DETAILED ACTION
Status
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites the limitation “the first flange portion is configured to abut the second flange portion”, however because each venturi portion is defined within claim 2 to have a first flange portion and a second flange portion, it is unclear whether “the first flange portion” and “the second flange portion” of the claim refer to portions of the same venturi portion, or a first flange portion on one venturi portion and a second venturi portion on another different venturi portion. The scope of the claim is thus rendered indefinite. For examination purposes, it is presented that the latter interpretation is most likely to be correct in view of the applicant’s configuration as described in the specification and drawings. Appropriate clarification is required.
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites the limitation “the first flange portion is configured to abut the second flange portion”, however because each venturi portion is defined within claim 17 to have a first flange portion and a second flange portion, it is unclear whether “the first flange portion” and “the second flange portion” of the claim refer to portions of the same venturi portion, or a first flange portion on one venturi portion and a second venturi portion on another different venturi portion. The scope of the claim is thus rendered indefinite. For examination purposes, it is presented that the latter interpretation is most likely to be correct in view of the applicant’s configuration as described in the specification and drawings. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-12, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haupt (U.S. Pat. No. 4,018,297).
Regarding claim 1, Haupt discloses a venturi system (see Fig. 1-8) comprising a plurality of venturi portions (arcuate sections 10, 12, 15, and 16 – see Fig. 1-8 and Col. 2, ln 41-68, wherein the sections are connected to form a circular flow guide member that varies in diameter to create a restricting throat, thereby providing a venturi effect, as described by Haupt) each of the plurality of venturi portions comprising: an exterior surface (see Fig. 2-8 and Col. 2, ln 50 – Col. 3, ln 25, wherein each arcuate section comprises a diffuser portion 50, a mounting flange 20, a connection portion 21 extending therebetween, and alignment flanges 22 and 23, wherein the external surface may be designated as the radially outer surface of portions 21 and 50, which turns and expands at the upstream end of the section to become the surface of mounting flange 20 opposite to the contact surface with the radiator 7); an interior surface having a generally convex profile (see Fig. 3, wherein the internal surface may be designated as the radially inner surface of portions 21 and 50, wherein the two portions form a generally convex profile to thereby create the restricting throat and resultant venturi effect); a first end; and a second end (see Fig. 2-8 and Col. 2, ln 41-68, wherein each arcuate section comprises an alignment flange 22/23 at a first and second end of the section for coupling with adjacent arcuate sections), wherein each of the plurality of venturi portions generally forms an arc of a circle and the first end of each of the plurality of venturi portions is configured to attach to the second end of an adjacent venturi portion to form the venturi system, wherein the venturi system is generally circular (see Fig. 2-8 and Col. 2, ln 41-68, wherein each arcuate section is joined to adjacent arcuate sections to form a venturi shroud of circular cross-section).
Regarding claim 2, Haupt further discloses that the first end comprises a first flange portion (alignment flange 22) and the second end comprises a second flange portion (alignment flange 23) (see Fig. 2-8 and Col. 2, ln 41-68).
Regarding claim 3, Haupt further discloses that the first flange portion is configured to abut the second flange portion of an adjacent venturi portion (see Fig. 2-8 and Col. 2, ln 41-68).
Regarding claim 4, Haupt further discloses that the exterior surface comprises an outermost edge (the radially outermost edge of mounting flange 20, which forms the end of the exterior surface which extends from the free edge of diffuser 50 to the radially outermost edge of mounting flange 20) defining a circumference of the venturi system (see Fig. 2-8) and wherein the first flange portion and the second flange portion are located within the circumference of the venturi system (see Fig. 2-8, wherein when all arcuate sections are assembled together, the radially outermost edge of mounting flange 20 defines the radial circumference of the venturi system, and wherein it is clear from the figures that the mounting/alignment flanges 22 and 23 of each arcuate section extend up to but not beyond the radially outermost edge of the mounting flange 20 of each respective arcuate section).
Regarding claim 5, Haupt further discloses that the first end of each venturi portion comprises one protrusion (raised protrusion 26), the second end comprises one hole (opening 27), and each of the one holes is configured to receive a corresponding one of the one protrusions (see Fig. 2-8 and Col. 3, ln 15-25).
Regarding claim 8, Haupt further discloses that the exterior surface of one of the plurality of venturi portions is configured to nest within the interior surface of one of the other plurality of venturi portions such that the plurality of venturi portions are stackable (see Fig. 2-8, wherein it is visually apparent that each arcuate section is shaped such that the exterior surface of one may at least partially nest within the interior surface of another arcuate section, the sections being identical in shape).
Regarding claim 9, Haupt discloses a venturi system (see in re claim 1) comprising: a first portion (assembly of arcuate sections 16 and 15) comprising: a first portion exterior surface (see in re claim 1, wherein the exterior surface may similarly be designated for the assembly of arcuate sections 16 and 15); a first portion interior surface having a generally convex profile (see in re claim 1, wherein the interior surface may similarly be designated for the assembly of arcuate sections 16 and 15); a first portion first end (see Fig. 2 and see in re claim 1, wherein the first end of the assembly of arcuate sections 16 and 15 may be designated as the alignment flange 22 of arcuate section 15); and a first portion second end (see Fig. 2 and see in re claim 1, wherein the second end of the assembly of arcuate sections 16 and 15 may be designated as the alignment flange 23 of arcuate section 16); and a second portion (assembly of arcuate sections 10 and 12) comprising: a second portion exterior surface (see in re claim 1, wherein the exterior surface may similarly be designated for the assembly of arcuate sections 10 and 12); a second portion interior surface having a generally convex profile (see in re claim 1, wherein the interior surface may similarly be designated for the assembly of arcuate sections 10 and 12); a second portion first end (see Fig. 2 and see in re claim 1, wherein the first end of the assembly of arcuate sections 10 and 12 may be designated as the alignment flange 22 of arcuate section 15); and a second portion second end (see Fig. 2 and see in re claim 1, wherein the second end of the assembly of arcuate sections 10 and 12 may be designated as the alignment flange 23 of arcuate section 16), wherein the first portion first end is configured to attach to the second portion second end and the second portion first end is configured to attach to the first portion second end (see Fig. 2 and Col. 2, ln 41-68, wherein the arcuate sections are each joined at alignment flange 22 – alignment flange 23 abutting joints in order to form the circular venturi shroud).
Regarding claim 10, Haupt further discloses that the first portion and the second portion are substantially identical (see Fig. 2-8 and Col. 3, ln 5-7, wherein all of the arcuate sections are identical, therefore assemblies of two arcuate sections are also identical to other assemblies of two arcuate sections).
Regarding claim 11, Haupt further discloses that the first portion and second portion each have a generally semicircular shape such that when the first portion and second portion are attached together, the first portion and second portion form the venturi system, the venturi system being generally circular (see Fig. 2 and Col. 2, ln 41-68).
Regarding claim 12, Haupt further discloses that the first portion first end and second portion first end each comprise one protrusion (raised protrusion 26 of alignment flange 22 on each assembly first end), the first portion second end and the second portion second end each comprise one hole (opening 27 of each alignment flange 23 on each assembly second end), each of the one hole of the first portion second end is configured to receive a corresponding one of the protrusion of the second portion first end (see Fig. 2-8 and Col. 3, ln 15-25), and each of the one hole of the second portion second end is configured to receive a corresponding one of the protrusion of the first portion first end (see Fig. 2-8 and Col. 3, ln 15-25).
Regarding claim 17, Haupt discloses a venturi system comprising a plurality of venturi portions (see in re claim 1), each of the plurality of venturi portions comprising: an exterior surface comprising an outermost edge (see in re claim 1, wherein the radially outermost edge of mounting flange 20 may again be considered to be the outermost edge of the exterior surface as defined in re claim 1); an interior surface having a generally convex profile (see in re claim 1); a first end comprising a first flange portion (see in re claims 1 and 2); and a second end comprising a second flange portion (see in re claims 1 and 2), wherein each of the plurality of venturi portions generally forms an arc of a circle and the first end of each of the plurality of venturi portions is configured to attach to the second end of an adjacent venturi portion to form the venturi system (see in re claim 1), wherein the venturi system is generally circular (the shroud formed by the assembly of arcuate sections 10, 12, 15, and 16 is circular in cross-section over most of its length in the flowpath direction) having a circumference formed by the outermost edge of the exterior surface (see in re claims 1 and 4) wherein the first flange portion and the second flange portion are located within the circumference of the venturi system (see in re claim 4).
Regarding claim 18, Haupt further discloses that the first flange portion is configured to abut the second flange portion (see in re claim 2).
Regarding claim 19, Haupt further discloses that the first end comprises one protrusion (see in re claim 5), the second end comprises one hole (see in re claim 5), and each of the one holes is configured to receive a corresponding one of the one protrusions (see in re claim 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8-11, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2020/0063752 A1) in view of Arens (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2023/0392610 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a venturi system (shroud 40) comprising: an exterior surface (radially outer and concave-shaped surface of annular body 41 of the shroud); an interior surface having a generally convex profile (radially inner and convex-shaped surface of annular body 41 of the shroud - see Fig. 3-5 and [0043-0046]); wherein the venturi system is generally circular (see Fig. 3 and [0043-0046]).
Kim fails to teach a plurality of venturi portions, each of the plurality of venturi portions comprising: a first end; and a second end, wherein each of the plurality of venturi portions generally forms an arc of a circle and the first end of each of the plurality of venturi portions is configured to attach to the second end of an adjacent venturi portion to form the venturi system.
Arens exhibits a venturi system (diffuser 14) similar to that of Kim, in that both are air-guiding annular shrouds for use downstream of fans (see Arens, Fig. 1 and [0041], and Kim, Fig. 1-5 and [0038-0046]). Arens teaches that such annular shrouds may be formed as an assembly of multiple arcuate sections (see Fig. 1-5 and [0048], ln 5-8, wherein Arens exemplifies an annular shroud in three identical sections), each having a first end and a second end, wherein each of the plurality of venturi portions generally forms an arc of a circle and the first end of each of the plurality of venturi portions is configured to attach to the second end of an adjacent venturi portion to form the venturi system (see Fig. 1-5 and [0048], ln 5-8), thereby each venturi portion forming respective arcuate sections of the annular exterior and interior surfaces of the shroud (see Fig. 1-5). Arens teaches that annular shrouds of this type may be so modularized for ease of shipping (see Arens [0048], ln 5-8).
Based on the teachings of Arens, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the venturi system of Kim such that it is formed as an assembly of multiple arcuate sections, each having a first end and a second end, wherein each of the plurality of venturi portions generally forms an arc of a circle and the first end of each of the plurality of venturi portions is configured to attach to the second end of an adjacent venturi portion to form the venturi system, thereby each venturi portion forming respective arcuate sections of the annular exterior and interior surfaces of the shroud, as taught by Arens, in order to allow the venturi system to be modularized for ease of shipping, as described by Arens (see Arens [0048], ln 5-8).
Regarding claim 8, as described above, Arens teaches that the venturi system may be modularized into multiple identical arcuate sections (see example of Fig. 1-5 of Arens). It is apparent from Fig. 3 of Kim that when such modularization is applied to the venturi system of Kim, the result is multiple identical arcuate sections of the annular system, each of which is shaped generally as a sectional portion of a ring. While the exterior surface and interior surface of each venturi portion do not comprise the same profile due to the presence of reinforcement ribs 43 and reinforcement ring 42, and thus the exterior surface of one of the plurality of venturi portions does not exactly match the profile of the interior surface of the other venturi portions, nevertheless, the shaping of each venturi portion as a sectional portion of a ring still allows these portions to be stacked such that the external surface of one of the plurality of venturi portions is configured to nest (at least partially) within the interior surface of one of the other plurality of venturi portions such that the plurality of venturi portions are stackable, thereby producing a shipping space savings (see Fig. 3, wherein arcuate sections of the annular shroud are clearly capable of being loosely stacked and thereby collapsing the shroud to a small packing volume).
Regarding claim 9, the proposed combination may exhibit a venturi system comprising: a first portion comprising: a first portion exterior surface; a first portion interior surface having a generally convex profile; a first portion first end; and a first portion second end (see in re claim 1, wherein the venturi system of Kim has an exterior surface and an interior surface with generally convex profile, and is modified to be formed as an assembly of multiple arcuate sections, each having a first end and a second end, and each forming respective arcuate sections of the annular exterior and interior surfaces of the shroud, as described in re claim 1, whereupon a first section may be designated from among these sections); and a second portion comprising: a second portion exterior surface; a second portion interior surface having a generally convex profile; a second portion first end; and a second portion second end (see in re claim 1, wherein the venturi system of Kim has an exterior surface and an interior surface with generally convex profile, and is modified to be formed as an assembly of multiple arcuate sections, each having a first end and a second end, and each forming respective arcuate sections of the annular exterior and interior surfaces of the shroud, as described in re claim 1, whereupon a second section may be designated from among these sections). Further, while Arens does not specifically teach that the venturi system may be divided into only two portions, such that the first portion first end is configured to attach to the second portion second end and the second portion first end is configured to attach to the first portion second end, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of the teachings of Arens to select this configuration as a matter of routine design choice (routine change in shape of the arcuate sections of the venturi system – see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)) and pursuant to obtaining the same benefit described by Arens – modularization of the venturi system for ease of shipping (see Arens [0048], ln 5-8).
Regarding claim 10, as described above, Arens teaches that the venturi system may be modularized into multiple identical arcuate sections (see example of Fig. 1-5 of Arens), and the venturi portion of Kim is formed as a symmetric annular shroud having identical portions when divided into two halves or four quarters (see Fig. 3 of Kim). Therefore, it follows from these teachings that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to configure each of the two arcuate portions of the proposed combination of Kim as modified by Arens according to claim 9 to be substantially identical.
Regarding claim 11, because the venturi system (annular shroud 40) of Kim is circular in shape (see Fig. 3) and is divided into two halves in the proposed combination (see in re claim 9), the proposed combination of Kim as modified by Arens according to claim 9 exhibits that the first portion and second portion each have a generally semicircular shape such that when the first portion and second portion are attached together, the first portion and second portion form the venturi system, the venturi system being generally circular (see in re claim 9 and see Kim, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 15, the proposed combination exhibits that the first portion exterior surface is configured to nest with the second portion interior surface such that the first portion and second portion are stackable (see in re claim 8).
Regarding claim 16, Kim further discloses that the venturi system comprises four symmetrically positioned tabs configured to attach to one or more protrusions of a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) unit (see Fig. 3 of Kim, wherein four tabs are provided on the top rim of the annular shroud 40 which may accept a corresponding protrusion of an HVAC unit, and see Fig. 1-2 and [0035-0039], wherein the annular shroud 40 is configured to be attached via these tabs to an air conditioner 1), therefore, the proposed combination, in which the venturi system of Kim is divided into two halves, exhibits that the first portion and the second portion each comprise two such tabs.
Claim(s) 2-4 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as modified by Arens and in further view of Haaf (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2015/0267716 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Kim as modified by Arens according to claim 1 exhibits the venturi system of claim 1. Kim fails to teach that the first end comprises a first flange portion and the second end comprises a second flange portion.
Haaf exhibits a venturi system (diffuser 6) similar to that of Kim, in that both are air-guiding annular shrouds for use downstream of fans (see Haaf, Fig. 1-3 and [0021], and Kim, Fig. 1-5 and [0038-0046]). Haaf teaches the venturi system may be formed of multiple (at least two, and for example four) arcuate venturi portions (partial ring sections 12), each comprising a first end and a second end (see Fig. 1-3 and 7, and [0021], ln 12-17), similar to the proposed combination of Kim and Arens. Haaf further teaches that the arcuate venturi portions may each comprise a first flange portion at the first end, and a second flange portion at the second end (see Fig. 1-3 and 7), and that each venturi portion may be connected to adjacent arcuate venturi portions at these first and second flange portions via mechanical connecting elements (13), such that the first flange portion of a venturi portion may abut and be connected to the second flange portion of an adjacent venturi portion via mechanical connecting elements which may include screws, rivets, or a latch configuration (see Fig. 1-3 and 7, and [0021], ln 12-23).
Based on these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the venturi system of Kim as modified by Arens such that each of the arcuate venturi portions may each comprise a first flange portion at the first end, and a second flange portion at the second end, and that each venturi portion may be connected to adjacent arcuate venturi portions at these first and second flange portions via mechanical connecting elements, such that the first flange portion of a venturi portion may abut and be connected to the second flange portion of an adjacent venturi portion via mechanical connecting elements which may include screws, rivets, or a latch configuration, as taught by Haaf, since Haaf teaches that this means of connecting arcuate venturi portions is well known in the art to be suitable (i.e. conventional) (see [0021], ln 12-23), and since one of ordinary skill in the art must select a means of connecting the arcuate venturi portions of the proposed combination of Kim and Arens, Arens having provided no specific means of connection.
Regarding claim 3, the proposed combination exhibits that for each venturi portion, the first flange portion may be configured to abut the second flange portion of an adjacent venturi portion (see in re claim 2).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the exterior surface of the venturi system comprises an outermost edge (radially outer edge/rim of annular body 41 of the shroud, seen near the bottom of the depiction of Fig. 3) defining a circumference of the venturi system (see Fig. 3) and that each flange (reinforcement rib 43) provided on the exterior surface of the venturi system is located within the circumference of the venturi system (see Fig. 3, wherein each reinforcement rib 43 extends only up to and not beyond this radially outer edge/rim of annular body 41 of the shroud). Thus, when incorporating the teachings of Haaf as described above, it follows that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the first flange portion and second flange portion of each arcuate venturi portion in the same manner as the flanges already present in Kim, such that the proposed combination would also exhibit that the first flange portion and the second flange portion are located within the circumference of the venturi system defined by the outermost edge of the exterior surface of the venturi system (see above modification in re claim 2).
Regarding claim 17, the proposed combination of Kim as modified by Arens and Haaf as described above in re clam 2 further exhibits a venturi system comprising a plurality of venturi portions (see in re claim 1), each of the plurality of venturi portions comprising: an exterior surface comprising an outermost edge (see in re claim 1 and 4); an interior surface having a generally convex profile (see in re claim 1); a first end comprising a first flange portion (see in re claim 2); and a second end comprising a second flange portion (see in re claim 2), wherein each of the plurality of venturi portions generally forms an arc of a circle and the first end of each of the plurality of venturi portions is configured to attach to the second end of an adjacent venturi portion to form the venturi system (see in re claim 1 and 2), wherein the venturi system is generally circular having a circumference formed by the outermost edge of the exterior surface (see in re claims 1, 2, and 4), and wherein the first flange portion and the second flange portion are located within the circumference of the venturi system (see in re claim 4).
Regarding claim 18, the proposed combination exhibits that for each venturi portion, the first flange portion may be configured to abut the second flange portion of an adjacent venturi portion (see in re claim 2).
Claim(s) 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as modified by Arens and in further view of Haaf and Suzuki (JP2001163030A).
Regarding claim 6, Kim as modified by Arens according to claim 1 discloses the venturi system of claim 1. Kim fails to teach that the first end comprises one or more guide holes, the second end comprises one or more lead-in holes, and the venturi system further comprises one or more screws configured to attach the first end to the second end by one of the one or more screws extending through a corresponding one of the one or more guide holes and a corresponding one of the one or more lead-in holes.
Haaf exhibits a venturi system (diffuser 6) similar to that of Kim, in that both are air-guiding annular shrouds for use downstream of fans (see Haaf, Fig. 1-3 and [0021], and Kim, Fig. 1-5 and [0038-0046]). Haaf teaches the venturi system may be formed of multiple (at least two, and for example four) arcuate venturi portions (partial ring sections 12), each comprising a first end and a second end (see Fig. 1-3 and 7, and [0021], ln 12-17), similar to the proposed combination of Kim and Arens. Haaf further teaches that the arcuate venturi portions may each comprise a first flange portion at the first end, and a second flange portion at the second end (see Fig. 1-3 and 7), and that each venturi portion may be connected to adjacent arcuate venturi portions at these first and second flange portions via mechanical connecting elements (13), such that the first flange portion of a venturi portion may abut and be connected to the second flange portion of an adjacent venturi portion via mechanical connecting elements which may include screws, rivets, or a latch configuration (see Fig. 1-3 and 7, and [0021], ln 12-23).
Suzuki exhibits an air guiding duct (10) system comprising two arcuate halves (11, 12), the first half comprising a first end (34) and the second half comprising a second end (44) in a similar manner to the venturi system of Kim as modified by Arens (see Fig. 1-4 of Suzuki and see in re claim 1). Suzuki teaches that the arcuate halves are joined to each other at the first end and the second end via a configuration in which the first end comprises a guide hole (35), the second end comprises a lead-in hole (45/46), and the system further comprises a screw (38) configured to attach the first end to the second end by the screw extending through the corresponding guide hole and the corresponding lead-in hole.
Based on these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the venturi system of Kim as modified by Arens such that each of the arcuate venturi portions may each comprise a first flange portion at the first end, and a second flange portion at the second end, as taught by Haaf, and that each venturi portion may be connected to adjacent arcuate venturi portions at these first and second flange portions via mechanical connecting elements, such that the first flange portion of a venturi portion may abut and be connected to the second flange portion of an adjacent venturi portion via mechanical connecting elements which may include screws, rivets, or a latch configuration, as taught by Haaf, since Haaf teaches that this means of connecting arcuate venturi portions is well known in the art to be suitable (i.e. conventional) (see [0021], ln 12-23), and since one of ordinary skill in the art must select a means of connecting the arcuate venturi portions of the proposed combination of Kim and Arens, Arens having provided no specific means of connection. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to embody the mechanical connecting elements connecting the second flange portion to the first flange portion for each pair of adjacent arcuate venturi portions as being according to the configuration taught by Suzuki, such that for each arcuate venturi portion the first end comprises a guide hole, the second end comprises a lead-in hole, and the venturi system further comprises for each connection a screw configured to attach the first end to the second end by the screw extending through a corresponding guide hole and a corresponding lead-in hole, as taught by Suzuki, since Haaf teaches that such screw connection configurations are known in the art to be suitable for connecting arcuate portions of air-guiding structures such as the venturi system of Kim (see Haaf, [0021], ln 12-23), and since one of ordinary skill in the art must select a means of connecting the arcuate venturi portions of the proposed combination of Kim and Arens, Arens having provided no specific means of connection.
Regarding claim 13, the proposed combination of Kim as modified by Arens according to claim 9 may be further modified according to the teachings of Haaf and Suzuki in the same manner as described above in re claim 6, whereupon each of the two arcuate venturi portions may be so modified as to include first/second flange portions and screw connections as described above in re claim 6, and whereupon the proposed combination would thus exhibit that the first portion first end and second portion first end may each comprise a guide hole, the first portion second end and the second portion second end may each comprise a lead-in hole, and that the venturi system comprises screws configured to attach the first portion to the second portion.
Regarding claim 20, the proposed combination of Kim as modified by Arens, Haaf, and Suzuki as described above in re claim 6 exhibits that the venturi system further comprises screws configured to attach the first end to the second end by, for each connection between arcuate venturi portions, one of the screws extending through a corresponding one guide hole and a corresponding one lead-in hole.
Claim(s) 5, 7, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as modified by Arens and in further view of Haaf and Rollins (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2018/0340587 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Kim as modified by Arens according to claim 1 discloses the venturi system of claim 1. Kim fails to teach that the first end comprises one or more protrusions, the second end comprises one or more holes, and each of the one or more holes is configured to receive a corresponding one of the one or more protrusions.
Haaf exhibits a venturi system (diffuser 6) similar to that of Kim, in that both are air-guiding annular shrouds for use downstream of fans (see Haaf, Fig. 1-3 and [0021], and Kim, Fig. 1-5 and [0038-0046]). Haaf teaches the venturi system may be formed of multiple (at least two, and for example four) arcuate venturi portions (partial ring sections 12), each comprising a first end and a second end (see Fig. 1-3 and 7, and [0021], ln 12-17), similar to the proposed combination of Kim and Arens. Haaf further teaches that the arcuate venturi portions may each comprise a first flange portion at the first end, and a second flange portion at the second end (see Fig. 1-3 and 7), and that each venturi portion may be connected to adjacent arcuate venturi portions at these first and second flange portions via mechanical connecting elements (13), such that the first flange portion of a venturi portion may abut and be connected to the second flange portion of an adjacent venturi portion via mechanical connecting elements which may include screws, rivets, or a latch configuration (see Fig. 1-3 and 7, and [0021], ln 12-23).
Rollins exhibits an air guiding duct (12) system comprising two arcuate halves (30, 32), each connected to the other at a first end and a second end thereof in a similar manner to the venturi system of Kim as modified by Arens (see Fig. 1-12 and [0033] of Rollins and see in re claim 1). Rollins teaches that the arcuate halves may be joined to each other at the first end and the second end via a configuration in which the first end comprises one or more protrusions (latching protrusions 38), the second end comprises one or more holes (slots within latching receptacles 40), and each of the one or more holes is configured to receive a corresponding one of the one or more protrusions to form a snap fit therebetween (see Fig. 4-11 and [0033]).
Based on these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the venturi system of Kim as modified by Arens such that each of the arcuate venturi portions may each comprise a first flange portion at the first end, and a second flange portion at the second end, as taught by Haaf, and that each venturi portion may be connected to adjacent arcuate venturi portions at these first and second flange portions via mechanical connecting elements, such that the first flange portion of a venturi portion may abut and be connected to the second flange portion of an adjacent venturi portion via mechanical connecting elements which may include screws, rivets, or a latch configuration, as taught by Haaf, since Haaf teaches that this means of connecting arcuate venturi portions is well known in the art to be suitable (i.e. conventional) (see [0021], ln 12-23), and since one of ordinary skill in the art must select a means of connecting the arcuate venturi portions of the proposed combination of Kim and Arens, Arens having provided no specific means of connection. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to embody the mechanical connecting elements connecting the second flange portion to the first flange portion for each pair of adjacent arcuate venturi portions as being according to the configuration taught by Rollins, such that for each arcuate venturi portion the first end comprises one or more protrusions, the second end comprises one or more holes, and each of the one or more holes is configured to receive a corresponding one of the one or more protrusions to form a snap fit therebetween, as taught by Rollins, since Haaf teaches that such latch connection configurations are known in the art to be suitable for connecting arcuate portions of air-guiding structures such as the venturi system of Kim (see Haaf, [0021], ln 12-23), and since one of ordinary skill in the art must select a means of connecting the arcuate venturi portions of the proposed combination of Kim and Arens, Arens having provided no specific means of connection.
Regarding claim 7, the proposed combination of Kim as modified by Arens, Haaf, and Rollins exhibits that for each arcuate venturi portion, the first end comprises one or more protrusions, the second end comprises one or more depressions configured to at least partially receive a corresponding one of the one or more protrusions to form a snap fit therebetween (see in re claim 5).
Regarding claim 14, the proposed combination of Kim as modified by Arens according to claim 9 may be further modified according to the teachings of Haaf and Rollins in the same manner as described above in re claim 5, whereupon each of the two arcuate venturi portions may be so modified as to include first/second flange portions and latch connections as described above in re claim 5, and whereupon the proposed combination would thus exhibit that the first portion first end and second portion first end each comprise one or more protrusions, the first portion second end and the second portion second end each comprise one or more depressions, each of the one or more depressions of the first portion second end is configured to at least partially receive a corresponding one of the one or more protrusions of the second portion first end to form a snap fit therebetween, and each of the one or more depressions of the second portion second end is configured to at least partially receive a corresponding one of the one or more protrusions of the first portion first end to form a snap fit therebetween.
Regarding claim 19, the proposed combination of Kim as modified by Arens, Haaf, and Rollins as described above in re claim 5 exhibits that the first end comprises one or more protrusions, the second end comprises one or more holes, and each of the one or more holes is configured to receive a corresponding one of the one or more protrusions.
Claim(s) 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haupt in view of Haaf and Suzuki (JP2001163030A).
Regarding claim 6, Haupt discloses the venturi system of claim 1. Haupt further discloses that the first end of each arcuate venturi portion comprises two guide holes (28, 29) and the second end of each arcuate venturi portion comprises two receiving holes (30, 31), and the venturi system further comprises for each connection between adjacent arcuate venturi portions two bolts (17, 18) configured to attach the first end to the second end by each of the bolts extending through a corresponding one of the guide holes and a corresponding one of the receiving holes (see Fig. 1-6 and Col. 3, ln 15-25). Haupt fails to teach that for each arcuate venturi portion the second end comprises one or more lead-in holes, and the venturi system further comprises one or more screws configured to attach the first end to the second end by one of the one or more screws extending through a corresponding one of the one or more guide holes and a corresponding one of the one or more lead-in holes.
Haaf exhibits a venturi system (diffuser 6) similar to that of Haupt, in that both are air-guiding annular shrouds for use in guiding outlet flow of fans and both may be formed of multiple arcuate venturi portions, each comprising a first end and a second end, and each also comprising a first flange portion at the first end, and a second flange portion at the second end (see Haaf, Fig. 1-3 and 7, and [0021], ln 12-17, and see Haupt, Fig. 1-6 and Col. 2, ln 35-68). Haaf teaches that each venturi portion may be connected to adjacent arcuate venturi portions at these first and second flange portions via mechanical connecting elements (13), such that the first flange portion of a venturi portion may abut and be connected to the second flange portion of an adjacent venturi portion via mechanical connecting elements which may include screws, rivets, or a latch configuration (see Fig. 1-3 and 7, and [0021], ln 12-23).
Suzuki exhibits an air guiding duct (10) system comprising two arcuate halves (11, 12), the first half comprising a first end (34) and the second half comprising a second end (44) in a similar manner to the venturi system of Haupt (see Fig. 1-4 of Suzuki and see in re claim 1). Suzuki teaches that the arcuate halves are joined to each other at the first end and the second end via a configuration in which the first end comprises a guide hole (35), the second end comprises a lead-in hole (45/46), and the system further comprises a screw (38) configured to attach the first end to the second end by the screw extending through the corresponding guide hole and the corresponding lead-in hole.
Based on these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the bolted connections connecting each adjacent pair of arcuate venturi portions as disclosed by Haupt with screw connections of the type taught by Suzuki, such that for each arcuate venturi portion the first end of each arcuate venturi portion comprises two guide holes and the second end comprises two lead-in holes (in place of the receiving holes of Haupt), and the venturi system further comprises for each connection between adjacent arcuate venturi portions two screws (in place of the bolts of Haupt) configured to attach the first end to the second end by each of the screws extending through a corresponding one of the guide holes and a corresponding one of the lead-in holes, as taught by Suzuki, as a matter of simple substitution of one well-known connection configuration (screwed) for another (bolted) and thereby obtaining the same predictable result of securing the arcuate venturi portions together, Haaf teaching that such screw connection configurations are known in the art to be suitable for connecting arcuate portions of air-guiding structures such as the venturi system of Haupt (see Haaf, [0021], ln 12-23).
Regarding claim 13, Haupt as interpreted in re claim 9 may be modified according to the teachings of Haaf and Suzuki in the same manner as described above in re claim 6, whereupon each of the two arcuate venturi portions may be so modified as to include screw connections as described above in re claim 6, and whereupon the proposed combination would thus exhibit that the first portion first end and second portion first end may each comprise a guide hole, the first portion second end and the second portion second end may each comprise a lead-in hole, and that the venturi system comprises screws configured to attach the first portion to the second portion.
Regarding claim 20, the proposed combination of Haupt as modified by Haaf and Suzuki as described above in re claim 6 exhibits that the venturi system further comprises screws configured to attach the first end to the second end by, for each connection between arcuate venturi portions, one of the screws extending through a corresponding one guide hole and a corresponding one lead-in hole.
Claim(s) 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haupt in view of Haaf and Rollins (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2018/0340587 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Haupt discloses the venturi system of claim 1. Haupt further discloses that the first end of each arcuate venturi portion comprises two guide holes (28, 29) and the second end of each arcuate venturi portion comprises two receiving holes (30, 31), and the venturi system further comprises for each connection between adjacent arcuate venturi portions two bolts (17, 18) configured to attach the first end to the second end by each of the bolts extending through a corresponding one of the guide holes and a corresponding one of the receiving holes (see Fig. 1-6 and Col. 3, ln 15-25). Haupt fails to teach that the first end comprises one or more protrusions, the second end comprises one or more depressions configured to at least partially receive a corresponding one of the one or more protrusions to form a snap fit therebetween.
Haaf exhibits a venturi system (diffuser 6) similar to that of Haupt, in that both are air-guiding annular shrouds for use in guiding outlet flow of fans and both may be formed of multiple arcuate venturi portions, each comprising a first end and a second end, and each also comprising a first flange portion at the first end, and a second flange portion at the second end (see Haaf, Fig. 1-3 and 7, and [0021], ln 12-17, and see Haupt, Fig. 1-6 and Col. 2, ln 35-68). Haaf teaches that each venturi portion may be connected to adjacent arcuate venturi portions at these first and second flange portions via mechanical connecting elements (13), such that the first flange portion of a venturi portion may abut and be connected to the second flange portion of an adjacent venturi portion via mechanical connecting elements which may include screws, rivets, or a latch configuration (see Fig. 1-3 and 7, and [0021], ln 12-23).
Rollins exhibits an air guiding duct (12) system comprising two arcuate halves (30, 32), each connected to the other at a first end and a second end thereof in a similar manner to the venturi system of Haupt (see Fig. 1-12 and [0033] of Rollins and see in re claim 1). Rollins teaches that the arcuate halves may be joined to each other at the first end and the second end via a configuration in which the first end comprises one or more protrusions (latching protrusions 38), the second end comprises one or more holes (slots within latching receptacles 40), and each of the one or more holes is configured to receive a corresponding one of the one or more protrusions to form a snap fit therebetween (see Fig. 4-11 and [0033]).
Based on these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the bolted connections connecting each adjacent pair of arcuate venturi portions as disclosed by Haupt with latch connections of the type taught by Rollins, such that for each arcuate venturi portion the first end comprises two protrusions (latching protrusion, replacing the guide holes of Haupt), the second end comprises two depressions (slots within latching receptacles 40, replacing the receiving holes of Haupt) configured to at least partially receive a corresponding one of the one or more protrusions to form a snap fit therebetween, as taught by Rollins, as a matter of simple substitution of one well-known connection configuration (latched) for another (bolted) and thereby obtaining the same predictable result of securing the arcuate venturi portions together, Haaf teaching that such latch connection configurations are known in the art to be suitable for connecting arcuate portions of air-guiding structures such as the venturi system of Haupt (see Haaf, [0021], ln 12-23).
Regarding claim 14, Haupt as interpreted in re claim 9 may be modified according to the teachings of Haaf and Rollins in the same manner as described above in re claim 7, whereupon each of the two arcuate venturi portions may be modified so as to include first/second flange portions and latch connections as described above in re claim 7, and whereupon the proposed combination would thus exhibit that the first portion first end and second portion first end each comprise one or more protrusions, the first portion second end and the second portion second end each comprise one or more depressions, each of the one or more depressions of the first portion second end is configured to at least partially receive a corresponding one of the one or more protrusions of the second portion first end to form a snap fit therebetween, and each of the one or more depressions of the second portion second end is configured to at least partially receive a corresponding one of the one or more protrusions of the first portion first end to form a snap fit therebetween.
Conclusion