion and the second flange portion extend radially inward from an inner portion of the outermost edge to an innermost portion of the interior surface, such that the first flange portion and the second flange portion define the convex profile (see above modification in reclaim 1).
Regarding claim 18, the proposed combination exhibits that for each venturi portion, the first flange portion may be configured to abut the second flange portion of an adjacent venturi portion (see in reclaim 1).
Claim(s) 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as modified by Arens, Haaf, and Tomioka according to claims 1 and 17, and in further view of Haaf and Suzuki (JP2001163030A).
Regarding claim 6, Kim as modified by Arens according to claim 1 discloses the venturi system of claim 1. Kim fails to teach that the first end comprises one or more guide holes, the second end comprises one or more lead-in holes, and the venturi system further comprises one or more screws configured to attach the first end to the second end by one of the one or more screws extending through a corresponding one of the one or more guide holes and a corresponding one of the one or more lead-in holes.
As stated above in reclaim 1, Haaf exhibits a venturi system (diffuser 6) similar to that of Kim, in that both are air-guiding annular shrouds for use downstream of fans (see Haaf, Fig. 1-3 and [0021], and Kim, Fig. 1-5 and [0038-0046]). Haaf teaches the venturi system may be formed of multiple (at least two, and for example four) arcuate venturi portions (partial ring sections 12), each comprising a first end and a second end (see Fig. 1-3 and 7, and [0021], ln 12-17), similar to the proposed combination of Kim and Arens. Haaf further teaches that the arcuate venturi portions may each comprise a first flange portion at the first end, and a second flange portion at the second end (see Fig. 1-3 and 7), and that each venturi portion may be connected to adjacent arcuate venturi portions at these first and second flange portions via mechanical connecting elements (13), such that the first flange portion of a venturi portion may abut and be connected to the second flange portion of an adjacent venturi portion via mechanical connecting elements which may include screws, rivets, or a latch configuration (see Fig. 1-3 and 7, and [0021], ln 12-23).
Suzuki exhibits an air guiding duct (10) system comprising two arcuate halves (11, 12), the first half comprising a first end (34) and the second half comprising a second end (44) in a similar manner to the venturi system of Kim as modified by Arens (see Fig. 1-4 of Suzuki and see in reclaim 1). Suzuki teaches that the arcuate halves are joined to each other at the first end and the second end via a configuration in which the first end comprises a guide hole (35), the second end comprises a lead-in hole (45/46), and the system further comprises a screw (38) configured to attach the first end to the second end by the screw extending through the corresponding guide hole and the corresponding lead-in hole.
Based on these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the venturi system of Kim as modified by Arens, Haaf, and Tomioka such that each of the arcuate venturi portions may be connected to adjacent arcuate venturi portions at their respective first and second flange portions via mechanical connecting elements, such that the first flange portion of a venturi portion may abut and be connected to the second flange portion of an adjacent venturi portion via mechanical connecting elements which may include screws, rivets, or a latch configuration, as taught by Haaf, since Haaf teaches that this means of connecting arcuate venturi portions is well known in the art to be suitable (i.e. conventional) (see [0021], ln 12-23), and since one of ordinary skill in the art must select a means of connecting the arcuate venturi portions of the proposed combination of Kim and Arens, Arens having provided no specific means of connection. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to embody the mechanical connecting elements connecting the second flange portion to the first flange portion for each pair of adjacent arcuate venturi portions as being according to the configuration taught by Suzuki, such that for each arcuate venturi portion the first end comprises a guide hole, the second end comprises a lead-in hole, and the venturi system further comprises for each connection a screw configured to attach the first end to the second end by the screw extending through a corresponding guide hole and a corresponding lead-in hole, as taught by Suzuki, since Haaf teaches that such screw connection configurations are known in the art to be suitable for connecting arcuate portions of air-guiding structures such as the venturi system of Kim (see Haaf, [0021], ln 12-23), and since one of ordinary skill in the art must select a means of connecting the arcuate venturi portions of the proposed combination, Arens having provided no specific means of connection.
Regarding claim 20, the proposed combination of Kim as modified by Arens, Tomioka, Haaf, and Suzuki as described above in reclaim 6 exhibits that the venturi system further comprises screws configured to attach the first end to the second end by, for each connection between arcuate venturi portions, one of the screws extending through a corresponding one guide hole and a corresponding one lead-in hole.
Claim(s) 5, 7, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as modified by Arens, Haaf, and Tomioka according to claims 1 and 17, and in further view of Haaf and Rollins (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2018/0340587 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Kim as modified by Arens, Haaf, and Tomioka according to claim 1 exhibits the venturi system of claim 1. Kim fails to teach that the first end comprises one or more protrusions, the second end comprises one or more holes, and each of the one or more holes is configured to receive a corresponding one of the one or more protrusions.
As stated above in reclaim 1, Haaf exhibits a venturi system (diffuser 6) similar to that of Kim, in that both are air-guiding annular shrouds for use downstream of fans (see Haaf, Fig. 1-3 and [0021], and Kim, Fig. 1-5 and [0038-0046]). Haaf teaches the venturi system may be formed of multiple (at least two, and for example four) arcuate venturi portions (partial ring sections 12), each comprising a first end and a second end (see Fig. 1-3 and 7, and [0021], ln 12-17), similar to the proposed combination of Kim and Arens. Haaf further teaches that the arcuate venturi portions may each comprise a first flange portion at the first end, and a second flange portion at the second end (see Fig. 1-3 and 7), and that each venturi portion may be connected to adjacent arcuate venturi portions at these first and second flange portions via mechanical connecting elements (13), such that the first flange portion of a venturi portion may abut and be connected to the second flange portion of an adjacent venturi portion via mechanical connecting elements which may include screws, rivets, or a latch configuration (see Fig. 1-3 and 7, and [0021], ln 12-23).
Rollins exhibits an air guiding duct (12) system comprising two arcuate halves (30, 32), each connected to the other at a first end and a second end thereof in a similar manner to the venturi system of Kim as modified by Arens (see Fig. 1-12 and [0033] of Rollins and see in reclaim 1). Rollins teaches that the arcuate halves may be joined to each other at the first end and the second end via a configuration in which the first end comprises one or more protrusions (latching protrusions 38), the second end comprises one or more holes (slots within latching receptacles 40), and each of the one or more holes is configured to receive a corresponding one of the one or more protrusions to form a snap fit therebetween (see Fig. 4-11 and [0033]).
Based on these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the venturi system of Kim as modified by Arens, Haaf, and Tomioka such that each of the arcuate venturi portions may be connected to adjacent arcuate venturi portions at their respective first and second flange portions via mechanical connecting elements, such that the first flange portion of a venturi portion may abut and be connected to the second flange portion of an adjacent venturi portion via mechanical connecting elements which may include screws, rivets, or a latch configuration, as taught by Haaf, since Haaf teaches that this means of connecting arcuate venturi portions is well known in the art to be suitable (i.e. conventional) (see [0021], ln 12-23), and since one of ordinary skill in the art must select a means of connecting the arcuate venturi portions of the proposed combination of Kim and Arens, Arens having provided no specific means of connection. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to embody the mechanical connecting elements connecting the second flange portion to the first flange portion for each pair of adjacent arcuate venturi portions as being according to the configuration taught by Rollins, such that for each arcuate venturi portion the first end comprises one or more protrusions, the second end comprises one or more holes, and each of the one or more holes is configured to receive a corresponding one of the one or more protrusions to form a snap fit therebetween, as taught by Rollins, since Haaf teaches that such latch connection configurations are known in the art to be suitable for connecting arcuate portions of air-guiding structures such as the venturi system of Kim (see Haaf, [0021], ln 12-23), and since one of ordinary skill in the art must select a means of connecting the arcuate venturi portions of the proposed combination, Arens having provided no specific means of connection.
Regarding claim 7, the proposed combination of Kim as modified by Arens, Haaf, Tomioka, and Rollins exhibits that for each arcuate venturi portion, the first end comprises one or more protrusions, the second end comprises one or more depressions configured to at least partially receive a corresponding one of the one or more protrusions to form a snap fit therebetween (see in reclaim 5).
Regarding claim 19, the proposed combination of Kim as modified by Arens, Haaf, Tomioka, and Rollins as described above in reclaim 5 exhibits that the first end comprises one or more protrusions, the second end comprises one or more holes, and each of the one or more holes is configured to receive a corresponding one of the one or more protrusions.
Conclusion
/ERIC A LANGE/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/CHELSEA E STINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783